The Perfectly Imperfect Match (Suttonville Sentinels, #3)
Pitcher Dylan Dennings has his future all mapped out: make the minors straight out of high school, work his way up the farm system, and get called up to the majors by the time he’s twenty-three. The Plan has been his sole focus for years, and if making his dreams come true means instituting a strict “no girls” policy, so be it. Lucy Foster, needlepoint ninja, big sister to an aspiring pitcher, and chicken advocate, likes a little mayhem. So what if she gets lost taking her brother to baseball camp…at her own high school? The pitching coach, some hotshot high school player, obviously thinks she’s a hot mess. Too bad he’s cute, because he’s so not her type. Problem is, they keep running into each other, and every interaction sparks hotter than the last. But with Dylan’s future on the line, he has to decide whether some rules are made to be broken…Disclaimer: This book contains a crazy night of moonlit skinny-dipping, a combustible crush, and kisses swoony enough to unwind even the most Type A athlete.

The Perfectly Imperfect Match (Suttonville Sentinels, #3) Details

TitleThe Perfectly Imperfect Match (Suttonville Sentinels, #3)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 10th, 2017
PublisherEntangled Teen (Crush)
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Sports and Games, Sports, High School, Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance, Baseball, Young Adult Romance

The Perfectly Imperfect Match (Suttonville Sentinels, #3) Review

  • Sarah
    July 11, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley.) “You know, there’s more to life than baseball.” This was a YA contemporary romance story about a baseball player and a needlepoint enthusiast.I liked Lucy and Dylan in this, I liked how devoted Dylan was to baseball and how Lucy managed to ruffle his feathers.The storyline in this was about Lucy and Dylan meeting when Dylan was coaching Lucy’s younger brother, and liking each other even thoug (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley.) “You know, there’s more to life than baseball.” This was a YA contemporary romance story about a baseball player and a needlepoint enthusiast.I liked Lucy and Dylan in this, I liked how devoted Dylan was to baseball and how Lucy managed to ruffle his feathers.The storyline in this was about Lucy and Dylan meeting when Dylan was coaching Lucy’s younger brother, and liking each other even though Dylan wasn’t looking for a relationship. Lucy managed to get Dylan to relax a bit, and Dylan managed to teach Lucy how to catch a baseball correctly, and they did make a cute couple.The ending to this was pretty good, although Dylan was a bit mean to Lucy when he was drunk.6.5 out of 10
    more
  • Stacee
    June 27, 2017
    I had really enjoyed the other two books in this series, so I requested it without reading the synopsis. I was excited to see that it was Dylan's story. First off, Lucy was a lot of fun. She's hard working and smart and so sassy. Her little brother Otis stole every scene he was in. Dylan is straight laced and focused and insanely driven. It was delightful reading the two of them clash. Plot wise, it was a lot of fluff. Of course there's conflict and a hurtful exchange, but the break up doesn't l I had really enjoyed the other two books in this series, so I requested it without reading the synopsis. I was excited to see that it was Dylan's story. First off, Lucy was a lot of fun. She's hard working and smart and so sassy. Her little brother Otis stole every scene he was in. Dylan is straight laced and focused and insanely driven. It was delightful reading the two of them clash. Plot wise, it was a lot of fluff. Of course there's conflict and a hurtful exchange, but the break up doesn't last long. Plus, the grand gesture is adorable and the epilogue is perfect for the story. Overall, I'm sad that this series is over, but I look forward to seeing what Kendra writes next. **Huge thanks to Entangled Teen for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Michelle
    July 6, 2017
    **You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: https://bookbriefs.net**Perfectly Imperfect Match is the third book in the young adult contemporary romance series, called the Suttonville Senitels by Kendra C. Highley. I love that this series centers around the baseball team. It is a series formula that works so well with me, but before the Suttonville Sentiels I had only seen it done in the adult sports romance world, so I love that there is a young adult series that is doing something s **You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: https://bookbriefs.net**Perfectly Imperfect Match is the third book in the young adult contemporary romance series, called the Suttonville Senitels by Kendra C. Highley. I love that this series centers around the baseball team. It is a series formula that works so well with me, but before the Suttonville Sentiels I had only seen it done in the adult sports romance world, so I love that there is a young adult series that is doing something similar. I read and LOVED The Bad Boy Bargain and Swinging at Love, which I also thoroughly enjoyed. This series is a welcome smash hit for me! And Perfectly Imperfect Match is a great addition to the series.Just like all of the previous books in this series, Perfectly Imperfect Match is chock full of cuteness. That is the best way to describe it. It is like a smile in a box. All of the books in this series are actually. Perfectly Imperfect Match is the story of Dylan and Luck. I liked this couple a lot, but I still think Faith and Kyle were my favorite couple but I adored them so much that it is hard to come close. Dylan is super rigid with everything in his life. Watching him with Lucy was tons of fun for me. They were both so different. Their story had a bit of a slower start for me, character wise, than the previous two books in the series, but once I got to know them a little better I really enjoyed them. Perfectly Imperfect Match is a quick, light and fluffy read. There is not too much in the way of drama or roadblocks. It was perfect for a pool read. I finished it in one quick afternoon. If you are looking for a book that has a little drama and more meat (in that direction) to its' bones, this might not be the book for you, but if you are looking for a quick young adult romance that is super cute check out Perfectly Imperfect Match and the Suttonville Sentinels series. I loved the mature, yet still age appropriate, characters featured in this extra cute romance.blue4This review was originally posted on Book Briefs
    more
  • Lenore Kosinski
    July 4, 2017
    https://celebrityreaders.wordpress.co...4 stars -- I received a free copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review/opinion.Before I get into the meat, as an aside: Covers don't make or break a book for me, but can I just say that this cover is absolutely perfect for this book?  I love it when a scene from the book is represented, it always makes me auto-smile and squeal when I get to it!!Ahem.  Anyways.  I am falling in love with Ms. Highley.  She writes just my kind of cu https://celebrityreaders.wordpress.co...4 stars -- I received a free copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review/opinion.Before I get into the meat, as an aside: Covers don't make or break a book for me, but can I just say that this cover is absolutely perfect for this book?  I love it when a scene from the book is represented, it always makes me auto-smile and squeal when I get to it!!Ahem.  Anyways.  I am falling in love with Ms. Highley.  She writes just my kind of cute YA books.  I've said it in previous reviews of the other books in this series, I'm NOT a baseball fan.  But Ms. Highley makes me want to be a baseball fan (until I watch it on TV and remember that I don't have the attention span).  And she did it again in this book.  It's not that there's an overwhelming amount of baseball in the book, but it's prominent enough that it makes me feel like I understand the passion Dylan has.  I actually prefer when my sports romance books ACTUALLY have some of the sport in it (and not just have it be a small aspect of the character).Dylan was such an intriguing hero!!  I can't help but wonder how he came to be so rigid and structured and goal-focused.  But while sometimes a lack of "past incident explanation" can kill a book for me, the way it was done in this book I really felt like I could see how someone could just have that be an aspect of their personality.  Like being shy, or extroverted, or a daydreamer...sometimes you're just born a certain way.  And I kind of loved how he'd allowed this one aspect of his personality to take over his WHOLE LIFE, and that was the cause of his stress.  It was so gratifying to see Lucy open him up, make him relax, show him there's more to life.  I also loved the conflict with his parents.  Again, Ms. Highley writes great families too -- not evil ones, or uninvolved, but ones that have their own set of problems even though you can feel the love.  I loved how that all resolved too, how blinded Dylan had become in his focus.And he was SO CUTE!!  I love the heroes in these books.  They have a healthy set of hormones, but none of them are dogs (though far from perfect either).  They are all very 3 dimensional, and I love how shy and awkward Dylan could be in relationships!  SWOON!! (a unicorn just got his wings!)And I LOVED how different Lucy was from the other heroines in this series!  She was kind of a rebel rouser, and just marched to the beat of her own drum, but with lots of confidence.  I loved how seriously she followed her passion, and how some might see her as flighty, but if you paid attention she was really focused as well.  She just knew better how to have some fun.  And I loved her family dynamics as well, and how the pressures of stepping up and being responsible in her family were really wearing on her.  Her relationship with both her Mom and her brother felt very real, full of love but also struggles.  And I loved the military Dad aspect as well.  How it didn't overtake the story, but was an underlying heartache.And these two together were YA gold.  So many tummy butterflies, they really had great chemistry.  And I really could see how they sort of brought the best of each other.So yeah, another YA success!!  And a PERFECT read for the summer, I just got all those summertime vibes!!
    more
  • Siobhan Davis
    June 23, 2017
    Earlier this year I read The Bad Boy Bargain, the first book in this series, and totally loved it so I jumped at the chance to read an advance copy of this book. While I enjoyed The Perfectly Imperfect Match, it was lacking the wow factor and it didn't blow me away like the first book did.Dylan is very goal-orientated and he has his heart set on a future baseball career that he has all mapped out. He is quite stubborn and pigheaded and he won't listen to his friend Tristan or his parents or his Earlier this year I read The Bad Boy Bargain, the first book in this series, and totally loved it so I jumped at the chance to read an advance copy of this book. While I enjoyed The Perfectly Imperfect Match, it was lacking the wow factor and it didn't blow me away like the first book did.Dylan is very goal-orientated and he has his heart set on a future baseball career that he has all mapped out. He is quite stubborn and pigheaded and he won't listen to his friend Tristan or his parents or his Uncle Rick. He's so fixated on his future path that he isn't really living in the present. He has sworn off girls and college and he won't let anything distract him from his goal.Lucy also has a goal for her future but she's much more of a free spirit and she understands the importance of just going with the flow.On the surface, our two mains seem complete opposites, but they have a lot more in common than either of them realize. Both Dylan and Lucy are struggling under the weight of responsibility but his is self-imposed where hers is forced by necessity. When they meet, there is an instant spark and it doesn't take long for them to lock horns, and then give in to their mutual attraction.Both mains were decently developed if the interiority was a bit repetitive at times. I liked how Lucy was a bit quirky and she cared so much about others. Dylan was great with Otis and that opened up another side to his personality because he was quite intense and serious on other occasions.The conversations were a bit stilted at the start and I struggled to feel the connection between them initially, but my biggest issue was that nothing unexpected happens and the book just kind of plods along. It lacked depth/substance and a few well placed climactic moments to set my heart racing. It was still a quick, entertaining read but there was nothing stand out or special about it. I enjoy Kendra's writing style and this was in line with other works I've read by this author.If you are looking for a sweet, quick contemporary romance then you will most likely enjoy this one.Thanks to Entangled Teen for providing an ARC of this book which I have voluntarily reviewed.
    more
  • Erica Chilson
    June 25, 2017
    I received a copy of this title to read and review for Wicked Reads 5 Swoon-worthy Stars (okay, Highley, where are my unicorns? Just proving I read the note at the end. LOL)Young Adult age-range: 12+. Kissing & adult language. The Perfectly Imperfect Match is the 3rd installment of Suttonville Sentinels, and can easily be read as a standalone. While the hero and heroine from book 2 do make an appearance on the pages, their previous story doesn't make an impact on the current one. Although, I I received a copy of this title to read and review for Wicked Reads 5 Swoon-worthy Stars (okay, Highley, where are my unicorns? Just proving I read the note at the end. LOL)Young Adult age-range: 12+. Kissing & adult language. The Perfectly Imperfect Match is the 3rd installment of Suttonville Sentinels, and can easily be read as a standalone. While the hero and heroine from book 2 do make an appearance on the pages, their previous story doesn't make an impact on the current one. Although, I was happy to see them, reconnect with them. If you're not reading this as a standalone, you no doubt will remember Dylan. Uptight. Obsessed with his future plans, to the point he isn't living in the now. He's hitched all of his dreams, hopes, and aspirations with singular focus, to the point it's unhealthy and could be a detriment should things not go according to plan. Fate and destiny and things happen, just because you plan it or want it, doesn't make it so. This is a lesson Dylan needs to learn, and in a way that doesn't leave lasting damage. Dylan's an amazing pitcher, but he's even better at teaching the next generation of ballplayers during summer camp, which leads us to Lucy... Lucy is an interesting character. Free-spirit, chicken savior, and colorful rebel. She's the daughter of a serviceman who is deployed and a quilt shop owner. To help her family, Lucy stitches/embroiders various items to bring in side money and bring new clientele into the shop, all the while helping raise her nine-year-old brother. Otis enrolls in summer camp- the budding pitcher is placed under the tutelage of Dylan, and that's how Dylan and Lucy meet. Opposites attract. Without giving a book report, the pair have some angsty bumps and bruises along the way. There's heat and intensity, bucket loads of chemistry. Dylan has a 'no girls' policy, and fears Lucy is throwing him off his game. Lucy is worried about Otis' relationship with his pitching coach, so she doesn't want to come between her baby brother and his idol. The Perfectly Imperfect Match was a delightfully sweet read, full of crushing and budding love, and it put a smile on my face. Until the epilogue- boom- emotional extortion by the author. Mad props to Highley for making me cry (happy tears, of course) Definitely recommend to lovers of the Young Adult genre, no matter if they are actual young adults or the young at heart. I look forward to more in this series and more by this author.*I will say, from my own experience, grown men and boys alike do believe the 'no girls' nonsense. My grandfather, who was old enough to be my great-grandfather, was always bringing up failure in the baseball world due to his son getting a girlfriend- (I can't remember what team he played for) unable to be apart from her, he made her his wife and had children. Blaming my aunt, of course. Is it true? I have no idea- it was a generation or three before my time, but adult me knows the misogynistic blame-game is a great way to explain away what really happened. But boys and men do believe that nonsense, so I could relate to both Dylan and Lucy as I read the book. & it brought up the memory of my grandfather, enough so I could even hear his voice.Swoon- still waiting on those unicorns.
    more
  • Kate
    July 3, 2017
    Dylan has one focus in life, and one focus only; baseball. Being the best player he can be and working up to the big leagues. There are sacrifices to be made, though; he has his strict routines and a strict no girls rule. He can't afford distractions. The problem, however, arrives in the form of Lucy Foster, a wild spirit with a love of chickens, sewing, and expressing herself through t-shirts. Dylan and Lucy meet when Lucy's brother attends a summer baseball camp that Dylan happens to coach. Th Dylan has one focus in life, and one focus only; baseball. Being the best player he can be and working up to the big leagues. There are sacrifices to be made, though; he has his strict routines and a strict no girls rule. He can't afford distractions. The problem, however, arrives in the form of Lucy Foster, a wild spirit with a love of chickens, sewing, and expressing herself through t-shirts. Dylan and Lucy meet when Lucy's brother attends a summer baseball camp that Dylan happens to coach. The two clash; Dylan is straight-laced and Lucy is wild, but the more time they spend together, the more drawn to each other they are. I loved seeing Lucy trying to push Dylan out of his comfort zone. It wasn't easy for him, and he could be a bit of an arsehole, but he tried his best, and it was so sweet. If I had to sum this book up in one word it would be cute. This book is pure, sweet fluff. Easy reading, and that epilogue? Beautiful and heart warming. *thanks to NetGalley and Entangled for giving me the chance to read this book*
    more
  • Alatea
    July 11, 2017
    Extremly light and sweet story - a perfect read for late summer evening.
  • Melissa (YA Book Shelf)
    July 16, 2017
    Every time I read one of Kendra C. Highley's books, I inevitably say that she's done it again, and The Perfectly Imperfect Match is no exception. This story was all kinds of swoony, and to be honest, the epilogue brought a few tears to my eyes. Beyond the romance between Dylan and Lucy, I loved the secondary characters from Lucy's mom and brother, Otis, Dylan's parents and Uncle Rick, Serena, the chickens, and of course, the other players on the team. I loved getting a glimpse of Tristan and Aly Every time I read one of Kendra C. Highley's books, I inevitably say that she's done it again, and The Perfectly Imperfect Match is no exception. This story was all kinds of swoony, and to be honest, the epilogue brought a few tears to my eyes. Beyond the romance between Dylan and Lucy, I loved the secondary characters from Lucy's mom and brother, Otis, Dylan's parents and Uncle Rick, Serena, the chickens, and of course, the other players on the team. I loved getting a glimpse of Tristan and Alyssa again, and I'm very much hoping that this isn't the last we see of the Suttonville Sentinels series. Maybe we'll get Nate's story next?
    more
  • Nicole
    July 9, 2017
    The Perfectly Imperfect Match!!! First things first: I received this book through NetGalley.This book comes out july 10th. This book is the 3rd book in the Suttonville Sentinels series but can be totally read as a stand alone. I haven't read the first two books but I'm planning to read them, cause it's my mission to read all of Kendra C. Highley YA contemporary books. This marks my 4th book, I read by the author and let me just say, I LOVE her writing, her stories and all the different character The Perfectly Imperfect Match!!! First things first: I received this book through NetGalley.This book comes out july 10th. This book is the 3rd book in the Suttonville Sentinels series but can be totally read as a stand alone. I haven't read the first two books but I'm planning to read them, cause it's my mission to read all of Kendra C. Highley YA contemporary books. This marks my 4th book, I read by the author and let me just say, I LOVE her writing, her stories and all the different characters. Summary: Pitcher Dylan Dennings has his future all mapped out: make the minors straight out of high school, work his way up the farm system, and get called up to the majors by the time he’s twenty-three. The Plan has been his sole focus for years, and if making his dreams come true means instituting a strict “no girls” policy, so be it. Lucy Foster, needlepoint ninja, big sister to an aspiring pitcher, and chicken advocate, likes a little mayhem. So what if she gets lost taking her brother to baseball camp…at her own high school? The pitching coach, some hotshot high school player, obviously thinks she’s a hot mess. Too bad he’s cute, because he’s so not her type. Problem is, they keep running into each other, and every interaction sparks hotter than the last. But with Dylan’s future on the line, he has to decide whether some rules are made to be broken…Disclaimer: This book contains a crazy night of moonlit skinny-dipping, a combustible crush, and kisses swoony enough to unwind even the most Type A athlete. I got into this story super fast, the reading was amazing (as always), I feel in love with the two main characters really fast, and the side characters were amazing as well. Lucy and Dylan are amazing main characters. They have their own story, they have their own personalities and have their own problems and flaws. And because they are so different from each other, whenever they meet, the air around them just explodes because of all the tension. WHAT MORE COULD I ASK FOR??? No, but seriously, I loved them. I'm not really into baseball (or lets just say that I have no clue when it comes to the sport) but I really loved Dylan's POV and I really loved the parts with the sports camp for the little kids. CUTE!!! I also loved Lucy and her sewing. I just love creative things like that (I'm a knitter myself, well, I haven't knit anything this year, cause books. BOOKS!!!). I loved the side characters like Dylan's friends Tristan and Alyssa, they are the main characters in the book before this one. I really wanna read their story. I also loved Lucy's friend Serena and her family, the chickens. That was such an wonderful side storyline. SAVE THE CHICKENS!!! And of course Otis, Lucy's little brother and overall Lucy's family. So many friendship and family feels. Also Otis was just the cutest when he was overprotective of his big sister. Awwww.(Can I also just say that I loved that their wasn't one character that tried to ruin things for anyone else!!!) The relationship between Lucy and Dylan was wonderful to read about. Things moved pretty fast but I worked and I was so happy that at one point they just stopped, took a step back and got to really know each other. Of course there were some hurdles along the way but they got through it. And I loved the end of the story. Again, so many family feels!!! So, yeah. Long story short, I highly recommend this story for everyone who is looking for a fun and fast read. 
    more
  • Deniz
    July 5, 2017
    sighSo honestly, I've been thinking what I should write in this review for days and days. Because frankly my response to the book, is a big sigh. A good one mind you, the kind of sigh that is full of contentment and swoony cute & fluffy feels. Yeah, so basically Highley killed any logical response I am trying to come up with. It is that cute. The Perfectly Imperfect Match is the third book in the Suttonville Sentinels series and I am pretty sure it's my favorite. I love that we get to revisi sighSo honestly, I've been thinking what I should write in this review for days and days. Because frankly my response to the book, is a big sigh. A good one mind you, the kind of sigh that is full of contentment and swoony cute & fluffy feels. Yeah, so basically Highley killed any logical response I am trying to come up with. It is that cute. The Perfectly Imperfect Match is the third book in the Suttonville Sentinels series and I am pretty sure it's my favorite. I love that we get to revisit the previous books characters. It was an added bonus. But I should mention that this works as a stand-alone as well.. The support cast in this made me love the book even more, I love the different family dynamics. I adore the siblings relationships the most, though not really smooth sailing, it feels authentic and real. Having 3 sisters, being a middle child, meant I could relate to each situation. How ever while we at this, I found the brother's claims a bit annoying. I mean who owns anyone? Why even accept it? Because let's face it each person has his own place with everyone else and I think it's best one gets taught that really early in life, it saves a lot of dramas. I was very glad when that issue was settled.Lucy and Dylan are both likeable, relatable and I adore them. I am not into baseball at all. But I understand them both a little. I was more of a rebel but I also was always driven. I think most people will be able to relate, because we all a bit of Lucy and Dylan, but more we all search for our way and try to hold to ideas of ourselves when we grow up. The storyline is sweet and it has most of your typical cute & fluffy elements. But Highley has thrown in some cute twists and made it quite unique with some wonderful details. While I adore the story and I really enjoyed the book, my biggest issue lies in the romance. It is the reason why this is not 5stars for me as well. It was a bit, actually let's just say it as it is: It was a lot too insta for me. I completly got over it by the end but the first half, felt way too insta. The writing style is just as expected insightful and contemporary. There is some great humor in here. But there are also some amazing, beautiful and moving descriptions. Those are my favorite part of the book and the main reason for my sighing. I am hoping there is another book in the series, simply because they are the perfect cute and fluffy kind of read. Alas I have no clue what Highley plans to publish next, but I know I will read it. A great book to take to the lake (or beach) with during a warm day!
    more
  • Silvana [The Book Voyagers]
    June 23, 2017
    If you want an opposites attract, The Perfectly Imperfect Match is just for you. I had such a good time reading this book seriously. It's so fun and light and a perfect read for summer! It actually develops in the summer, more specific, in baseball summer camp, because Lucy's little brother is going to camp and she meets Dylan there. He is coaching the little kids and actually has this big Plan for his future. They meet each other and everything goes out the window.It was adorable and I love the If you want an opposites attract, The Perfectly Imperfect Match is just for you. I had such a good time reading this book seriously. It's so fun and light and a perfect read for summer! It actually develops in the summer, more specific, in baseball summer camp, because Lucy's little brother is going to camp and she meets Dylan there. He is coaching the little kids and actually has this big Plan for his future. They meet each other and everything goes out the window.It was adorable and I love the fact that Dylan was clearly Shook by Lucy lmao. All the little things Lucy did, Dylan was like "omg this girl is my wife" plus they have so many cute moments, with family and friends. I love that their friends are SUCH A BIG PART of their lives. Because sometimes in books when the love interest is announced somehow the MCs forget for a moment they have best friends. But this is why I loved this book because Tristan and Serena are there always supporting their friends and being just so caring for one another. Many points for that!I'm really glad I picked this up! Thank you Entangled Teen for the review copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • L.P. Logan
    July 7, 2017
    So this love story is basically my own love story -- without the baseball. Which means that I was literally grinning the entire, sappy, lovey-dovey thing. I loved it! The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is simply because it was lacking some depth. But that it totally a personal preference. Regardless, I highly recommend it to all readers who are wanting a happy love story with characters who figure out that they bring out the best in each other early on. Read this. You'll be smiling too.
    more
  • Monique V
    July 30, 2017
    3.5 stars a little too short but still good!
  • Carol***BeautyandtheBeastlyBooks
    June 27, 2017
    2.5 stars***ARC received in exchange of an honest opinion***This book was a little too basic for me. I don't mind reading YA books, I actually enjoy them.But I couldn't relate to this one or the characters.
  • D.M.
    June 24, 2017
    Suttonville Sentinels is easily becoming one of my favourite series. I love sports romance, and I love the YA/teen genre. This series offers something different in the way of male lead characters. They may be athletes, but they aren't cocky jocks. They work hard to achieve their goals. The Perfectly Imperfect Match is Dylan's story. We meet him in Swinging at Love, however, if you haven't read book 2 in the series you will still have the full enjoyment of this story. Dylan is a square. He keeps Suttonville Sentinels is easily becoming one of my favourite series. I love sports romance, and I love the YA/teen genre. This series offers something different in the way of male lead characters. They may be athletes, but they aren't cocky jocks. They work hard to achieve their goals. The Perfectly Imperfect Match is Dylan's story. We meet him in Swinging at Love, however, if you haven't read book 2 in the series you will still have the full enjoyment of this story. Dylan is a square. He keeps his head in the game and his eye on the plan. Some may say he's boring, but he is driven to achieving his goal. Baseball is his dream career, and he wants to give it his all. This means no distractions including girls.Lucy is a free spirit. She's happy to colour outside the lines. She loves sewing, chickens, and living for the now. She is Dylan's complete opposite. From the second they meet they clash. They don't fit together like a jigsaw. They are perfectly imperfect so why can't they stay away from each other? This is a hot and fiery relationship with some mild sexual references. This isn't a smooth sailing romance. Dylan can be a bonehead at times but he's a teen. All he has to do is work it out before he misses his chance with the girl of his dreams. 5 stars out of 5. I love Lucy's character, and she is strong enough to deal with the curveballs Dylan likes to throw. Another swoon-worthy teen read.*I received an ARC in exchange for a fair review*
    more
  • Arys
    July 13, 2017
    The Perfectly Imperfect Match (Suttonville Sentinels #3) by Kendra C. Highley is book three in her series about some of the Suttonville high-school baseball players finding their match.Dylan Dennings, pitcher for the Sentinels, has his whole future planned out: he is going to make it to the minors straight out of high school, move up the farm system, and be playing in the major leagues by twenty-three. All he needs to do is stick to the plan and focus without distractions especially in the form The Perfectly Imperfect Match (Suttonville Sentinels #3) by Kendra C. Highley is book three in her series about some of the Suttonville high-school baseball players finding their match.Dylan Dennings, pitcher for the Sentinels, has his whole future planned out: he is going to make it to the minors straight out of high school, move up the farm system, and be playing in the major leagues by twenty-three. All he needs to do is stick to the plan and focus without distractions especially in the form of a girl.  After losing the girl he crushed on to his best-friend, Tristan, he can definitely stick to his “no girls” policy. However, the world seems to want to test his resolve by sending the pretty and gregarious Lucy Foster down his path.Lucy Foster is a needlepoint ninja who loves her family, including her little brother Otis, and  has been known to get into a little bit of trouble especially for a good cause. While her father’s deployed, Lucy’s been helping out at her mother’s store and with taking care of her brother, which now includes driving him to baseball camp.  With a tendency to get lost at times, Lucy ends up bringing Otis late on his first day of camp and it brings her face to face with Dylan, who couldn’t be described as anything but the polar opposite of her. Sparks fly instantly between these two characters and chemistry is definite. Throw in a baseball scout, a little brother, chickens, and future dreams on the line and Ms. Highley gives us  a story that you don’t want to miss.The Perfectly Imperfect Match is a fun and romantic, and filled with just enough drama to  keep the story moving along nicely. With a character-driven plot, Ms. Highley really lets you get to know the main characters of Dylan and Lucy. From the beginning I felt for Dylan who is dealing with losing the girl from the last book and the pressure of trying to make his dream of making it into the minors come true. So when he meets Lucy, who is like a breath of fresh air with her boldness and quirkiness, he begins to come alive.  Lucy shakes things up and brings happy chaos to his life, while he brings order to hers.  They understand each other even though they’re so different.  I also enjoyed the secondary characters like Otis, Serena, and Tristan. The ending was great and I appreciated the epilogue.  I love finding out more about the characters later down the road even if it’s just a few months later.Overall, Kendra C. Highley’s The Perfectly Imperfect Match is a sweet and feel good YA romance that I very much enjoyed and happily recommend.  I look forward to reading the next book by this author.(I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book I received for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my open and honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.)
    more
  • Alison
    June 26, 2017
    Three and a half stars.Dylan Dennings has a plan. He's a high school pitcher and he aims to go to the minors and get called up to the majors by the time he’s twenty-three. He is 100% focused on that plan. He practices religiously, eats clean, gets the right amount of sleep. Oh and he's avoiding girls, especially since the girl he had his eye on is now dating his best friend. His family would prefer that he went to college and then tried out for a major league team but he is adamant. It's just th Three and a half stars.Dylan Dennings has a plan. He's a high school pitcher and he aims to go to the minors and get called up to the majors by the time he’s twenty-three. He is 100% focused on that plan. He practices religiously, eats clean, gets the right amount of sleep. Oh and he's avoiding girls, especially since the girl he had his eye on is now dating his best friend. His family would prefer that he went to college and then tried out for a major league team but he is adamant. It's just that his dedication seems to be increasing his stress levels.Lucy Foster is Dylan's opposite. She's a free-spirit to his uptightness. An expert needlewoman she helps her mom out at her sewing shop and helps look after her younger brother Otis whilst their father has been called up as an Army reservist. She and her best friend Serena have a history of wild protests.When Dylan meets Lucy she is bringing Otis to baseball camp. Otis wants to be a pitcher and so, inevitably, is put in Dylan's group. From the moment he sees Lucy with her pink streaked hair and comic t-shirts, Dylan knows that they are complete opposites, but what do they say? Opposites attract.I liked this but I didn't love it the same way as I loved the first book. First, Lucy and Dylan read too young. They were supposed to be seventeen but they felt more like fifteen year olds to me. Surely no-one is that young and innocent anymore? Second, and this is a big one, I didn't buy into the description of Lucy. Everyone characterises her as unreliable, a bit scatter-brained etc but let's check the facts. She works in her mom's shop; she helps look after her younger brother, including taking him to baseball camp every day; she has her own business custom-embroidering clothing; she helps her best friend and her best friend's father with their organic, free range chicken farm; she takes her mom to hospital and then takes over running the shop when her mom gets sick. Do these seem like the actions of a flaky, unreliable teen? Third, I felt the ending was a little bit too similar to that of the first book.But none of those detracted from a sweet romance between a driven Type A athlete and a free-thinking radical.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Colleen
    July 10, 2017
    The Perfectly Imperfect Match by Kendra C. Highley was provided to me by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.First of all, I was very glad that the file was changed from a PDF book to a mobi file/epub file. I know this doesn't matter too much, but mobi and epub files are MUCH more reader friendly on e-readers. It made it more enjoyable for me to read on my Kindle. Thank you, publishers!I think this was one of my first baseball romance books. I'm trying to remember if there were any others The Perfectly Imperfect Match by Kendra C. Highley was provided to me by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.First of all, I was very glad that the file was changed from a PDF book to a mobi file/epub file. I know this doesn't matter too much, but mobi and epub files are MUCH more reader friendly on e-readers. It made it more enjoyable for me to read on my Kindle. Thank you, publishers!I think this was one of my first baseball romance books. I'm trying to remember if there were any others that I have read, but I don't remember reading any of them. This was a great first one to read. I haven't read any of the other books in this series but I think they can be read as a standalone because I wasn't lost in it. It does mention another character's romance, so if you do want to read them in order to know what happens you COULD do that, but reading out of order won't mess a reader up at all.Dylan and Lucy were the main characters in this book. Dylan was a hot shot baseball player and Lucy was a designer. She liked to sew all kinds of stuff. She had a spunky, spontaneous personality, and Dylan didn't. My favorite scenes between the two of them were when they played truth and dare and they ran out in the rain to dance in it. I also liked the locker room scene too. All of those moments were very cute.And Otis was a cute little brother!This book was a very cute read. I was even a little late with finishing the book in time for it to be published because I was busy taking my time with it to soak in every moment of the book. I love books that do that to me!It was definitely a five star read and I'll be going back to read the other books in this series as well. They're almost as cute as the hockey romance books through Entangled Teen.
    more
  • books are love
    July 15, 2017
    Received in exchange of a honest review.So I like that Dylan and Lucy both have a journey and both see the other wrongly at first. I like how Lucy is out to help Dylan lighten up while Lucy is learning to be a little more serious but not serious ie she has a lot on her plate but doesn’t always balance it well. Lucy has taken a lot on her plate while her dad is away and sometimes she is scatterbrained. Of everything her love for her brother above everything else so her and Dylan have a hard time Received in exchange of a honest review.So I like that Dylan and Lucy both have a journey and both see the other wrongly at first. I like how Lucy is out to help Dylan lighten up while Lucy is learning to be a little more serious but not serious ie she has a lot on her plate but doesn’t always balance it well. Lucy has taken a lot on her plate while her dad is away and sometimes she is scatterbrained. Of everything her love for her brother above everything else so her and Dylan have a hard time coming together at first. Dylan is so focused on one way and feeling that his parents don’t believe in him that he misses the bigger picture. meeting Lucy has him change his ways. He starts to loosen up and question things. But he also has such respect for Lucy and all she is doing that it warms your heart. His way with her brother is heartmelting as well. He is an overall great guy I didn’t like his stupidity when things didn’t go as he liked but he learned and rectified that awfully fast. Watching his journey and how he and his family worked on things was great as was seeing him fall for Lucy.Lucy learned things about herself as well. She also saw that not everyone is to be fit in a box. Her attraction for Dylan overrode this and she got to see that he isn’t just a jock. He is thoughtful, kind and honest. He works hard and is focused. Watching her get him out of his shell and try things was great. I loved how well they meshed together and helped one another. Both were supportive and respectful of each other. the story was sweet and fun. Seeing Dylan loosen up and Lucy learn that not everyone fits in a box while they fell in love was equally adorable and entertaining..
    more
  • Cristina (My Tiny Obsessions)
    July 7, 2017
    Read full review HEREI think I’ve outgrown most YA entangled romances… or maybe I’m not in the right mood at the moment? But the fact is, I couldn’t quite maintain any interest in this book, and it took me a lot to go through it.I’ve now read several books by this author and I quite enjoyed them, so I enjoyed the writing on this one too. It just didn’t quite grip me. I did like how different the two characters felt, but I thought something was missing there, and I couldn’t quite connect with eit Read full review HEREI think I’ve outgrown most YA entangled romances… or maybe I’m not in the right mood at the moment? But the fact is, I couldn’t quite maintain any interest in this book, and it took me a lot to go through it.I’ve now read several books by this author and I quite enjoyed them, so I enjoyed the writing on this one too. It just didn’t quite grip me. I did like how different the two characters felt, but I thought something was missing there, and I couldn’t quite connect with either Dylan or Lucy. They were plenty different though and their voices were distinct and I appreciated that.The romance just really came out of nowhere though. Like I said, they were complete opposites in term of personalities, so I was excited that they didn’t get along at first, the chemistry was there and the spark too. But after that first clash, they gave in right away to their attraction and everything was very mild from then on, and extremely fast. WAY WAY TOO FAST.I did enjoy the role of Lucy’s little brother, Otis, he had a big personality and he was so funny. But overall the book felt very meh to me, with a plot that left way too much to be desired, characters not 100% formed, and a romance that could have been great, but just didn’t get there.I’M SORRY I DIDN’T ENJOY THIS ONE MORE… IF YOU’VE LIKED THE SERIES SO FAR, I DO HOPE THE BOOK WORKS BETTER FOR YOU THAN IT DID FOR ME.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    July 2, 2017
    This is a wonderful wholesome YA read. It's a light, fun read with very little angst and some really great characters. Dylan Dennings, who had his heart crushed in a prior book, has a plan for the future. Rule 1 - no girls. Rule 2 - work hard at baseball and get his career kick started. No college plans for him. Lucy Foster has plans for the future too but dealing with right now is taking all she's got. Her father is called away on an unexpected reserve deployment leaving her with the responsibi This is a wonderful wholesome YA read. It's a light, fun read with very little angst and some really great characters. Dylan Dennings, who had his heart crushed in a prior book, has a plan for the future. Rule 1 - no girls. Rule 2 - work hard at baseball and get his career kick started. No college plans for him. Lucy Foster has plans for the future too but dealing with right now is taking all she's got. Her father is called away on an unexpected reserve deployment leaving her with the responsibility of helping her mother out in the shop and at home. Lucy is the complete opposite of Dylan. She's fun loving, spontaneous, and free spirited. He's a planner, determined, and a rule follower. Together they balance each other out but is Dylan willing to break his number 1 rule??Fun read that I definitely recommend.
    more
  • Jordan Marie
    July 3, 2017
    **I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads**The Perfectly Imperfect Match is book #3 in Kendra C. Highley's Suttonville Sentinels series and just as addictive as her second, Swinging at Love. You can easily read these as a standalone, but Swinging at Love, book #2, is totally worth a read for any YA romance fan. Highley will easily draw you in with her swoon worthy characters and keep you turning the pages all night! Book #3 follows the story of Dylan Dennings, Pit **I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads**The Perfectly Imperfect Match is book #3 in Kendra C. Highley's Suttonville Sentinels series and just as addictive as her second, Swinging at Love. You can easily read these as a standalone, but Swinging at Love, book #2, is totally worth a read for any YA romance fan. Highley will easily draw you in with her swoon worthy characters and keep you turning the pages all night! Book #3 follows the story of Dylan Dennings, Pitcher for the Suttonville Sentinels, who has his whole future mapped out and doesn't plan to let anything steer him off course. Dylan's determined to make it to the minors straight out of high school, which is why he has a "no girls" policy. Unfortunately, he keeps running into Lucy Foster, needlepoint extraordinaire, and his polar opposite, but he can't seem to get her out of his head...If you're looking for your next book for the beach look no further because Highley has a home run with her Suttonville Sentinels series. I'm absolutely loving these books! Another fantastic YA read by Kendra C. Highley! 4 stars ****
    more
  • Jackie
    July 1, 2017
    I'm so excited that netgalley and Entangled Teen gave me the opportunity to read this book! While I haven't read the other two books before this, I didn't feel like I was lost when it came to Dylan's past along with two of the other characters. I do definitely need to get my hands on the two previous books so that I can get even more of the storylines. I'd love to see Lucy and Dylan in future books if Kendra chooses to write any!While some of the romance was quick - they kissed the day after the I'm so excited that netgalley and Entangled Teen gave me the opportunity to read this book! While I haven't read the other two books before this, I didn't feel like I was lost when it came to Dylan's past along with two of the other characters. I do definitely need to get my hands on the two previous books so that I can get even more of the storylines. I'd love to see Lucy and Dylan in future books if Kendra chooses to write any!While some of the romance was quick - they kissed the day after they met - there was also a slow burn that made me want to continue reading the story and pray that these two would end up together in the end. Lucy was a little quirky but you could tell how much her family meant to her. She also had almost too much responsibility between taking care of Otis, her mother, the store, and her own projects. I can't even imagine how school would have been piled on top of all of that.I loved Dylan's character development. He went from being a guy who didn't let loose into a guy that went a little more with the flow. Lucy and him had a sort of opposites attract thing going on but they also had the important things in common. I think that's why they were able to connect so well and had such amazing chemistry! I really hope they'll last in the future and that they'll get the full happily ever after!
    more
  • Shannon
    June 29, 2017
    Another cute addition to the Suttonville Sentinels series. Lucy and Dylan are two soon-to-be high school seniors who couldn't be more different if they tried, at least on the surface. Lucy's a free spirit. She doesn't mind a little trouble, and while she does have a plan in mind for her future and is shouldering quite a bit of responsibility, she enjoys life and lives in the moment. Dylan has his life so focused and structured, he's got his future planned out to the smallest detail. There's no r Another cute addition to the Suttonville Sentinels series. Lucy and Dylan are two soon-to-be high school seniors who couldn't be more different if they tried, at least on the surface. Lucy's a free spirit. She doesn't mind a little trouble, and while she does have a plan in mind for her future and is shouldering quite a bit of responsibility, she enjoys life and lives in the moment. Dylan has his life so focused and structured, he's got his future planned out to the smallest detail. There's no room in those plans for the lively, vibrant Lucy. At least that's what he keeps trying to tell himself.While these two butt heads from the get-go, there's an instant spark of attraction as well. And it's sweet and cute, and fun, and Lucy really does get Dylan to let loose and live a little. But every time she does, and Dylan finds himself enjoying something outside of his normal, rigid, routine, he starts second guessing himself, them, and the goals he's set for his life, which ultimately causes some frustration and even a little heartache. The Perfectly Imperfect Match is really just that- a delightful little romance between two characters who, even with everything stacked against them, couldn't be more right for each other.
    more
  • Josie ~The Bookworm~
    June 27, 2017
    *I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEW*3.5 starsThis was a cute read with a swoon worthy romance. I loved Lucy's character. She was responsible and hardworking but a little crazy and a whole lot of fun, all mixed into one fun package.A fun romance, and a perfect read for when you are relaxing by the pool this summer.
    more
  • Kendra
    June 13, 2017
    Coming July 10th!
  • Sheryl
    July 17, 2017
    *4.5 stars*
  • Sara
    June 26, 2017
    Rising high school seniors Dylan and Lucy are polar opposites. Dylan is laser-focused on his future career as a professional baseball player. His plan is to play for a minor league team straight out of high school, and he has no time for college, girls, or his family's opinions on the matter. Lucy, on the other hand, is a free spirit. Since her dad is deployed and her mom is sick, she does take on a lot of responsibility for her little brother and their family business, but she likes to go with Rising high school seniors Dylan and Lucy are polar opposites. Dylan is laser-focused on his future career as a professional baseball player. His plan is to play for a minor league team straight out of high school, and he has no time for college, girls, or his family's opinions on the matter. Lucy, on the other hand, is a free spirit. Since her dad is deployed and her mom is sick, she does take on a lot of responsibility for her little brother and their family business, but she likes to go with the flow rather than plan out every minute detail of her life.With no sense of direction, Lucy ends up getting her little brother Otis to his first day of baseball camp a little late. This makes quite the negative impression on ultra-rigid, type-A coach Dylan. Lucy can feel his disdain pouring out at her, and she will not stand for his attitude. The two butt heads when they run into each other at the lake that night, but neither can deny the mutual attraction bubbling beneath their interactions.So, I'm not really sure how to feel about this one. The premise was fine, and I do love a good "opposites attract" story, but there was just something a little off with the writing. I'm going to set aside the plethora of typos in this ARC (I'm used to this with some publishers, but never Entangled, so I'm not sure what was going on there) and focus on the actual development and behavior of these characters instead.I'm all for more mature characters in young adult novels. I get so frustrated when kids who are supposed to be seventeen or eighteen years old act like they're twelve, but there's gotta be a happy medium here. This book reads more like new adult than young adult, so I had a lot of trouble believing that these kids were supposed to be in high school. Somehow, they're both very experienced and very smooth when it comes to flirting and dating. (Definitely smoother than me, and I'm in my late 20's!) They go skinny dipping, they make out in diner parking lots, they text each other about "getting horizontal" -- they're not even seniors yet! When I was their age, I panicked over going to a school dance with a boy! Maybe this is how high school is these days. I think I'm getting old.Another sign that I'm old is the fact that I constantly rolled my eyes at Dylan throughout this entire book. I mean, don't get me wrong. He's a good kid. He's smart and he's driven, but his insistence on going straight to the minor leagues out of high school rubbed me the wrong way. He was rude to anybody who mentioned that maybe he might want to have a backup plan, so everybody just entertained his delusional idea that he was some baseball god that could make a career of playing ball straight out of high school. Okay, you're the best guy on your high school team and you're coaching a summer baseball camp for nine-year-olds. So are probably hundreds of other kids across the country. Listen to some rational suggestions about your future, please.I also thought that the author was a little harsh on Lucy. She's only seventeen years old, so why does she need to have so much responsibility? She takes care of her sick mom, acts like a surrogate mother to her nine-year-old brother, runs a sewing shop, teaches sewing classes, does commission work, helps out at her best friend's farm, and teaches a really repressed teenage boy to let loose. She never has a minute to herself in this book, and I felt so bad for her. All I wanted was for her to be able to take a breather without something awful happening.I didn't love this book as much as I thought I would, but it was still a quick, enjoyable read. I knew that the author's name sounded familiar when I requested this title, but it only clicked for me a little bit ago that I've had The Bad Boy Bargain on my TBR for ages. One of these days, I'll head over to Amazon to see where it all began.I received a free advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Traci
    July 18, 2017
    Full Review and more available at https://bookplusheart.com/2017/07/18/... Received a Copy from Netgalley on behalf of Entangled Publishing in exchange for an honest review.Not too long ago I read and reviewed Swinging at Love, which was a baseball themed book. In that story there were two best friend trying to help the other one get the girl. However, it all back fired. In this story we get to see what happens to the friend that was left brokenhearted.Dylan has a plan. That plan is set and th Full Review and more available at https://bookplusheart.com/2017/07/18/... Received a Copy from Netgalley on behalf of Entangled Publishing in exchange for an honest review.Not too long ago I read and reviewed Swinging at Love, which was a baseball themed book. In that story there were two best friend trying to help the other one get the girl. However, it all back fired. In this story we get to see what happens to the friend that was left brokenhearted.Dylan has a plan. That plan is set and there is no detour from it for him. He is a pitcher and wants to play ball in the minor leagues right out of high school then get drafted to the majors. He is also known as Iceman. He is completely type A personality and doesn’t like any type of change. So when Lucy Foster walks into his life he becomes off kilter with life, but Lucy may be just the little bit of chaos that Dylan needs to find joy in his “type A Life.”Lucy has a lot on her plate. Her dad is deployed for the army, she helps her mother at their sewing store, and she helps take care of her little brother. This doesn’t include her side jobs for patrons at the store, helping her best friend with their farm, and being a chauffeur for her little brother. Lucy likes a little bit of crazy thrown into her life to help her stay sane with all her responsibilities. She likes to protest and “stick it to the man” for causes near and dear to her. When Lucy takes her brother to the baseball fields for his summer training she is blown away by the guy walking around with a stick up his butt. He is the last guy she could ever see herself with, even though he is mighty fine to look at.These two are like “oil and water.” They are each passionate in their own way and focus on their individual goals; however, they seem to be off-balance until they have each other to fill in the space were they lack personally.Dylan and Lucy relationship is not your “A Typical” teen crush book. Lucy isn’t a quiet girl who waits for the boy to come to her. She is strong, independent, and states her mind. I like her. Dylan even describes her like a flower child or hippie. These two characters need to either loosen up or get the rains pulled in on them. Lucy and Dylan helped with that.I liked Dylan in Swinging at Love. He is a very likable guy, and I am glad the author decided to tell his story. I honestly felt bad for him and the situation that occurred in book 2. In this book we get a little taste of what happened from his POV, and the pain he feels/felt through the betrayal of Tristan and Alyssa. Lucy helps mend his broken pride and heart.This book is a cute read. Has some steamy scenes that can put a smile on your face. Is is told from alternating POV’s. 4 hearts.It says it could be a stand-alone, however I would read book 2 prior to this book.The perfectly Imperfect Match by @KendraHighley @entangledpub @entangledteen #OppositesAttract #BaseBall #YoungAdultContemporary #youngLove #NewBookReview
    more
Write a review