Orion (Star Guardians, #1)
Tattooed, muscled, and fierce, they look like felons, but these highly trained agents are humanity’s protectors, the only ones standing between Earth and the threats of the galaxy. They are the Star Guardians. *** A born geek, Juanita has dreamed of exploring the stars for as long as she can remember. Getting kidnapped by slavers from another planet? Not so much. If she’s lucky, she might be able to convince the hot guy protecting her from the others to help her escape. A bounty hunter allied with the Star Guardians, Orion is undercover on the slavers' ship, plotting to end their kidnapping trips to Earth. He didn’t expect to meet someone as funny, sexy, and determined as Juanita among the victims. He wants to protect her from the thugs molesting her, but that could blow his cover and jeopardize his mission. He must choose between keeping her safe and dooming Earth to be a target for slavers forever.

Orion (Star Guardians, #1) Details

TitleOrion (Star Guardians, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 15th, 2017
Number of pages262 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Science Fiction, Aliens, Science Fiction Romance

Orion (Star Guardians, #1) Review

  • Celestine
    June 17, 2017
    Adventure of a lifetimeIf you enjoyed Ruby Lionsdrake's Mandrake Company series or if you are a fan of Anna Hackett, I predict you will enjoy this book. The irreverent banter between the galactic soldiers is back and as entertaining as ever. RL can also write an incredible series of original and daring action scenes. She spices them up with exotic locales and a mix of smarts, and low-tech and high-tech solutions. I will pickup an RL book for the fight scenes alone.I also like how there is a link Adventure of a lifetimeIf you enjoyed Ruby Lionsdrake's Mandrake Company series or if you are a fan of Anna Hackett, I predict you will enjoy this book. The irreverent banter between the galactic soldiers is back and as entertaining as ever. RL can also write an incredible series of original and daring action scenes. She spices them up with exotic locales and a mix of smarts, and low-tech and high-tech solutions. I will pickup an RL book for the fight scenes alone.I also like how there is a linked past between the captive women, the slavers and the Star Guardians. The little glimpses of connection - Olympics anyone - were inspired. It will be interesting to see this angle explored in future books.The romance between Orion and Juanita didn't have the same punch for me that some of RL's other romantic couples have had in other books. Orion didn't have the presence that I expected, and maybe this was hampered by his ongoing rivalry with his older brother. Juanita was such a Star Trek fan - and referenced it so often - that I was rolling my eyes like her fellow captive, Tala. While I loved Juanita's sense of adventure, she seemed a little aimless at the same time. This book is one episode in the saga of the kidnapped Arizona women. The next book takes up immediately in a continuous time frame with a new couple. I felt like the story of Orion and Juanita was unfinished, but perhaps we will see more of them in Book 2. The book I really want to read is Tala's and Sage's, since they both need to relax a little, make that a lot. RL could have so much fun making that happen!3.5 rounded to 4 stars.Book source: Kindle Unlimited subscription.
    more
  • Hollie
    July 10, 2017
    There was nothing very original about this one. It felt like tons of others I've read in this genre. I may still check out another book in the series though. At least it was offered as a kindleunlimited.
  • LAB☺
    July 10, 2017
    This book was pretty fun. I loved all the TV show references. Looking forward to the others in this series.
  • Kelly
    June 14, 2017
    Whoo-hoo! Human ladies who are (somewhat unwillingly) whisked from Earth and end up in the clutches of some dastardly slavers...wait, that part was completely unwillingly. Because slavers are bad. Especially ones looking to hand over their cargo to a species who enjoy feasting on human flesh.But the Star Guardians (and Orion) kinda make up for it with their heroic rescue. Kinda. I mean there's still the abduction thing (which sucks) and the ladies are stuck in space for a while, but...you know w Whoo-hoo! Human ladies who are (somewhat unwillingly) whisked from Earth and end up in the clutches of some dastardly slavers...wait, that part was completely unwillingly. Because slavers are bad. Especially ones looking to hand over their cargo to a species who enjoy feasting on human flesh.But the Star Guardians (and Orion) kinda make up for it with their heroic rescue. Kinda. I mean there's still the abduction thing (which sucks) and the ladies are stuck in space for a while, but...you know what? Just go with it. Sometimes you have to accept that you're going to get captured by space pirates if you want to have a thrilling adventure among the stars.Juanita takes all the experiences thrown at her--both good and bad--and waves her fangirl geekdom flag high. She's open minded enough to be flexible when she runs into new things (and there are plenty of new things out in the galaxy!) and she steps up when she has to. Especially when it comes to Orion.Speaking of which, Orion and his bro have some issues. Mainly that Sagitta is kinda uptight and rigid. Orion's a little more flexible with the rules and that causes a bit of friction between them. (To say I'm VERY curious how Sage's romance is going to play out might be understating things.)Stinky slavers, morally upright captains, and a mismatched band of stolen women are only the start. Throw in a curious geek and a bounty hunter with something to prove and you have the seeds for a FUN adventure.-Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal
    more
  • Chanel Carter
    June 13, 2017
    4.5 stars!What a great start to a new series by Ruby Lionsdrake!The concept of this story is quite interesting. You have Juanita, Tala and Angela who work in a dog shelter in Arizona. One day while Juanita is out walking the dogs, she gets ambushed and captured by what she perceives as aliens. She, along with the other women are placed into cells aboard the ship to be sold into slavery. One of the 'aliens', Orion, takes special interests in Juanita and she ends up learning that things are not al 4.5 stars!What a great start to a new series by Ruby Lionsdrake!The concept of this story is quite interesting. You have Juanita, Tala and Angela who work in a dog shelter in Arizona. One day while Juanita is out walking the dogs, she gets ambushed and captured by what she perceives as aliens. She, along with the other women are placed into cells aboard the ship to be sold into slavery. One of the 'aliens', Orion, takes special interests in Juanita and she ends up learning that things are not always as they seem; that there are advanced things and people beyond Earth that one could never dream of being possible.If you're a science fiction fan, you'll love this story. Imagine being abducted by aliens and relying solely on your knowledge from TV shows like Star Trek or books to navigate and escape your situation. That's what Juanita does! The story is chock full of humorous instances, action and some really hot and steamy romance. It's an adventure you definitely want to dive into.**I received a review copy of this book in exchange for my honest review**
    more
  • Llaph | No Frill | No Shill
    June 17, 2017
    I loved this book and look forward to all that follow. The one, little, niggling thing I didn’t like much was the insta love bit that Orion had for Juanita, but that is what you get a lot of the time with a romance and the rest of the story was so awesome that it didn’t really bother me all that much to begin with.I loved how she was a geek and how she used terms for Star Trek, Stargate, and other shows like that as a comparison to explain the tech the “aliens” had. I really found it fascinating I loved this book and look forward to all that follow. The one, little, niggling thing I didn’t like much was the insta love bit that Orion had for Juanita, but that is what you get a lot of the time with a romance and the rest of the story was so awesome that it didn’t really bother me all that much to begin with.I loved how she was a geek and how she used terms for Star Trek, Stargate, and other shows like that as a comparison to explain the tech the “aliens” had. I really found it fascinating that the seeds of humans throughout the universe were from ancient Greek and that most of their religion and mythology is based off of old Greek myths.Great start to a new series and I’m glad I pre-ordered. Though I will say that most every book I’ve read by this author, including her other names, has been a hit with me so there really was no question about doing so.
    more
  • Jo (Mixed Book Bag)
    June 18, 2017
    This is another take on being captured and taken off Earth. This time it is pirates who capture Earth Women to sell to aliens where they will fight and then get eaten. Not a nice thing to happen. Luckily there is someone planted in the crew who is there to set up the rescue. The rescue happened but the women have not been returned home yet or maybe never. What I liked the most was how humans ended up on multiple planets. Lionsdrake made very good use of mythology to explain how Earth natives, na This is another take on being captured and taken off Earth. This time it is pirates who capture Earth Women to sell to aliens where they will fight and then get eaten. Not a nice thing to happen. Luckily there is someone planted in the crew who is there to set up the rescue. The rescue happened but the women have not been returned home yet or maybe never. What I liked the most was how humans ended up on multiple planets. Lionsdrake made very good use of mythology to explain how Earth natives, names and gods got scattered around the galaxy. The characters were fun, the danger ever present, and the romance interesting. Book two was released at the same time as Orion so I do not have to wait to see who finds romance next and maybe a clue about returning the women home.
    more
  • Sandra
    June 20, 2017
    3.5 stars. Fun space adventure/romance. It is heavy on the romance but there is lots of action and adventure to back it up. I loved all the Stargate references from our nerdy heroine Juanita who is rather excited to find herself in another galaxy (after being rescued from slavers by the good guys of course).
    more
  • AlwaysV
    June 25, 2017
    Five Amazing Stars to Superior Lady Geek Juanita. Orion has the title but I'm thinking Juanita owns the story. For sure! Hope the series keeps going . . . please give me at least 6-7 books. . .
  • Monadh
    June 15, 2017
    *ARC provided by author*I was very excited when I learned that Ruby Lionsdrake would start another space action adventure series as I have read and enjoyed all the books of the Mandrake Company series (and of course her other books). But after having read it, I feel quite a bit deflated as I didn’t like it as much as I hoped I would. I’m struggling to put my finger on the exact reason why.So let’s maybe start with the premise which is as cheesy as it sounds: some women, among them a group of fri *ARC provided by author*I was very excited when I learned that Ruby Lionsdrake would start another space action adventure series as I have read and enjoyed all the books of the Mandrake Company series (and of course her other books). But after having read it, I feel quite a bit deflated as I didn’t like it as much as I hoped I would. I’m struggling to put my finger on the exact reason why.So let’s maybe start with the premise which is as cheesy as it sounds: some women, among them a group of friends working for an animal shelter, get abducted by slavers from outer space, only they then get rescued by the Star Guardians, a type of galactic elite law enforcement squad. Furthermore, the Star Guardians turn out to be not some kind of alien life form, but they are of humanoid origin. They were seeded by some nebulous higher existence many thousands of years ago around different galaxies and obviously they evolved at a faster pace than the humans on earth and have achieved space flight. Overall it came across as strange and not completely fortuitous mix of Sci-Fi elements and borrowings from Greek mythology. Somehow what is missing is that spark of originality that sets it apart from other genre fiction of this kind, like the idea of the gut microbes that drives the plot in the Mandrake Company series. It’s like the author tried to jump on the hype of Guardians of the Galaxy but did not succeed in making it her own with some kind of unique angle or special twist, if that makes any sense.The writing with regard to pacing, action sequences, dialogue, and humor is alright overall. Nevertheless I feel that her prose – compared to her previous books – appears flatter, more simplistic. As the book is written in first person narration the voice of the author is conflated with that of the heroine (Juanita) and she comes across as just a touch too naïve. Despite that I liked her geekiness, her adventurous spirit and her snark. The hero (Orion) on the other hand is too bland, too one-dimensional to be really memorable. He is of course good-looking, built, a superb fighter, a passionate lover, and despite the fact that he seemingly has all these things going for him, he appears very insecure especially with regard to all the hang-ups he has about his much older brother (who just happens to be a war hero and a highly regarded commander). Bottom line is, I just did not care that much about the heroine and the hero as I should have, in fact I found some of the secondary characters, like Treyjon (whose story will be next), and Tala (the former doctor), more intriguing.Which brings us to the smut: I don’t mind one way or the other whether a book contains any sex scenes, though it should always fit with the flow of the story. As outlined above I could not get overly involved with the two main protagonists and this also colored my view of their love-making. I also did not really feel the attraction between these two, and what really acted like cold water on my mood was the heroine thinking of how grateful she was to the hero for not raping her (when he could have exploited the situation) and protecting her while she was going down on him. No, no, no, a thousand times no. Where’s the “enjoyment” in that and what kind of message does thinking like this send to all the women (and men) out there?!Ruby Lionsdrake also writes fantasy under another name and in my favorite series of hers the heroine and the hero kiss for the first time in book four or five and though it was just a kiss the sexual – and even more importantly – the emotional tension between those two burned a hundred times hotter than the very explicit sex in this book!With a heavy heart: 3 ½ stars.
    more
  • Chris
    June 29, 2017
    The Appeal of Distant 🌟 StarsJuanita💋📝, is a young, unpublished author. Her books and writings📝are all sci-fi. She helps out at an Arizona 🐕dog shelter, and is walking two dogs when alien pirates/slavers👹🔫🔪 touch down and begin grabbing up young women.Among the pirates👹🔪🔫 is a man who looks and acts differently. Although his language is unknown to her, she can see he is most definitely a huge, handsome,ripped, human man! YEHAW!Juanita💋📝 and two other women from the dog shelter wake up later layi The Appeal of Distant 🌟 StarsJuanita💋📝, is a young, unpublished author. Her books and writings📝are all sci-fi. She helps out at an Arizona 🐕dog shelter, and is walking two dogs when alien pirates/slavers👹🔫🔪 touch down and begin grabbing up young women.Among the pirates👹🔪🔫 is a man who looks and acts differently. Although his language is unknown to her, she can see he is most definitely a huge, handsome,ripped, human man! YEHAW!Juanita💋📝 and two other women from the dog shelter wake up later laying on the floor among other young women in an enclosure of some kind. She finally comes to realize they are on a moving vehicle, a spaceship!The alpha stud🐺🍌🌋🔥🔫🔪 who grabbed her is just outside their cell. He is truly built like a God and dressed like a barbarian, bare chested and armed to the teeth with various weapons🔫🔪🔨. His name is Orion🌠, and he is actually a bounty hunter who has infiltrated the pirate slavers ranks to help stop them from stealing humans from the backward planet, 🌎earth, known as galia to them. Crazily, their society is based on Greek mythology, and they believe in those ancient gods!Juanita💋, who is infatuated with all things science fiction, is instantly infatuated with Orion🌠🐺🍌🌋🔥, and she dreams of somehow exploring distant planets🌎 with him, if they can just be rescued from the slavers.........Orion🌠🐺🍌🌋🔥 is a very bad boy, He's an Alpha male🐺 who wants what he wants, and he wants Juanita💋!YEHAW! Ride em Bareback🍌, Cowgirl!🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎
    more
  • Latoya Wilson
    July 7, 2017
    Kindle Lending Library misleadingI was looking for a alien romance and found this story. The cover looked interested and I forget frequently that the Kindle Lending Library for kindle does not display genre, so I got a book that was is mainly sci fi, as in the officers and their ship's function is narrated... a lot. Oh, and the sibling rivalry between Orion and Sage, but this novel is NOT in the romance category. Amazon is misleading readers with not making the genres available in the kindle lib Kindle Lending Library misleadingI was looking for a alien romance and found this story. The cover looked interested and I forget frequently that the Kindle Lending Library for kindle does not display genre, so I got a book that was is mainly sci fi, as in the officers and their ship's function is narrated... a lot. Oh, and the sibling rivalry between Orion and Sage, but this novel is NOT in the romance category. Amazon is misleading readers with not making the genres available in the kindle library. Kindle owners are picking books we would not normally read, and yeah, I can see readers leaving bad reviews after not getting what they want out of a story. I'm not going to punish the author because I can't finish her book and Amazon is practically false advertising Don't get me wrong, she writes well, her scenes flow, there is lots of action, just not romantically. Sorry to Ruby for using your platform for your novels to get through to Amazon, but the owner(s) has become more interested in making money than providing a service we as readers can be satisfied with.
    more
  • Nike
    June 26, 2017
    I had mix feeling with this book, I really like it the story, and the heroin is funny and geeky, I’m a huge fan of Star Trek (Original, New Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager, and Enterprise), I could get each and everyone of the references, and they are a lot of references to Star Trek. No instant love type, this book is more of instant lust building to love, the books has a lot of action and adventure to keep the reader entertained. The books had adventure and a lot romance.I liked the plot I had mix feeling with this book, I really like it the story, and the heroin is funny and geeky, I’m a huge fan of Star Trek (Original, New Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager, and Enterprise), I could get each and everyone of the references, and they are a lot of references to Star Trek. No instant love type, this book is more of instant lust building to love, the books has a lot of action and adventure to keep the reader entertained. The books had adventure and a lot romance.I liked the plot in general even when it fell too “ancient alien theory”, my only complain is the fact that THERE ARE NO ALIENS!!! I did not like the fact that the title and description of the book makes you think is some king of alien abduction romance when is not; maybe it’s just me, but when I read a book about aliens, I like them to be ALIENS, not humans! if I want my heroin and Hero to be Humans I will read contemporary romance! I felt kind of cheated in that regard. As I said I like the story, I’m just disappointed that is not an alien romance.
    more
  • Claire
    June 28, 2017
    Fun space adventure, with a pretty good romance and some sequel-bait thrown in. Juanita won me over with her love of sci-fi, comics, and this quote: Aliens were always doing that in those science fiction romance novels. As if that was even possible, producing offspring with some alien that shared less DNA with a human being than a banana did. I also appreciated that she treated her experience as an adventure, and, though she was understandably scared, managed to hold her own among the Star Guar Fun space adventure, with a pretty good romance and some sequel-bait thrown in. Juanita won me over with her love of sci-fi, comics, and this quote: Aliens were always doing that in those science fiction romance novels. As if that was even possible, producing offspring with some alien that shared less DNA with a human being than a banana did. I also appreciated that she treated her experience as an adventure, and, though she was understandably scared, managed to hold her own among the Star Guardians and continued to be excited about her surroundings.Orion was interesting as well, though we don't get his POV in this story, so he stays a bit of a mystery. He opens up to Juanita about his family life and explains the galaxy and spaceship to her, so the reader learns along with Juanita. He was never pushy in their interactions, and really did seem to try and be a good person in the course of his bounty hunting. The overall story ends on a bit of a cliffhanger, but book 2 is already out and the others in the series are set to follow quickly.
    more
  • Alison Hatley
    June 17, 2017
    An all round good romp. As with the Mandrake series, The Star Guardians follows a group of men and women as they take on the evils of the universe...whilst falling for one another! I like the fact that the characters are not always fully likeable. They are flawed heroes, sometimes having dark histories. 'Orion' sets the scene for the series with the pairing of the charming geek Juanita with the slightly rough bounty hunter Orion, who is not himself a Star Guardian (the fierce space marines of th An all round good romp. As with the Mandrake series, The Star Guardians follows a group of men and women as they take on the evils of the universe...whilst falling for one another! I like the fact that the characters are not always fully likeable. They are flawed heroes, sometimes having dark histories. 'Orion' sets the scene for the series with the pairing of the charming geek Juanita with the slightly rough bounty hunter Orion, who is not himself a Star Guardian (the fierce space marines of the title) but is in the shadow of his brother Sagitta who leads a team. Fast paced, quirky characters, good dialogue, believable relationships and action. What more could we want (maybe for Sagitta to take the stick out of his butt??)Really enjoyed this one...and very much looking forward to the next one as I loved Treyjons character.
    more
  • ARo
    June 15, 2017
    With such a title one could think this is going to be about a search in the Orion’s constellation, but not at all. It is the very unlikely meeting between 2 soul mates. The story goes fast, very fast. It is packed with actions, well described actions. I was in my mind’s movie theatre for the few hours that I read this book. I actually wanted to read more about Orion and Juanita, but the next book is not about them although I’m also curious about the next people encounter, I hope that Ruby still With such a title one could think this is going to be about a search in the Orion’s constellation, but not at all. It is the very unlikely meeting between 2 soul mates. The story goes fast, very fast. It is packed with actions, well described actions. I was in my mind’s movie theatre for the few hours that I read this book. I actually wanted to read more about Orion and Juanita, but the next book is not about them although I’m also curious about the next people encounter, I hope that Ruby still gives us more about Orion and Juanita… all of this rambling just to say that I’m hooked, and want to go back and immerse myself in the Star Guardians stories…. I actually would not mind to read something about Orion’s big brother. I think he could use a few slaps behind his ears … 
    more
  • Dmcl
    June 26, 2017
    Ruby Lionsdrake has written a delicious novel in the first installment of her new series, Star Guardians. It is a wonderful new world she has built and she has populated it with great characters who are daring, passionate, witty and appealing. We are introduced to Orion and Juanita when she and other Earth women are kidnapped by slavers and he is undercover on the ship to which they are brought. What follows is a daring rescue and our first encounter with the Star Guardians, an elite troop bound Ruby Lionsdrake has written a delicious novel in the first installment of her new series, Star Guardians. It is a wonderful new world she has built and she has populated it with great characters who are daring, passionate, witty and appealing. We are introduced to Orion and Juanita when she and other Earth women are kidnapped by slavers and he is undercover on the ship to which they are brought. What follows is a daring rescue and our first encounter with the Star Guardians, an elite troop bound to pursue evil and make the galaxy safe. The couple's passion ignites, and we are swept up in the romance and the adventure. Just a scrumptious read!
    more
  • Aizzia
    June 15, 2017
    I did a little happy dance when I saw there was a new series by Ruby Lionsdrake and I’m pleased to report the happy dance was totally justified…YAY!I really enjoyed jetting off into space with the geeky and adventurous Juanita, she is such a laugh referencing a variety of popular sci-fi movies and TV shows throughout. Orion is a hunky quirky protective hero who revels in Juanita’s interest. There’s non-stop action with nefarious space pirates, explosions and alien creatures aplenty. Looking forw I did a little happy dance when I saw there was a new series by Ruby Lionsdrake and I’m pleased to report the happy dance was totally justified…YAY!I really enjoyed jetting off into space with the geeky and adventurous Juanita, she is such a laugh referencing a variety of popular sci-fi movies and TV shows throughout. Orion is a hunky quirky protective hero who revels in Juanita’s interest. There’s non-stop action with nefarious space pirates, explosions and alien creatures aplenty. Looking forward to the next one.
    more
  • Sonya
    June 16, 2017
    Although not my favorite of Ruby's books, Orion is a fast enjoyable read about Juanita- a human geek girl that rocks and solves her problems while referencing/using scenes from classic science fiction and Orion- an ancient? alien bounty hunter trying to save the day and get the girl. Read the book to find out who really is the ancient and who usually saves the day. Orion is a great start to another fun series that I cant wait to continue. ***ARC because I asked****
    more
  • Francesca
    July 12, 2017
    It's 4 1/2 stars, despite my early frustration with Juanita, she came around. Honestly, I read Ruby's books because of the author. Personally, fade to black sex is better for me than pages and pages of exploration. But, I'll be the first to say, is that Ruby/Lindsay's writing is always excellent, filled with interest, and she makes engaging characters. Juanita and Orion really need to have their own space exploration. .
    more
  • Cc
    June 20, 2017
    Juanita and OrionEarth women are stolen by slavers, not to be Alien Brides but hunted and eaten for sport. Orion is a spy on the slave ship. I liked the story, really enjoy the character of Juanita but felt like this was a first story from Ruby Lionsdrake. I've read all her other books and they had so much more in story, background and characterization. This book is second rate to The Mandrake Series. I will keep reading in hopes that this Star Guardians series improves.
    more
  • Diane Werning
    June 23, 2017
    Orion:Star HunkI love Alien stories,the aliens are always so considerate of their hostages.Juanita wanted an adventure and she got one.Orion was under cover and couldn't believe his luck when he came across Juanita.He was protecting her from the other aliens.Juanita has such a loud disposition that she surprised all of her captors.This book was great I can't wait to read the next one.
    more
  • LuDena Radford
    June 27, 2017
    Greeks in spaceAn interesting slant on ancient greece and 2 misfits who find each other. Humans on other planets and an interesting theory as to why we haven't received any replies to our radio messages we have sent to space. I enjoyed the book and characters .I look forward to reading the next one.
    more
  • Jason
    June 19, 2017
    Decent space romp 3.5 starsI loved the two main characters and while the story was on the shorter side I enjoyed it.I did not like the hero's brother sage at all. I thought he was mean, arrogant, and careless. He doesn't deserve to be captain of a ship.Anyways I will still read the other books in the series and I do like the authors work.
    more
  • Maggi Bass-jackson
    June 24, 2017
    The author has the uncommon ability of sweeping the reader away. She does it generally through her characters and their observations, physical reactions and even their culinary preferences. I throughly enjoyed the adventure and I'm feeling a little lost waiting for 'Sagitta.' July seems so far away.
    more
  • Jessica Horton
    June 18, 2017
    Fun and Full of AdventureI am pretty sure I want to get abducted by slavers and then saved by a hunk like Orion. This was a fun adventure spaceship story. The characters were interesting, easy to follow, and likeable. I always love reading books by this author because she keeps the stories interesting and exciting. Can't wait to see what happens next in this new space world!
    more
  • Kristin
    June 21, 2017
    New Ruby series has a great start!Nice quick, fun read! New and spunky lead heroine, that I've come to love from Ruby's books, she never disappoints. Interesting and different storyline, with enough world building to get you excited about the next installment. Pick this one up!
    more
  • Melissa
    June 24, 2017
    An enjoyable read.I kept seeing this one pop up in my Facebook feed and thought to myself, this looks interesting. Well after one clicking, I got right stuck into reading it and literally couldn't put this baby down. I'm very much looking forward to reading more in this series. Great first book to a new series Ruby!!!
    more
  • Pauline
    June 22, 2017
    3.5 starsI really enjoy Lindsay Buroker for her interesting characters and fleshed out worlds, and here (under her pseudonym Ruby Lionsdrake) she is no different.The addition of a bit of smut to the story did spice things things up for me, but I found the main characters all a little too horny to be believable lol.
    more
  • C.J.
    July 8, 2017
    Juanita is a fantastic character. I loved that she was ditsy, clever, funny and didn't particularly have a filter. Orion was a great counterpart who saw her for the gem she is. Lots of action and a good overall story. If you're looking for lots of smut this isn't the book for you.
    more
Write a review