City Boy (Hot off the Ice, #1)
Follow the money or follow your heart?All Bryce Lowery knows how to do is play hockey. He’s been playing professionally since he was fifteen. Twenty years later, he’s rich, famous, tired, and alone. And possibly gay according to his ex-wife.When a blown tire leads directly to mind-blowing sex with a motorcycle-riding white knight named Dakota, Bryce discovers he is most definitely gay. Now Bryce has a tough choice to make, follow the money to a new multimillion dollar contract, or follow his heart into the unknown?All Dakota Ryan knows how to do is grow apples. Now at twenty-four, he faces losing both his home and his livelihood in one cruel twist of fate.Then Bryce Lowery crashes into his life like the answer to all of Dakota’s prayers. He’s whispering promises to make all of Dakota’s wildest dreams come true. But Dakota knows better than to give his heart to someone who could leave, and if life has taught him anything, it’s that everyone leaves.Dakota has a choice, sit back and wait for Bryce to decide his fate, or for the first time in his life, chose what he wants his future to be.City Boy is a first time gay, fish out of water, May/December love story with a happy ending. It features snarky siblings, a dirty-talking farmer, lots of food, and big choices. (No poultry was harmed in the making of this book.)

City Boy (Hot off the Ice, #1) Details

TitleCity Boy (Hot off the Ice, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 29th, 2017
Number of pages280 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, M M Romance, Sports and Games, Sports, Hockey, Glbt

City Boy (Hot off the Ice, #1) Review

  • ~Mindy Lynn~
    July 1, 2017
    This was a sweet romance.. I really enjoyed this book. It was low on angst and drama and just what I needed for a relaxing day of reading. Bryce is just a big old naïve teddy bear. I wanted to cuddle up to this big guy. For a man to have such an intimidating exterior he was quite vulnerable with one of the biggest hearts. All he ever wanted to do was play hockey and take care of his family. But lately he's grown a bit wore down with all the injuries and time away from his family and is consideri This was a sweet romance.. I really enjoyed this book. It was low on angst and drama and just what I needed for a relaxing day of reading. Bryce is just a big old naïve teddy bear. I wanted to cuddle up to this big guy. For a man to have such an intimidating exterior he was quite vulnerable with one of the biggest hearts. All he ever wanted to do was play hockey and take care of his family. But lately he's grown a bit wore down with all the injuries and time away from his family and is considering retirement. But he worries about taking care of his family. He has his own dreams of finding someone to love and have a family with, but he's never had a relationship with a woman to where he felt completely connected to or sexually fulfilled. His ex-wife accused him of being gay in a heated argument. It seems everyone around him thinks he is gay but him. But that all changes when he blows a tire and he finds himself in the care of Dakota. Dakota has lost just about everyone he had ever cared for. And now he's about to lose his home and farm to a distant nephew of the man who took him in and was like family to him. Before Tom passed he promised Dakota he had drawn up another will making Dakota the benefactor of all his possessions, including the farm and all his land. But the will couldn't be found so everything was being given to this distant nephew. Out on a bike ride trying to clear his head Dakota finds himself on the side of road with a huge man that looks so damn handsome and vulnerable. He is especially attracted to all those muscles and finds the man endearing when he admits he doesn't know how to change the tire. Dakota thinks he's getting a "gay vibe" from Bryson and curiously starts flirting with him. Bryson takes the bait and soon things get heated with a little B&E thrown in. The book is strongly about family, love, acceptance, being true to yourself, falling in love, and finding your HEA. I adored many of the characters in this book and the animals. I loved Bryce and Dakota together and how well they took care of one another even if the other was upset with the other. They truly cared about each other. It showed in every touch and kiss. They were quite adorable and very bad at hiding their feeling's. I can't wait to see what happens in the future books! If your in the mood for something fun, easy, sweet, with some great characters then pick this one up. Happy reading dolls! xx**An ARC was kindly given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Cadiva
    June 28, 2017
    I liked an awful lot of this book, the plot isn't beyond the realms of possibility - there are plenty of men who don't come out until later life for whatever reason - and it felt honest.I believed that Bryce hadn't a clue why he wasn't able to make his marriage work even though he'd loved his wife (they're over by some years when this story starts) and that his weird feelings about other blokes he'd put down to either admiration of their skills or their personalities, rather than they'd been the I liked an awful lot of this book, the plot isn't beyond the realms of possibility - there are plenty of men who don't come out until later life for whatever reason - and it felt honest.I believed that Bryce hadn't a clue why he wasn't able to make his marriage work even though he'd loved his wife (they're over by some years when this story starts) and that his weird feelings about other blokes he'd put down to either admiration of their skills or their personalities, rather than they'd been the crushes of an unaware gay man.He was beautifully naive and it showed in every interaction with Dakota, making their mountainside hook up all the more heartfelt and emotional.Dakota was also a nicely rounded character, his hurt and anger at what was happening in his life and how he felt once the new owner of the farm was revealed was also understandable.But, once they got together, I think it became a little less realistic, there were only minor hurdles thrown in their path (and yes it's a romance and it's nice to see that the whole world aren't homophobic assholes and all their friends and family were fine because they'd all really secretly thought Bryce was gay) but I think a bit more conflict would have worked better.There is a pervading masculinity in sport, especially in the US's top four, and I don't think perhaps enough was given to the real fears that should have been part of Bryce's decisions he was making regarding his future. It was mentioned but brushed aside slightly.Now, that's only a tiny minor criticism and it's nothing which spoils the flow of the narrative or the romance of the book itself, which is really sweet and has a lot of stupidly hot sex, especially as Bryce is a total gay sex virgin. This was done really well, they didn't just jump into full on demon monkey sex all over the place!I had an ARC so there are a fair few typos, grammatical tense mistakes and editing errors which I'd expect would be ironed out by the time the book comes out so they didn't distract too much from the over all story.This is the start of a new series from A.E. Wasp and one I'm looking forward to continuing.#ARC received from the author in response for an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Natalie
    July 1, 2017
    I absolutely. Friggin. Loved. This! Bryce has lived for hockey since he was 14. Now at 34 he's been injured, and faces decisions about his career. He's also questioning his sexuality, having been told by others for years, including his ex-wife, that he's gay. But introspection is not his strong suit. When Dakota stops to help the hapless man with a tire, sparks fly and Dakota helps Bryce confirm that he is indeed, gay as a Pride parade. Dakota has known nothing but loss all his life. All the fam I absolutely. Friggin. Loved. This! Bryce has lived for hockey since he was 14. Now at 34 he's been injured, and faces decisions about his career. He's also questioning his sexuality, having been told by others for years, including his ex-wife, that he's gay. But introspection is not his strong suit. When Dakota stops to help the hapless man with a tire, sparks fly and Dakota helps Bryce confirm that he is indeed, gay as a Pride parade. Dakota has known nothing but loss all his life. All the family he had is gone and the will, leaving him the property he's lived and worked on for so long, is lost. Imagine his surprise when he finds out Bryce's mother has inherited it.It's a rather rocky road to romance (yes I'm fond of alliteration) but the physical pull between them is strong. Both also feel the emotional pull but Dakota's afraid to trust, Bryce isn't out and hasn't decided on continuing his career or not. The characterization is wonderful and enhanced with alternating POV's. I wouldn't really call this May/December, as the age difference is only 10 years. More than that, I loved the way they really talked about most things. They did hold back, especially Dakota, but it wasn't a miscommunication trope. They're helped along by wonderful secondary characters, like Dakota's sister Lori, Bryce's ex, Nikki and his mother Connie.There's not really any hockey, other than a game they attend but the flavor is there. The sex scenes are intense and scorching, plentiful but not overwhelming and not filler. It's an utterly delightful, low-angst story, not overly sweet, with an upbeat plot line and uplifting ending. I cannot wait to read the next in this series.*i received an ARC from the author. A review was requested but not required*
    more
  • Yvette
    June 28, 2017
    3.25 starsBryce and Dakota are two sides of the same coin.City Boy is a book about self discovery of: self, soul and heart. Bryce is a hockey player who is extremely naïve about himself being gay. Almost everyone in Bryce's life knows or suspects he's gay. Even his ex wife Nikki. Nikki and Lori (Dakota's sister) are both spitfires and I love them. Dakota has known his share of heartbreak and misery. Tommy his friend and mentor dies and leaves the orchard farm to him but the new will goes missing 3.25 starsBryce and Dakota are two sides of the same coin.City Boy is a book about self discovery of: self, soul and heart. Bryce is a hockey player who is extremely naïve about himself being gay. Almost everyone in Bryce's life knows or suspects he's gay. Even his ex wife Nikki. Nikki and Lori (Dakota's sister) are both spitfires and I love them. Dakota has known his share of heartbreak and misery. Tommy his friend and mentor dies and leaves the orchard farm to him but the new will goes missing after his death and in walks Bryce.On the day Bryce is the look over the orchard he has a near death experience and on that faithful day he meets Dakota and sparks fly. The chemistry between the two of them were off the charts. And Bryce's naïveté and self discovery makes the mountain B & E more sexy as hell.Even though Bryce and Dakota have chemistry off the charts they each have issues that they need to work on. Their relationship once together became a little unbelievable. More conflict was needed to make this relationship work. Their was no real struggle to be together. Everything seemed to fall right into place. To unbelievable.I received an ARC for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Elsbeth
    July 5, 2017
    *3,5 stars*
  • Alisa
    July 3, 2017
    I liked this so much. This is a new to me author so this was a really pleasant surprise.Full review to come.
  • Teal
    July 3, 2017
    For the majority of this book I thought I'd be giving it 4 stars. The drama level was low, which I'm fine with -- there needs to be some level of struggle for the character(s), but I hate being bowled over by misery and suffering. There was no gratuitous angst here.And there was a lot I enjoyed, mostly in the first half of the book. There were lots of funny bits worth highlighting. But somewhere in the second half the fun leached away.It was due to a gradual accumulation of things. For example, For the majority of this book I thought I'd be giving it 4 stars. The drama level was low, which I'm fine with -- there needs to be some level of struggle for the character(s), but I hate being bowled over by misery and suffering. There was no gratuitous angst here.And there was a lot I enjoyed, mostly in the first half of the book. There were lots of funny bits worth highlighting. But somewhere in the second half the fun leached away.It was due to a gradual accumulation of things. For example, way too much time was spent with the 50 family members who showed up for the holidays. Okay, there weren't actually that many -- only a DOZEN of them -- ALL getting page time -- PLUS almost as many friends getting page time too. Yikes. I don't like big groups like that in real life, and apparently I don't enjoy them in fiction either. :oThe interactions between the MCs turned too sappy for my tastes. The villain was evil -- no, make that EVULLLLLLLL -- and without a discernible motive. Eventually I realized I was no longer enjoying the book, just trudging along to the end and in a hurry to get there.Three stars represents an averaging of my feelings, good and bad. :/ But those who like things sappier than I do (which is probably almost everyone), and who love big family gatherings, may really enjoy this book. I'm not planning to read the next in the series, but I'm going to at least sample it and give it a chance.
    more
  • Shelly Celli
    June 30, 2017
    This is such a great read! Bryce and Dakota have a chemistry that's amazing and a past that heartbreaking. I couldn't put the book down for wanting to see what would happen to these two. Especially with Bryce's realizations. I'm voluntarily reviewing an advanced reader copy of the book, and this is definitely a must read!Dakota has been living on the farm most of his life. After being adopted by his foster parents, they lived and worked on the farm. When his parents were killed in a car crash, t This is such a great read! Bryce and Dakota have a chemistry that's amazing and a past that heartbreaking. I couldn't put the book down for wanting to see what would happen to these two. Especially with Bryce's realizations. I'm voluntarily reviewing an advanced reader copy of the book, and this is definitely a must read!Dakota has been living on the farm most of his life. After being adopted by his foster parents, they lived and worked on the farm. When his parents were killed in a car crash, the owner of the property took over his care instead of allowing him to go back into the foster care system. Now that he's passed, all he has left is his adoptive sister and the land, but the land has been left to a distant relative and he's afraid of being kicked off the property. Bryce has made it his life's goal to be the best hockey player he can, he's determined to take care of his family. He failed in his marriage, but he won't fail his family. After finding out he was now the owner of his long lost uncles homestead, he plans to move his mother to the property and take over running the apple orchard. He has so many questions about who he is, he's scared to really get into details about who he really is. He's accused of being gay all the time, especially by his ex-wife, but he'd know it already if he were....right? After a chance meeting and a lot of....research....these two find themselves so wrapped up in one another they don't know which way is up. With his family coming into town for Thanksgiving, Bryce's afraid of their reactions and asks Dakota to hide their relationship until the weekend when he can tell them. That was blown to smitherines with a snap judgment and a possible action that could cause him to lose his new found happiness.
    more
  • Mary Mary
    July 2, 2017
    * an ARC copy of this book was given to me in exchange for an honest review *"City Boy" is a start for a new series featuring hockey players and let me tell You: This is a GREAT start! You cannot stay unaffected by Bryce's charming personality. It was my second book by this author and I was sure I'd get a WELL-WRITTEN story with a gripping plot. This book is just another example that opposites attract. Both MCs could not be more different - a farmboy with no money and a famous hockey player w * an ARC copy of this book was given to me in exchange for an honest review *"City Boy" is a start for a new series featuring hockey players and let me tell You: This is a GREAT start! You cannot stay unaffected by Bryce's charming personality. It was my second book by this author and I was sure I'd get a WELL-WRITTEN story with a gripping plot. This book is just another example that opposites attract. Both MCs could not be more different - a farmboy with no money and a famous hockey player with LOTS and lots of money. I will not even mention age difference and the family background. They are as different as night and day but somehow they are perfect for each other.I loved watching them grew closer and lust turning into something more. What was my favorite part through, was how much stronger Bryce and Dakota became. It is a nice story without much angst (thank You for that AE Wasp!) and a lot of real romance. Everything seems real and both MCs are likable (even though I definitely prefer Bryce). We get to know them pretty good, we learn about their worries, about their past, plans and (more or less) understand their actions. This book is sometimes funny, sometimes sad, but mostly it is just a sweet, heart-warming love story. I strongly recommend it to everyone who's looking for something to cheer them up (and for everyone who loves books about hockey players <3).
    more
  • Diane
    June 27, 2017
    I received an ARC for 'City Boy' from the author. This is the first book in a 3 book series. I love series, romances and just a touch of angst, so when all of it is set in Colorado I'm especially happy.Dakota has had a rough beginning in life; his parents didn't act like parents should, he lost his 'real' parents and now the man he regarded as his grandfather is dead. We won't even talk about the 'less than perfect' Kyle! The mind games he played are beyond despicable... And the fate of the orch I received an ARC for 'City Boy' from the author. This is the first book in a 3 book series. I love series, romances and just a touch of angst, so when all of it is set in Colorado I'm especially happy.Dakota has had a rough beginning in life; his parents didn't act like parents should, he lost his 'real' parents and now the man he regarded as his grandfather is dead. We won't even talk about the 'less than perfect' Kyle! The mind games he played are beyond despicable... And the fate of the orchard could be in jeopardy.Anyway...enter Bryce, a professional hockey player who has a few issues of his own...one of which is deciding whether or not to retire. It's not an easy decision because he has a lot of people depending on him. So when these two men meet, on the side of a mountain, there are bound to be sparks. And, I'm so happy to report, there are! The other man is everything each of them either wanted or needed, but what can they do about it?We meet family members that make you smile, friends that you want to hug, and an array of animals you want to meet. Throw in a celebration and everything becomes even more chaotic than normal. You'll totally enjoy your time with this group and I'm really looking forward to the next book in the series. I can't wait to see if one little loose thread is tied up beautifully.
    more
  • Nicoletta
    June 28, 2017
    *I received an ARC of this book from the author*Oh, I liked this book so much that I don't know where to start with this review!I will start with the two MCs: the author has created two deep and complex characters, with their own personality, and whose reactions are always consistent with who they are and what their life experiences have been so far.As for their connection, well, it was instantaneous, but completely real and believable. City Boy is one of the few books I've read where the instan *I received an ARC of this book from the author*Oh, I liked this book so much that I don't know where to start with this review!I will start with the two MCs: the author has created two deep and complex characters, with their own personality, and whose reactions are always consistent with who they are and what their life experiences have been so far.As for their connection, well, it was instantaneous, but completely real and believable. City Boy is one of the few books I've read where the instant chemistry between the MCs felt real to me. Bryce and Dakota meet completely by chance, have completely different backgrounds and life experiences, but since the first words they exchange, they just click together and you're hooked.Then, a special mention goes to the the secondary characters, who don't have much 'screen' time but are so fleshed out that they just enrich the story and make you feel like you're reading a book about real people. Really, at the end of the book, I knew I would miss Bryce and Dakota, but also Bryce's and Dakota's family and friends.To sum it up, City Boy is probably the best romance book I've read in a long time and I can't wait to see what Amy gets up to next!
    more
  • Lala Albert
    July 2, 2017
    I received an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.I loved this book. Firstly, it's a substantial length so there's plenty of time for character development. I always feel that's a bit lacking in shorter books. Secondly, you will fall in love with these MCs. You just have to. Bryce is the sweetest, gentlest giant of a man. I don't think I've read a sweeter character. His heart is so pure and true. Dakota had his issues in the past which caused him to be a bit fearful about t I received an ARC copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.I loved this book. Firstly, it's a substantial length so there's plenty of time for character development. I always feel that's a bit lacking in shorter books. Secondly, you will fall in love with these MCs. You just have to. Bryce is the sweetest, gentlest giant of a man. I don't think I've read a sweeter character. His heart is so pure and true. Dakota had his issues in the past which caused him to be a bit fearful about the future, but that didn't stop him from being hopeful and being an equal partner in their quest for a HEA. Another thing I really loved about this story was the fact that there was no relationship drama simply caused by a misunderstanding or the MCs not talking to each other about matters of importance. I could see very many potential opportunities where a lesser writer would have included these, but A.E. Wasp didn't go for the cliche and that made me so happy. This was a natural progression of the relationship and they spoke to each other about their fears and concerns along the way. It was glorious. I can't wait to read Robbie's story next!
    more
  • Brian
    July 2, 2017
    Bryce Lowrey is a veteran hockey star who we initially see with his teammates, x wife and others at a bar celebrating. Bryce however is not celebrating, he is hiding out and not really shore what he wants out of life moving forward. Then we meet Dakota, who's life is falling apart. His parents died, his lover stole from Dakota's stand in grandfather's farm and left him heart broken. Then his "grandfather" dies and the ownership of the property is left to a stranger.Of course, Dakota meets Bryce Bryce Lowrey is a veteran hockey star who we initially see with his teammates, x wife and others at a bar celebrating. Bryce however is not celebrating, he is hiding out and not really shore what he wants out of life moving forward. Then we meet Dakota, who's life is falling apart. His parents died, his lover stole from Dakota's stand in grandfather's farm and left him heart broken. Then his "grandfather" dies and the ownership of the property is left to a stranger.Of course, Dakota meets Bryce when Bryce get's a flat tire and almost goes over the edge. The pair has a very hot and exciting evening and then, the next day realize that they are on opposite sides of the farm ownership question.Bryce and Dakota realize that they have feelings for each other but are uncertain how to proceed. It's how the relationship develops and the wonderful characters of their extended families that make this a great read. It's how the characters deal with others that really lets their true character shine.Note: I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Tammy
    June 28, 2017
    Got ARC for an honest review.I Loved the country feel to the story. I thought It was well written. The characters were developed to connect with them. They pulled at your emotional strings, in spots of the story. When the two meet, talk about feeling the sparks come off them in a good way. The pages were on fire, with these two. The more the story unfolds, the more it pulls you into wanting to know everything. I felt like the person in the back ground going come on guys wake up. You so belong to Got ARC for an honest review.I Loved the country feel to the story. I thought It was well written. The characters were developed to connect with them. They pulled at your emotional strings, in spots of the story. When the two meet, talk about feeling the sparks come off them in a good way. The pages were on fire, with these two. The more the story unfolds, the more it pulls you into wanting to know everything. I felt like the person in the back ground going come on guys wake up. You so belong together. They get back to feeling of sparks. Bryce and Dakota sure can melt the pages from all the steaminess they got going on. I don’t like Kyle, why do I get the feeling he stole the Will, grrr...? Loved it. I will be stalking the authors shelves for more books. Thank you for letting me read your story.
    more
  • Ann
    June 29, 2017
    This is the story of ice hockey player Bryce Lowery who, while injured has to help his mother move house. While on the road his car has a blow out and Dakota comes to his rescue. Dakota is upset as his grandfather had died without leaving a will. His farm home is now going to go to someone else and he will soon be homeless. There is a huge spark of attraction. The only problem being that Bryce is not gay or so he thought.When Dakota arrives at his lawyer’s office the next day he is shocked to fi This is the story of ice hockey player Bryce Lowery who, while injured has to help his mother move house. While on the road his car has a blow out and Dakota comes to his rescue. Dakota is upset as his grandfather had died without leaving a will. His farm home is now going to go to someone else and he will soon be homeless. There is a huge spark of attraction. The only problem being that Bryce is not gay or so he thought.When Dakota arrives at his lawyer’s office the next day he is shocked to find Bryce is that someone who has inherited the farm.This is a very good story, well told and has lots of events occurring throughout to keep the reader enthralled, but spoiled by a huge number of typos. I think there may be a fresh version on the way.When corrected the book would gain 5* from me.
    more
  • Shaztwirl Foolproof Edits
    July 5, 2017
    Gorgeous:I usually try to avoid doing advanced reader copies because I think "what if I hate it?" then I have to write a harsh review. No such worries in this his instance. I absolutely adored this book. It has everything that makes up a good romance. It's hot (that first scene in the cabin...phwoar), it's humorous, it's romantic, it's packed full of emotion. It might have taken Bryce 34 years to get from straight to curious but he got from curious to I'm-so-gay in 4.2 seconds and I love that th Gorgeous:I usually try to avoid doing advanced reader copies because I think "what if I hate it?" then I have to write a harsh review. No such worries in this his instance. I absolutely adored this book. It has everything that makes up a good romance. It's hot (that first scene in the cabin...phwoar), it's humorous, it's romantic, it's packed full of emotion. It might have taken Bryce 34 years to get from straight to curious but he got from curious to I'm-so-gay in 4.2 seconds and I love that there was no dithering about. I would definitely recommend this book to my friends who enjoy a light hearted, romantic read. Plus, I've had this author's Veteran's Affairs series on my TBR for quite a while now. They've punched their way right to the top. The author provided an advanced copy of this book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Cheri
    June 28, 2017
    Oh I love these men. All of the characters in this book are so well developed, even then secondary characters. I truly enjoyed the story. Not much of it was hockey, but it was part of the backstory and cause of some of the conflicts.I am looking forward to the rest of this series.(view spoiler)[When Bryce outs them.....oh my heart! So much emotion. A topic that isn't ever really discussed in books like this, how someone is "out" but not out to people who don't matter, and the issues it can cause Oh I love these men. All of the characters in this book are so well developed, even then secondary characters. I truly enjoyed the story. Not much of it was hockey, but it was part of the backstory and cause of some of the conflicts.I am looking forward to the rest of this series.(view spoiler)[When Bryce outs them.....oh my heart! So much emotion. A topic that isn't ever really discussed in books like this, how someone is "out" but not out to people who don't matter, and the issues it can cause to be outed to everyone...... I love that this was actually discussed and acknowledged. Most books brush this off and never talk about that this is a way a lot of people live. The people who are important know, but a lot of people don't advertise, and that you should never, ever out someone else without discussing it with them first. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • E.A.
    June 28, 2017
    What can I possibly say about this book? I absolutely loved it! I loved both of the main characters, Bryce and Dakota. I loved their friends and family. I guess this is considered a steaight-to-gay m/m romance. But was Bryce ever really straight? Well, he thought so! This story will take you through Bryce's journey of self-discovery. And, it will also take you on a different kind of journey. Dakota's journey to come to the understanding that he is special, he is important, and he is loveable. Th What can I possibly say about this book? I absolutely loved it! I loved both of the main characters, Bryce and Dakota. I loved their friends and family. I guess this is considered a steaight-to-gay m/m romance. But was Bryce ever really straight? Well, he thought so! This story will take you through Bryce's journey of self-discovery. And, it will also take you on a different kind of journey. Dakota's journey to come to the understanding that he is special, he is important, and he is loveable. They first met by chance, then they were thrown together in not so friendly circumstances. I loved going with both Bryce and Dakota on their quests and it's a story that I'm sure I will go back and read again and again. I can't wait to see what Ms. Wasp has in store for us next!
    more
  • Bobbi
    June 29, 2017
    City Boy, Hot Off The Ice is the first book of a new series by A. E. Wasp. It looks like A. E. Wasp is going to do it again. This new series has a lot of fantastic characters! The main two in this book are Brice a hockey player who is considering retiring and Dakota who is losing his home and farm he grew up on. They both meet by chance & may be the answer to each other's prayers. These two are wonderful. But there are so many other great characters that I can't wait to read about. Looks lik City Boy, Hot Off The Ice is the first book of a new series by A. E. Wasp. It looks like A. E. Wasp is going to do it again. This new series has a lot of fantastic characters! The main two in this book are Brice a hockey player who is considering retiring and Dakota who is losing his home and farm he grew up on. They both meet by chance & may be the answer to each other's prayers. These two are wonderful. But there are so many other great characters that I can't wait to read about. Looks like this series is going to be another great one! E. A. Wasp has become one of my favorite authors!
    more
  • Shelley Chastagner
    July 3, 2017
    This one has lots of bang for the buck. The book is a full length, with low angst and a great HEA. I loved the characters; all of them. Bryce is one clueless man, or maybe he's just been fooling himself. He's a wonderful guy that carries too many responsibilities on his shoulders. He's determined to take care of those he loves. Dakota has lived with too much loss and he's not sure that he can trust anyone to ever put him first. I liked that he's so drawn to Bryce and I enjoyed all of their 'firs This one has lots of bang for the buck. The book is a full length, with low angst and a great HEA. I loved the characters; all of them. Bryce is one clueless man, or maybe he's just been fooling himself. He's a wonderful guy that carries too many responsibilities on his shoulders. He's determined to take care of those he loves. Dakota has lived with too much loss and he's not sure that he can trust anyone to ever put him first. I liked that he's so drawn to Bryce and I enjoyed all of their 'firsts' together. The sense of family, acceptance, care and genuine love flowed through this story. There were some laugh out loud moments and great spicy ones too.Adult read
    more
  • Johntorleif Harris
    June 28, 2017
    I can think of no higher praise to give any book than letting everyone know that I spent a good 30%-40% of my time wearing a huge smile while reading this.Bryce and Dakota were so very perfect for one another and I loved the excitement and joie de vivre that they clearly had when they were together. I also absolutely loved the supporting characters in this book - both Bryce's family and his teammates/friends from Seattle.I am so very excited to have the opportunity to read more about the charact I can think of no higher praise to give any book than letting everyone know that I spent a good 30%-40% of my time wearing a huge smile while reading this.Bryce and Dakota were so very perfect for one another and I loved the excitement and joie de vivre that they clearly had when they were together. I also absolutely loved the supporting characters in this book - both Bryce's family and his teammates/friends from Seattle.I am so very excited to have the opportunity to read more about the characters that we've already met, and to meet more as this series progresses.I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.
    more
  • Coral Mitchell
    June 28, 2017
    MM. Dakota's life has been difficult and Kyle saw him as an easy mark to take advantage of. Bryce is at a cross roads in his life, personally and professionally. He always puts his family and his team first in every decision. His decision to retire or not is weighing heavily on him and his need to care financially for his siblings and their families. He also knows he wants to stay in one place and have a family of his own. Meeting Dakota drives these desires deeper. I was glad the interactions w MM. Dakota's life has been difficult and Kyle saw him as an easy mark to take advantage of. Bryce is at a cross roads in his life, personally and professionally. He always puts his family and his team first in every decision. His decision to retire or not is weighing heavily on him and his need to care financially for his siblings and their families. He also knows he wants to stay in one place and have a family of his own. Meeting Dakota drives these desires deeper. I was glad the interactions with Kyle did not go crazy and there was some resolution. I do wish Kyle would have been held responsible for his actions and abuse of an underage Dakota. I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book.
    more
  • Bretton Coppedge
    July 2, 2017
    Adorably cuteSo many sports romances equate big men and muscles with toxic masculinity and alpha attitudes. Bryce isn't like that at all. He sucks at driving, can't change a tire, and wants to name all the farm animals. Basically, he's adorable and you'll fall in love with him just like Dakota. This book focused a lot on personal development and familial bonds. The cast of characters were all very loving and accepting and were a pleasure to read. It was sexy, sweet, and low angst, so if you're l Adorably cuteSo many sports romances equate big men and muscles with toxic masculinity and alpha attitudes. Bryce isn't like that at all. He sucks at driving, can't change a tire, and wants to name all the farm animals. Basically, he's adorable and you'll fall in love with him just like Dakota. This book focused a lot on personal development and familial bonds. The cast of characters were all very loving and accepting and were a pleasure to read. It was sexy, sweet, and low angst, so if you're looking for a fun summer read, look no further.
    more
  • Linda
    July 4, 2017
    A very satisfying and well written love story.Fate, destiny, karma, serendipity, whatever you want to call it, these two lost souls meet at just the right time in their lives.Loneliness is a terrible emotion to live with. Whether you are loved by family and friends or if your family deserts you through lack of love or through death. To find that special person who takes away that desperate loneliness and gives of themselves body and soul...That is what this beautifully written love story is abou A very satisfying and well written love story.Fate, destiny, karma, serendipity, whatever you want to call it, these two lost souls meet at just the right time in their lives.Loneliness is a terrible emotion to live with. Whether you are loved by family and friends or if your family deserts you through lack of love or through death. To find that special person who takes away that desperate loneliness and gives of themselves body and soul...That is what this beautifully written love story is about.
    more
  • Carolyn Elias
    July 3, 2017
    Absolutely loved the story of Bryce and DakotaThis is the first time I've read a book from this author. A lot of times I start speed reading through a book either because I can't wait to get to the end (and will read again slower) or the book hasn't enough substance to keep my interest. This book kept me reading at a slower pace because I could understand the character's thoughts and through the writing feel their emotions. I will re-read this book again because this was a great story about the Absolutely loved the story of Bryce and DakotaThis is the first time I've read a book from this author. A lot of times I start speed reading through a book either because I can't wait to get to the end (and will read again slower) or the book hasn't enough substance to keep my interest. This book kept me reading at a slower pace because I could understand the character's thoughts and through the writing feel their emotions. I will re-read this book again because this was a great story about the "journey" not just the "end".Lovely writing A. E. Wasp!
    more
  • Audrey Pott
    July 3, 2017
    I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book for my honest opinions. Amy is in my top ten of favourite authors, I loved the storyline how both Bryce and Dakota each had their own discoveries to make, their friends and family were loveable characters and even the animals. It's a heartwarming story, evocative writing thrillingly captures the power of physical attraction, sweet endearing characters made me sweat, sigh and swoon. I can't wait for the next in this series. I can honestl I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book for my honest opinions. Amy is in my top ten of favourite authors, I loved the storyline how both Bryce and Dakota each had their own discoveries to make, their friends and family were loveable characters and even the animals. It's a heartwarming story, evocative writing thrillingly captures the power of physical attraction, sweet endearing characters made me sweat, sigh and swoon. I can't wait for the next in this series. I can honestly say I recommend this book. ❤️❤️
    more
  • Denise GremoryKohta
    July 4, 2017
    This is how you can talk when a writer is good. First you have Bryce the hockey jock that blushes and had no clue he was gay. Then you have Dakota who is the total guy package. When these two get together it's sexy and starts them on their way to a happily ever after. I was given the privilege and opportunity to receive an advanced reader copy and I am voluntarily leaving an honest review. I can't wait for the next book. A.E. Wasp has such a way of creating characters that you fall in love with.
    more
  • Becky Baldridge
    June 30, 2017
    This May/December romance has a bit of twist in that Bryce, who is the older of the pair, is like a fish out of water as he figures out who and what he wants. The younger Dakota already has at least part of his life figured out. The story is a bit lengthy, but there's plenty going on to keep a reader interested, and I quite enjoyed this tale of self-exploration and learning to depend on someone else.
    more
  • Alexleo
    July 2, 2017
    I loved this instalust, first-time gay story of two sweet big men. It was funny, full of very deep felt feelings, family love and acceptance. The angst was almost non existing and solved pretty quickly, because our two heroes already loved each other. I laughed, cried and at the end it left me with a happy mood.
    more
  • Jorg
    July 5, 2017
    This is the first book i have read by A.E. Wasp and it did not dissapoint.City Boy is a funny, charming, passionate, but also very intimate story. I really liked Bryce and Dakota. They played well together and kept me wanting to know how it ended. The fun-stuff comes mostly from the extras. They gave me smiles and made me laugh. I can't wait for the second book in the series!!
    more
Write a review