Home Run
Thwack! It was the sound that would change their lives forever. Carter Fox is the powerful home run hitter for the Houston Sluggers.Baseball was the only good thing in his life. Then she winds up with one of his home run balls in her hand.  Jordan Douglas has three priorities in life: Law school. Graduation. Job. There is absolutely no room for a  playboy baller.Then she winds up with one of his home run balls in her hand. An overt show of bravado. A case of misread intentions. A slanted news piece that gets picked up nationally. Pretty soon all of Houston is talking.Damage control leads to something deeper……until a tiny, little curve ball is thrown into both their lives.
   Now the game is changed forever.
 This is a Stand Alone, BWWM  Romance in the Texas Heat Romance Books, with an Unexpected Baby.WARNING: Due to quite a few extra steamy scenes, and Adult language 18+ only!! 

Home Run Details

TitleHome Run
Author
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreRomance, Interracial Romance, Contemporary Romance, Sports and Games, Sports

Home Run Review

  • Rosie J.
    June 15, 2017
    3.5 StarsI voluntarily read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.This baseball sports romance was a pleasant and welcomed change from Football and Basketball -- my personal favorites are: Hockey and MMA -- the only other sport sorely lacking in romance is Tennis.If you've read the synopsis then you already know this is a pregnancy romance. The heroine (is in law school) had it on the ball and wasn't looking for someone to rescue or take care of her.Though I liked the story, the romance moved too 3.5 StarsI voluntarily read an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.This baseball sports romance was a pleasant and welcomed change from Football and Basketball -- my personal favorites are: Hockey and MMA -- the only other sport sorely lacking in romance is Tennis.If you've read the synopsis then you already know this is a pregnancy romance. The heroine (is in law school) had it on the ball and wasn't looking for someone to rescue or take care of her.Though I liked the story, the romance moved too quickly for me or I should say the sexual aspect of it. I wanted Carter to work a little harder to get (touch) it. The heroine made it way too easy (as most of his dates do) for him especially after their first encounter didn't go so well. I couldn't totally buy into the pivotal moment (though it's needed to progress the story) because if they had a discussion about STDs, then they would have naturally discussed birth control. Especially since Carter is a professional athlete that wants to avoid becoming a father before he's ready. I couldn't understand why she (or he) didn't make a trip to the local CVS Pharmacy to purchase (view spoiler)[the pill (hide spoiler)]. Carter's reaction to the situation was very authentic to me and understandable. I didn't see a big hulking scary monster that the author tried to paint. Afterwards, Jordan puts up a wall and weeks go by without her acknowledging Carter's calls and emails. Carter wants to be with her -- though I'm not sure why. As the story progressed, I started liking Carter more, and Jordan less. I thought she made things way more difficult than they had to be. I like this author's writing style so I'll read anything she writes. Be sure to check out the preview for her next story and her earlier titles, too.
    more
  • Lorraine Jacobs
    June 16, 2017
    This book was a very good read I love the main characters they sizzled!! I couldn't put it down til I was done was worth the sleepless night
  • Jennifer G
    June 17, 2017
    Home Run is a sports themed romance with a surprise baby twist. It's well written and very entertaining. I am not a baseball fan, yet I loved every minute of the romance, the angst, the misunderstandings, the danger, and the love. Jordan Douglas is a dedicated law student, focused on grades, graduation, and landing a job at a prestigious firm. She isn't a baseball fan either, but her young cousin Ben is, so she finds herself at the ballpark and catching a home run ball that changes her life. Car Home Run is a sports themed romance with a surprise baby twist. It's well written and very entertaining. I am not a baseball fan, yet I loved every minute of the romance, the angst, the misunderstandings, the danger, and the love. Jordan Douglas is a dedicated law student, focused on grades, graduation, and landing a job at a prestigious firm. She isn't a baseball fan either, but her young cousin Ben is, so she finds herself at the ballpark and catching a home run ball that changes her life. Carter Fox is a home run hitting, baseball superstar. He's also a playboy who doesn't always know how to behave. When Jordan tries to get the ball signed for her cousin Ben, Carter manages to insult Jordan and create a media frenzy. Public relations damage control has him spending the day with Ben and asking for his beautiful cousin's phone number. Their first date is a success and a relationship begins. The characters were wonderful. They both changed so much during their time together. Jordan loosened up, Carter grew up. Jordan learned that some of life's greatest gifts aren't planned. And from the moment he got involved with Jordan, Carter was everything you could ask for in a man. It was nice to see his devotion and loyalty to Jordan. Their families were complete contrasts and added depth to the story. This book has so many ups and downs. These two are so different and sometimes clash. Their schedules work against them. Carter's parents create more problems than can be imagined, but it's clear Carter and Jordan are good together. Then we have a case of faulty equipment and everything changes. I was not a fan of Jordan during this time. Carter, however, when given the opportunity was perfect. I loved how it all worked out for these two once they were open and honest with one another. Jordan didn't give up anything and Carter got a life he never even knew he wanted. I enjoyed this happy little family and appreciated getting a glimpse into their HEA.
    more
  • Wednesday Stanley
    June 27, 2017
    This is the first time I have read anything by Mrs. Stevens. I was interested in this book because it had baseball, one of my sports that I love reading. Although this book is labeled as sports themed, I'm not sure if you could really call it that. Though there is some baseball ties into the story, its not really a baseball themed book. I really liked Carter.... Carter Fox is the next big thing in the baseball world and he knows it. He lives the single (ocky big shot player's life. And he's a This is the first time I have read anything by Mrs. Stevens. I was interested in this book because it had baseball, one of my sports that I love reading. Although this book is labeled as sports themed, I'm not sure if you could really call it that. Though there is some baseball ties into the story, its not really a baseball themed book. I really liked Carter.... Carter Fox is the next big thing in the baseball world and he knows it. He lives the single (ocky big shot player's life. And he's a bit of a ar$ehole at the beginning. But underneath all that showmanship is a guy who is sweet, caring, and protective. There was definitely more to him than meet the eye. Jordan Douglas is a woman who knows nothing about baseball and doesn't follow the sport at all. I really liked Jordan and that she wasn't your typical fan girl. She was independent and had a goal/plan for her life in becoming a lawyer. I did find this story to be very enjoyable, though it kind of lulled off in the middle for me and than picked back up. I loved watching Carter and Jordan together and watching their relationship grow. There was a little bit of everything in this book that kept my attention and kept me turning the pages of the book. I mean what could be better than baseball and a surprise baby, right?....... Although as I said at the beginning of my review this book does have some baseball in it. I did miss the team and team mate camaraderie, we don't see any of the team or team mates in the book until the end and they really weren't interacting than. So that's why I said at the beginning I really wouldn't consider this a sports themed book. I'm giving this book 4 Stars out of 5!!!!!***I voluntarily read an advanced readers copy of this book for my honest opinion***
    more
  • Jackie D
    June 20, 2017
    Jordan Douglas is not a baseball fan, but her 12-year-old cousin Ben is, so when he pleads for her to get down to the bottom of the stands to try to catch one of his favorite players Carter Fox's home run balls how can she say no? Doesn't help he was injured badly in a wreck by a drunk driver, so that adds to the guilt! Catching a home run ball from Carter Fox by some small miracle she makes it out of the mob with a few bumps to an ecstatic Ben who wants to see if Carter Fox will sign the ball a Jordan Douglas is not a baseball fan, but her 12-year-old cousin Ben is, so when he pleads for her to get down to the bottom of the stands to try to catch one of his favorite players Carter Fox's home run balls how can she say no? Doesn't help he was injured badly in a wreck by a drunk driver, so that adds to the guilt! Catching a home run ball from Carter Fox by some small miracle she makes it out of the mob with a few bumps to an ecstatic Ben who wants to see if Carter Fox will sign the ball after the game. Carter Fox has been known to be a bit of a playboy when he sees the women who caught his home run ball; his misunderstands why she asked him to hang with her cousin ( really?) lewd remarks are made, she tells him off in front of reporters and people recording, a sleazy online blog makes it worse by the next day both Carter and Jordans name are run through the mud- Carter has been told he needs to do damage control stat. Can he get into Jordan's good graces? Why did he care so much if he did?So this book was interesting. I love sports romances, this certainly has that and much more, a combination of plot twists, lots of drama and a frustrating to the very end romance that kept me reading just to see if the two of them could overcome all the obstacles and themselves ( seriously ) to get their HEA.I voluntarily read an Exclusive Advanced Readers Copy of this book
    more
  • Jermetria T.
    June 16, 2017
    I read this book as an ARC and thoroughly enjoyed every page. When I read the preview in So Wrong, I wanted to read it immediately, which prompted me to sign up for Camilla's ARC team. This is only the second book that I have read by the author and she has a great talent. Jordan and Carter are as different as can be and come from completely different backgrounds. Both characters are head strong and bump heads quite often but they manage to work their way through it and create a great relationshi I read this book as an ARC and thoroughly enjoyed every page. When I read the preview in So Wrong, I wanted to read it immediately, which prompted me to sign up for Camilla's ARC team. This is only the second book that I have read by the author and she has a great talent. Jordan and Carter are as different as can be and come from completely different backgrounds. Both characters are head strong and bump heads quite often but they manage to work their way through it and create a great relationship.Carter is a playboy to the fullest extent and Jordan is a straight laced law student who could care less about baseball. In fact, the only reason she even went to the game is because her younger cousin wanted to go and possibly get one of Carter's home run balls. The first interaction between the couple is comedic at best and leads to a misunderstanding that forces Carter to apologize. Cue matchmaking younger cousin and voila a couple is born. Carter and Jordan must stay strong against a meddling mother, gambling father and an unexpected pregnancy. Through it all you know that this couple is meant to be together and love each other deeply. This book is a definite must read and page turner.
    more
  • Rachel Smalls
    July 6, 2017
    I read this sometime prior to this review so all of the details are slow to come back to me.If you ever want to read about a black woman falling for a pro-MLB player who occasionally puts his foot in his mouth but secretly longs for a stable, long-term relationship, then this is for you. There are bumps along the way. A performance enhancing drug scandal, busted condom, scamming parents, and indecision afoot. I felt I learned more about Carter than Jordan. As a couple I didn't really feel the ch I read this sometime prior to this review so all of the details are slow to come back to me.If you ever want to read about a black woman falling for a pro-MLB player who occasionally puts his foot in his mouth but secretly longs for a stable, long-term relationship, then this is for you. There are bumps along the way. A performance enhancing drug scandal, busted condom, scamming parents, and indecision afoot. I felt I learned more about Carter than Jordan. As a couple I didn't really feel the chemistry between them. This is another story of lust turning into love and yes they shared some bonding moments, but nothing that was, imo, earth-shattering and never-seen-before. In the latter half of the story, they spend apart because of a secret Jordan's literally carrying that she doesn't want to come out. I became impatient just wanting her to inform Carter of what was going on, but I can say once it was revealed and the corresponding events which happened, the author didn't take the usual approach, and had Carter and Jordan think about what they want their future to be. In all, this was an okay read. Minor editing mistakes, but decent overall.
    more
  • Stacey
    June 22, 2017
    I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed this book. Carter and Jordan meet when she catches one of his home run balls for her cousin Ben. He sees her and is instantly attracted. Their first meeting doesn't go as planned due to Carter's behavior but he makes it up to her later by taking her on a dinner date. From their a wonderful relationship starts. They have to deal with quite a bit. Intolerance from those close to them, the media, and a busy schedule b I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed this book. Carter and Jordan meet when she catches one of his home run balls for her cousin Ben. He sees her and is instantly attracted. Their first meeting doesn't go as planned due to Carter's behavior but he makes it up to her later by taking her on a dinner date. From their a wonderful relationship starts. They have to deal with quite a bit. Intolerance from those close to them, the media, and a busy schedule but they seem to make it work. I can say the one thing I didn't like about this book was how Jordan handled what she needed to tell Carter. She did what I hate when women do in these books which is reach all of her own conclusions without talking to their partner. I did love how they came together when the scandal that surrounded him came about. She never once batted an eye or believed the lies that were being told about him. If you like her other books I think you will enjoy reading this
    more
  • Teresa Christianson
    July 2, 2017
    I am voluntarily reviewing Home Run by Camilla Stevens after receiving an ARC copy.This was an awesome book. It showed a few of the trials and tribulations that a couple of mixed races can face even today. I understand Carter's being upset when the condom broke but the rage he showed and then asking (almost accusingly) if Jordan was on the pill, I can't blame her for leaving like she did. And then his dad doing what he did months later caused her to reach out to him again but with everything goi I am voluntarily reviewing Home Run by Camilla Stevens after receiving an ARC copy.This was an awesome book. It showed a few of the trials and tribulations that a couple of mixed races can face even today. I understand Carter's being upset when the condom broke but the rage he showed and then asking (almost accusingly) if Jordan was on the pill, I can't blame her for leaving like she did. And then his dad doing what he did months later caused her to reach out to him again but with everything going on still doesn't tell him she is pregnant with his child. Then his mother who has been having her followed shows up and says a bunch of shit, she still doesn't tell him.What happens when she finally tells him? What happens when he confronts his father? What does he do when Jordan finally tells him what his mother said to her that day? Can they make things work or will she be a single mother getting just a support check from him? They have been through a lot of ups and downs but can their love pull them through?
    more
  • Chelsea R Ortiz-Gonzalez
    June 17, 2017
    Headline: I voluntarily read and reviewed an Exclusive ARC of Home Run by Camilla Stevens.This was THE most perfect HEA EVER!!!! Even though I said that, don’t you dare look ahead. Trust me it will be worth it. I LOVED this book. Jordan and Carter's story, their family’s story was near perfection with just the right amount of drama thrown in. I’ve read all kinds of sports romances. Hockey, Football, Basketball, MMA and Soccer. But this is my first Baseball, and I have to say it was done right. T Headline: I voluntarily read and reviewed an Exclusive ARC of Home Run by Camilla Stevens.This was THE most perfect HEA EVER!!!! Even though I said that, don’t you dare look ahead. Trust me it will be worth it. I LOVED this book. Jordan and Carter's story, their family’s story was near perfection with just the right amount of drama thrown in. I’ve read all kinds of sports romances. Hockey, Football, Basketball, MMA and Soccer. But this is my first Baseball, and I have to say it was done right. There are some sport romances out there that have too much sport jargon in my opinion to where it can become confusing to those who don’t know about the sport. I grew up in a family full of sports fanatics, so that isn’t a problem for me. This book was done right. It was done well and I highly recommend this to any and every romance reader. I guess I should throw in a warning about it being a bi-racial romance, but that doesn’t really matter to me, so…Happy reading!
    more
  • Topaz May
    June 29, 2017
    I want to give this 3 and a half stars. I enjoyed some aspects of this story, yet others left me wanting. I snatched up this book based on the baseball premise. I requested an ARC so that I could post a review. I am a huge baseball fan. (I fell in love at a very young age with the men in tight pants.) But this was one part I felt was lacking. It starts out with a fantastic shot of baseball but after that it lost that aspect completely. The characters, Cater Fox-star baseball layer, and Jordan Do I want to give this 3 and a half stars. I enjoyed some aspects of this story, yet others left me wanting. I snatched up this book based on the baseball premise. I requested an ARC so that I could post a review. I am a huge baseball fan. (I fell in love at a very young age with the men in tight pants.) But this was one part I felt was lacking. It starts out with a fantastic shot of baseball but after that it lost that aspect completely. The characters, Cater Fox-star baseball layer, and Jordan Douglas-law student, are likable and well written. To me the story felt a little too immature for 2 adult character and came off as more New Adult, which isn't a bad thing. It just felt wrong for the characters. With all that being said, it isn't a terrible read, just a little slow and unbalanced.
    more
  • K.M.
    July 10, 2017
    Knocked this one right out of the ballpark. I connected to the characters, especially Jordan's laser-sharp focus on school and her career. I liked that Carter fell for her, and hard. The pacing was much more realistic than other insta-love books. I loved the quirkiness of Jordan's friends and family and the plot-line made sense. I like interracial romance novels with a sports center, especially when the sport is NOT basketball or football. I would've liked more focus on the sports aspect and Car Knocked this one right out of the ballpark. I connected to the characters, especially Jordan's laser-sharp focus on school and her career. I liked that Carter fell for her, and hard. The pacing was much more realistic than other insta-love books. I loved the quirkiness of Jordan's friends and family and the plot-line made sense. I like interracial romance novels with a sports center, especially when the sport is NOT basketball or football. I would've liked more focus on the sports aspect and Carter's teammates (to leave the door open for a possible spin-off with other players). Cannot wait for the next installment of the Texas Heat series!
    more
  • Elizabeth Rose
    June 16, 2017
    I loved Jordan and Carter, great characters. I never know what to write for these things, but I thoroughly enjoyed the story of these two. I loved that Jordan didn't have to give up anything to be with Carter in the end. I liked the roles that each character's mother played in their lives and it was clear to see how each mother had made their children strong people. It was also nice to see the growth in both characters and them being able to stand up to their mothers when needed. As always a goo I loved Jordan and Carter, great characters. I never know what to write for these things, but I thoroughly enjoyed the story of these two. I loved that Jordan didn't have to give up anything to be with Carter in the end. I liked the roles that each character's mother played in their lives and it was clear to see how each mother had made their children strong people. It was also nice to see the growth in both characters and them being able to stand up to their mothers when needed. As always a good read from Mrs. Stevens.
    more
  • Jan Janus
    June 16, 2017
    I received an Exclusive Advanced copy of this book to read. What a fun twisted turn of events. Famed Baseball player, falls head over heels for a Law student and gets himself in a small pickle. When Jordan falls into his life, he is not one for keeping with one person in his life, as he is more of a womanizer. However; all that changes when he bites the bullet and tries to get himself out of the trouble he is in. Great romance, with some twisted events and lots of adventure within. I recommend t I received an Exclusive Advanced copy of this book to read. What a fun twisted turn of events. Famed Baseball player, falls head over heels for a Law student and gets himself in a small pickle. When Jordan falls into his life, he is not one for keeping with one person in his life, as he is more of a womanizer. However; all that changes when he bites the bullet and tries to get himself out of the trouble he is in. Great romance, with some twisted events and lots of adventure within. I recommend to all that like romance. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
    more
  • Lin ( Nerdy Bookworm)
    June 19, 2017
    >>>> I voluntarily received and reviewed an Exclusive Copy of this book for an honest review.<<<< Carter Fox is an exceptional hitter when it comes to playing baseball for the Houston Sluggers and he is known as a womanizer, sort of love em and leave em type of guy. His 30th home run became more than just an exciting time in his life because he saw the most beautiful female ever and she caught his home run ball showing all her gorgeous features. What man can resist that >>>> I voluntarily received and reviewed an Exclusive Copy of this book for an honest review.<<<< Carter Fox is an exceptional hitter when it comes to playing baseball for the Houston Sluggers and he is known as a womanizer, sort of love em and leave em type of guy. His 30th home run became more than just an exciting time in his life because he saw the most beautiful female ever and she caught his home run ball showing all her gorgeous features. What man can resist that view? Jordan Douglas, a law student at UT is home on summer break decided to take her cousin, Ben Jordan to a baseball game to see one of his favorite player, Carter Fox. Jordan decision to have Carter home run ball signed for her cousin but it lead to Carter remarks being taking out of context by a reporter. The story was well written with intriguing moments, betrayal and secrecy. Carter's mother was a challenging character and added sarcastic views to the story. Overall, the couple experience a great deal for their HEA.
    more
  • Lorice
    July 14, 2017
    Wow!👏I can not wait until the next book. Carter stole my heart. His father was a different matter. He was a sell out for sure and his mother was the icing on the cake. She knows knows how to pick them. Even though she redeemed herself, I would handle her with a long handle spoon. Carter family was a mess. The characters just flow off the page. I love it. It was so genuine. I highly recommend this read. Ms. Stevens there was never a doubt, you have done well. Thank you!
    more
  • Dani
    June 20, 2017
    I loved this book. It was so funny! It was steamy without being slutty and it was romantic without being cheesy. I loved the dynamic between Carter and Jordan. They were perfect for each other and had a witty, funny, and strong dialogue. This is the first book by Camilla Stevens I have read but it definitely won't be the last! I was given a copy of this book for an honest review.
    more
  • Christina Bowling
    June 22, 2017
    This was a fun, summer book that pulled me in from the start and kept me hooked until I'd finished it. Carter and Jordan were both likable enough characters to start with, and I grew to really love them by the end of the book. It was interesting following their journey, and I loved seeing them get a very cute and perfect HEA. No real complaints about the book. I was gifted an exclusive copy.
    more
  • Nicole Samuels
    July 21, 2017
    Enjoyed!!!It's been awhile since I have rated a romance book 5 stars, I really enjoyed this book. It flowed and I loved the characters. The female lead irritated me a couple times but great book.
  • Pat Walley
    June 26, 2017
    Good plot with very likeable and relatable characters that drew me into their story from the very beginning and kept me totally hooked until the very end!I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.
  • Sheena Johnson
    July 16, 2017
    Book 2 please👏👏😍😍Truly enjoy reading this authors books. The storyline is never rushed or overwhelmed with sex. This read was a great read, like her other books. Now I'm ready for book two in the series.
  • Lakisha
    July 12, 2017
    Consistent characters A nice read.I really liked Carter and Jordan as a couple. Wished that Jordan had been a stronger character from beginning to end, but it was nice to see her grow throughout the storyline
  • Ashley
    July 6, 2017
    Spoilers ahead.Major plot hole. Jordan could've gone and taken a morning after pill. The fact that this wasn't even considered was too unrealistic especially for this day and age. I liked the storyline and the characters but that plot hole was too much of a side eye for me to get over.
    more
  • Stacy Anita Edwards
    July 3, 2017
    GoodReally enjoyed this. The hero and heroine although young, showed a maturity I haven't seen in books in a long time. One thing in particular that I love was that even though the hero was wealthy, he didn't use his wealth to take the law into his own hands. Refreshing.
    more
  • Rena Miller
    July 9, 2017
    It was alrightLife is what happens when you're too busy making plans. At least, that is the situation in which Jordan and Carter found themselves. Even though I didn't connect with the characters, their story was alright. Some of it was predictable but it was still okay.
    more
  • HI5O
    July 1, 2017
    Too longGood storyline but because of the drag it was a bit boring. All of the back and forth did not contribute to the story.
  • Keisha
    July 8, 2017
    Kinda predictable
  • Sybil Pun
    June 27, 2017
    WowI read this book in one day, actually in one evening and it was simply put as "wow"This is my second read from this author and I can't wait to read more
  • Felecia MsLane
    July 10, 2017
    Good storyThis was very entertaining and I liked all the ups and downs. Some of the twists were good also and I look forward to the next one.
  • Piper
    July 6, 2017
    Nice readSweet story with H/h worked out their problems and resolved for a good ending. Enjoyed the writing and plot. Easy read.
Write a review