Depth of Field (Last Chance, #1)
Shane Wallace has made a decent life for himself in Last Chance. He built his own home on his mom’s property to take care of her, owns an automotive repair shop, and when he wants to get laid, Portland isn’t too far away. Not too shabby for the boy who spent his childhood getting bullied and feeling alone. Shane’s content to leave his past behind him...until one of his childhood tormentors comes back to town.Maxwell Sullivan never planned to step foot in Last Chance again. Here, he was Maxwell, a teen who suffered in silence while everyone thought he had the perfect life. Now, he’s “Van,” the erotic artist and photographer. He’s only here to help his mom tie up some loose ends after his father’s death and to apologize to Shane. After that, he’s heading back to LA for good.Shane never thought he’d have anything in common with Maxwell, but there’s a depth to Van that surprises him. Van knows what it feels like to be alone. He sees Shane in ways no one else does. There’s a shared connection neither can deny. Somehow, despite their rocky history, they get each other.It’s not long before the two are so drawn to each other that they tumble into bed—sometimes with Van’s camera involved. Their chemistry in and out of the bedroom is undeniable. Except nothing is ever black and white. Shane can’t leave his mom and Van’s life is in LA. With two different lives pulling them in opposite directions, their picture-perfect ending might not be in the cards.

Depth of Field (Last Chance, #1) Details

TitleDepth of Field (Last Chance, #1)
Author
ReleaseJul 12th, 2017
PublisherRiley Hart
Number of pages230 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, M M Romance, Contemporary

Depth of Field (Last Chance, #1) Review

  • Gigi
    July 8, 2017
    Depth of Field has the distinct honor of being the smuttiest, dirty-talking-est, sexiest, hottest book Ms. Hart has written to date. This one is a panty-soaker folks!Shane Wallace never left his small hometown for the excitement of school or travel. His mother is ill and needs special attention. Attention Shane feels only he can provide.Maxwell "Van" Sullivan couldn't blow out-of-town fast enough after high school graduation. He moved to sunny California and immersed himself in the gay culture a Depth of Field has the distinct honor of being the smuttiest, dirty-talking-est, sexiest, hottest book Ms. Hart has written to date. This one is a panty-soaker folks!Shane Wallace never left his small hometown for the excitement of school or travel. His mother is ill and needs special attention. Attention Shane feels only he can provide.Maxwell "Van" Sullivan couldn't blow out-of-town fast enough after high school graduation. He moved to sunny California and immersed himself in the gay culture and artist community. He is happy and fulfilled and hates the thought of going home again after his father dies.Depth of Field starts as a kind of enemies-to-lovers story because of bullying that happened to Shane by Van and his friends when they were young. But that is quickly put behind them as they start that fucking-hot fucking I mentioned above. “Open your mouth,” Shane told him and Van did. He grabbed the base of his cock before tracing Van’s lips. He felt the pre-come there, painting him like lipstick, before he pushed his dick inside. “Could we take a photograph like this?” Shane asked. “Set it up so I could look back on it and see how hot my prick looks between your lips?” Did I mention that there is a camera involved? And wall sex? And face fucking? I guess I'll just mention them again since they are all very important aspects to the story.Between all the hot sex, there is a sweet romance and a few bumps in the road on they way to happily ever after, but they eventually make it and the ending was fantastic.And can we talk about that cover? fans self Click here to get up close and personal with all its glory.This one goes straight to my top 10 of 2017 list. Highly, highly recommended.Van is a homoerotic artist and photographer. I put up a fictional gallery of Van's art for you to enjoy.Advanced review copy of Depth of Field provided by the author in exchange for an honest review. This review is also posted at Gay Book Reviews
    more
  • ~✡~Dαni(ela) ♥ ♂♂ love & semi-colons~✡~
    July 14, 2017
    ~4.5~Depth of Field is Riley Hart's sexiest book to date, and you're not gonna hear me complain. Shane and Van have incredible chemistry, and even though there was plenty of the down and dirty going on, the sex never felt gratuitous. Even though I like steamy books, if I can summarize the plot as sex blah blah blah sex blah blah sex, that's a problem. Depth of Field is relationship driven, not sex driven. The sexual tension is there, but Shane and Van have a lot of guilt and resentment to overco ~4.5~Depth of Field is Riley Hart's sexiest book to date, and you're not gonna hear me complain. Shane and Van have incredible chemistry, and even though there was plenty of the down and dirty going on, the sex never felt gratuitous. Even though I like steamy books, if I can summarize the plot as sex blah blah blah sex blah blah sex, that's a problem. Depth of Field is relationship driven, not sex driven. The sexual tension is there, but Shane and Van have a lot of guilt and resentment to overcome. Van, then know as Maxwell, bullied Shane when they were kids. Shane was a loner, taking care of his mentally ill mother, and Maxwell and his cronies made his life a living hell. What Shane didn't know, what no one knew, is that Max was being tormented and abused at home by his powerful father. A few days after turning 18, Max left home and became Van: a homoerotic artist/photographer, an out and proud gay man, a kind person. Van left Maxwell behind, but he's never forgotten Shane. He feels terrible shame at how he treated Shane, how he did to Shane exactly what his father did to him. More than a decade later, Van returns to the small Oregon town where he grew up and tries to make amends with Shane, who is now a successful, confident mechanic with his own shop. Initially, Shane wants nothing to do with Van, but as he realizes what Van went through, his defenses crumble. I think the forgiveness was perhaps too easily earned. Shane is so angry at Van, and he lets Van know it, but then there's this sudden plunge into a friends with benefits situation. I was mostly okay with this, though. Van had no expectations of Shane; he was just so damn sorry. And the men have so much in common: a wicked sense of humor, a love of art, and a blazing attraction. Shane discovers that he has a mild voyeuristic streak when Van asks to photograph him in the nude. The scenes where Van looks at Shane through a lens, and Shane allows himself to just let go, are incredibly sensual and gorgeous. Remarkably, despite the potential for drama (Van's mother refuses to acknowledge that his father abused him; Shane's mom has severe depression, anxiety, and agoraphobia), this book focuses on possibilities and hope. Van lives in L.A. That's where his life is, but he wants to give the long-distance relationship a shot. Shane is scared and looks for an excuse to break off the relationship before Van can beat him to it. Riley Hart's modus operandi is creating a sudden, typically not mutual, break-up and separation between her MCs toward the end of a book. Sometimes this feels like manufactured angst, but I didn't think that was the case here. Shane was so used to people leaving, he didn't trust that Van wouldn't. The ending is lovely. The MCs are totally in love and hot for each other. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I loved this story and cannot wait for book 2!
    more
  • Jaime
    July 12, 2017
    Another amazing story from Riley Hart...she gets down and dirty in this book! Loved every word!! Shane and Van are two men who are explosive together and combine them with this enemies to lovers/just a fling content and you have perfection! "Van was mesmerized by him. He was so fucking real, real in a way he’d never experienced before. He was so into this man. It was quick, and likely not smart, but it was true. He felt this draw to Shane, this magnetic fucking pull that was too strong to ignore Another amazing story from Riley Hart...she gets down and dirty in this book! Loved every word!! Shane and Van are two men who are explosive together and combine them with this enemies to lovers/just a fling content and you have perfection! "Van was mesmerized by him. He was so fucking real, real in a way he’d never experienced before. He was so into this man. It was quick, and likely not smart, but it was true. He felt this draw to Shane, this magnetic fucking pull that was too strong to ignore. And he didn’t want to ignore it."Not to mention, Van and his profession as a photog/artist who specializes in homoerotic art! Imagine the bedroom scenes, they are sensual, erotic, raw, and hot as fuck! These two know how to pleasure each other and neither is shy!"Shane turned him inside out. Made him ravenous...""He loved sex. Loved touching and licking and tasting. Loved fucking. Maybe because he’d allowed himself to fear who he was so much, that he just wanted to revel in who he was and what he enjoyed.""We don’t fall in love or out of love in the same amount of time. People put too much stock into the right time. There’s no right time for anything.....I could. I think I could love him very easily. Shh. Don’t tell him that. He doesn’t know.”Full review ➡️ Alpha Book Club❥❥**´¨)¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)(¸.•´ (¸.•`*ARC provided by Author in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Jaime from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • Lisa
    July 15, 2017
    5++++ Stars!Depth of Field is a contemporary new adult MM romance and also book one in Riley Hart’s newest series entitled Last Chance. I have read books by this author before and was very excited to see how this newest creation would turn out. There was never any doubt that I would end up loving this one. This author certainly has what it takes to pen a seriously awesome MM romance and I can honestly say that this book turned out to be a favourite!Shane Wallace has not let the fact that his you 5++++ Stars!Depth of Field is a contemporary new adult MM romance and also book one in Riley Hart’s newest series entitled Last Chance. I have read books by this author before and was very excited to see how this newest creation would turn out. There was never any doubt that I would end up loving this one. This author certainly has what it takes to pen a seriously awesome MM romance and I can honestly say that this book turned out to be a favourite!Shane Wallace has not let the fact that his younger and more formative years essentially being hell on earth stop him from making a good life for himself in the small town of Last Chance. But, what happens when the bully who affected him the most comes back to town after being gone for twelve years? Maxwell Sullivan left Last Chance at the first opportunity he got. He moved to Los Angeles with the intention of never looking back. Going by the name of “Van” now, he’s ashamed of the person who he used to be as a teen. He’s particularly ashamed of how he and his friends harassed and tormented Shane. He’s back to deal with his mother and the death of his abusive father. Van is also hoping, by some small miracle, that Shane will accept his apology. Shane does not want anything to do with Van; however, he can’t help but notice that Van is not the same person he remembers. As both men spend time together, they dive into the unexplored terrain of lust and sex. With their painful past association, is this just a disaster in the making? Can Shane give his heart to one of his tormentors that made his younger years so difficult?The book is well written and made me feel. I became wholeheartedly involved in the beautiful imperfection that was Shane and Van and so wanted them to get the happy forever that I felt they both so richly deserved. When Van returns home for an extended period of time it is like he thrusts him and Shane back into their teen years once again. However, both of them are completely different people now. Further, there is so much unresolved tension between them which simply complicates the fact that they are both attracted to each other. Their past connection was one of hurt, anger and copious amounts of pain. When Shane and Van finally do venture into the unchartered territory of sex and attraction, can they let the past go completely and give their fragile relationship their all?While Shane’s and Van’s internal struggles and journey are certainly a big part of this story, I do think there was a great balance between this and the romance that was between both men. Seriously, their new-found connection and the depth of this connection was utterly breath-taking. I loved watching how they both discovered one another and got to see the men they had become. There is something so profound in being able to let go of the past and take a chance on something that is scary, intense and can utterly break you if things go wrong. This book certainly exemplifies how difficult the path to love can be at times. After all, we are all fucked up in one way or another and the road to self-acceptance, forgiveness and contentment can be harder for some.All in all, Depth of Field is a beautifully written book that will certainly touch your heart. I highly recommend this read for all lovers of MM romance. I seriously can’t express how much I loved reading Shane and Van’s love story. I am definitely looking forward to more books in this series! “Don’t let other people steal your joy. If there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s not to let other people take what you love. Hold onto that shit.” ****An advance reading copy of Depth of Field by Riley Hart was generously provided to me in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • .Lili.
    July 11, 2017
    You know, sometimes a book and I just click. From the first few lines, I could feel such would be the case with Depth of Field by Riley Hart. Depth of Field is an enemies to lovers story of two men who grew in a small town. Both men grew up in a world of pain, and both dealt with it in their way. Shane lived with the bullying at school and being the main caretaker of his own the best he could and grew up to be a business owner with great character. Maxwell (Van), one of Shane's bullies, left to You know, sometimes a book and I just click. From the first few lines, I could feel such would be the case with Depth of Field by Riley Hart. Depth of Field is an enemies to lovers story of two men who grew in a small town. Both men grew up in a world of pain, and both dealt with it in their way. Shane lived with the bullying at school and being the main caretaker of his own the best he could and grew up to be a business owner with great character. Maxwell (Van), one of Shane's bullies, left town as soon as he could- he wanted to leave behind the horrors of his home. He started his life over and became the man he was always wanted to be, but he lived with one regret: his treatment of Shane. Years later they come face to face, and Van has a chance to make amends never imagining the turn his life would take. What I loved:I don't know where to start...-Shane and Van. Both men who grew with so much pain but they never allowed the horrors of their lives to hold them back. They fought back and succeeded. -Enemies to lovers trope. I wondered how old resentments would be healed, and all I can say is that it came about naturally. -Pace. The flow of the story was smooth, and it had a quick pace. -Steam. Beautiful, sensual, and hot as all hell! The way she described them... some of hottest, if not the steamiest Riley Hart has ever written. Exceptionally written!-Tears. There were some tears- some were tears of pain, and some were caused from getting overwhelmed with emotion. I love when books make me cry. -Narration. Dual POVs! -The end. I was happy with how it all played out. The whole story I wondered how it could work given their circumstances (you'll see what I mean when you read it), but it was perfect. Do I have any niggles to report? I don't. Depth of Field is a fantastic start to Hart's new series. It's a touching story of family, growth, forgiveness, and love. 5 Stars! P.S. I AM DYING FOR CALEB AND RYAN'S BOOK!! I NEED IT.#RileyHart #DepthOfField #EnemiesToLovers
    more
  • ***Ralu~DirtyBooksObsession~***
    July 15, 2017
    💓 4.5 Stars 💓
  • Christina
    July 7, 2017
    I always love Riley's books in general but this one is simply gorgeous and just felt really...special. <3Plus, that cover is my absolute favorite. Just stunning.
  • *~*~*Kael*~*~*
    June 21, 2017
    Became mine upon release :-)!!*****WANT like nobody's business. Also, this is Riley, all Riley, pure Riley, and ONLY Riley ... so this has gotta be wonderful :-D!! Gimme gimme!
  • Elsbeth
    June 21, 2017
    *4.5 stars*LORDIE.... This cover ♡♡♡ And this book!!!Loved the dirty talk and the photography together!! Hott AF “Open your mouth,” Shane told him and Van did. He grabbed the base of his cock before tracing Van’s lips. He felt the pre-come there, painting him like lipstick, before he pushed his dick inside. “Could we take a photograph like this?” Shane asked. “Set it up so I could look back on it and see how hot my prick looks between your lips?” Right? Right?And yaayyyyy next book is about Ca *4.5 stars*LORDIE.... This cover ♡♡♡ And this book!!!Loved the dirty talk and the photography together!! Hott AF “Open your mouth,” Shane told him and Van did. He grabbed the base of his cock before tracing Van’s lips. He felt the pre-come there, painting him like lipstick, before he pushed his dick inside. “Could we take a photograph like this?” Shane asked. “Set it up so I could look back on it and see how hot my prick looks between your lips?” Right? Right?And yaayyyyy next book is about Caleb. So curious what has become of him.Go get writing, Riley!!
    more
  • Alona
    June 21, 2017
    Just for the hot as all hell cover I'd give it 5+ stars!!!
  • Lulu Forth
    July 11, 2017
    “Don’t let other people steal your joy. If there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s not to let other people take what you love. Hold onto that shit.”I love Riley's books, I always have. I'd love to say this is my favourite one ever but I have to credit Crossroads for making me fall in love with MM romance books and I just can't bring myself to knock it off the top spot for that reason alone but Depth of Field is a seriously close contender. Such a good book!“How are you Maxwell Sullivan?” he asked, e “Don’t let other people steal your joy. If there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s not to let other people take what you love. Hold onto that shit.”I love Riley's books, I always have. I'd love to say this is my favourite one ever but I have to credit Crossroads for making me fall in love with MM romance books and I just can't bring myself to knock it off the top spot for that reason alone but Depth of Field is a seriously close contender. Such a good book!“How are you Maxwell Sullivan?” he asked, even though the question was a silly one. “I’m not. I told you, I’m Van.”I really wanted to dislike Maxwell in this book. He was the school bully who particularly targeted Shane and made his life miserable. Maxwell (who now likes to be known as Van) left Last Chance at 18 and never looked back. Following the death of his abusive father he comes back to try and repair his relationship with his mother. He is now an out and proud artist specialising in homoerotic photography and painting (such an original idea - loved this element of the story!). And I just couldn't not like him, it drove me mad. He's so very remorseful and regretful of the way he treated Shane and totally owns up to his mistakes. He understands that just because his dad was abusing him behind closed doors that this did not give him the right to be cruel to Shane. 'He’d hoped for forgiveness. He needed it, whether he deserved it or not. The way he’d treated Shane was one of his biggest regrets. He’d been no better than his father.'Shane has never left Last Chance. Whilst trying to get through school he was also caring for his mother who struggles with crippling mental health issues. His father up and left when he decided he couldn't cope with his mothers health problems and ever since Shane has made looking after his mother his number one priority. At thirty years old he's still in Last Chance with his own car garage business. He's built his own property on his mothers land but still spends a high proportion of his time caring for her.“I was so afraid of who I was growing up. So ashamed, but Jesus, it’s fucking beautiful, isn’t it? Two male bodies together. Sex. Passion. Love. There’s nothing more beautiful in the whole goddamn world.”Initially when they first meet when Van comes home Shane wants nothing to do with him. But once they get talking and get to know each other better neither of them can deny the chemistry between them. Now, I must seriously hold my hands up to Riley for the way she wrote these parts because she managed to get the PERFECT balance between Van owning up to his mistakes and apologising to Shane and Shane quite rightly still being effected by the way he was treated by Van, listening and accepting his apology but not too quick as to make you annoyed with him for being too soft, so bravo for that! "I’ve never known anyone in my life as strong as you, and the kicker is, I don’t think you see your strength.”These two when they are together are seriously something special and I loved them. I don't want to ruin it so I won't go in to too much depth but just think about the fact that Van is a homoerotic artist with access to many cameras and recording equipment and all the fun they can get in to! Trust me it's seriously HOT. "Nothing has the power to hurt me like you do, but being without you scares me more."And they are so damn sweet and loving. There's twists and turns along the way but the dialogue as always is beautiful and real.Secondary characters were brilliant in this book. Van's mum drove me nuts and I just wanted to shake her, I adored Shane's mum and really felt for he struggles with mental illness but what really came a cross was her strength and determination to fight back against this hideous disease, I'm so excited about further books from some of the characters we've already met too! There was a fair bit of humour in his book as well and I'll just leave you with this quote to chuckle at.“How about you take that towel off and come here? I’d like to do you tonight. You be the outlet and I’ll be the plug. We’re electric together, baby.” Shane snorted out a laugh at his cheesiness. He liked being cheesy for Shane. “You’re a dork.”Reviewed by Lulu from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • Heather Martin
    July 6, 2017
    Have you seen the cover on Depth of Field yet, it is so freaking hot but let me tell you, the story inside is even hotter!! I know, you're questioning me, but it's a Riley Hart book so you know I'm right! We all have that one author, or maybe several authors, that you pay no attention to blurbs, you just immediately one-click their book, open it and devour it in one sitting. Riley Hart is that author for me. I'm running on 4 1/2 hours of sleep because there was no way I was going to stop reading Have you seen the cover on Depth of Field yet, it is so freaking hot but let me tell you, the story inside is even hotter!! I know, you're questioning me, but it's a Riley Hart book so you know I'm right! We all have that one author, or maybe several authors, that you pay no attention to blurbs, you just immediately one-click their book, open it and devour it in one sitting. Riley Hart is that author for me. I'm running on 4 1/2 hours of sleep because there was no way I was going to stop reading this book. As an adult, Shane has a good life but it's taken a lot of work to get there. He has a successful business, passing acquaintance with the bullies of his childhood, a few friends, his own home, his art, and his mother who loves him. But, underneath the surface is a lonely man who has spent most of his life alone and caring for his mother who struggles with mental health issues. He can't consider a relationship because his whole life revolves around his mom and his business and he never begrudges her that time because they're family and family takes care of each other. But Shane has some commonalities with his mom, and they're not positive. He keeps his life and his mother's issues secretive and takes on all responsibility for her with no outside help. And Shane is stuck. He's finally happy in his hometown, but he knows that it's his only option, because he can't leave his mother. All that changes when a bully from his childhood returns. Van grew up the privileged son of a couple with money, who ran the town. He appeared to have it all and spent his school days bullying and tormenting Shane, who was smaller and weaker. But, as soon as he could escape the town and his family, he ran and didn't come back. Now that his father is dead, his mother wants him back home. Only, the perfect family that was portrayed to the town never existed and Van's life was miserable, full of mental and physical abuse by his father and ignored by his mother. Van has no interest in being back in town, and he hates the person that he was at that time. He lives a happy life on his own terms. Once he left, he accepted that he was gay and he lives it to its fullest. He worked hard and graduated art school. He's a painter and a photographer of erotic art. But, since he's back in town, he decides it's time to apologize to Shane. Shane has no interest in Van's apology and plans to not see him again. But, as Shane knows, life doesn't work that way.I loved Shane and Van. At first, they appeared to be opposites, but in truth, they were very much alike. And both of them had hard childhoods, in very different ways. A very large part of this story was Annie, Shane's mom. Regardless of the amount of time she appeared in the story, I always felt like she was one of the main characters because everything Shane did, he gave consideration to what was best for him mom. And Annie completely broke my heart. I cried twice during my reading, and each time it involved Annie because she loved Shane as much as a mother could, but her issues just wouldn't let her be free. And her issues just didn't allow Shane the freedom he needed, either. I was so proud of her throughout this story. The relationship between Shane and Van is bumpy, but the more time they spend together allows them to get to know each other as adults. And once their walls come down a little, there is no denying the chemistry and attraction to each other. And that chemistry, and actions from it, are like a five alarm fire. I don't even have the words to tell you how steamy these two men are together, but I think Riley has created a new level on the scale of smoking, freaking, hot! And, I was so excited when I got to the end of the book to see that there would be another book after this one about Caleb, whose story has me so intrigued! I know it may be a little surprising, but I highly recommend this beautiful, heart-warming story of forgiveness, love and healing. *Copy provided by the author for my reading pleasure in hopes of an unbiased opinion, a review was not a requirement.*
    more
  • BR11
    July 16, 2017
    Hot, sexy and about second chances. This series started good! Riley Heart at her best.Recommend!Caleb (and Ryan??)'s story is coming soon and I'm looking forward to it.
  • Dana
    July 8, 2017
    Depth of Field, the first in a new series from Riley Hart, was fantastic. Once again, Ms. Hart gave me a story that I could not put down. Broken boys, enemies to lovers-- Shane and Van will run your emotions ragged. These men stole my heart. Both are strong on the outside, yet so incredibly lonely and vulnerable on the inside. This is a beautiful story about their unexpected encounter and surprising bond. It’s heartfelt and heartbreaking, sweet and so very sensual. Ms. Hart’s writing is top notc Depth of Field, the first in a new series from Riley Hart, was fantastic. Once again, Ms. Hart gave me a story that I could not put down. Broken boys, enemies to lovers-- Shane and Van will run your emotions ragged. These men stole my heart. Both are strong on the outside, yet so incredibly lonely and vulnerable on the inside. This is a beautiful story about their unexpected encounter and surprising bond. It’s heartfelt and heartbreaking, sweet and so very sensual. Ms. Hart’s writing is top notch once again!! Not only can she make your heart ache, but she can simultaneously make your heart race as well. The woman knows how to write some incredibly erotic scenes!! Depth of Field is a must read!!
    more
  • Sanaa ☆ Sanaa's Book Blog ☆
    July 13, 2017
    4.5-4.75 stars. My favorite Riley Hart book to date. I absolutely loved this book.Full review to come.---------Its live: http://amzn.to/2umr0RWAnd that cover alone deserves 5+ stars.
  • Cathy
    July 8, 2017
    Favorite quote:""I love you just the same. We're gonna have a long life together, loving each other right." Because that's what life was about, wasn't it? Loving people, getting loved in return."-Riley Hart from "Depth Of Field" This book gave me so many feels. It has angst, anger, frustration, guilt, sorrow, forgiveness and love all wrapped into one heartfelt romantic package. Shane Matthews, and his mother Annie, have lived in a small town all his life. He's forged a name for himself, and run Favorite quote:""I love you just the same. We're gonna have a long life together, loving each other right." Because that's what life was about, wasn't it? Loving people, getting loved in return."-Riley Hart from "Depth Of Field" This book gave me so many feels. It has angst, anger, frustration, guilt, sorrow, forgiveness and love all wrapped into one heartfelt romantic package. Shane Matthews, and his mother Annie, have lived in a small town all his life. He's forged a name for himself, and runs a respectable auto repair shop. Some residents have stayed, some have moved on. He minds his own business, takes care of his mother, and tries to keep out of trouble. But nothing prepares him for the return of one his most hated enemies who bullied him, tormented him, and was a constant reminder why growing up gay in a small community would always be a struggle. Seeing Maxwell Sullivan suddenly reappear in Last Chance, Oregon has painful memories flooding his mind. Maxwell Sullivan left himself behind when he turned 18. He purchased a one way bus ticket out of town, changed his name to Van, and tried to never look back. Then his father dies, and his mother asks him to return to the town he hoped to never return to. Last Chance, Oregon was his past. Los Angeles is his future. Returning means he'd have to face what he'd done, how he treated others, and facing the one person that had been the relentless target of his cruel behavior; Shane Matthews. He needs to apologize to Shane, but Shane wants nothing to do with his existence. This is in my top 5 favorite Riley Hart stories. She brings out all the feelings of love, lust and romance. She is also the queen of writing 'dirty talk'. Some writers make the dirty talk sound gross, crass, and stupid. The way Riley words it, however, fits perfectly with the characters, the moment, and is so well written it made me clench my thighs and wish for a cigarette, even though I don't smoke! There are two scenes in the book I've never read in any other stories. I guarantee it is so damned hot, it will leave you wanting a cold shower (hint: picture taking is involved). The story is romantic, powerful, will make your eyes suddenly tear, and leave your heart so full of love, you feel like it will burst.Five stars for this fantastic, well written, hot as hell story.
    more
  • Dani
    July 16, 2017
    Was it just me or did Van and Shane wink too much? It felt like there was winking in every other page. It was an okay read. Not the best work of Riley Hart but I hope book two will be better.
  • Carra
    July 15, 2017
    This book sure stirs up a lot of emotion—not just for the characters with their enemies-to-lovers story, but for me as a reader as well. I don’t think it’s possible for anyone to read this and not feel something; it makes you think and it makes you want…and most importantly, it makes you hope. I felt horrible for young Shane and the bullying he had to endure growing up…but very proud of the man he became. The torment he went through that was instigated by his schoolmates was blatant and excessiv This book sure stirs up a lot of emotion—not just for the characters with their enemies-to-lovers story, but for me as a reader as well. I don’t think it’s possible for anyone to read this and not feel something; it makes you think and it makes you want…and most importantly, it makes you hope. I felt horrible for young Shane and the bullying he had to endure growing up…but very proud of the man he became. The torment he went through that was instigated by his schoolmates was blatant and excessive, yet through all of it he persevered and continued to support his mother fully while still making something of himself in his town.Van…it’s very difficult for me to excuse his behavior as a teen, even while understanding the reason behind it. But I’m not the one with whom he needs to make amends, and as Van and Shane’s story advances, I came to understand Shane’s reasoning and eventually made peace with Van’s actions back then.And as for Van’s father…I can’t even think of him without wanting to scream. No parent should ever push their child like he did, setting expectations for them that are not their child’s but their own instead. Not accepting who their child is infuriating to me *shaking my head*. How he treated Van was immoral, judgmental, and abusive. Van showed tremendous strength of character to break away from all of that to go make it on his own—out and proud, living his life to his own expectations and not hiding from anyone.There’s a lot for Shane and Van to work through, and all the while their attraction is incendiary…which leads to some intensely erotic scenes. Do these two have chemistry? Holy. Wow. *screams YES! at the top of my lungs* Their intimate scenes are incredible, completely titillating and overflowing with emotion, and the addition of the photography adds a dimension of sensuality that throws everything into overdrive.And then there was the last page of chapter 20. *sigh* (oh, and yes that is my tease for this review…because that’s all you’re going to get from me on this one)Depth of Field is my favorite Riley Hart book so far, I adored both Shane and Van and I just couldn’t put this down. This book has blasted its way onto my Top Recommendations list and is worth every one of the five stars I’ve given it—and so much more. If you’re an M/M romance fan, this story is definitely a MUST for your library. It is meant strictly for readers 18+ for adult language and explicit, erotic sexual content.
    more
  • Dawn
    July 14, 2017
    4.5 stars Another beautiful journey by the amazing Riley Hart. This enemies to lovers book pulled me in and brought emotion by the first page. Enemies they were and I wasn't sure I could get past that but I did. She wove this tale with her trademark emotion and sensitivity. Now I have read every Riley Hart book and this by far was her most sensual. It was erotic, hypnotic and full of chemistry. I felt like I was right there and yet still had her beautiful boys with wit and charm. I felt for Shan 4.5 stars Another beautiful journey by the amazing Riley Hart. This enemies to lovers book pulled me in and brought emotion by the first page. Enemies they were and I wasn't sure I could get past that but I did. She wove this tale with her trademark emotion and sensitivity. Now I have read every Riley Hart book and this by far was her most sensual. It was erotic, hypnotic and full of chemistry. I felt like I was right there and yet still had her beautiful boys with wit and charm. I felt for Shane right away and wanted him to find happiness. Reading what these men have been through and yet they connected shows just how well Riley writes. If you're looking for an emotional book with warmth and intensity then this is it.
    more
  • Kim
    July 15, 2017
    First book in a new series by this author. And if the saying is true, the following stories are going to get hotter and hotter. Love enemies to lovers then add in broken boys putting up the facade all is well but is it really. If the prologue doesn't make you reach for the tissues - keep reading.Shane & Van bring out the other and make them release there is more to this life. They will take you on a roller coaster ride of emotions - add in Shane's mom - Annie - and be prepared for an amazing First book in a new series by this author. And if the saying is true, the following stories are going to get hotter and hotter. Love enemies to lovers then add in broken boys putting up the facade all is well but is it really. If the prologue doesn't make you reach for the tissues - keep reading.Shane & Van bring out the other and make them release there is more to this life. They will take you on a roller coaster ride of emotions - add in Shane's mom - Annie - and be prepared for an amazing trip, Hart Style.This book will grab you from the first page - chew you up half way thru and put you back together by the end.Well Done Riley
    more
  • Jen
    July 15, 2017
    I think this is my new favourite Riley Hart novel. Van and Shane's story is so romantic and sexy. I swooned the whole way through while having a goofy grin on my face. The passion and feeling that went into these characters was just outstanding. Shane and Van are two very incredible characters that I could not get enough of. Riley really out did herself on this one. SO DAMN HOT!!! I really loved everything about this one and I can't wait for Caleb and Ryan's story.
    more
  • Wendy Moore
    July 16, 2017
    I am a HUGE Riley Hart fan and this book did not disappoint!! I think it is my new favorite of hers. This book had so many feels. Van and Shane were great together. I loved everything about this book. I am so looking forward to Caleb's story!!
  • Michael
    July 16, 2017
    You must read this bookSome books follow formulas, especially those in the enemies-to-lovers trope. Two MC's hated each other in the past for various reasons only to meet years later and those sparks fly again turning into heated passion.Not so much with this one.Shane was bullied in school by Max and his friends for various reasons including the assumption that he was gay as well as his mothers mental illness. They were often cruel and unyielding, cementing Shane's distrust of people in general You must read this bookSome books follow formulas, especially those in the enemies-to-lovers trope. Two MC's hated each other in the past for various reasons only to meet years later and those sparks fly again turning into heated passion.Not so much with this one.Shane was bullied in school by Max and his friends for various reasons including the assumption that he was gay as well as his mothers mental illness. They were often cruel and unyielding, cementing Shane's distrust of people in general. Max leaves Last Chance (the town they grew up in, very aptly named) while Shane stays behind to care for his ill mother. Max returns twelve years later, having changed his name to Van as well as his personality. In that time, Shane has opened his on auto repair shop and has regained some of the self confidence destroyed by Max and his friends years previous, all the while taking care of his mother.Their first few encounters after Van returns are justifiably tense, especially considering what Shane had to experience literally at the hands of Max/Van years previous. But then something happens involving Van and Shane's mother which allows Shane to see a different side of Van, a side Shane never would have thought existed.I must say, the depiction of Shane's mothers illness is done with such depth and tenderness that you can't help but feel bad for the situation that both Shane and his mother find themselves in. One scene in particular involving Van and Annie will stay with you long after finishing the book, it's THAT tender.Shane and Van have obstacles they must overcome in order to be together, including geographic distance. It's the work and sacrifices by all parties; Shane, Van, and even Annie, that make this such a beautiful book to read and experience.
    more
  • Dee
    July 14, 2017
    This story is Riley Hart's best work. Shane and Van's story is a story of heartbreak, forgiveness and love. Shane Dawson was tormented by small town bullies all through high school. Emotionally tied to the town of Last Chance by familial obligations, Shane made a life for himself as a business owner and respected citizen. He took care of his mother and a kept to himself, except for night's out with his friend Ryan, and occasional trips to Portland to get laid. Maxwell Sullivan lived a charmed li This story is Riley Hart's best work. Shane and Van's story is a story of heartbreak, forgiveness and love. Shane Dawson was tormented by small town bullies all through high school. Emotionally tied to the town of Last Chance by familial obligations, Shane made a life for himself as a business owner and respected citizen. He took care of his mother and a kept to himself, except for night's out with his friend Ryan, and occasional trips to Portland to get laid. Maxwell Sullivan lived a charmed life to the outside world. The high school golden boy who hid his suffering while taking out his anger on small and thin Shane. After graduating high school, Maxwell leaves the town of Last Chance for good and starts a new life as Van. He puts himself through school and establishes a life in LA as an artist. But he lives with regret for all hurtful things he did to Shane. Twelve years later he is called home after his father's death. His mother needs him, but can he forgive her when she can't acknowledge the past or accept her that her son is gay? Shane and Van run into each other and Van is given an opportunity to apologize for his past actions. Shane doesn't want Van's apology at first, but in time the two men talk things over and realize they have much more in common than they thought and a connection develops between them, in and out of bed. The chemistry between them is sensual and eye-opening. Van helps Shane discover things he never knew he wanted. Together they burn up the sheets and build a relationship neither expected. But how can they make things work when Shane is tied to Last Chance by his mother's illness and Van has established a life in LA? Each man needs to put painful childhood memories behind him, in order to let go and build a life together.
    more
  • Linda
    July 15, 2017
    Depth Of Field is exactly what it's all about. The name is perfect for this book. The background is how we measure or understand or comprehend what's in a picture, a life, a situation or any event or group of events. Shane and Van's story is so emotional and so full of love and all the terrors and happiness that comes with it. It feels like an every person story in that way. Classic like the cars Shane loves to work on or the art Van found within himself. It reminds us all to be true to who are Depth Of Field is exactly what it's all about. The name is perfect for this book. The background is how we measure or understand or comprehend what's in a picture, a life, a situation or any event or group of events. Shane and Van's story is so emotional and so full of love and all the terrors and happiness that comes with it. It feels like an every person story in that way. Classic like the cars Shane loves to work on or the art Van found within himself. It reminds us all to be true to who are that is the only route to happiness.I loved this book. I took a few breaks to sleep but every time I'd wake up going wait what's happening with Shane and Van... I have enjoyed many of Riley Hart's books and read most of them once if not twice. I have the whole Blackcreek and Crossroads series on Audible also. They are good company on long drives. When I need to make a trip to town I put in the Return To Blackcreek for the short trips. I have to say Depth of Field is my new favorite and I can't wait for the Audible. I see I wrote this whole review without any of my usual objectivity. Let me say here the editing was great and grammar spot on not a single distraction. And the sex nearly steamed my reading glasses. I'm on vacation can't wit to get home to my husband,, He's gonna be a happy man.
    more
  • Billy J Stratton
    July 15, 2017
    Another outstanding story from this author.You always know when you purchase a book by this author it will be a wonderful emotional story. This storyline was definitely a different twist. Your nemesis from your childhood that treated so awful returns to town when you haven't seen him in twelve years. Him and his friends called you awful names and made fun of your mother that has some severe anxiety disorders. You believed you would never see him again and he is suddenly back in town and everybod Another outstanding story from this author.You always know when you purchase a book by this author it will be a wonderful emotional story. This storyline was definitely a different twist. Your nemesis from your childhood that treated so awful returns to town when you haven't seen him in twelve years. Him and his friends called you awful names and made fun of your mother that has some severe anxiety disorders. You believed you would never see him again and he is suddenly back in town and everybody is so happy to see the golden boy back. He apologizes to you, is extremely helpful when he finds your mother in a bad way, and informs you after calling you maggot for years that he is gay. Dive into this story and enjoy.
    more
  • Meggie
    July 16, 2017
    Depth of Field is emotionally hard story full of hurt, tragic and hard life. Both MC had hard young life, one was bullied and tormented, other mentally and psychically abused by his father. Shane had a loving mother who was mentally ill all his life, who needed him constantly. Maxwell "Van" had a mother who blindly accepted her husband abuse of their child. What a shame! No one could blame Van for never opening his father letter till the end, who in right mind, would do! The romance between Shan Depth of Field is emotionally hard story full of hurt, tragic and hard life. Both MC had hard young life, one was bullied and tormented, other mentally and psychically abused by his father. Shane had a loving mother who was mentally ill all his life, who needed him constantly. Maxwell "Van" had a mother who blindly accepted her husband abuse of their child. What a shame! No one could blame Van for never opening his father letter till the end, who in right mind, would do! The romance between Shane and Van was HOT and steamy.
    more
  • Maria R.
    July 14, 2017
    All the starsFirst, THAT COVER! Wow! Moving on to the story of Shame and Van....Incredible, sexy, sweet, beautiful, and naughty talk. One of the very best I've read. It's definitely a stay up and finish in one sitting book. Be forewarned, the bullying scenes brought tears to my eyes... so did the initial scenes of their connection but, those were different kinds of tears. So highly recommended.
    more
  • Misty McMillen
    July 13, 2017
    Next level from Riley Hart I've loved every book of hers I've read, but this one just felt like so much more. Maybe it's because I identified with Shane, I was him (still am in a way), but I felt everything she wrote. The emotions just reached out and grabbed you. Not to mention some super hot and steamy sex. I would give this five more stars of it were possible, can't wait for more from Last Chance!
    more
  • Bibliophile
    July 15, 2017
    3.5 stars. Depth of Field was sweet in a Cardeno C sort of way. Like her books, nothing really bad happens--two people just come together. If you read the book blurb you know there is some initial conflict, of course, but once it gets resolved, this book very much has a Cardeno C sort of feel to it--though this one might be slightly sluttier. It was a fun read and I did enjoy reading it. I'll definitely read the next book in this series.
    more
Write a review