Tempting Fate (Colorado High Country, #4)
A woman with no roots…Naomi fled the cult-like nightmare of her childhood and learned to rely on one person—herself. Her resourcefulness keeps her alive during a catastrophe in the mountains, but it’s no help at all when it comes to Chaska Belcourt, the sexy EMT who saves her life. Raised to feel shame about her body and sex, she is putty in Chaska’s hands as he strips away her armor, exposing the vulnerable woman beneath, awakening desires in her that she’d been taught to ignore.A kiss that changes everything…Chaska Belcourt grew up on the reservation, the son of a hereditary Sun Dance chief. He left all of that behind for a new life in Colorado as an engineer with an aerospace firm and a member of the elite Rocky Mountain Search & Rescue Team. He doesn’t share his sister’s belief that fate led him to find Naomi. But from the first moment their lips touch, he can’t get enough of her. A love that transforms…As the passion between them turns into something more, Chaska is forced to admit that his sister is right. There’s no other way to explain the depth of his feelings for Naomi—or the fact that he and his people might hold the key to unraveling the mysteries of her past. But she will have to learn to trust again before the two of them can find the answers she needs—and claim this once-in-a-lifetime love.

Tempting Fate (Colorado High Country, #4) Details

TitleTempting Fate (Colorado High Country, #4)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 29th, 2017
PublisherPamela Clare
ISBN0998749117
ISBN-139780998749112
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Fiction

Tempting Fate (Colorado High Country, #4) Review

  • Claire Robinson
    July 2, 2017
    5 - You were led to her... Stars!We return to the Rocky Mountain Search & Rescue team for the further book in Pamela Clare’s outstanding Colorado High Country series.Tempting Fate is Chaska Belcourt’s story, and I loved this book from its first paragraph to the last of the epilogue. I’m a relatively new reader of Ms. Clare’s work, this series has basically been my initiation into her awesome writing style, and once again she did not disappoint."Don’t think I’ve gotten enough of you because 5 - You were led to her... Stars!We return to the Rocky Mountain Search & Rescue team for the further book in Pamela Clare’s outstanding Colorado High Country series.Tempting Fate is Chaska Belcourt’s story, and I loved this book from its first paragraph to the last of the epilogue. I’m a relatively new reader of Ms. Clare’s work, this series has basically been my initiation into her awesome writing style, and once again she did not disappoint."Don’t think I’ve gotten enough of you because I haven’t."This book is a little of everything but all built around a great romance. The author took the Native American heritage that Chaska lives his life by and the beliefs he has that stem from it, and weaved it into the story, as well as the romance that built between him and Naomi from the moment of her rescue right to the point where they declared their love for one another."What you are… is a survivor. Who you are is entirely up to you."Both characters aren’t actually looking for love and romance, so it comes as a bit of a surprise when their feelings towards each other change almost immediately. The chemistry between these two was off the charts, but the sexy times weren’t rushed. Naomi and Chaska’s ideas about love, sex and relationships are wholly different due to their upbringings and I just adored the way Chaska went about restoring Naomi’s confidence in herself sexually and as a woman in general."May be the Great Mystery behind this world see’s all you’ve endured, knows how brave you’ve been and how alone, and wants you to be happy…"This was just an all-round enjoyable read. It’s like going back and catching up with friends and family now, I just adore the whole dynamic with the Rocky Mountain Search & Rescue family and each book the author releases that adds to the depth of knowledge I have of the area and the characters, and it just makes each book even better."This place, these people… Naomi could come to love this."This is a series that will hopefully run and run, the author has set up Scarlet Springs, its residents, and the Rocky Mountain Search & Rescue team in such a way that I don’t think she will run out of stories to tell or characters to put in them any time soon.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, and it was my absolute pleasure to provide the above honest review.
    more
  • maggieandteddy
    July 4, 2017
    O M G I love Chaska <3 Naomi is a sweetheart <3I was so eager to read the 4th book in the Colorado High Country Series. The main reason: ChaskaI've been so intrigued by this tall dark and handsome hero. All of the Search & Rescue team members are heroes.There's just something I loved about Chaska- even as a minor character in books 1-3.The setting of course, is Scarlet Springs, CO. Not too far from Boulder. It's July, in the mountains above Scarlet Springs, COThis is told in 3rd person O M G I love Chaska <3 Naomi is a sweetheart <3I was so eager to read the 4th book in the Colorado High Country Series. The main reason: ChaskaI've been so intrigued by this tall dark and handsome hero. All of the Search & Rescue team members are heroes.There's just something I loved about Chaska- even as a minor character in books 1-3.The setting of course, is Scarlet Springs, CO. Not too far from Boulder. It's July, in the mountains above Scarlet Springs, COThis is told in 3rd person POV. The heroine, Naomi is new to this series. Chaska and Naomi's meeting is very dramatic. The beginning of this story really takes off. Naomi is pretty much all alone in the world. She's a talented photographer and nature/wildlife jewelry artist.She's camping while she explores and photographs the scenery and wildlife.Chaska's sister Winona had just been on Chaska's case to find a special someone. He's been busy with work as an aerospace engineer and volunteering with the S&R Team. Winona runs a wildlife sanctuary. She has a wolf, Shota, who plays a key role in helping save Naomi. No sooner did Winona mention finding someone.... they come upon Naomi. I don't want to give too many specific details. I love how the story unfolds.Yes, it's dramatic. Naomi is rather mild mannered, timid. She's much stronger than she realizes. Her early life was really tough to read about. It made me angry and sad. Naomi felt like she didn't belong anywhere. She had the look of a Native American, but with blue eyes. Chaska and Winona didn't press her for details-at first. She gradually reveals her past. Chaska and Naomi grow closer. Chaska is very gentle and protective of her. He tells her that this is one of the definitions of a warrior. Chaska and Winona are Oglala Lakota. Chaska and Winona aren't in touch with their parents but are close to their grandpa, they call "Old Man". I absolutely love Winona and "Old Man". Winona is my all time favorite book-sibling. Old Man (Grandpa Belcourt) cracked me up. His wisdom and sage advice had me missing having a grandparent around. The town- people of Scarlet Springs are very kind and welcoming to Naomi while she recovers. They seem too good to be true. I went with it. I'm sure that there are small close-knit communities that regularly help out those who need it. The suspenseful part is in the first half of the book. That leaves the 2nd half for Chaska and Naomi's relationship to grow. AND of course-- the romance. Whew. Chaska, WOW. He's so wonderful to Naomi, and very patient and romantic. Naomi (and I) learned a lot about the Lakota ways. Naomi learns more about her own heritage. There were no slow parts for me. I was really caught up in this wonderful story.Naomi was NOT weak at all. Chaska & Winona, Old Man and many others recognized her strength in surviving-and beginning to thrive. It wasn't really a coincidence that Naomi & Chaska met. I think that Naomi was drawn to Scarlet Springs. She found her way home, her real home. I loved the ending. It was so funny and romantic. The epilogue was very good. HEA.Be sure to read the Author's Note at the end (98%). I sometimes skip those. Ms Clare mentions her personal and journalist experiences with the Native peoples. I will be re-reading this book many many times. Chaska and Naomi's love story is about finding their one and only. They were in each other's path.5 stars. ARC from NetGalley.
    more
  • Anita
    June 30, 2017
    Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.Romance, Pamela Clare Style , is always a unique experience. There are few authors who can paint a story like she can and in "Tempting Fate" she has filled her canvas with the wonders of the Native American community, their traditions and their lore. It is truly a wonderful reading experience when the reader can use it as a learning experience as well as entertainment.Naomi is Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.Romance, Pamela Clare Style , is always a unique experience. There are few authors who can paint a story like she can and in "Tempting Fate" she has filled her canvas with the wonders of the Native American community, their traditions and their lore. It is truly a wonderful reading experience when the reader can use it as a learning experience as well as entertainment.Naomi is on camping in the mountains above Scarlet Springs, CO when she is attacked and flees for her life. She is found by Chaska Belcourt and his sister, Wionna, who are hiking with their wolf, Shota, when Shota suddenly takes off through the brush and finds Naomi unconscious. Naomi was abandoned as an newborn and adopted into a very strict, abusive family. She ran away at 16 and made her own way eventually becoming a successful jewelry designer. She has no family and is on her own. After being injured, Chaska and his sister offer her a place to stay to recuperate. The attraction between Chaska and Naomi is evident from the beginning.Chaska Belcourt grew up on the reservation, but decided to leave that life to become an engineer with an aerospace firm and a member of the elite Rocky Mountain Search & Rescue Team. While he and Wionna were hiking she was encouraging him to date a fellow Team member and Chaska told her he was waiting for fate to bring his half-self to him. Be careful what you wish for.... He can't deny the attraction for and the his deep need to protect Naomi. But Naomi has been alone for so long, she has a hard time trusting Chaska and when he finds the key to unlocking the mystery of her birth, she can't deny that she has deep feelings for Chaska, but can he possibly feel the same.
    more
  • Lynsey A
    July 4, 2017
    I truly adore Pamela Clare's writing. She is one of the best contemporary romance authors on the market. She can truly write a captivating story and she doesn't need dirty talk, erotic sex (not that there is anything wrong with that) or suspense to keep a story going. I truly enjoy every book of hers that I read. I'm never bored. I found this story so enjoyable and entertaining. I loved all the sweet surprises we got in this story. The laughter and the tears. I enjoyed the little bit of "mystery I truly adore Pamela Clare's writing. She is one of the best contemporary romance authors on the market. She can truly write a captivating story and she doesn't need dirty talk, erotic sex (not that there is anything wrong with that) or suspense to keep a story going. I truly enjoy every book of hers that I read. I'm never bored. I found this story so enjoyable and entertaining. I loved all the sweet surprises we got in this story. The laughter and the tears. I enjoyed the little bit of "mystery" in this book. I loved how Chaska was led to Naomi and how their love progressed and grew. Truly enjoyable book and I look forward to the next book in this series.
    more
  • Charlene
    July 3, 2017
    Another wonderful story set in Scarlett, Colorado. I have to say that I particularly like Pamela's novels with native American characters. She captures Chaska, Naomi and Winona (and their various relatives)with the respect and honour they deserve...but she also manages to make Chaska steamy hot! Special note on "Old Man" Belcourt...loved his spunk and charisma! I really like that the author shares notes on many (if not all) of her novels. In her note for this book she gives us her background wit Another wonderful story set in Scarlett, Colorado. I have to say that I particularly like Pamela's novels with native American characters. She captures Chaska, Naomi and Winona (and their various relatives)with the respect and honour they deserve...but she also manages to make Chaska steamy hot! Special note on "Old Man" Belcourt...loved his spunk and charisma! I really like that the author shares notes on many (if not all) of her novels. In her note for this book she gives us her background with Native issues as a journalist. Once I read the author's note, I understood why her descriptions seem so realistic - she's experienced many of the rituals she's describing. I think that having a personal take on much of her work makes the stories that much richer. Thanks for the great book, Pamela...and may you never run out of experiences and research material!5 ★
    more
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    June 30, 2017
    It's a good read. I liked Naomi, and it was good for Chaska to have his story. Although this series is no I-Team, it is getting better by the book. Lots of sexy, studly S & R guys. The summary of this one gives too much of the storyline away...
  • Negar Arvanaghi
    July 1, 2017
    She must have been dirt-poor if it took her five years to take this trip. Damn, this got ugly fast. Wow, he's super smart. Good boy, Shota! Shoot, this is eerily similar to poor Win's experience. Small world. Who knew search-and-rescue could be geeky? Oh, you don't say "tribe"? Good to know. Man, she was homeless at one point? Has anything fantastic ever happened to this woman? I never heard of these occupations. They should teach more about Native history in school. These agents suck. Chaska is She must have been dirt-poor if it took her five years to take this trip. Damn, this got ugly fast. Wow, he's super smart. Good boy, Shota! Shoot, this is eerily similar to poor Win's experience. Small world. Who knew search-and-rescue could be geeky? Oh, you don't say "tribe"? Good to know. Man, she was homeless at one point? Has anything fantastic ever happened to this woman? I never heard of these occupations. They should teach more about Native history in school. These agents suck. Chaska is really good at this tracking thing. He does his ancestors proud. Now this is a good hospital! I have no idea what he does for a living, but it sounds important. There are jerks in every culture. Does anyone charge for a rescue? Have a little self-respect, Nicole. Crap, I'm sorry that happened to your friend, Megs. What's the point of a shelter if you make restrictions on who can stay? Idiots. That was so cool! I would be scared to death, but that was interesting. That is a beautiful way of looking at the human body. Bastards. I love Bear. Ouch! You definitely can't be a wimp and do the Sun Dance. Yeah, I don't blame him for being mad at his father. Um, what's the deal with the jalapenos? Now that's the way to learn a new language! Damn, our poor vets. Doug slept with the girl, and called her house. You'd think he'd know her name. Aw, I want to cry! This is like Scripture Ping-Pong. There's people who have "smart" homes, while the original settlers of our country don't have water and electricity?! It's good that they as a Nation feel a sense of pride and want to get back to their roots. Even her "new" parents are matchmaking, haha. Ohh. One bride-price, fulfilled. You should read the Author's Note, everybody. I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cindy ~ SnS Reviews
    June 30, 2017
    A heart warming love story rich in Lakota customs and history. As with most of this author's books they come from the heart and her experiences. That always shines through in her writing. As Lakota children Chaska Belcourt and his sister Winona were mostly raised by the elderly in the family because they believe the elders are the wisdom of the Lakota people. They are in charge of passing down the cultural ways. His grandfather was heavily into the old ways and his father is a Sun Dance chief. H A heart warming love story rich in Lakota customs and history. As with most of this author's books they come from the heart and her experiences. That always shines through in her writing. As Lakota children Chaska Belcourt and his sister Winona were mostly raised by the elderly in the family because they believe the elders are the wisdom of the Lakota people. They are in charge of passing down the cultural ways. His grandfather was heavily into the old ways and his father is a Sun Dance chief. He likes his heritage but he left the reservation and went to college and his sister soon followed. They both settled into Scarlet Springs where he is both a mechanical engineer and part of the Rocky Mountain Search & Rescue Team. It is while out on a hike that he and his sister come across a badly injured woman that turns out to be his half-side (matching female half) Naomi Archer is a woman that has been running from her heritage since the day she was abandoned after her birth. She was adopted but religious fanatics who abused her causing her to run away at 16. She's never known her true heritage and was made to believe it was something to be ashamed of by her adoptive parents. Years later she makes her own jewelry and has come to Colorado on vacation to take pictures of and draw animals for future pieces. Its while out in the woods alone that she crosses paths with two dangerous men who mean her harm. She manages to escape them but not before getting shot and injuring herself more. Its Chaska and his sister who come across her and set her rescue in motion. There are a lot “come to terms” through this book. Chaska having to come to terms with Naomi being the one, Naomi having to overcome the insecurities her past instilled in her and eventually embracing her true heritage along with trusting her heart to Chaska. A good love story rich in Native American culture which has always fascinated me.
    more
  • Victoria
    July 2, 2017
    4.0 RATING- I'm a long time fan of Pamela Clare's I-Team series and was excited when she announced she had a new contemporary series in the works. I received an ARC of the first book in the Colorado High Country series a while back but stalled out about 25% and never came back to it. Because of that, I never got back on board with this series until now. I happened to stumble across the blurb for Tempting Fate and decided to give it a try and am glad I did. (It works perfectly fine as a stand-alo 4.0 RATING- I'm a long time fan of Pamela Clare's I-Team series and was excited when she announced she had a new contemporary series in the works. I received an ARC of the first book in the Colorado High Country series a while back but stalled out about 25% and never came back to it. Because of that, I never got back on board with this series until now. I happened to stumble across the blurb for Tempting Fate and decided to give it a try and am glad I did. (It works perfectly fine as a stand-alone.)The story was a bit on the slower side but I was pulled in from the beginning and really enjoyed watching the development of the relationship between the two main characters. Normally I like more action in my romances and while I can't deny I was hoping for a kidnapping, some creepy hang up calls, or other suspense shenanigans, I enjoyed the story as it was written. It was interesting to get a glimpse into some of the practices of the Lakota people and I was surprised to read that the author had spent a lot of time researching and advocating for Native Americans in her time as a journalist (as mentioned in the Author's note at the end of the book). I've downloaded book three in this series and plan to give that a try next. For readers that enjoy quality writing with a slower paced story and medium steam level, I'd definitely give this one a try.
    more
  • Julie
    July 4, 2017
    Set against the majestic backdrop of Colorado, Clare has created another spell binding winner with Chaska and Naomi's story. Book 4 in the Colorado High Country series, Tempting Fate was a wonderful blend of heritage and family. Perception of not just one's self but also others was a big point as Naomi learns to restructure what she was taught and eventually come to embrace herself. Chaska's Lakota heritage was also fascinating to read about and provided an unusual backstory, but it was one I pe Set against the majestic backdrop of Colorado, Clare has created another spell binding winner with Chaska and Naomi's story. Book 4 in the Colorado High Country series, Tempting Fate was a wonderful blend of heritage and family. Perception of not just one's self but also others was a big point as Naomi learns to restructure what she was taught and eventually come to embrace herself. Chaska's Lakota heritage was also fascinating to read about and provided an unusual backstory, but it was one I personally enjoyed learning about. A tiny blip of suspense, a sweet, very sexy romance, and a wonderfully hysterical, supportive cast of characters blend together beautifully in this carefully crafted story. I'd recommend this series for any contemporary romance reader who likes low angst, snappy humor, and a close-knit, small town, nosy but well-meaning, supportive cast of characters!
    more
  • Nellie Rivera
    July 2, 2017
    Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. I always enjoy her books, this was the fourth book in the Scarlett Springs series, and we finally got our hottie Chaska. Chaska is out with his sister when his wolf senses that something is wrong, and takes off, and they find a young an unconscious woman, Naomi. Poor Naomi, was assaulted by two escaped convicts, and she was smart and resourceful and was able to get away from them before they were able to do worse thing to her, but they did still Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. I always enjoy her books, this was the fourth book in the Scarlett Springs series, and we finally got our hottie Chaska. Chaska is out with his sister when his wolf senses that something is wrong, and takes off, and they find a young an unconscious woman, Naomi. Poor Naomi, was assaulted by two escaped convicts, and she was smart and resourceful and was able to get away from them before they were able to do worse thing to her, but they did still shoot her. Chaska immediately contacts team, and they get her out, and if any of you have previously read about the town of Scarlett Springs, you know how loving they are, and how they pull together. We read about the attraction of Chaska and Naomi, and was happy to read that he finally has his love story, and she was worth it, and when you read what that poor girl went thru, it was sad, but she did get her HEA, and I can't to see who is next. Will it be Winona, or Britta?
    more
  • Wendy Bernard Blair
    June 30, 2017
    I couldn't put it down once I started it until I'd read the last word on the last page. Book 4 in Pamela Clare's Colorado High Country series. This is the best one yet. I have Loved every single one in the series. They're all in my private collection. But this one seemed like so much more. The sign of a good book for me is a book that makes me run thru all the emotions and feel like I'm actually a part of the story. I shed tears from sadness and also tears from extreme happiness. All these emoti I couldn't put it down once I started it until I'd read the last word on the last page. Book 4 in Pamela Clare's Colorado High Country series. This is the best one yet. I have Loved every single one in the series. They're all in my private collection. But this one seemed like so much more. The sign of a good book for me is a book that makes me run thru all the emotions and feel like I'm actually a part of the story. I shed tears from sadness and also tears from extreme happiness. All these emotions went thru my mind while reading this. There was anger, self-doubt, scared, emotionally drained, pain. There was also thankful, acceptance, lots of laughter, confidence in oneself, happiness and of course Love. Naomi and Chaska's story made me feel like I was there with them. Their journey to love is Soo good you'll want to re-read it time and again. I know I sure will.
    more
  • Riana
    July 3, 2017
    Sweet and tender after a tough beginning.I like all stories of Pamela Clare with native American characters.This one is another one about a strong woman. And you get to read more about an I-team hero.
  • Anita
    July 1, 2017
    Actual Rating: 3.5 StarsBasically, my first thought upon seeing this new Pamela Clare release was:  "Another historical?"  But then I realized this was the fourth installment of Colorado High Country and I freaked out!  Because, how did I miss this book's release?Well, that situation got remedied real quickly.The Story:Chaska Belcourt and his sister Winona chances upon Naomi, wounded and unconscious after a struggle for her life from a pair of escaped convicts.  Because of a flippant challenge C Actual Rating: 3.5 StarsBasically, my first thought upon seeing this new Pamela Clare release was:  "Another historical?"  But then I realized this was the fourth installment of Colorado High Country and I freaked out!  Because, how did I miss this book's release?Well, that situation got remedied real quickly.The Story:Chaska Belcourt and his sister Winona chances upon Naomi, wounded and unconscious after a struggle for her life from a pair of escaped convicts.  Because of a flippant challenge Chaska had given to the Creator, followed by their wolf companion, Shota, rushing off and leading them to Naomi, Winona believes that fate had intervened, bringing the "right woman" into Chaska's path.But Chaska is hard pressed to believe that fate had anything to do with it since Shota was the one who found Naomi.Meanwhile, as Naomi recovers from her injuries--a broken ankle, surgery, and a vandalized car--she is surprised to find how friendly and helpful all the residents of Scarlet Springs are.  Naomi had had to learn how to take care of herself after running away from her cult-like adopted family, a place where children are punished harshly for the smallest slights, and where her adopted father controls every aspect of everyone's life in his community.  This type of kindness is new to her, and the togetherness in which Scarlet's residents present is a novelty she slowly begins to hope could be part of her own life.With Chaska and Winona offering her a place to stay until she can get back on her feet, Naomi comes to love her hosts as well as the small town of Scarlet Springs; and soon starts to believe that maybe she's found somewhere to belong.  Meanwhile, the attraction between Chaska and Naomi is unmistakable, and even Chaska has to admit that maybe his sister was onto something about fate leading him to the woman he was meant to be with.My Thoughts:Tempting Fate read like two stories in one, starting off with a semi-contemporary romance with a romantic suspense lingering in the background.  Naomi's escape from the convicts and then the hunt to find them.  Meanwhile, Naomi spends her time recovering in the Belcourt siblings' home, trying to figure out how to get her life back together while fearing that the convicts may come back for her.The second half was straight up contemporary romance, and there is a very slight distinction between the two halves at the 50% mark.  The convicts are captured and now Naomi and Chaska's romance takes center stage.  In this portion, a lot of mundane, day-to-day activities and events occur, such as little romantic dates, a few Team rescues, and big team dinners, and of course, the steamy sexy times.We could call it two parts of one story.First of all, I love how our author infuses so much heart into all of her work.  Her characters are always good people, and her message is always positive.  This is a standard Pamela Clare story.And alongside this, she also  always tries to bring awareness to a lot of different things; in this case, the Native American community, citing historical events and facts about places like Wounded Knee, or giving us a glimpse of what life is like living on a reservation.  Her infusion of the customs and traditions of the Lakota is definitely inspirational, while giving us a glimpse of a contemporary Lakota family and a couple, simply going about their lives, not restricted to stereotypes given by society or media.It's certainly something to think about.Tempting Fate is a sweet, lovely contemporary romance, written well, with a great set of characters.I suppose if I had to complain about something, it would be the somewhat over-dramatic emotional scenes that Pamela will sometimes drop into her romances.  She has the tendency to go a little overboard with her character's emotional reactions to any and all events, which will sometimes make me picture her heroine in a sobbing voice almost 90% of the time, and her heroes always clenching their jaw at every negative slight he perceives being directed at his true love.I sometimes also imagine swooning, and those old fashioned covers where the couple is barely dressed and there's wind blowing, for whatever reason.  I mean, all this particular cover is missing is a half-dressed woman, since we've already got heaving man-bosoms.Add onto that the schmaltzy dialogue during love scenes, and sometimes I have a hard time suspending disbelief.  Not that I've ever been in a relationship before, but it just doesn't seem believable that people talk and act like that.Then again, like I've stated, there is so much heart presented in Pamela's work that it's hard to stay frustrated with the little quibbles.  Instead, you just move on and enjoy the rest of the story.  Even if the story is a little disjointed, with most of the main conflict resolved before the halfway mark, and then the last half of the book simply filler material to slowly tie together all the loose ends.Because, after all, all the characters are great characters, and Pamela is a great writer, regardless.  As I'd stated before, I honestly have and still enjoy her romantic suspense books much more.  And no matter the amount of schmaltz, I still find her books entirely enjoyable, if only because she understands when to cut the schmaltz so that it doesn't become too over the top.Anyway...I DID enjoy the little road trips that Chaska takes Naomi on, from one area to another along the mountain ranges, from one little town to another.  And I always enjoy seeing the day-to-day activities of the SAR Team.Overall, this was an entertaining read, and I hope the next book will be about Chaska's sister.*** Free Friday #3:Page Count:  322Cash Award:  +$6.00Updated Bank Balance:  $137
    more
  • Christine
    July 3, 2017
    The distracting manboobs and hair on the cover aside, this was an unexpected treat of deep emotions, family roots, and soul searching. This was trademark Pamela Clare: strong characters with deep family and community roots, outdoors rescue drama, and simmering sexual chemistry. But what made this stand out was the deft and respectful incorporation of Lakota tradition and values into Chaska and Naomi's romance. At first, I stayed up reading to find out what happened to Naomi on the mountain; the The distracting manboobs and hair on the cover aside, this was an unexpected treat of deep emotions, family roots, and soul searching. This was trademark Pamela Clare: strong characters with deep family and community roots, outdoors rescue drama, and simmering sexual chemistry. But what made this stand out was the deft and respectful incorporation of Lakota tradition and values into Chaska and Naomi's romance. At first, I stayed up reading to find out what happened to Naomi on the mountain; the River Wild style tension was beautifully done. Then I had to stay up even longer to find out if she solved the mystery of her parentage - the emotional highs and lows that Chaska and Naomi experienced while opening themselves up to each other and their families was gorgeously done. By the time I hit the hilariously tender horsepower bride price scene, I knew that Naomi and Chaska were destined for a true HEA. Then again, any couple that could get through the equally hilarious "jalapenis" debacle should be guaranteed a HEA :)4.5 starsNote: I received a complimentary copy in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • marieno
    June 30, 2017
    Tempting Fate was a lot about the people of Scarlet and their generosity. In Scarlet, everybody is part of the family and there is always room for more. Naomi didn't come to town in an easy way but she didn't complain. She was resilient even though so much bad things happened to her. She deserves Chaska who by the way is described as handsome, intelligent, sensible aka the perfect man.We visited different mountains, different breathtaking views, Winona's wildlife refuge (And Winona brought of lo Tempting Fate was a lot about the people of Scarlet and their generosity. In Scarlet, everybody is part of the family and there is always room for more. Naomi didn't come to town in an easy way but she didn't complain. She was resilient even though so much bad things happened to her. She deserves Chaska who by the way is described as handsome, intelligent, sensible aka the perfect man.We visited different mountains, different breathtaking views, Winona's wildlife refuge (And Winona brought of lot of fun in the book), Knockers and the Cave where we witness the banter of the gang. Naomi met Rose and she's befriend by all woman but I think she got closer to Rain. (I hope her book is coming soon) We also see Chaska at work when a coworker adresses him in a tactless matter.Chaska helps Naomi to find her origins with the help of his Lakota grandfather. I thought we would see more of the Lakota side of the story. I wanted to learn more. I also wanted to see Shota more.This series is so good and it's only starting. I'm looking forward to all the others.
    more
  • Bonnie
    July 4, 2017
    I love this series and loved this story of Chaska and Naomi. Ms. Clare's experience and research shines throughout her romances, whether they be historical or modern. This story of rescue climbers and citizens of the Lakota nation comes across as real and not sensationalized. The story weaves these things into one of suspense, love, and sweet hot loving.The first story I ever read by Ms. Clare was "Breaking Point" which was the story of Zach McBride and Natalie. Being my introduction to Ms. Clar I love this series and loved this story of Chaska and Naomi. Ms. Clare's experience and research shines throughout her romances, whether they be historical or modern. This story of rescue climbers and citizens of the Lakota nation comes across as real and not sensationalized. The story weaves these things into one of suspense, love, and sweet hot loving.The first story I ever read by Ms. Clare was "Breaking Point" which was the story of Zach McBride and Natalie. Being my introduction to Ms. Clare's talent, Zach McBride has always been one of my favorite characters by her. While a small part, he is a recurring character throughout this series, and my heart always skips a beat when I see his name.
    more
  • ms bookjunkie
    July 2, 2017
    Love. Love love love. Competent h/h—engineer and artist—with an appreciation for nature. Emotional honesty. Hot smex. Relationships. Culture. Scarlet Springs community. Climbing and rescue. Jewelry making. Photography. I think I need to reread the earlier books in the series…
    more
  • Pat
    June 30, 2017
    This contemporary romance is an amazing story of courage, love and Native American history seamlessly weaved through the story. It's heroine an amazing woman who has no family, a terrible childhood and is viscously attacked when trying to find peace and quiet camping. This tragedy opens her life for love, family and so many new discoveries about herself. I only wish I could give it more than five stars. Full review on http://www.tbqsbookpalace.com soon.
    more
  • Gail
    July 2, 2017
    I hate to pick favorites.... because I love alllll my books...But every now and then, a story gives me goosebumps when reading it, makes me want to start all over again as soon as I'm reaching the last chapter. Tempting Fate was one of those books. I loved it.
    more
  • Meghan Lloyd
    July 1, 2017
    This was a book filled with unique perspectives and a fascinating in-depth look at Native American cultures, in particular that of the Oglala Lakota nation. I was intrigued by the set-up in this book, as most books I have read with Native American heroes tend to be historical. To have this take place in modern day, and encompass so much of what it's like to grow up Lakota in a country where ignorance of the culture is common, makes this book one-of-a-kind in my personal library.Chaska Belcourt i This was a book filled with unique perspectives and a fascinating in-depth look at Native American cultures, in particular that of the Oglala Lakota nation. I was intrigued by the set-up in this book, as most books I have read with Native American heroes tend to be historical. To have this take place in modern day, and encompass so much of what it's like to grow up Lakota in a country where ignorance of the culture is common, makes this book one-of-a-kind in my personal library.Chaska Belcourt is an engineer by day and a volunteer member of the Rocky Mountain Search & Rescue Team by night (and weekends). During a hike with his sister and their wolf, Shota, they discover a battered young woman who is lucid but unable to walk. After rescuing her, and sending the police to chase after her attackers, Chaska and his sister welcome Naomi Archer into their home. Bearing the appearance of a Native American but with stunning blue eyes, it's clear Naomi has secrets, and the attraction between her and Chaska is almost immediate. Wary of getting involved but helpless to resist the pull between them, Naomi and Chaska grow close. Having grown up in an abusive environment with her adoptive parents, Naomi knows she's found something special. But when she discovers the secret in her past, will she be brave enough to finally accept who she is?Chaska and Naomi had instant chemistry, and it was really exciting to watch their relationship develop! While I balked a bit at how much focus Chaska and his sister seemed to put on what Naomi's ethnicity is (I tend to think that it shouldn't matter), I began to understand why as the book delved deeper into their culture. Chaska was deeply religious and liked to keep the traditions of his heritage alive. As he taught Naomi about the Lakota nation, including their language, it was sweet to see how much trust they put in each other. Her background being what it was, Naomi surprised me in her kindness and understanding of others. She definitely was a unique individual who deserved a happy ending.I have read books by this author before, and I never leave dissatisfied! This was a great read with a lot of great cultural information about a group of people many in the US know very little about. Not only was this a nice romance, it was also a great educational book for me.**I received a free copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Cris
    July 6, 2017
    4.5*Whether she’s writing romantic suspense or contemporary romance, Pamela Clare excels at creating three-dimensional, realistic characters and delivering an emotionally engaging and compelling character arc--including the love story between the hero and heroine. TEMPTING FATE, the fourth book in her new contemporary Colorado High Country series, is no different: whilst it doesn’t evoke quite the same level of feels as its predecessor, FALLING HARD, it both delivers a heartwarming, charming sto 4.5*Whether she’s writing romantic suspense or contemporary romance, Pamela Clare excels at creating three-dimensional, realistic characters and delivering an emotionally engaging and compelling character arc--including the love story between the hero and heroine. TEMPTING FATE, the fourth book in her new contemporary Colorado High Country series, is no different: whilst it doesn’t evoke quite the same level of feels as its predecessor, FALLING HARD, it both delivers a heartwarming, charming story about finding one’s true self (and love) and honours & educates us about the Native American community (specifically, the Oglala Lakota). At the heart of it, TEMPTING FATE is about two modern members of the Native community finding their place and true love outside of the confines of traditional life on the reservation, but it is a story that rings resonates with everyone, regardless of what community they belong to. Heroine Naomi Archer is searching for her identity and place in the world after being abandoned as a newborn and raised in a repressive religious cult that both disdains her Native heritage and teaches her to be ashamed of her sexuality and her body. Hero Chaska Belcourt, the grandson of a hereditary Oglala Lakota Sun Dance chief who left the reservation to pursue engineering, isn’t looking for love but wouldn’t mind if Creator puts the woman of his dreams in his path. Fate brings them together to kickstart a love story that is equal parts sweet and sexy. Watching Chaska help Naomi realise her inner strength, come into her own, and discover sexual freedom and empowerment is incredibly heartwarming. Chaska is seriously the type of man most of us women dream of meeting, and watching him fall for Naomi is just as moving. The chemistry between the two is off the charts from the outset without ever feeling forced or unrealistic. And Ms. Clare wraps it all up with her trademark superb writing style and cadre of outstanding secondary characters (including a cameo by my all-time favourite hero, I-Team’s Zach McBride!). Can’t wait for the next instalment in the series!**ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Alima Livzletlivz
    July 5, 2017
    If you haven’t read Pamela Clare, you definitely are missing some stunning stories and Tempting Fate is by far one of her very best works I’ve read of hers. Book four of her Colorado High Country Series, Tempting Fate is the journey of a young woman trying to find her roots, heritage and finally belonging to a community that would be become a part of her life. Victim of a crime when vacationing in Colorado, Chaska Belcourt, the son of a Sun Dance hereditary chief, saves Naomi. As a genius aerosp If you haven’t read Pamela Clare, you definitely are missing some stunning stories and Tempting Fate is by far one of her very best works I’ve read of hers. Book four of her Colorado High Country Series, Tempting Fate is the journey of a young woman trying to find her roots, heritage and finally belonging to a community that would be become a part of her life. Victim of a crime when vacationing in Colorado, Chaska Belcourt, the son of a Sun Dance hereditary chief, saves Naomi. As a genius aerospace engineer and a member of the elite Rocky Mountain Search and Rescue Team, Chaska believes in fate and destiny and he was meant to save her from near death. Having being adopted by a cult family and ruled with an iron control, Naomi has been bound by the walls of the cult. But now recuperating in Chaska’s home, and with his sister Winona lending a helping hand, Naomi truly learns the works of life. Staying with Chaska and his sister Winona, Naomi truly learns the works of life. As Naomi heals under the loving care of Chaska, the sparks of attraction consummate the growing love for each other. Tempting Fate is a beautifully written multicultural love story, steeped with support and care, friendship and brotherhood, love and passion, family and heritage. Pamela Clare’s depth of detail and knowledge of the Lakota heritage, and her real life experiences give the story charm and reality, enlightening the readers and a pleasure to read this romance.And the clarity and characterization of Chaska and Naomi must be read to understand their chemistry, their love and the relationship that gives them the courage and strength to make a future.Received a copy from Victory Editing NetGalley Co-op via NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Carvanz
    July 1, 2017
    3.5 StarsChaska rescues Naomi after finding her broken, bruised and bleeding in the forest. When his sister offers her a place to stay to recuperate, he accepts that decision with grace. After all, she is a woman who has no friends, no family, and a long way from her home. This story covers not only the romance between these two characters, but the struggle Naomi has as she tries to discover who and what she is. This is a sweet, low angst romance filled with lots of interesting information about 3.5 StarsChaska rescues Naomi after finding her broken, bruised and bleeding in the forest. When his sister offers her a place to stay to recuperate, he accepts that decision with grace. After all, she is a woman who has no friends, no family, and a long way from her home. This story covers not only the romance between these two characters, but the struggle Naomi has as she tries to discover who and what she is. This is a sweet, low angst romance filled with lots of interesting information about the Lakota as well as the operations of a search and rescue team. The pacing is solid without getting too bogged down when sharing these details. There were several storylines this book could have taken that would have dialed the excitement up a bit but were either left to dangle or dealt with off page. Even so it was a nice read.ARC provided through NetgalleyDual POVSafePotential Triggers - (view spoiler)[Naomi is attacked by two escaped convicts who have every intention of raping and killing her. She grew up in what pretty much amounts to a religious cult where young girls were often married to older men. She runs away at sixteen when informed it is her turn to be married. Her adoptive parents were neglectful and abusive. None of this, with the exception of the attack, is actually shared on the page, but related as she shares her story. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Sparkymom
    July 4, 2017
    I had a hard time putting this book down. It started off exciting with great suspense and action, and then it drew you in to connect with the characters and their struggles, particularly Naomi. Pamela Clare did a great job of weaving Native culture into the story without it feeling like a gimmick to draw readers. Her writing conveyed a great respect and sense of realism which only comes from research. Once I read the author note at the end of the book, I understood where her respect originated a I had a hard time putting this book down. It started off exciting with great suspense and action, and then it drew you in to connect with the characters and their struggles, particularly Naomi. Pamela Clare did a great job of weaving Native culture into the story without it feeling like a gimmick to draw readers. Her writing conveyed a great respect and sense of realism which only comes from research. Once I read the author note at the end of the book, I understood where her respect originated and respected her work even more. I am not a person who thinks a real and valid point can only be made through non-fiction. While I enjoy fiction for the enjoyment and escape it gives me, I also like being challenged by a book to alter the way I think or to learn more. All that said, it was also a nice work of romance and suspense with a heavy hand toward emotional struggles and the connections of family. This was my first book in this series though I have read a couple of the author's I- Team books. I had no problems at all reading this as a standalone though it did leave me with a curiosity which will likely have me checking out the previous books soon.An ARC was provided by Net Galley for honest review.
    more
  • Debby
    July 5, 2017
    LOVE this series. I am normally not a contemporary romance reader. I prefer a bit more action. BUT this does not disappoint . There is enough mystery to keep you interested. And the love story is wonderful! It is not rushed or forced. The hero, Chaska, is a member of a mountain rescue group and rescues the heroine, Naomi. Chaska is very intelligent and confident. Good hearted and very family and community orientated. Naomi has a very different upbringing and must overcome her past , learn trust, LOVE this series. I am normally not a contemporary romance reader. I prefer a bit more action. BUT this does not disappoint . There is enough mystery to keep you interested. And the love story is wonderful! It is not rushed or forced. The hero, Chaska, is a member of a mountain rescue group and rescues the heroine, Naomi. Chaska is very intelligent and confident. Good hearted and very family and community orientated. Naomi has a very different upbringing and must overcome her past , learn trust, gain confidence in herself and adjust to a tight knit community. Many ideals and traditions of the Lakota Nation are spoke of... also many traditions of the quirky little town of Scarlet Springs. I very much enjoyed reading about both... wrapping that up with a wonderful romance was like getting a warm hug. Or visiting family (assuming you love your family!! lol). I can't wait for the next in the series!!!
    more
  • Margaret Sholders
    July 3, 2017
    I have grabbed every book of Pamela's that I could find. I have been reading this series from the start. I was torn apart reading this book! Naomi was on her own in camping. She was jumped by two fugitives. She managed to go free and fell down a ravine. That was where she met Chaska in the Search and Rescue. Major Spoiler! She has a broken ankle and he will take her to his home with his sister, Win, and a wolf. Spoiler! Naomi wasn't used to being taken care of. Not after her adoption. Major Spoi I have grabbed every book of Pamela's that I could find. I have been reading this series from the start. I was torn apart reading this book! Naomi was on her own in camping. She was jumped by two fugitives. She managed to go free and fell down a ravine. That was where she met Chaska in the Search and Rescue. Major Spoiler! She has a broken ankle and he will take her to his home with his sister, Win, and a wolf. Spoiler! Naomi wasn't used to being taken care of. Not after her adoption. Major Spoiler! Chaska and Win are of the Lakota tribe and they think she is too. Pamela having been a reporter knows just what to write. I would have liked more of translation back and forth but it doesn't hurt this book. It is also an adult read. If you like search and rescue, wolves and fighting her childhdod then this is for you! Don't let this get away! You won't regret it! I volunteered to read and review this book.
    more
  • Plumsexy
    July 4, 2017
    Got Milk? It's that the first thing you forget at the store every week? lol Beautiful story in so many ways. I enjoyed it for s personal aspect I have a Native American ancestor my Great Grandmother. It makes me want to explore that world a bit. I love how the author taught without it being a lesson. I love how everyday life is woven into the story. So many things good to say that I can't list them all find out for yourself! It's worth the read.
    more
  • Samie Kauchis
    July 5, 2017
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVED This book!! But then, there hasn't been a single book of Pamela Clare's that I haven't liked, so I'm not surprised. I'm quite glad that she's well enough to write again and can only sit here, waiting impatiently for the next book of hers to come out. I also love the way that Pamela makes every effort to portray the native american community as factually as she can. I've always been fascinated by their culture and enjoy seeing it represented right.
    more
  • Kim Vanravenswaay
    June 30, 2017
    Okay I had to change my mind, at first I didn't care for the cover of this book. After reading Tempting Fate, I now see that it depicted Chaska very well. Naomi's beginnings are so sad, I'm glad that Chaska was able to help her find out where she came from. There are a lot of daring rescues and a few sexy scenes that kept me interested right up to the end.
    more
Write a review