The Way You Bite
When King Werewolf shows up in veterinarian Vee Scarpa's ER, she's livid.Her father, North American head honcho vampire, has threatened a chilling or else if she "accidentally" helped a wolf again, especially since they're at war. But she's tempted by the sexy wolf. And his deadly blood calls to her in a way that should set off warning bells...A promise to his brother in arms obliges Lexan Dimitrov to rescue the aristocrat vampire before her family discovers her secret—a secret Vee herself isn't even aware of. What he didn't expect was to find her sexy-as-hell. He's not into vamps, yet the inescapable heat building between them is a delicious temptation guaranteed to end in total disaster.

The Way You Bite Details

TitleThe Way You Bite
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 3rd, 2017
PublisherEntangled Publishing (Otherworld)
Number of pages264 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Vampires, Romance, Paranormal Romance

The Way You Bite Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    July 20, 2017
    The Way You Bite is the very first book I’ve read by Zoe Forward. Velvet or “Vee” Scarpa is a vampire and is the daughter of the head of all of the North American vampires, Dominic Scarpa. Her father is a ruthless leader and has tried to control Vee’s life without success. But he has forced her into a betrothal with an equally evil Ambrose DiFalco. There is no love or even the faintest attraction between Vee and Ambrose. In return for her silence regarding some incriminating information Vee has The Way You Bite is the very first book I’ve read by Zoe Forward. Velvet or “Vee” Scarpa is a vampire and is the daughter of the head of all of the North American vampires, Dominic Scarpa. Her father is a ruthless leader and has tried to control Vee’s life without success. But he has forced her into a betrothal with an equally evil Ambrose DiFalco. There is no love or even the faintest attraction between Vee and Ambrose. In return for her silence regarding some incriminating information Vee has regarding her fiance, he lets her keep working as a veterinarian. For now that is. While she is working, an emergency is brought in, a gun shot wound on a pet wolf. Only Vee’s vampire senses tell her that this is no ordinary wolf. This is a shifter. For some unexplained reason, just being near him is driving her senses crazy. His scent is calling to her like nothing she has ever experienced. She soon realizes that this is not just any werewolf, this is Aleksander or “Lexan” Dimitrov, the leader of the Werewolves. Lexan has been alone for a long time and he has felt himself withdrawing more and more. Until he walked into that vet office that is. He can barely stand to be near her. Her scent is so alluring. Lexan made a promise to someone that he would help Vee. You see, there is a secret regarding Vee. When Lexan makes a promise, he always follows through. But Vee must allow Lexan to help her of her own free will. Those are the rules to the agreement.Lexan knows a secret regarding Vee. Something she doesn’t yet know herself. Something that will change both their lives forever. Lexan is not attracted to vampires. So why is he drawn so strongly to this one? Why her?Vee finds herself stuck right in the middle of a war between the vampires and the werewolves. A war her father has been instigating. Her father has lost patience with her and is planning on forcing her to submit to his plans. It is time for Vee to put her own plan in to action. It is time for Vee to disappear. But it seems that a pesky werewolf King won’t let her. The pull she feels towards Lexan and the need to disappear are constantly at war within her. I really enjoyed this book. It is non-stop from start to finish. Vee is thrust into one situation after another, none of them pleasant. All the while, Lexan is there, claiming that he won’t leave her, that he wants to protect her. Vee has been at the end of her father’s leash all her life. She doesn’t need to be on another one. But the need she feels for Lexan is battling against her need for freedom. Which one will win? Can it be both? If you enjoy paranormal steamy romance with lots of nail biting action, then you will most definitely enjoy this. It definitely won’t be my last book by this author.
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    July 3, 2017
    'The Way You Bite' by Zoe Forward is the story of Lexan Dimitrov and Vee Scarpa. Vee has a fiancé and a controlling father who has plans for Vee. Vee has her own plans which she hopes to go forward with in three months when she has raised enough money to fake her own death. Vee has never really gone along with what her father does. Lexan is the King of Werewolfs and is in town due to Vee's father. There has been a war going on between Vampires and Werewolfs and things are just heating up. This w 'The Way You Bite' by Zoe Forward is the story of Lexan Dimitrov and Vee Scarpa. Vee has a fiancé and a controlling father who has plans for Vee. Vee has her own plans which she hopes to go forward with in three months when she has raised enough money to fake her own death. Vee has never really gone along with what her father does. Lexan is the King of Werewolfs and is in town due to Vee's father. There has been a war going on between Vampires and Werewolfs and things are just heating up. This was an exciting romance read! This was my first book by Ms. Forward but it won't be my last. "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."https://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/A2H...https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1... https://twitter.com/soapsrus68 https://www.facebook.com/RomanceBookR...http://sissymaereads.blogspot.com/ http://booklikes.com/bloghttps://romancebookreviewforyou.wordp... https://www.tumblr.com/blog/romancebo...https://www.facebook.com/groups/17091...
    more
  • Leonor
    July 22, 2017
    4 Lexan ⭐!Thank you to my GR Carol for bringing this book to my attention. 😘It's no secret I enjoy a good paranormal book (just look thru Cynthia Eden's books) 😉 And I truly enjoyed this one. 😊I wonder if this will become a series I wouldn't mind reading about the Elite Guards of King Aleksander Dimitrov (Goodness even his name was hot) 4 Lexan ⭐️!Thank you to my GR Carol for bringing this book to my attention. 😘It's no secret I enjoy a good paranormal book (just look thru Cynthia Eden's books) 😉 And I truly enjoyed this one. 😊I wonder if this will become a series I wouldn't mind reading about the Elite Guards of King Aleksander Dimitrov (Goodness even his name was hot)
    more
  • Kate's Corner
    June 19, 2017
    4 only dead men wear suits Stars.The Way You Bite is a perfect standalone paranormal romance. I really enjoyed this and the only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because I’m stingy with those good old five stars. The book has a mix of modern day paranormal with some old paranormal stuff. Hags reading runes. Ancient werewolves and vampires. A deadly virus that can’t be contained quite yet. I hadn’t heard of this author before I had the chance to read this book but it sounded so good and I am we 4 only dead men wear suits Stars.The Way You Bite is a perfect standalone paranormal romance. I really enjoyed this and the only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because I’m stingy with those good old five stars. The book has a mix of modern day paranormal with some old paranormal stuff. Hags reading runes. Ancient werewolves and vampires. A deadly virus that can’t be contained quite yet. I hadn’t heard of this author before I had the chance to read this book but it sounded so good and I am well chuffed that I decided to read it. I usually take a step where Vamps are involved and if you’re like me I’d say go for it. A must read. A hidden gem IMO. This book is action packed, a fast pace, fantastic characters and a unique plot I haven’t read in a really, really long time. I was hooked right from the start and sad to have finished the book I wanted more. I can easily see the author turning this into a series because all the secondary characters were just as brilliant as the MC. Vee Scarpa is a vamp and well she is engaged to be married. To be a breed mare and to serve her future husband as that is all she is in her father’s eyes. But they have an agreement. Vee is more than she seems at first and what she truly is and what Ms. Forward has done here? Brilliantly.Vee has always defied her father but time is running out. About to work out of the vet she is called for an emergency and that run in changes everything. I mean EVERYTHING! She is an awesome heroine. Totally kickarse but has a slight vulnerability to her. The King of the Werewolves Lexan Dimitrov made a promise and the time has come to carry out that promise. He has three days to complete it but he never factored a stubborn female into it all and that said stubborn female would be his mate.He is the ultimate alpha and Hero. He is protective, sexy, mesmerising and charming but can also be a grump, overbearing and somewhat old fashioned and not familiar with modern day language or pop culture. “Give me your gun.” “No, I’m not giving me your gun so you can lean out of the window like you’re James Bond. Last time, you shoot my foot.” True. He sucked with guns. Give him a knife or a sword and he could kill anything. “That was ten years ago. Who’s James Bond?” “You’re shitting me, right? British spy?” “Have I met this spy? I’m not a fan of spies. They’re duplicitous.”Vee’s father declared war on the werewolves and since then there has been a lot of battles but shit is about to get official peeps and it is brilliant to read. Even being seen with a werewolf is treason let alone treating one. Wolf sympathiser don’t last very long. I know that in the grand scheme of things that someone had to pull on the brakes but I mean it was crystal clear that they belong together. Vee could have been less dramatic in that respect but this is just my opinion. I'm not asking but telling you all to READ THIS BOOK!
    more
  • Cassandra
    June 29, 2017
    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!! ***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!This is my first time reading Zoe Forward’s work though I do own a couple of her books that I will read in the future!! I believe this is a standalone, but I’m hoping it turns into a series because I loved the world created by Zoe with Vampires, Werewolves, and Hybrids called Demis My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!! ***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!This is my first time reading Zoe Forward’s work though I do own a couple of her books that I will read in the future!! I believe this is a standalone, but I’m hoping it turns into a series because I loved the world created by Zoe with Vampires, Werewolves, and Hybrids called Demisangs. This is for adults only due to the violence and steamy content.Vee has tried hard to maintain her independence, and things get real interesting. I love her fierceness and attitude and that she fights for what she believes, but she also has a caring and protective nature. She doesn’t believe in senseless killing especially of the innocent. She is trying to put off both her fiancé and her father, so she can keep her job and independence. Lexan is interesting because he has honor and keeps his word, and he finds Vee very interesting which is something that he has been missing for a long time. Vee’s world is rocked by Lexan in more than one way, but I refuse to ruin your adventure in reading. This book was action packed with treachery, plotting, adventures, fighting, and romance. My favorite kind of book, I couldn’t put it down.I highly recommend this book to any paranormal fans who love an adventure with wolves and vampires who on the verge of war!
    more
  • RedL.
    July 9, 2017
    3,5 I Need More Lexan, now StarsWhen you're really into shifters, especially werewolves, and love the classic feuds between paranormal beings, it's inevitable to be drawn to, and more often than not, disappointed by the pletora of books with this theme. I keep reading and I keep findind a lot of weak stuff. I had such a good gut feeling about this one and I'm glad I was right, with some reservations. The Way You Bite is a good mix of oldschool enemies  at war-with all their paranormal gifts - wi 3,5 I Need More Lexan, now StarsWhen you're really into shifters, especially werewolves, and love the classic feuds between paranormal beings, it's inevitable to be drawn to, and more often than not, disappointed by the pletora of books with this theme. I keep reading and I keep findind a lot of weak stuff. I had such a good gut feeling about this one and I'm glad I was right, with some reservations. The Way You Bite is a good mix of oldschool enemies  at war-with all their paranormal gifts - with the popular adding of modern times weapons, in particular a lethal lab-engineered virus. There is a forbidden cross species couple, action, political intrigues, secrets being revealed. It is fast paced, the protagonists are rushing from one tense scene to another, lots of kidnappings, maybe even too many. The world building is not super layered or fully explained, I would have liked to know more about the werewolves society for instance, we get to know much more about vampires, but it is clear. It made me want more, too many things from everyone's pasts are just shown in bits and pieces along the way.  I must say I was a bit stunned that both evil vampire families named here were Italian, there was even a comment about how much more restrictive life for female vampires would be in Italy...what the heck? I am reading paranormal and the author is playing the bias on Mediterranean societies or is just vampires being sexists? It annoyed me, a lot. Even so, I couldn't put it down. Why? Instalust and mates for life, of course, what else? You're not paying attention! Give me a werewolves's kind Lexan any day, please. The constant, irresisitble attraction he feels/endures for his romantic interest is delicious. The author tried to tone it down, rationalize it somehow with the fact that the female lead was unknowingly in heat and about to shift for the first time, but it was still delicious. I love bloodsucking and biting, marking so totally on board with that happening. Lexan was just perfect, he may be ancient and sometimes a bit out of the modern world, but he's patient, honest, forward, sexy as hell, protective without being assholish or suffocating, supportive. He is ready from the start to change and adapt to whatever his partner may need. I most definitely needed more from his past. Vee, on the other hand, was a bit of a special snowflake vampire. sometimes I liked her a lot, some other times I wanted to shake some sense into her. I understood what made her so determined and afraid to trust, but more often than not she came off as contrary and stubborn for the sake of it. She didn't want to know or believe, she kept rejecting the help and expertise of those who could really help her. I get it, she always felt alone and different, she had to protect her own life every day in that household, she is bethroted to a bastard, but Lexan couldn't be the furthest from the vampires she grew up with. Indepedance is not the same as obstinacy and rejecting everything or not bothering to understand how serious marking a mate for a werewolf is. I also understand the shock of learning she was a Demisang and about to shift, the panic and horror she might feel at the idea of becoming what she was supposed to despise, but wouldn't it be even more reason to seek and accept the help of those who could make such a transition less traumatic? Apparently not. On the other hand, she was so resilient and proud of her authonomy, she knew how to fight, I liked that. The sex scenes were not very explicit and mostly short, I mostly enjoyed all the need and tension leading to the final explosion and the abovementioned bloodsucking and biting really were the best part of it. A looot of characters were introduced, the couple didn't really have enough time to sit down and get to know each other beyond the crazy attraction and they both had a couple of understabdle concerns. I wish there had been a bit more depth to the characters too. I wish more of the violence and beatings Vee had to suffer in her vampire family and with her political fiancee were shown, same as the tortures Werewolves had to face as slaves, and I wished Vee's transformation would have been more spectacular, we just got to know her fur was silver and she loved running free. Give me more, author, come on, that transformation was the whole reason those two even met and the heart of all the intrigues!! No matter all the things I can comment on, there was just so much more I liked, I can't even explain it. It was all on the light side and the ending was so sudden and rushed I really hope there is a sequel in the making, I didn't get to see the wedding or the first night, but werewolves magic hit me again, even if imperfect.
    more
  • Jules2016
    July 23, 2017
    3.75 wolfish starsI was totally entertained. What kept it from getting a higher rating was the fact that the heroine fought being with the hero until the bitter end - i find that shit totally exhausting. Who does that IRL? Feels an inexplicable connection to someone, sleeps with them, admires/respects/loves a person, but refuses to be with them, huh??!!!This is the story of a woman who is half wolf/half vamp, who is raised thinking she is a a vampire. The hero, who happens to be the 500 year old 3.75 wolfish starsI was totally entertained. What kept it from getting a higher rating was the fact that the heroine fought being with the hero until the bitter end - i find that shit totally exhausting. Who does that IRL? Feels an inexplicable connection to someone, sleeps with them, admires/respects/loves a person, but refuses to be with them, huh??!!!This is the story of a woman who is half wolf/half vamp, who is raised thinking she is a a vampire. The hero, who happens to be the 500 year old king of werewolves, risks his life, and the life of his guards to meet the heroine and explain to her that she is half wolf and will be experiencing the change imminently.What follows is a lot of political and familial intrigue, matrix like fight scenes and dirty wolf sex. many are sure to enjoy :)
    more
  • Al *the serial series skipper*
    July 29, 2017
    This was surprisingly good. Finding a good vampire/werewolf book is like finding a needle in an haystack, there's only a lot you can read before they all start to blur. I did like this book because it brought a somewhat fresh perspective to an already overly used plot line, although I did find the narrative to be a bit disjointed at times the overall story was enjoyable. The ending felt abrupt so I hope there would be another book better detailing the virus and that interaction with Jacob.
    more
  • Marta Cox
    July 3, 2017
    I'd seen this authors name pop up a few times so was quite keen to read this book that seems to be a standalone. Plus the cover caught my eye as I'm not a fan of pretty boys and prefer the more rugged look. Vee is the only daughter of the North American chief vampire and has always butted heads with her cold father. Reluctantly engaged as part of a political alliance Vee has managed to continue working as a veterinarian but has plans to disappear. So when a wounded wolf appears in her surgery it I'd seen this authors name pop up a few times so was quite keen to read this book that seems to be a standalone. Plus the cover caught my eye as I'm not a fan of pretty boys and prefer the more rugged look. Vee is the only daughter of the North American chief vampire and has always butted heads with her cold father. Reluctantly engaged as part of a political alliance Vee has managed to continue working as a veterinarian but has plans to disappear. So when a wounded wolf appears in her surgery it's the worse possible timing as Vee needs to go home but her instincts betray her. Is that really the King of the wolves and just why does Vee feel all manner of desires around him? Vampires and wolves are enemies and yet Lexan made a promise and it's one he's determined to keep but he had no idea just what he was walking into!This had a really different feel to it which is unusual in paranormal romance. A war has raged between the two species and for vampires just being seen with any of the wolves is tantamount to treason which means death. So a heroine who tries so hard to help whilst keeping her head down worked for me. Plus she's not adverse to using whatever it takes to survive and I really liked her plucky attitude especially when it came to dealing with her rather nasty fiancé. What added to the fun was Lexan and his somewhat antiquated ways which allowed the author to inject humour. Lexan might trust those closest to him but he doesn't trust the vampires as their political machinations and underhand dealings are putting his species in danger and then there's the creeping disease that shouldn't affect wolves but does!I'd like to read more set in this world as Vee has her aunt Carol on speed dial and she's a very interesting character . We also meet Trace (Vee's brother) who also shares a connection to the wolves that you won't believe and speaking of wolves they certainly stole the show from the vampires. Yes I enjoyed this book, although perhaps Vee was a tad just too incredulous towards the end although I understood the author didn't want any sort of typical mating as in you are mine and off we go! Yes I would happily read more by this author and look forward to seeing what else she dreams upI received a copy of this that I've voluntarily read and I believe these thoughts and comments are my honest and fair opinion
    more
  • Kathleen R.
    July 14, 2017
    Title: The Way You Bite Author: Zoe Forward 5 amazing stars By now, i have my list of favourite authors and genres and will, at times, try to stick to one or the other, mostly out of habit. Then i'll read a blurb and get sucked in so deeply that i can't even begin to imagine what the actual book will be like - seriously. Think about it! With excerpts i can understand the impatience and the frustration at having to wait to get the book, but a blurb?!?! Yeah, i had scoffed too. Yet, that's exactl Title: The Way You Bite Author: Zoe Forward 5 amazing stars By now, i have my list of favourite authors and genres and will, at times, try to stick to one or the other, mostly out of habit. Then i'll read a blurb and get sucked in so deeply that i can't even begin to imagine what the actual book will be like - seriously. Think about it! With excerpts i can understand the impatience and the frustration at having to wait to get the book, but a blurb?!?! Yeah, i had scoffed too. Yet, that's exactly what happened when i read The Way You Bite by Zoe Forward. 4.5 sexy dreams This author took so many different genres and the elements that i love about them, and wrapped them all into one. It was nerve racking, an edge of your seat read and full of action that i didn't know where to look at first. It's the kind of book tat makes you look at paranormal romances and think 'so that's what all the hype is about!' for my first read by Zoe Forward, i have to say that she impressed me - her writing style was captivating and her characters entertaining. I can't wait to read more form her in the future! *ARC provided by Author in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Kathleen, The Small Girl from A small girl, her man and her books     Goodreads | [image error]   Amazon |     Facebook |      By Email Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram 
    more
  • Maddy's Reading
    July 3, 2017
    This was my first book by this author and I really liked this fast paced paranormal story. Vee is a vampire vet who does not really follow the rules of her father the leader of vampires. She meets the werewolf king Lexan under strange circumstances and is deeply attracted to him. Lexan has lot of secrets regarding Vee and is treading carefully. He has made a promise to a certain someone to take care of her. This whole story hooked me from the very start and there was something or the other happe This was my first book by this author and I really liked this fast paced paranormal story. Vee is a vampire vet who does not really follow the rules of her father the leader of vampires. She meets the werewolf king Lexan under strange circumstances and is deeply attracted to him. Lexan has lot of secrets regarding Vee and is treading carefully. He has made a promise to a certain someone to take care of her. This whole story hooked me from the very start and there was something or the other happening to keep me intrigued. Chemistry between Vee and Lexan was sizzling and it was all the more dangerous because werewolves and vampires are at war. This is a wonderful story and I wish there are more in this series. *~*~*ARC generously provided by the author in exchange of an honest review *~*~*
    more
  • Lisa books
    July 7, 2017
    Vamp&wolfThe wolf king new mate is a hybrid. In the mix of vampire verses wolf war heats up two strong people find love and a mating that will change the war
  • Barb Lie
    July 9, 2017
    The Way You Bite by Zoe Forward is the 1st book in her new paranormal series. The Way You Bite is a fantastic start, and I can’t wait to find out what Zoe Forward has in store for us in this series. Vee Scarpa, our heroine, is a veterinarian and a vampire. Vee is independent and even though her father is a master vampire, she is determined to live how she wants. When at her emergency clinic, a man brings in a wolf, which is really a werewolf, Vee is not happy. Since there are bad feelings betwe The Way You Bite by Zoe Forward is the 1st book in her new paranormal series. The Way You Bite is a fantastic start, and I can’t wait to find out what Zoe Forward has in store for us in this series. Vee Scarpa, our heroine, is a veterinarian and a vampire. Vee is independent and even though her father is a master vampire, she is determined to live how she wants. When at her emergency clinic, a man brings in a wolf, which is really a werewolf, Vee is not happy. Since there are bad feelings between the vampires and werewolves, she does not want to be in the middle. She does not like the werewolves, since one killed her mother. But since the wolf is injured, the doctor in her treats him. What she discovers is that the injured wolf is Lexan, our hero and the King of the werewolves.When Vee gives in to help him, Lexan feels an immediate attraction to her. Lexan knows the truth about Vee, which would change her life forever. However, he does know that she may not take well to the news he eventually will have to tell her. Vee leaves to attend a family wedding, and to her disgust her father is forcing her to marry her arranged fiancée, a wealthy Euro vampire. When she finds a way to escape, she finds herself saved by Lexan and his men; and in a short time Vee will also find herself attracted to the gorgeous and sexy Lexan. What follows is an exciting, fun storyline that will bring both sides to war, with Vee the prize. Lexan and Vee’s romance will heat up, with him determined to win her, and she knowing she is falling for him, but knowing there can be no future. At least not until she learns that she is a mix of vampire and wolf; making her a rare commodity. Lexan knows that she will have her first shift soon, and tries to stay with her at all times to help her through it. The Way You Bite was a very good story, with two warring species, and a couple that are meant for each other. Lexan and Vee were simply a great couple, and sizzling hot. I loved how Vee did her first shift, and was able to quickly accept this and use her new powers to help save them all; including revenge against those who truly killed her mother. The Way You Bite was a fun, exciting & captivating story, with a wonderful couple, great secondary characters, and nonstop action throughout. I hope Zoe Forward will give us more of Lexan and Vee, as well as more from those sexy werewolves. BarbThe Reading Cafe
    more
  • Arec Rain
    July 5, 2017
    ARC received in exchange for a complimentary review. I have really been winning with the classic paranormals lately. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading authors’ new creations and mythologies, but sometimes, the classics are just tops. A good ole fashion feud between vampires and werewolves? Yes please! Not only that but it was done well. It was difficult not to love the hero. At first, you think he is going to be just another Alpha. Then you are treated to an open loving man who is willing to mo ARC received in exchange for a complimentary review. I have really been winning with the classic paranormals lately. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading authors’ new creations and mythologies, but sometimes, the classics are just tops. A good ole fashion feud between vampires and werewolves? Yes please! Not only that but it was done well. It was difficult not to love the hero. At first, you think he is going to be just another Alpha. Then you are treated to an open loving man who is willing to modify his actions and thoughts rather than remain unyielding. The heroine was a little more complicated. I agreed with her sense of independence and thoughts about violence. However, you can be independent and still have a partner. At times, Vee is stubborn and set in her ways to the point of being obnoxious. I am all for strong independent women, but I am tired of them associating it with being alone. Overall, it was a great paranormal novel. An interesting world inhabited by good characters and an action-packed plot to keep you reading until the end. The chemistry didn’t seem forced, and I couldn’t have asked for a more satisfactory ending. I believe this is a standalone for the author, but you can bet I am going to check out some of her other work. If you are looking for a good paranormal romance for a rainy day, this one’s for you!
    more
  • Booked Every Night
    July 5, 2017
    This book gripped me from page one and didn’t let me go till the end! I loved every second of it. It was unique and the world was consuming. I had been craving a great paranormal book and I found it with this book. Zoe Forward has become one of my go to authors!Let this world just take you away! Vampires, Werewolves, secrets, twist and turns, it was all just so well written. The characters were all well developed and well written. I loved Lexan and Vee interacting. They chemistry was off the cha This book gripped me from page one and didn’t let me go till the end! I loved every second of it. It was unique and the world was consuming. I had been craving a great paranormal book and I found it with this book. Zoe Forward has become one of my go to authors!Let this world just take you away! Vampires, Werewolves, secrets, twist and turns, it was all just so well written. The characters were all well developed and well written. I loved Lexan and Vee interacting. They chemistry was off the charts hot but they also knew they had a lot to overcome.I loved the Vee wasn’t just a submissive female. She stood up for herself and didn’t let anyone push her around. She had to adapt to many things in a short time but she also didn’t lose herself while finding her new place in life. She was strong, stubborn, and just a fantastic character all around.Lexan was hot, loyal, ALPHA to the core, possessive, stubborn and a great leader. He takes his job seriously but with fate throws him a curveball he adjusts and finds an even great purpose in life.You need to read this book if you are a lover of paranormal romance. I can’t wait to look for other books by this author.
    more
  • Harmony Williams
    July 2, 2017
    This book is phenomenal. It hooked me from the beginning with just the right combination of intrigue, chemistry, and sass, and the page-turning pace didn't let up until the last page. The hero is sexy as sin and I love a heroine who isn't afraid to stick up for herself. The only thing I wanted a bit more of was what Vee and Lexan's mundane, daily interactions would look like...but hopefully they will have cameos in future books to satisfy that curiosity. The glimpses at the side characters were This book is phenomenal. It hooked me from the beginning with just the right combination of intrigue, chemistry, and sass, and the page-turning pace didn't let up until the last page. The hero is sexy as sin and I love a heroine who isn't afraid to stick up for herself. The only thing I wanted a bit more of was what Vee and Lexan's mundane, daily interactions would look like...but hopefully they will have cameos in future books to satisfy that curiosity. The glimpses at the side characters were so intriguing that I don't know whose story I most hope will be next. All I know is that it will be an auto-buy for me! I read an ARC provided to me in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • books are love
    July 16, 2017
    received in exchange for a honest review.this is quick and dirty. I love Lexan. He is strong and loyal. Very old school but also understands more than you would think. He is also fierce and honest.Seeing him fall for Vee and have to try to get her to see what can be and giving her the space she needs while he adjusts to be what she needs is great. I hated to see Vee’s family so vicious because she is so kind and caring. She is headstrong and brave as well.Vee and Lexan give us a sexy, dangerous received in exchange for a honest review.this is quick and dirty. I love Lexan. He is strong and loyal. Very old school but also understands more than you would think. He is also fierce and honest.Seeing him fall for Vee and have to try to get her to see what can be and giving her the space she needs while he adjusts to be what she needs is great. I hated to see Vee’s family so vicious because she is so kind and caring. She is headstrong and brave as well.Vee and Lexan give us a sexy, dangerous and exciting tale of love, accepting fate and revelations that blow you away. A sexy entertaining tale and has you wonder what is next for this group of characters now that war is eminent.
    more
  • Helen Wawrejko
    June 30, 2017
    A promise made to the father, to help his daughter, brings Lexan the werewolf king to America. Assassination attempts, arranged marriage. Mystery surrounds Vee's mothers death. Vampire's are escalating the war with a killing werewolf virus. Good worlbuilding, likable characters, read in one sitting. I really want to know more of Michael. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC from Netgalley.
    more
  • Donna
    June 28, 2017
    The Way You Bite is an inventive, exciting, adventurous vampire v. werewolf tale. I really enjoyed Velvet as a smart, stand up, take no crap kind of gal. Lexan Dimitrov is sexy as heck in a Neanderthal kind of way and the bad guys made you want to destroy something. Strap in for a terrific read.
    more
  • Angel Hatfield
    July 9, 2017
    Dr. Vee Scarpa only had a short amount of time to get to her sister Brook’s wedding. Then one of the other Doctor’s that was getting other hours to Vee and said there was a person in room one who refused to be helped by anyone other than the Dr. Scarpa. He was a new client. Vee was a vet but if she seen this patient she would be late. Only three more months and Vee could disappear by faking her death and go to the island in Southeast Asia. No vamps, no wolves, no forced marriage. Just her and th Dr. Vee Scarpa only had a short amount of time to get to her sister Brook’s wedding. Then one of the other Doctor’s that was getting other hours to Vee and said there was a person in room one who refused to be helped by anyone other than the Dr. Scarpa. He was a new client. Vee was a vet but if she seen this patient she would be late. Only three more months and Vee could disappear by faking her death and go to the island in Southeast Asia. No vamps, no wolves, no forced marriage. Just her and the technology to let her know when a nonhuman entered her domain. Then Vee could reinvent her life again. The man in the room was a Mr. Eric Vorste. Crystal who was e tech said the man was odd and foreign and the dog was huge actually was a werewolf as was the man. The King of Werewolf’s rumored to have eyes so light in color and this wolf had very light colored eyes. Vee thought of a threat her father had said along time ago “ never get involved with them”. She knew she could be killed for helping by her father, although her powerful fiance would probably save her life but not punishment and her fiance was sadistic enough he would watch her father bring on said punishment. Her fiance was Ambroise DeFalco who prefered men.. Vee had a very complicated relationship with Ambroise. Roman was the werewolf’s regional primary care doctor. Vee asked why Mr. Vorste didn’t follow protocol and told him they were not safe being at her office. Then Vee also told Mr. Vorste they would have to see another doctor and not allow a shift to happen. Then Mr. Vorste asked Vee if her father Dominic and Ambrose knew about the incident in California. Vee was the daughter of North American Vampire leader. The Vampires were at war in the United States Vee said she helped on a case to case basis with a referral basis only as a favor to Roman Vee felt murdering kids regardless of species wrong why she had tried to help in California and the only wolf to survive was about fourteen. The Vampire’s squad had ambushed the wolves right in Vee’s yard. Then Vorste brought up the fact that a wolf had supposedly murdered her mother but Vee knew that her mother’s murder had been set up to make it look that a wolf had done it. Ambroise stayed neutral in the war. Then Vee’s mental scan revealed at least six wolves in the immediate area. Vee now knew her patient was Aleksander Dimitrov - the Werewolf King. Vee did know both Ambroise and her father Dominic feared the Werewolf King. Vee took care of the wolf and got the two bullets- one in his left shoulder and one in his left thigh. Vee felt a strong desire for her patient which made no sense. Vee had never felt any attraction for Ambroise. Aleksander said he was called Lexan when he took human form. When all had been said and done Vee said “ let’s not run into each other again”. Lexan replied “ you’re going to need me”. Vee knew a connection had passed between her and Lexan and it had nothing to do with threats or blackmail. Lexan said they were to wait for Vee to leave before they did that way she would know they were still around and they would talk later. Lexan’s mother had died as a Vampire’s slave centuries ago. Lexan knew he wanted Vee but not as a one night stand He wanted to know everything about Vee : what she liked, how she tasted what noises she made during sex. He just needed to teach Vee how to handle her shifting from Vampire to werewolf and put her in a country that wasn’t in the middle of the wolf hate zone. Velvet Scarpa was not Dominick’s biological daughter. Lexan had made a promise to a very ancient Vampire that he intended to keep. Vee’s biological father was Blaylock the very ancient Vampire Lexan had made a promise to. Vee was a healer but she would also be hunted and executed when Ambrose's father finds out she is not a purebred but a hybrid of an a vampire and werewolf. Lexan had never reacted to a woman like he had Vee. he was centuries old, this kind of crazy didn’t happen to him. Lexan had been captured by vamps and kept for one hundred years in chains and forced to fight other wolves. Her father had found out about Vee helping the Werewolf King. Dominic also wanted to inject Vee for forty eight hours with the treatment then Ambrose would have sex with her for three days if she lived through the meds she would get pregnant. Dominic and Ambrose’s father thought it was a good time for an heir Dominic was dancing with Vee and told her to leave but one of Dominick’s men stabbed before she took him down but she did get off Dominic’s estate. Trace was Dominic’s Captain of the guard but also Vee’s brother. Years ago Trace had taught Vee how to protect herself. Vee was not doing well with the injury when she got to her apartment Lexan was there and healed her. Vee didn’t know she was half werewolf and would be shifting with the moon in a couple of days. But like a werewolf she was also in heat. Lexan was there to help her through the shift and out of the states if she wanted to go. As much as Lexan wanted Vee to go he couldn’t force her. Then Lexan realizes Vee is his mate.I loved. this story and the plot and pace of this story. I loved the action ,I loved the vampire vs werewolf idea and what had happened along time ago. Although I really prefer vamps and wolves being friends this was still great. But I also loved Vee learning she was half werewolf after she got used to the idea. I loved how she used her wolf to save one of Lexan’s Guardians. I loved Lexan and his determination to keep Vee safe even putting himself in jeopardy. I wasn’t happy when Trace drugged Vee to get her to go back to Charlotte with her but I did love the fact it was to get their Aunt Carol who had basically raised them and then he wanted to get them out of the country. I loved how Lexan was willing to to give up being King for Vee. All and all just loved this book and didn’t find anything to complain about which is great. I loved the characters and the ins and outs of this story and I highly recommend.
    more
  • Bec - Book Magic: Under a spell with every page Reviews
    July 8, 2017
    Even though Vee Scarpa has a prior engagement she's running late for, she can't help herself when it comes to taking care of the injured wolf in her exam room. Only the wolf in question is no ordinary animal and is in fact werewolf King Lexan Dimitrov; a man she shouldn't help because it will get her in trouble. However, once she saves him, she expects for them to go their separate ways, except Lexan won't leave her alone because he has news that will shake her world up. Will Vee be able to hand Even though Vee Scarpa has a prior engagement she's running late for, she can't help herself when it comes to taking care of the injured wolf in her exam room. Only the wolf in question is no ordinary animal and is in fact werewolf King Lexan Dimitrov; a man she shouldn't help because it will get her in trouble. However, once she saves him, she expects for them to go their separate ways, except Lexan won't leave her alone because he has news that will shake her world up. Will Vee be able to handle the information Lexan reveals about her, or will she run away from the only man that can help her? Ms. Forward pens a captivating and thrilling read in this book that had me hooked from the very beginning due to the powerful chemistry between Lexan and Vee; the intense dialogue that turns Vee's world upside down and puts her more at odds with her family; and the danger this couple face on their journey to happy ever after because of the war between vampires and werewolves. The way this story started had me liking the heroine immediately, as she's compassionate, loves her job and would do anything for an injured animal, even if helping a werewolf lands her in big trouble. However, it was from the moment the hero and heroine come face-to-face for the first time where this story gets extremely fascinating, as Vee and Lexan should dislike each other because of their natures as a vampire and werewolf, and yet, there's an instant attraction that only gets more intense as the story progresses.As for the dialogue, it was intense, compelling and I loved every moment of it. Everything from the main characters back stories to the interactions Vee and Lexan had with the secondary characters made this story a read I could not get enough of. Vee has never had it easy with her dad; a man determined to do whatever it takes to make his daughter fall in line and try to take away everything that makes her happy. Luckily, Vee is resilient, feisty and determined to fight for her independence, even if she has to get extremely creative to be able to finally live her life the way she wants to live it. Both Vee and Lexan are wonderful characters that entertained me from start to finish with their back stories, the obstacles they face on their journey to happy ever after and their growing relationship that is so hot and intense due to everything Vee is going through because of the information Lexan has for her. Certainly, Vee goes through a lot in this story and I could sympathize with her situation, especially since the changes in her life make it hard to know who to trust. Because if anyone besides Lexan and his guards were to know the truth, she would be in for a lot of hurt. While Lexan, he's been through a lot too, and it was hard not to feel sorry for him when it comes to his strained relationship with his son. I also liked how confident and determined he was to win Vee's trust, even knowing that wouldn't be easy because of how independent she is and that she's never been able to fully trust anyone before. However, what I liked most about the hero is that he would do whatever it takes to protect Vee, no matter how dangerous things get.Overall, Ms. Forward has penned an outstanding read in this book where the chemistry was intense, the romance exciting because Vee is a vampire, and the ending was completely satisfying, even though it had me on the edge-of-my-seat with what Vee goes through with her family. However, it was the last chapter that wrapped this story up wonderfully, as Vee and Lexan have come so far in their relationship and the heroine finally feels like she belongs. I would recommend The Way You Bite by Zoe Forward, if you enjoy Paranormal Romance or books by authors Eve Langlais, NJ Walters, Juliette Cross or Suzanne Wright.
    more
  • Suze
    July 8, 2017
    Veterinarian Vee isn't allowed to help werewolves any longer. Her father is an aggressive vampire and doesn't tolerate any kind of interaction with his archenemies. He wants his daughter to get married to the vampire he's chosen for her and breed, but Vee loves her job and her betrothed repulses her. When Lexan shows up at her practice with bullet wounds Vee descides to treat him anyway. Lexan is the king of the werewolves and he makes Vee feel things she's never felt before. However, spending t Veterinarian Vee isn't allowed to help werewolves any longer. Her father is an aggressive vampire and doesn't tolerate any kind of interaction with his archenemies. He wants his daughter to get married to the vampire he's chosen for her and breed, but Vee loves her job and her betrothed repulses her. When Lexan shows up at her practice with bullet wounds Vee descides to treat him anyway. Lexan is the king of the werewolves and he makes Vee feel things she's never felt before. However, spending time with werewolves is dangerous, they are at war with the vampires, and Vee should stay away from Lexan, but can she?Lexan has promised someone important to keep an eye on Vee. He visits her because he feels it's his duty and the last thing he expects is to like her so much. There are quite a few family secrets that Vee doesn't know about, but they have to be uncovered eventually and when they come out Vee needs to be prepared. Can Lexan help Vee when she needs him the most or will their different upbringings make it difficult for them to spend time together?The Way You Bite is a fabulous story about werewolves and vampires. I immediately liked Vee. She can stand her ground, she doesn't let anyone intimidate her and she's fiercely independent. She's a powerful woman who can make demands when she needs to. She's strong and strategic and can hold her own in a fight. I liked her amazing temperamental personality. Lexan has a lot of strength and he has a good head on his shoulders. He's also kind and caring, but can be incredibly tough at the same time. He's a worthy opponent and his people are extremely loyal to him. However, Lexan's king status doesn't impress Vee and that makes her a great match for him. I loved their game of pushing and pulling, discovering each other's boundaries and protecting one another. It made the story dynamic and interesting for me and I couldn't put it down.Zoe Forward's writing style is easy to read, it has a lovely natural flow and I liked her vivid descriptions of her main characters and their world. The Way You Bite is both gripping and romantic. It's fast-paced with many surprising twists and turns. It's an adrenaline rush without a single dull moment, which is something I absolutely loved. I'm a big fan of shifter stories and The Way You Bite is definitely a good one. I really enjoyed reading this hot, energetic and spellbinding story.
    more
  • Giovana (Rosennette Blog)
    July 8, 2017
    A large version of this review was originally posted at Rosennette, the lifestyle of a bokish heartI received this book from the publisher via Ink Slinger in exchange of an honest review. This did not influence in my opinion of the book.The characters were really good, I enjoy reading about them so much, and believe they were the best of this book. Lexan is a dominant, stubborn and typical alpha male most of us love to read about, but at the same time he’s very gentle, sweet and I like how he ca A large version of this review was originally posted at Rosennette, the lifestyle of a bokish heartI received this book from the publisher via Ink Slinger in exchange of an honest review. This did not influence in my opinion of the book.The characters were really good, I enjoy reading about them so much, and believe they were the best of this book. Lexan is a dominant, stubborn and typical alpha male most of us love to read about, but at the same time he’s very gentle, sweet and I like how he cares so much about his people. Vee is an independence mind in a world full of authoritarian vampires where women don’t have much to say, she want to escape from all of that and find a quiet place to spend the rest of her immortality.What I like the most was the secondary characters, for me, they were the best of this book. I don’t know if the author intent to make this as a series but I would love to read about Eric, TC and even Ryder. They didn’t have too much weight on the story but everytime they showed up they steal the spotlight in my opinion. I think that maybe that was because I was interested in the sides stories the most than the romance between the MC, even when I liked their personas.Overall, I feel like this book could have improve so much since the plot is really good, but for me it needed a little bit more sparks, especially at the start of it. The good things are the characters and how well they were through the whole story and some action at the end of the book but the rest need a little more work to be perfect for me. However, I do believe that paranormal romance fans would like this book since it features the classic werewolf vs. vampire war, and it’s quite fun to read about it.Blog * Twitter * Facebook * Instagram
    more
  • Elizabeth Neal
    July 10, 2017
    Vee, a veterinarian, loves animals and as such vows to help any in need. This includes werewolves, much to the dismay of her dad, the top vampire, who has essentially given Vee an ultimatum if she does so again. His decree even more emphatic as the two races are currently at war. However, when Vee encounters one that calls to her, she knows resisting him will not be possible for long, if at all.Lexan, a wolf shifter and their king, made a promise to a friend and teammate and intends to keep it. Vee, a veterinarian, loves animals and as such vows to help any in need. This includes werewolves, much to the dismay of her dad, the top vampire, who has essentially given Vee an ultimatum if she does so again. His decree even more emphatic as the two races are currently at war. However, when Vee encounters one that calls to her, she knows resisting him will not be possible for long, if at all.Lexan, a wolf shifter and their king, made a promise to a friend and teammate and intends to keep it. His mission is rescue a vampire from her family, before her secret, one she isn't even aware of, is discovered. However, her family is essentially royalty in her world.Vee strives to maintain her independence, against the wishes of her father and fiance, an arranged marriage. She knows she can't keep putting off making it official for much longer, but she's going to try, and has a plan she hopes to put in place soon to escape it. When an injured wolf needs help, she has no idea just how much her world, and all she thought she knew about herself, is going to change.Lexan needs medical attention and Vee, his assignment, agrees to help. Lexan has never felt this kind of attraction to anyone before, let alone a vampire. But Vee is his mate, which explains his intense reaction to her.What happens when Lexan and Vee meet? How will Vee's dad react upon learning she's defied his commands? Will Lexan and Vee have to make a run for it to ensure she's safe? Will they be able to end the war between their people, the one her dad started? Will their mating ever be accepted by either of their species? Is their a HEA for them?One-click now and follow along as two people, meant to be sworn enemies, discover their destiny lies with each other.**I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.**
    more
  • Gigi staub
    July 3, 2017
    When King Werewolf shows up in veterinarian Vee Scarpa's ER, she's livid.Her father, North American head honcho vampire, has threatened a chilling or else if she "accidentally" helped a wolf again, especially since they're at war. But she's tempted by the sexy wolf. And his deadly blood calls to her in a way that should set off warning bells...A promise to his brother in arms obliges Lexan Dimitrov to rescue the aristocrat vampire before her family discovers her secret—a secret Vee herself isn't When King Werewolf shows up in veterinarian Vee Scarpa's ER, she's livid.Her father, North American head honcho vampire, has threatened a chilling or else if she "accidentally" helped a wolf again, especially since they're at war. But she's tempted by the sexy wolf. And his deadly blood calls to her in a way that should set off warning bells...A promise to his brother in arms obliges Lexan Dimitrov to rescue the aristocrat vampire before her family discovers her secret—a secret Vee herself isn't even aware of. What he didn't expect was to find her sexy-as-hell. He's not into vamps, yet the inescapable heat building between them is a delicious temptation guaranteed to end in total disaster.Review:I am gonna say this first. This is not listed as the beginning of a series and not sure if it will be or not, but it really needs to be...at least in my opinion. The story leaves lots of possibilities for future books and I would definitely read them.Always a sucker for a good supernatural romance, I am glad I picked this up for review. It was action packed, super sexy, lots of drama and intrigue to keep me reading and guessing who was going to do what next. Also, I love good dialogue and this book had lots of it.Lexan as the werewolf king was a great character, strong, alpha but he definitely met his match with Vee. Vee is not going to sit by and let others dictate her life, she makes plans, of course those plans get waylaid when Lexan comes on the scene and she finds out a secret about her parentage. Like I said, I don't know if this will be series...I think it should be. You could definitely read this as a stand alone too. It has been awhile since I read a supernatural romance and I thoroughly enjoyed this one!4.5Stars*I voluntarily read an advance reader copy of this book provided by the publisher.*
    more
  • Tiblu
    July 4, 2017
    Hero was pretty darn good, but the h was a stubborn, negative idiot I loved Lexan, ecwsd your typical growly alpha type but he was smart and learned how to bend and give and grow unlike the stupidly stubborn Vee who was negative and just down right stupid at times didn't want to listen to any one who didn't want to see the positive havei g a wonderful fated mate an older intelligent alpha wolf,refused to see herself as special, getting to be both werewolf AND vampire, would rather play the victi Hero was pretty darn good, but the h was a stubborn, negative idiot I loved Lexan, ecwsd your typical growly alpha type but he was smart and learned how to bend and give and grow unlike the stupidly stubborn Vee who was negative and just down right stupid at times didn't want to listen to any one who didn't want to see the positive havei g a wonderful fated mate an older intelligent alpha wolf,refused to see herself as special, getting to be both werewolf AND vampire, would rather play the victim and look for the wrong in everything that enjoy and see the good in anything ....Ok,she had a horrible father, boo hoo, most of us to,but when you finally get answers to long held questions and new abilities and a wonderful,sexy loving man wanting to fight by your side, you don't just dig in your heels and be stubborn just for the sake of it..I personally don't enjoy a story that feels rushed , the couple constantly rushing from one thing to another, fighting then escaping only the fight again and escape again.. no time to really get to know each other at times, just rush,rush,rush...As much as I hated the rush , the stupid overly stubborn , ( wouldn't know a good thing is it hit her,h is what just ticked me off) at 85% of the book this beyotch is still fighting being with him..If he gave her good reason I could understand but all he did was try to fight for her and explain what a wonderful life they could have together but she just didn't wanna hear it or even really listen...Off to delete
    more
  • BCD Book Review - Rachel & Jen
    July 4, 2017
    Amount of sex 3 / 5How explicit 4 / 5Story 4.5 / 5Overall: 4.5 / 5Review: Vee Scarpa is not well liked by her U.S. royal vampire family or by her fiance. Her father has always hated her and only sees her as a means to an end - a political pawn to get married and get pregnant. Her fiance's only interest in her is to keep his secrets and move himself up the food chain. Vee only wants to get away from them all. Then she meets the Werewolf King, Lexan. She is drawn to him in a way she has never been Amount of sex 3 / 5How explicit 4 / 5Story 4.5 / 5Overall: 4.5 / 5Review: Vee Scarpa is not well liked by her U.S. royal vampire family or by her fiance. Her father has always hated her and only sees her as a means to an end - a political pawn to get married and get pregnant. Her fiance's only interest in her is to keep his secrets and move himself up the food chain. Vee only wants to get away from them all. Then she meets the Werewolf King, Lexan. She is drawn to him in a way she has never been to another, but it is forbidden and his blood will kill her. He doesn't seem to want to harm her, despite her family's involvement in werewolf enslavement, but he seems way too interested in her.The Way You Bite is a heady trip into this new world that exists in our mundane world, while their's consists of a Vampire and Werewolf War. There is a tension between Lexan and Vee that is hypnotic and very steamy. The author does a great job of showing how these two paranormal groups live among us regular folk. Their world is sinister, yet not dark (like Underworld). Vee is just a regular person, in many ways, trapped between these two warring groups. Lexan is charismatic and a force to be reckoned with.I am hoping Forward writes more about this interesting and engaging world. I would love to learn more about the world before Vee and Lexan, as well as more about the world after this installment (although there is no cliffhanger). Be sure to add The Way You Bite to your summer reading to do list!** Voluntarily reviewed from an advanced copy **
    more
  • Janna ♥ I'm A Sweet And Sassy Book Whore ♥
    July 8, 2017
    ***This and other reviews can be found at www.imasweetandsassybookwhore.com ****ARC*I will be completely honest; I sat The Way You Bite down with no intentions of picking it back up again. It was dragging and I hated the heroine something fierce. But something said give it a little bit longer, maybe it will start being one you enjoy, and luckily for me that second shot paid off. I liked The Way You Bite but I am far from loving it. I am a huge paranormal fan and the premise of this is what drew ***This and other reviews can be found at www.imasweetandsassybookwhore.com ****ARC*I will be completely honest; I sat The Way You Bite down with no intentions of picking it back up again. It was dragging and I hated the heroine something fierce. But something said give it a little bit longer, maybe it will start being one you enjoy, and luckily for me that second shot paid off. I liked The Way You Bite but I am far from loving it. I am a huge paranormal fan and the premise of this is what drew me in, the old vampire and werewolf discord that reminds me of one of my favorite movies, Underworld. I wish that Velvet, the heroine would have not been so prejudice and condescending to Lexan the king of the werewolves especially after a secret about her own bloodline is revealed. Lexan is what had me continuing to read this book for sure. I was intrigued about his character and his past as well as how he planned on handling the situation at hand. I am glad that I did decide to finish this one even if there were things I didn’t like, it overall was a good read and if Ms. Forward writes books about some of the other characters we met in this one I would read them.
    more
  • Carrie
    July 6, 2017
    This book felt like a mix of Underworld and a BDB book. We get an introduction to the world of vampires (with pre-arranged political marriages, forced breeding, and an ongoing war with werewolves) and werewolves (an archaic, hierarchy based group of pack members, all trying to survive the increasingly deadly weapons thrown at them by the vampires. Of course, the worst thing you could possibly be is a mix of the two.Vee is determined to keep her head down and eventually escape her arranged marria This book felt like a mix of Underworld and a BDB book. We get an introduction to the world of vampires (with pre-arranged political marriages, forced breeding, and an ongoing war with werewolves) and werewolves (an archaic, hierarchy based group of pack members, all trying to survive the increasingly deadly weapons thrown at them by the vampires. Of course, the worst thing you could possibly be is a mix of the two.Vee is determined to keep her head down and eventually escape her arranged marriage and live far away from the war. Everything goes wrong when a sexy werewolf ends up getting treated in her office. By helping him, she puts herself in danger, but it might just all be worth it if she can survive the next couple days. There's secrets and answers on Vee's way to her own, unexpected, path to escape. As a world, this was an interesting set up for possibly future installments (with Lexan's other guards?). As a romance, we get the HEA we wanted, delivered in an unexpected way.
    more
  • Claire Cronin
    June 28, 2017
    Zoe is a new author for me, but I had the chance to read this, and and looking at the blurb I thought it sounded quite good and unusual for a PNR read.Glad I went with that thought, cos I gotta say I loved this!! I was hooked within the first few pages and loved how the old and new worlds mingled together in this book.Vamps and Werewolves are often enemies in a PNR read, this is no different, aside from the fact that the main characters, one King of the Werewolves (Lexan) and one Veterinarian Va Zoe is a new author for me, but I had the chance to read this, and and looking at the blurb I thought it sounded quite good and unusual for a PNR read.Glad I went with that thought, cos I gotta say I loved this!! I was hooked within the first few pages and loved how the old and new worlds mingled together in this book.Vamps and Werewolves are often enemies in a PNR read, this is no different, aside from the fact that the main characters, one King of the Werewolves (Lexan) and one Veterinarian Vamp (Vee), are so drawn together its impossible to ignore.The story is told from a dual POV, which is just fabulous. learning from each side and how all is not quite what you think. It is also very mafia style - lots of action, fast paced, thrilling, and very sexy - the push and pull between Lexan and Vee is just yum!!Fabulous characters in a great world setting, what's not to like?? I chomped through this in no time at all, reluctant to put it down and wanting to know how it all ends. Brilliant. I can't wait to read more!! Highly recommended for PNR fans.
    more
Write a review