Tied Up In You (All Laced Up, #2)
Everyone says hotshot goalie Luke Jackson is God’s gift to girls, but the only girl he wants is his best friend, Malina Hall. He’s always known how brilliant she is, but now that he’s “accidentally” kissed her, he can’t stop thinking about her…or wanting to kiss her again.Problem is, things have been a little…awkward since the kiss. Because she likes him, too? Hopefully, but even if she did, their futures—and the ridiculous schedules that come with them—are in the way. And now one of his teammates is showing interest, and the guy has more in common with Malina than Jackson ever will.As her best friend, Jackson should get out of the way. But if there’s one thing he’s learned from hockey, it’s that you have to go for what you want, even if it means falling flat on your face. And he’s definitely falling for Malina.Disclaimer: This book contains a hot hockey player who goes after what he wants, a super-hot, super-distracting shirtless workout, and the kind of best friends to lovers romance every girl in the friend zone has dreamed of.

Tied Up In You (All Laced Up, #2) Details

TitleTied Up In You (All Laced Up, #2)
Author
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Tied Up In You (All Laced Up, #2) Review

  • Sarah
    July 9, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley.)This was a YA contemporary romance story, featuring a hockey player.I liked Malina and Jackson, and it was pretty cute how they were both rattled by an accidental kiss!The storyline in this was about Jackson kissing Malina accidentally, and then them both not being able to forget it as they realised that their feelings for each other were changing. We did get a bit of an argument between Malina (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley.)This was a YA contemporary romance story, featuring a hockey player.I liked Malina and Jackson, and it was pretty cute how they were both rattled by an accidental kiss!The storyline in this was about Jackson kissing Malina accidentally, and then them both not being able to forget it as they realised that their feelings for each other were changing. We did get a bit of an argument between Malina and Jackson, and it was nice to see that things weren’t always plain sailing, but overall this was a sweet friends to lovers story. The ending to this was happy.6.5 out of 10
    more
  • Miranda (MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It)
    June 22, 2017
    Tied Up In You was such a delightful treat! This book made me feel so warm and fuzzy inside. I was in the mood for a light and charming book, and this book fit the bill perfectly. I constantly had a smile on my face while reading this book, and it was an absolute joy to read! One thing I loved about this book was how prominent the side characters were in this book, especially families. I really enjoyed getting to see the main characters interact with their family and best friends. The author mad Tied Up In You was such a delightful treat! This book made me feel so warm and fuzzy inside. I was in the mood for a light and charming book, and this book fit the bill perfectly. I constantly had a smile on my face while reading this book, and it was an absolute joy to read! One thing I loved about this book was how prominent the side characters were in this book, especially families. I really enjoyed getting to see the main characters interact with their family and best friends. The author made it clear that strong female friendships are important and family is important. I personally LOVED that. I also loved how the author included some Hawaiian culture in this book. It was on the light side, but it was there and it was fabulous. There was some drama in this book, which I expected, but most of it felt very realistic. Sometimes drama in contemporaries can feel a bit like a soap opera, but I thought most of the drama in this book added to the plot and it didn't seem ridiculous. It was a little cliche at times, but it was always entertaining. Malina, the main female character, was such a wonderful character. Malina was a smart, determined, relatable, and funny character. I immediately liked her when her character was introduced. I liked how practical Malina was and how REAL she felt. Malina felt like someone I could be friends with in my actual life! I liked the growth Malina had in this book, and how her friends and loved ones made her realize she shouldn't be afraid to go after her dreams. I really enjoyed getting to know her and be in her head. I also loved her hilarious best friend, Izzy, and I adored their friendship. Jackson was the main male character and I adored him. Jackson seemed like it would have been a jerk with his past playboy tendencies, but he wasn't at all. Jackson was such a sweet and caring person. I really enjoyed his character development and how Malina helped him realize how much potential he had. Jackson was a boy who made me swoon so many times and I was loving it. The romance in this book gave me butterflies! It was SO STINKING CUTE. I am a sucker for romances that have the characters start as best friends, so it didn't surprise me that I thought this romance was precious. Jackson and Malina's relationship made me feel like I was eating cotton candy and it was wonderful. If you are looking for a light book with a cute romance, then I definitely would recommend checking out this book! 4 / 5 Fangs *This ebook was given to me in exchange for an honest review. * MrsLeif's Two Fangs About ItFacebookTwitter
    more
  • Sophie
    July 9, 2017
    I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher via NetGalley. This in no way impacted on my view.I read the first book in this series last year, and couldn't wait to see what was next from the author. When the opportunity to be a part of the blog tour for Tied Up in You, I jumped at the chance!In Tied Up in You, the main characters, Malina and Jackson, have been best friends for years, even if they are both interested in completely different things. Malina wants to work in astrophysics, an I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher via NetGalley. This in no way impacted on my view.I read the first book in this series last year, and couldn't wait to see what was next from the author. When the opportunity to be a part of the blog tour for Tied Up in You, I jumped at the chance!In Tied Up in You, the main characters, Malina and Jackson, have been best friends for years, even if they are both interested in completely different things. Malina wants to work in astrophysics, and loves Space and learning, whereas Jackson hates school, and spends most of his time travelling with the national hockey team. When he returns from an extended period away, he accidentally kisses Malina. However, they both find they enjoyed it, and want nothing more than to do it again. The problem, though, is that they both realise this when they're on a double date, with otherpeople. As their relationship changes from platonic to romantic, they realise that not everything is as simple as they thought it could be.I really liked Malina as a character. She knew what she wanted with her future, but cared enough about her family to follow their dream of her entering her father's company, rather than go to school and study astrophysics. Her relationship with her grandmother, Tutu, in particular was really sweet, and I loved that part. Jackson, who's name is actually Luke, but everyone calls him Jackson, was what I expected, but was also sweet and kind, and really cared about Malina, even if he was a bit pigheaded at times. He cared all about hockey, and school was just a chore that he had to put up with, until he would be drafted into the NFL.The friends to lovers trope is one of my favourites, and this did hit all the boxes. The fact that they knew each other so well, and already cared for each other, made their relationship all their better. Yes, there were times I shook my head at how obvious the angst was, but it was understandable for the pressures they both are under at this time in their lives. Seeing Lia and Pierce again, and knowing they were happy, was awesome too!All in all, this was a really nice and cute read for the summer. I felt like the characters were relatable, and was invested in the storyline for he time I was reading. There was one but that felt slightly disjointed, as if part of the story was missing, but it didn't disrupt the story enough that I couldn't continue. If you love this trope as much as me, I'd definitely recommend you give this book, and its prequel, a shot.
    more
  • Colleen
    June 28, 2017
    I recieved Tied Up In You as an eARC book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!Tied up in You by Erin Fletcher is the second book in the All Laced Up series. It can be read as a standalone book though the characters in the first book do make appearances. The first book is worth going back to read first in order to read this one.Tied Up in You features Malina Hall and Luke Jackson. They have been best friends since forever. Malina is a science/space geek and Jackson is a hoc I recieved Tied Up In You as an eARC book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!Tied up in You by Erin Fletcher is the second book in the All Laced Up series. It can be read as a standalone book though the characters in the first book do make appearances. The first book is worth going back to read first in order to read this one.Tied Up in You features Malina Hall and Luke Jackson. They have been best friends since forever. Malina is a science/space geek and Jackson is a hockey player. (He actually goes by Jackson in the book.)And their story unfolds into the cutest story ever. I honestly don't want to give away too much else because it's just so cute. I think readers should take the time to enjoy every single minute themselves without knowing too much of what'll happen.There is drama in this story because it is a high school story. But it's more realistic than overwhelming. This story is also just so sweet and fluffy. I knew within the first few pages that this was just going to be one of those stories that would be absolutely perfect. I tried to find one thing wrong that I didn't like about the plot for the review, but I couldn't. The one thing I almost didn't like about the story was that it was in PDF form for me since it was an eARC book, but even then the story was just SO enjoyable and so fluffy for me that I was even able to overlook that for once. And that means that it was a REALLY good story! I can't emphasize on how good it was enough.The writing was good too. I like Erin Fletcher's stories and will be reading more in the future. I also really liked all of the characters.It made me want to hug it in the end, and for me that is a definite five star read for me. I'll miss reading about these two, though it'll be a reread book sometime in the future. That ending was also unique and super cute.Now I hope we get Troy's story next after what he went through in this story!
    more
  • Melissa (YA Book Shelf)
    July 16, 2017
    Seriously couldn't put this one down. Malina and Jackson had so many funny internal moments that made me LOL...possibly to the chagrin of my fellow public transit riders. (I lost track of what stop I was at, and nearly missed my stop, too, which speaks to how enthralled I was by it.) Malina and Luke Jackson (aka Jackson) are best friends, but now that he's on the Team USA Development Hockey Program (sorry, Erin, I know that's not the actual name for this travelling team) and she's gotten more fo Seriously couldn't put this one down. Malina and Jackson had so many funny internal moments that made me LOL...possibly to the chagrin of my fellow public transit riders. (I lost track of what stop I was at, and nearly missed my stop, too, which speaks to how enthralled I was by it.) Malina and Luke Jackson (aka Jackson) are best friends, but now that he's on the Team USA Development Hockey Program (sorry, Erin, I know that's not the actual name for this travelling team) and she's gotten more focused on school, graduating, scholarship applications, and the like, they've lost touch. One night he comes over to her place and after the relief of finding out what the sound of glass breaking in the kitchen actually was, he accidentally kisses her. Malina freaks out at first, but what neither of them is willing to admit is that they both loved the kiss - not to each other and certainly not to their other good friends. One of the things that I thought was interesting about this best friends to lovers story is how by knowing so much about one another, they were uniquely qualified to hurt each other...even when they were calling each other out on their bullshit. Also, they have some of the most epic fights I've seen - even more epic than in some hate to love stories, but again, it comes from the same place. This isn't something casual, these are two people / characters who know more about one another than those in a hate to love story often know about their frenemy. If you like books with swoony scenes, a little heart ache, diverse characters, and some of the funniest / snarkiest moments in YA, then don't miss this one! (Note: You don't have to read All Laced Up, the first book in this series, to get everything since it tells the story of a new couple, including a hockey player who didn't get much face time in the first book, but you'll definitely want to check out Pierce and Lia's story, too...either before or afterward.
    more
  • Sierra the Nerdgirl
    July 8, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Darleen
    July 4, 2017
    » Review can also be found on Orchids & Amethysts.Title: Tied Up In You (All Laced Up #02)Author: Erin FletcherRating: 3/5Thanks to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing, LLC for letting me receive a digital copy of this book.Everyone says hotshot goalie Luke Jackson is God’s gift to girls, but the only girl he wants is his best friend, Malina Hall. He’s always known how brilliant she is, but now that he’s “ accidentally” kissed her, he can’t stop thinking about her...or wanting to kiss her aga » Review can also be found on Orchids & Amethysts.Title: Tied Up In You (All Laced Up #02)Author: Erin FletcherRating: 3/5Thanks to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing, LLC for letting me receive a digital copy of this book.Everyone says hotshot goalie Luke Jackson is God’s gift to girls, but the only girl he wants is his best friend, Malina Hall. He’s always known how brilliant she is, but now that he’s “ accidentally” kissed her, he can’t stop thinking about her...or wanting to kiss her again.Problem is, things have been a little...awkward since the kiss. Because she likes him, too? Hopefully, but even if she did, their futures—and the ridiculous schedules that come with them—are in the way. And now one of his teammates is showing interest, and the guy has more in common with Malina than Jackson ever will.As her best friend, Jackson should get out of the way. But if there’s one thing he’s learned from hockey, it’s that you have to go for what you want, even if it means falling flat on your face. And he’s definitely falling for Malina.This has got to be one of the sweetest stories ever. I saw so much potential and was left hanging when the story didn't turn out the way I wanted it to be and appeared to be more ordinary than I originally hoped. On the other hand, that's the good thing about Entangled Crush publishing - the authors never take a risk of creating adventurous scenes. It's always very light and sweet. So, chances are likely you'll find yourself swooning over a very charming guy and wanting to be the female's best friend.I found it refreshing that the characters' miscommunication didn't last through the whole book. That would have been very annoying. But since the two are best friends, I think it's easier for them to get over things and talk about them. That's also something I liked. While there weren't exactly flashbacks, you could still read about the past time Jackson and Malina spend together - how they became best friends and what connects them. I liked their friendship very much and the first chapters were my favorites, by far. I'm usually very picky when it comes to friends-to-lovers kind of novels, but if it's as sweet as this one, then I'm all in.And... The characters were smart. I was super impressed by Malina's project and her dreams. Though the novel focuses on the romance between Jackson and Malina, they still had other problems to deal with. Sometimes, I want to read more about these problems, but if so, then these reads are heavier, more mature. I'm glad the author wrote about Malina and Jackson's problems the way she did. They didn't outweight the story, it wouldn't have been right for the story. But the characters didn't have it easy, and I think that's important, because otherwise it would have been too light and too dreamy.Hockey isn't something I read about every day and unfortunately, most YA novels are about football players or even soccer players now. Hardly any novel is about ice hockey players or baseball players. That's why I was glad to find that sport in Tied Up In You. True, there aren't many sport scenes in there, but you still got a glimpse of how hard it is to become a professional in this sport. It's Jackson's passion and he goes for it. Same with Malina and her astrophysics project and her dream of studying exactly that, although it takes her a bit more time to figure that out.I've got a question: What's up with the grandmas? I can't even say why I dislike the ever returning grandmothers that are the only understanding adults in the books, but I do. I always want to skip these parts of the story. Why not an understanding parent? Why not an understanding sibling? Why is always the grandmother? They can be mean, too, you know?! But somehow, they never are. I think that's odd. I mean, good for the characters, but I wish some more people had faith in them but their own grandmothers. Doesn't matter how adorable Tutu is in Tied Up In You.Any fan of a light romance that can be read within a few hours, should give this one a chance.
    more
  • Monica Mccarver
    June 30, 2017
    I’d like to thank Netgalley and Entangled:Crush for gifting my this ARC in exchange for an honest review. First of all this book received browning points just because it was based in Michigan. I absolutely love books that take place in my home state.This is my first time reading anything from this author and also starting with book #2 in a series, I was a little worried. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised in not only her writing style but also the fact that I did not feel lost coming I’d like to thank Netgalley and Entangled:Crush for gifting my this ARC in exchange for an honest review. First of all this book received browning points just because it was based in Michigan. I absolutely love books that take place in my home state.This is my first time reading anything from this author and also starting with book #2 in a series, I was a little worried. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised in not only her writing style but also the fact that I did not feel lost coming in at book 2. This can definitely be read as a stand alone. This is a sweet, little friend to “more” romance. I’d say “lovers” but it’s pretty innocent and everything that you would expect a teenage romance to be. Luke and Malina have great chemistry and you are rooting for them to be together. I feel that the teen “drama” in this book was just spot on. It wasn’t so overly done that it doesn’t feel realistic or didn’t leave you wanting to strangle the two in the end. I think that the secondary characters just added to the story to make it so much better and Izzy is simply hilarious!! From family members to friends and teammates every one was behind these two and had tons of wisdom and good advice to share. If you are looking for a quick, cute YA romance this is a great one! HEA and super cute!!
    more
  • D.M.
    July 5, 2017
    I was so excited to get the chance to read this book. Hockey Teen romance story yes sign me up! This is a standalone story, however, features the characters from All laced up (Which I also really enjoyed BTW).Luke is the goalie in an elite hockey team. He travels a lot and doesn't have much time for anything else. Play hockey, dream hockey and eat hockey. He returns home for the first time in a while, and the first thing he does is visit his best friend, Malina. They are close, and can even fini I was so excited to get the chance to read this book. Hockey Teen romance story yes sign me up! This is a standalone story, however, features the characters from All laced up (Which I also really enjoyed BTW).Luke is the goalie in an elite hockey team. He travels a lot and doesn't have much time for anything else. Play hockey, dream hockey and eat hockey. He returns home for the first time in a while, and the first thing he does is visit his best friend, Malina. They are close, and can even finish each other's sentence, but what happens when you accidentally kiss your bestie?Malina loves science, but her father wants her to study business at university. She studies hard and spends her extra time doing her science project. She's busy just like Luke, but they are close enough to make it work. Him kissing her was just a mistake. It doesn't mean anything. Right?This has a teen feel to it, which fits perfectly. Both characters have their own stories and each other. I really enjoyed this sweet teen read. 4.5 stars out of 5.*I received this book in exchange for a fair review*
    more
  • Natshane
    July 9, 2017
    ★ 3.5 hockey stars ★I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of Tied Up In You provided by Entangled Teen and the author, thank you so much for the reviewing opportunity!Another sweet and fun read by Entangled Teen that centers around friends becoming lovers. Although the story was fairly predictable, it had a few laughs and swoon-worthy moments that will definitely make your heart flutter. Being best friends since young, the easiness in Malina and Jackson's friendship was what made their relation ★ 3.5 hockey stars ★I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of Tied Up In You provided by Entangled Teen and the author, thank you so much for the reviewing opportunity!Another sweet and fun read by Entangled Teen that centers around friends becoming lovers. Although the story was fairly predictable, it had a few laughs and swoon-worthy moments that will definitely make your heart flutter. Being best friends since young, the easiness in Malina and Jackson's friendship was what made their relationship so believable and real. I loved their banter, Jackson's obsession towards Tutu's food (my favorite character - she's such a wise woman) and Malina's passion in astrophysics, they seemed like people who I'd love to get to know in real life!However, as much as I liked the author's writing and the prospect of a friends-to-lovers romance, I wasn't as convinced about Jackson and Malina as a couple, or specifically, the turning point in which they became a couple. Maybe it's just me, but I thought things just escalated too quickly from the "accidental kiss". Overall, a quick and cute read that I'll recommend to young adult romance lovers!
    more
  • Olivia Farr
    June 28, 2017
    “Tied Up in You” is a very cute friends-turned-lovers Crush romance. As a Crush book, it’s relatively short and made to read in one sitting. The plot moves fast, but it’s often perfect for a simple but sweet story like this one. Malina and Jackson have been BFFs for forever. Malina dreams of being an astrophysicist (but is on track to do the practical thing and go to school for business), while Jackson is moving towards his dream of playing hockey in the NHL. The book begins when he returns to t “Tied Up in You” is a very cute friends-turned-lovers Crush romance. As a Crush book, it’s relatively short and made to read in one sitting. The plot moves fast, but it’s often perfect for a simple but sweet story like this one. Malina and Jackson have been BFFs for forever. Malina dreams of being an astrophysicist (but is on track to do the practical thing and go to school for business), while Jackson is moving towards his dream of playing hockey in the NHL. The book begins when he returns to town for a couple weeks in between traveling as part of the national development team for which he plays.Without much thought, he ends up kissing Malina- a kiss so good both of them are left questioning their current friendship boundaries. However, determined not to ruin the great friendship they have, they both try to stay apart. It all ends with a disastrous double date. The book flips back and forth between Malina and Jackson’s viewpoints. They are really fun characters and have a really cute story- anyone who loves friends-becoming-more stories will delight in this fun book. The length is perfect and I wouldn’t change it!I highly recommend this adorable book- it’s a fantastic beachy read and out with perfect time for a delightful summer read. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Gill
    July 3, 2017
    This was an improvement on the first book in the series but it was still far from perfect. There were a few cute moments but it was let down by the lack of chemistry between the two main characters, a similar problem I had with All Laced Up. I didn’t enjoy the pace of the story, everything happens too quickly with them. I wanted more tension and build up between Jackson and Malina so that it felt at least somewhat real when they inevitably ended up together, instead it’s just fell flat, even This was an improvement on the first book in the series but it was still far from perfect. There were a few cute moments but it was let down by the lack of chemistry between the two main characters, a similar problem I had with All Laced Up. I didn’t enjoy the pace of the story, everything happens too quickly with them. I wanted more tension and build up between Jackson and Malina so that it felt at least somewhat real when they inevitably ended up together, instead it’s just fell flat, even when they’re meant to be jealous of each other’s dates, it was lacking something. Overall I found this book to be very forgettable, I left a day after finishing before writing this review and i’d already forgotten their names. I do know I thought there were some nice moments between the couple here and there but after finishing it, I couldn’t tell you what those were.
    more
  • Deniz
    July 7, 2017
    Just.. perfect. 4.5StarsFletcher had me all smitten and fangirling with All Laced Up. I was uber excited about book two and I had high expectations, again. And again, they were more than met. I love besties to lover stories. Tied Up in You, is cute and swoony. It's the perfect cute & fluffy. Just like in the previous installment Fletcher digs deeper than expected. Which is what makes this more than just a fluffy read. It has some depth to the cute. The characters are interesting and unique. Just.. perfect. 4.5StarsFletcher had me all smitten and fangirling with All Laced Up. I was uber excited about book two and I had high expectations, again. And again, they were more than met. I love besties to lover stories. Tied Up in You, is cute and swoony. It's the perfect cute & fluffy. Just like in the previous installment Fletcher digs deeper than expected. Which is what makes this more than just a fluffy read. It has some depth to the cute. The characters are interesting and unique. I loved revisiting the Hockey boys and co. Malina and Jackson are my favorite! I mean I know I said Pierce was awesome sauce.. I still like him. However Jackson, is just better.. lol. Seriously: The friendship between Malina and Jackson is dynamic and feel very realistic. The changes between them had my all fluttery. I could feel their butterflies, I got their fears and confusions. It's beautifully written. Malina's heritage made her even more interesting. Love her relationship with her grandmother, it reminded me of how special my grandparents were to me. I love that both Malina and Jackson have high aspirations. Their dreams are really different and so are their interests, I adore that they both value eachothers passions. I was worried that there was going to be a love triangle. Because, well there could have been. But there wasn't. Just like with the rest of the dramas, there has to be some drama it is a romance, it doesn't drag on. Malina and Jackson do talk to each other, they do trust each other and no matter how confused they are or how angry they sort it somehow out. Which is one of the things I really loved about the story line. They have problems, they deal. Even if it isn't all smooth or perfect it feels like real life. Just with cute hockey boys and lots of swoon. A must read if you ask me.
    more
  • Viv
    July 9, 2017
    I was given an ARC from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. A massive thank you to Entangled Publishing and Netgalley for that. Tied Up In You, while it wasn't absolutely, mind-bogglingly amazing, was still a really cute and nice read. I didn't feel that I totally connected with the characters nor did I truly lose myself in the story. I really liked that the heroine was smart and that the romance was different in that it was 'best-friend becomes boyfriend' kind of way, I was given an ARC from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. A massive thank you to Entangled Publishing and Netgalley for that. Tied Up In You, while it wasn't absolutely, mind-bogglingly amazing, was still a really cute and nice read. I didn't feel that I totally connected with the characters nor did I truly lose myself in the story. I really liked that the heroine was smart and that the romance was different in that it was 'best-friend becomes boyfriend' kind of way, and of course, I liked Luke/Jackson. It just wasn't my favourite book under the Entangled Crush Imprint.I enjoyed the little things within the book, like I mentioned above, I liked that Malina was smart and science-y (a type of character we could use a lot more of) and I also really enjoyed the little touches of Hawaiian culture that was injected into the storyline (obviously, I am completely oblivious to the accuracy, cause I'm not Hawaiian, but I'm assuming that Erin Fletcher did a good job in researching it). It gave the story a bit of an edge and a more interesting twist.I didn't really fall in love with Malina and Luke's story. It was nice, sure, but it definitely wasn't my favourite. Still, worth the read cause it was cute, but again, not going to be one I remember for years and years after I've read it. Congratulations to the author on a nice book, and I look forward to seeing what other stories you (and Entangled) come out with.
    more
  • Dee/ bookworm
    July 6, 2017
    Tied Up In You is a cute crush romance. One that is more than boy meets girl and they fall for each other. This boy and girl are actually friends for years before their attraction forms. I liked that they had a friendship first. They knew the good and bad about each other before they decided to try to take the next step. A great book. Clean romance.I received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.
    more
  • Sam Kozbial
    July 6, 2017
    Rating: 3.5 StarsIf I had to sum up my thoughts about Tied Up in You, it would be that it was terribly cute.I love friends to more books, especially when the hero and heroine have shared a long friendship. Malina and Jackson had been friends since they were small children. They shared a past and knew each other so well. Therefore, there was a lot of that awkward getting-to-know-you stuff out of the way. BUT we also had all that push and pull and resistance to the attraction, as they didn't want Rating: 3.5 StarsIf I had to sum up my thoughts about Tied Up in You, it would be that it was terribly cute.I love friends to more books, especially when the hero and heroine have shared a long friendship. Malina and Jackson had been friends since they were small children. They shared a past and knew each other so well. Therefore, there was a lot of that awkward getting-to-know-you stuff out of the way. BUT we also had all that push and pull and resistance to the attraction, as they didn't want to complicate their friendship with romance. I expected this, and part of the fun with this type of story, is the stuff that plays out as they try to deny and fight their true feelings, which resulted a few really amusing scenes that arose as Malina and Jackson worked through their emotions. I really liked the way Fletcher incorporated the auxiliary characters. Malina had a fabulous best friend, Izzy, who more or less stole every scene she was in, and I adored her. I also loved Malina's family. Her relationship with her mother and Tutu (that's Hawaiian for grandmother) really tugged at my heartstrings. I will say it right now: the way to my heart is through the grandmother, because I become a total sap for every grandma I encounter in a book. I had a fabulous Oma, who doted on me and treated me like a princess. So, I guess they just remind me of her. Speaking of Tutu, I loved getting a little lesson in Hawaiian culture from her. It was a nice touch to pepper the story with some Hawaiian words, crafts, and food. Jackson also had a great relationship with his mother and sister, and there was an ease to their relationship that helped me understand Jackson a little more. These two did run into a few roadblocks, but the drama was low, which is the way I like my drama. And the drama arose, because they each want the best for each other. But fights are ok, as long as they make up, and I got a sort of grand gesture out of it, so a total win for me. I love sports romances, so a hockey playing hero is totally my style, but I could not have asked for more in a heroine. This girl was a STEM princess, and that whole girl in science thing, is a conduit to my heart. This girl with her love of astrophysics just made me giddy. I love seeing smart girls score the jock, and I like seeing that there is more to the jock than meets the eye. Overall: A sweet and adorable friends to lovers story, which left me with a gleeful disposition. **I would like to thank the publisher for the advanced copy of this book.BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
    more
  • Sabina
    July 7, 2017
    Even though I'm a huge fan of YA in any way related to ice hocky I must admit that 'Tied Up In You' was too predictable. The storyline is very simple here, no surprises: Jackson and Malina have been friends for a long while, but their busy schedules push them apart for some time and when they finally meet, well you guessed it- they fall in love with each other. There are some small obstacles but as we all already know love conquers all.
    more
  • Samantha Grubey
    July 16, 2017
    It was such a cutsey book!https://abookhavenx.wordpress.com/201...
  • Karen
    July 4, 2017
    This was a super cute, quick read.Loved Malina's family and the issues both she and Luke are facing post HS but the plot zipped through so fast. I thought there would be more build up to them becoming a couple but there wasn't, which meant there needed to be something else that (temporarily) breaks them up and was just a whirlwind.It didn't really stand out but it would make a fun summer/by the pool book - quick and swoony.
    more
  • Valia Lind
    June 27, 2017
    This was adorable! A cute, quick, swoony read was just what I needed. If anyone has read my first book, you know I'm a big fan of the whole "following your dreams" theme and this one gave me all the feels. I also love the "best friends to couple" trope and Jackson was just too cute with all the feelings. If you're looking for a quick, fun read, this one is definitely for you!
    more
  • Traci
    July 21, 2017
    a href="http://www.bookplusheart.com">Full Review and more available at https://wp.me/p7bgOg-yo Received a Copy from Netgalley on behalf of Entangled Publishing in exchange for an honest review.This book isn’t about a group of friends it is more about two in particular friends that finally come to their senses regarding their love for one another.Luke Jackson is on a path he has set for himself. His plan is to play for the teenage national hockey team and then get picked up for the NHL. He ne a href="http://www.bookplusheart.com">Full Review and more available at https://wp.me/p7bgOg-yo Received a Copy from Netgalley on behalf of Entangled Publishing in exchange for an honest review.This book isn’t about a group of friends it is more about two in particular friends that finally come to their senses regarding their love for one another.Luke Jackson is on a path he has set for himself. His plan is to play for the teenage national hockey team and then get picked up for the NHL. He needs to stay focus to accomplish this. He is on the road most of the time and doesn’t have time for a relationship. The occasional fling on the road is different from actually committing and trying to have some type of boyfriend girlfriend thing. The only person he is willing to go out of his way for is his best friend, Malina. However, he begins to realize how much he has missed being around her while he’s gone. So an accidental kiss ends up turning all his “so-called’ hockey concentration out the window.Malina is smart (well to me she is). She loves space and astronomy she wants to be an astrophysics, but that isn’t the plan her dad has for her. He wants her to go into a field that she will be able to obtain a job from after college. To help with college she has been working on scholarship after scholarship application. Now she just needs to figure out how to get her STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) project working properly so she could win the scholarship money for school. She has hit a glitch on the project and her mind has been preoccupied with the return of Luke (she and majority of the characters in the book call him Jackson). Now she is trying to juggle school requirements and her “now” awkward relationship with Jackson, ever since that accidental kiss.Malina and Jackson are super cute as best friends and I can see why they finally realized they had stronger feelings for each other besides the platonic kind. When these two fight it is all emotional and passionate. You can feel the tension come off the pages between the two of them. Their fights explode and have positive results from it.The supporting characters, such as Malina’s grandmother and some of Jackson’s team mates are a great addition. I loved the Hawaiian cultural that was added in to show Malian’s heritage. I think this book gives a good balance of romantic store line and family dynamics. I highly recommend this book. Thanks Entangled Crush!It alternates POV’s between Jackson and Malina, not evenly both consistent.The overall story wasn’t very long. It was a quick, fun, read.I give it a 4 overall.
    more
  • michelle (magicalreads)
    July 2, 2017
    **I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.3.75 starsI requested Tied Up In You because I read the first one and thought it was really cute. Thankfully, I was not disappointed with this book. It was just as cute as the first one although I don't remember everything that happened.Malina and Jackson have been best friends for most of their lives even despite their differences. Jackson is on a select hockey team (is that the term? sorry if it isn't) and travels a lot for ga **I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.3.75 starsI requested Tied Up In You because I read the first one and thought it was really cute. Thankfully, I was not disappointed with this book. It was just as cute as the first one although I don't remember everything that happened.Malina and Jackson have been best friends for most of their lives even despite their differences. Jackson is on a select hockey team (is that the term? sorry if it isn't) and travels a lot for games. Meanwhile Malina's busy applying for scholarships for college, where she plans to major in business. However, what she really wants to major in is astrophysics, but she doesn't think she should pursue her dream.Malina is half-Hawaiian, which is brought up a lot throughout the book through her relationship with her grandmother (Tutu in Hawaiian), who cooks often for Malina and Jackson. I loved these little windows into Malina's background; all of the scenes are so normal. Just, we need more books with representation that aren't focused on that representation, if that makes sense?TLDR: This book was super cute, here are some bullet points:-best friends to lovers-seemingly unrequited love???-STEM heroine (astrophysics and a little bit of coding)-lesbian bff, Izzy, who had the best scene in the book tbh:"You're happy.""I am. And you? Tell me about this Troy character. Is he gorgeous? Do you like his . . . Adam's apple? His narrow hips and big calves?"I laughed. "You really have zero clue what it's like to be straight, don't you?""Possibly even less than zero."Anyway, if you're in need of a cute, fluffy series to read, you should pick up this one!!read on my blog
    more
  • Arys
    July 14, 2017
    Tied Up In You by Erin Fletcher is book two in her YA contemporary series, All Laced Up. Featuring hotshot goalie, Luke Jackson, and his super-smart best-friend, Malina Hall. When Luke comes home from playing for his elite hockey team for a few home games before he leaves again for another round of away games, he goes to spend time with his best-friend Malina. What starts off as a normal visit soon turns awkward when these two friends share an accidental kiss. Let the romance and drama ensue. Fi Tied Up In You by Erin Fletcher is book two in her YA contemporary series, All Laced Up. Featuring hotshot goalie, Luke Jackson, and his super-smart best-friend, Malina Hall. When Luke comes home from playing for his elite hockey team for a few home games before he leaves again for another round of away games, he goes to spend time with his best-friend Malina. What starts off as a normal visit soon turns awkward when these two friends share an accidental kiss. Let the romance and drama ensue. Filled with lots of sweet of cute moments, a horrible double date, and a little bit of relationship drama as both Luke and Malina try to balance their newfound relationship amongst their busy schedules and figuring out their futures, Tied Up In You turned out to be a pleasurable novel to read. Ms. Fletcher does a great job moving these characters through their journey of hockey, astrophyiscs, and romance with aplomb. Maintaining a steady pace and an engaging storyline with the use of dual POVs, Ms. Fletcher also adds more to the novel with the inclusion of both Malina and Luke's families. For example, I liked Malina's family like her father and her grandmother Tutu. I also liked the other secondary characters of Pierce, Lia, and even Troy. Overall, Tied Up In You by Erin Fletcher is a light and fun contemporary YA romance that I would eagerly recommend adding to your beach read this summer. I liked the story and look forward to reading more by this author.(I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book I received for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my open and honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.)
    more
  • Yaiza
    July 9, 2017
    (I received an eARC through Netgalley)This was a light and sweet read with two believable teenage characters.Weirdly enough, the romance was the part I was less invested in, and at points it felt frustrating (the miscomunication plot for romantic books gets boring really fast) but luckily the book didn't dwell in that too much.It was more interesting for me when the romance clashed with the characters' hopes for the future: Jackson wanted to be drafted yo the NHL (I still have no idea how that w (I received an eARC through Netgalley)This was a light and sweet read with two believable teenage characters.Weirdly enough, the romance was the part I was less invested in, and at points it felt frustrating (the miscomunication plot for romantic books gets boring really fast) but luckily the book didn't dwell in that too much.It was more interesting for me when the romance clashed with the characters' hopes for the future: Jackson wanted to be drafted yo the NHL (I still have no idea how that works... blame Spain) while Malina is applying for colleges and scholarships. The topic of doing what you love and doing what's safe or profitable was handled wonderfully.The family relationships were very sweet although we only get to see Malina's home Life. I wish there had been more scenes with both characters' friends, I loved Izzy and wanted to see more of her.The writing wasn't anything special but I prefer it that way, we can immerse ourselves in the story without paying too much atenttion to how it's written.In general it was cute and had enough conflict not to be sappy, and besides the romance that it promises has some great friendship and family dynamics.
    more
  • Eve
    July 2, 2017
    Jackson and Malina were close best friends separated by Jackson's hockey commitments.Now, he's back and his feelings for Malina cause him to kiss her making her realise that maybe she could possibly like him back.As the pair's best friends realise what happened between them they each listen and root for them working out and being together after all they've been best friends for so long it would make sense.Despite college applications and scholarship's as well as hockey, after Jackson gets a cold Jackson and Malina were close best friends separated by Jackson's hockey commitments.Now, he's back and his feelings for Malina cause him to kiss her making her realise that maybe she could possibly like him back.As the pair's best friends realise what happened between them they each listen and root for them working out and being together after all they've been best friends for so long it would make sense.Despite college applications and scholarship's as well as hockey, after Jackson gets a cold and Malina keeps him company while he recovers, he invites her to his hockey teams party only there her STEM interest collides with Troy, an inventor she'd seen his works of on display.When Troy asks Malina on a date Jackson makes it a double date only during it things get heated and finally the couple realise their feelings need to be worked out for the sake of themselves!A teenage romance that will have you engrossed till the end, a sweet tale of love right in front of their very eyes which they never fully expected!Many thanks to the publishers for allowing me to review this book for them!
    more
  • Gata Leitora / Cat reader
    July 11, 2017
    Malina and Jackson have been friends since childhood and now teenagers have become confidants. One knows everything about the other besides twisting quite a bit by the other. After his game season and disappearance Jackson returns to apologize to Malina for missing her and ends up kissing the girl. As neither of them expected it, they are both taken by surprise by the flood of feelings and sensations that take over their hearts.After the shock they can not stop thinking about each other, but the Malina and Jackson have been friends since childhood and now teenagers have become confidants. One knows everything about the other besides twisting quite a bit by the other. After his game season and disappearance Jackson returns to apologize to Malina for missing her and ends up kissing the girl. As neither of them expected it, they are both taken by surprise by the flood of feelings and sensations that take over their hearts.After the shock they can not stop thinking about each other, but they can not admit what they feel because of the strength of their friendship until a friend of Jackson, Troy, enters the match and decided to conquer Malina.From then on the couple will live many interesting situations, romantic and funny with fights and much jealousy. What I liked the book most is that it does not take long to happen the romance and the life, yearnings and agenda of each one is that it ends up disturbing the couple.The book has a light writing and is quick to read. Great for hangover cure.4/5 stars.Kisses, Myl
    more
  • Eva
    July 4, 2017
    in tied up in you, luke jackson and malina hall have been best friends forever. and sure, malina sometimes wonders what might happen if luke saw her as something other than a friend. but he's a hot hockey player who can score with pretty much anyone, so she's resigned to her spot in the friend zone. except he kisses her. and he says it was an accident but things are weird. because that kiss was hot. and she wants more. and so does he. but neither of them is sure how to make the switch from frien in tied up in you, luke jackson and malina hall have been best friends forever. and sure, malina sometimes wonders what might happen if luke saw her as something other than a friend. but he's a hot hockey player who can score with pretty much anyone, so she's resigned to her spot in the friend zone. except he kisses her. and he says it was an accident but things are weird. because that kiss was hot. and she wants more. and so does he. but neither of them is sure how to make the switch from friends to something more. something romantic. so the first thing they do is set up a double date, where their dates end up as spectators to their bickering. their bickering is clearly foreplay. because it's pretty much obvious to everyone that they belong together. their dates are pretty sure. their friends are too. so all they need to do is make the leap. it changes everything. and of course, both luke and malina are up against some incredible pressure. it's the one time they could use having their best friend around, except now they have the distraction of something more. and for a moment it seems like they won't come through for each other. but love and friendship go hand in hand. being in love with your best friend can actually be the best thing ever. and i think malina and luke would agree. i really enjoyed this latest entry in the all laced up series. these hockey boys are so sweet, on top of being super sexy hockey players. and even though it's taking place around the holidays, it's the perfect read for a lazy summer afternoon.**tied up in you published on july 10, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (entangled: crush) in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • 2kasmom
    July 10, 2017
    This is book #2, in the All Laced Up series. This book can be read as a standalone novel. For reader understanding, and to avoid spoilers, I recommend reading this great series in order.Malina and Luke AKA Jackson, have been best friends a long time. They used to do everything together. Lately, school and other commitments have kept them further apart. So when they do spend time together, they seem to fight a lot.Jackson knows he should not be feeling attracted and hot over his best friend, but This is book #2, in the All Laced Up series. This book can be read as a standalone novel. For reader understanding, and to avoid spoilers, I recommend reading this great series in order.Malina and Luke AKA Jackson, have been best friends a long time. They used to do everything together. Lately, school and other commitments have kept them further apart. So when they do spend time together, they seem to fight a lot.Jackson knows he should not be feeling attracted and hot over his best friend, but he cannot seem to put aside his feelings. When they go on a double date, jealousy gets the better of him and he almost self destructs!There was so much to love about this story, where do I start? The characters were amazing. They were real, flawed, and felt all the feels. The banter was so much fun. I laughed out loud, I cried, I just basically enjoyed this novel right to the very last page! ***This ARC copy was given by Netgalley and its publishers, in exchange for an honest review only.
    more
  • Lynne
    July 10, 2017
    Another one of those friends to romance stories, Tied Up in You features Malina Hall, a girl interested in astrophysics and Luke Jackson, a hockey goalie. Though considered the second book in the All Laced Up series (the protagonists of the first book appear a couple of times in this book), Tied Up in You can definitely be enjoyed on its own. I loved how we got to see much of Malina's interactions with her family, including her "Tutu" (grandma). This was especially fascinating given, Malina's ha Another one of those friends to romance stories, Tied Up in You features Malina Hall, a girl interested in astrophysics and Luke Jackson, a hockey goalie. Though considered the second book in the All Laced Up series (the protagonists of the first book appear a couple of times in this book), Tied Up in You can definitely be enjoyed on its own. I loved how we got to see much of Malina's interactions with her family, including her "Tutu" (grandma). This was especially fascinating given, Malina's half-Hawaiian which shows up in her various family traditions. Furthermore, it was refreshing to see a female protagonist who is both gifted and interested in pursuing a STEM program and career as it's certainly a rarity. Tied Up in You was a quick read, and while I do wish there was more build up to the romance element of the book, it was overall a light summer read.Barnes & Noble
    more
  • Jessie
    July 1, 2017
    "Tied Up in You" is Erin Fletcher's latest YA. The main characters from "All Laced Up" are part of the friend group in this story. I enjoyed knowing how they were doing. However, this enjoyable 'friends to more than friends' story is not dependent upon having read "All Laced Up".The author's writing style pulls you into the lives of two high schoolers with big dreams. Many elements involved here which were dealt with well. The path to good choices prevails for the main characters and the one set "Tied Up in You" is Erin Fletcher's latest YA. The main characters from "All Laced Up" are part of the friend group in this story. I enjoyed knowing how they were doing. However, this enjoyable 'friends to more than friends' story is not dependent upon having read "All Laced Up".The author's writing style pulls you into the lives of two high schoolers with big dreams. Many elements involved here which were dealt with well. The path to good choices prevails for the main characters and the one set of parents. And on that note, it was nice to learn about their home lives. I enjoyed the facts on Hawaiian culture, hockey and STEM, which is all the rage right now.A very enjoyable YA love story with realistic situations. Thank you Netgalley.
    more
Write a review