ABCs of Horror
You have been warned: This book is cursed.ABCs of Horror is a collection of ghastly tales that binds different forms of terrors together in a riveting narrative, which feels as real as the entity sitting right behind you when you are home alone, getting freaked out by even a gust of air.There is a dreadful treasure here for every reader: haunted houses, rise of the Devil, paranormal sightings, Voodoo, and much more. The author has put together promising stories for every alphabet that are guaranteed to scare you out of your wits and question the presence of the supernatural.Pick up the book as the night crawls by for feeling those chills creeping up your skin and your heart beating out of your chest.

ABCs of Horror Details

TitleABCs of Horror
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 1st, 2017
Number of pages150 pages
Rating
GenreHorror

ABCs of Horror Review

  • Dimple Singh
    July 5, 2017
    Title: ABCs Of HorrorAuthor: Anmol RawatEdition: FirstASIN: B072TQ77JLNumber of Pages: 315“It was a leather bound book with no title on it. Carol was the first to pick up the book and open it. ‘THE BOOK IS CURSED’ was mentioned on the first page of the book and it was followed by 25 different stories that they had just finished reading.”Imagine that you are in your room and suddenly the lights of your room start flickering and finally all the lights turn off. There is darkness all around and you Title: ABCs Of HorrorAuthor: Anmol RawatEdition: FirstASIN: B072TQ77JLNumber of Pages: 315“It was a leather bound book with no title on it. Carol was the first to pick up the book and open it. ‘THE BOOK IS CURSED’ was mentioned on the first page of the book and it was followed by 25 different stories that they had just finished reading.”Imagine that you are in your room and suddenly the lights of your room start flickering and finally all the lights turn off. There is darkness all around and you are not able to figure out how to react or what to do next. You just sit still at the spot and the moment you turn backward you witness a ghost. A scary incident indeed. ABCs of Horror by Anmol Rawat is a collection of 26 horror based short stories that entraps the readers into the world of ghosts, spirits, witches and black magic.Blurb:ABCs of Horror is a collection of ghastly tales that binds different forms of terrors together in a riveting narrative, which feels as real as the entity sitting right behind you when you are home alone, getting freaked out by even a gust of air. There is a dreadful treasure here for every reader: haunted houses, rise of the Devil, paranormal sightings, Voodoo, and much more. The author has put together promising stories for every alphabet that are guaranteed to scare you out of your wits and question the presence of the supernatural. Pick up the book as the night crawls by for feeling those chills creeping up your skin and your heart beating out of your chest.Review: The book consists of 26 short stories. Atheist revolved around two friends Alex and Chris. Alex who was an atheist didn’t believe in God or ghosts until he encounters the most ghastly experience of his life that changes his life forever. Bloody Mary is the story of a young girl Susan who was fed up with the taunts and comments passed on by her cousins. She endures the most horrific pain the day she is compelled to play the Bloody Mary game by her cousins. The Circle Of Life is the story of a couple. Hannah and Amy collide with an old lady while driving the car on their way to a hotel. On the confirmation of her life and health, the old woman invites them to her home where they perceive the most shocking elements. Devil Walks Among Us revolves around Jessica and his son who are admitted to a hospital due to the severe injuries after the accident. Unaware of the real intentions of Helena and the doctors of the hospital, Jessica hands over her son to them for treatment. Enter With Caution is the story of a married couple and their young daughter Angela. Jenny and David were having a great time until they meet a young child who informs them about the peculiar incidents that took place when he went into a ghost house with his parents. Frozen is a short story about a team of friends who were busy creating a documentary when they witness the most horrifying moments of their lives. Ghost On Tape revolves around four friends who were found of shooting fake spooky documentaries for their channel Ghost On Tape until they encounter a real ghost during their shoot. Hellbound is a ghastly tale that features Brian and Mr. and Mrs. Thomas. The couple announces a key hunt competition in which the winner gets a reward of ten thousand dollars. The only thing that the participants were asked to do was to enter into the haunted villa and search for the key. Brian walks in confidently and continues to brag and tease people until he gets the most shocking surprise of his life. In Lieu Of is the story of a two married people- Holden and Grace. Their lives enter a very pessimistic stage the day Grace suffers from a miscarriage. Justified revolves around a girl who gets stuck on an island all alone. The Killer Doll is the story of a sweet doll Nancy and Leona who receives Nancy as a gift from her cousin Fiona. She devotes her life’s entire love to Nancy until she gets marks on her hand from a knife that was held by Nancy. Let Me In is the haunted story that revolves around a boy who was cursed by a nightmare and receives alarming shocks when he hears someone knocking the door and commands him to let him in. Mine is a story that features Sam, who was enduring a secluded life. His life takes a major turnover when he confesses the deepest secret of his life to his girlfriend Selina. Nightmare is the story of an unknown narrator who is disturbed by one a nightmare. Ordinance is the story of a girl who gets trapped by a few kidnappers. She gets surprised by the way the kidnappers treat her unaware of the fate that was waiting for her ahead. Planchette revolves around four friends- Rhea, Flora, Dean and Liam. Flora gets the biggest shock of her life the day she plays planchette with her friends in the absence of her parents. Quiet is the story of a young child Dennis and a man who lived next to his house. Unaware of the real identity of the man Dennis one day enter his homestead only to get the most ghastly fear of his life. Reincarnation is the story of Alan who encounters a peculiar nightmare in which he is followed by someone mysterious and unidentifiable. Sinister is the story of a married couple. Joanne and Aaron receive mysterious nightmares regularly that makes them wonder about their connection with the dagger. The Last Lullaby revolves around Maria who seeks revenge from Michelle for her husband Daniel’s murder. Unworthy is the story about an unknown woman who is taken advantage of by a man while she is drunk. Voodoo is the story of the Myth Breakers team who create documentaries on various issues mostly concerned with disbeliefs of the human beings. Witch is the story of Ashley Scarlett and Clay in which Ashley suspects Scarlett to be a witch and stalks her with his friend Clay to witness uneven secret of Scarlett’s life. X-Mas revolves around a young child Taylor who abhors Christmas as it was the day when his father died. Yours Forever revolves around Paige and her husband Dexter in which Paige regrets the decision she took in her past life. Last, but not the least, Zapped In is the story of a few friends who get hold of a spooky book without any title consisting of 25 short stories that turn 26 the day they experience the most horrific moment of their lives.The language was very simple. The narrative style was very addictive. The author has very well created a spooky atmosphere throughout the book. The stories were well crafted with flawless dialogues and presentation. The cover and the title of the book reveal the spooky elements of the book and very well justify the theme of the book. All the stories started on a note of suspense and ended with surprising twists. The stories were very well connected with the genre of the book. I somewhere felt that the story ‘The Last Lullaby’ was not as ghastly as the other stories. I considered it as a story of revenge rather than a horror story. Overall the book offered me a thrilling and spooky ride and gave me goosebumps throughout. I recommend this book to all those who want to enter into a thrilling world of horror.My Ratings:Title: 4.5/5Cover: 5/5Blurb: 5/5Content: 5/5Writing and Presentation: 5/5Overall Rating: 4.9/5
    more
  • Preethi Venugopala
    July 11, 2017
    Anmol Rawat takes you on an AtoZ journey of horror through this book. Though horror is not my preferred genre, I loved the stories because of the clever story telling. You can find so many shades of horror in these stories. The Last Lullaby left me feeling morose and scared. Some stories were medium spooky, some made me just stop reading for a while.Warning: Don't read at night if you are a scaredy cat like me.
    more
  • Rajan
    July 18, 2017
    Why does horror click? It definitely does not make us feel good. It has a totally opposite effect on us. It makes us feel terrible, depressed and we run for cover. There is a sense of impending doom and feel bad atmosphere. Still horror movies and literature works. Stephen King is a good example in books. Countless horror movies are made. In India Ramsays and Bhatts has made a name for themselves in this and have a niche and loyal audience. Even low budget even C grade horror films become super Why does horror click? It definitely does not make us feel good. It has a totally opposite effect on us. It makes us feel terrible, depressed and we run for cover. There is a sense of impending doom and feel bad atmosphere. Still horror movies and literature works. Stephen King is a good example in books. Countless horror movies are made. In India Ramsays and Bhatts has made a name for themselves in this and have a niche and loyal audience. Even low budget even C grade horror films become super hit and make good money. I think the reason is as below.Horror is one of the emotion in humans. As per Natya Shastra of Bharat Muni there are eight RASA. A rasa is a synthetic phenomenon and the goal of any creative performance art, oratory, painting or literature. The King of Rasa is of course ROMANCE. Horror is combination of Disgust (Vibhatsa) and Horrifying (Bhayanka). So through books and movies we can experience these emotions in the safety of our home or at multiplex.This is not my favourite genre but movies like The Ring, Veerana, Jaani DUshman, Raaz, Ek thi Dayan, Conjuring etc held my attention and I liked them. Anmol Rawat has made a good attempt in horror Genre. As you have guessed correctly from the title these stories starts from alphabets A to Z like Voodoo, X-Mas, Sinister, Let me in, Zapped in, Atheist etc. The book starts with Atheist. Two friends are drinking in a cemetery and discuss about existence of GOD and in turn SATAN. Voodoo talks of voodoo dolls and how it works. Some friends have made name in field of recording paranormal on camera and they are trying to decipher voodoo phenomenon. As explained it is different from what we see in movies.Witch is story of a girl who is suspected to be a witch by two of his school mates. Too much cannot be revealed about the stories as it will spoil the fun. The stories are breezy reads and book can be finished in one sitting. Stories are set in foreign locations and country is not clear in most of them. Some are set in America and Africa. The stories are ok and a one-time read.Most of them are predictable and clichéd and there is nothing new. Still the book is good and a one time read for lovers of thrill and suspense. I give this book it 3/5 stars.Where to buy:https://www.amazon.in/ABCs-Horror-Ter...Blurb:You have been warned: This book is cursed.ABCs of Horror is a collection of ghastly tales that binds different forms of terrors together in a riveting narrative, which feels as real as the entity sitting right behind you when you are home alone, getting freaked out by even a gust of air.There is a dreadful treasure here for every reader: haunted houses, rise of the Devil, paranormal sightings, Voodoo, and much more. The author has put together promising stories for every alphabet that are guaranteed to scare you out of your wits and question the presence of the supernatural.Pick up the book as the night crawls by for feeling those chills creeping up your skin and your heart beating out of your chest.About the author:Anmol Rawat is a writer, which, considering where you are reading this, makes perfect sense. He is well known in the blogosphere for writing romance fictions, but he is always curious to explore different genres. ‘It’s challenging and challenges are nerve wracking, but fun,” he says. His debut solo book ‘ABCs of Horror’ is a collection of 26 terrifying standalone tales. His novella ‘The Awakening’, a sci-fi fiction, which was collaborated with other bloggers was elected as the best in a national competition and is published in the book ‘Game of Blogs’. He has edited and co-authored ‘A Little Chorus of Love’, an anthology of romance fictions and has co-authored Blank Space, an anthology of inspiring stories. He thinks Game of Thrones and Supernatural are the two best series ever made for television and devours on Nicholas Sparks, Dan Brown, Stephen King and John Green. He would kill for a good cup of Cappuccino, as should all right thinking people.
    more
  • Vinay Leo R.
    July 2, 2017
    3.5 Stars. Review at A Bookworm's Musing: http://wp.me/p2J8yh-3c0My favorite four from this collection: Ordinance, Sinister, In Lieu Of, Killer Doll. Simple and engaging short stories in the genre of horror, with most bringing the horror element through a clever twist at the end of the story. The twists were mostly unpredictable, so for me, it worked. The stories also cover a lot of different settings, from haunted houses to voodoo, so that was a plus. Flipside? There were a few typos, but nothi 3.5 Stars. Review at A Bookworm's Musing: http://wp.me/p2J8yh-3c0My favorite four from this collection: Ordinance, Sinister, In Lieu Of, Killer Doll. Simple and engaging short stories in the genre of horror, with most bringing the horror element through a clever twist at the end of the story. The twists were mostly unpredictable, so for me, it worked. The stories also cover a lot of different settings, from haunted houses to voodoo, so that was a plus. Flipside? There were a few typos, but nothing major. I couldn't feel the "horror", but maybe because I read it during the day. Night-time reading might add the mood factor to the horror stories. And I wish it was titled something better.There are few stories that I loved, so maybe I would peruse those again. It’s a very decent debut collection of stories, for sure. I finished the collection quickly, and enjoyed the stories, so I'd say it's good company for a few hours journey.
    more
  • Purba Chakraborty
    July 7, 2017
    My rating is 4.5ABCs of Horror is a collection of 26 short stories on horror. The author has written these stories during the A-Z blogging challenge in the month of April and therefore, there are 26 chapters on the 26 alphabets. Writing 26 different short stories on horror is definitely a challenging task and the author has brilliantly succeeded in it because all the stories are different from each other. Not for a second, the stories seemed repetitive or bland. All the stories have some shockin My rating is 4.5ABCs of Horror is a collection of 26 short stories on horror. The author has written these stories during the A-Z blogging challenge in the month of April and therefore, there are 26 chapters on the 26 alphabets. Writing 26 different short stories on horror is definitely a challenging task and the author has brilliantly succeeded in it because all the stories are different from each other. Not for a second, the stories seemed repetitive or bland. All the stories have some shocking twist at the end, which kept me on my toes. I couldn't predict the ending in most of the stories.In this collection, Anmol has written stories not only on ghosts and evil spirits but also on Voodoo practice, the rise of the devil, black magic, witchcraft, mutation and monsters. I read 2-3 stories per day so that I could savor them one at a time. My favorites from this collection are "Circle of Life", "In lieu of", "Killer Doll", "Planchette", "Sinister" and "Yours Forever".Read the complete review at http://purbareviews.blogspot.in/2017/...
    more
  • J. Alchem
    July 17, 2017
    It is the first short stories collection I have read in horror genre. The stories are too-too short and that's the major drawback to this book. The moment horror starts building up, the story meets with a climax and that is why you don't feel anything. The author, I am sure, could do good with the theme but in order to complete his ABCs he ended up writing a book that does not actually have a horror at all.I read first 10 stories and when I felt the same with every single story, I put the book d It is the first short stories collection I have read in horror genre. The stories are too-too short and that's the major drawback to this book. The moment horror starts building up, the story meets with a climax and that is why you don't feel anything. The author, I am sure, could do good with the theme but in order to complete his ABCs he ended up writing a book that does not actually have a horror at all.I read first 10 stories and when I felt the same with every single story, I put the book down. I hope the author keeps these things in mind while writing his new book. It is not a race to complete. Write A to F instead of A to Z, so that you don't have to kill the story before it actually makes an impact.Expecting a good title next time.
    more
  • Naveen Gupta
    July 10, 2017
    4.5 StarsI read at night and it was scary ride. My favorite stories are killer doll, in lieu of, yours forever, bloody Mary, sinister and voodoo. Did not like let me in much, but other stories were great. A good collection that you should pick on a long weekend night.
    more
  • Pooja Bisht
    July 17, 2017
    Read at night and you can feel the creepiness. Some stories were downright scary like Nightmare and Bloody Mary while I love how In Lieu Of ended. Some were creepy and I found Killer Doll and Sinister on top of it. Ordinance was the most disturbing. Overall a wonderful and creepy collection.
    more
  • Lakshya Rathore
    July 19, 2017
    Scary stories best read at night for that creepy experience. Best stories - Killer Doll, Your's Forever and Bloody Mary.
  • Ananya Sharma
    July 12, 2017
    A scary collection that made me fearful of who's by my bedside again. Favorite stories - Bloody Mary, Nightmare, Sinister and Killer Doll.
  • Rathore Rajesh
    July 19, 2017
    The stories are short and I would have loved them a bit longer but the shocking twists make up for it very well. I loved how most of the stories ended while a few were predictable. I couldn't predict and was most shocked at the end of Killer Doll, Your's Forever and In Lieu Of. Bloody Mary was scary. Also liked how the last story ended. Overall a good package.
    more
  • Parvez Ansari
    July 4, 2017
    I loved reading all the stories. Some were definitely better than others but the author has managed to keep the momentum throughout. Some stories were really scary like Nightmare and some were really shocking like Killer Doll and In Lieu Of. I think Ordinance is the most disturbing of them all. Overall a great effort and it kept me thrilled. Brilliant writing.
    more
Write a review