My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York
Journey now to Niagara Falls, New York, of 1870 where...She avoids danger at all costs. He makes his living by rushing headlong into it.   Outwardly, Adele Linley’s trip to visit her American cousins is nothing more than a summer vacation. In reality, she’s the daughter of an English aristocrat with barely a penny to her name seeking a rich American husband.  Having grown up in an overcrowded orphanage, Drew Dawson is determined to make a name for himself. He’ll take any honest job to provide for his sister—even crossing Niagara Falls by tightrope.   On a sightseeing trip to the Falls, Adele meets several eligible suitors. Incredibly wealthy and pompous, Franklin Conway takes an immediate fancy to her. But Adele would truly like to marry for love.  When she encounters the mysterious Drew in the garden, Adele is confused by her feelings for someone who is everything she is NOT looking for. Will they both stay the course they have chosen for themselves? More from My Heart Belongs in Series...My Heart Belongs in Fort Bliss: Priscilla's Reveille by Erica Vetsch (January 2017)My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains: Carmella's Quandary by Susan Page Davis (March 2017)My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho: Rebecca's Plight by Susanne Dietze (May 2017)My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude's Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels (July 2017)My Heart Belongs in the Shenandoah Valley: Lily's Dilemma by Andrea Boeshaar (September 2017)My Heart Belongs in Castle Gate, Utah: Leanna's Choice by Angie Dicken (November 2017) 

My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York Details

TitleMy Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York
Author
ReleaseJan 1st, 2018
PublisherBarbour Books
ISBN-139781683223412
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction

My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York Review

  • Julie Carpenter
    January 1, 1970
    Life and choices made are always interesting when you start to see the consequences unravel. Not always will those consequences be hard or bad, but can be very rewarding and good. As a reader, we get to see a much bigger picture of those consequences than a character does. Those moments when we cringe (or at least I do) when a character makes a choice and we just know that what's coming is not going to be good. We can see it coming a mile away and want to yell out to them and warn them but it wo Life and choices made are always interesting when you start to see the consequences unravel. Not always will those consequences be hard or bad, but can be very rewarding and good. As a reader, we get to see a much bigger picture of those consequences than a character does. Those moments when we cringe (or at least I do) when a character makes a choice and we just know that what's coming is not going to be good. We can see it coming a mile away and want to yell out to them and warn them but it won't do any good, so we stay silent (well sometimes I yell at my books and the characters *shrugs shoulders and blushes*). The characters are introduced, the stage is set, the initial problem disclosed and everything is set in motion. Enter new problems, choices, feelings and emotions, consequences, and love. The reader sees it all coming and gets to enjoy watching it all unfold with the twists and turns and unexpected fixes and conclusions.Adele must leave England and come to America to find a wealthy suitor. One whom she can marry and who will hopefully save her familial estate in England with his wealth. It all sounds so simple and easy and yet she doesn't account into the equation her feelings, her heart. As she meets men and becomes acquainted with them she learns that her heart must be listened to. Yet to do so would mean to leave all her dreams behind. What should she choose? Which direction should she turn? Whom should she trust?Drew? Franklin? Her aunt and uncle? Her drunk and gambling brother? All people she should love but many who have let her down. She wants to trust and love.I enjoyed the beginning and the staging of the characters. Their introduction, their faults, their virtues, all mixed together. I will say that I skimmed through several chapters after all our characters had been introduced. I'm not sure if it was that I was extremely exhausted and just wanted to get to the angst of the problem and start seeing the resolution or if I was bored. If I had to guess, I would say it was the exhaustion. I really have been looking forward to reading this book and when I tried to read it, I'd find myself falling asleep from way too much happening in life. So I jumped ahead to where the angst really was built up in hopes that staying awake to enjoy the book would win out over exhaustion. It did.I didn't expect some of the twists and turns from the middle of the book on. I was shocked and felt the emotions of Adele as she too was shocked and struggling with trying to accept the consequences of her choices. Her love and sacrifice as she learned that she can't control everything but must make amends of the wrongs she caused were well written. The love story was very sweet. I loved many of the conversations between Adele and her love interest near the end. And the ending! It was great! I didn't see that coming! I thought for sure she would be stuck--ok very vague there and on purpose because I don't want to spoil it for you. This was a great addition to the My Heart Belongs series. Each one a stand alone that can be enjoyed in any order, or pick and choose which one appeals to you the most. All of them are Christian Fiction and have talk about God and trusting Him and turning our lives over to Him.Content: Clean. Some mild religious talk but nothing preachy.I received a copy from the publisher, Barbour publishing, via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions in the review are my own.Happy Reading!!!
    more
  • Marlene
    January 1, 1970
    " 'A man would have to be an idiot to do something like that again without it being a sure thing.'It only took a few minutes, more bills coming from Conway's pocketbook and ending up in Drew's hands, some preliminary conversation, for Drew to become exactly that.An idiot." My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York: Adele's Journey (2018, Barbour) by Amanda Barratt, is a Christian historical romance mostly set in 1870 Niagara Falls, New York. This book is seventh in the My Heart Belongs seri " 'A man would have to be an idiot to do something like that again without it being a sure thing.'It only took a few minutes, more bills coming from Conway's pocketbook and ending up in Drew's hands, some preliminary conversation, for Drew to become exactly that.An idiot." My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York: Adele's Journey (2018, Barbour) by Amanda Barratt, is a Christian historical romance mostly set in 1870 Niagara Falls, New York. This book is seventh in the My Heart Belongs series, in which the stories are linked thematically, not by any shared characters or plot. Thus each book is a standalone story. I chose this book as my NetGalley selection for December 2017 because I visit Niagara Falls annually, albeit on the Canadian side, and thought it would be fun to read a book set in a place I'm pretty familiar with. It didn't hurt that I previously enjoyed My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains and My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island . I think it's worth noting that this is Ms. Barratt's first published full-length novel, though she has published novella-length stories in several of Barbour's popular collections to date. Congratulations to her for that!Rating: 4 starsThe heroine: Adele Linley, from Derbyshire, England, is trying to rescue her family's impoverished estate and finances by looking for a wealthy suitor in New York.The hero: Former street kid Drew Dawson is a funambulist (tightrope walker) undertaking the daring stunt of crossing Niagara Falls. His sister is an invalid, and they are trying to make ends (just barely) meet. Drew is also trying to save up for a doctor to help his sister regain her mobility, but is making almost no headway.The daredevils of Niagara FallsWhen my family visits Niagara Falls in Canada each year, I am always fascinated by a small gallery of pictures in one of the hotels which feature some of the historical daredevils of the Falls. Goodness. I have absolutely no understanding of such behavior. But it's fascinating. It may surprise some to learn that more than one of the daredevils was a woman! Below is a link to a good (but not overly long) list of the daredevils, what they did, and whether they were successful, as well as a few photographs and a bit of information about the aftermath of their stunts. The daredevils of Niagra Falls throughout history.The link below is to a Smithsonian article about funambulist Charles Blondin, who was referenced in Ms. Barratt's book several times. This article is longer than the previous webpage, but it made my draw drop several times. Just… Wow. The feats of Charles Blondin at Niagara FallsChristian elements: *I'm always happy to see a Christian author dedicate a book to Jesus/God, which gives credit where it is due right off the bat!*"Did the God who created such a wondrous sight actually care twopence about the problems of one simple girl like herself? Somehow, Adele doubted it." Drew has the stronger faith in the story.Is it clean/chaste? Yes. There is a mention of a bar that has ladies of the night in it. The reader meets the head lady.What I liked: *My favorite character may have been Delany, the butler with the Texan drawl. He was just wonderful! I was pretty curious about him.*The first meeting between Drew and Adele was unique and atypical! In fact, several characteristics and events of this story were definitely unconventional for a romance novel, which is fun. I made several predictions which turned out to be untrue.What I didn’t like: *I didn't really enjoy some poor choices on the part of both the hero and the heroine - particularly the heroine. They felt potentially realistic, but it made me unhappy. I know I'm not one for an angsty read and many people are. However, when I am reading a romance, I want to love the hero and heroine. *Ironically (in view of my tastes), with the realism of the book, I really think there should have been more despair. There certainly was some angst to go with the grit in this story, but it felt too light.*For those in the anti-love-triangle camp, there is one in this story. However, it's not what I consider a true love triangle, so it didn't bother me as much as it would have otherwise.***********The bottom line: This Christian romance with flawed characters is definitely not a piece of fluff. It's a well-written tale with the ambiance of Niagara Falls. I recommend this book to fans of historical Christian fiction with some grit. It made me think of Nancy Moser's The Pattern Artist . I look forward to reading another novella by this author, and plan to read The Most Eligible Bachelor Romance Collection . I have to admit to being a bit wary of reading another full novel by Ms. Barratt because I like a fluffier read.I received this book for free from NetGalley and the publisher, and am offering my unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Heidi Robbins (Heidi Reads...)
    January 1, 1970
    Adele is a bit of a hot mess. She puts on a good façade, but her desperate circumstances lead her to desperate measures, and even more desperate choices. I appreciated the setting and learning a little history of Niagara Falls, but there was something about the story that prevented me from fully enjoying it. Perhaps it was Adele's duplicity and hypocrisy- taking the moral high ground over the tightrope walkers "exploiting" the Falls, while she pursues Mr. Conway for his wealth even though she ca Adele is a bit of a hot mess. She puts on a good façade, but her desperate circumstances lead her to desperate measures, and even more desperate choices. I appreciated the setting and learning a little history of Niagara Falls, but there was something about the story that prevented me from fully enjoying it. Perhaps it was Adele's duplicity and hypocrisy- taking the moral high ground over the tightrope walkers "exploiting" the Falls, while she pursues Mr. Conway for his wealth even though she can't stand him. I liked Drew and his devotion to his invalid sister and her care, but felt like there was a lack of chemistry between him and Adele, even thought they kept coming across each other coincidentally in order to bring two people from separate classes together. Drew's sister Hope was sweet and I would have liked to see more of her in the book. I was curious to see how the author would bring these two star-crossed lovers together in the end, and it was a bumpy ride- Adele's choices getting worse and worse until her final attempt to redeem the consequences of her betrayal. There was a spiritual message of trusting God but even though Adele went through the thought process, her actions proved that she still relied on herself and herself alone. While the ending included an epilogue, there were several loose threads that never got tied up, leaving me feeling dissatisfied.(I received a complimentary copy of the book; all opinions in this review are my own)
    more
  • Maureen Timerman
    January 1, 1970
    Surprises abound in this New York State read, and really didn’t see a lot that happened coming, yes, I was really blind-sided.We see both sides of the spectrum here, from the ultra-rich to the ultra-poor, and a bit in between, and we wear the shoes of both sides.Our heroine is a young lady bent on saving her families estate in England by finding a rich American husband. The author gives us a deep look into her and her family. While she really surprised me by her acts, I wasn’t sure at times if I Surprises abound in this New York State read, and really didn’t see a lot that happened coming, yes, I was really blind-sided.We see both sides of the spectrum here, from the ultra-rich to the ultra-poor, and a bit in between, and we wear the shoes of both sides.Our heroine is a young lady bent on saving her families estate in England by finding a rich American husband. The author gives us a deep look into her and her family. While she really surprised me by her acts, I wasn’t sure at times if I really liked her.Our male counterpart has a big heart for God and family, but really risks his life in order to make money. His heart is in the right place, but really didn’t think is head was on straight, but he put his faith first, and made me love him.This one is a very different read, and I urge you to keep reading, it gets better and better.I received this book through Net Galley and Barbour Publishing and was not required to give a positive review
    more
  • Krista Mc
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed this story! I've visited Niagara Falls several times and enjoyed being taken back to that location through the impressions and experiences of the story characters. My favorite character was the heroine, Adele. Although privileged and wealthy, she turned out to be the opposite of a china doll in her thinking and outlook. She could read people well, and she could keep her standards and principles while living a life of opulence and ease.The story contains some original plot twists I really enjoyed this story! I've visited Niagara Falls several times and enjoyed being taken back to that location through the impressions and experiences of the story characters. My favorite character was the heroine, Adele. Although privileged and wealthy, she turned out to be the opposite of a china doll in her thinking and outlook. She could read people well, and she could keep her standards and principles while living a life of opulence and ease.The story contains some original plot twists which brought some surprises! Adele leaves her home in England and travels to America to seek a worthy and wealthy man to help restore her family's failing estate. As she navigates American culture, she realizes that finding one man with all of the desired qualities is going to be difficult, perhaps impossible, to find. Adele finds herself on another journey--a journey of navigating life choices and evaluating her faith in God. Life's circumstances get too big to be able to control, and she finds herself in over her head. When even her own strength and resources are spent, she must decide where and to whom she will turn for help.I recommend this as an enjoyable read and congratulate the author, Amanda Barratt, upon its release.
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    An English beauty on the hunt for a rich husband to save her family from financial ruin, Adele travels to Buffalo, New York, the home of the magnificent Niagara Falls. A chance meeting with a man sets her goal off kilter, as he isn't the secure type. Willing to risk his life to save his sister, Drew hopes to start life on a more secure footing after his next stunt.A good setting for a historic romance, especially one with characters from opposite ends of society, mingling with the crowds of peop An English beauty on the hunt for a rich husband to save her family from financial ruin, Adele travels to Buffalo, New York, the home of the magnificent Niagara Falls. A chance meeting with a man sets her goal off kilter, as he isn't the secure type. Willing to risk his life to save his sister, Drew hopes to start life on a more secure footing after his next stunt.A good setting for a historic romance, especially one with characters from opposite ends of society, mingling with the crowds of people at the famous falls. The history of the area and its attraction for daredevils doing stunts was interesting. An index with more about Charles Blondin, referred to in the story, would have been helpful. The main characters both carry the weight of responsibility for their family's future welfare, yet Drew alone has faith in God's help and provision. Both main characters seemed to be headed towards a painful end with the choices they made. The lesson of trusting in God, waiting on Him as it says in Isaiah 40, brought hope to the story. "...they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength..."A clean historic romance with a faith theme. 3.5 stars(An ebook was provided by NetGalley and the publisher. All opinions are my own.)
    more
  • Sandra McKeller
    January 1, 1970
    I don't write many reviews, because I usually don't have time. But when I finished "My Heart Belongs In Niagara Falls New York" I had to tell people what I thought, because I LOVED it! This story charmed me. Most historical fiction is really cliché and has really lame conflict, but not this story! It kept me on the edge of my seat. I really related with Adele, and even though some of her decisions weren't right, I could understand her reason for making them. I was so happy when she came to Chris I don't write many reviews, because I usually don't have time. But when I finished "My Heart Belongs In Niagara Falls New York" I had to tell people what I thought, because I LOVED it! This story charmed me. Most historical fiction is really cliché and has really lame conflict, but not this story! It kept me on the edge of my seat. I really related with Adele, and even though some of her decisions weren't right, I could understand her reason for making them. I was so happy when she came to Christ, and it was a very powerful salvation message.I also really liked the hero. Drew remoinded me a lot of Charlie Lionheart from the "Lady and the Lionheart" They were both very kind and serving and unselfish. If you liked that book, you'll really like this one too. Thanks to Barbour and NetGalley for letting me read it early!
    more
  • Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars Amanda Barratt’s debut novel is a sweet romance as well as being a powerful story of trusting God – and, what happens when we take matters into our own hands instead of waiting on Him.I can totally relate to Adele Linley & her need to fix what’s wrong and be in the one in charge. In fact, I think most woman can appreciate that aspect of Adele’s character, though perhaps (hopefully) not to the extremes that she takes it. She is sincere and her heart is good; it’s just the execution 4.5 stars Amanda Barratt’s debut novel is a sweet romance as well as being a powerful story of trusting God – and, what happens when we take matters into our own hands instead of waiting on Him.I can totally relate to Adele Linley & her need to fix what’s wrong and be in the one in charge. In fact, I think most woman can appreciate that aspect of Adele’s character, though perhaps (hopefully) not to the extremes that she takes it. She is sincere and her heart is good; it’s just the execution of her plans that gets her (and others) into trouble. Part of this stems from her belief that God is uncaring and disengaged and, when viewed from that foggy lens, no wonder she thinks it’s all up to her. Misguided though she may be, Adele is a genuinely likable heroine with some tough lessons to learn.And then there’s Drew, who is swoony and heroic…. and also has some tough lessons to learn. His sacrificial love for his sister brought tears to my eyes more than once, and his faith in Jesus warmed my heart as it rubbed off on Adele. Did he make all the right choices? Nope. And I love that. Because those of us who love Jesus still aren’t perfect, and we so often forget that we don’t have to do this life on our own. While Adele reflects the mindset of people we might encounter in the everyday, Drew is a realistic reflection of our own hearts and actions. Now, I have to give both Adele and Drew some credit here: They don’t sit idly by and wait for someone else to solve their problems. They jump in with both feet and do what needs doing, no matter the cost to themselves. And while this is certainly admirable, they both miss out at first on the blessing of letting God take over – of letting His far-and-above dreams for us play out in His timing. As the consequences for their actions play out on the page, the love story that God – and the author – weaves in their life is tender and uplifting.Bottom Line: My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York by Amanda Barratt is touching and romantic, and it depicts an intriguing time in the history of the Falls. Additionally, the juxtaposition of poverty and wealth – both materially and emotionally – is a very compelling contrast, one that Barratt writes beautifully. Adele and Drew are layered and intriguing, separately as well as together, and their story is one that will hit you in all the feels. Death-defying acts, sacrificial love, gentle romance and well-researched history… This is a great debut, and I can’t wait to read more from this author!(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book)first seen at Reading Is My SuperPower
    more
  • Jessica Baker (A Baker's Perspective)
    January 1, 1970
    Isn't it funny how we go about life looking for things to be done our way and then God totally changes our course of action? Then He goes a step further and turns it into something more beautiful and wonderful then we ever dreamed? That is exactly what happened to Adele and Drew in the latest in the My Heart Belong series. Both characters had a plan, what they thought was a good one, until God intervened and brought them something even better.The thing I loved most about these characters is they Isn't it funny how we go about life looking for things to be done our way and then God totally changes our course of action? Then He goes a step further and turns it into something more beautiful and wonderful then we ever dreamed? That is exactly what happened to Adele and Drew in the latest in the My Heart Belong series. Both characters had a plan, what they thought was a good one, until God intervened and brought them something even better.The thing I loved most about these characters is they way they handled the curveballs that life threw at them. They didn't really take too much time to wallow in self pity. Instead, they both devised plans, maybe not the best ones but plans nonetheless, that would help their families in their time of need. They were strong, courageous, and everything I wanted them to be. It was so easy to like Adele and Drew, so easy to admire their bravery, and even easier to love them as their relationship grew.Ms. Barratt easily weaves the story of Jesus throughout the pages of this book. Several times I found myself wondering what a non-believer might think if reading this book. Would they catch the little subtleties that Ms. Barratt has placed so delicately in the storyline, or would they understand when bold statements were made? If nothing else, they will definitely know who God is by the end of the book, and I just pray it speaks to their hearts!I encourage you to take a trip to 1870's Niagara Falls. Open a book that will show you love, romance, fun, and even daredevil activities. You won't be sorry! I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Brittany
    January 1, 1970
    This novel takes a hard look at what can happen when a person seeks to control the circumstances around them, all on their own, without trusting in the Lord. Adele followed the worldly idea of, “God helps those who help themselves.” Poor Adele. She tried so hard to control the events around her and viewed God as an uncaring master. She had quite the journey in this story, one of pain and loss, uncertainty and fear, love and hope, and she eventually learned of the true nature of God.I really like This novel takes a hard look at what can happen when a person seeks to control the circumstances around them, all on their own, without trusting in the Lord. Adele followed the worldly idea of, “God helps those who help themselves.” Poor Adele. She tried so hard to control the events around her and viewed God as an uncaring master. She had quite the journey in this story, one of pain and loss, uncertainty and fear, love and hope, and she eventually learned of the true nature of God.I really liked Drew. Even though I felt that he was trying to take on too dangerous a task by crossing the falls to help his sister, I could respect his trust in God and the honorable man he was. I really liked the characters of Drew, Hope, and Delaney. In fact, this story was filled with interesting characters and situations. It was a fun and interesting novel.I received a complimentary copy of this book and was under no obligation to post a review.You can read this review on my blog:https://brittreadsfiction.wordpress.c...
    more
  • Vicky Sluiter
    January 1, 1970
    This next book in the “My Heart Belongs” series is truly worth reading. Author Amanda Barratt fully brings her characters to life and the Niagara Falls book has it all. Suspense, tension, romance, and learning to trust in God. Layer upon layer is revealed in this story as the characters grow.It took be awhile to write a review because I honestly can’t tell you what I enjoyed most about Adele’s Journey. The story was so skillfully crafted that everything flowed together beautifully. All of the fe This next book in the “My Heart Belongs” series is truly worth reading. Author Amanda Barratt fully brings her characters to life and the Niagara Falls book has it all. Suspense, tension, romance, and learning to trust in God. Layer upon layer is revealed in this story as the characters grow.It took be awhile to write a review because I honestly can’t tell you what I enjoyed most about Adele’s Journey. The story was so skillfully crafted that everything flowed together beautifully. All of the feelings were there, and I had to process at the end of the story. Adele is willing to sacrifice all for her family and I had to ask myself if I would be able to do that. Drew also sacrifices all for his family, but in a different way. While the two are at different points on the social economical scale, they are continually drawn together, making for an interesting tale.While there is a lot of history added to this book, it is by no means dry or boring. Seriously, I couldn’t put it down and I hope to see more from Amanda Barratt.I received a complimentary copy of this book but was not required to leave a review.
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 1, 1970
    "No matter how great the tempest, it always turns to gentle rain."Adele Linley's future hangs in the balance, much as her father's once had, although foolishness and the force of gravity had exacted his demise. Travelling from England to New York under the guise of visiting her aunt and uncle, Adele's real purpose is slightly underhanded, but necessary, if her family is to escape destitution; she must marry well. " . . . if he died . . then what? Hope would lose a brother. The Falls, claim a vic "No matter how great the tempest, it always turns to gentle rain."Adele Linley's future hangs in the balance, much as her father's once had, although foolishness and the force of gravity had exacted his demise. Travelling from England to New York under the guise of visiting her aunt and uncle, Adele's real purpose is slightly underhanded, but necessary, if her family is to escape destitution; she must marry well. " . . . if he died . . then what? Hope would lose a brother. The Falls, claim a victim." Drew Dawson is a skilled funambulist, ready to perform one of the most daring feats known to man; walking a tight rope over Niagara Falls. His paycheck for such a performance will provide his wheelchair bound sister with access to the medical care that she so desperately needs and enough leftover funds to secure a more pleasant living space for the two of them. He just never expected to meet a lovely English heiress, who has also caught the eye of his employer, in the process. When Adele's determination to chart her own course collides with terrible tragedy, can she discover that "ultimately He is our help and our only hope is in Him"? This beautifully written story resounds with what remains; faith, hope, and love, and the greatest of these is love. I received an advance copy of this book from the author and publisher. The opinions stated are entirely my own.
    more
  • Tracey
    January 1, 1970
    I've enjoyed Amanda Barratt's writing in a number of Barbour Collections, so I was really looking forward to her first individual book, My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York: Adele's Journey. Adele comes to America in pursuit of a wealthy husband to help her family out of their financial woes in England. She meets two men, Franklin Conway, a wealthy investor, and Drew Dawson, a high wire walker. While Franklin can solve her money problems, she's drawn to the poor but full of faith, Drew. A I've enjoyed Amanda Barratt's writing in a number of Barbour Collections, so I was really looking forward to her first individual book, My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York: Adele's Journey. Adele comes to America in pursuit of a wealthy husband to help her family out of their financial woes in England. She meets two men, Franklin Conway, a wealthy investor, and Drew Dawson, a high wire walker. While Franklin can solve her money problems, she's drawn to the poor but full of faith, Drew. Adele doesn't put any trust in God initially, and some of the decisions she made had me cringing. I found it hard to like her because of some of her decisions. Conway is attracted to Adele and hopes to marry her. Drew, although not perfect, always behaved admirably and with integrity. His love and devotion to his sister Hope, was charming. Adele has to decide which is more important to her, financial security of finding true love. Choices, choices!The ending was excellent, pointing the way to trust in God as the ultimate choice come what may. I just wish there had been fewer struggles which left me frustrated at times, and a few more enjoyable moments of happiness for the couple along the way.I appreciate Barbour Books making a copy of this book available for review.
    more
  • Lori Parrish
    January 1, 1970
    I write reviews because I want people to know my love of these books. I loved this book especially. I went to Niagra Falls when I was a kid in the 70's. I remember how awed I was when I first seen the falls! It's a truly amazing place! I'd love to go back.For those who haven't seen them I recommend it. I believe they're a part of the 7 wonders of the world. I loved this story also because of the adventure it held and how some parts of the scenes made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. I I write reviews because I want people to know my love of these books. I loved this book especially. I went to Niagra Falls when I was a kid in the 70's. I remember how awed I was when I first seen the falls! It's a truly amazing place! I'd love to go back.For those who haven't seen them I recommend it. I believe they're a part of the 7 wonders of the world. I loved this story also because of the adventure it held and how some parts of the scenes made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. I love love breath taking plots like that!!I can't wait for y'all to see what I'm talking about!!I know in a review you're supposed to tell what you don't like about the book but I couldn't find anything wrong with one!!I received this book for free. I strongly recommend this book All opinions are my own
    more
  • Beverly
    January 1, 1970
    Not too many of us are familiar with the term funambulist. It's an old term, but it is still in use even today. Perhaps we would be more familiar with tight rope walker. And we may even remember a recent figure making news across the world, Nik Wallenda. He has set many records for even his famous family. Like one of the main characters in this book, Nik Wallenda crossed Niagara Falls.The main character in this book, Drew Dawson, unlike his modern counterpart, did not have the opportunity to mak Not too many of us are familiar with the term funambulist. It's an old term, but it is still in use even today. Perhaps we would be more familiar with tight rope walker. And we may even remember a recent figure making news across the world, Nik Wallenda. He has set many records for even his famous family. Like one of the main characters in this book, Nik Wallenda crossed Niagara Falls.The main character in this book, Drew Dawson, unlike his modern counterpart, did not have the opportunity to make elaborate safety precautions when he walked across the tightrope stretched across Niagara Falls. Why did he do such a risky thing? Why did he put his life on the line, so to speak? Was he trying to imitate the famous Charles Blondin, funambulist extraordinaire of his time? Was he hero worshipping? One thing I like most about Drew Dawson was his similarity to Nik Wallenda as they walked the line. They prayed as they walked. I like how the author created this similarity in her book, My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls New York . For Drew, it was not for the name or the fame that comes with the deed. It was out of necessity, for his sister's well being. She was in a wheelchair because of an accident years before. That tells me a lot about the character of this man. It makes him a hero in my eyes. Adele Louise Linley did not fully appreciate this quality in Drew when she first met him. In fact, she didn't know what he did for a living until awhile into their friendship. In the meantime, Adele was in the United States to perform an unsavory duty for her mother and brother living in England. She was in the states to marry for money to save her ancestral home. Even though she was drawn to Drew, he did not have the money she needed to save her home. The fact that things didn't work out for either of them the way they had planned was an opportunity for God to work His will for a better plan in their lives. In this lovely romance, Drew and Adele are drawn to each other, but are at cross purposes. They could see no way out of their individual dilemma's by a close association with each other. So Adele continued to dazzle American men with her delicate allure while Drew continued his path to create a safe haven for his sister using what skills he had available to him--tightrope walking. Yet their paths would cross from time to time. The plot in this book was tight, intelligent and fraught with tension. Two very determined people were set in their way to fix what was wrong with their lives regardless of the consequences. It was intriguing how God worked in two opposite worlds, the world of affluence and the world of deprivation, to answer some desperate prayers. In spite of this, my favorite part of the entire story is Adele's wedding. I won't tell you more, but for me it packed a wallop of a punch to the story line. And with it came a very satisfying ending. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary review copy of this book from NetGalley on behalf of Barbour Publishing, Inc. I was not required to write a review, positive or otherwise. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
    more
  • Lynda Edwards
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes life is hard and doesn’t make sense. We don’t understand why God would allow something to happen but we have to choose to trust Him or try it our own way. At several critical points in this novel, that is exactly what the main characters face—and it makes for compelling reading, even when we may not agree with how they handle the choice.The writing is beautiful and I really enjoy the style; the metaphors painted by the author enhance the action and dialogue, giving insight into the cha Sometimes life is hard and doesn’t make sense. We don’t understand why God would allow something to happen but we have to choose to trust Him or try it our own way. At several critical points in this novel, that is exactly what the main characters face—and it makes for compelling reading, even when we may not agree with how they handle the choice.The writing is beautiful and I really enjoy the style; the metaphors painted by the author enhance the action and dialogue, giving insight into the characters and how they view the situations before them. Both Adele and Drew face seemingly insurmountable obstacles with lack of money at the foundation, though they choose to follow different paths to attain a solution. This novel contains a twist that I never saw coming and both the action and the outcome were hard to process at times, even knowing it is a fictional story. The author gives us a lot of realism in what happens as a result of poor choices, so it is hard to imagine how we could possibly get to a happy ending. If anything, that makes this book unpredictable and fresh, leaving me turning the pages to see what would happen.The need we all have to love and be loved is also of paramount importance in this story, to express our innermost feelings and share the struggles of daily life. And while we can try to fit people into that position, this book does a great job of showing that only God can ultimately and completely fill that void.At points a difficult read because of the realistic harm inflicted by poor choices, there is also a generous amount of hope in realizing that, no matter how badly we’ve messed up, God can bring beauty from the ashes. That redemption alone makes this a worthwhile read and one I recommend for adults who enjoy historical fiction. I look forward to enjoying more books by this author.I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author but was under no obligation to post a review. The opinions expressed are both honest and my own.
    more
  • Lisa Johnson
    January 1, 1970
    Title: My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New YorkAuthor: Amanda BarrattPages: 256Year: 2018Publisher: Barbour PublishingMy rating is 5 out of 5 stars.The series, “My Heart Belongs in” has other installments written by other authors readers will enjoy. Each novel is superbly written with various female lead characters in different times and situations, and each are such an enjoyment to read.It would be difficult for me to pick out a favorite one, though I must say this one had me guessing how it Title: My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New YorkAuthor: Amanda BarrattPages: 256Year: 2018Publisher: Barbour PublishingMy rating is 5 out of 5 stars.The series, “My Heart Belongs in” has other installments written by other authors readers will enjoy. Each novel is superbly written with various female lead characters in different times and situations, and each are such an enjoyment to read.It would be difficult for me to pick out a favorite one, though I must say this one had me guessing how it was going end, and the tension in the book was quite palpable! My heart at times was in my throat waiting to see how Adele Linley was going to get herself out of a situation or how her past might keep her from reconnecting to God.For so much of the novel it seemed that Adele would prefer leaning on her own schemes to accomplish what she thought best. When she met Drew Dawson, she gained a worthy friend who shared his faith, belief and walk with God through all seasons of his life. However, Adele was going to marry a man who looked at her as his property and cared not one wit for another human being beyond himself.Would Adele finally reconnect with God and allow Him to take the reins of her life? Would Drew’s nemesis gain what he considered the “upper-hand”, leaving Drew in poverty and without hope? Would Adele’s fractured family ever be made whole again?Well, to discover the answers and enjoy the journey, grab a copy of the book and sit back to enjoy the tale! I thoroughly enjoyed the book as well as the other stories written and shared with audiences. Don’t take my word for it, instead, read this book or one of the others and let me know what you thought of the novel!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.”
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    I enjoyed this literary visit to the Niagara Falls. I haven’t been to the Falls since I was a teenager and it was a nice change of pace to read about it, even if it was during a different time. We have two characters, Adele Linley, an aristocrat from England, and Drew Dawson an orphan who both are in need of money for different reasons. They both have set determined courses of getting said money, and in my opinion neither one seems safe or secure. Adele has come to find a rich American husband, I enjoyed this literary visit to the Niagara Falls. I haven’t been to the Falls since I was a teenager and it was a nice change of pace to read about it, even if it was during a different time. We have two characters, Adele Linley, an aristocrat from England, and Drew Dawson an orphan who both are in need of money for different reasons. They both have set determined courses of getting said money, and in my opinion neither one seems safe or secure. Adele has come to find a rich American husband, not for love but for money. And Drew is planning on walking on a tightrope across the falls.While reading this book I kept thinking about those, funambulist (a new word for me) and what could possibly inspire them to walk across the dangerous falls on a tightrope where one mistake and only one could mean death. This book had a palpable tension as the day was coming closer for Drew to take that fateful walk. I felt as Adele did that there had to be another way. The feelings of entrapment in their circumstances was felt and this book took some surprising turns in regards to that walk and Adele contemplating marriage to a questionable man she did not love. This was an interesting story of two strangers who become friends and without planning for it fall in love with each other.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.https://pausefortales.blogspot.com/20...
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    Captivating and emotional!!! My Heart Belongs in NiagaraFalls is a well written, deftly described book. You will hearthe rush of the Falls, feel drops of splashing water as if youaccompanied the characters to the Falls.Intriguing, well plotted book with twists and turns that holdthe reader mesmerized.Adele Linley leaves her English home to travel abroad withthe facade of visiting her relatives. She plots to live withthem while looking for a rich man to marry who will provide for her and her Engl Captivating and emotional!!! My Heart Belongs in NiagaraFalls is a well written, deftly described book. You will hearthe rush of the Falls, feel drops of splashing water as if youaccompanied the characters to the Falls.Intriguing, well plotted book with twists and turns that holdthe reader mesmerized.Adele Linley leaves her English home to travel abroad withthe facade of visiting her relatives. She plots to live withthem while looking for a rich man to marry who will provide for her and her English Home where her mother resides.Drew Dawson grew up in an orphanage. He cares for hersister who is wheelchair bound. They live in a society characterized by human misery, as squalor, oppression and danger around every bend. He made his mark by tightropingacross Niagara Falls. Now his main backer has scheduled for Drew to cross again.This story is power packed with emotion and family issues, fear to love again, loss and grieving, forgiveness, personal growth, friendship and love.The story shows with faith in God everything will work out at just the right moment in time for the good of all.Highly recommend this story. Be sure to read!!I volunteered to read My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls. Thanks to Barbour Publishing for a complimentary copy of the book.My opinion is my own and under no obligation to be posted.
    more
  • Jessica Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    If you're used to simple plots that aren't challenging, and a story-line that leaves you with the feeling it couldn't actually happen, then this isn't the book for you. But I thank Barbour so much for putting this author and this story into their My Heart Belongs Series, because this particular story was actually one you could really see happening and it wasn't all shallowed up with things just to make it a Christian book. Both of the main characters, (especially Adele) were typical of real peop If you're used to simple plots that aren't challenging, and a story-line that leaves you with the feeling it couldn't actually happen, then this isn't the book for you. But I thank Barbour so much for putting this author and this story into their My Heart Belongs Series, because this particular story was actually one you could really see happening and it wasn't all shallowed up with things just to make it a Christian book. Both of the main characters, (especially Adele) were typical of real people of the era. They were caught between what the world expected of them in that time frame (women who were garnered as suitable marriage partners based on their looks or what money they brought to the marriage, and others who had to marry for money) and what their hearts desired. And what their hearts desired were the things we take for granted today, such as being able to choose a husband based on love and not having to do jobs you'd rather not, even ones that might end your life in the process. Plus, as an added benefit, this book is filled with twists and turns that are not your typical slow paced Christian romance, and it is filled with historical details and accuracy and lots of events you don't typically find in Christian fiction. For instance, the main character being a funambulist. I loved this unusual occupation, and also the references to other famous ones of the era, like Blondin. You can tell this author really knows her history and she wove it into a great plot and unforgettable characters. The ending was so heartfelt and so touching that it made me wish there was a sequel. The secondary characters were also very well done. This book was a real winner in the My Heart Belongs line. Thanks, Barbour!!
    more
  • Andrea
    January 1, 1970
    5 Stars! LOVED this book! I loved the hero Drew Dawson. Yes, he was a funambulist but he was also a good, honest, hardworking, trustworthy, responsible man. He loved his sister and would do anything to take care of her. Always scrimping by, trying to save enough money for her to see better doctors. I had a bit harder time loving the heroine, Adele Linley. She caused me a bit of stress for a while. She was trying to do the right thing, save her family and their home. She was just going about it t 5 Stars! LOVED this book! I loved the hero Drew Dawson. Yes, he was a funambulist but he was also a good, honest, hardworking, trustworthy, responsible man. He loved his sister and would do anything to take care of her. Always scrimping by, trying to save enough money for her to see better doctors. I had a bit harder time loving the heroine, Adele Linley. She caused me a bit of stress for a while. She was trying to do the right thing, save her family and their home. She was just going about it the wrong way. I actually yelled at her, out loud, a couple of times. She did not listen though. (Husband thinks I'm crazy) I did find myself loving her by the end. This book is filled with so many unexpected twists and turns, I could not put my Kindle down until I reached the last page. If you like fully developed characters, surprises, and unpredictable outcomes then this book is for you! I love this authors' writing style. I've read several of her novellas and look forward to reading more full-length novels from her.
    more
  • C.E. Hart
    January 1, 1970
    My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York: Adele’s Journey is an enjoyable historical from the My Heart Belongs Series. It’s fun to open a book and visit another time (1800s), another way of life. Adele has quite a culture shock when she leaves England for New York. She is on a quest to find a rich husband, in hopes of saving her childhood home.Drew is a loving, handsome, yet risky man, willing to do whatever it takes to help his sister Hope. His background and money situation is opposite of w My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York: Adele’s Journey is an enjoyable historical from the My Heart Belongs Series. It’s fun to open a book and visit another time (1800s), another way of life. Adele has quite a culture shock when she leaves England for New York. She is on a quest to find a rich husband, in hopes of saving her childhood home.Drew is a loving, handsome, yet risky man, willing to do whatever it takes to help his sister Hope. His background and money situation is opposite of what Adele is looking for.Having visited Niagara Falls, I could easily place myself in the setting of this story. And Ms. Barratt portrayed the 1800s so vibrantly; the story took me to earlier days. I enjoyed sinking into the era and watching Adele’s story unfold. Another quick read from this entertaining and meaningful series, with great pacing, a spiritual thread, and a satisfying end. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour and NetGalley.
    more
  • Bhriv
    January 1, 1970
    My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York, written by Amanda Barratt, is a fun read!I was drawn to it because the location to begin with. I've never been to Niagra and would love to go someday. My favorite character, Drew. What a guy! I'd love for my girls to meet a guy like Drew. Very dependable. Always caring. Lived a God-honoring life and still had to deal with problems. My least favorite character, Adele. She made some poor choices. She wasn't where she could be spiritually so I understand My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York, written by Amanda Barratt, is a fun read!I was drawn to it because the location to begin with. I've never been to Niagra and would love to go someday. My favorite character, Drew. What a guy! I'd love for my girls to meet a guy like Drew. Very dependable. Always caring. Lived a God-honoring life and still had to deal with problems. My least favorite character, Adele. She made some poor choices. She wasn't where she could be spiritually so I understand the reason she made poor choices, but I didn't like her nearly as much as Drew. I'd love to see a book about Hope!I was given a copy of this book by the publisher. All thoughts and comments were my own.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    January 1, 1970
    'When trouble comes to call, it didn't knock politely and wait to be shown to the parlor. It battered the door, broke down the hinges and pushed its way where it wasn't wanted.'Amanda Barratt is a new face to watch in inspirational fiction. She has written a wonderfully deep and inspiring story of adversity, hope and faith with this novel. Her characters are very well thought out and her plot is well done. Be sure to watch what this young novelist brings next.*I thank the publisher and author fo 'When trouble comes to call, it didn't knock politely and wait to be shown to the parlor. It battered the door, broke down the hinges and pushed its way where it wasn't wanted.'Amanda Barratt is a new face to watch in inspirational fiction. She has written a wonderfully deep and inspiring story of adversity, hope and faith with this novel. Her characters are very well thought out and her plot is well done. Be sure to watch what this young novelist brings next.*I thank the publisher and author for a complimentary copy of this book. My opinion is my own.
    more
  • Virginia Winfield
    January 1, 1970
    This was a very good story that starts in England and ends up in Niagara Falls, New York. Adele believes that the only way she can save her home in England is to move to the United States where her Uncle lives and marry a rich American. It is sad that people think this way but the story is very well done. I enjoyed Adele and Drew. I also enjoyed Drew’s sister and would love to hear more about her. I loved the romance and the bit of suspense. I received a copy of this book from Barbour Publishing This was a very good story that starts in England and ends up in Niagara Falls, New York. Adele believes that the only way she can save her home in England is to move to the United States where her Uncle lives and marry a rich American. It is sad that people think this way but the story is very well done. I enjoyed Adele and Drew. I also enjoyed Drew’s sister and would love to hear more about her. I loved the romance and the bit of suspense. I received a copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and gave a review of my own free will.
    more
  • Jaime Jo Wright
    January 1, 1970
    A delightful read. A sweet romance in the flavor of traditional historical romance. I enjoyed the setting of Niagara Falls and the history of the Falls threaded throughout the story. A great debut full-length from Miss Barratt.
  • Patti
    January 1, 1970
    Enjoyed this book. Although most romances run their usual course, this was different. Adele's reason to find a husband was for money and to restore her family name in England. When she meets Drew Dawson she is intrigued until she learns of his true profession. That is when both of their carefully plotted lives meander into each others and a new course is set.
    more
  • Gina Holder
    January 1, 1970
    This book was everything I love in a sweet Christian historical romance. I loved every minute. This story was beautifully written. The author has such an amazing mastery of descriptive language. As an author, I was seriously jealous. As a reader, I was instantly pulled into the story world. You will cry with these characters. You will feel their triumphs and tragedies. This book will keep you hoping for the characters right up until the very end. I also enjoyed the spiritual journey of these cha This book was everything I love in a sweet Christian historical romance. I loved every minute. This story was beautifully written. The author has such an amazing mastery of descriptive language. As an author, I was seriously jealous. As a reader, I was instantly pulled into the story world. You will cry with these characters. You will feel their triumphs and tragedies. This book will keep you hoping for the characters right up until the very end. I also enjoyed the spiritual journey of these characters. I loved how Drew breaths prayers to the Lord at random. Drew is strong in his faith, but even the strongest of faith can eventually suffer a devastating blow. Adele is not a believer. She lacks peace, lacks joy. She has allowed past suffering to remove any faith or trust in an Eternal Being who cares. “Certainly, she could slap on a good façade, but that was the extent of it. A façade to conceal the broken emptiness inside.”Adele Linley comes to America in search of a rich husband to recover her beloved estate in England from financial ruin. “There were riches aplenty to be found on American soil. Tycoons. Fortunes. Scores of them, she’d heard. Well, she didn’t need scores. All she needed, all she intended to secure, was one.”Drew will do anything to procure a better life for his crippled sister, even if it means facing danger straight on, by crossing Niagara Falls on tightrope. “You talk of danger, Miss Linley. Perhaps I don’t fear it as you do. Maybe I realize that none of us are immune. I try to live every day as if it were my last, whether I set foot on a tightrope or not.”However, as Adele attempts to control her own destiny and the lives of those she loves, she makes a very large mess of things, and is brought to the lowest point she ever thought possible. It is in this humble place, that God can finally reach her heart. “Could it truly be possible that if she handed her problems over to God, the swirling would cease and rest could be found?”Will Adele give her life over to God and allow him to control her destiny? Will she find the rest for the weary that God has promised in Isaiah Chapter 40, verse 31?
    more
  • Trisha Robertson (Joy of Reading)
    January 1, 1970
    With a spectacular setting and lively characters, you just can’t go wrong with this engaging story. A story of heartache, and triumph. Amanda Barratt has penned a story that will linger in your mind long after you’ve read the final words.Adele is a character that many can easily identify with. She’s independent and strong. However, she is in need of a strength much greater than herself. She puts on a front of strength, yet inwardly she is broken. We could all say we’ve at least felt that way at With a spectacular setting and lively characters, you just can’t go wrong with this engaging story. A story of heartache, and triumph. Amanda Barratt has penned a story that will linger in your mind long after you’ve read the final words.Adele is a character that many can easily identify with. She’s independent and strong. However, she is in need of a strength much greater than herself. She puts on a front of strength, yet inwardly she is broken. We could all say we’ve at least felt that way at one time or another.At first glance Drew is a man on a singular mission, to risk life and limb to make a fortune and a name for himself. However, upon closer inspection, we find that he has a big heart and is trying to make life better for his sister.The characters became so real that I honestly got quite upset with Adele at one point, and found myself almost talking to the book to give her a piece of my mind. This story doesn’t gloss over the difficult situations and reminds us all that there are always repercussions to decisions made.I give this story 4.5 stars and I’m eagerly looking forward to reading more stories by Amanda Barrett.(I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own.)
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York: Adele's Journey is an enjoyable read. Four stars.
Write a review