Cocky Chef
You can call me arrogant as much as you want. But when you're the best at what you do and have the hottest restaurant on the west coast, with enough Michelin stars to make Gordon Ramsay's head spin, you've earned the right to your confidence.When I give an instruction in the kitchen, it's not a suggestion--it's an order. So when a new chef thinks she can do things her way, and dares to say so to my face, even her sharp wit and gorgeous pouty lips don't make it okay. But I have to admit, she's got talent. She's creative in the kitchen and not even that double-breasted chef jacket can hide her perfect body. As I get to know her, I can't help wanting to know everything she thinks. I've never met a more talented chef. And I've never met a sassier and sexier woman in my life.There's only one way this push and pull can end.With her in my bed, begging for more.

Cocky Chef Details

TitleCocky Chef
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 31st, 2017
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Humor

Cocky Chef Review

  • Lady Heather
    July 17, 2017
    Sneak Peak“You’re fucking incredible,” I growl. Prelude to pulling her toward me, my finger in her mouth still, angling her head so I can taste the tenderness of her neck, run my sensitive tastebuds down the taut muscles, follow the path that leads me to the front of her chest. Quiet moans getting louder as I run my tongue down the softness of her cleavage, her dress my enemy now as I pull it down and bury my teeth in her breasts.“Oh God…” she moans. “Cole…”Release Date: July 31, 2017 SynopsisY Sneak Peak“You’re fucking incredible,” I growl. Prelude to pulling her toward me, my finger in her mouth still, angling her head so I can taste the tenderness of her neck, run my sensitive tastebuds down the taut muscles, follow the path that leads me to the front of her chest. Quiet moans getting louder as I run my tongue down the softness of her cleavage, her dress my enemy now as I pull it down and bury my teeth in her breasts.“Oh God…” she moans. “Cole…”Release Date: July 31, 2017 SynopsisYou can call me arrogant as much as you want. But when you're the best at what you do and have the hottest restaurant on the west coast, with enough Michelin stars to make Gordon Ramsay's head spin, you've earned the right to your confidence.When I give an instruction in the kitchen, it's not a suggestion--it's an order. So when a new chef thinks she can do things her way and dares to say so to my face, even her sharp wit and gorgeous pouty lips don't make it okay.But I have to admit, she's got talent. She's creative in the kitchen and not even that double-breasted chef jacket can hide her perfect body. As I get to know her, I can't help wanting to know everything she thinks. I've never met a more talented chef. And I've never met a sassier and sexier woman in my life.There's only one way this push and pull can end.With her in my bed, begging for more.My thoughts "5 - if you can't stand the heat, then get out of the kitchen stars!" I absolutely adored this story!This book had everything I love in a contemporary romance.The characters were well developed and well written.Willow and Cole had amazing chemistry, great bantering and off the charts sex scenes. They were smart, strong, charismatic, kick-ass characters that were great to read about and to get to know.They complimented one another perfectly!I was engaged in the story from the beginning right till the very end.I really enjoyed the storyline. (I wonder if the author got hungry while researching and writing about these fabulous dishes and wonderful ingredients?)I highly recommend this book if you're looking for interesting, charismatic characters, great writing, and a wonderful story.About the AuthorJD Hawkins writes erotic romance with modern-classic alpha males and strong, independent women. He currently lives with his wife in Los Angeles, CA. He loves to travel and has lived in many places, including New York City, India and Thailand. When he isn't writing, JD enjoys surfing, training in Mixed Martial Arts, reading and taking naps. He's always loved making up stories, especially ones inspired by real life.Subscribe to JD's mailing list to get a first look at new work and free stuff:http://eepurl.com/bkVjMXI voluntarily read an ARC of this book which was provided by the author
    more
  • Debbi
    July 16, 2017
    There's something about a guy that....you were expecting the word - cook? Well, yeah, that too...but, I meant the guy that writes these hot guys....I think the reason he writes them so well, is because these guys are all his alter egos. He's kind of like a super hero that Jax Dylan Hawkins. He knows what men like and what they can do to make women purr, swoon and fall in love. He always has the best book covers and names for his characters. He. Just. Does. It. Right. Cocky Chef is JD Hawkins bes There's something about a guy that....you were expecting the word - cook? Well, yeah, that too...but, I meant the guy that writes these hot guys....I think the reason he writes them so well, is because these guys are all his alter egos. He's kind of like a super hero that Jax Dylan Hawkins. He knows what men like and what they can do to make women purr, swoon and fall in love. He always has the best book covers and names for his characters. He. Just. Does. It. Right. Cocky Chef is JD Hawkins best work to date. I absolutely fell hook, line and sinker for Cole! He is the best of the best at what he does - and he is one hot chef in the hottest kitchen in Los Angeles. He's been burned - literally and figuratively in the restaurant world but he rebuilds everything from the bottom up and takes the food world by storm. The instant chemistry he has with the new cook - Willow - becomes the ingredient that he's been missing in his newest recipe - love. Willow is the chef du jour of his restaurant Knife who falls for Cocky Cole immediately. She's a sassy spud whose creativity sparks new menus and ingredients that ignite Cole's palate. She's driven and focused and at times a bit ambivalent on choices that need to be made as her future begins to change. I loved everything about Cocky Chef. Both characters were so well written and the writing so beautifully presented. I could picture every scene, smell every menu item and taste all of the flavors in every appetizer, entree and dessert. The only thing missing - maybe a recipe for every food item in this culinary adventure. And, let's not forget about the supporting cast of characters- especially Chloe. She was so cute and definitely brought out the sweetness of Cole. Make sure you don't read this on an empty stomach! You'll want to savor every morsel of this story and I'd recommend maybe a Chardonnay if reading this in the afternoon and then a decadent Syrah when reading at night and you can enjoy with amuse bouchée! Bon appetite!
    more
  • Cristina | CristiinaReads
    July 14, 2017
    ➳A cocky but beyond irresistible chef, with magic hands that will have you drooling for more... I will say this, I am impressed with this story, and now I will be honest I was expecting to not like it AT ALL but I gave it a shot and am glad I did because I enjoyed it more than what I thought I would. The angst between Cole and Willow was one that I have not read in such a long time. It was slow for sure which was one thing that trigger me to give it a four, but slow but steady, they both climb ➳A cocky but beyond irresistible chef, with magic hands that will have you drooling for more... I will say this, I am impressed with this story, and now I will be honest I was expecting to not like it AT ALL but I gave it a shot and am glad I did because I enjoyed it more than what I thought I would. The angst between Cole and Willow was one that I have not read in such a long time. It was slow for sure which was one thing that trigger me to give it a four, but slow but steady, they both climbed that mountain and made it because it was purely heaven at the peek. Though their pasts have brought them together at the very end, they are both individuals that have gone through things that one cannot relate to which is something that I enjoyed about in this story- it's uniqueness and creativity that Jax has brought to the tables and further competitors in the book industry. Overall, I had a blast reading this book. It took me a while but it was worth it at the end of it all because the ride with Cole and Willow is one that you cannot miss and DO NOT WANT to ever miss. This is a must read by J.D. Hawkins and I cannot wait to read more of his books in the future to come! ➳ARC kindly provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review ➳Follow Me On:Blog ♕ Instagram ♕ Facebook ♕ Twitter
    more
  • Margaret
    July 17, 2017
    Ingredients: 5 Cups of pure Deliciousness 5 Tablespoons of Real Characters 5 Teaspoons of Research into the Restaurant Industry, spot on fooddescriptions, and two incredible sexy Chefs! A pinch of angst and throw in pureemotions, tenderness, strong characterdevelopment, sexy and emotional momentsMr.Hawkins gives you another 5 star read! A splash of two of my favorite little momentsin this book...."You do you" and "Truth"you want to call it that?" "Mm-hmm," I huminto my glass. "We need a little m Ingredients: 5 Cups of pure Deliciousness 5 Tablespoons of Real Characters 5 Teaspoons of Research into the Restaurant Industry, spot on fooddescriptions, and two incredible sexy Chefs! A pinch of angst and throw in pureemotions, tenderness, strong characterdevelopment, sexy and emotional momentsMr.Hawkins gives you another 5 star read! A splash of two of my favorite little momentsin this book...."You do you" and "Truth"you want to call it that?" "Mm-hmm," I huminto my glass. "We need a little moreof that in the world ." Mix together and you have such a delightful reading experience. One that left me with such happiness and full as if I just ate the bestmeal and drank my favorite tequila. Cole the best of the best in talent as a chef,businessman, looks and determination to staynumber one. He is tough but also has suchtender moments in this book. Willow also, an extremely talented chef with different views on food, customer care, stillkeeping her grounded and heart fulfilled. She is the whole package, like your favorite sunset that wraps you in warmth and beauty. Together they are the perfect blend but life, relationships and dreams aren't always perfect. The supporting characters in this bookthe friends,co-workers, family add to thepages. They add laughter, wisdom andfriendship with unconditional love. Chloe was me growing up with a three famousUncles that were Chefs to this day taught methat food is love and if it's done right the recipes live on forever. The epilogue.....I give it a standing ovation or in the restaurant world I give it the James Beard Award
    more
  • FunUndertheCovers
    July 15, 2017
    What happens when a confident, cocky chef hires a new cook that gives him a run for his money? Sparks fly and in more than just the kitchen!OMG! What can I say about this book? Well other than leaving me drooling and so hungry, this has to be the best writing that JD Hawkins has done so far! Oh my goodness, his amazing attention to detail blows my mind every single time. This book is beautifully written. You feel like you are part of this story, living it out with the characters. You feel their What happens when a confident, cocky chef hires a new cook that gives him a run for his money? Sparks fly and in more than just the kitchen!OMG! What can I say about this book? Well other than leaving me drooling and so hungry, this has to be the best writing that JD Hawkins has done so far! Oh my goodness, his amazing attention to detail blows my mind every single time. This book is beautifully written. You feel like you are part of this story, living it out with the characters. You feel their emotions so wholeheartedly. Whether it's anger, frustration, sexual chemistry or heartbreak, you feel it in your bones. Did I mention the way he would describe a dish in this book will leave your mouth watering? This book is absolutely sensational! I loved every word and couldn't put it down!!! This is a MUST READ!!! 6 stars!!!
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    July 15, 2017
    4 Delicious Stars Cocky Chef was a sweet,sexy and delicious story.It has a great story line,loveable characters and the perfect amount of angst keeping me in line from the beginning.I loved the relationship that Willow and Cole has.I adored them and I couldn't get enough of them.There was always a spark and an energy every time they were together.Willow is sassy and she is likes her job.Cole is cocky and arrogant but she is intrigued by Willow.I loved how these two start spending time together.O 4 Delicious Stars Cocky Chef was a sweet,sexy and delicious story.It has a great story line,loveable characters and the perfect amount of angst keeping me in line from the beginning.I loved the relationship that Willow and Cole has.I adored them and I couldn't get enough of them.There was always a spark and an energy every time they were together.Willow is sassy and she is likes her job.Cole is cocky and arrogant but she is intrigued by Willow.I loved how these two start spending time together.Overall it was a nice and refreshing story.    
    more
  • Aurora (Whoo Gives A Hoot)
    July 15, 2017
    * Read more of my reviews at Whoo Gives A Hoot * I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review... Cocky Chef by J.D. Hawkins was so freaking amazing that I am literally kicking myself in the a** since it happens to be the first book that I have read from this amazingly talented author. I recently discovered J.D. during a takeover a few months ago and I immediately added all of his books to my TBR list! Unfortunately due to both a busy schedule and a lack of fu * Read more of my reviews at Whoo Gives A Hoot * I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review... Cocky Chef by J.D. Hawkins was so freaking amazing that I am literally kicking myself in the a** since it happens to be the first book that I have read from this amazingly talented author. I recently discovered J.D. during a takeover a few months ago and I immediately added all of his books to my TBR list! Unfortunately due to both a busy schedule and a lack of funds I still had yet to read any of them...so...when I saw that he was assembling an ARC team for this release I jumped at the chance and WOW I am so happy that I did!Okay...let me just start off by saying that this cover is HOT! HOT! HOT! Being the COVER WH*RE that I am, my attention automatically goes to that, but this time it was the blurb that initially drew me in and then when I saw that cover it was hook, line and sinker. I mean who wouldn't be hooked after seeing that sexy man on the cover?!Cole is certainly what the title labels him as - a COCKY CHEF! How can he be anything but cocky after all the things that he has accomplished in his career - from being a famous tv chef who taught criminals the art of cooking to opening one of the hottest restaurants in all of LA! He's done it all and now he is about to discover how the love of a good woman will change him for the better. Willow is a little spitfire line cook that speaks her mind, even though it often lands her in trouble. After her restaurant fails back home she decides to try out the LA scene and lands a position at Cole's restaurant - Knife. That first encounter was perhaps my favorite scene of the entire story and their instant chemistry was undeniable. I freaking loved every moment of their story and couldn't put it down! Hands down one of my favorite book couples of 2017 thus far! There was not a dull second in this entire story and that fight towards the end of the book was PERFECT, but that MAKE-UP scene was EVERYTHING! I didn't think it was possible to fall even more in love with Cole but I DID! J.D. Hawkins this story was extraordinary and I can't wait to see what you come up with next (as well as going back to read your past releases)!
    more
  • Jodi
    July 16, 2017
    This book is so wonderful. It is without a doubt JD's best work to date. And that's saying a lot because I love his books, and Unprofessional was a favorite of mine, as well. But Cocky Chef takes JD's ability to another level. The quality of the writing, the depth of feeling, the word choice and the visuals that are evoked are nothing less than truly amazing.Our alpha male is Cole Chambers, a former reality TV star chef, turned restauranteur, a hot as hell former bad boy with a stubborn attitude This book is so wonderful. It is without a doubt JD's best work to date. And that's saying a lot because I love his books, and Unprofessional was a favorite of mine, as well. But Cocky Chef takes JD's ability to another level. The quality of the writing, the depth of feeling, the word choice and the visuals that are evoked are nothing less than truly amazing.Our alpha male is Cole Chambers, a former reality TV star chef, turned restauranteur, a hot as hell former bad boy with a stubborn attitude, a huge ego and a life where nothing's off limits. He's busy working hard and playing hard, running Knife, one of L.A.'s hottest and most exclusive restaurants and opening a second location in Vegas. And he thinks he has it made. Until he meets Willow. Fresh from the failure of her own restaurant in Idaho, she's been hired as the new line chef at Knife. Her career there gets off to a bit of a rocky start when she unintentionally curses out the owner, Cole. But despite the bumpy beginnings, sparks soon fly between Cole and Willow, despite their complete disagreement over food preparation, what a restaurant should be, and their visions of the perfect meal. Cole opens up to Willow like he has to no one else in decades. He tells her of the issues in the past that have led him to his inability to trust, and shares his buried hurts with her. Willow tries to keep emotions at bay, but she knows she's falling for this man, despite his flaws. But Willow has a secret of her own. And she neglects to share it. Until it's too late. And things are broken, including hearts. And Cole and Willow must then decide what the most crucial thing is for each of them. Are dreams able to be compromised on? Can what was once of utmost importance suddenly become insignificant? Is there a HEA in store for these two? This book had me laughing, smiling, grimacing and bawling. At one point, I was broken. And then I was put back together. JD's knowledge of the cooking field, his ability to describe not only the ingredients and dishes, but the atmosphere, the kitchen, the role of the staff and the emotions that go along with it all were on point. There were lovely romantic moments and deep, heartfelt conversations. Then tempers flared and melancholy tore both the characters and the reader apart. Absolutely ALL the feels are in this phenomenally well-written book. It is a must read and I would give it more stars if I could.
    more
  • MELISSA
    July 16, 2017
    REVIEW TO COME4 Stars!
  • Dominique
    July 17, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed this book for two reasons:1. The prose 2. The journey of its author. Lets start with the Prose. I like the idea of a book about food, because... food. I also love books about strong female characters. Its amazing when men can capture women at their womany-ist. Witty, smart, and sexy (this part men seem to nail).In _Cocky Chef_ We have Willow, who is now in my top 10 fave female characters to date. She isn't insecure, shes strong and sure and knows she's the I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed this book for two reasons:1. The prose 2. The journey of its author. Lets start with the Prose. I like the idea of a book about food, because... food. I also love books about strong female characters. Its amazing when men can capture women at their womany-ist. Witty, smart, and sexy (this part men seem to nail).In _Cocky Chef_ We have Willow, who is now in my top 10 fave female characters to date. She isn't insecure, shes strong and sure and knows she's the bomb in the kitchen. Other areas of life, maybe not so much. There was a pivotal point in the book for me where it looked like my girl Willow was going to "princess out:, she didn't though she follows her dreams. Then there is Cole, alpha male extraordinaire. He's not alpha because of his cockiness or even his skill in and out of the kitchen. Nah, Cole became alpha for me at the end (you'll have to read it to see what I'm talking about). I liked Cole throughout the story but I fell in love with that scene. The selflessness, the support the love. I love how he doesn't do what most alpha males do and deny he loves someone. He does, he knows, he owns that shit. Alpha (insert black girl clap here). Male (and again here).Now for reason two I love this book is the journey of the author. I enjoyed all of JD's books, but the last three "felt" different. They felt like he cared a little more ( not saying he didn't care about the previous books). The attention to detail, the nuances that come along with being a woman, a celebrity, a chef, a Californian the vivid d were all there and all executed so well. The descriptions of the food was another favorite, I could almost see it. I would salivate; or scrunch my nose up, at the pages. I love that he has written such beautiful strong women characters since the beginning. It makes me believe that JD has some strong leading lady characters in his real life (Good job Mrs. and Mamma H!!). The thing I have to say I love the most about JD's journey in this book specifically, is the angst. I've begged JD for some angst and he delivered. You gave good angst JD!!I would definitely recommend this book to others. Its so good and has so much heart.
    more
  • Karen
    July 18, 2017
    Chefs can be so pretentious and chefy and so up their own backsides with their truffles and effervescent jam. Cole Chambers is just that, like Gordon Ramsay but a whole lot more sexy. Have you seen the cover, I licked it? Cole thinks high end dining, is small portions on big plates sold at a high price with a soupçon of saucy sauce in perfect formation. Along comes Willow with her fresh food ideas and dirty burgers. I went out for lunch today with my work buddies and the most popular thing on th Chefs can be so pretentious and chefy and so up their own backsides with their truffles and effervescent jam. Cole Chambers is just that, like Gordon Ramsay but a whole lot more sexy. Have you seen the cover, I licked it? Cole thinks high end dining, is small portions on big plates sold at a high price with a soupçon of saucy sauce in perfect formation. Along comes Willow with her fresh food ideas and dirty burgers. I went out for lunch today with my work buddies and the most popular thing on the menu was actually called a Dirty Burger. Whilst I ate my mac and cheese burger with twice cooked chips I chuckled at the burger connection. Actually, no dirty burger for me - longtime vegetarian, but then again a mac and cheese burger could be considered dirty. Right?I loved the blooming relationship between Cole and Willow and the way JD wove foody vocabulary through the book. Talking of bloom, I was so inspired by Cocky Chef that I baked bread on Sunday - a bloomer. It was a thing of beauty and I was oh so chefy and pretentious massaging flour into the uncooked loaf so as not to damage the rise. I put a tray of water below it in the oven to create a steamy environment for a firm bake with a good crust. I'm thinking of applying for a job at Knife!I'd give Cole a Michelin star, but I'd give Willow 2, her menu ideas are way better. Yummy, salivating. I was choked and emotional at the ending and now I'm hungry.
    more
  • Paige
    July 18, 2017
    4 "Cocky" StarsFull review to come.ARC provided to A is for Alpha B is for Books for honest review.
  • Karen
    July 17, 2017
    This was such a fun read! I loved that Willow comes from a small town in Idaho to LA and was a strong female lead. I like that she stood up for what she wanted, but was still soft and caring. Cole who is the owner of Knife and celebrity chef where Willow works has a past and works hard to not let people get too close. The chemistry between Cole and Willow was electric. This book was hard to put down. And instead of a playlist at the end of the book, I think there should be a recipe book. Food an This was such a fun read! I loved that Willow comes from a small town in Idaho to LA and was a strong female lead. I like that she stood up for what she wanted, but was still soft and caring. Cole who is the owner of Knife and celebrity chef where Willow works has a past and works hard to not let people get too close. The chemistry between Cole and Willow was electric. This book was hard to put down. And instead of a playlist at the end of the book, I think there should be a recipe book. Food and love is a passionate combination.
    more
  • Thia Finn
    July 16, 2017
    Cocky Chef is a fresh new contemporary romance that offers a look into the culinary world. Hawkins does a wonderful job creating a believable story line as readers are offered a peak into the private lives of Willow and Cole. The beautiful language Hawkins chooses to depict the behind the scenes world of the restauranteurs leaves readers wanting more of the food, more elegant French dishes, and definitely more explosive bedroom scenes. If you've never read a JD Hawkins' novel, now is the time to Cocky Chef is a fresh new contemporary romance that offers a look into the culinary world. Hawkins does a wonderful job creating a believable story line as readers are offered a peak into the private lives of Willow and Cole. The beautiful language Hawkins chooses to depict the behind the scenes world of the restauranteurs leaves readers wanting more of the food, more elegant French dishes, and definitely more explosive bedroom scenes. If you've never read a JD Hawkins' novel, now is the time to get cooking with his best work to date, Cocky Chef.
    more
  • christine l. sturgill
    July 16, 2017
    I picked this book up and did not put it down untill I was finished. I loved everything about this book. A few things really stood out for me. I loved the concept of world renowned chef butting heads with a head strong, relatively new but extremely talented chef. Both Cole and Willow challenge each other and bring out the best in each other. I also loved how this book sucks you into the story line. Cocky Chef definitely delivers a wide range of emotions through out the book. Cole is cocky yet so I picked this book up and did not put it down untill I was finished. I loved everything about this book. A few things really stood out for me. I loved the concept of world renowned chef butting heads with a head strong, relatively new but extremely talented chef. Both Cole and Willow challenge each other and bring out the best in each other. I also loved how this book sucks you into the story line. Cocky Chef definitely delivers a wide range of emotions through out the book. Cole is cocky yet so sweet. I love Willows pasion for food and willingness to stand up for what she believes. Their interactions pertaining to food was amusing and nerve wracking. Many times throughout the book i wanted to look away but couldn't  and I kept yelling at them! I had to remind myself it was just a book! A must read book that will engage you in every possible way and leave you wanting more in the very best way.
    more
  • Books and Boys Book Blog
    July 21, 2017
    ** ARC provided by the author for an honest review **J D Hawkins’ Cocky Chef pits an arrogant, perfectionist against a laid back country girl. Told from both characters POV, you get to experience both sides of every argument. Don’t worry, they eventually get their HEA. Cole Chambers, chef and owner of Knife, the top restaurant in L.A. is well known for his temper and exacting specifications to his recipes. The smallest mistake will cost you your career. So when he wants to enjoy his meal and the ** ARC provided by the author for an honest review **J D Hawkins’ Cocky Chef pits an arrogant, perfectionist against a laid back country girl. Told from both characters POV, you get to experience both sides of every argument. Don’t worry, they eventually get their HEA. Cole Chambers, chef and owner of Knife, the top restaurant in L.A. is well known for his temper and exacting specifications to his recipes. The smallest mistake will cost you your career. So when he wants to enjoy his meal and the ingredients are off, you can bet that someone will pay. He isn’t prepared for his new chef’s passion or attitude toward his food.Willow moves to L.A. for a new start after her restaurant failed back in her home state of Idaho. She’s been at Knife for a week when she makes a mistake that changes everything. After a shouting match in the dining room with the owner over what type of thyme should have been used, Willow has resigned herself to a fate as a failure. Cole and his Gordon Ramsey like arrogance have other plans for her however.Cole is intrigued by Willow and her principles. Willow thinks he is too pretentious. They think completely different in regards to what customers want, but they are after the same goal: to serve a meal that keeps the customers coming back. Cole offers her a challenge, prove that taste and fulfillment will sell better or equally as well as his masterpieces. Neither expects where that challenge leads them or the potential for disaster it brings.I wanted to hate Cole right off the bat. Willow had it right when she says he’s a special kind of a******! As Willow got to know him though, so did I and let’s just say sometimes people are the way they are for a reason. I love that I was able to relate to the cocky SOB of the story, even when he was in the wrong. Hunger can be for so many things; love, friendship, food, and all of these are thrown in to make a fantastic and relatable story. I will never look at a burger the same again! Totally worth 5 of Cole’s Michelin stars.
    more
  • Lisa Menor
    July 16, 2017
    I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.Cole Chambers owns Knife the biggest restaurant in LA. He's had a rough week and heads to Knife to blow off some steam and that's when he locks horns with his recently hired chef Willow. Willow has just been taken to task and is prepared to face the consequences, but Cole has other plans for her. Cole finds himself making excuses just to spend more time with Willow. Not a wise thing for an employer to do. Cole is living his dream. He's I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.Cole Chambers owns Knife the biggest restaurant in LA. He's had a rough week and heads to Knife to blow off some steam and that's when he locks horns with his recently hired chef Willow. Willow has just been taken to task and is prepared to face the consequences, but Cole has other plans for her. Cole finds himself making excuses just to spend more time with Willow. Not a wise thing for an employer to do. Cole is living his dream. He's got success, money and women. Cole is a control freak, an egotistical, gorgeous control freak who always gets what he wants. That's what makes him so successful. Willow is a sassy, no nonsense, stubborn woman who doesn't put up with his rants or demands. She's an amazing chef in her own right. She's not like any other woman he's known...and he's known a lot. Cole is determined to have her. Things are moving fast between them. Maybe too fast. But is it possible Willow's dreams for her future don't include Cole?AWESOME READ ! WELL WRITTEN, ORIGINAL STORYLINE WITH COMPLEX CHARACTERS !  This is not just some book about a skirt chasing chef. This book has substance and it kept you engrossed in the plot. COLE AND WILLOW SHARED INTENSE CHEMISTRY THAT TURNED INTO RAW, UNRESTRAINED PASSION ! ! !  A DEFINITE MUST READ !
    more
  • Lauren Luman
    July 24, 2017
    I voluntarily reviewed an ARC.This is my favorite yet of JD Hawkins' books!! It was such an adrenaline rush to read about the charged chemistry between Cole and Willow. So much passion, for their craft, their skill, each other. I felt like I was holding my breath through most of the book. Don't worry, I'm still breathing.I don't think I've read any books with this type of boss/employee storyline. In a restaurant. Where timing is everything and you have to get things just right. Where just the en I voluntarily reviewed an ARC.This is my favorite yet of JD Hawkins' books!! It was such an adrenaline rush to read about the charged chemistry between Cole and Willow. So much passion, for their craft, their skill, each other. I felt like I was holding my breath through most of the book. Don't worry, I'm still breathing.I don't think I've read any books with this type of boss/employee storyline. In a restaurant. Where timing is everything and you have to get things just right. Where just the environment naturally creates this buzz of electricity. So it just makes sense that the meet-cute would be just as wired. It's almost a moment of enemies to lovers. I love the ambition and raw passion that Cole and Willow have for their profession. Food can truly be an aphrodisiac and these two prove that to the letter. I was literally on the edge of my seat, waiting with baited breath, to see how the story's conflict would resolve itself. I mean, you see it coming from a mile away because of the build up (not saying it's predictable, I'm pointing out that the Cole reacts exactly how you would expect because of what we know about him), but still, it leaves you restless. Wondering. Something I love about Cocky Chef is that there is so much to this story besides the sex, though that's pretty hot too. Because they both have such a love affair with food and the art of preparation, coming together, and "coming" together, is like a masterpiece, a dish served scalding hot, where simmering below the service is their literal love affair. I really loved the plot and its twists and turns, though I'm not much of a foodie so Cole's pretentious menu items were above my head. But that's all a part of who he is. His prestige and celebrity status are world-renowned so having someone like Willow who challenges everything he's ever known about cooking take him down a few notches is refreshing. Cole and Willow pair well together.5 Michelin stars ;)
    more
  • Stephanie Erickson
    July 17, 2017
    Small town girl Willow moves to LA to pick up the pieces of her failed restaurant in Idaho. She starts working for Michelin star chef Cole Chambers.He has a reputation for being an unforgiving hard ass.Cole Chambers comes to his restaurant one night to have dinner. He starts his meal and after a bite he's yelling for the chef who cooked his potatoes. When Willow is brought from the kitchen the spit fire doesn't back down. And Cole is intrigued.When they start seeing each other Willow is torn bet Small town girl Willow moves to LA to pick up the pieces of her failed restaurant in Idaho. She starts working for Michelin star chef Cole Chambers.He has a reputation for being an unforgiving hard ass.Cole Chambers comes to his restaurant one night to have dinner. He starts his meal and after a bite he's yelling for the chef who cooked his potatoes. When Willow is brought from the kitchen the spit fire doesn't back down. And Cole is intrigued.When they start seeing each other Willow is torn between having her dream of opening her own restaurant or Cole. The heat turns up in the kitchen and JD Hawkins kept me salivating for more.
    more
  • Tanaka - The Romantic Angel Blog
    July 18, 2017
    First of all, I got to praise how yummy this cover. Omg, it is just simply mouth watering and took my breath taking. How delicious is this body. Damn, I could not stop staring at it. J.D. Hawkins nailed this cover. But then again his covers are always on point. When I read the blurb of this story, I thought to myself there is a book I would totally relate to. Here is a cool, fresh and easy going book that make me melt and just fall in love in with. I did fall in love with this gorgeous. I felt a First of all, I got to praise how yummy this cover. Omg, it is just simply mouth watering and took my breath taking. How delicious is this body. Damn, I could not stop staring at it. J.D. Hawkins nailed this cover. But then again his covers are always on point. When I read the blurb of this story, I thought to myself there is a book I would totally relate to. Here is a cool, fresh and easy going book that make me melt and just fall in love in with. I did fall in love with this gorgeous. I felt all kinds of butterflies on my stomach because it was such a charming book that I definitely craved. There was just something so special about this book that everything inside of me just clicked. To think this is my first book by J.D. Hawkins. Seriously, where have I been? I feel like I need some kind of discipline for that because this author is just amazing. Cocky Chef is a fun and interesting book that had me craving for more.Cocky Chef was such a splendid summer read for me. It was a perfect and an indulgent book that seduced my thoughts and feelings. I am not fan of rom coms but Cocky Chef was just spectacular in my eyes. Drool worthy. Alluring. Sexy. Sassy. Cocky Chef was a breath of fresh air to my soul that pulled me in and lit a fire in my heart. So engaging. So passionate. Cocky Chef gave me a vibrant outlook into the culinary world. This made me think of the days that I worked in a professional kitchen. It was so vivid and definitely reminisce about my life in the culinary world. It felt so good. I loved every moment of this book. It was fiery. It dazzled me. And it also captured me so deeply. It was light, emotional and carefully laid out that I felt the story. J.D. Hawkins constructed a story so artistic bringing out quality and depth. It was beyond amazing. This is a sign of a skilled writer. Cole and Willow are such a dynamic couple with banter, sass and amazing chemistry. Wow, these two really brought an addictive energy that made me read and crave this book. There brought enough spark to electrify the story even more. I was in awe and their relationship was just beautiful. Willow is a strong chef with so much youthfulness in her. She was a spitfire and tenacious in her career and her life. I loved that she gave such soul and grace that made me love her even more. Cole is an arrogant, cocky and powerhouse of a chef. He was rigid and controlled but there was something about him that made me swoon and purr. Man, he made me tingle and sigh dreamily. I need a man like Cole. I just loved Cole and Willow. Definitely one of my favourite couples. Cocky Chef was everything. This book was just so radiant and gorgeous. I will definitely bw reading more books by J.D. Hawkins.ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Milva
    July 22, 2017
    I don't know where to begin so I start with the rating; 5+ stars.Of course you want to know why.First of all..food is everything and one of my favourite things I love. I should warn you before you start to read...Make sure you have a full belly or have some snacks. You're going to need it with all the mouthwatering recipes. You should drink some Asti Spumante too. You know for the experience.Cole is the chef, the owner of Knife. A 3 star Michelin restaurant. So you know it's a big deal. What I l I don't know where to begin so I start with the rating; 5+ stars.Of course you want to know why.First of all..food is everything and one of my favourite things I love. I should warn you before you start to read...Make sure you have a full belly or have some snacks. You're going to need it with all the mouthwatering recipes. You should drink some Asti Spumante too. You know for the experience.Cole is the chef, the owner of Knife. A 3 star Michelin restaurant. So you know it's a big deal. What I loved about Cole was that he was confident and sure about himself. Not the annoying stereotype Alpha male in most books. You just got to love him. You will! That's a promise!Willow! I have a girl crush! She knows what she wants and speak up. Even if it would get her in trouble. Again not the stereotype sassy and annoying girl, but a confident woman. And Chloë, she is adorable!Curious? You have to read it...seriously.About the author JD Hawkins. The way the story develops and draws you in. The characters seem like people you actually know. Very genuine. The way the dishes are described...you can almost taste it through the pages.Even though he writes in a different genre, I count him as one of my favourite authors like Stephen King and J.K. Rowling.5+ and more stars.
    more
  • Cee Cee Houston
    July 24, 2017
    I love it when a great story comes together, unfolding piece by delicious piece as the characters size each other up and take their stances. Cole and Willow didn’t let me down. From first meeting to the inevitable end they just kept the sass and banter alive throughout the story. The added combination of Chloe made a nice change too.Starter- nice, fresh taste, rolls off the palate well,Main- full-bodied and hearty with a hefty side of HOT sex.Desert(ending)- super, smooth sassy heroine filled wi I love it when a great story comes together, unfolding piece by delicious piece as the characters size each other up and take their stances. Cole and Willow didn’t let me down. From first meeting to the inevitable end they just kept the sass and banter alive throughout the story. The added combination of Chloe made a nice change too.Starter- nice, fresh taste, rolls off the palate well,Main- full-bodied and hearty with a hefty side of HOT sex.Desert(ending)- super, smooth sassy heroine filled with delicious tempting, sugar-coated sweet-talking ALPHA man.Cocky Chef it’s a one-clicker, grab yours today.
    more
  • Jo-Ann Forrest
    July 17, 2017
    If I could give it more stars I would. I was enthralled, enraptured, engrossed in this story! Cole is cocky, arrogant , self serving but he is a Michelin star chef, owns the hottest restaurant in LA , TV star chef and he has the looks to match! One night he sits down at his restaurant and had the line chef Willow brought out to chastise her. From that moment on, they become inseparable, the sex is steamy hot, their interactions hotter! But Willow has ambitions of opening her own restaurant and h If I could give it more stars I would. I was enthralled, enraptured, engrossed in this story! Cole is cocky, arrogant , self serving but he is a Michelin star chef, owns the hottest restaurant in LA , TV star chef and he has the looks to match! One night he sits down at his restaurant and had the line chef Willow brought out to chastise her. From that moment on, they become inseparable, the sex is steamy hot, their interactions hotter! But Willow has ambitions of opening her own restaurant and her friend Tony makes it happen for them. Willow is thorned between her love for Cole and not betraying him and her life long dream Can she have both or will she lose them both? It is a great story, that will keep wanting more from these two characters. I would love to read more about these two and the other characters in the book.
    more
  • Sam Lewis
    July 18, 2017
    J.D. Hawkins just made Chef Romance a thing. Cocky Chef had my stomach in knots and my heart going berserk! He has done it again. He creates characters that come to life. It's like I was right there in the kitchen with Cole and Willow. This book is so hot I just couldn't put it down and it left me hungry for more. I have always had a thing for cooking shows and competitions, but I have never really read any romance books about a chef. I love that Cole and Willow know their way in and out of a ki J.D. Hawkins just made Chef Romance a thing. Cocky Chef had my stomach in knots and my heart going berserk! He has done it again. He creates characters that come to life. It's like I was right there in the kitchen with Cole and Willow. This book is so hot I just couldn't put it down and it left me hungry for more. I have always had a thing for cooking shows and competitions, but I have never really read any romance books about a chef. I love that Cole and Willow know their way in and out of a kitchen. Their chemistry is sizzling. I appreciate that Hawkins chose to write in dual perspective. It is my fave because we get to be inside both Cole and Willows thoughts and see their internal struggles. This 5 star review is for The Sweet Spot Sisterhood. Bon a petit!
    more
  • Jennifer McCarthy
    July 16, 2017
    I received an ARC for my honest review. This book was another great read from JD!!! I completely loved Cole and Willow's story. Cole is one cocky, sexy LA chef. Willow is a kick a$$ heroine. I loved their connection. Completely loved this story!!
  • Fictional Rendezvous Book Blog
    July 22, 2017
    Cole and Willow. I loved these two characters. You can feel their chemistry from the get go. This book is like Iron Chef mets Romance. What really impresses me is how JD can really write in a female POV. Cole is such the Alpha male and a**hole all wrapped up in this hottie. Willow is a sweet country girl trying to make name for herself as a chef. This kitchen was so hot that you may want to stay out but you couldn't because of Cole and Willow's chemistry. I personally feel this is my favorite bo Cole and Willow. I loved these two characters. You can feel their chemistry from the get go. This book is like Iron Chef mets Romance. What really impresses me is how JD can really write in a female POV. Cole is such the Alpha male and a**hole all wrapped up in this hottie. Willow is a sweet country girl trying to make name for herself as a chef. This kitchen was so hot that you may want to stay out but you couldn't because of Cole and Willow's chemistry. I personally feel this is my favorite book by JD Hawkins.
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    July 19, 2017
    Release Date: July 31, 2017 Genre: Contemporary RomanceCocky Chef is a very enjoyable and angsty read. Having not read many of the authors books in the past I am glad that I took a chance on this one. It's a bit of a slow burn in terms of relationship development, so if you enjoy books that that then this one would be right up your alley. For me, I enjoy them because they make them seem a bit more realistic (not everything, especially relationships, are easy). The characters in this one are g Release Date: July 31, 2017 Genre: Contemporary RomanceCocky Chef is a very enjoyable and angsty read. Having not read many of the authors books in the past I am glad that I took a chance on this one. It's a bit of a slow burn in terms of relationship development, so if you enjoy books that that then this one would be right up your alley. For me, I enjoy them because they make them seem a bit more realistic (not everything, especially relationships, are easy). The characters in this one are great as well. They have to go through some stuff in order to find their HEA, but it is worth it in the grand scheme of things. Cole, our hero, is definitely the type of man I wouldn't mind meeting, and he certainly spoke to me as a reader throughout his whole journey. I loved him to pieces! Willow, another fantastic heroine, is a sassy little thing and she will certainly take you by surprise! She did for me anyway. The food!!!! This is the type of book that you won't want to read on an empty stomach because it has lots of super delicious foods in it (our hero is a chef after all), and your going to want to have a taste (in more ways than one). The author did a stellar job in incorporating this into the story so bravo! Now I am hangry... And I do mean HANGry. Because the story ended and I am now ravenous :DOverall, this is a wonderfully written story and I loved being able to go on the journey of love with Willow and Cole. I sincerely look forward to reading more of J.D.'s work based on this one and I think many readers will agree. Rating: 4.5 stars
    more
  • Jillian Kerr
    July 19, 2017
    Cole Chambers is a successful celebrity chef. He is cocky and arrogant and well established, but he has earned every bit of it. He literally built his restaurant Knife from the ground up and built walls so thick around his heart its virtually impossible to break through. His past experiences taught him to trust no one and if he wants it done right he does it himself. He allows a few people to get close to him, but he keeps them at arms length waiting for them to hurt him. Willow is a small town Cole Chambers is a successful celebrity chef. He is cocky and arrogant and well established, but he has earned every bit of it. He literally built his restaurant Knife from the ground up and built walls so thick around his heart its virtually impossible to break through. His past experiences taught him to trust no one and if he wants it done right he does it himself. He allows a few people to get close to him, but he keeps them at arms length waiting for them to hurt him. Willow is a small town girl with big dreams. She's tough and sassy and isn't afraid of a challenge. Cooking is her passion. She comes alive in and out of the kitchen when it comes to food. She moved to LA in hopes of moving forward from her past and starting over. She lands a job at Knife to help her get back on her feet. Willow and Cole's first encounter is heated and explosive, both determined to be right. When it comes to Cole's restaurant and direction in the kitchen he expects it to be followed no questions asked, but when Willow challenges him and looks him square in the eyes he realizes she is different. Professional and personal lines become blurred and the two begin opening up to each other. Passions, goals and the past are shared. Their time together goes beyond the bedroom and stolen moments wherever they are. They talk and laugh and enjoy each other for who they are. Their feelings and trust for each other are jeopardized when Willow takes a leap of faith. She wants to fight for everything she wants, including Cole, but his walls return quicker than they came down making it hard for her to get through to him. Cocky Chef is definitely one of my favorite J D Hawkins reads and Cole is one of my favorite heros! Despite his tough exterior, Cole is compassionate and a big softie with a big heart. He'll melt your panties off in the bedroom but turn around and melt your heart in a grand gesture!
    more
Write a review