Switchback
Sierra Cody is on fire. A rising star in women's professional downhill mountain bike racing, she has all the tools to become a world champion. All she needs to do is fully commit herself. Something far easier said than done. As stubborn as she is independent, Sierra has always carved her own path, refusing to fall in line with the controlling, commercialized aspects of the sport. Her trademark no-holds-barred, reckless style of riding has earned her as many cheers as it has jeers. Dr. Kara Davies, a highly regarded and accomplished physician, is well on her way to achieving her dreams in chiropractic research. Commitment to her goals has never been an issue, but her personal life is a different story. Preferring the comfort and safety of her lab over personal relationships, Kara's one-track mind allows no deviation. But life is full of twists and turns. After an accident on the track lands Sierra in Kara's on-site medical center, the doctor suddenly finds she has more on her mind that work. Blindsided by mutual attraction, Sierra and Kara struggle to accept their feelings for each other and to deal with the change it brings. Will love be enough? Or will life's little switchbacks send them both careening off course?

Switchback Details

TitleSwitchback
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 9th, 2017
PublisherS.W. Andersen Books
ISBN0999061615
ISBN-139780999061619
Number of pages396 pages
Rating
GenreSports and Games, Sports, Medical, Glbt, Lesbian, Abandoned

Switchback Review

  • Val
    July 7, 2017
    I simply could not get into this book and struggled to finish it. The dialogue was super cheesy and the whole thing felt awkward. I read Love By Design by this author and loved it. I'm sure I'll check out other offerings by Anderson but this one wasn't for me.
    more
  • Cristina
    July 7, 2017
    I was so close to not finishing this book. I dont know why but I couldn't connect with the story nor the characters. I was so bored that I only want to be done with it. I was so close to not finishing this book. I donĀ“t know why but I couldn't connect with the story nor the characters. I was so bored that I only want to be done with it.
    more
  • CLo
    June 16, 2017
    Another enjoyable readS.W. Andersen has easily become one of those authors that I am always excited when something new is released by them. The teasers for thks book has kept me checking Amazon pretty much daily. With that said, I really enjoyed this read overall. I still don't exactly know what a switchback is and I think it was only mentioned like once or twice in the book...Anyway, the two main characters Sierra and Kara are very likeable even though Sierra came off very stalker/clingy and Ka Another enjoyable readS.W. Andersen has easily become one of those authors that I am always excited when something new is released by them. The teasers for thks book has kept me checking Amazon pretty much daily. With that said, I really enjoyed this read overall. I still don't exactly know what a switchback is and I think it was only mentioned like once or twice in the book...Anyway, the two main characters Sierra and Kara are very likeable even though Sierra came off very stalker/clingy and Kara bipolar. The two worked. It was nice seeing how they did bring the best out of each other. I will say the story started off at a good pace. Good interaction, story progression, and everything. The middle kinda dragged with a lot of what each character thought and how insecure they each were. The pace slowed down a bit too much for my liking. But the ending picked up pace and things started happening.Overall, an enjoyable read with light referejce to the downhill biking sport, sport science, and a bit of falling in love.
    more
  • Heather Henkel
    July 1, 2017
    Great storyThis was a really epic story! I loved all the different aspects of the characters and I liked the nerd references too! I really recommend this book!
  • Loek Krancher
    July 21, 2017
    Perfect!The realistic portrayal of the racing and the rivalry between the two friends is excellent done. You can feel the vibe around mountain bike racing. There is no rush to the finish as regards the romance. The building of their relationship is steadily paced. The main characters are very different yet so perfect together. One lives her life with reckless abandon and the other is a workaholic and a control freak. Both women don't have any successful experiences with relationships but both wo Perfect!The realistic portrayal of the racing and the rivalry between the two friends is excellent done. You can feel the vibe around mountain bike racing. There is no rush to the finish as regards the romance. The building of their relationship is steadily paced. The main characters are very different yet so perfect together. One lives her life with reckless abandon and the other is a workaholic and a control freak. Both women don't have any successful experiences with relationships but both work hard to make amends and are trying not to repeat their previous mistakes. This with the help of their best friends. Nothing is easy and also because there is a championship at stake. Even when things look rocky, their feelings for each other was never in doubt. Before they could move on, they must overcome their fears and jaded views on relationships. The chemistry sizzles and the strong attraction goes beyond the physical. I loved every bit of it and I highly recommend it to everybody.
    more
  • Jim
    July 16, 2017
    Had me in tears Can't read at work, to embarrassing to be caught in tears. I love the opportunity to read work in this or any genre that evokes genuine emotional response.
  • Kathy
    July 8, 2017
    Enjoyed The StoryBut I thought it dragged in places and I found myself thinking, "just hurry up already!" I liked the characters, but I wish Ms. Andersen had developed Blake and explored his budding relationship with Ronni more fully. There's nothing wrong with adding an opposite sex relationship in lesfic when it adds to the story.I must warn my fellow grammar geeks that there are some eye rolling moments, and a couple of times when i wanted to throw my Kindle across the room.All in all, though Enjoyed The StoryBut I thought it dragged in places and I found myself thinking, "just hurry up already!" I liked the characters, but I wish Ms. Andersen had developed Blake and explored his budding relationship with Ronni more fully. There's nothing wrong with adding an opposite sex relationship in lesfic when it adds to the story.I must warn my fellow grammar geeks that there are some eye rolling moments, and a couple of times when i wanted to throw my Kindle across the room.All in all, though, I can recommend this to lesfic fans as worth the read.
    more
  • sandra lee gardiner
    July 7, 2017
    Fantastic I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book awesome characters and a load of fun i definitely recommend reading this book :)
  • Smith
    July 3, 2017
    A perfect summer time read!A perfect summer time read! Mountain biking, hot women, funny friends, nerd appreciation and a satisfying happily ever after...it has it all! I enjoyed this story and highly recommend this book to anyone wanting a sweet romance with lovable characters.
    more
  • Margaret L. Hedman
    June 20, 2017
    I loved this book.I loved Switchback. It combines the thrill of mountain bike racing with romance and friendship. The setting in Oregon sounds beautiful and I learned about a sport I knew nothing about. Excellent book.
  • Dee Martin
    July 16, 2017
    Am I the only one bothered by Sierra and her inability to take responsibility? She literally threw a tantrum, slept with her ex, omitted that she slept with her ex, ignored Kara's attempts at communication, and didn't even apologize. She didn't give Kara a chance to explain but was quick to jump to conclusions when she didn't immediately see Kara in the clinic after the race. Let's not forget Ronni harassing Kara in her place of work without having the full story. Should Kara been more upfront? Am I the only one bothered by Sierra and her inability to take responsibility? She literally threw a tantrum, slept with her ex, omitted that she slept with her ex, ignored Kara's attempts at communication, and didn't even apologize. She didn't give Kara a chance to explain but was quick to jump to conclusions when she didn't immediately see Kara in the clinic after the race. Let's not forget Ronni harassing Kara in her place of work without having the full story. Should Kara been more upfront? Perhaps. However, she didn't do anything wrong yet she's made to grovel and beg. Sierra didn't even bother to try. When Kara gave her an easy out she pounced. I would have been able to finish if there had been an equal level of maturity in both characters. At least show that Sierra was remorseful and that they could endeavor for a mature adult relationship. I've read other work by this author and enjoyed it, this however, was disappointing.
    more
  • Jessica Roberson
    July 20, 2017
    CuteI read this book because I was looking for something appealing on the Kindle Unlimited list that I haven't read yet (I have to limit my Kindle purchases because I'm such a voracious reader). I didn't have preconceived expectations but found that I actually enjoyed the story and witnessing the emotional growth in the main characters. I will have to check out other books by this author. There were grammatical errors that should have been edited before publishing. Unfortunately that is commonly CuteI read this book because I was looking for something appealing on the Kindle Unlimited list that I haven't read yet (I have to limit my Kindle purchases because I'm such a voracious reader). I didn't have preconceived expectations but found that I actually enjoyed the story and witnessing the emotional growth in the main characters. I will have to check out other books by this author. There were grammatical errors that should have been edited before publishing. Unfortunately that is commonly true with Kindle Unlimited books.
    more
  • Juanita D. Garcia
    July 25, 2017
    Enjoyable read. This was a really enjoyable story. It is a feel good, hopeful tale, and ends just the way a story like this should.
Write a review