Two-Man Advantage (Players of LA, #3)
A hockey star skating on the edge of a catastrophe.A PR specialist so adept, he’s called “the Fixer.”Working together will be the biggest challenge of both their careers.The LA Vikings hockey team is fed up the violent outbursts of its huge, intimidating enforcer, Viktor Novak. Hounded by a homophobic and domineering father, Viktor takes out his frustrations by spilling blood—on and off the ice. Now he has one last chance to clean up his image, or his career is over.That’s where Bowen Miller comes in.Bo has taken on the hardest cases and succeeded—by micromanaging every aspect of a client’s life—at the expense of his own happiness. But in the stubborn, hot mess that is Viktor, Bo might have met his match—both in and out of the bedroom. One man is out of control, and one controls everything. But when sex and attraction come into play, those roles are open to negotiation.

Two-Man Advantage (Players of LA, #3) Details

TitleTwo-Man Advantage (Players of LA, #3)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 7th, 2017
PublisherDreamspinner Press
Number of pages220 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, M M Romance, Sports, Hockey, Sports and Games, Erotica, Bdsm, Contemporary

Two-Man Advantage (Players of LA, #3) Review

  • Natalie
    June 18, 2017
    4.5 Stars. This was my first Leigh Carman novel, and although sports aren't my thing, big hunky hockey players often are. Viktor is a star player, built like a Viking but he's pillaging players out on the ice and costing the team both goals and goodwill. After a lifetime under the thumb of his father and the family hockey legacy, as well as the loneliness of his deep, dark closet, Viktor is losing it and endangering his career. Enter Bowen Miller, PR fixer and the epitome of control freaks, to g 4.5 Stars. This was my first Leigh Carman novel, and although sports aren't my thing, big hunky hockey players often are. Viktor is a star player, built like a Viking but he's pillaging players out on the ice and costing the team both goals and goodwill. After a lifetime under the thumb of his father and the family hockey legacy, as well as the loneliness of his deep, dark closet, Viktor is losing it and endangering his career. Enter Bowen Miller, PR fixer and the epitome of control freaks, to get Viktor in line and repair his reputation. It works, up to a point.The first person, present tense narrative and alternating POV, was splendid at providing character insight. These two took me right up to the edge of dislike, with their angry exchanges and the battle of wills. But the thought processes behind it all, made me want to wrap Viktor in a fuzzy blankie and take him home. The underlying sexual tension was delicious and when it snapped, it was filthy hot! Their personalities switched over completely in the bedroom, where Viktor got Bo to let go and hand over control.I did get just a bit weary of the frequent anger and stubbornness of Bo and Viktor, which is what lost a star, and there were not many lighter moments to ease the mood. But the transition and unfolding of motivations from the characters turned the book into an absorbing read. Secondary characters were mostly peripheral, except for Dom, Bo’s friend from college and Viktor’s sister, Natalia (awesome name, right?). Minor hockey action was good for me, and it's a great enemies-to-lovers story with a secondary hurt/comfort trope. Recommended!*An ARC was provided to me by the publisher via Jessie G Book Reviews for an unbiased review*
    more
  • Jay
    June 27, 2017
    4 stars – My third exposure to the books of Leigh Carman, Two-Man Advantage, was a surprise in more than one way. While the blurb does not clearly indicate it, the story does contain light bondage and a significant Dom/sub element. To be fair, though, I really don’t have a good frame of reference on which to judge how “light” these elements are or even how well they are portrayed, because they aren’t my kink of preference. But since I firmly believe in the motto “don’t yuck my yum” when talking 4 stars – My third exposure to the books of Leigh Carman, Two-Man Advantage, was a surprise in more than one way. While the blurb does not clearly indicate it, the story does contain light bondage and a significant Dom/sub element. To be fair, though, I really don’t have a good frame of reference on which to judge how “light” these elements are or even how well they are portrayed, because they aren’t my kink of preference. But since I firmly believe in the motto “don’t yuck my yum” when talking about kink, this review will analyze the BDSM element only insofar as it relates to the plot of the book.PR specialist Bowen Miller accepts what could well be the most difficult challenge of his professional career when he accepts the task of fixing professional hockey player Viktor Novak’s public image, a man whose propensity for aggression and violence has begun to put his career in jeopardy because it has started costing the team victories. Bo has always been successful in the past by controlling as much of the client’s life as he can. That method, however, sets off the already volatile and combative Vik. The dynamic really is rather simple to understand. Take control-freak Bo and pair him with a man who has always felt like he’s been denied control over every facet of his life, a fact that has led him into an out-of-control spiral, and to call the result confrontational is about as much an understatement as comparing an iceberg to an ice cube in a glass of tea.Not to mention the fact that their attraction—which starts instantly for both men (insta-boners *eyeroll*) and which both are oblivious about in the other, something the author handled in a method I appreciated—and eventually their sex scenes are also explosive. Vik knowing what the consequences will likely be if he fails to cooperate with Bo is enough to give Bo the upper hand when it comes to controlling Vik’s hockey persona, but when it comes to the bedroom, it’s the one place Vik won’t relinquish control. And Bo is just as much of a control-freak there too, which brings on the bondage-and-domination element. I think I’ll let it be a surprise for the reader as to which character ends up in which role of the Dom/sub element that permeates the rest of the book. While Dom/sub is not my kink, and thus some of the sex scenes left me feeling a little uncomfortable, when it’s placed into the context of the story, it worked very well as a conduit for the characters to work through their issues. This fact is arguably what made the book as enjoyable for me as it was, a pleasant surprise given the circumstances. These sorts of reading experiences are good for me because they encourage me to be a little less hard-no when it comes to deciding on whether to read a book with a kink I’m not particularly comfortable with.Since this is the third book of a series, some comparisons are in order. First, though, let me note that each of the books works fine as a standalone. As much as I enjoyed Two-Man Advantage, as with the first two books in the series, its writing style has both positives and negatives. Unlike the first two books, though, the drama in this book has a much more realistic and less contrived feel to it, a fact that made this story have a much better flow than the previous two, making it much easier to read. But instead of the drama pulling me out of the story, here there were several small things that did, things like timeline quirks within a scene (for example: order food, exchange exactly nine sentences of dialogue, food arrives… if only it were like that in real life!) and some excessive descriptions about pointless things that felt like filler, just to name a couple. Obviously, these small things didn’t kill my enjoyment, but they did limit it to some degree.As a whole, Two-Man Advantage is the best story of the three so far in the series, though I found its main characters to be less compelling as those in the previous books. As such, my rating is the same on this one as the others. And that rating is good enough that, with one book left to come in the series, I am looking forward to seeing how that final book reads.The author and/or publisher generously provided me a complimentary copy of Two-Man Advantage in exchange for this fair and honest review.Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Kim
    June 27, 2017
    PR specialist, Bowen Miller "The Fixer" has just been asked to take on the challenge of a NHL player who is allowing his temper to cause issues for himself and his team. And he knows this is not going to be an easy assignment.Viktor Novak is hostile, combative, angry, and has a bad attitude and image. And now it is reflecting poorly on his team and is putting his career at risk. He knows he has problems. He is full of self loathing and has been conditioned to feel like a failure and loser. He ca PR specialist, Bowen Miller "The Fixer" has just been asked to take on the challenge of a NHL player who is allowing his temper to cause issues for himself and his team. And he knows this is not going to be an easy assignment.Viktor Novak is hostile, combative, angry, and has a bad attitude and image. And now it is reflecting poorly on his team and is putting his career at risk. He knows he has problems. He is full of self loathing and has been conditioned to feel like a failure and loser. He can never please his father, the team management, or himself. He is gay, but deep in the closet. He feels like he has no control over his life and that no one really cares about him or has faith in him. He is not really living his own life or being true to himself. He keeps it all bottled up until he just explodes on or off the ice. Bo has been solely focused on work, control, and does not allow emotions or ties with people to cloud his judgment. He is gay and out, but does not do relationships. For awhile they both think the other is straight. They have a pretty instant attraction that brings along a lot of confusion, antagonism, and misunderstandings. They push each other's buttons from the beginning. Bo is intimidating, controlling, bossy, and micromanages everything. Viktor does not really want another person telling him what he has to do. They end up in a battle of wills that eventually leads to an explosion of their sexual tension. But Bo is shocked to realize that sex with Viktor is not like anything he has ever experienced before. There is a dance of dominance between these two between professional life and the bedroom. And Viktor's house seems to be the one place Viktor can completely take control of a situation while allowing Bo to free his mind and let someone else make decisions for a change. They give each other what the other needs. They complement and balance each other in ways they never expected. But it will take some time to come to terms with it all and deal with the fears, anxiety, emotions, and hurt feelings as they push and pull at each other. Viktor has a lot to really work through. He is so full of self hate since he has been conditioned to believe he is worthless. He hides his sexuality. He reacts strongly and cannot control anything in his life due to swinging emotions. He needs understanding, acceptance, trust, and stabilizing influences. He needs to find hope that his life can change and improve, and have the support to have a chance at getting there. Bo needs to be taken care of as much as he takes care of others. But he can be intimidating and appear cold. And are both stubborn, emotional, and quick tempered while not always effective at communicating. Both of their pasts have shaped who they are, and pushed them in different directions.The sex scenes fit with this couple and their needs. Sometimes I wanted to see more intimacy, vulnerability, and reciprocity. But I understand why they were written the way they were. But a couple of them were not exactly my thing, but they were raw, heated, and tested each of them. At first this book was more about fun verbal sparring and sexual tension, but then meandered into more emotional, intense situations, and battles for control. It was told in alternating points of view. There were a few things here and there that I questioned or made me roll my eyes. But I honestly had a hard time putting it down, and I did care about these two and wanted to see them really open up and find a way to make it all work. I liked Bo's friend and team media consultant, Dom, as he was good for comic relief and honest truths. And Vik's friend, JT was a good anchor for him. Vik's family also was a big part of his issues, but I liked his sister, Nat and brother, Sergey. This was an antagonistic, intense, M/M hockey romance with strong characters, deep seated issues, and light BDSM components. It does have some humor and banter too. These men challenged each other in various ways and I was engaged in their story. It can be read as a complete stand alone although characters from the other books are mentioned briefly. I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Serena Yates
    July 7, 2017
    After liking the first two books in this series a lot, I was looking forward to ‘Two-Man Advantage’ – and am happy to report that it fulfilled all my expectations, and then some! A hockey star “skating on the edge of a catastrophe” and a PR specialist “so adept he is called ‘the fixer’” are not exactly two men I’d have expected to match. And what did I find when I read this book? Two men, one more stubborn and rude than the other, misunderstandings and conflict preprogrammed before they even mee After liking the first two books in this series a lot, I was looking forward to ‘Two-Man Advantage’ – and am happy to report that it fulfilled all my expectations, and then some! A hockey star “skating on the edge of a catastrophe” and a PR specialist “so adept he is called ‘the fixer’” are not exactly two men I’d have expected to match. And what did I find when I read this book? Two men, one more stubborn and rude than the other, misunderstandings and conflict preprogrammed before they even meet, and passion on both sides that promised the same sort of interpersonal sparks I saw in book one. What surprised me, in the best way possible, was a lot more character depth and a deeper back story than in the first two volumes. Both Viktor, the “catastrophic” hockey player, and Bo, the “miracle worker” are multilayered men whose issues are not easily solved. As a consequence, reading this book was quite the ride on more than one front!Viktor is angry, belligerent, violent, and goes on the attack “just in case”. His aggression boils over at the slightest provocation and splashes out around anyone standing within three feet of him, metaphorically speaking. It hit me from the first page, and it was quite an experience – not just because it was so well done and utterly convincing, but also because I was curious to find out what caused it and I soon began to wonder if he’d ever be able to get rid of it. Behaviors and protective mechanisms – because that is largely what it is for Viktor – are there for a reason, and boy, does Viktor have reasons!Bo is not exactly a wallflower either. He has more self-control than most people – to the point where he could be taken for an icicle rather than a man, but his inner energy and temperament are very similar to Viktor’s. Bo has learned to channel his aggression better, but fundamentally, he understands the people who get into a problem with the press because he knows how they feel. His success has made him arrogant to the point of nausea, and his need to control everything is a protective mechanism in its own right.Watching these two “titans” clash was an amazing experience. Both men have emotional walls around them that seem hopelessly secure, and yet they both desperately need each other. I was on the edge of my seat following the revelations, their fights and progress, the heat of their physical encounters, and their desperate struggle to find a way to be in a relationship they both so clearly wanted, even though neither of them admits it for a very long time.If you like stories about complicated characters who virtually kill each other before they figure out they are meant to be together, if you want to see opposite ends of the control spectrum clash and explode, and if you’re looking for a read that has character growth, deep passion, and offers a romance that is as rocky as it is complicated, then you will probably like this novel as much as I do. I sincerely hope the next one in this sports-based series is not too far from publication.NOTE: This book was provided by Dreamspinner Press for the purpose of a review on Rainbow Book Reviews.
    more
  • Melissa | Slow Reader's Blog
    July 18, 2017
    Well...So I thought that this started out strong. Character introductions went well as I was definitely convinced of their sketch. I thought Vik's character was done really well, his anger and fear leaping off the pages at you as 100% believable. But then...I'm not a bdsm reader. It's just one type of romance I've learned is not for me. And really, this is not a bdsm book. However, the characters take on roles of D and s which just didn't fit either of them. It wasn't believable and I spent a lo Well...So I thought that this started out strong. Character introductions went well as I was definitely convinced of their sketch. I thought Vik's character was done really well, his anger and fear leaping off the pages at you as 100% believable. But then...I'm not a bdsm reader. It's just one type of romance I've learned is not for me. And really, this is not a bdsm book. However, the characters take on roles of D and s which just didn't fit either of them. It wasn't believable and I spent a lot of time rolling my eyes. And to top it off, the anger coming from Vik during these scenes was just awful, to the point he becomes physically violent and injures Bo. Bo was also physically abusive to Vik, which he uses to later justify Vik's aggressiveness. NO. NOPE. I should have stopped there. If I continue with this review I'm probably not going to have anything positive to say so, I'm just going with I DO NOT RECOMMEND. Curiosity is a unique form of torture.
    more
  • Ruthie Taylor
    July 5, 2017
    ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~This is a really hot, sexy and totally enjoyable story. I read Ms Carman's Fair Catch, also a Players in LA series book, in March this year, and really liked it, but I think this is even better! Her writing style works for me, flowing and immersive. Just don't expect to be able to put it down once you start.Viktor Novak is a fascinating man, with so many facets - and he reveals it all in his eyes, if you look closely. Bo ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~This is a really hot, sexy and totally enjoyable story. I read Ms Carman's Fair Catch, also a Players in LA series book, in March this year, and really liked it, but I think this is even better! Her writing style works for me, flowing and immersive. Just don't expect to be able to put it down once you start.Viktor Novak is a fascinating man, with so many facets - and he reveals it all in his eyes, if you look closely. Bowman Miller is looking, and not just because it is his job to rehabilitate Viktor's image, but because he finds the man totally irresistible. The unfolding romance between these two men is absolutely exquisite - it is not conventional and it is not always soft and sweet, but the passion is electric and the friendship is truly valuable. There are some elements of great sadness, but a wonderfully redemptive ending. I read this straight through, right into the night, because I was absolutely invested in these guys and had to know that they got the HEA that they deserved. Ms Carman did not let me down!
    more
  • Ivy
    July 7, 2017
    Full Review at :https://optimummblog.wordpress.com/2017/07/07/review-two-man-advantage-by-leigh-carman/Viktor Novak is a hockey player, violent on and off the ice. At 23 years old, he’s fed up that everyone controls his life, he can’t be who he wants to be, his father is an abusive man, who controls his life and belittles him. The fact that Viktor is gay, in the closet and can’t have a normal relationship without being outing, doesn’t help either.Bowen Miller is hired by Viktor’s team, to clean Full Review at :https://optimummblog.wordpress.com/2017/07/07/review-two-man-advantage-by-leigh-carman/Viktor Novak is a hockey player, violent on and off the ice. At 23 years old, he’s fed up that everyone controls his life, he can’t be who he wants to be, his father is an abusive man, who controls his life and belittles him. The fact that Viktor is gay, in the closet and can’t have a normal relationship without being outing, doesn’t help either.Bowen Miller is hired by Viktor’s team, to clean up his image and make him respectable for the sponsor, press, and public. Bo controls every aspect of his life and refuses to let anyone take charge of him.So, when he meets Viktor, he has to face a big challenge, tame the beast who attracts him like no one else.I liked this book.I loved Vik, he broke my heart, he suffers so much and so deeply, he made me cry.Bo is perfect for him, they complement each other, Vik, needs to be in charge in the bedroom, it’s the only domain where he can be in charge. Bo didn’t know that he needs to be controlled by someone else until he met Vik. Each one comforts and appeases the other.The sex is hot, super-hot, and I really enjoyed it.But, I have to say that it’s not really BDSM, Vik needs to be in charge, yes, but, he isn’t a Dom either. He’s just authoritarian in bed.The feelings between them aren’t properly developed in my opinion, It’s a game of power between them during all the book, who controls who, until the ultimate fight when they broke apart. And suddenly, they talk about love. It was a little weird, because except for the lust and the physical attraction, there’s no romance at first, not at all, even for us, the reader, we don’t read how Vik feels for Bo and vice versa.So when they talk about love, I was a little surprised.Anyway, it doesn’t spoil the reading at all, and Vik and Bob are so adorable that at the end we don’t care how their feelings are developed by the author.It was a pleasant read with a beautiful happy ending, and I liked it.optimummblog.wordpress.com***The ARC was provided by Dreamspinner Press. My review is an honest opinion of the book***
    more
  • Sarah
    July 3, 2017
    I was given a copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. This is a raw, gritty read. The chemistry between Victor, a self-destructive NHL star, and Bo, the suit sent to sort out his attitude problem, is smokin’ hot, but this story quickly becomes deeper and darker than most sports romances.I really enjoyed the character development in this book. Initially, Victor comes across as an arrogant goon with an anger management problem. However, as Bo unravels Victor’s life story, he discove I was given a copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. This is a raw, gritty read. The chemistry between Victor, a self-destructive NHL star, and Bo, the suit sent to sort out his attitude problem, is smokin’ hot, but this story quickly becomes deeper and darker than most sports romances.I really enjoyed the character development in this book. Initially, Victor comes across as an arrogant goon with an anger management problem. However, as Bo unravels Victor’s life story, he discovers a man who is both a victim and a survivor. Similarly, Bo starts the story as an ambitious suit trying to make a name for himself. Slowly, readers come to understand his vulnerabilities. I couldn’t help but fall hard for both of these men. There is some disconcerting violence in this story. I thoroughly enjoyed the rough, consensual D/s sex but I struggled with the violence between these two outside of the bedroom. Readers understand why the violence happens but I felt like it was brushed off and forgiven too quickly. I feel like similar incidents between an m/f couple would be treated much more seriously.I liked the balance between the darker sides of this book and the hockey excitement. Victor’s life experiences are very difficult but the hockey action stays light. Victor’s car crash interviews add levity and a sense of fun to an otherwise gritty story. I enjoyed this story even if it wasn’t always a comfortable or easy read. Victor and Bo make a great couple. I liked the HFN ending and the lack of any ‘coming out’ drama.
    more
  • Raj
    July 22, 2017
    Viktor an NFL player is a Russian volcano with a hot temper and an even hotter body whose public life is out of control.Bo the fixer sent to reimage Vikor,is a cool as ice robotic snowman whose dire need to be in control of every detail dominates his life thus fueling his desire to dominate others whether in private or public.When these two men meet it's a seductive violent dance of fire and ice with each of them seeking ultimate domination over the other.Throw in an evil parent who should have Viktor an NFL player is a Russian volcano with a hot temper and an even hotter body whose public life is out of control.Bo the fixer sent to reimage Vikor,is a cool as ice robotic snowman whose dire need to be in control of every detail dominates his life thus fueling his desire to dominate others whether in private or public.When these two men meet it's a seductive violent dance of fire and ice with each of them seeking ultimate domination over the other.Throw in an evil parent who should have in my opinion met the front of a bus,some untutored yet sizzling bdsm and the testosterone fueled world of professional hockey and you have one sizzling book.
    more
  • Angie
    July 3, 2017
    I received a copy to read and review for Wicked ReadsI don't normally read a lot of hockey books but this one got a hold of my with the blurb. I loved Vik and Bo. The chemistry between the two is instant and never wains. Vik is a the bad boy of hockey and Bo is the fixer. The only complaint I have about this book was I didn't really get to know a lot about Bo. We got to see why Vik was the way he was but I wanted a little more back story to Bo. I loved Vik's sister, she helped us understand Vik. I received a copy to read and review for Wicked ReadsI don't normally read a lot of hockey books but this one got a hold of my with the blurb. I loved Vik and Bo. The chemistry between the two is instant and never wains. Vik is a the bad boy of hockey and Bo is the fixer. The only complaint I have about this book was I didn't really get to know a lot about Bo. We got to see why Vik was the way he was but I wanted a little more back story to Bo. I loved Vik's sister, she helped us understand Vik. The sex scenes were hot as hell between Bo and Vik and the story was good, I just wanted to more backstory. Fast paced, steamy hot hockey romance.
    more
  • Susan65
    July 29, 2017
    A 4.5 star review by The Blogger GirlsThis was an amazingly sexy book. I loved the dialogue, I loved the love-hate relationship between Viktor and Bo, and I thoroughly enjoyed the rough, off the chain, almost non-con sex between the two. The story line between the out-of-control, larger than life, pissed off at the world professional hockey player and the control freak who was hired to “fix” said hockey player’s image was written in such a way you could almost feel the emotions leaping off the p A 4.5 star review by The Blogger GirlsThis was an amazingly sexy book. I loved the dialogue, I loved the love-hate relationship between Viktor and Bo, and I thoroughly enjoyed the rough, off the chain, almost non-con sex between the two. The story line between the out-of-control, larger than life, pissed off at the world professional hockey player and the control freak who was hired to “fix” said hockey player’s image was written in such a way you could almost feel the emotions leaping off the pages. Leigh Carman has a way with characterization and world building that you feel as if you are actually a part of the story.Viktor Novak is a professional hockey player, one of the best, but his life is out of control. He fights, he gets ejected from games, he spends time in the penalty box at nearly every game, and he terrorizes journalists tasked with interviewing him. In short, his image is toast and the team will pay whatever costs to fix their pain in the ass, but best player. Enter Bowen Miller. Bo is a control freak but a known “fixer”. Mixing Viktor and Bo is like pouring water on an oil fire…the two are near combustible. Viktor is pissed at the world for having no control (his dad is the cause and what a monster that man is) over his life and the NHL forcing him to be controlled by Bo just doesn’t work for him.Bo could care less how big, strong, or volatile Viktor is. He fears no man and Viktor will do what he says or the team will bench him. Bo is also fighting his own demons with control, which comes to light later in the book. In the meantime, these two must find a way to fix Viktor while being wildly attracted to each other. Their sex is near combative and hard core. The fight for control is just as strong in the bedroom, but the advantage goes to Viktor….who has about 6 inches and 80 pounds on Bo…but it doesn’t stop Bo from trying.I loved Viktor and Bo and all their little (HUGE) issues, but a small part of me wanted it to be settled just a tad sooner. A big part of me was getting mildly concerned when I was running out of pages and they were still at odds. But, it ends on a great note and the demons haunting both men are finally laid to rest. I loved the family dynamics with Vik’s family and their eventual inclusion of Bo. These two had one of the most explosive beginnings in a romantic relationship but that just made their victory that much sweeter.Overall Impression: I loved it!
    more
  • Les Joseph
    July 7, 2017
    Hockey books are my jam, my absolute favorite, and I'm not even kidding. I'm like a kid in a candy store when it comes to finding a hockey book to read. So needless to say, I was super stoked to read Two Man Advantage by Leigh Carman. I was a tad worried because it's the third book in the series, AND this is a new to me author--two things that always give me pause. I was able to follow along with the characters and story just fine, though so no worries there. However, I would have liked more act Hockey books are my jam, my absolute favorite, and I'm not even kidding. I'm like a kid in a candy store when it comes to finding a hockey book to read. So needless to say, I was super stoked to read Two Man Advantage by Leigh Carman. I was a tad worried because it's the third book in the series, AND this is a new to me author--two things that always give me pause. I was able to follow along with the characters and story just fine, though so no worries there. However, I would have liked more actual hockey in a book set around a hockey star who needs to repair his image and the man in charge of getting that done. Two Man Advantage is about Viktor Novak, a hockey star with an image problem. And it's not a little one that can easily fixed with a visit to a children's hospital to pose for pictures or being seen at a charity event. Viktor is mean and vicious and is extremely unlikable. The fans don't like him, most of his team doesn't either, and the fact that he comes from a family of hockey stars isn't enough to appease the owners and coach of his team, the LA Vikings. Viktor is given an ultimatum, clean up his act or get lost. He's on his very last chance and he knows it. The team has brought in none other than Bowen Miller, fixer extraordinaire to handle the problem. To say these two get off on the wrong foot is like saying ice cream isn't delicious. They butt heads immediately and it sure doesn't help that Viktor is wildly attracted to Bo and vice versa. I have to say, I wasn't a huge fan of either of these guys. Viktor is just incredibly brash and rude and Bo is stubborn and provoking. Sure it makes for some relatively hot sex scenes ... but that's about it. There was A LOT of over the top melodrama surrounding Viktor. And lots of rather unnecessary violence as well. Viktor's father was so evil he was a caricature. To be honest, the antagonism between the two men for most of the book, even after they were supposedly madly in love with one another, was pretty off-putting, but that could very well be just my personal preferences. Give this one a chance and see if you feel differently, you just might surprise yourself. *this review will also be posted on www.diversereader.blogspot.com*
    more
  • JoAnna G
    July 3, 2017
    I have never read this author before and I am pleased with myself for giving her a chance. What drew me to it was the fact that it was M/M and hockey (best sport ever). Though I wish there was a tad bit more hockey in it. Now I liked this book even missing more of the hockey. These men are broody and sexy and awesome. The writing is good as well as the pace. The author did a good job.The book is about Viktor Novak that plays with the Los Angeles Vikings hockey team. He is a bit of a hot head. Wh I have never read this author before and I am pleased with myself for giving her a chance. What drew me to it was the fact that it was M/M and hockey (best sport ever). Though I wish there was a tad bit more hockey in it. Now I liked this book even missing more of the hockey. These men are broody and sexy and awesome. The writing is good as well as the pace. The author did a good job.The book is about Viktor Novak that plays with the Los Angeles Vikings hockey team. He is a bit of a hot head. Who am I kidding he is a downright brute on the ice and he isn’t even an enforcer and Bowen Miller. Viktor’s head office is upset with his actions and they hire Bowen “The Fixer” Miller to help get on the right path. No, that isn’t right either. He is hired to try and fix the anger and that Viktor has. Bowen is a controlled man. Everything has a way to be done. He is in complete control of his life and work. His work means everything to him. Then we have Viktor that is playing hockey and following in his dad's footsteps. His father is making him live the dream that died for him. Bowen is asked by his best friend to fix Viktor and make him likable in public. When they meet for the first time the tension is palpable. Both of them have demons, although Viktor’s is a bit more on the dark side. Two Man Advantage has a touch of BDSM. I liked it and it was different for me. Bowen is in control in every aspect of his life and Viktor tosses him a major curveball. Wrong sport I know but still true. Viktor is just trying to get by and is so angry all the time, has so much self-loathing. These men are exactly what each other need. I can’t tell you anything else because it would give it away. You just need to read and judge for yourself. Oh, and the sex between them is hot as all get the hell out. Loved it. The romance between the was fun to read. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.
    more
  • Mainely Stories
    July 8, 2017
    Story 4*, Passion/Emotion 5*, Sizzle Points 4.5*Yessir, I did like this story. The writing flow kept the action moving with little or no filler. This author uses unique descriptive terms, describing a temper as “mushroom-cloud-nuclear” that bring the entire range of emotion to the reader during the story of a temperamental, angry, emotionally damaged pro hockey player who is about to be ‘schooled’ by a publicist hired by the NFL hockey team to make him ‘nice’. The descriptions of hockey player a Story 4*, Passion/Emotion 5*, Sizzle Points 4.5*Yessir, I did like this story. The writing flow kept the action moving with little or no filler. This author uses unique descriptive terms, describing a temper as “mushroom-cloud-nuclear” that bring the entire range of emotion to the reader during the story of a temperamental, angry, emotionally damaged pro hockey player who is about to be ‘schooled’ by a publicist hired by the NFL hockey team to make him ‘nice’. The descriptions of hockey player and publicist, each as seen by the other are reflective of their immediate combustible attraction. Viktor has the size of a Nordic behemoth and Bowen, the publicist, although smaller in stature, has a controlling nature of his own. The balance of power shifts depending on setting and circumstance.The control held by Viktor’s father as well as the structure of professional sports leaves him little room for emotional relief. Viktor is gay but there is no way that his father would accept that nor would pro hockey so Victor has been celibate for more than three years. As far as anyone but Viktor’s sister knows, he is heterosexual and focused on hockey and even that is not good enough for his domineering father. Gay PR specialist Bowen, with an opposite background of little or no guidance or routine while growing up and needs his life structured and buttoned up. He can be arrogant and every bit as difficult as Viktor but in a much more controlled way. This story oozes passion with periodic combustion. There are elements of B and D of the BDSM lifestyle as well as domestic violence. The love story is believable, the characters lovable although both hard-headed and I truly enjoyed the story. Strongly Recommended!
    more
  • E Low the
    July 9, 2017
    Let me start off by saying this is my first Leigh Carman book. Two-Man Advantage is book three in the Players of LA series and I can tell you that I didn't once feel like I was missing something or have that lost feeling when reading a book mid-series. LA Vikings hockey player Viktor Novak is literally on thin ice with his team. The “big guys upstairs” have had enough of his antics on the ice. An ultimatum is passed down to his coach for him to change his ways or he would be watching the game fr Let me start off by saying this is my first Leigh Carman book. Two-Man Advantage is book three in the Players of LA series and I can tell you that I didn't once feel like I was missing something or have that lost feeling when reading a book mid-series. LA Vikings hockey player Viktor Novak is literally on thin ice with his team. The “big guys upstairs” have had enough of his antics on the ice. An ultimatum is passed down to his coach for him to change his ways or he would be watching the game from the bench instead of playing. In comes Bowen Miller “The Fixer” to help Vik get his s*** straight. These are two alpha males through and through. Both fighting for dominance at every turn...except when things get hot. I was not expecting the slight Dom/Sub aspect of their sexy times. And my did those sexy times get hot!! I don't know how many times I had to check and make sure my AC was on...lol. Viktor has an a** for a father. He puts him down at every turn and when dear old dad walks in on Viktor and Bo in a rather compromising position, things between Vik and his father go from bad to worse. My heart absolutely broke for Viktor for the way his father treated him. That man absolutely made my skin crawl! Bowen also had a few parental issues that made him the man that he had become. He was not the relationship kinda guy, but after some time with Vik, he couldn't picture his life without him. I really enjoyed this book and now plan on going backwards to read the rest of the series. You have a new fan Leigh!!!I give this book 4 Hot Hockey Stars!!!
    more
  • Kristen Johnson
    July 8, 2017
    Viktor is struggling with a lot of personal demons, most importantly is hiding who he really is because of the reaction he knows his father will have to the news that he's gay. Since he's a professional hockey player - the only real place he can let loose those frustrations and inner turmoil is on the ice; but his team isn't too happy about that lately. Enter Bo, PR guru extraordinaire - the man brought in to clean up his reputation - off the ice and help him improve his anger on the ice. But fr Viktor is struggling with a lot of personal demons, most importantly is hiding who he really is because of the reaction he knows his father will have to the news that he's gay. Since he's a professional hockey player - the only real place he can let loose those frustrations and inner turmoil is on the ice; but his team isn't too happy about that lately. Enter Bo, PR guru extraordinaire - the man brought in to clean up his reputation - off the ice and help him improve his anger on the ice. But from moment one there's much more between the two - some unknown connection - a bond that reaches through the tough guy act of Viktor and breaks the bonds of Bo's control. As these two work together - they get to know one another and see something in the other nobody else has noticed. Pair that with their major attraction and the combustible chemistry and things go from professional to personal rather quickly. But both of these guys have their own struggles to cope with before admitting to what's between them. Two-Man Advantage was a quick read that kept me rapt, had me loving both characters, and rooting for a HEA for both of them. There was some drama that kept things interesting and added a bit of strain to the blossoming connection between these two guys. From Viktor's alternating moods and Bo's trials at maintaining control of everything - it was fun to see them both knocked sideways by their intense connection.
    more
  • Gina
    July 10, 2017
    This book was hot..really, really hot!!! You have a very rough and gruff, dominate hockey player and the clean-cut suit who didn't realize he liked to be dominated, come together and the sparks fly!!!I liked that this story had an opposite attract kind of vibe. Vik and Bo were two very interesting characters and would have liked to get to know them more. Maybe if I got a little more back history with the characters, I would have felt a little more connection with them.Overall, I enjoyed the stor This book was hot..really, really hot!!! You have a very rough and gruff, dominate hockey player and the clean-cut suit who didn't realize he liked to be dominated, come together and the sparks fly!!!I liked that this story had an opposite attract kind of vibe. Vik and Bo were two very interesting characters and would have liked to get to know them more. Maybe if I got a little more back history with the characters, I would have felt a little more connection with them.Overall, I enjoyed the story! I thought it was well written and storyline between the characters was interesting. The characters had great chemistry together. There were a few dramatic parts to help keep the story interesting. I would have been okay if there were a few more but it was a good story.
    more
  • SiKReviews
    July 9, 2017
    I love a book where you want to wring the neck of a character to later want to cuddle and comfort them because you understand them now. That was definitely true for Viktor. And, Bo too if you think about it. Each had their own baggage that made them the way they were and when they got together they were opposite enough to fit what the other needed. I loved that.A great book to get your hockey fix this hot summer and the romance to read on the beach. Love is Love and no one has the right to abuse I love a book where you want to wring the neck of a character to later want to cuddle and comfort them because you understand them now. That was definitely true for Viktor. And, Bo too if you think about it. Each had their own baggage that made them the way they were and when they got together they were opposite enough to fit what the other needed. I loved that.A great book to get your hockey fix this hot summer and the romance to read on the beach. Love is Love and no one has the right to abuse you.
    more
Write a review