Bullets & Bonfires
The one man she’s always wanted is now the sexy sheriff of their hometown. Battered but not broken, grad student Brianna Avery returns to the childhood home she abandoned four years ago. With her abusive ex behind bars, Bree needs the summer to relax and recover before returning to school. But her overprotective brother decides she needs someone to babysit her in his absence, and he picks the one person guaranteed to drive her nuts. She’s the one woman he can’t have. Telling Bree no has never been easy. Four years ago, Liam Hollister did it to preserve his friendship with his best friend—Brianna’s brother. Now, no matter how she tempts him, he’s determined to do the right thing. As deputy sheriff of their rural area, Liam is torn between protecting Brianna and wanting her for himself. Take a risk or lose the chance. Spending so much time alone together challenges them both. Old feelings and hurts resurface immediately. With each hot, sweaty day it’s harder to deny their attraction. It’s going to be a long, hot summer.

Bullets & Bonfires Details

TitleBullets & Bonfires
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 17th, 2017
Rating
GenreSociology, Abuse, Romance, Contemporary, Suspense

Bullets & Bonfires Review

  • Elizabeth
    July 12, 2017
    "Come here, baby girl. I got you Bree. You're safe now." Bullets and Bonfires is a beautiful forbidden romance with an intricate plot, plenty of action, and smoking hot passion! "I've idolized him, crushed on him, loved him since I was a kid." When Bree Avery returns to her small quaint home town, she just wants to feel safe. Finally breaking free from her abusive boyfriend she finds herself back in the arms of her big brother's best friend, Liam Hollister. Liam, the deputy sheriff, is full o "Come here, baby girl. I got you Bree. You're safe now." Bullets and Bonfires is a beautiful forbidden romance with an intricate plot, plenty of action, and smoking hot passion! "I've idolized him, crushed on him, loved him since I was a kid." When Bree Avery returns to her small quaint home town, she just wants to feel safe. Finally breaking free from her abusive boyfriend she finds herself back in the arms of her big brother's best friend, Liam Hollister. Liam, the deputy sheriff, is full of regret that he didn't make Bree his when he had the chance. Now that she's home, Liam has a second chance to make things right. "What he did to you. That's his shame, not yours." As Liam and Bree reconnect, old feelings hit them both like a tsunami. Both are wanting to be together but both afraid, the push and pull begin! Bree doesn't want to feel the sting of rejection, and Liam fears that if he makes his claim on Bree, he will be breaking "the bro code." But as Bree continues to find strength in Liam's arms, the passion ignites, and neither one can deny the truth that they were always meant to be. "You're mine Bree. Mine." Told in dual POV, Bullets and Bonfires offers a fresh and unique story of two people who have loved and lost and find love again. In addition to the forbidden romance element, Bree must find healing after surviving an abusive relationship and a tragic past. Liam is a strong hero who will stop at nothing to protect Bree and show her how beautiful she is inside and out. The characters are complex with their relationships and circumstances and with the addition of family ties and an overabundance of love, Bullets and Bonfires offers a beautiful blend of perfection that you will not want to miss. Fans of Ms. Lake's Lost Kings MC will be happy to see a few of their favorite characters grace the pages as the stories are creatively weaved together. With smoking hot passion, beautiful characters, and a complex plot, Bullets and Bonfires is an absolute must read for contemporary romance fans.Overall, I highly recommend Bullets and Bonfires to all of my reading friends. I have long been a fan of this author's work, and Liam is one HOT COP that everyone needs to meet! CHECK OUT the BOOK TRAILER:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Srpj...*ARC graciously provided via author in exchange for an honest review! For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:
    more
  • Autumn Lake
    June 21, 2017
    Release Blitz Sign-Up: http://bit.ly/Bullets_RSignUpCover Reveal: July 7, 2017 : http://bit.ly/BB_CRevealPre-Order:iBooks: http://bit.ly/Bullets_iBooksAmazon: http://amzn.to/2uvmTD6Kobo: http://bit.ly/Bullets_KoboB&N: http://bit.ly/Bullets_Nook
  • Tanya
    July 4, 2017
    5 AMAZING STARS.....I DONT THINK THERE IS A BOOK THAT AUTUMN JONES LAKE HAS WRITTEN THAT I JUST DIDNT DEVOUR. I AM SO INLOVE WITH THESE CHARACTERS, NOT JUST THE HERO, BUT THE HEROINE IN THIS BOOK IS JUST AMAZING.BREE IS COMING HOME AFTER A VOLATILE ATTACK BY HER BOYFRIEND, THE PSYCHO!!! SHE HASNT BEEN HOME IN YEARS AND ISNT SURE WHAT AWAITS HER. LIAM.....OH LIAM....HE IS HER BROTHERS BEST FRIEND, DEPUTY SHERIFF TO THEIR LITTLE TOWN, AND ONE HOT MAN.YEARS AGO, BREE OPENED UP TO HIM ABOUT HER FEEL 5 AMAZING STARS.....I DONT THINK THERE IS A BOOK THAT AUTUMN JONES LAKE HAS WRITTEN THAT I JUST DIDNT DEVOUR. I AM SO INLOVE WITH THESE CHARACTERS, NOT JUST THE HERO, BUT THE HEROINE IN THIS BOOK IS JUST AMAZING.BREE IS COMING HOME AFTER A VOLATILE ATTACK BY HER BOYFRIEND, THE PSYCHO!!! SHE HASNT BEEN HOME IN YEARS AND ISNT SURE WHAT AWAITS HER. LIAM.....OH LIAM....HE IS HER BROTHERS BEST FRIEND, DEPUTY SHERIFF TO THEIR LITTLE TOWN, AND ONE HOT MAN.YEARS AGO, BREE OPENED UP TO HIM ABOUT HER FEELINGS FOR HIM, AND IN THE END HE PUSHED HER AWAY, FOR THE SAKE OF FRIENDSHIP!!!!WITH BREE BACK, HES DETERMINED TO TAKE CARE OF HER AND PROTECT HER, AND HE DOES!!! THE FEELINGS ARE STILL THERE, AND THE BUILD UP BETWEEN THESE TWO HOT AND EMOTIONAL AT THE SAME TIME!!! I LOVED THE WAY LIAM TOOK CARE OF HER, HE LOOKED OUT FOR HER ANY WAY THAT HE COULD. AND HE DID IT IN A WAY THAT DIDNT DOMINATE BREE. BREE'S CHARACTER....I JUST LOVED. SHE GREW SO MUCH IN THIS BOOK, FROM SOMEONE BROKEN TO SOMEONE WHO CAN STAND ON HER FEET, AND KNOW IN HER HEAD SHE CAN TAKE CARE OF HERSELF IF SHE NEEDS TO, SHE DOSENT NEED TO FEEL WEAK ANYMORE. LIAM HELP TEACH HER THAT.....HE ALSO HELPS HER KNOW SHE CAN LEAN ON HIM AS WELL.WHEN THE SPARKS FLY BETWEEN THESE TWO, I ALMOST HAD TO QUIT READING TO COOL OFF MY KINDLE!!!! THIS IS GOING TO BE IN MY TOP READS OF 2017, A REAL STORY TO STAY WITH ME. GREAT CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT AND THE STPRY IS AMAZING!!!!
    more
  • Grace Grit
    July 3, 2017
    Bullets and Bonfires proves without a doubt this author can flawlessly write swoon-worthy, loving alpha-heroes on both sides of the law!I'm so in love with Bree and Liam's friends-to-lovers romance that I hope Bullets and Bonfires is the start of another amazing series.
    more
  • ThatTransylvanianChick
    July 7, 2017
    Bullets & Bonfires is a standalone taking place in the Lost Kings MC world. Difference is that it's on the right side of the law. Okay, so it's more of a gray area. Bree is a college graduate that had to return to the one place she vowed never to return to: home. A place that didn't have all that many warm memories to her. She could count on one hand the good things. Among them is the one person that had her heart and broke it. Liam has always wanted to be a sheriff, so he had no intention o Bullets & Bonfires is a standalone taking place in the Lost Kings MC world. Difference is that it's on the right side of the law. Okay, so it's more of a gray area. Bree is a college graduate that had to return to the one place she vowed never to return to: home. A place that didn't have all that many warm memories to her. She could count on one hand the good things. Among them is the one person that had her heart and broke it. Liam has always wanted to be a sheriff, so he had no intention of leaving their hometown. Even if it broke his heart, he had to break Bree's to make sure she would go out there, in the big world, and make something of herself. That's all he ever wanted for her, for her to fulfill her dreams. But when Bree comes back, battered and bruised, things change. Or they start changing. I really don't want to spoil this heartbreaking, yet beautiful love story. The many feels it has to offer should be experienced by everyone. I know I had them. Everything from swooning to frustration because someone was just too pigheaded and didn't want to get his head out of his derriere. I loved the relationships in this book. The tentative friendship, the reconnection at the beginning between Bree & Liam; Liam's friendship with some really amazing guys that I really hope will get their own stories told; Bree's relationship with her brother - it's a rocky one, let me tell you. I think I actually liked that one best. It's not sugarcoated. There is unfinished business between Bree and Vince, many things to be discussed. Their reunion isn't easy, it gets downright ugly, but that's life for you. Do I recommend this book? Yes, I do. Just tread carefully because it deals with some heavy and heartbreaking things. Do you need to read Ms. Lake's Lost Kings MC series first? No, though I actually highly recommend it but I may be biased because it's one of my favorites. I voluntarily agreed to read an early copy of this book. My rating is 5 stars. Beware of book funk.
    more
  • Sue
    July 8, 2017
    If you think the Lost Kings MC and biker romances are the only things that this author can do well...think again. How about a small town sheriff, the little sister of his best friend and a psycho abusive EX who wants to make everyone's life miserable? Bullets & Bonfires takes the "best friend of the older brother/forbidden romance" trope and gives it the signature amazing flare of Autumn Jones Lake and spits out an exciting, angst-filled drama that will thrill you as much as it will melt you If you think the Lost Kings MC and biker romances are the only things that this author can do well...think again. How about a small town sheriff, the little sister of his best friend and a psycho abusive EX who wants to make everyone's life miserable? Bullets & Bonfires takes the "best friend of the older brother/forbidden romance" trope and gives it the signature amazing flare of Autumn Jones Lake and spits out an exciting, angst-filled drama that will thrill you as much as it will melt your heart. I was already a huge fan of this author's work and despite this book NOT being a biker one (my favorite genre of hers) it was so well-written and playful, that I forgot what was missing and kept on reading with excitement. Bikers do have a cameo in this one but it's not the main storyline and only add to the already suspenseful and action-packed plot already in place.Highly recommend to all AJL fans and readers who love a good small town second chance romance.***** 5 ***** "she's not 'baby girl' anymore" stars
    more
  • Nothing but Sexy Books Blog
    July 11, 2017
    Liam is a swoon-worthy hero I'd definitely take a bullet for!Bullets & Bonfires is a complete standalone (although I hope the author plans for it to be a series.) It's no secret I'm a huge fan of this author's Lost Kings MC series. I wasn't skeptical that she was capable of writing something different. I just questioned why when her loving, but filthy alpha bikers are so perfect.Well, I shouldn't have doubted. From page one, you feel Liam's love, loyalty, tenderness, and attraction toward Br Liam is a swoon-worthy hero I'd definitely take a bullet for!Bullets & Bonfires is a complete standalone (although I hope the author plans for it to be a series.) It's no secret I'm a huge fan of this author's Lost Kings MC series. I wasn't skeptical that she was capable of writing something different. I just questioned why when her loving, but filthy alpha bikers are so perfect.Well, I shouldn't have doubted. From page one, you feel Liam's love, loyalty, tenderness, and attraction toward Bree. But Bree's home to recover from a nasty breakup so Liam keeps his feelings locked down tight. So tight, in fact, that he hurts Bree over and over even though all he wants to do is love her. Bullets & Bonfires expertly, respectfully, and beautifully handles some heavy topics without being preachy, over-wrought, or icky.O M G! The attraction between Bree and Liam. Their push and pull. The absolute HEAT between them is just explosive! But Liam is stubbornly loyal to his best friend, Vince, Bree's older brother. Bree is a heroine I just adored. She's a little bit broken in the beginning but she naturally progresses and transforms throughout the book. Her character growth was both stunning and occurred at a believable pace. I LOVED HER. There were so many moments where she could have acted like a brat, but she didn't. She knew what she wanted and she said so without playing games or doing any of the silly dramatic nonsense so many romance heroines engage in. I was cheering for Bree throughout the whole book.Liam is my favorite kind of alpha hero. Strong, capable, well-adjusted, funny, and dirty where it counts. A confident hero who puts the needs of the heroine above his own wants and needs. He's a good ol' hometown boy who cares deeply about the things that matter to him. His family, his friends, his hometown, his job. He's been a sheriff long enough to have seen some awful things, but it hasn't made him bitter or jaded. The one thing I love about this author is her ability to craft secondary characters you want to know more about. She does this naturally and very well. With all of her books you feel like you're being allowed to hang out with an exclusive circle of friends and Bullets & Bonfires was no exception. Normally, I couldn't care less about the parents of the hero or heroine, but I loved Liam's mom and dad. His mom was especially charming and I loved the way she cared about Bree and Vince. Liam's friends, Keegan, Jake, and Sully were hilarious. I especially loved Keegan pushing Liam to pull his head out of his ass. “I swear, if you say any variation of bro code, I’m gonna punch you in the throat. You’re too old for that nonsense.” Was one of my favorite lines in the book!This author is always good at balancing heavy subjects with humor. Some of the funniest moments came from one of my favorite characters of the Lost Kings MC series, (and son of a biscuit, I want his effing book now!) Teller. If you haven't read the Lost Kings MC series don't worry, Teller, is just another one of the interesting side characters in Bullets & Bonfires that you'll fall in love with. The subtle way Teller needles Liam every time they interact is hilarious. And the way Liam reacts to Teller is equally funny. The author walked the fine line between the "law man" and the "outlaw" very well without ever compromising Liam's integrity, which I really admired.Now, Bree's brother, Vince was a complex fellow. I found his relationship with both his sister and Liam fascinating and different from any other "brother's best friend" type of romance I've ever encountered. He was a deep well of emotion and love but carried so much hurt and anger that I really want to read more about in the future. His love for Bree was so twisted up in their painful childhood, you think he's a jerk, but he's really not. I was in absolute tears during one of their moments.And that's my final favorite thing about Bullets & Bonfires. It explored the complexities of love and relationships when your entire foundation is built on a broken childhood of pain and abuse. It took me on a journey of finding the strength to fight back and learning to trust yourself with the help of the special people who come into your life.5 Campfire Eclaire stars!
    more
  • Ashley Westphall-carr
    July 13, 2017
    All of Autumn's books are fan-freaking-tastic and this book is no exception. I hope this is the start of a new series *hint hint*. Liam is swoon-worthy and Bree is a firecracker in my opinion that is an awesome combination. Bree comes home to lick her wounds after a bad break up with her boyfriend. It's the final straw when her boyfriend beats her so bad when she tries to leave him, she wakes up two days later in the hospital. He is arrested and being held without bail. Bree doesn't know what All of Autumn's books are fan-freaking-tastic and this book is no exception. I hope this is the start of a new series *hint hint*. Liam is swoon-worthy and Bree is a firecracker in my opinion that is an awesome combination. Bree comes home to lick her wounds after a bad break up with her boyfriend. It's the final straw when her boyfriend beats her so bad when she tries to leave him, she wakes up two days later in the hospital. He is arrested and being held without bail. Bree doesn't know what to expect when she goes home because she has not stepped foot into town since she graduated high school and she shared a kiss with Liam, her brother's best friend. She just doesn't believe there is anything here to go back for. Liam has been waiting for Bree to come home ever since that debacle with her brother catching him kissing her. He believed that she was happy with her boyfriend and when all she has been through with her boyfriend Liam sees RED. As deputy sheriff of the town he puts out feelers pertaining to her ex and comes up with that he is just a privileged pr*ck that his parents always bails out. Her brother is away on assignment and Liam is staying at his house with Bree. Spending all his time with Bree is testing his control. Old feelings along with hurts are brought to the surface. Will he finally be able to make her his or will too much time have past? Will her ex leave her alone? I highly recommend this book. Please, please make this a series. Can't wait to see what Autumn puts out next. ** I voluntarily read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review **
    more
  • Athena Stephenson
    July 13, 2017
    Oh Autumn, you know just how to make me sit on the edge of my seat in anticipation and swoon at the same time! Absolutely brilliant story! Loved Bree and Liam's story so much!!
  • DJ Sakata
    July 13, 2017
    Favorite Quotes:Every place is safe, until it isn’t…So far I’ve written three tickets. Almost enough to fill the quota the department denies it has for the day.Nothing before you even exists for me anymore…My Review:I was stunned when I realized this was not a Lost Kings book, as I had settled in expecting to feel the revving of Harleys. Alas, it was not to be. It appears that Ms. Lake has taken a detour from her favorite MC and chose to look at the world from the other side of a badge for a cha Favorite Quotes:Every place is safe, until it isn’t…So far I’ve written three tickets. Almost enough to fill the quota the department denies it has for the day.Nothing before you even exists for me anymore…My Review:I was stunned when I realized this was not a Lost Kings book, as I had settled in expecting to feel the revving of Harleys. Alas, it was not to be. It appears that Ms. Lake has taken a detour from her favorite MC and chose to look at the world from the other side of a badge for a change, and I for one, enjoyed the view she created. So shift your expectations from outlaws to a man in uniform. Bullets and Bonfires provided an angsty and steamy second chance at romance storyline for a couple who completely lost out on their first chance for love - other than a teenage kiss. Bree and Liam’s second chance arrived after several years apart and many unfortunate mistakes later. Written from a dual POV, the story testily seesawed back and forth, as the disturbing events of Bree’s life after she had left for college and then met someone new were revealed in chilling fragments. Unlike with laundry detergent ads, new does not always mean improved. But for Ms. Lake’s Lost King fans, I bid you to stay sharp, as she does toss us a few little Teller treats with a handful of crossover scenes. As one of her characters suggested, "Celebrate the little victories."
    more
  • Mel
    July 14, 2017
    Wow! I am a big fan of Autumn's writing. I am so used to reading about the Lost Kings and I wasn't sure if I was going to like Bullets and Bonfires but I loved it! Bree is escaping a violent relationship. Liam is her brothers best friend. This book is hot and off the charts. I absolutely loved it.
    more
  • Konny
    July 12, 2017
    Bullets & Bonfires by Autumn Jones Lake is a standalone, full-length romance novel.Meet Liam and Bree.Brianna - Bree Avery, gradstudent, is back in her small home town. Her violent ex is behind bars. But her overprotective brother Vince picks his best friend Liam to protect Bree.Liam Hollister is the towns deputy sheriff. Hes torn between protecting Bree and wanting her.There are challenges, old crushes, and hurt feelings that resurface.Bullets & Bonfires kept me very well entertained, I Bullets & Bonfires by Autumn Jones Lake is a standalone, full-length romance novel.Meet Liam and Bree.Brianna - Bree Avery, gradstudent, is back in her small home town. Her violent ex is behind bars. But her overprotective brother Vince picks his best friend Liam to protect Bree.Liam Hollister is the towns deputy sheriff. He´s torn between protecting Bree and wanting her.There are challenges, old crushes, and hurt feelings that resurface.Bullets & Bonfires kept me very well entertained, I loved the story, the writing and the characters.This book contains everything that I love in a good read. There is danger, great feelings and love. And I loved the beautiful HEA. I give 4,5 stars and thank you Autumn Jones Lake.
    more
  • Ashley
    July 13, 2017
    There are no spoilers in my review. I wasn't sure what to expect when Autumn announced she was releasing a non loki book. I knew I was gonna read it and give it a chance because when one of your top 5 authors releases a new book or series that what you should do. I loved Liam and Bree's story and can't wait for more. After a bad breakup Bree goes home to "lick her wounds" and regroup. Liam gets a call from his best friend asking him to let his sister in his house and to watch over her until he c There are no spoilers in my review. I wasn't sure what to expect when Autumn announced she was releasing a non loki book. I knew I was gonna read it and give it a chance because when one of your top 5 authors releases a new book or series that what you should do. I loved Liam and Bree's story and can't wait for more. After a bad breakup Bree goes home to "lick her wounds" and regroup. Liam gets a call from his best friend asking him to let his sister in his house and to watch over her until he can get home. You might even recognize a few characters. Thank you Autumn for writing another amazing series!
    more
  • Tammy
    July 14, 2017
    What can I say to encourage you to buy this book?!! It's worth every penny, it has ALL "the feels", and you don't have to read the Lost King series to understand the story (although it's an AWESOME series and highly addictive!!!) But it was nice to see Teller and Murphy pop up and make an appearance!! I LOVED this book and it was so easy to fall into the story and become emotionally invested!! Although I was SO frustrated with Bree and Liam I wanted to scream, I also laughed out loud (I was read What can I say to encourage you to buy this book?!! It's worth every penny, it has ALL "the feels", and you don't have to read the Lost King series to understand the story (although it's an AWESOME series and highly addictive!!!) But it was nice to see Teller and Murphy pop up and make an appearance!! I LOVED this book and it was so easy to fall into the story and become emotionally invested!! Although I was SO frustrated with Bree and Liam I wanted to scream, I also laughed out loud (I was reading outside so I looked around to make sure I didn't sound crazy to anyone.) I also cried to the point where I had to stop reading to collect myself. This story was so good I didn't want it to end!! Not to mention the scorching hot sex!! I cannot recommend this book enough!! It's absolutely fabulous and I promise you that you won't be sorry you bought it!! Enjoy!!
    more
  • debbie mason
    July 14, 2017
    I was very fortunate to receive an ARC in return for an honest review. I must admit I am a LOKI addict so I am always excited to read anything Autumn writes and I was not disappointed with Bullets and Bonfires! I feel in love with Bree. She returns to her hometown after her boyfriend put her in the hospital and he ends up in jail. Liam is sheriff in her hometown as well as her brother's best friend. Autumn does an outstanding job writing her hero on the side of the law! He is definitely an over I was very fortunate to receive an ARC in return for an honest review. I must admit I am a LOKI addict so I am always excited to read anything Autumn writes and I was not disappointed with Bullets and Bonfires! I feel in love with Bree. She returns to her hometown after her boyfriend put her in the hospital and he ends up in jail. Liam is sheriff in her hometown as well as her brother's best friend. Autumn does an outstanding job writing her hero on the side of the law! He is definitely an over the top alpha who not only fights for the woman he loves but willingly gives up something he really cares about for her! Swoon worthy for sure!! Liam and Bree's story is supposed to be a standalone book but I certainly hope we see more of them....their wedding and her brother Vince I hope gets a story. I always love reuniting with any of the LOKI and Marcel or Teller has a role here! Thanks Autumn for another 5* book!
    more
  • Jessica Alcazar
    July 17, 2017
    I’m a huge fan of Autumn’s work. I have been since I read her first book in the Lost King MC series. She does an exceptional job unfolding a story for you. No stone is ever left unturned. This is her first step outside of the Lost Kings and I am super stoked to announce ... well fucking done! I’m not gonna lie, I was weary at first when this book came up for review because she was stepping onto a new stone and that’s not always worked out well for other authors I’ve revered .... so I was a lit I’m a huge fan of Autumn’s work. I have been since I read her first book in the Lost King MC series. She does an exceptional job unfolding a story for you. No stone is ever left unturned. This is her first step outside of the Lost Kings and I am super stoked to announce ... well fucking done! I’m not gonna lie, I was weary at first when this book came up for review because she was stepping onto a new stone and that’s not always worked out well for other authors I’ve revered .... so I was a little scared. Well, that was stupid because the woman has mad skills!The journey/story of Liam Hollister and Brianna Avery is a combination of second chance, friends to lovers and best friend sister tropes. These tropes have been done a million times, but Autumn still managed to make it fresh and unique and totally captivating. I really only stopped reading to eat and sleep! There are also two journeys going on here, imo. You see, Bree has come home. Home to a place that never felt like home to her. She has personal baggage outside the history/attraction she and Liam share. So yes, Liam and Bree have a journey but Bree herself has one as well. She has demons to slay, if you will. There is a ton of emotion in this book. Your heart will break. You will get angry. You will be frustrated. However, you’re gonna smile a lot as well and your heart will sing! Autumn took the time to develop Liam and Bree properly. Even as short as this book was (and believe me, for Autumn, this is short), she still didn’t miss a beat with this story-line. She’s a wizard, I tell ya!Pay close attention when you read this book because first impressions are not always what a person’s true persona is. Especially Vince. He’s a secondary character but OH SO IMPORTANT. I can only hope we get to not only read more of him in the future, but ALL the secondary characters as well :)I’ll leave you with this ... read this book because it’s exceptionally well written. Read it because the characters are true and believable. Read it because it is just as much sweet as it is sexy ;) It’s a story of growth, coming home, listening to your heart and living the life you were meant to live!Copy provided for blog tour review
    more
  • Jan
    July 16, 2017
    Bullets & Bonfires is a good slow burn romance (pardon the pun)Bree is fleeing a domestic violence relationship, while her abuser is behind bars Bree goes home to stay at her brothers or what was her childhood home only her brother is away on business and puts his best friend Liam in charge of looking after Bree. Bree and Liam have grown up together, his parents have also been her parents coming from a home with no parental guide, a mom who always had different boyfriends her brother Liam wa Bullets & Bonfires is a good slow burn romance (pardon the pun)Bree is fleeing a domestic violence relationship, while her abuser is behind bars Bree goes home to stay at her brothers or what was her childhood home only her brother is away on business and puts his best friend Liam in charge of looking after Bree. Bree and Liam have grown up together, his parents have also been her parents coming from a home with no parental guide, a mom who always had different boyfriends her brother Liam was the one always taking care of her. Bree left for higher education as soon as she could get away from her home town where she always felt judged because of her mother,her upbringing and wanted to get away and so as soon and as she graduated she moved in with her new boyfriend. Bree was slowly entering into an abusive relationship and before she knew it, it was to late.Returning home battered and bruised, Liam her childhood crush became her protector. Liam had always loved Bree but sticking to the Bro-code would never act on his feelings because Bree was his best friends sister. I loved both characters Bree was a strong person dispite her dv relationship and Autumn Jones Lake delivered Bree's character brilliantly, Bree was broken but not defeated. Liam is a cop, he's overprotective of Bree hot, swoonworthy but not overbearing. When Liam finally lets the bro-code burn there's some hot chemistry and sizzling scenes. A great read that I thoroughly enjoyed, told in dual pov's and leads to a heartwarming hea. I love Autumn Jones Lake's MC series her characters are always captivating and this standalone was a refreshing change although I do love my biker stories too.*Bullets & Bonfires does contain a scene of domestic violence not in graphic detail more the damage caused and does not contain rape. Arc gratefully received for review purposes http://www.Bbbf-sizzlereads-bestbookb...
    more
  • Shawna Wood (A Girl and Her Books)
    July 14, 2017
    This book is yet another reason why I adore Autumn Jones Lake! She writes such real and honest characters, that is so easy to feel like these characters are real and your friends. There is nothing I love better then a alpha good guys and this book had them in spades!Autumn took on a tough subject that hits too close to home, domestic abuse. This is always a tough issue for an author to write and I though Autumn did a brilliant job in portraying a women who is trapped was trapped in a vicious cyc This book is yet another reason why I adore Autumn Jones Lake! She writes such real and honest characters, that is so easy to feel like these characters are real and your friends. There is nothing I love better then a alpha good guys and this book had them in spades!Autumn took on a tough subject that hits too close to home, domestic abuse. This is always a tough issue for an author to write and I though Autumn did a brilliant job in portraying a women who is trapped was trapped in a vicious cycle and is now trying to reclaim her life. Bree was just an amazing. Her fight to put the past behind her and get her life back on track was so authentic. She had the strength to leave and start over, but still was still hurting from the abuse she suffered. We were taking on a journey to Bree's healing and it wasn't a path she did alone. She allowed others to help her regain her control and sense of safety, which allowed her to never be a victim again. Bree's biggest help was Liam!! Can I say my good guy loving heart speed up every time this man walked on the page. This man loved Bree and would do anything for her, but he needed to take his own journey in order to be with her. Liam let others come between him and Bree in the past and he had to learn to let go of his own guilt and fear so he can finally claim Bree. I also have to give a shout out to to Liams' friends! They had some of the best scenes and I always found myself smiling when they were around. I hope we get books all of these guy, especially Keegan!***********I received a review copy from the author********
    more
  • Barbara
    July 13, 2017
    Oh what an amazing story! It has so many qualities that I love in a good it. It’s super well written with characters that are believable and that you can relate to. It has humor, romance, alpha men, strong women and best of all a meaningful storyline that will leave you thinking as well as loving the author’s outlook on serious issues.Bree is returning to her hometown and her brother’s house after she was released from hospital after being abused by her ex. She is returning hoping people won’t l Oh what an amazing story! It has so many qualities that I love in a good it. It’s super well written with characters that are believable and that you can relate to. It has humor, romance, alpha men, strong women and best of all a meaningful storyline that will leave you thinking as well as loving the author’s outlook on serious issues.Bree is returning to her hometown and her brother’s house after she was released from hospital after being abused by her ex. She is returning hoping people won’t look down on her for being weak. Her brother is working out of town so he asks his best, Liam, to look out for her. Little does her brother know Liam has had the hot’s for Bree since they were kids. Liam watching over Bree is both comforting and difficult (for both of them) but Liam is determined to keep it professional (bro code and all that nonsense). But can he? And is Bree even ready for any type of social life after what she’s been through? As for Bree, she is thoroughly convinced Liam just see’s her as a little sister, a fact she hates but is determined to live with. But can she? On top of that, can Bree stop being afraid of every noise and being alone? And what about her Ex and his rich snobby family? Do they retaliate and come looking for Bree or write her as a bad penny?So many questions are rolled up into this phenomenal book! A book I highly recommend and I truly hope the author continues with the series; it’s a total winner in this reader’s humble opinion.
    more
  • Myra Ann
    July 15, 2017
    Bree is forced to come home after a bad break up following a violent relationship. Liam is her brother's best friend and has always been as protective of her as her brother, Vince. Tasked with looking out for her until her brother returns from work, feelings from years ago creep up on them. This book is simply amazing! The story is very well written. The characters are so easy to connect to and fall in love with. I love the fact that Ms. Lake took a subject as painful and heartbreaking as domest Bree is forced to come home after a bad break up following a violent relationship. Liam is her brother's best friend and has always been as protective of her as her brother, Vince. Tasked with looking out for her until her brother returns from work, feelings from years ago creep up on them. This book is simply amazing! The story is very well written. The characters are so easy to connect to and fall in love with. I love the fact that Ms. Lake took a subject as painful and heartbreaking as domestic violence and built a heroine like Bree from it's pain. She found her strength. She found her courage. And in the end she found what everyone deserves ... unconditional love and protection from a man willing to give up everything for her. I truly hope this is the beginning of a new series from Autumn Jokes Lake. We had some old friends show up from the Lost Kings MC series (my absolute favorite series!!!) but we also met several new people who definitely deserve some more love! Vince, Sully, Jake, Keegan, Brady, Aubrey, and Emily all have special place in my heart now! I look forward to reading more of their stories!! *hint* *hint* *hint* :-)
    more
  • Joni Watson
    July 13, 2017
    I received an ARC for this book for my honest review. I really enjoyed this read from Autumn Jones Lake. I liked Liam. He wasn't over the top with his alpha-ness! Brianna was a great character too. I had originally thought this was a novella while we were waiting for the next Lost Kings book. It is not. I see potentially for other books with several characters in this book! Highly recommended this book!
    more
  • Dana
    July 14, 2017
    Friends that what Liam and Bree are…..Liam is her brother’s best friend….but she has always crushed on him.Bree’s life has taken a downhill turn that warrants her returning to her home town, to her brother and to Liam. Liam was the perfect ALPHA to Bree’s demeanor. I was a little unsure of Bree’s manner but she proved me wrong! Bullets and Bonfires was my first read from the author, I believe Ms. Lake was able to take an all too common situation and make a woman strong.I recommend this book, but Friends that what Liam and Bree are…..Liam is her brother’s best friend….but she has always crushed on him.Bree’s life has taken a downhill turn that warrants her returning to her home town, to her brother and to Liam. Liam was the perfect ALPHA to Bree’s demeanor. I was a little unsure of Bree’s manner but she proved me wrong! Bullets and Bonfires was my first read from the author, I believe Ms. Lake was able to take an all too common situation and make a woman strong.I recommend this book, but warn there may be triggers for some. Great story!
    more
  • Heroesinbooks
    July 22, 2017
    5 SOLID GOLD SPARKLING STARS- I LOVED IT!I had enormous expectations for this book. AJL is one of my absolute top 5 authors and I have relished every book of hers that I've read. The Lost Kings MC series is my favourite series EVER so, yeah, lofty expectations over here.... I was not disappointed. Ms Lake knocked it out of the ball park again by writing a book that had a very different vibe in some respects to her other work. Brianna (Bree) Avery and Liam Hollister (Christ, even his name is hot) 5 SOLID GOLD SPARKLING STARS- I LOVED IT!I had enormous expectations for this book. AJL is one of my absolute top 5 authors and I have relished every book of hers that I've read. The Lost Kings MC series is my favourite series EVER so, yeah, lofty expectations over here.... I was not disappointed. Ms Lake knocked it out of the ball park again by writing a book that had a very different vibe in some respects to her other work. Brianna (Bree) Avery and Liam Hollister (Christ, even his name is hot), are childhood friends. Liam is best friends with Bree's big brother Vince and the siblings spent lots of time in their childhood staying at Liam's house because their own home life was so grim. Liam's parents were who Bree and Vince would have wished for their own. (I adored Liam's parents- they were such warm and positive characters) Bree and Liam have secret crushes on each other but Liam won't break 'bro code' and make a move on her. Bree does make the move but is rejected and that solidifies her idea to escape their home town and make a new life as a College student. She near enough cuts ties and moves on....into the hands of a monster. If domestic violence is a trigger for you then be aware it is a key theme in this book. It is handled sensitively and well but it is very present. Bree comes home and Liam is the person Vince asks to protect his sister as he is away.The attraction is undeniable.The heat is building. The danger is hiding in the shadows.Liam is a stellar hero. He is alpha in all the very best ways and he absolutely adores Bree. Always has. Always will. He is patient, kind, sexy and is everything a hero should be. I loved watching his character develop and seeing how he dealt with his conflicting emotions- falling more in love with Bree, trying to protect her whilst helping her regain her confidence and keep her safe. He gets it wrong sometimes but he learns from that . And he is LOYAL to the nth degree. I have read a few books lately where the hero has been with other women (graphically) which takes me out of my comfort zone but I like to push my limits sometimes. But right here and now I needed a hero who met all my expectations and Liam Hollister did it. Ticked. Every. Box. No other woman drama. Just absolute desire, love and attraction to one woman. Bree is a superbly written heroine. Her strength is there and I loved seeing her heal. She is also focused on Liam but is aware that she needs to recover and theirs is a slow burn build up to what becomes a white hot explosion of chemistry and a love that you know will last a lifetime. Fabulous secondary characters. I found myself beaming at my kindle when Teller and Murphy from LOKI swaggered their way onto the pages. *sighs*Please Ms Lake, pleeeeaaase can we have more books around Vince, Sully , Jake , Keegan...all the guys from "Hot guy island". If you love friends to lovers, big brother's best friends and hot cop stories I suggest you hit the 1-click button and snap this up. Equally if you want a love story with passion, tense drama,humour, a seriously cute dog and plenty of other hot guys in it and an ending that makes your heart happy then read this book. HEA? YesCheating? NoTriggers? Domestic Abuse
    more
  • MillsyLovesBooks
    July 17, 2017
    Autumn Jones Lake is a new to me author i new nothing of her previous work. Well not anymore i've already downloaded her Lost Kings MC Series just from the small mention in this read. Bullets & Bonfires is a standalone and isn't a MC read they are just mentioned and yes it got me that intrigued i just couldn't wait. Bree is reluctantly going back home after fleeing a violent relationship, while her Ex is behind bars. Going home for Bree brings along a lot of mixed emotions her childhood home Autumn Jones Lake is a new to me author i new nothing of her previous work. Well not anymore i've already downloaded her Lost Kings MC Series just from the small mention in this read. Bullets & Bonfires is a standalone and isn't a MC read they are just mentioned and yes it got me that intrigued i just couldn't wait. Bree is reluctantly going back home after fleeing a violent relationship, while her Ex is behind bars. Going home for Bree brings along a lot of mixed emotions her childhood home wasn't always a happy place. Her happiest times were always with her brother and his best friend Liam. Over the years her feelings grew into more for Liam but after being caught kissing by her brother he kept her in the friends zone due to the "Bro Code". So when her brother tells her he's away with work and that Liam is going to watch out for her she can't help but feel old emotions resurfacing of what could have been. Liam has always had a connection with Bree his feelings did change for her. He never saw her as the little sister she thought he did. But sticking to the Bro-code he would never act on his feelings because Bree was his best friends sister. Knowing that someone has hurt her and he wasn't there to protect her. He finds his resolve disappearing with every minute he spends with her. I liked the fact that though Bree had been a victim of abuse, she still somehow found the strength to pick up the pieces and keep moving forward. The abuse she suffered through she didn't let define her, giving us a strong heroine. Liam was fiercely loyal, protective, and swoon worthy! He stepped up right when she needed him the most. Not wanting to push her, helping her heal and rebuild her confidence. It was some what of a slow build up the push and pull between the two of them as they fought their attraction to one another was as exciting as it was frustrating at times. I just wanted to smack them both upside the head and shout open your eyes you're perfect together. But that only stood to give us a perfect blend of drama, suspense, and romance. Bullets & Bonfires was a great second chance romance.
    more
  • Connie
    July 26, 2017
    WOW! Awesome story! Bree swore she would never go back home because of all of the painful memories. But here she is, sporting a black eye; a split, bloody lip and dark purple bruises all over her body, courtesy of Chad, her psycho ex-boyfriend. Vince, Bree's big protective brother, has asked his best friend, Deputy Sheriff Liam, to look out for Bree while she stays at their childhood home. The last thing Bree needs is for Liam to babysit her. Why? Because she has been in love with Liam since hig WOW! Awesome story! Bree swore she would never go back home because of all of the painful memories. But here she is, sporting a black eye; a split, bloody lip and dark purple bruises all over her body, courtesy of Chad, her psycho ex-boyfriend. Vince, Bree's big protective brother, has asked his best friend, Deputy Sheriff Liam, to look out for Bree while she stays at their childhood home. The last thing Bree needs is for Liam to babysit her. Why? Because she has been in love with Liam since high school. Bree hates that Liam has to see her at her worse. Liam wants to kill Chad for what he did to Bree. Liam throws down when Chad comes looking for what he considers his. What a shocking ending!
    more
  • April Symes
    July 17, 2017
    Bullets & Bonfires is a standalone taking place in the Lost Kings MC world. Oh what a story that is happening in that MC World.Bree is a college graduate returning to a place that she told herself that she never would. HOME. It was a place that doesn’t hold good memories at all. It was a place that includes the memories of the one person that she gave her heart to and he completely broke it. Unfortunately she is returning home after being attacked by her ex to a place because her brother fee Bullets & Bonfires is a standalone taking place in the Lost Kings MC world. Oh what a story that is happening in that MC World.Bree is a college graduate returning to a place that she told herself that she never would. HOME. It was a place that doesn’t hold good memories at all. It was a place that includes the memories of the one person that she gave her heart to and he completely broke it. Unfortunately she is returning home after being attacked by her ex to a place because her brother feels she would be safer at home, this is only the place that brings back bad memories.Liam is the deputy sheriff in their home town and is the man who broke Bree’s heart. There is a reason why he did that and it is explained in the story. He isn’t the bad man that Bree believes him to be and his reasons, although seemed right at the time, were really silly and stupid in the long run. Now that Bree is back and he finds out why, he is determined to protect her from her psycho ex. The feelings are still there between this- the passions and the love and his Liam didn’t try to dominate her but show her his true feelings that have always been there plus protect her.Bree, what can I say about her? She is someone who has gone thru so much yet she didn’t really let it get her down. She grew a lot in this book –she was broken yet she didn’t let that keep her down much and she got back up to learn to stand on her feet. It just took a certain someone to lend a helping hand and showing her she could do it. This was at times, a heartbreaking love story. It’s a friends to lovers love story, one that has many layers that are uncovered as we are able to see Liam and Bree come back together and experience their 2nd chance at love. Also in this book, we are able to read about Bree and her brother’s relationship. Its complicated-not all sweet and lovey. Its hard and rocky. There is unfinished business between Bree and Vince and their reunion is rough and yes, it wasn’t pretty when they got together yet that is life when it comes to families. It can get ugly but you work on things like families do when they don’t get along. There are some heavy content in this story , so do not expect this to be sweetness and light. It will be heavy and emotional. I loved reading this story because it was so well-written and there is a good balance of humor in this book. I loved the secondary cast of characters in this story. This story explores complexities of love and relationships when your entire foundation is built on a broken childhood of pain and abuse. This is a journey of finding your strength within yourself , knowing when to fight back and having a well of good friends there to help you when you are drowning that can help pick you up and give you a helping hand. This was such a awesome read, I cannot wait for more from this author. Rating: 4.8 stars *****"I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Kelley - Romancing the Pages
    July 15, 2017
    When it comes to Autumn Jones Lake, I love her for Lost Kings MC ( I am holding tight for Z’s story, just saying.) Then I find that the next release is from the world of Lost Kings but not the Kings themselves. As always if I love an author, they could write a repair manual and I would buy it, read it, and enjoy it. So bring on Bullets and Bonfires!Liam is content to live in his small town and loves his job as a sheriff. Bree wanted out of town as soon as she could and at 18, she left. Around 5 When it comes to Autumn Jones Lake, I love her for Lost Kings MC ( I am holding tight for Z’s story, just saying.) Then I find that the next release is from the world of Lost Kings but not the Kings themselves. As always if I love an author, they could write a repair manual and I would buy it, read it, and enjoy it. So bring on Bullets and Bonfires!Liam is content to live in his small town and loves his job as a sheriff. Bree wanted out of town as soon as she could and at 18, she left. Around 5 years later, they are both still holding onto regrets that they both believe that they should have and shouldn’t have done. Now, Bree is back in town and with her brother out of town, Liam is in the role of big brother but his thoughts are far from brotherly affection. First of all, I am always one to cheer on the bad boy and this time I find myself on the right side of the law. I loved Liam’s good guy alpha vibe. He truly believes in doing right without crossing any lines except when it comes to Bree. There is no line that won’t be crossed when it comes to his promise to protect her or make her happy, even if he has to put up with Marcel (Teller). The same Teller from the Lost Kings series and within this story we see a difference glimpse of him that we hadn’t seen before. Afraid of being like her mother, Bree steps up and pushes herself forward when it seems like everything's falling apart. She is nothing like her mother but just someone who was blind for far too long. I have no idea what it would feel like in her shoes but I do know that many women will and can identify with her character. With that said, there are some possible trigger moments in reference to domestic abuse. Bullets and Bonfires has a steady pace that seems to go a lot faster because you are rushing to see what happens next. In true Autumn fashion, I finished this way too soon. I love the world of the Lost Kings and even stepping outside that circle to what surrounds the club pulled me so tightly in. Having glimpses of those that were familiar make it seem like you were still in the family. Liam has the cliche of don’t date, don’t look, just don’t see his best friend’s sister as anything but a friend. Let’s not get started on his whole idea of “bro code”. Their story is a lot of push and pull till the rope finally snaps and wow those steamy moments they share. Those that love a little taboo of his best friend’s sister or just a love story that will pull you in and let reality melt away will fall in love with Liam and Bree. Romancing The Pagesromancingthepages.blogspot.com
    more
  • ConfessionsofaRomanceJunkie
    July 16, 2017
    CoaRJ review by: Candice Marie When one of my absolute favorite tropes is written by one of my all-time favorite authors, I can guarantee I am in bookworm heaven! The moment I found out about this book I was anxious to get my greedy little hands on it, and let me tell you it did not disappoint! I loved the fact that though Bree had been through something traumatic, she still somehow found the strength to pick up the pieces and keep moving forward. She suffered yes, but she wasn’t completely brok CoaRJ review by: Candice Marie When one of my absolute favorite tropes is written by one of my all-time favorite authors, I can guarantee I am in bookworm heaven! The moment I found out about this book I was anxious to get my greedy little hands on it, and let me tell you it did not disappoint! I loved the fact that though Bree had been through something traumatic, she still somehow found the strength to pick up the pieces and keep moving forward. She suffered yes, but she wasn’t completely broken whereas a lot of other women would have been, and there’s nothing I love more than a strong heroine! Liam was fiercely loyal, protective, and swoon worthy! He swooped in right when she needed him the most, and helped her heal and rebuild her confidence. The buildup and push and pull between the two of them as they fought their attraction to one another was as exciting as it was frustrating. Liam was so stubborn in his resistance over his feelings for Bree that at times I wished I could shake him by his shoulders while screaming some sense into him!When they finally, FINALLY come together it is melt your kindle explosive and so perfect that you can’t help but to sigh, smile, and wish for a Liam of your very own. This book was a perfect blend of drama, suspense, and romance. It’s a story of healing after losing yourself, strength, loyalty, and second chances. Throw in an amazing cast of side characters, and a few appearances by two certain delicious Lost Kings and this is what you call a 5-star read! ***I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Maria Angie Mendoza
    July 16, 2017
    Wow! What a treat. This read is a totally different departure from Autumn's other books and I'm so proud to have had the chance to review.Poignant, heart wrenching and heartwarming story of friends to lovers story.What makes this story truly unique are the great characters of Liam and Bree and the detours they took in order to get to their happily ever after. Additionally we have some cameo appearances from my favorite New York State outlaw MC as they interact with law abiding sheriff Liam!Liam Wow! What a treat. This read is a totally different departure from Autumn's other books and I'm so proud to have had the chance to review.Poignant, heart wrenching and heartwarming story of friends to lovers story.What makes this story truly unique are the great characters of Liam and Bree and the detours they took in order to get to their happily ever after. Additionally we have some cameo appearances from my favorite New York State outlaw MC as they interact with law abiding sheriff Liam!Liam and Bree have known each other forever and she's always had strong feelings for Liam. But Liam had other ideas.Fast forward, and twists of fate where the stars align and they see each other again. A lot happened to Bree since she last saw Liam. That transformation changed everything that mattered to her and helped their characters grow and mature. Their characters were so well developed and likable, they shined as they struggled with the horrors of her past creeping to the present. Discovering what matters gave this read that touchof must read status!
    more
  • Momma Hellmouth
    July 17, 2017
    My Review of Bullets & Bonfires by Autumn Jones LakeMy Rating 5 Bonfire Éclair StarsWhen I mysteriously received this beauty to read, I dropped the book I was reading to devour this one, and as always, I’m never disappointed in what Autumn writes.This story has sexual tension a mile long, Bree & Liam are true friends that you can’t wait for them to cross the line. I secretly hope that this isn’t the first book and hopefully will become another highly acclaimed series like her Lost Kings My Review of Bullets & Bonfires by Autumn Jones LakeMy Rating 5 Bonfire Éclair StarsWhen I mysteriously received this beauty to read, I dropped the book I was reading to devour this one, and as always, I’m never disappointed in what Autumn writes.This story has sexual tension a mile long, Bree & Liam are true friends that you can’t wait for them to cross the line. I secretly hope that this isn’t the first book and hopefully will become another highly acclaimed series like her Lost Kings MC, which we get a little of them mixed in this amazing read only this one is just a hair on the right side of the law. Bree and Liam have history and many miscommunications which make for an incredible journey to love. I highly recommend this book and anything that Ms. Lake writes, as you’ll become one with the characters and it’s an escape you won’t want to return from! Bravo Autumn!!** I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from Author **
    more
Write a review