Barbarian (Galactic Gladiators, #6)
Abducted by alien slavers, experimented on, and left blind, the last thing doctor Winter Ashworth needs is a big barbarian gladiator in her life, especially an annoying one who thinks she’s small and weak.Rescued by gladiators on the desert world of Carthago, Winter is doggedly working to embrace her new life. But two of her friends are still missing and she’ll do anything to help get them back…even if she has to work alongside Nero Krahn: hunter, barbarian, gladiator. The scowly, brooding man is too big, has too many muscles, and pushes all her buttons.Nero is the House of Galen’s best hunter and tracker. Raised on a barbarian world, where strength and might are prized, he was bred to hunt and fight. Now the arena is his home and his loyalty is to his imperator. He knows he can use his skills to find the two lost women, even if that means protecting a small blind woman who takes every chance to misjudge his words and lash him with her sharp tongue.But as they follow a dangerous trail to save their friends, a new enemy emerges—one who wants Winter. The pair find themselves reluctantly attracted to each other, uncovering a scorching desire that shocks them both. As Nero fights to protect Winter, the barbarian gladiator will discover the true meaning of strength from the small Earth woman he wants to claim as his.Note to readers: This sci fi romance contains a lot of action (think wild gladiatorial fights and daring rescues), tough gladiators (the warriors of the House of Galen) and a steamy romance (between a scowly barbarian gladiator and a determined doctor). So if you like it fast, and gritty, and sexy, this is for you!Includes a preview of Marcus, Book 1 of Hell Squad.

Barbarian (Galactic Gladiators, #6) Details

TitleBarbarian (Galactic Gladiators, #6)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 26th, 2017
Number of pages242 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Aliens, Adult Fiction, Erotica

Barbarian (Galactic Gladiators, #6) Review

  • Marta Cox
    June 29, 2017
    This was another exciting instalment of the Galactic Gladiators series and this time the action takes us far away from the arena and deep into the uncharted and inhospitable desert. Winter is one of the human women abducted from the Fortuna space station by the Thraxians. Left blinded by their inhumane experiments she has escaped the underground fight rings only to be separated from her two friends. Luckily those of the House of Galen are determined to help her rescue the others but one gladiato This was another exciting instalment of the Galactic Gladiators series and this time the action takes us far away from the arena and deep into the uncharted and inhospitable desert. Winter is one of the human women abducted from the Fortuna space station by the Thraxians. Left blinded by their inhumane experiments she has escaped the underground fight rings only to be separated from her two friends. Luckily those of the House of Galen are determined to help her rescue the others but one gladiator in particular is pushing all of Winters buttons! Nero is not exactly tactful and his barbaric attitude and taciturn ways have earned him no favours. Winter knows he considers her weak and as a doctor is determined to prove she's not the piece of useless fluff he imagines. Oh yes there's tension between this couple but as Nero has mad tracking skills perhaps it's time to work together?This is sci fi romance that knows no boundaries. I particularly enjoy that the author lets her imagination have free reign and introduces creatures and situations that are truly fantastical. Having a character visually impaired meant the author could introduce intriguing alien technology but she's also written it in such a way that as a reader I could empathise with Winters plight. Plus she might be small compared to Nero but this gal has real backbone and I loved that she took no nonsense from him.The overall arc expands in this book with new characters and situations introduced. I'm particularly interested in a new Imperator who got some page time as it offers up all kinds of possibilities. I know many readers want Galen to get a book and as this instalment ends we discover the whereabouts of another woman held prisoner so who knows what is planned. Like many I'm hoping Blue and Mia are next up and perhaps he isn't quite the animal he thinks he is? For now though it's all about Nero and Winter as the barbarian finally finds his heart!This voluntary take is of a advance copy and my thoughts and feelings are honest and I believe fair
    more
  •  Rosebud
    June 28, 2017
    Dr. Winter Ashworth may have been rescued by the House Of Galen from slavers but she can't forget her two friends who are still missing and presumed still in the slavers hands somewhere on the desert world of Carthago. Winter's options to find her friends are limited though as during her captivity she was extensively experimented on leaving her blind. She'll need to rely on the gladiators and their Imperator Galen to find Mia & Dayna though being blind doesn't mean she is useless to the caus Dr. Winter Ashworth may have been rescued by the House Of Galen from slavers but she can't forget her two friends who are still missing and presumed still in the slavers hands somewhere on the desert world of Carthago. Winter's options to find her friends are limited though as during her captivity she was extensively experimented on leaving her blind. She'll need to rely on the gladiators and their Imperator Galen to find Mia & Dayna though being blind doesn't mean she is useless to the cause. Nero Krahn had been ripped from his home world Symeria by slavers and sold to live or die as a gladiator. Now one of the premier gladiators on the planet, he still stays true to the teachings of his home world where only the strong survive and weakness of any kind eliminated. Winter is blind and therefore weak though his Imperator has instilled in his gladiators that it is their role to safeguard and protect the weak. If only she would acknowledge her limitations and let him do his duty instead of demanding things that she shouldn't, life would be good. When word reaches the House Of Galen regarding a sighting of the missing females, a rescue mission is coordinated. As expected Winter demands to be part of the mission, even after it's found out that whoever has Mia and Dayna also wants Winter. * * * This is the 6th installment in the Galactic Gladiators series that features Nero & Winter. A classic opposites attract premise or even brains vs brawn sort of thing. Can be read as a stand alone as long as any new to series readers are ok with previous installments characters as secondary characters who you wouldn't know their back stories. As a series fan, the idea that an advanced SciFi civilization adheres to modified gladiator arena games as a popular sporting event has a certain attraction that appeals to me. All those alpha male and female warriors pitted against each other just as the Roman's did while the masses cheer their champions on. Sigh. The main characters Nero & Winter. Nero is a barbarian who was always judged on his strength and ability to win. He has little tolerance for distractions, especially the female variety EXCEPT to meet a biological need. Winter. She was a surgeon who has now lost her sight and will never be able to return home to Earth. It's been her knowledge, skill, and ability to practice medicine that's been her driving force all her life. Now gone. It's pretty obvious that these two are polar opposites who just can't seem to keep their hands off each other. lol. The crazy thing is that I could really see this sort of relationship working with the author keeping it real and believable as she did. My issues with this book is that the overall mystery-suspense-action/adventure scenes didn't work. One of the few times that I feel the whole find the missing girls and the reason they were abducted scenario was forced, awkward, and a stretch of the imagination to believe while the new bad guy element in this story was like putting a square peg into a circle. Did he really serve a purpose other than to exist to be the bad guy for this story? Personally, this wasn't one of the better installments in the series for me though Nero & Winter themselves did shine. I'm looking forward to future installments thinking Mia & Vex are next .... but .... am crossing every single hair follicle and all my toes and fingers that Ms. Hackett's muse is shouting in her ear to bump up Ryan and maybe... Zhim's story. Here's hoping anyway. :D
    more
  • Marlene
    June 30, 2017
    Originally published at Reading RealityI always have a good time with Anna Hackett’s series, and Barbarian was no exception. This was a perfect airplane book. The plane may have been flying over the American Heartland, but I was exploring the deserts of Kor Magna and loving every minute of it.The Galactic Gladiators series is a kind of sun and sandals meet spaceships series. Kor Magna is basically Vegas on steroids, and the gladiatorial fights are just a part of the entertainment on offer. All o Originally published at Reading RealityI always have a good time with Anna Hackett’s series, and Barbarian was no exception. This was a perfect airplane book. The plane may have been flying over the American Heartland, but I was exploring the deserts of Kor Magna and loving every minute of it.The Galactic Gladiators series is a kind of sun and sandals meet spaceships series. Kor Magna is basically Vegas on steroids, and the gladiatorial fights are just a part of the entertainment on offer. All of the galaxy’s sins, temptations and degradations seem to be available on Kor Magna – for a price.But it isn’t all fun and games. Kor Magna may be where the rich come to play, but it has a seamy side. Someone has to be providing all the fun, all that tempting sin, and not all of the providers are willing.There’s an unfortunately thriving slave trade that feeds the fleshpots of Kor Magna, and an ever expanding number of humans have found themselves under its thumb. Slavers exploited a temporary wormhole from Kor Magna to Jupiter, and kidnapped or killed an entire space station.But that wormhole was a temporary fluke. Our solar system is too far away to get to, over 600 years away at the fastest sublight speeds currently available. So the humans that were captured are exotic and rare, therefore valuable in the wrong hands. And none of them can get home.Over the course of the series, the captive humans have been rescued, one by one, by gladiators from the successful and honorable House of Galen. Galen and his gladiators have made it their mission to rescue slaves, especially those who just aren’t suited for the life of a gladiator.And one by one, as each human is rescued, another gladiator falls into the arms of love. At this point, the remaining unmated gladiators are getting a bit sick of all the mushy stuff, and worried about when it will be their turn to fall. (This reader is really looking forward to Galen’s fall, but that’s probably a couple of books away at least. Damn)The story in Barbarian is the romance between blind Winter and warrior Nero. Winter is a doctor who was blinded in an experiment after she was captured by the slavers. She has a lot of fears and insecurities about how she will make a life and a place for herself now that she is blind. A surgeon can’t operate if they can’t see what they are operating on.The warrior Nero pushes all of Winter’s buttons, both the good ones and the insecure ones. A warrior from a savage planet, Nero was taught to believe that the weak were a drain on resources, and that protecting them only drains the tribe. He’s learned better in the House of Galen, but Winter’s presence makes him even more tongue-tied, and more blunt, than usual. And she takes all of his comments and runs with them, generally in the wrong direction.There is more than one kind of strength, and more than one version of bravery. As the gladiators trek out into the harsh desert to rescue more humans from extremely inhumane conditions, Winter and Nero finally figure out that all of their arguments mask a whole lot of deeper emotions that neither of them is ready to deal with.But life on Kor Magna, even under the best of circumstances (something the gladiators never seem to find) is too harsh to put off loving the person who makes your heart sing.Escape Rating B+: I really liked Nero and Winter. In the end, they made a great team. And it was good to see Winter take her new life by the horns, in spite of her handicap. She’s scared, she’s uncertain, but she never retreats and she never gives up.Not even when an evil robot is dragging her to its leader.That leader is what keeps this book, for me at least, from rising into the A grades.The slave traders, as awful as they are, make a bad kind of sense. They’re in it for the money. It’s a disgusting motive, and their tactics are brutal, but we understand why they do what they do, even as we abhor it.The villain of this piece, the Catalyst, is just plain nuckin’ futz. Crazy as a loon. A few parsecs short of a quadrant. You get the picture. He’s doing what he’s doing just because he can, and because he believes he’s so intelligent that he’s entitled, and that no one will be able to stop him. He was terrible and awful and dangerous, but he just didn’t make enough sense. At least not for me.The gladiators, on the other hand, are terrific. And they are all very much individuals, just as are the humans they fall for. So far, it’s been one male human and five females, but there is nothing in the structure of the series that says that couldn’t change. One of the things that I like about the series is that each of the humans, upon recognizing that they literally can’t go home again, buckles down and finds work and hope and purpose as well as love. And the work varies – only two so far have become gladiators. In addition to Winter finding a way to continue as a healer, one has become an engineer, another an inventor, and one has taken on the sometimes thankless task of business manager for the House of Galen.One thing that makes this series so much fun is that the pattern can be stretched indefinitely without feeling too stretched. The Hell Squad series has hit that point for me, even though I still enjoy the individual entries in it. And you don’t have to read the entire series to get in on the action (but probably the first one (Gladiator) just to introduce the scene, setting and players) But the Galactic Gladiators only has to stop when the plausible number of captives from the Jupiter station has been reached, and that’s a LONG way off.Thank goodness!
    more
  • Mary Clark
    June 30, 2017
    This is a very exceptional story and one which I enjoyed reading immensely. It has everything in it to make it exciting and intriguing and I was particularly taken with Winter and Nero’s characters. Throughout Winter showed courage and resilience, while Nero’s role of protector is well portrayed. The plot too is excellent and well diversified. Winter had once been a celebrated surgeon on Earth; now she is blind because of the terrible experiments carried out on her by her captives. That was her This is a very exceptional story and one which I enjoyed reading immensely. It has everything in it to make it exciting and intriguing and I was particularly taken with Winter and Nero’s characters. Throughout Winter showed courage and resilience, while Nero’s role of protector is well portrayed. The plot too is excellent and well diversified. Winter had once been a celebrated surgeon on Earth; now she is blind because of the terrible experiments carried out on her by her captives. That was her past and now she had to deal with her future; she is determined to make a new life for herself and her newly acquired vision device will help her in her endeavours. Dayna and Mia should have been with Winter when she was picked up from the desert, but something, or someone, had disrupted the Srinar’s plans for the women. Nevertheless, Dayna and Mia had helped Winter survive the horror of their captivity and there was no way she would abandon them. Winter was not going to curl up in a ball and be the useless burden some people might see her as, like the big, obnoxious barbarian gladiator, Nero. Winter likes cultured, refined men, while Nero is gruff, short and has an opinionated demeanour, rubbing her up the wrong way, especially when he tells her she is small, lacking in strength and her absence of sight is a weakness. But when Nero kisses Winter for the first time, she feels normal and whole. Nero had been a young man when he was taken by slavers and dumped in Kor Magna, but over the years he has become a loyal gladiator for the House of Galen. Raised to fight and protect, and with excellent hunting instincts, everything in Nero drove him to defeat dishonourable, cowardly abusers. As a barbarian, Nero cannot be seen as weak; and he hates failure. Winter is attractive in a small, tiny kind of way, but she is absolutely not the type of woman he prefers; he likes big, strong women and tries to convince himself he has no interest in her or her sharp tongue after he made the mistake of telling her that on his home world she would be considered a weakness. But Winter does nothing but distract Nero and he feels furious at an unwelcome rush of desire for her. Now Nero has two jobs, to protect Winter and to help find Dayna and Mia. An unconfirmed sighting of Mia, together with the problems the Thraxians and Srinar are having with a rival known as Catalyst, take the House of Galen gladiators, Winter and Blue on a perilous journey across the desert. While they have help from an unlikely source, their journey is thwart with danger at every turn, culminating in an inevitable confrontation and unanswered questions.
    more
  • Nikki Brooks
    June 26, 2017
    The gorgeous Gladiators of Carthago are back!! House of Galen is getting decidedly crowded with all these earthlings seeking refuge!This story picks up where book 5 ended, Mia and Dayna have been abducted and the search continues to trace them. Winter may be blind but she finally feels useful in the medbay, although not anything like the skills she utilised as a surgeon on Earth. She can't help but feel useless and helpless when Nero is around. He is huge, strong and powerful. He never seems to The gorgeous Gladiators of Carthago are back!! House of Galen is getting decidedly crowded with all these earthlings seeking refuge!This story picks up where book 5 ended, Mia and Dayna have been abducted and the search continues to trace them. Winter may be blind but she finally feels useful in the medbay, although not anything like the skills she utilised as a surgeon on Earth. She can't help but feel useless and helpless when Nero is around. He is huge, strong and powerful. He never seems to tire of telling her what she cannot do and how much danger she would be in.Nero was bred to be powerful, only the strong survived on his planet. But as he survived and flourished in the arena he has learned that might is not always right, he just cannot seem to curb his alpha caveman tendencies around Winter. She is fragile and ill-equipped for the terrain they must cover in their search for her friends but she has a willpower like no other!But when she and Blaine are continually singled out and attempts made to kidnap them during the search, the others realise that Humans are being especially sought out, not just the women. But can Winter survive long enough to find out what happened to her friends?I love this series hard! The Gladiators may be big and tough but these determined, spine of steel humans have them wrapped around their fingers! Winter is brilliant as the incapacitated but far from helpless Winter. Nero is big, brash and has a severe case of foot-in-mouth-itis when it comes to dealing with her! I almost cried when we wound out why the Humans were being rounded up! But I laughed at the discovery of a certain hacker who became their inside woman! I think a certain Zhim might have a fight on his hands for the title of House of Galen hacker!!PS We also learn "Blue's" real name!!!
    more
  • Sherill
    June 26, 2017
    DANGER - SUSPENSE & ROMANCE THAT SIZZLESA highly intense story that lures you in with an enthralling plot, horrific danger, and suspense wows you, spectacular vivid scene descriptions keep you turning pages, mouth-watering sensuous romance dazzles you, and the happy ever after is sure to make you smile leaving you wanting more.Winter a doctor from Earth was captured by Thraxians and rescued by the gladiators from the House of Galen. Though she was blinded by the dreadful experiments done to DANGER - SUSPENSE & ROMANCE THAT SIZZLESA highly intense story that lures you in with an enthralling plot, horrific danger, and suspense wows you, spectacular vivid scene descriptions keep you turning pages, mouth-watering sensuous romance dazzles you, and the happy ever after is sure to make you smile leaving you wanting more.Winter a doctor from Earth was captured by Thraxians and rescued by the gladiators from the House of Galen. Though she was blinded by the dreadful experiments done to her by the evil Thraxians she is still able to function and help with medical needs. Winter is an ebony-haired beauty and has an audacious personality. Nero is a well-built easy on the eyes barbarian gladiator and at times his demeanor is offensive when it comes to Winter. The two clash like Titans, but the attraction is fiery.A splendid well-written story that holds your interest until the conclusion. The characters spring to life with clever dialogue and I love the camaraderie in the House Of Galen; though they all come from different backgrounds, they are a family protecting each other. The author does an excellent job building the romance between Nero and Winter which is filled with much passion and total devotion; I adored these two together. Winter's lion-hearted persona shines in this story and she brings out the loving side of the powerful Nero. If you treasure Gladiator romance that this is definitely a fabulous book for your library. I found this to be an entertaining story and I loved it so much {I voluntarily reviewed an advanced copy}. Without reservations, I recommend this book
    more
  • Lisa Janas
    June 25, 2017
    Love, love, love! I can't believe this is already book 6 of this series, but I tell you they just keep getting better and better as the story is propelled forward and we get ever more deeply into this world of Galactic Gladiators. Each book adds to the complex layers of this world, brings back characters we love, and is so dimensional and seem so real that you feel like they have to really live out there somewhere. ******Spoilers if you haven't read the first five in the series. What are you wai Love, love, love! I can't believe this is already book 6 of this series, but I tell you they just keep getting better and better as the story is propelled forward and we get ever more deeply into this world of Galactic Gladiators. Each book adds to the complex layers of this world, brings back characters we love, and is so dimensional and seem so real that you feel like they have to really live out there somewhere. ******Spoilers if you haven't read the first five in the series. What are you waiting for?! Go back and read them!!This story continues the search for Mia and Dayna, two of the survivors from the Thraxian slave abduction. I love that the tension with Blue is still present and continues with his personal search for Mia even though the main story is about Winter and Nero. These two got off on the wrong foot when she was first rescued, but their bantering and irritation with each other only masks their attraction for so long. Once Winter is targeted while on the search, Nero can no longer fight the pull to protect and claim; even if he has to break warrior conditioning from his childhood to do so. I tell you, I wouldn't think alien abduction was for me, but if it meant being rescued and then ending up with any of these gladiators...I might reconsider.This is a voluntary review of an advanced copy. Please see for yourself how wonderful Anna Hackett's worlds are for the avid reader. You won't be disappointed by this or her multiple other series.
    more
  • Karen
    June 26, 2017
    BarbarianThis great addition to the Gladiator series and KU Library read features Nero, a barbarian gladiator who fights for the House of Galen. He was raised as a Hunter and was sold into slavery at a young age, ending up in the Kor Magna arena. Winter, a human doctor, was stolen by Thraxian slavers, blinded by their experiments, and rescued by the House of Galen. She now works in Galen's clinic, where healers have been working without success to restore her sight, until a new device is acquire BarbarianThis great addition to the Gladiator series and KU Library read features Nero, a barbarian gladiator who fights for the House of Galen. He was raised as a Hunter and was sold into slavery at a young age, ending up in the Kor Magna arena. Winter, a human doctor, was stolen by Thraxian slavers, blinded by their experiments, and rescued by the House of Galen. She now works in Galen's clinic, where healers have been working without success to restore her sight, until a new device is acquired that gives her partial vision. When Intel is received about two of her friends who were recently taken from Galen's compound, she talks Galen into letting her join the team that is sent to take them back. But a new enemy has been identified as the person behind the attack. Nero appoints himself as Winter's protector on what promises to be a very dangerous mission, while Winter is determined to show him she can take care of herself. But Catalyst has a bag full of new tricks and advanced technology, which he brings to bear on the gladiators, while redoubling his efforts to steal Winter away from them. This exciting, action packed romantic adventure set on an alien planet kept me completely captivated. I can't wait for the next book.
    more
  • Chera
    June 29, 2017
    Barbarian is the latest installment of Anna Hackett's Galactic Gladiator series and we return to the desert world of Carthago and the Kor Magna Arena. Winter Ashworth was a doctor on the Fortuna Space Station orbiting Jupiter before the Thraxians slavers attacked the station and enslaved several of the human inhabitants. Winter was used for experimentation and blinded before she was consigned to the underground illegal fight rings before being rescued by the Gladiators of the House of Galen. The Barbarian is the latest installment of Anna Hackett's Galactic Gladiator series and we return to the desert world of Carthago and the Kor Magna Arena. Winter Ashworth was a doctor on the Fortuna Space Station orbiting Jupiter before the Thraxians slavers attacked the station and enslaved several of the human inhabitants. Winter was used for experimentation and blinded before she was consigned to the underground illegal fight rings before being rescued by the Gladiators of the House of Galen. The Hermia healers used all their skills but were still unable to fully restore her vision but were able to give her a small device that allows her to see in shades of blue but not detailed enough to do surgery. Nero Krahn was reared on a barbarian world and was only a child when the Thraxians took him as a slave and sold him to the Gladiators and the Kor Magna Arena. Nero is a protector by nature and is very protective of Winter. Just like any man he has trouble expressing things to a beautiful woman he sees very intelligent, brave, and strong. But like whether she likes it or not, he is Winter's protector.A shadowy secretive man wants Winter under his control and tries once again to kidnap her.
    more
  • Denise
    June 29, 2017
    I could not put down Winter and Nero's story. So good. Nero was attracted to Winter from the beginning and he really does not understand his attraction to what in his barbarian society would be deemed a weak individual. Winter will teach him earth women are far from the weaker sex when it comes to determination and intelligence to find the other human women taken from House Of Galen and still waiting to be rescued. She will risk danger by going back into the desert and perhaps even being capture I could not put down Winter and Nero's story. So good. Nero was attracted to Winter from the beginning and he really does not understand his attraction to what in his barbarian society would be deemed a weak individual. Winter will teach him earth women are far from the weaker sex when it comes to determination and intelligence to find the other human women taken from House Of Galen and still waiting to be rescued. She will risk danger by going back into the desert and perhaps even being captured again to ensure her friends Dayna and Mia will be found alive and well. Nero will go to any lengths to keep Winter safe even his own life which is highly likely as they have to confront someone called Catalyst who they think has taken the earth humans along with some aliens. Catalyst is using robots to do his dirty work and the House Of Galen gladiators are going into extreme danger to stop this madman from stealing anymore humans as he is still trying to capture Blaine and Winter. Thank you to Anna Hackett for the enthralling review copy. Loved it. Cannot wait to see who will be next to find their human mate.
    more
  • Jane
    June 27, 2017
    Sweet tamingThis is Nero’s and Winter’s storyThe barbarian warrior wants to protect the blind doctor from earth. Deeply ingrained in him is the urge to protect, unfortunately everything he tells Winter comes out wrong.Winter needs to feel useful and wants to be able to work and support her new home. Struggling with the loss of earth, the horrible torture she had to endure, she is still strong and won’t let herself be bossed around by Nero.This book can be read as a standalone and also not follow Sweet tamingThis is Nero’s and Winter’s storyThe barbarian warrior wants to protect the blind doctor from earth. Deeply ingrained in him is the urge to protect, unfortunately everything he tells Winter comes out wrong.Winter needs to feel useful and wants to be able to work and support her new home. Struggling with the loss of earth, the horrible torture she had to endure, she is still strong and won’t let herself be bossed around by Nero.This book can be read as a standalone and also not following the order of the books, but it is easier when you follow them in order. It has no overall greater story and Anna repeats the most important details.Winter and Nero have to go on a chase in order to rescue others.The world that Anna weaves is very fascinating, the characters are strong and independent yet not without flaws. You have a lot of action, sweet romance and hot scenes.When you like strong man who get stronger woman, you can’t err with this series.I liked the book, the main characters are very likeable and it is always fun to watch them banter. Also the chase is exciting and as always something unexpected changes the events.
    more
  • Julie Jefferies
    June 24, 2017
    As soon as I see Anna Hackett's name I know I need to have that book, and I know I'm going to love it, and as per usual this story is amazing. From page one I was hooked by this big hunky alien Gladiator with a heart of gold that can't seem to keep his foot out of his mouth, and the tiny blind human spitfire of a Doctor who couldn't help but rub him the wrong way. I love the passion, the fear, and the downright honour all these characters have.This is book six in the amazing series, and like the As soon as I see Anna Hackett's name I know I need to have that book, and I know I'm going to love it, and as per usual this story is amazing. From page one I was hooked by this big hunky alien Gladiator with a heart of gold that can't seem to keep his foot out of his mouth, and the tiny blind human spitfire of a Doctor who couldn't help but rub him the wrong way. I love the passion, the fear, and the downright honour all these characters have.This is book six in the amazing series, and like the other five, you can't help but feel connected and drawn into their world, it becomes so real thanks to Anna's sensational skill as a writer. I love how at the end of each story you get a small look into who the next story will be about, and I can't wait for the next book. The only thing that I don't like is knowing that this series will have to come to an end one day.I strongly recommend that you read this as a series and start at book one. This is the order for the Galactic Gladiators series :1: Gladiator2: Warrior3: Hero 4: Protector5: Champion 6: BarbarianI received an ARC of Barbarian and voluntarily chose to read and review it. My review is honest and fair and in. I way incentivised
    more
  • Lee
    June 28, 2017
    If you've been reading Galactic Gladiators, this book is more of the same. I advise against starting with this book- read Gladiator first! This book is an action-adventure novel with a romance plot running alongside it. Excellent, clear action scenes and pretty hot love scenes. There are tropes galore- the originality is all in the fights and baddies. Speaking of baddies, we get some new ones! Unfortunately, they're just megalomaniacal cacklers. I thought the character of Winter could have been If you've been reading Galactic Gladiators, this book is more of the same. I advise against starting with this book- read Gladiator first! This book is an action-adventure novel with a romance plot running alongside it. Excellent, clear action scenes and pretty hot love scenes. There are tropes galore- the originality is all in the fights and baddies. Speaking of baddies, we get some new ones! Unfortunately, they're just megalomaniacal cacklers. I thought the character of Winter could have been explored more thoroughly. She tends to jump to conclusions and I'm curious as to whether that's a learned behavior or something that predated her trauma. At the end she hits a bit of good fortune that I had a tough time believing. If this sort of thing sounds like your bread and circus, it's well-executed. I received a review copy.
    more
  • Dora
    June 27, 2017
    With Mia and Dayna still missing the gladiators were looking for information everywhere. Winter was decided to actively help them and even Nero, the rough barbarian, could not prevent it. She was not afraid or weak and even with her blindness she was full of resources. Nero was feeling a strong attraction to the Earth woman but being raised to be strong and avoid weakness, seemed he could not control his big mouth around her. Exciting story full of action, suspense, adventure, danger, strong and With Mia and Dayna still missing the gladiators were looking for information everywhere. Winter was decided to actively help them and even Nero, the rough barbarian, could not prevent it. She was not afraid or weak and even with her blindness she was full of resources. Nero was feeling a strong attraction to the Earth woman but being raised to be strong and avoid weakness, seemed he could not control his big mouth around her. Exciting story full of action, suspense, adventure, danger, strong and mysterious characters, intense fights and sex. Liked how the author crafted Winter’s character and that Vek had a part in the story. Love these action-packed stories with lot of fantastic, different and strange characters that intrigue me.
    more
  • Angarad
    June 27, 2017
    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.As always, I am in love with the world of the Gladiators on Kor Magna and with the human survivors who ended up there. The House of Galen keeps getting bigger and into more serious and troublesome situation, discovering more secrets on the planet and among the alien city.As new characters, I really Nero and Winter together. They were a bit less eccentric and showy than a lot of previous characters lol but they still felt very deeply, both caring I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.As always, I am in love with the world of the Gladiators on Kor Magna and with the human survivors who ended up there. The House of Galen keeps getting bigger and into more serious and troublesome situation, discovering more secrets on the planet and among the alien city.As new characters, I really Nero and Winter together. They were a bit less eccentric and showy than a lot of previous characters lol but they still felt very deeply, both caring visible and invisible wounds. Their romance seemed a bit less exciting to me than the previous ones but I still really liked them. I can't wait to read and Mia and Blue!!
    more
  • Clara
    June 29, 2017
    Winter is another abducted human that has ended up with the House of Galen. When she was kidnapped, again, some of the gladiators came to get her, including Nero, a barbarian. She had been purposely blinded, and he says that he thinks she's weak. Winter wants to prove to him that she's not weak, but they get on like chalk and cheese. They seem to constantly annoy each other, and even seem to not like each other. But, is it a case of they both protest too much?Hackett's gladiators are very hot an Winter is another abducted human that has ended up with the House of Galen. When she was kidnapped, again, some of the gladiators came to get her, including Nero, a barbarian. She had been purposely blinded, and he says that he thinks she's weak. Winter wants to prove to him that she's not weak, but they get on like chalk and cheese. They seem to constantly annoy each other, and even seem to not like each other. But, is it a case of they both protest too much?Hackett's gladiators are very hot and incredibly sexy. She writes great stories and has greated a wonderful world. The tension between Nero and Winter is great, and the sex scenes are very good.
    more
  • Jannie Cv
    June 26, 2017
    I love this story!This is one of the most amazing adventures in the series! Winter, with severely damaged vision, may appear weak and helpless - far from it. Don't even think about harming someone she cares about! As for Nero, he never saw what hit him. It's true what they say: "The bigger they come, the harder they fall." You will find some highly unusual allies, a megalomaniac known as Catalyst, and the promise of future adventures in this most intriguing world of Carthago and the Kor Magna ar I love this story!This is one of the most amazing adventures in the series! Winter, with severely damaged vision, may appear weak and helpless - far from it. Don't even think about harming someone she cares about! As for Nero, he never saw what hit him. It's true what they say: "The bigger they come, the harder they fall." You will find some highly unusual allies, a megalomaniac known as Catalyst, and the promise of future adventures in this most intriguing world of Carthago and the Kor Magna arena. An excellent read!
    more
  • Christine
    June 27, 2017
    This can be read as a stand-alone, but I recommend reading them in order for maximum enjoyment. As much as I love this series, I was uncertain how I would feel about a blind heroine. I was thrilled with the story and the amazing strength of Winter! Nero wasn’t as gruff and barbaric as he first seemed and he was the perfect match for Winter. This story had humor, action, suspense, sci-fi elements, aliens, and steamy romance. The romance wasn’t overly descriptive and didn’t overwhelm the story. I This can be read as a stand-alone, but I recommend reading them in order for maximum enjoyment. As much as I love this series, I was uncertain how I would feel about a blind heroine. I was thrilled with the story and the amazing strength of Winter! Nero wasn’t as gruff and barbaric as he first seemed and he was the perfect match for Winter. This story had humor, action, suspense, sci-fi elements, aliens, and steamy romance. The romance wasn’t overly descriptive and didn’t overwhelm the story. I highly recommend this story to anyone who enjoys sci-fi action romance!
    more
  • Lisa
    June 27, 2017
    I only have one Barbrian series that I read. It's this one.Anna Hackett writes the best books. I would probably read her grocery list, if it was written in book form!Seriously, you can not go wrong buying a book by this author. She writes with passion, flair, drama, pick a word, she does it.Nero and Winter are this story's leads. And the sparks and remarks are flying.I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this one!
    more
  • Maria Varley
    June 30, 2017
    Brilliant Have been waiting not so patiently for this book and I loved it.Winter is blind and Nero implied that she was weak so she got mad and vowed that nothing would happen. Nero wasn't at all attracted to the type of woman that Winter is however he can't stop thinking about her.Will they fall in love like the other gladiators? What about Mia will they be able to rescue her with the help of blue? Find out in book
    more
  • Shoshanah Lila
    June 22, 2017
    No spoilers here! As always, another great read. Two seemingly dissimilar people, through adversity (and sweaty sex), are blended into an excellent couple. Also, an Earth girl is rescued and another discovered so the series can go on. Yay! ThanksThis has been voluntary positive feedback of an advance reader copy, read with Mac voice synth TTS for impaired readers.
    more
  • Robin
    June 23, 2017
    Nero and Winter's story is here and hold on to your hats - it's a fast ride! This is a case of opposites attract, each completing the other and making the whole stronger. Nero's large, strong and gruff while Winter proves you should never underestimate someone who is small. New villains and new abductees are introduced and Carthago has added detail. And as usual, it leaves you wanting more.
    more
  • Melissa Taylor
    June 27, 2017
    What a wild ride! From Winter's sight to the action packed fight at the end this book surely delivered all that it promised. Now we find yet another Earth woman is out there and hopefully they can find and rescue her. Big Blue needs his own story next though! I'm so waiting for that one because I know it will be amazing. As if all of Anna's stories aren't already lol
    more
  • Jo ( bubbles the book pimp ) Burns-Hughes
    June 29, 2017
    Book six in the galactic gladiators series.This series just keeps getting better and better. I adored nova and winters story. Told so brilliantly with massive dollops of action. Brilliant read if you haven't read this series before... BAD BOOK WORMS!! Go and read the others....Start at the beginning.
    more
  • Meleeta Morris
    June 27, 2017
    Love Galactic Gladiators! Really good readingI read this tale of Nero and Winter straight through without stopping even for a bathroom break, it was that great. One minute your snickering over the snarkiness then holding your breath thru the intense fight scenes against overwhelming odds. Sigh...can't wait for the next one in this series.
    more
  • Aizzia
    June 27, 2017
    I’ve been waiting very patently *cough..impatiently..cough* for Barbarian and I was very excited to get my hands on the big broody scowly Nero and the determined Doctor Winter. I had so much fun with this book that as soon as I finished it, I went and read it again!! As I’ve come to expect from Ms Hackett… action, adventure and romance abounds in this instalment of Galactic Gladiators. Enjoy!
    more
  • Ellen
    June 28, 2017
    Nice continuation of this series. We have action, adventure, and romance. I like that winter isn't perfect and have to over come it. I feel you do need to read this series in order to get the most enjoyment out of the story. Looking forward to blues and Mia story.
    more
  • Jennifer Erwin
    June 30, 2017
    Another fantastic entry into this series. Love the back & forth between Winter & Nero. Anxiously awaiting the next book.
  • Nancy Gamez
    June 27, 2017
    Exciting storyNero and Winter are at odds at first. He said that she was weak because of being blind. They fell in love
  • Karen Fisher
    June 27, 2017
    Highly recommend this book. It is action packed, tender yet full of heart. The world building is first class. I could "see" the aliens, the animals, the people. A vivid descriptive romance.
Write a review