The Storm King
Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben.Burying the past only gives it strength--and fury.Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back. Fourteen years later, he's become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father.Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake.This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense landscape of secrets and suspicion, resentments and guilt, Nate reconnects with estranged friends and old enemies, and encounters strangers who seem to know impossible things about him. Haunting every moment is the Lake's sinister history and the memory of wild, beautiful Lucy Bennett, with whom Nate is forever linked by shattering loss and youthful passion.As a massive hurricane bears down on the Northeast, the air becomes electric, the clouds grow dark, and escalating acts of violence echo events from Nate's own past. Without a doubt, a reckoning is coming--one that will lay bare the lies that lifelong friends have told themselves and unleash a vengeance that may consume them all.Advance praise for The Storm King"Brendan Duffy owes me several nights of sleep, because once I finished the first chapter of his novel, I couldn't stop turning the pages until I'd read every last thrilling, unsettling, heartbreakingly lovely last one of them. Duffy's novel is, on the surface, a gripping murder mystery--but beneath that lies a love story, a cautionary coming-of-age tale, and a devastating meditation on violence and loss. A whirlwind of intrigue, vengeance, and wild longing, The Storm King will sweep you off your feet and blow you away."--Robin Wasserman, author of Girls on FireAcclaim for Brendan Duffy's House of Echoes"Brendan Duffy's fantastic debut novel is gloomy, small-town Gothic horror in the vein of Twin Peaks, Alan Wake, and The Shining. . . . Duffy knows that true horror has neither name nor face. Grounded by emotional realism and nuanced characters, House of Echoes is intense, addictive and genuinely creepy."--BookPage"One of those stories where you know something bad is going to happen, but you hope it won't. It's one you'll remember long after reading the last page." --New York Journal of Books "A wonderfully tense and heart-wrenching debut . . . a fluid, suspenseful yet subtle thriller, with touches of humor, evocative writing, and characters that are both familiar and uniquely fascinating."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

The Storm King Details

TitleThe Storm King
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 6th, 2018
PublisherBallantine Books
ISBN-139780804178143
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery Thriller

The Storm King Review

  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    Vengeance is a bitter brew served in your own cupped hands. Nate McHale finds himself tracking far distant miles from home aboard a cramped bus in the direction of Greystone Lake, New York. A hurricane is churning up along the east coast making travel hazardous at best. His thoughts turn to his wife Meg and his daughter Livvy who are headed to the safety of her parents' home. Images of his patients also swirl in the mind of this pediatric surgical oncologist. Now what would draw this dedicated m Vengeance is a bitter brew served in your own cupped hands. Nate McHale finds himself tracking far distant miles from home aboard a cramped bus in the direction of Greystone Lake, New York. A hurricane is churning up along the east coast making travel hazardous at best. His thoughts turn to his wife Meg and his daughter Livvy who are headed to the safety of her parents' home. Images of his patients also swirl in the mind of this pediatric surgical oncologist. Now what would draw this dedicated man away from his family and his practice on such a foreboding day as this? A funeral. But not just an ordinary funeral. Lucy Bennett, Nate's first love, has been found in the depth of the woods after she had been missing for fourteen years. Nothing proves more than these ties that certainly bind. Although Nate has distanced himself from his hometown of Greystone Lake, there are still darklings so rooted in the past that they continue to zig and zag and bleed into the present. There's a stain on Nate's soul, admitted or not.Nate visits his band of brothers from his youth. The name of Lucy is spoken in hushed whispers. They visit their ol' haunt of The Night Ship along the abandoned pier. The Night Ship was once a lively nightclub back in 1964 which housed some unscrupulous activities and tragedies. It also served as a nesting place for Nate and Lucy until the wee hours of the morning.But the air is now filled with more electricity than just the impending storm approaching them. Crimes are being committed in the area with severe damage to personal property including the pub owned by Nate's grandmother, Bea. Who's behind all this? Is it one individual or a group of vigilantes with a dark vendetta? And why? Brendan Duffy has created a tale here that should make even ol' Alice dizzy from falling down this rabbit hole. He throws everything into this one with unrelenting slams into the walls of that cavernous hole. The reader doesn't have time to steady the mind after this continuous onslaught. And sometimes, just sometimes, this can be just too much of a good thing. You'll have to judge for yourself if you're buying everything that he's selling. Still a good read even though it's like trying to fold back a treacherous paper roadmap. So many, many folds and creases.I received a copy of The Storm King through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to Ballantine Books (Randomhouse) and Brendan Duffy for the opportunity.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    3 Stars.Nate McHale “The Storm King” returns home to Greystone Lake after a Fourteen Year absence. If he had it his way, he would never return to this town. It has too many bad memories. Memories of his family’s death, memories of his High School girl friend Lucy’s disappearance and memories of the mean tricks he and his buddies used to play on people. Yet now he is returning for Lucy’s funeral - her body has been found and Nate is the prime suspect. His visit isn’t going to be fun and to top it 3 Stars.Nate McHale “The Storm King” returns home to Greystone Lake after a Fourteen Year absence. If he had it his way, he would never return to this town. It has too many bad memories. Memories of his family’s death, memories of his High School girl friend Lucy’s disappearance and memories of the mean tricks he and his buddies used to play on people. Yet now he is returning for Lucy’s funeral - her body has been found and Nate is the prime suspect. His visit isn’t going to be fun and to top it off, it takes place during a Hurricane that brings Greystone Lake to its knees. Upon his return, Nate realizes that his grandmother and all of his old friends are in danger, including “The Storm King” himself. No one in town is happy that Nate is home and people are wrecking havoc. Just like the old days, when it was Nate and his friends who were wrecking havoc on the townsfolk and those they thought deserved it. Now the tables are turned. Nate is determined to find out who is behind the pranks and is also determined to find out who killed Lucy before they strike again. In order to do so, he must return to his old haunt, the Night Ship and what he finds there will shock him to no end. “The Storm King” started out strong but became convoluted and was way too long and drawn out to hold my interest. Parts of the story were enjoyable however and I enjoyed the intertwining relationships between Nate and his friends. Thank you to NetGalley, Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine and Brendan Duffy for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on Goodreads, Twitter and Instagram on 12.18.17. *Will be published on Amazon on 2.6.18.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    "Because everyone is guilty of something. Everyone deserves to be punished."Just a thought...the past is never really in the past. Actions have consequences. Can I just say "READ IT!" and leave my review at that? No? Then read my review below:Seriously here is the gist: The book opens after Nate has won his baseball game and he is traveling home with his family when there is a terrible accident and he is the only survivor. He is the sad boy who survived. He is raised by his Gram and has been giv "Because everyone is guilty of something. Everyone deserves to be punished."Just a thought...the past is never really in the past. Actions have consequences. Can I just say "READ IT!" and leave my review at that? No? Then read my review below:Seriously here is the gist: The book opens after Nate has won his baseball game and he is traveling home with his family when there is a terrible accident and he is the only survivor. He is the sad boy who survived. He is raised by his Gram and has been given the nickname, "The Storm King" by his group of friends. He and his friends engage in pranks that get him on the wrong side of people growing up. He also becomes the boyfriend of Lucy, the daughter of the man accused in the death of his family members. His teenage years are turbulent and event filled. After one night of drinking and violence, he awakens to learn about the disappearance of his girlfriend. Has she run away as she once planned? Has something bad happened to her? No one knows. It is a question that he will think about often over the years.Fast forward to the future: Nate is now a happily married man and father. He has become a respected doctor/surgeon of oncology and his life seems pretty good. That is until he has been called home to attend a funeral - the funeral for Lucy, his long lost girlfriend. Her body has been found in the woods by their hometown. Evidently she never ran away as they all believed all those years ago. As I mentioned, Nate has never stopped thinking about her. He has unanswered questions about the fate of his first love and wants answers. Nate decides to attend the funeral and hopefully get some answers about what happened to Lucy even though there is also a hurricane churning up the coast. Once he is back in his hometown, he is reunited with his high school friends and has learned that pranks are being committed all over town. Certain people are being targeted and property is being damaged. Who is behind all of this? Why do the pranks/destruction of property seem personal?Nate and his friends also go visit the "Night Ship" which sits alongside the pier. It is the stuff of legends. Bad things happened on the night ship and Nate and his friends: Tom, Johnny, Owen and Lucy, grew up hearing the stories and singing the songs about two twin girls. The group used to hang out there and Nate and Lucy used it for their late night rendezvous. The entire town has an eerie feel. Lucy's remains have dredged up old suspicions and thoughts about her disappearance. People look with questioning and blaming eyes. Who is to blame for her being found dead? What happened to her all of those years ago? Who is responsible for the pranks being committed around town. The pranks have become more sinister, violent and personal.Add all of this up with a bad storm brewing and you have the recipe for the perfect setting for when the proverbial shit hits the fan. Atmospheric and dripping with the need for vengeance, this book cooks up the perfect mystery via coming of age tale. Bodies start turning up and as Nate begins to get some answers to his questions, he also learns that there was so much more he didn't know. Can you ever really go home again? People have secrets...what happens when you learn them? When you learn the truth will it set you free or will you learn that sometimes the truth is just the truth and somethings cannot be changed?Whew!I received a copy of this book from Random House publishing - Ballantine Books and Netgally in exchange for an host review. My Thanks to them for giving me this opportunity.See more of my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    Joe Hill could have written this. It's that good. The Storm King, on it's surface is a thrilling who-dun-it. Behind the riveting plot, it examines what we do (both good and bad) and the far reaching consequences our actions have. I took one star off for a disappointing scene that made me roll my eyes like a teenager. Thankfully, the scene is brief and wasn't enough to mar the overall success of this entertaining novel. I'm keeping my eye on Duffy. He's an author worth watching.
    more
  • Jan
    January 1, 1970
    Whew, there was a lot going on with this one! Dragged at points, but the ending was solid.I don't think I have every described a book as 'heavy', but that's the word that comes to mind as I try to summarize my thoughts about this one. It's a turbulent, intense, roller coaster ride. One that takes you back and forth in time, highlighting the actions of a small group of high school kids with an odd sense of justice. These high school kids are now adults, and when their fearless leader Nate (nickna Whew, there was a lot going on with this one! Dragged at points, but the ending was solid.I don't think I have every described a book as 'heavy', but that's the word that comes to mind as I try to summarize my thoughts about this one. It's a turbulent, intense, roller coaster ride. One that takes you back and forth in time, highlighting the actions of a small group of high school kids with an odd sense of justice. These high school kids are now adults, and when their fearless leader Nate (nicknamed 'The Storm King')returns home, he starts to see the consequences of their actions and how they helped shaped them as individuals, as well as the town itself. I can't say I liked any of the characters outside of Gram, but I don't think I was supposed to. I think the author did a good job keeping me off balance as the story unfolded, not allowing me to cop to the 'kids will be kids' mentality that so often embraces these types of stories. There isn't any room for sympathy here with these characters. It's about actions and consequences, with some karma thrown in to even the score. For those who enjoy a good atmospheric mystery, this one is for you!ARC provided by NetGalley
    more
  • Paul
    January 1, 1970
    This ARC was provided complements of NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review. My gratitude sent to Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine Books for allowing this pre-release edition made available.The author drove home a lesson known all too well. To me anyway. Wrapped up in an old cliché that says it best: "You can run but you can't hide." Our feelings. Emotions. Travel the world with us. No leaving them behind. Our constant companion. This superbly-written narrative took me scene-by-s This ARC was provided complements of NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review. My gratitude sent to Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine Books for allowing this pre-release edition made available.The author drove home a lesson known all too well. To me anyway. Wrapped up in an old cliché that says it best: "You can run but you can't hide." Our feelings. Emotions. Travel the world with us. No leaving them behind. Our constant companion. This superbly-written narrative took me scene-by-scene through the turmoil that had shaken a town down to its very foundation. Once, a wondrous mountain retreat. Behold Greystone Lake. Unprepared, I took a perilous journey that led to heartbreak and horror. I could not look away. Not an option. Nor, could I stop reading. The scenes progressively gathered momentum with an ending that ultimately, hit with the power of a freight-train. I never saw it coming. Thrilling ride.Nate McHale played junior varsity on Greystone Lake's baseball team. One of their star players. His team had just won a game. A picture perfect spring day in April. He was awarded the game ball for knocking home the winning run. An honor. What more could he ask for? Time to celebrate. His parents and younger brother Gabe headed out in the family car to enjoy Nate's one simple request. A peach pie. The game ball perched in the front seat next to his mom. Suddenly, an oncoming car swerved into their lane. Nate's father reacted quickly swerving in time to avoid a collision. In doing so, the baseball rolled off the seat and wedged itself under the brake pedal. There was no stopping. When his father tried to apply the brakes, the pedal wouldn't budge. Doomed, the car careened over a cliff and plummeted into Greystone Lake. To the bottom. Nate survived with a shattered arm and broken ribs. His family gone. If only he'd struck out...Sixteen years had passed since the tragic accident. Nate McHale had turned his life around. Now a medical doctor. Surgeon. A satisfying life. Until now. It would all need to be put on hold for a while. How long - not sure. The past was desperately calling to him. After saying his sad goodbyes to his wife Meg and three-year-old daughter Livvy, he began his fateful journey back to his old stomping grounds. To his old memories. Some good. Others nightmares. Greystone Lake. Welcome home.Hikers had found Lucy's body hidden in the foothills that surrounded the lake. What was left of it anyway. Fourteen years had gone by. Beyond decomposition. Hyoid bone crushed - tattered panties revealed blood and semen. The medical examiner's report concluded; she had been raped and murdered. The community fell into a state of shock. Raped and murdered.At one time, they had feelings for each other. More than just feelings. They were High School sweethearts. Homecoming king and queen. The talk of the town. Nate envisioned a bright future with her. They were in love. Young love. Marriage. Children. Life. The whole works. Then one day, she just disappeared. Everyone in town thought she'd run away. Everyone that is, except Nate. He searched high and low for her. Exhausted, he gave up. With the blink of an eye. Gone were the dreams. The hope. Shattered. After all these years, he'd never stopped thinking about her. Couldn't. Now, fourteen years later summoned back to attend her funeral. She'd been found. His darling Lucy. Coming back home brought with it all the uncontrollable misery and rage that consumed him in his former life. Maybe, he really wasn't so different now after all. An electrifying feeling once again raced through his blood. After an initial greeting, his former best friend, town Deputy, Tom, drove him to his grandmother's house. He had lived with her for two years following the tragic accident that claimed his family. Till graduation. Upon entering his old bedroom upstairs, he found a baseball that had been thrown through a nearby window. Sitting on top of the bed. This could be no coincidence given the timing of the funeral. What message was he being sent? His time at Greystone Lake had spiraled down from bad to worse. A teenager's body had been found washed up along the shore. Not the result of drowning. She had been murdered. Strangled. Her friend, possibly boyfriend, missing. There's a killer on the loose. The town was thrown into a frenzy. Why had she been murdered? Where's the missing boy?It had been confirmed. Finally. Lucy had not run away as everyone imagined. Nate's suspicions proved true. The one time he wished he was wrong. Closure's not all cracked with what it's supposed to be. A sad reality. All that mattered now was finding the one responsible for her murder. Most likely, someone present at the funeral. His present life, family, work - on the back burner. He would not rest. Even at the risk of his own life.
    more
  • Judy
    January 1, 1970
    An exciting mystery/thriller that's pretty unique - at least it doesn't seem to follow a formula like so many thrillers. Nate returns to his hometown, after fourteen years away, for the funeral of his high-school girlfriend, Lucy. Lucy's had been missing since high school graduation when her body was found. Before the funeral Nate gets together with his old friends who, together with Nate used to terrorize the town by achieving vengeance against their enemies. Back then Nate was their leader and An exciting mystery/thriller that's pretty unique - at least it doesn't seem to follow a formula like so many thrillers. Nate returns to his hometown, after fourteen years away, for the funeral of his high-school girlfriend, Lucy. Lucy's had been missing since high school graduation when her body was found. Before the funeral Nate gets together with his old friends who, together with Nate used to terrorize the town by achieving vengeance against their enemies. Back then Nate was their leader and his friends called him the Storm King. The mystery of who killed Lucy needs to be solved. The town has many legends that are brought up in the story and they intermingle with current events in the lives of the townspeople and Nate and his friends. This kept me riveted throughout. Good writing and good characters make for a fine story.Thanks to Brendan Duffy and Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine through Netgalley for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jeannie
    January 1, 1970
    3 stars. I liked this book, the first half had me turning pages quickly and I got to know all of the characters and their stories. I couldn't wait to pick it up. I enjoyed the setting, the hurricane coming and all the rain, rain always makes a story a little more creepy to me. The second half of the book has a lot going on, maybe too much! It was hard to keep track of all the twists and turns and all of the different story lines. There were parts that were unrealistic and I was a little disappoi 3 stars. I liked this book, the first half had me turning pages quickly and I got to know all of the characters and their stories. I couldn't wait to pick it up. I enjoyed the setting, the hurricane coming and all the rain, rain always makes a story a little more creepy to me. The second half of the book has a lot going on, maybe too much! It was hard to keep track of all the twists and turns and all of the different story lines. There were parts that were unrealistic and I was a little disappointed in where the story went. There are many high ratings for this book so maybe it was just not the right book for me. I did enjoy it, just not as much as I had hoped.Thank you to Random House for a copy in exchange for a review.
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Netgalley and Random House/Penguin/Ballantine for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.Review to be published on release date!
  • Sheila
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars--somewhere between liked and really liked. Warnings for violence (including sexual and animal violence).This book is dark, a thriller that's almost horror. It's about guilt and justice and how the things we do can linger years after the event. I enjoyed the plot quite a bit, and the emphasis on consequences--even consequences that come years after the act--made this stand out over most thrillers. It took me a bit to get into the book, but once I did, I was hooked and devoured it. I'm b 3.5 stars--somewhere between liked and really liked. Warnings for violence (including sexual and animal violence).This book is dark, a thriller that's almost horror. It's about guilt and justice and how the things we do can linger years after the event. I enjoyed the plot quite a bit, and the emphasis on consequences--even consequences that come years after the act--made this stand out over most thrillers. It took me a bit to get into the book, but once I did, I was hooked and devoured it. I'm being vague here on purpose to avoid spoilers, but I enjoyed the suspense created by the characterization.And Duffy is now one of my always-read authors, since I enjoyed his first book as well.I received this review copy from the publisher on NetGalley. Thanks for the opportunity to read and review; I appreciate it!
    more
  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)
    January 1, 1970
    Nate became "The Boy Who Fell"... when his family's car careens into a lake, he's the only survivor. In a small town, legends and stories are all too real and now he is a part of it implicitly. He leaves, marries, has his own child and gives back by becoming a well respected surgeon for kids with cancer. Then he gets called back to his hometown for a funeral. With the impending storm, Madea, approaching, his return brings forth memories he soon would rather forget. A reunion with his old crew an Nate became "The Boy Who Fell"... when his family's car careens into a lake, he's the only survivor. In a small town, legends and stories are all too real and now he is a part of it implicitly. He leaves, marries, has his own child and gives back by becoming a well respected surgeon for kids with cancer. Then he gets called back to his hometown for a funeral. With the impending storm, Madea, approaching, his return brings forth memories he soon would rather forget. A reunion with his old crew and how what goes around does indeed come around.Let me just tell you all now, I ADORE this book! The author takes you on Nate's journey, from the day he "fell", to the present, to his school days past and then back. Never once are you confused as the chapter titles are aptly set up so you know where you're landing - from "The Boy Who Fell" to "Graduation Day" to numbered present day chapters and so on. While we mainly see this story through Nate's eyes, we periodically are given a different POV as things are revealed so you get the whole feel of a scene as we realize that one action provokes reactions from the characters differently. I love getting the full circle consequences. Most people are so caught up in their own little world, they don't realize that their actions, comments, etc. affect people differently. My favorite parts of this book was the camaraderie of the boys and their Thunder Runs - in their young world, the sense of vengeance they deemed necessary created their brotherhood.. including the token girl, Nate's first love and the funeral that he came back for - Lucy. The author sets up the story through the first half and we get the sense of why Nate is hesitant to be home and why things are starting to happen. And nothing is more appropriate than it all happening during the Madea storm... churning up the Lake that has a hold on the people in this town. Then we get into the last half and it's full throttle - this is where I did not want to put the book down.I personally think Duffy did a brilliant job in bringing everything together. We empathize with the pack mentality and the young mistakes that are made. Remembering how, as a child, your world is smaller and you see things so much differently than you do as an adult. Then also realizing as an adult, how your actions as a child can cause a ripple effect. A truly wonderful atmospheric read that I highly recommend to those who love that mystery set in a small town and whose characters you love and loath to get to know. This is truly a novel of friendship, vengeance and the coming of age in which you either accept what the lake takes and then gives back, or never learn and must deal with the consequences. Thank you to Ballantine Books for this copy in return for my honest review.
    more
  • Kathleen
    January 1, 1970
    This took me a bit to really get rolling. I'm not sure if the story is too long or if all the excitement was just packed into the last half. But, once I hit the halfway point I was hooked and this turned out to be a complete page turner. The story line is filled with lots of twists and turns and it's one of those books where you just see so many different sides of each character that you are constantly trying to guess their secrets and motives. All this was set in the Northeast during a hurrican This took me a bit to really get rolling. I'm not sure if the story is too long or if all the excitement was just packed into the last half. But, once I hit the halfway point I was hooked and this turned out to be a complete page turner. The story line is filled with lots of twists and turns and it's one of those books where you just see so many different sides of each character that you are constantly trying to guess their secrets and motives. All this was set in the Northeast during a hurricane which made for perfect reading during a gloomy weekend. :)Many, many thanks to the wonderful Goodreads giveaway program in which I won this copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kasa Cotugno
    January 1, 1970
    This is the sort of lush, lavish novel to get lost in on a winter's night. Good plotting, told in multiple timeframes, this story follows Nate's return to his hometown, a picturesque tourist destination in the Adirondacks with a lake setting and juicy history, complete with haunted pavilion on the water and its share of haunted mystique, some true, some embellished. If the storyline strains credulity at times, that's ok. The flashbacks fill in the backstory, and the resolution is satisfying. If This is the sort of lush, lavish novel to get lost in on a winter's night. Good plotting, told in multiple timeframes, this story follows Nate's return to his hometown, a picturesque tourist destination in the Adirondacks with a lake setting and juicy history, complete with haunted pavilion on the water and its share of haunted mystique, some true, some embellished. If the storyline strains credulity at times, that's ok. The flashbacks fill in the backstory, and the resolution is satisfying. If I have any complaint, it is that the denouement went on a bit too long, and it could have shed a few pages. But it is soaked in atmosphere, literally. Lots and lots of rain, in the past as well in the present, thanks to a hurricane named Medea. Fitting, since the people at risk here are mainly children. But take a ride on the Night Ship. If you dare.
    more
  • Joyce
    January 1, 1970
    5 starsThis book could be subtitled: “A Cautionary Tale about Vengeance.”Fourteen-year old Nate McHale is a baseball player who makes the winning move in his latest baseball game. Lauded as hero of the day, he receives the game ball. His family decides to go on a celebratory picnic. His mother, father and his three-year old brother Gabe set out for the picnic place when suddenly a car comes at them. His father can’t press the brake for Nate’s game ball is now trapped under the brake pedal. Plung 5 starsThis book could be subtitled: “A Cautionary Tale about Vengeance.”Fourteen-year old Nate McHale is a baseball player who makes the winning move in his latest baseball game. Lauded as hero of the day, he receives the game ball. His family decides to go on a celebratory picnic. His mother, father and his three-year old brother Gabe set out for the picnic place when suddenly a car comes at them. His father can’t press the brake for Nate’s game ball is now trapped under the brake pedal. Plunging off the road, the car winds up in the lake. Nate is the only survivor. His apparent recovery is accomplished at his grandmother’s home. She also owns and manages the local bar. The driver of the car that ran them off the road is convicted of drunk driving and is sentenced to prison. Nate meets Lucy, a girl in his class and they fall together in a mad passion. Here the secrets begin. Nate and his three friends Jonny, Tom and Owen fall into a reign of terror on the little town. This is in response to the hurts they feel they have suffered at the hands of their victims. On graduation night, Lucy disappears. Nate is the only of the four friends to escape the little town. He goes to college and becomes a pediatric oncological surgeon. He saves lives, he makes kids better and he tries to be a good father to his young daughter, Livvy and a good husband to his wife, Meg. Fourteen years later he returns to his hometown to attend a funeral. Lucy’s body has been found. His visit coincides with the arrival of hurricane Medea. Things begin to go wrong. Some young people are wreaking the same havoc upon the little town that Nate and his friends used to. Nate meets an old woman who tells him his story. Nate begins to understand the consequences that his and his friends’ actions had on the town’s inhabitants. He understands the nature of his own guilt. In an exciting denouement, we learn who killed Lucy and the others. This book is both brilliantly written and plotted. The book goes back and forth between the past and the present, a device that Mr. Duffy uses to good effect. There are no wasted words. The background information given about the main characters only adds to the depth and richness of the story. The psychological insights are very well done and grant the reader more insight as to the motivations of “The Storm King” and his followers. Mr. Duffy’s understanding of both psychology and human nature are uncannily spot on. I truly enjoyed this book and will certainly look for more of Brendan Duffy’s writing. I want to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine for forwarding to me a copy of this most remarkable novel to read and enjoy.
    more
  • Pat
    January 1, 1970
    This intricately woven story follows the return of the prodigal son of an upstate NY resort lake town and swiftly lures the reader into a dark, dusty web of loss, cruelty and revenge. THE STORM KING’s complex characters are unique and well-drawn. The setting: a beautiful resort town caught in the violence of a hurricane and many, many secrets. The book's frequent twists and turns, particularly in the latter half, make it a riveting read.
    more
  • Anya Leonard
    January 1, 1970
    This book was a real page turner. I found myself wondering in my off moments not reading the book what would happen to Nate. The twists and turns it took were reminiscent of The Girl on the Train. The description of the scenery and the lake made me want to go on vacation to this beautiful place. It was very timely that I was reading this book at this point in time due to the large Number of hurricanes we have had this year and it made it much more real for me. Highly recommend. This ARC was prov This book was a real page turner. I found myself wondering in my off moments not reading the book what would happen to Nate. The twists and turns it took were reminiscent of The Girl on the Train. The description of the scenery and the lake made me want to go on vacation to this beautiful place. It was very timely that I was reading this book at this point in time due to the large Number of hurricanes we have had this year and it made it much more real for me. Highly recommend. This ARC was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in return for an unbiased review.
    more
  • Thomas Burke
    January 1, 1970
    The author weaves a wonderful story. It is filled with all sorts of twists and turns. The back story was very compelling and added much to the book. I was fooled up to the very end. To say the least, Duffykept you guessing - and you might be wrong more often than right.
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    The Storm King features Nate McHale, pediatric surgeon and family man, who returns to his hometown of Greystone Lake for the funeral of his first girlfriend. Lucy disappeared on graduation night and although many assumed she ran away, Nate never believed it.Told in alternating timelines, the "past is prologue" to the events to come.When Nate was fourteen, the family car went over a cliff into the lake; Nate's parents and three-year-old brother all drowned, but somehow Nate survived. The tragedy The Storm King features Nate McHale, pediatric surgeon and family man, who returns to his hometown of Greystone Lake for the funeral of his first girlfriend. Lucy disappeared on graduation night and although many assumed she ran away, Nate never believed it.Told in alternating timelines, the "past is prologue" to the events to come.When Nate was fourteen, the family car went over a cliff into the lake; Nate's parents and three-year-old brother all drowned, but somehow Nate survived. The tragedy continues to influence Nate, and his high school years are full of anger at the unfairness of life. In the wake of his miraculous survival, people--his best friends included-- view Nate differently. Nate, Tom, Jonny, Owen, and later, Lucy are a tight knit unit, and Nate, the Storm King, is the leader. Perceived injustices are righted, or more accurately, punished. Adolescent Nate is not always an admirable character. After high school, Nate leaves Greystone Lake for college and attempts to put his high school persona behind him. He becomes a successful and empathetic pediatric surgeon with a loving wife and an adored child, but when Lucy's body turns up after all these years, Nate returns to his hometown, determined to find out what happened to her. However, his return to Greystone Lake will force him to acknowledge his own guilt and uncover some disturbing secrets.The Storm King is not a comfortable read--as the tension ratchets up, you know that some of the mistakes in the past will have far-reaching consequences, and you wish you could step in and shake the boys. There is a callousness in the "justice" the teenagers meet out in their high school years. What comes as a surprise is that there is a new generation of vigilantes--and their targets are Nate, Tom, Jonny, and Own. What goes around...Read in September; blog review scheduled for Jan. 21, 2018.NetGalley/Random House/BallentinePsychological Suspense/Mystery. Feb. 6, 2018. Print length: 400 pages.
    more
  • Tami
    January 1, 1970
    Intense, violent, action-packed, The Storm King recounts the past events in a small lake community that lead up to a tension-filled weekend. With a hurricane bearing down on the community and the funeral of a popular girl who had been missing for the past several years, Nate McHale returns to his childhood home to face his past.Nate, also known by his friends as the Storm King, has a past full of bad decisions fueled by anger and vengeance. The only member of his family to survive a car accident Intense, violent, action-packed, The Storm King recounts the past events in a small lake community that lead up to a tension-filled weekend. With a hurricane bearing down on the community and the funeral of a popular girl who had been missing for the past several years, Nate McHale returns to his childhood home to face his past.Nate, also known by his friends as the Storm King, has a past full of bad decisions fueled by anger and vengeance. The only member of his family to survive a car accident, Nate grows to adulthood with more emotional baggage than most people.In spite of this, Nate becomes a successful doctor, marries and has a loving family. Upon his return to his hometown, he is met with a grim reckoning. As the weather turns more violent, many secrets from the past come to light and Nate learns the repercussions of his past mistakes.Filled with unlikable characters and disturbing behavior, this story moves along at a brisk pace. It seemed long to me because I had to stop reading at times because the story was so intense. The ending was powerful, with a lot happening at once and I could hardly read fast enough to keep up! Readers should be warned that the content is dark and violent.Many thanks to NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group/Ballantine for allowing to read an advance copy in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Gypsi
    January 1, 1970
    The Storm KingBrendan Duffy anticipated publication date February 20184/5 starsNate McHale survives a tragic accident in his youth, and it's effect continues through his high school and college years. Now, 14 years later, he's a respected surgeon and a family man, having left the past behind. Then, skeletal remains are found in his hometown of Greystone Lake, and he returns for the funeral, and to discover the murderer, This reawakens his past with a vengeance. The Storm King starts slow and som The Storm KingBrendan Duffy anticipated publication date February 20184/5 starsNate McHale survives a tragic accident in his youth, and it's effect continues through his high school and college years. Now, 14 years later, he's a respected surgeon and a family man, having left the past behind. Then, skeletal remains are found in his hometown of Greystone Lake, and he returns for the funeral, and to discover the murderer, This reawakens his past with a vengeance. The Storm King starts slow and somewhat confusingly. The reader follows McHale's return to Greystone Lake without any knowledge of the past. Then, Duffy begins to weave the past and present stories together and the novel becomes enthralling. Duffy keeps the reader guessing, both as to the identity of the killer, and to where the story is actually going. The narrative flows quickly and pulls the reader along. (Though, I must say that the last 80 pages or so seemed too long, and at a slower pace, and detracted from what should have been a dynamic ending.)The main character is not actually McHale, but the town itself. Duffy creates a history, and even a mythology of sorts, for Greystone Lake, which is one of the best parts of the story. It's not often that location plays such an integral part of the plot, and this is well done and effective.Overall, this is a fine suspense novel, engaging and entertaining. If suffers from a rambling ending, but otherwise makes a great, quick read.
    more
  • Viva
    January 1, 1970
    Summary: When a body is found, a New York city surgeon goes back to his rural home town for the funeral while a storm is brewing. This book took many unexpected turns and had a little bit of everything. I don't often give out 5 stars but I really felt this one deserved it.The writing was easy to read but not 100% easy to follow since the plot had one of those plot devices I hate: alternating timelines. And because the plot doesn't explain everything in the first place nor do the chapter headings Summary: When a body is found, a New York city surgeon goes back to his rural home town for the funeral while a storm is brewing. This book took many unexpected turns and had a little bit of everything. I don't often give out 5 stars but I really felt this one deserved it.The writing was easy to read but not 100% easy to follow since the plot had one of those plot devices I hate: alternating timelines. And because the plot doesn't explain everything in the first place nor do the chapter headings explicitly tell you which time line you're in, you have to read a little bit in to figure it out. And that's the whole way with the book. Because I didn't read the blurb on the back, I didn't know what the plot was going to be and the turn of events really surprised me. But because the characters and events were so mesmerizing and the writing easy to read, I gamely followed along. You get an uneasy feeling as you read on. You don't want the book or the characters to go this way, but they do and you're forced to follow along because you want to find out more. At times, the prose was just beautiful, like poetry or music, like art but in writing. I seldom see this in thrillers and wonder why there was such artistry in a thriller but the author manages to pull it off.And at times, it was pretty creepy. I wanted to stop reading at 3am but the book was at a place I didn't want to stop. I finally finished the book at 4am in a rush. The ending I'm afraid was a bit cliched and maybe a bit too long but it did stop quickly when it did. Overall, it was unsettling, but good. This book could be made into a movie or short mini-series. I'm definitely going to take a look at this author's other works. I highly recommend this book. I got this book as a free ARC.
    more
  • Joyce
    January 1, 1970
    5 starsThis book could be subtitled: “A Cautionary Tale about Vengeance.”Fourteen-year old Nate McHale is a baseball player who makes the winning move in his latest baseball game. Lauded as hero of the day, he receives the game ball. His family decides to go on a celebratory picnic. His mother, father and his three-year old brother Gabe set out for the picnic place when suddenly a car comes at them. His father can’t press the brake for Nate’s game ball is now trapped under the brake pedal. Plung 5 starsThis book could be subtitled: “A Cautionary Tale about Vengeance.”Fourteen-year old Nate McHale is a baseball player who makes the winning move in his latest baseball game. Lauded as hero of the day, he receives the game ball. His family decides to go on a celebratory picnic. His mother, father and his three-year old brother Gabe set out for the picnic place when suddenly a car comes at them. His father can’t press the brake for Nate’s game ball is now trapped under the brake pedal. Plunging off the road, the car winds up in the lake. Nate is the only survivor. His apparent recovery is accomplished at his grandmother’s home. She also owns and manages the local bar. The driver of the car that ran them off the road is convicted of drunk driving and is sentenced to prison. Nate meets Lucy, a girl in his class and they fall together in a mad passion. Here the secrets begin. Nate and his three friends Jonny, Tom and Owen fall into a reign of terror on the little town. This is in response to the hurts they feel they have suffered at the hands of their victims. On graduation night, Lucy disappears. Nate is the only of the four friends to escape the little town. He goes to college and becomes a pediatric oncological surgeon. He saves lives, he makes kids better and he tries to be a good father to his young daughter, Livvy and a good husband to his wife, Meg. Fourteen years later he returns to his hometown to attend a funeral. Lucy’s body has been found. His visit coincides with the arrival of hurricane Medea. Things begin to go wrong. Some young people are wreaking the same havoc upon the little town that Nate and his friends used to. Nate meets an old woman who tells him his story. Nate begins to understand the consequences that his and his friends’ actions had on the town’s inhabitants. He understands the nature of his own guilt. In an exciting denouement, we learn who killed Lucy and the others. This book is both brilliantly written and plotted. The book goes back and forth between the past and the present, a device that Mr. Duffy uses to good effect. There are no wasted words. The background information given about the main characters only adds to the depth and richness of the story. The psychological insights are very well done and grant the reader more insight as to the motivations of “The Storm King” and his followers. Mr. Duffy’s understanding of both psychology and human nature are uncannily spot on. I truly enjoyed this book and will certainly look for more of Brendan Duffy’s writing. I want to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine for forwarding to me a copy of this most remarkable novel to read and enjoy.
    more
  • Roxann
    January 1, 1970
    From the cover: Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back. Fourteen years later, he's become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father. Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake. This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense lan From the cover: Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back. Fourteen years later, he's become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father. Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake. This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense landscape of secrets and suspicion, resentments and guilt, Nate reconnects with estranged friends and old enemies, and encounters strangers who seem to know impossible things about him. Haunting every moment is the Lake's sinister history and the memory of wild, beautiful Lucy Bennett, with whom Nate is forever linked by shattering loss and youthful passion. As a massive hurricane bears down on the Northeast, the air becomes electric, the clouds grow dark, and escalating acts of violence echo events from Nate's own past. Without a doubt, a reckoning is coming--one that will lay bare the lies that lifelong friends have told themselves and unleash a vengeance that may consume them all.I received this book free from Goodreads Giveaway.Wow-can I write read the book if you are a lover of mystery-thrillers? The chapters in the book alternate (for the most part) from present to the past 14 years earlier. The characters are interesting and the author does a good job of describing them and trying to get you to feel what the characters are feeling. For me at times the book was a little slow, but it was because I wanted to know who killed Lucy 14 years earlier and who is doing the violence and murder 'today'. I did not have it figured out until the author spelt it out in the book, I was really thinking the other guy. Oh well, this is a great book for mystery lovers!
    more
  • Jo
    January 1, 1970
    This is one of the most interesting, intriguing books that I have read it quite awhile--certainly wanted to keep reading until late at night. I received this as an ARC; it will be available in February 2018 (you could probably preorder). I highly, highly recommend this book. It switches back and forth between two points in time (the present and high school days); however, there is no confusion and this just makes it even more intriguing.
    more
  • Samantha
    January 1, 1970
    Describing this novel as a page turner barely does it justice, The Storm King is a gripping atmospheric thriller that will keep you guessing. As the protagonist wrestles with the past and the person he once was, he comes to realize his actions cascade through time causing damage, much like ripples in the lake that has dominated his life. A great book is multifaceted, and The Storm King hits the mark blending a murder mystery with a coming of age story that provides psychological twists when leas Describing this novel as a page turner barely does it justice, The Storm King is a gripping atmospheric thriller that will keep you guessing. As the protagonist wrestles with the past and the person he once was, he comes to realize his actions cascade through time causing damage, much like ripples in the lake that has dominated his life. A great book is multifaceted, and The Storm King hits the mark blending a murder mystery with a coming of age story that provides psychological twists when least expected. In a novel where nothing is as it seems and everyone keeps their secrets, Duffy reminds the reader one does not have to believe in ghosts to be haunted. A breathtakingly sharp read, I could no put this book down and was hooked from the opening chapter to the very end.
    more
  • Paul Gaglio
    January 1, 1970
    The novel was a very good read. Extremely well written with a different and interesting story. I would definitely recommend this novelI am very thankful for the free advance copy from Good reads
  • B
    January 1, 1970
    I found this book surprisingly good. It started out a little slow as there seemed to be quite a bit of set up leading into the main character, Nate's, state of mind. Once I was into it, I found the story very interesting. The author did a good job with the plot and the story was exciting through to the end. I thought it was pretty easy to read, prose and style were very good.. It had a good flow to the story overall. The character development seemed to be just right. I had a pretty good feel for I found this book surprisingly good. It started out a little slow as there seemed to be quite a bit of set up leading into the main character, Nate's, state of mind. Once I was into it, I found the story very interesting. The author did a good job with the plot and the story was exciting through to the end. I thought it was pretty easy to read, prose and style were very good.. It had a good flow to the story overall. The character development seemed to be just right. I had a pretty good feel for all the main players in the end. About halfway through I thought the story really picked up and the book is hard to put down till the end. I really enjoyed the story and the psychological aspects of it, the twists and turns kept it very interesting. There were a couple points of teenage life that I found a little extreme and would like to dispute with the author, but hey it's his book not mine. I'll give it 4.5 stars. The story ends up being one of the most interesting I have read lately. If you like psychological thrillers, this should be an extremely enjoyable read.
    more
  • JJ
    January 1, 1970
    Review coming 2/5/2018!
  • Cristy
    January 1, 1970
    A good read, I was almost right about the killer.
  • Irene
    January 1, 1970
    Received a copy from Goodreads Give Aways.Overall, it was an exciting and interesting read. The suspense keeps building throughout the book to a compelling conclusion. Something totally unexpected. Brilliant storyline, complex characters and very well written. Thoroughly enjoyed and will be looking for more of Brendan Duffy's writings.Definitely recommend!
    more
Write a review