Persephone
“A dark, lush retelling of the Persephone myth as only Kitty Thomas could tell it.” — Anna Zaires, New York Times bestselling author of Twist MeWhen Persephone was born, Zeus received a troubling prophecy. Some day his beautiful innocent daughter would be taken captive by Hades, the dark god of the underworld. Determined to protect her, her father hid her away in the human world where she would be shielded from her fate.Hades learned of this betrayal nine centuries ago. He’s been searching for his destined queen ever since. And when he finds her, no power on earth or below it will stop him.He will take her. He will corrupt her. And Zeus will suffer for daring to keep her from him.

Persephone Details

TitlePersephone
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 26th, 2017
PublisherBurlesque Press
Number of pages192 pages
Rating
GenreDark, Fantasy, Erotica, Bdsm, Adult Fiction, Mythology, Greek Mythology, Paranormal, Menage, Romance, Paranormal Romance

Persephone Review

  • Ana
    June 28, 2017
    DNF. Everyone who knows me knows how much I love Greek Mythology. Persephone and Hades are my OTP. I ship them hard. I consider myself the Captain of the Persephone + Hades ship. This book, however, was a miss for me. The heroine was incredibly stupid and weak. This chick was supposed to be a goddess? Hades seemed more than a little psychotic. He's been searching for her, craving her, for centuries. What does he do when he finally finds her?(view spoiler)[ He threatens to cut off her finger and DNF. Everyone who knows me knows how much I love Greek Mythology. Persephone and Hades are my OTP. I ship them hard. I consider myself the Captain of the Persephone + Hades ship. This book, however, was a miss for me. The heroine was incredibly stupid and weak. This chick was supposed to be a goddess? Hades seemed more than a little psychotic. He's been searching for her, craving her, for centuries. What does he do when he finally finds her?(view spoiler)[ He threatens to cut off her finger and makes her wear a collar. (hide spoiler)]I'm sorry. I'm not into that kind of thing. One of my biggest grievances was the total lack of Demeter. What was up with that. This is only my opinion. If you like mythology + twisted romances + crazy alpha males, then this book is for you. For anyone interested, here's a list of my favorite Hades/Persephone books-Goddess of Spring by P.C. CastFor the Love of Hades by Sasha SummersThat Fatal Kiss by Mina LoboRadiant Darkness by Emily WhitmanHades: Lord of the Dead by George O'Connor- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Do I dare read it... Do I dare??This book is about my dear husband Hades. I'll eventually read it, of course.
    more
  • warhawke
    June 29, 2017
    Genre: Erotic Fantasy/Myth RetellingType: Standalone POV: Third PersonRating: Even though Persephone lived a simple life, she cherished every moments. Working in a flower shop brought her happiness seeing life flourished all around her. What she never knew that her life had been a complete lie until a mysterious stranger showed her what's waiting at the other side of the world.As the Lord of the Underworld, Hades was fated to have Persephone as his bride. But her father Zeus hid her for centur Genre: Erotic Fantasy/Myth RetellingType: Standalone POV: Third PersonRating: Even though Persephone lived a simple life, she cherished every moments. Working in a flower shop brought her happiness seeing life flourished all around her. What she never knew that her life had been a complete lie until a mysterious stranger showed her what's waiting at the other side of the world.As the Lord of the Underworld, Hades was fated to have Persephone as his bride. But her father Zeus hid her for centuries to protect her from the darkness. Now, it was time for Hades to finally claim what rightfully his no matter what the consequences.Before I started reading fiction for leisure, I used to read a lot of Greek mythology to escape into a different world. This book is like going back to my roots haha! Hades fought against the urge to comfort her. There were places inside him, places frozen for centuries that this tiny creature could melt if he allowed her to get too close. Hades was charming in his own way. Even though he had all the power at his disposal, he didn't abuse it unnecessarily. And he had a playroom, so he got extra points from me lol! She felt so torn because she wanted to be free of this place. But the man? The god? Never. She never wanted to be free of Hades. By a fault not of her own, Persephone was clueless of who she really was. I like seeing her cope with being in the Underworld and her first time experiencing a lot of things she would never imagined.I like how the author interpreted the story of Hades and Persephone especially the kinky side of the Underworld. I wouldn't mind being down there at all lol! The temptation was too dark, too delicious. He could drag her deeper down into his hedonistic world with only the promises of the pleasures she wanted to know. However, the book was too light for my liking considering Hades' position. I was hoping for something more sinister especially towards the end of the story. There was a promise of darkness, but it wasn't delivered effectively. Also, even though I like both characters I felt mostly detached. "I would be happy to accommodate any desires you develop here. Just remember, Sunshine, there is no shame in the underworld. Only pleasure.” Persephone is a tale of woman awakening her desires. It would appeal to readers who are interested in mythology retelling. 👑 🔥 👑 . . . (F)BR With Twinsie CC . . . 👑 🔥 👑 For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:
    more
  •  Just Denise
    June 20, 2017
    Wow! I really liked this book. A new spin on an old tale. I loved how Persephone developed. From her sweet innocent young self, to a confident woman. Hades, well...what can I say. I totally fell for him.Oh that castle! 😉
  • Clarissa Wild
    June 27, 2017
    OH MY GOD THIS WAS AMAZING!!!This ticked ALL my boxes .... PNR ✔Bad to the bone hero ✔Hot, kinky sex ✔Orgies ✔A little sweetness to top it off ✔But back off, ladies, Hades is mine 😍
  • Attack Salmon
    June 26, 2017
    Anything about Hades and Persephone is yummy
  • Jacque
    June 25, 2017
    My introduction to Kitty Thomas new book was without a title, cover or blurb but I was told it had magic. Magic like a PNR or Urban Fantasy? Neither. Neither? How is that possible? Then I got the book and my jaw dropped. The title explained that magic to me. Persephone. Oh my gosh! Ms. Thomas has dipped into Greek mythology. This isn’t magic, this is the world of gods! Persephone was the goddess queen of the underworld, wife of the god Hades. I knew all this going in and couldn’t wait to see wha My introduction to Kitty Thomas new book was without a title, cover or blurb but I was told it had magic. Magic like a PNR or Urban Fantasy? Neither. Neither? How is that possible? Then I got the book and my jaw dropped. The title explained that magic to me. Persephone. Oh my gosh! Ms. Thomas has dipped into Greek mythology. This isn’t magic, this is the world of gods! Persephone was the goddess queen of the underworld, wife of the god Hades. I knew all this going in and couldn’t wait to see what kind of spin Ms. Thomas would come up with.Get ready for one steamy retelling of Greek mythology. Sweet, innocent Persephone is about to meet her man when Hades comes to claim what is his...in every sense of the word. He will take her. Oh yeah, he takes her - her will, her body, her love. He will corrupt her. Corrupt is such a gentle word for the hedonistic things Hades has planned. Ms. Thomas has not lost her touch when it comes to heating up the pages. All debauchery aside, there still is a love story to be had between Persephone and Hades. She comes to care for him, the lengths he goes to keep her. We know how, at least those of us who know the myth, knows how it ends. Yet I didn’t care. The detail and character this retelling contain had me feeling I was reading the story of Persephone and Hades for the first time. Not exactly perfect lovers but perfect for each.Lovers of twisted, erotic mythology are going to love this book!I received this book from the author prior to release with the express purposes for an honest review. The opinions, contents and rating of this review are mine.Stars - 4, Flames - 5
    more
  • ★ Belle The Bibliophile ★
    June 29, 2017
    Going into this book, I know that there are two things that I love: Kitty Thomas' works and Persephone x Hades pairing. This book started out okay but it just fell flat somewhere along the way. It's so disappointing because I expected something much better.I felt like Persephone is bastardized, somehow. Thomas' interpretation of Persephone isn't my Persephone. She's only a shell of her. My Persephone is a badass queen of the underworld. I'd like to think that she keeps Hades on his toes. And s Going into this book, I know that there are two things that I love: Kitty Thomas' works and Persephone x Hades pairing. This book started out okay but it just fell flat somewhere along the way. It's so disappointing because I expected something much better.I felt like Persephone is bastardized, somehow. Thomas' interpretation of Persephone isn't my Persephone. She's only a shell of her. My Persephone is a badass queen of the underworld. I'd like to think that she keeps Hades on his toes. And she would have never let Hades treat her as horrible as he did in this book.-Spoilers Ahead-I guess I understand Thomas' reasoning to make her a weakling. Her powers were stripped by Zeus. She's lived her life as a timid, lowkey woman for centuries. I get it. However her continuing to forgive Hades as the story progressed pissed me off. I wanted to DNF this book but changed my mind in hope that she would gain more backbone but alas, it never happened.Even when she regained her powers, she immediately which was a complete joke to me. By then this book has completely lost me.As for Hades, as per other Thomas' book, he's a complete cray cray. I wasn't a fan of him as well.
    more
  • Hettie Ivers
    June 30, 2017
    Something to look forward to in hell! This is a genius retelling of the classic Greek myth that will leave you wondering why the hell didn't anyone think to 86 Demeter from the story line before in all of the many retellings out there?! God, that woman really was annoying, always marginalized Persephone's character, and took away from the overall sexiness of the story in every other version I've ever read. Demeter also always took the blame for Zeus's actions, reducing his role to patsy in almos Something to look forward to in hell! This is a genius retelling of the classic Greek myth that will leave you wondering why the hell didn't anyone think to 86 Demeter from the story line before in all of the many retellings out there?! God, that woman really was annoying, always marginalized Persephone's character, and took away from the overall sexiness of the story in every other version I've ever read. Demeter also always took the blame for Zeus's actions, reducing his role to patsy in almost all versions out there. But I digress. The important points are this book is seriously smokin' hot, the writing fluid and beautiful (as always wth Kitty Thomas books), and this is the only version of Persephone & Hades that anyone should read.I wish Melos would get his own story. And I do hope the sex parties in hell are as good as they are written here! It really gave me something to look forward to.(Full disclosure: Shannon from Tabula Rasa is still my #1 Kitty Thomas book boyfriend. Hades is #2.)
    more
  • Sherlock Aragon
    June 28, 2017
    I was very disappointed with this book.I'm a fan of Kitty and her work but this book is not up to her usual work.I felt like reading a book written by a teenage, without depth and with several silly remarks.The characters are by no means endearing, nor even impressive, just stupidly malicious with bad temper for him and whimpering for her.K. T. has accustomed us to calculating characters, profound, sometimes disoriented but logical ... Their is always an explanation or a reason for them to act t I was very disappointed with this book.I'm a fan of Kitty and her work but this book is not up to her usual work.I felt like reading a book written by a teenage, without depth and with several silly remarks.The characters are by no means endearing, nor even impressive, just stupidly malicious with bad temper for him and whimpering for her.K. T. has accustomed us to calculating characters, profound, sometimes disoriented but logical ... Their is always an explanation or a reason for them to act the way they do...None of this here.I *usually* can't put one of her book down. I now stop ready for any excuse, even to start the washing machine!!! LOLDisappointed but still, not a DNF... yet.
    more
  • Brandi
    June 28, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoy Kitty's work. When I read the blurb for this book I was enamored. Persephone and Hades was one of my favorites growing up. Yes, even as a young girl I dreamed of being swept away by a dark, delicious, dangerous, possessive man. Though I think having such high hopes may have hindered my ability to be unbiased where this story is concerned. I liked the differences in Kitty's story and the mythology. And yet... I mean, the story had me enthralled but I wanted MORE! I know, how gl I thoroughly enjoy Kitty's work. When I read the blurb for this book I was enamored. Persephone and Hades was one of my favorites growing up. Yes, even as a young girl I dreamed of being swept away by a dark, delicious, dangerous, possessive man. Though I think having such high hopes may have hindered my ability to be unbiased where this story is concerned. I liked the differences in Kitty's story and the mythology. And yet... I mean, the story had me enthralled but I wanted MORE! I know, how gluttonous but the story ended too soon for me. It felt rushed at the end and it was a bit disappointing.Would I recommend it? Absolutely! Though be aware it's quickly wrapped up at the end.
    more
  • EroticaAfterDark (Lilith)
    June 28, 2017
    LIVE: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU
  • Alyssa
    June 28, 2017
    Somewhere around 2 stars for meLet me start by saying this:*I love a fairy tale/mythology retelling*I love dark romance*Even more so, I love a dark/erotic fairy tale/mythology retellingGiven the factors above, this didn't work for me. It was straight up, a fairly basic telling of the story of Hades/Persephone (the actual god/goddess - not a take on or interpretation of their story) set in the present with lots of illicit scenes.
    more
  • Judith Krain
    June 28, 2017
    Not her bestWork. I love her writing, but this book was disappointing. It seemed to end by running out of steam. I look forward to her next book.
  • Shari-amor
    June 26, 2017
    I am a huge fan of greek mythological tales and an even bigger fan of Kitty Thomas. I loved her erotic retelling of the story between Persephone and Hades. The sweet, innocent Goddess of spring abducted by the God of the Underworld. He wants to command, corrupt and shower her with all the dark pleasures only his hedonistic kingdom can. I loved reading their journey and discovering how they come to care for one another. Even though, I was holding my breath waiting for Hades to reveal his true nat I am a huge fan of greek mythological tales and an even bigger fan of Kitty Thomas. I loved her erotic retelling of the story between Persephone and Hades. The sweet, innocent Goddess of spring abducted by the God of the Underworld. He wants to command, corrupt and shower her with all the dark pleasures only his hedonistic kingdom can. I loved reading their journey and discovering how they come to care for one another. Even though, I was holding my breath waiting for Hades to reveal his true nature. And man, did he! I didnt know if I wanted to run for the hills or kneel at his feet. You never know how dark and scary Thomas is going to make her men. Reading Persephone's awakening and blossoming into the beautiful Godess meant for a Dark Lord was pretty sweet as well. There's one moment when she had me going "You go girl!".... Ok there are several moments like that but I adored her...lol I loved this story much. Hades definitely pushed himself on my top 3 list of fav characters by Thomas.
    more
  • Harim (The Reader Blog)
    June 30, 2017
    I looove me some Greek mythology and this couple's story is my absolute favorite. I was HOOKED from the start and after that it was just disastrously horrible. Anyway, thank you for keeping Demeter out of the equation but the moment the story took a deep dive in all that ropes and shit and sharing is caring... nope, not my cuppa! Anyway, thanks KT for the attempt. How I wished you had kept it till these two only
    more
  • Melanie
    June 26, 2017
    I really loved this retelling of Hades and Persephone. Persephone was so innocent when Hades first finds her. At first, Hades was all about getting revenge on Zeus for hiding her from him for so many centuries. He quickly fell for her. It didn't take Persephone long to fall for Hades too. She does go from innocent to full fledged debauchery pretty quickly, but that didn't detract from the story for me.Ms. Thomas did a great job showing how the gods would act like toddlers when they didn't get th I really loved this retelling of Hades and Persephone. Persephone was so innocent when Hades first finds her. At first, Hades was all about getting revenge on Zeus for hiding her from him for so many centuries. He quickly fell for her. It didn't take Persephone long to fall for Hades too. She does go from innocent to full fledged debauchery pretty quickly, but that didn't detract from the story for me.Ms. Thomas did a great job showing how the gods would act like toddlers when they didn't get their way. Neither side was willing to compromise. I will add that I loved seeing Cerberus (because you can't have a story set in the Underworld without him). I also really loved Melos, Hades' general, but then, I've always had a thing for secondary characters."Persephone, this is one of my generals, Melos. He does punishment work for me in some of the lower realms."She was sure this sanitized version of his job description meant that he was head torturing the bad souls."Charmed," he said as he took her hand and kissed the back of it. "We've heard of you for centuries. I can see now why Hades practically tore up the earth searching for you." Despite everything, when Melos touched her, her trepidation fell away, and she let him pull her closer. This is a must read for any Kitty Thomas fan. I would also highly recommend to anyone who has enjoyed the Hades and Persephone story from Greek Mythology. A wonderfully dark and erotic tale.**Book was provided to me by the author. This review is my opinion and was not requested or provoked in anyway by the author.
    more
  • Veronica~Nhaughty
    June 26, 2017
    “There was nowhere they could have hidden you from me that I wouldn’t have eventually uncovered.”Once upon a time there was a beautiful Goddess of Light that was desired by the God of Darkness. With no memory of her past or her identity, she is swept away from the mortal realm, and is taken into the dark pits of Hell. Her Master awakens pleasures she never knew existed…and she craves more... “there is no shame in the underworld. Only pleasure.”Kitty Thomas has taken the mythological tale of Pers “There was nowhere they could have hidden you from me that I wouldn’t have eventually uncovered.”Once upon a time there was a beautiful Goddess of Light that was desired by the God of Darkness. With no memory of her past or her identity, she is swept away from the mortal realm, and is taken into the dark pits of Hell. Her Master awakens pleasures she never knew existed…and she craves more... “there is no shame in the underworld. Only pleasure.”Kitty Thomas has taken the mythological tale of Persephone and Hades and added her own erotic twist. Persephone’s dark journey into the pleasures of the flesh had so many deliciously wicked twists and turns it kept the pages turning long past my bedtime. And OMG Hades’ castle! After you read this story, you will sooooo want to go to Hell!I can’t recommend this, as well as her other stories enough! Kitty is the Queen that will make you crave the Darkness.Fav quote:“He was so warm and safe. Nothing could hurt her as long as he was holding her. She was sure of it.”
    more
  • Jessica
    June 30, 2017
    This book is better suited for kindle unlimited than $4.95. It was definitely not worth the cost. It was short and had a rushed resolution. The writing style was poor and rudimentary. No character development and lacking chemistry between the H and h. The love story between Persephone and Hades is timeless, lengendary even, but in this book it falls flat. Mythology has basically given you palpable tension and hot steamy angst on a silver platter but this author was completely oblivious. I also d This book is better suited for kindle unlimited than $4.95. It was definitely not worth the cost. It was short and had a rushed resolution. The writing style was poor and rudimentary. No character development and lacking chemistry between the H and h. The love story between Persephone and Hades is timeless, lengendary even, but in this book it falls flat. Mythology has basically given you palpable tension and hot steamy angst on a silver platter but this author was completely oblivious. I also didn't care for the H sharing the h with his entire kingdom. Even that's your thing it still wasn't written well enough to waste your time and money.
    more
  • Lakecia
    June 26, 2017
    Do you like mythology? Do you like romance? Do you like a bit of spice mixed in? Then this is the book for you. This is the story of Persephone and Hades. I will be honest, I didn't know their story going in (shocker, I know), but I didn't need to. The book grabbed me from the start. Both main characters had great development and made you feel for them. While I liked Persephone as a lead I fell in love with Hades. Their story is one that will stick with me.If you've read Kitty Thomas's work in t Do you like mythology? Do you like romance? Do you like a bit of spice mixed in? Then this is the book for you. This is the story of Persephone and Hades. I will be honest, I didn't know their story going in (shocker, I know), but I didn't need to. The book grabbed me from the start. Both main characters had great development and made you feel for them. While I liked Persephone as a lead I fell in love with Hades. Their story is one that will stick with me.If you've read Kitty Thomas's work in the past you'll enjoy this story. If you are new to Kitty's work, I worked highly recommend this book.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • lebedeva
    June 30, 2017
    I finished this book and then I couldn't decide if I should rate it or not.To me HP is something so dear, so precious I can't even talk about it coherently. It's one of my most beloved stories.I was looking forward to reading this. I couldn't wait.But sadly it was very disappointing. Author calls herself a HP fan but I will never believe someone who loves HP like me would write something like this.When I think about this book I can only recall multiple scenes of brutality and abuse.
    more
  • Blackrose87235
    June 30, 2017
    I think I'm in love with this book... Kitty Thomas has done it again. I had read the preview a few short days before it was released and was already hooked and just had to read it.Perfect length. Damn good naughty scenes. Hot but dark evil character. This was just so good!
    more
  • Jennifer Erwin
    June 30, 2017
    I'm a big fan of mythology and retellings but this one fell a little flat for me. I liked the author's spin on it, but the execution just didn't come all the way across the pages for me.
  • Jesse
    June 26, 2017
    ** I received an ARC (Advance Readers Copy) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are mine, and mine alone.I’ve been reading Kitty Thomas for years, ever since I was in high school (I’m about to graduate College with a BA), and with each and every release I just fall in love with her writing a little bit more. When I was asked to be on her ARC list for this release, I jumped at the opportunity fully knowing that whatever she had been working on for months was going to be amazing. Persep ** I received an ARC (Advance Readers Copy) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are mine, and mine alone.I’ve been reading Kitty Thomas for years, ever since I was in high school (I’m about to graduate College with a BA), and with each and every release I just fall in love with her writing a little bit more. When I was asked to be on her ARC list for this release, I jumped at the opportunity fully knowing that whatever she had been working on for months was going to be amazing. Persephone surpassed even my high expectations! I still can’t believe just how incredible it is!Having read every book of hers (some several times each) I can say with confidence that if you are a fan of Dark Night of the Soul, Blood Mate, The Last Girl and The Awakening that you will enjoy this book as well as it features many of the elements found in those: forced kidnapping, the supernatural/magical, and capture-bonding I.e. Stockholm Syndrome. That being said if you have enjoyed any of Thomas’ other works that don’t fall into the magical category, I think you will still like this if you enjoy the way Kitty writes about power exchange.What makes Persephone such an amazing book is the way Thomas constructs both Persephone and Hades’ characters. They are fleshed out in the sense that the reader gets a feel for their motivations, passions and just what the other means to them, however confused (mostly Persephone, then Hades) they are in the beginning of their relationship. I also really enjoyed Thomas’ take on the Persephone myth, and how different yet true her interpretation was. It was simple, but done in such an effective way that made every scene feel lush. I'd heard about the myth prior to reading the book, but only had a vague sense of what it was about. This book made me want to research other myths, and I sincerely hope Kitty finds it in her to recreate other myths into novels in the future.Now for the sexy parts of this book...ladies...gents...I have nothing but good things to say about those as well! Each scene was so visceral, and raw but at the same time, so controlled in execution. Everything Persephone felt, I felt. And that is the beauty behind Kitty's writing, just how she is about to get inside your head and make you feel what the character is feeling, but also with them as well. This also goes for the more darker parts of this novel. It is dark in the way Dark Night of the Soul also deals with darkness in ones soul, and I thought the way Persephone's mental state was described was just so spot on.I also really appreciated the way the Underworld was handled in this novel, as well as the Underworld/Upper World/Purgatory politics, I got a good sense of the atmosphere/and the rules of each place without the book dragging in these areas. Kitty gives us what we need, and then moves on to her characters without ever losing focus, the setting adding to the development of each character as well as plot.Some final things I have to say: I really to try a pomegranate after reading this book, and I am just so in love with Hades. From the very beginning of the book, I was absolutely smitten with his forward, direct and self-assured demeanor (I just love a man who's in charge!) but also fell more in love as the novel progressed, when were able to see beneath this outer exterior into the pain and suffering he was really feeling. Hades and Persephone have my <3Thanks Kitty for another incredible book. I'm itching to read it again already.
    more
  • Kelly
    June 25, 2017
    Reading about the God's in Greek mythology was never this hot! I loved Kitty Thomas's retelling of the Persephone myth. I was a little hesitant when I first saw it was Hades who would be the male lead, it felt a little too dark, but as always Kitty had me pulled in from the very first chapter. Hades and Persephone were a whirlwind couple two opposites that attracted against all odds. I enjoyed watching Persephone light up the Lord of the Underworld, and in return see Hades free Persephone of all Reading about the God's in Greek mythology was never this hot! I loved Kitty Thomas's retelling of the Persephone myth. I was a little hesitant when I first saw it was Hades who would be the male lead, it felt a little too dark, but as always Kitty had me pulled in from the very first chapter. Hades and Persephone were a whirlwind couple two opposites that attracted against all odds. I enjoyed watching Persephone light up the Lord of the Underworld, and in return see Hades free Persephone of all her inhibitions. The paranormal aspect of the book only enhanced the dark erotic allure including my favorite, the enchanted castle. As expected of the Lord of the Underworld there is plenty of kink, and parties where all kinds of sexual adventures are had (just wait till you meet Melos!). The twists and unexpected events that unfold keep you anxiously turning page after page wondering how the story could possibly play out. My only complaint is that I didn't want it to end when it was over, but it was an outstanding read, and one I will definitely be rereading time and time again.
    more
  • Lisa Daniels
    June 26, 2017
    Persephone by Kitty Thomas was unlike anything I've ever read. It was seductive and dangerous. Sultry and full of desire. The way this author retold the tale of Hades and Persephone will always stick with me. It was nothing I had been expecting. To be honest, when I discovered this book was mythical, I didn't know if I'd like it but I loved it. The magical elements just made it so much more intriguing and had me pulled in from the very beginning. Kitty Thomas rewrote this tale beautifully and I Persephone by Kitty Thomas was unlike anything I've ever read. It was seductive and dangerous. Sultry and full of desire. The way this author retold the tale of Hades and Persephone will always stick with me. It was nothing I had been expecting. To be honest, when I discovered this book was mythical, I didn't know if I'd like it but I loved it. The magical elements just made it so much more intriguing and had me pulled in from the very beginning. Kitty Thomas rewrote this tale beautifully and I won't hesitate next time when she releases a book like this. 5 Star read for me and highly recommended.
    more
  • Clara
    June 26, 2017
    Mythic book!Hades and Persephone has always been my favorite myth, and I'm glad it's Kitty Thomas's as well because this is a beautiful retelling of it, with her signature darkness. After searching for 9 centuries to find his fated bride, Persephone, who was hidden away by her father, Hades finally finds her and brings her to his realm. He claims her and teaches her what it means to be his queen. Such a lush story with hot kink in it. The descriptions are wonderful and bring everything to life.
    more
  • Auri Jamaica
    June 29, 2017
    Persephone but with a twist....... Loved it!!!!Absolutely lobed this book. Persephone and Hades has always been my favorite story and I love that this one has many twists to it. 4:17am and I just finished reading it. Feeling really sad that its over, I hope that there will be a part 2 to Persephone and Hades plzzz. I recommend this book 100%
    more
  • Donna
    June 24, 2017
    First and foremost, I love Kitty Thomas! I have read every book she has written and was excited to received an ARC for Persephone. This story is based off a well known Greek myth - Hades and Persephone. Kitty stayed true to the myth but added so much more to their story. I kind-of forgot the myth and became so vested in the characters and their journey together. As always, the writing was great! Kitty was able to create an enjoyable, sexy read! Hades is a hot, sexy, naughty man - I loved his cha First and foremost, I love Kitty Thomas! I have read every book she has written and was excited to received an ARC for Persephone. This story is based off a well known Greek myth - Hades and Persephone. Kitty stayed true to the myth but added so much more to their story. I kind-of forgot the myth and became so vested in the characters and their journey together. As always, the writing was great! Kitty was able to create an enjoyable, sexy read! Hades is a hot, sexy, naughty man - I loved his character (at one point Melos had my attention as well - lol). Persephone was sweet and innocent but she quickly learned how to keep her Hades happy!
    more
  • Amy Martin
    June 26, 2017
    I'm a super huge fan of Kitty's work and I wasn't sure about this story. Normally I am not a fan of paranormal or scifi since I have a hard time to associate with the story but this one...I devour it...love the story...love Hades and Persephone...It has its usually Kitty's flavour but this book has that HEA feeling and that is new...anyone who has ever read a book from Kitty knows she doesn't do HEA. Love it give a 5 stars and more
    more
  • Tyneshia
    June 25, 2017
    I really loved this book, It is interesting, sexy, dirty and I was completley hooked from the start. This book might be based on the greek myth of Persephone and Hades but Kitty Thomas makes this old tale feel brand new. I loved the characters, Persephone is sweet and pure and I enjoyed watching her character grow, and Hades is dark, naughty and everthing I want in a book boyfriend. This is another fantastic book by this author and I highly recommend reading it.
    more
Write a review