When Rosie Met Jim & Shoeboxes
A young woman who finds herself stranded in a Queensland town during a flood, where she meets a guy named Jim

When Rosie Met Jim & Shoeboxes Details

TitleWhen Rosie Met Jim & Shoeboxes
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherReview of Australian Fiction
Number of pages20 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Short Stories, Fiction

When Rosie Met Jim & Shoeboxes Review

  • Lisa
    June 20, 2017
    5 rereads and 3 hours later and I'm still so fucking emotional don't touch me-I can't believe that we finally got a novella about Jimmy Hailler after years of waiting. When Rosie Met Jim is told from Rosie's POV naturally; I love her already. She reminds me of what I imagined Taylor Markham would have grown up to be like had she not meet her found family in Jellicoe. There's just so much pain and hints of backstory (classic Marchetta) that I can't wait to read more about in the Jimmy Novel.Now, 5 rereads and 3 hours later and I'm still so fucking emotional don't touch me-I can't believe that we finally got a novella about Jimmy Hailler after years of waiting. When Rosie Met Jim is told from Rosie's POV naturally; I love her already. She reminds me of what I imagined Taylor Markham would have grown up to be like had she not meet her found family in Jellicoe. There's just so much pain and hints of backstory (classic Marchetta) that I can't wait to read more about in the Jimmy Novel.Now, James Hailler, my son the sinnamon roll, where do I start? I laughed when I read that little excerpt in Marchetta's teaser post about Rosie meeting a Jesus-like guy in SES overalls. Jim in this novella has grown up; I had to mentally reconcile this new guy with the boy I loved in Francesca and Piper's Son. He's so different in this one, and I'm not just talking about him growing out his hair and keeping a fucking beard of all things; he's a little jaded yet throughout the story we get to see some ol' Jimmy traits (view spoiler)[the inability to shut up? charming old ladies effortlessly? that heart full of empathy? also FUCKING FIGURES THAT JIMMY HAILLER IS A TALKER DURING SEX. Stab me I cannot cope with a bearded Jimmy Hailler being generous with his tongue fucking STAB ME. (hide spoiler)]. I just miss him so much more when the story ends.There are mentions of the inner west gang that broke my heart (view spoiler)["My friends aren't the type to let go-" and the fact that Jim said Frankie is his best mate, and that Will helped him buy a car (hide spoiler)], and the whole thing with his mum (view spoiler)[fuck that woman, seriously, I'm so fucking mad that she made Jim stay away from his half siblings when my son is already so lonely what even the fuck (hide spoiler)] and what happened after his granddad died that made him take off (view spoiler)["-and I realized I didn't have a home-" FUCK ME (hide spoiler)]. So yeah, I'll basically read this every day until we get the Jimmy Novel because I just miss Jimmy Hailler so fucking much and like I hurt-
    more
  • Flannery
    June 20, 2017
    When I read stuff by Melina Marchetta, sometimes I feel like she is writing stories about people I know who've had experiences I've had. Like she is telling the stories I would try to tell if I had even half the talent she has as a writer. I saw a Goodreads email that had an update from my friend Maggie about the release of this short story. I am so far out of the loop these days, but it came out today so I immediately went and bought it and read it as it started to turn dark outside. I teared u When I read stuff by Melina Marchetta, sometimes I feel like she is writing stories about people I know who've had experiences I've had. Like she is telling the stories I would try to tell if I had even half the talent she has as a writer. I saw a Goodreads email that had an update from my friend Maggie about the release of this short story. I am so far out of the loop these days, but it came out today so I immediately went and bought it and read it as it started to turn dark outside. I teared up a couple times despite the short length of the story, and when I was finished, I went back and read some of my reviews of her other books and some pieces I wrote about her work on my defunct blog and one from a friend's site. Marchetta's work to me is like a photo album from college or high school that you look through and you are so happy and so sad at the same time. I remember how it felt to read The Piper's Son and Saving Francesca and On the Jellicoe Road for the first time and how much I chatted with other Goodreaders about them. How I've reread them several times, kind of morbidly happy that other (fictional) people feel the despair that I feel. (or, I'm happy to say, felt for long periods in the past) Anyway, this isn't even a review. It will be helpful to no one. But I don't really give a shit. I know there are more people out there who feel exactly the same way about her work that I do. If I'm talking about you, go read this. It's $2.99 or something like that. Some readers might just fly through it and say, "So what? It's about a guy who seems pretty quiet, just having a fling with a girl while they are both stuck in a town during a flood?" To me, it was another picture in the album, and I'm happy I'll be able to keep coming back to look at it.
    more
  • Carla
    June 9, 2017
    'the title is quite literal, and yes, it’s him for those who know my previous work'I AM COMPLETELY FINE DON'T LOOK AT MEedit: HOW CAN A 20 PAGE BOOK EVOKE SUCH EMOTION IN ME HOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW feel like i could cry enough tears to flood a small queensland town tbh
    more
  • ᴍᴀʏʙᴇʟʟɪɴᴇ⚓
    June 14, 2017
    hii didnt know about this until this morningandnow im ready to die while i wait please melina, i need this
  • Lucía
    June 29, 2017
    QUIERO MÁS. Melina, ya saca el libro de Jimmy Hailer, porfa 😭.
  • Sana
    June 11, 2017
    'My friends aren't the type to let go'YUP, I'M DEAD BECAUSE THESE 20 PAGES KILLED ME.---------'It’s rained for forty days and forty nights, so when a guy who looks like Jesus in orange SES overalls comes to stand next to her, Rosie thinks it’s all a bit biblical.'JIMMY HAILLER WORKING AT SES, SAVING THE WORLD AND IMPRESSING TARA FINKE ALL IN THE FIRST LINE OF THE BOOK, I'M READY
    more
  • mich
    June 21, 2017
    I just paid $2.99 for one chapter of a book that's not coming out until I have no fricken idea when. A small handfull of pages and you know what? I'd totally do it again.Because Jimmy Hailler.It was worth every cent for me. I loved this. I loved finally seeing Jimmy again (sorry, he's still Jimmy for me, not Jim -- I'm sure I'll get there eventually like I did with "Frankie" and "Tom")You'll recognize Marchetta's writing right from the first page -- it has a way of leaving you feeling a bit raw. I just paid $2.99 for one chapter of a book that's not coming out until I have no fricken idea when. A small handfull of pages and you know what? I'd totally do it again.Because Jimmy Hailler.It was worth every cent for me. I loved this. I loved finally seeing Jimmy again (sorry, he's still Jimmy for me, not Jim -- I'm sure I'll get there eventually like I did with "Frankie" and "Tom")You'll recognize Marchetta's writing right from the first page -- it has a way of leaving you feeling a bit raw. She pulls things out of words that no human person should be able to do, I swear. Whether it's YA fantasy or teenage high school crap or angsty NA, her writing always gets to me, right there (in the gut. I mean in the gut.) Btw, though, I've seen people who've read Saving Francesca and/or The Piper's Son and were eh, I don't get it. Which is fine. But if you thought those were boring, then I think it's safe to say you won't be impressed much by this litle preview chapter either.) I have no idea when the actual book comes out (note to self: must ask Lisa), but this will sustain me until then:spoilers(view spoiler)["Your best mate's a girl?""Italian like you."THAT right there will keep me going for awhile. You know, one of my favorite parts in Saving Francesca is that scene where Jimmy and Francesca are walking together to the bus stop and she asks him doesn't he wonder why her mum is always in her nightgown and why they're friends and sometimes he misses being held and the HUG and I didn't have to look any of that up cuz I've read that book & The Piper's Son so many times I've got everything ALL UP HERE *points to head*I love that he still considers Frankie his best friend. For some reason, I've always felt a sort of chemistry between Frankie and Tom that always seemed like it could go beyond friendship. But with Jimmy, I felt that it was true friendship friendship between them -- it was never more than that, but what it was was stronger than anything else could be. They have a great relationship and I LOVE IT.I'm so happy to finally learn what happened to Jimmy after his grandpop died, but can't help feeling disappointed about something -- it's been one of my heart's desires to see Jimmy's and Frankie's reunion from that time he disappeared on them. I really REALLY want to read that. Please, PLEASE can I read that somewhere? (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Maggie
    June 19, 2017
    I NEED A PEN, A PAPER AND A MOMENT BC AHHHHHHH. -----I'm here and sooooooooooo ready for this.
  • Rashika (is tired)
    June 21, 2017
    I AM CRYING. I NEED JIMMY'S ENTIRE BOOK. I ALSO NEED TO GO BACK AND RE-READ FAV BITS FROM SAVING FRANCESCA because this tiny glimpse of Jimmy has reminded me just how much I've missed him these past 5 years.
  • emma
    June 20, 2017
    IM DEAD THIS WAS SO GOOD I NEED MORE WHEN IS THE FULL LENGTH NOVEL OUT
  • Suraya (thesuraya)
    June 9, 2017
    ok but first of all, *takes a deep breath* AAAAAAAaAAaAaaaAaAaAaAAAaaAaAaAAaA I CANT BELIEVE THIS DAY FINALLY CAME Let me get through this one by one1) When i read that first paragraph, my heart soared because it recognized marchetta instantly. I can never get over of my love for her writing style it seems.2) I love Rosie. But then again, have i ever disliked marchetta's characters? Answer's no.3) Jim Hailler, my dearest child. Ive missed him, but i didn't realize how much i really miss him unti ok but first of all, *takes a deep breath* AAAAAAAaAAaAaaaAaAaAaAAAaaAaAaAAaA I CANT BELIEVE THIS DAY FINALLY CAME Let me get through this one by one1) When i read that first paragraph, my heart soared because it recognized marchetta instantly. I can never get over of my love for her writing style it seems.2) I love Rosie. But then again, have i ever disliked marchetta's characters? Answer's no.3) Jim Hailler, my dearest child. Ive missed him, but i didn't realize how much i really miss him until now. His traits doesnt even change! He still talks a lot (he must've annoyed Trombal even after school lmao), HE EVEN TALKS DURING SEX HAHAHAHAH, he magic over elderly still works, he still manages to make someone laughs even at the shittiest of time, Bonus: Jimmy Hailler is generous with his tounge during sex.4) if the romance in this short story is already messing up with my head, imagine the whole book,"And there’s something about the way skinny SES Jesus hitches Miss Fricker up in his arms and wades through the deluge that makes Rosie think that she’d follow him anywhere.” "There's something about this guy that would break her if he ends up being a disappointment.”“You listen too much for someone who doesn’t like people.""You talk too much for someone who’s just interested in sex.”5) We finally know what happened to Jimmy all these years he went missing im weeping so hard6) HE CALLED FRANKIE HIS BEST MATE7) i reaaaaaaallly love marchetta8) so i reread The Centre after WRMJ and i think the timeline for WRMJ is before The Centre??? and i also read Shoeboxes and boy, the creepiness freaked me out------------------JIMMY HAILLER IS COMING IN 10 DAYS TIME SCREAMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
    more
  • Andi (Andi's ABCs)
    June 20, 2017
    20 short pages of Marchetta perfection! Should I count it as having read a full book? Probably not. Am I going to? Yes I am because Melina Marchetta SLAYS all things! Oh Jimmy! ♥
  • anna
    June 27, 2017
    first things first: i absolutely LOVE rosie & need to know more abt her !! and now re: why i'm even here,,, 1) jim is still "a talker & didn't shut up the whole night" & im personally still dead inside and would also "follow him anywhere", thank & 2) HE'S BEEN LIVING WITH FRANCESCA & IM ABOUT READY TO THROW UP
    more
  • Lauren
    June 20, 2017
    I love you Jimmy. I can't wait for your full book. If this beginning is any indication, it's going to kill me. But I wouldn't expect any less.
  • Jasprit
    June 20, 2017
    I need more Jimmy!! <333
  • Hafsa M
    June 22, 2017
    Alright, so the thing is that usually when authors do novellas, its some sappy shit, but when marchetta does novellas well... its something else. First she blew me away with Ferragost, now this. I absolutely loved reading about Jim because I really love his chattiness (also the talking during sex? jeez Marchetta gets every detail about her characters and it blows my mind) and everyone has this individuality she captures so well. Oh and I always say this, but every character Marchetta gives dialo Alright, so the thing is that usually when authors do novellas, its some sappy shit, but when marchetta does novellas well... its something else. First she blew me away with Ferragost, now this. I absolutely loved reading about Jim because I really love his chattiness (also the talking during sex? jeez Marchetta gets every detail about her characters and it blows my mind) and everyone has this individuality she captures so well. Oh and I always say this, but every character Marchetta gives dialogue to counts. This writing, I love it so much and the ending was amazing.Look, I went and spent $3 plus GST for like 20 pages of writing so go read this, for God's sake, its Melina Marchetta what more convincing do you need?!
    more
  • Fatma
    June 9, 2017
    HOLY SHIZZLES NEW MELINA MARCHETTA
  • Antonietta
    July 1, 2017
    A new record? Melina Marchetta made me cry in 30 pages.
  • georgia
    June 14, 2017
    i'm so ???!!!!!?????am i oblivious or was this only recently announced but also whatever, this is the best news ever and i'm so excited ahhhhhhhh
  • ALPHAreader
    June 19, 2017
    From Melina’s Facebook post:The Review of Australian Fiction (reviewofaustralianfiction.com) has a great concept where a well-established writer asks a talented writer, who may be lesser known, to also submit a short story…My short story is called When Rosie met Jim. It’s about a young woman who finds herself stranded in a Queensland town during a flood, where she meets a guy named Jim. (the title is quite literal, and yes, it’s him for those who know my previous work).Mine will be the first cha From Melina’s Facebook post:The Review of Australian Fiction (reviewofaustralianfiction.com) has a great concept where a well-established writer asks a talented writer, who may be lesser known, to also submit a short story…My short story is called When Rosie met Jim. It’s about a young woman who finds herself stranded in a Queensland town during a flood, where she meets a guy named Jim. (the title is quite literal, and yes, it’s him for those who know my previous work).Mine will be the first chapter of the novel I’m writing, which unlike the short story, is set in the same part of Sydney I tend to write about in my contemporary novels.Here’s the first line;It’s rained for forty days and forty nights, so when a guy who looks like Jesus in orange SES overalls comes to stand next to her, Rosie thinks it’s all a bit biblical.*** I was lucky enough to be sent a sneaky early copy of ‘When Rosie Met Jim’ … and for anyone who knows me even a little, you’ll know what a big deal it was for me to start reading this story. And if you don’t know me at all – well, – here I am in a Buzzfeed article, writing about how Melina Marchetta basically changed my life.‘When Rosie met Jim’ landed in my inbox when I was at Sydney airport, flying home after the Writers’ Festival. I glanced at my phone, felt a rush of blood to the head and heart … then promptly walked to my gate, sat down and started reading. And crying.I was crying because it’s kinda sad. And beautiful. But mostly I was crying because I’ve missed these characters … well, character in Jimmy Hailler (though others are alluded to). He first appeared in the 2003 novel ‘Saving Francesca’ – then was conspicuously absent (but mentioned) in Melina’s follow-up, 2010 novel ‘The Piper’s Son’. I’ve worried about Jim in the intervening years. I have wondered what he’s up to, if he’s okay, and who he loves. ‘When Rosie met Jim’ is but a taste of those questions about to be answered in a full-length novel.This teaser also includes our meeting Rosie – the female protagonist of said novel. And what comes across so achingly clearly in this short story is how lonely Rosie is. And Jim too.He’s gone when she wakes in the morning and she’s relieved they don’t have to do the polite stuff. Outside, it’s drizzling and steamy and her tee shirt’s pasted onto her with the grime that comes from humidity and sweat. A couple of utes and four wheel drives pass her by, packed with possessions being taking to higher ground. Rosie wonders if she’s left it too late to get out of this town.Rosie, to me though, is another indestructible Marchetta heroine. The moment I read the line "Rosie doesn’t believe in anything hopeful" I instantly thought of Violette and Quintana ... and Taylor Markham. All the warrior women; the defiant ones who stay with you long after the last page. I can’t wait to read her story, and how it’ll (hopefully) become Jim’s story too.Back in 2010, after I first read ‘The Piper’s Son’ I wrote a review – and hit on the closest thing I think I’ve ever come to explaining what Melina’s novels do to me. What they mean to me; … this follow-up book is like catching up with old friends down at the local; we know and love them, we’ve missed them and now they’ve returned, just like we've always known they would.This is still true – of ‘When Rosie met Jim’ too. And it’s why I cried, because these characters mean something to me. I hold them dear. I hold them dear.And I’ve missed them. Missed him.He shakes his head. ‘It got to me a couple of years ago when my grandpop died and I had to get out of our flat because it was housing commission and someone else was waiting in line for it. And I realized I didn’t have a home so I disappeared for about a year. My friends aren’t the type to let go, which is a good thing, so I ended up back in Sydney couch surfing. A couple of months ago, I’m living with my best mate’s family and she convinces me to track down my mum.’Thank you, Melina.
    more
  • ALPHAreader
    June 19, 2017
    From Melina’s Facebook post:The Review of Australian Fiction (reviewofaustralianfiction.com) has a great concept where a well-established writer asks a talented writer, who may be lesser known, to also submit a short story…My short story is called When Rosie met Jim. It’s about a young woman who finds herself stranded in a Queensland town during a flood, where she meets a guy named Jim. (the title is quite literal, and yes, it’s him for those who know my previous work).Mine will be the first cha From Melina’s Facebook post:The Review of Australian Fiction (reviewofaustralianfiction.com) has a great concept where a well-established writer asks a talented writer, who may be lesser known, to also submit a short story…My short story is called When Rosie met Jim. It’s about a young woman who finds herself stranded in a Queensland town during a flood, where she meets a guy named Jim. (the title is quite literal, and yes, it’s him for those who know my previous work).Mine will be the first chapter of the novel I’m writing, which unlike the short story, is set in the same part of Sydney I tend to write about in my contemporary novels.Here’s the first line;It’s rained for forty days and forty nights, so when a guy who looks like Jesus in orange SES overalls comes to stand next to her, Rosie thinks it’s all a bit biblical.*** I was lucky enough to be sent a sneaky early copy of ‘When Rosie Met Jim’ … and for anyone who knows me even a little, you’ll know what a big deal it was for me to start reading this story. And if you don’t know me at all – well, – here I am in a Buzzfeed article, writing about how Melina Marchetta basically changed my life.‘When Rosie met Jim’ landed in my inbox when I was at Sydney airport, flying home after the Writers’ Festival. I glanced at my phone, felt a rush of blood to the head and heart … then promptly walked to my gate, sat down and started reading. And crying.I was crying because it’s kinda sad. And beautiful. But mostly I was crying because I’ve missed these characters … well, character in Jimmy Hailler (though others are alluded to). He first appeared in the 2003 novel ‘Saving Francesca’ – then was conspicuously absent (but mentioned) in Melina’s follow-up, 2010 novel ‘The Piper’s Son’. I’ve worried about Jim in the intervening years. I have wondered what he’s up to, if he’s okay, and who he loves. ‘When Rosie met Jim’ is but a taste of those questions about to be answered in a full-length novel.This teaser also includes our meeting Rosie – the female protagonist of said novel. And what comes across so achingly clearly in this short story is how lonely Rosie is. And Jim too.He’s gone when she wakes in the morning and she’s relieved they don’t have to do the polite stuff. Outside, it’s drizzling and steamy and her tee shirt’s pasted onto her with the grime that comes from humidity and sweat. A couple of utes and four wheel drives pass her by, packed with possessions being taking to higher ground. Rosie wonders if she’s left it too late to get out of this town.Rosie, to me though, is another indestructible Marchetta heroine. The moment I read the line "Rosie doesn’t believe in anything hopeful" I instantly thought of Violette and Quintana ... and Taylor Markham. All the warrior women; the defiant ones who stay with you long after the last page. I can’t wait to read her story, and how it’ll (hopefully) become Jim’s story too.Back in 2010, after I first read ‘The Piper’s Son’ I wrote a review – and hit on the closest thing I think I’ve ever come to explaining what Melina’s novels do to me. What they mean to me; … this follow-up book is like catching up with old friends down at the local; we know and love them, we’ve missed them and now they’ve returned, just like we've always known they would.This is still true – of ‘When Rosie met Jim’ too. And it’s why I cried, because these characters mean something to me. I hold them dear. I hold them dear.And I’ve missed them. Missed him.He shakes his head. ‘It got to me a couple of years ago when my grandpop died and I had to get out of our flat because it was housing commission and someone else was waiting in line for it. And I realized I didn’t have a home so I disappeared for about a year. My friends aren’t the type to let go, which is a good thing, so I ended up back in Sydney couch surfing. A couple of months ago, I’m living with my best mate’s family and she convinces me to track down my mum.’Thank you, Melina.
    more
  • Carolyn Gilpin
    June 22, 2017
    OUTSTANDING! Read these, even if you haven't read Saving Francesca by Melina. The return of a beloved secondary (tertiary, even) character is a joy for MM fans, but the story stands on its own for gritty Aussie characters, haunting sadness but a saving last line that will stay with you.And I haven't read Kathryn Barker's In the Skin of a Monster, but now I have to - Shoeboxes is a chilling short story that will play with your mind - argggh, great twist!
    more
  • Allie
    June 24, 2017
    Marchetta at her best. Very excited (and impatient) for the full book.
  • Diem
    June 20, 2017
    I WANT MOREEEEEEEE
  • дДеса (MardyBum)
    June 20, 2017
    I can't breath right now. Don't talk to me until the whole book is released.
  • Jam
    June 27, 2017
    i'm real life crying at the jimmy story I NEED MORE
  • Pinky ✩ (Isaboe of Monts)
    June 24, 2017
    WHEN ARE WE GETTING THE FULL LENGTH NOVEL? THIS BOOK IS TOO GOOD. I LOVE ROSIE ALREADY. AND JIM JIMMY MY BOY I LOVE YOU SO MUCH 😭
  • Rachel
    June 20, 2017
    After all these years, I have been blessed with the knowledge that JAMES HAILLER IS A TALKER DURING SEX AND I WILL NEVER GET OVER THIS BECAUSE THAT IS THE MOST JIMMY THING EVER.And I'm happy, so so happy because (and I'm combining Pacey Witter and Adam Wilde quotes here) the simple act of knowing that he's somewhere out there, alive, is enough for me right now. So I don't care how long it takes for MM to write the full book because I will wait until the end of time (although I'm sure I'll be twe After all these years, I have been blessed with the knowledge that JAMES HAILLER IS A TALKER DURING SEX AND I WILL NEVER GET OVER THIS BECAUSE THAT IS THE MOST JIMMY THING EVER.And I'm happy, so so happy because (and I'm combining Pacey Witter and Adam Wilde quotes here) the simple act of knowing that he's somewhere out there, alive, is enough for me right now. So I don't care how long it takes for MM to write the full book because I will wait until the end of time (although I'm sure I'll be tweeting otherwise at 1am sometime in the near future).Also, Shoeboxes was creepy as fuck. Please read In The Skin Of A Monster if you haven't already kthanksbye.
    more
  • may
    June 19, 2017
    "It's rained for forty days and forty nights, so when a guy who looks like Jesus in orange SES overalls comes to stand next to her, Rosie thinks it's all a bit biblical."Well, it's been 14 years since Saving Francesca and 7 years for The Piper's Son. It always goes by 7 which is a bit of a biblical number.Nah really, when Melina Marchetta announced this short story few days ago (along with her new novel) it came as: indeed, our Jimmy is back!"She could easily love this guy. It's what Rosie does "It's rained for forty days and forty nights, so when a guy who looks like Jesus in orange SES overalls comes to stand next to her, Rosie thinks it's all a bit biblical."Well, it's been 14 years since Saving Francesca and 7 years for The Piper's Son. It always goes by 7 which is a bit of a biblical number.Nah really, when Melina Marchetta announced this short story few days ago (along with her new novel) it came as: indeed, our Jimmy is back!"She could easily love this guy. It's what Rosie does best. She loves broken people who damage her in return."Let's not forget this short story is named When Rosie met Jim. After all Rosie is the protagonist. But you could say she is a typical Melina Marchetta character. A simple person without artifice but a lot of baggages, family drama being part of it of course.You could also say this is a love story novel. And a love (or at least sparkle) at first sight."My friends aren't the type to let go."*no comment except few tears falling down my cheeks*"I picked you up because you were the hottest girl in the pub and I wanted to have sex with you"Wow. That moment wowed me. Because last time I remembered Jimmy, he was a messy teenager who hanged out with the girls. Also at some point Francesca's father said "he isn't staying for dinner tonight" and then the narrative goes "Jimmy ate with us that evening". Messy indeed. But pure at heart and very honest. So having this image and now seeing a grown up version, without a filler book, was a bit of surprise. Obvious of course, no worries. It is just very warming to see the characters growing up with the readers over the years."Keep away from good-for-nothings. It's what's kept me alive all these years."In the end this short story was refreshing. Probably confusing if you haven't read the previous novels. Obviously too short but heart warming since the long wait. It's also the first chapter/prologue of a new book coming out soon, hopefully. Which make me even more excited since my guess (view spoiler)[Rosie went back to Sydney to get her house. It's too big, she does a Meredith Grey and shares it with other people. Jimmy is living a road trip of adventures since he left Sydney to find his parents, he can eventually come back after 18 months and his part of this house. (hide spoiler)]... voila. Always a pleasure to read Melina Marchetta, her incredible characters and words.
    more
  • Rubal
    June 25, 2017
    I read this only for Melina Marchetta's story, which was sweet but also felt like the prologue of a new book and I hope there's a follow-up. But it's the other story that has shaken me and now I can't sleep.
Write a review