Summoned to Thirteenth Grave (Charley Davidson, #13)
Grim Reaper Charley Davidson is back in the final installment of Darynda Jones’ New York Times bestselling paranormal series!Charley Davidson, Grim Reaper extraordinaire, is pissed. She’s been kicked off the earthly plain for eternity – which is the appropriate amount of time to make a person starkraving mad. But someone’s looking out for her, and she’s allowed to return after a mere hundred years in exile. Is it too much to hope for that not much has changed? Apparently it is. Bummer.She’s missed Reyes and her daughter, Beep, but now that she’s back on earth, it’s time to put to rest burning questions that need answers. What happened to her mother? How did she really die? Who killed her? And are cupcakes or coffee the best medicine? It all comes to a head in an epic showdown between good and evil in this final smart and hilarious novel.

Summoned to Thirteenth Grave (Charley Davidson, #13) Details

TitleSummoned to Thirteenth Grave (Charley Davidson, #13)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 15th, 2019
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Romance

Summoned to Thirteenth Grave (Charley Davidson, #13) Review

  • Shardallinee
    January 1, 1970
    I'm patient. I really am. I will wait for this patiently...Ooooohkay, I'm not. Not really. I'm a mess.I have no idea what I'm going to do once this series end... I'll need to find a hell of a good rebound-series... or two. Just to get over this one. I know the next thing Darynda Jones will give us will be just as compelling as all her work so far. But this is going to be hard. I already re-read the hell out of Charley series - it had yet to get old for me.
    more
  • Sandy
    January 1, 1970
    Book #13…..when you’re writing a series about the Grim Reaper, somehow that seems an appropriate number to end on. Yep, you heard me. From now on you’ll have to find another reason to visit Albuquerque because Charley Davidson & Co. are signing off. But first…a few loose ends.As the book opens, Charley pops up back on Earth after being banished to darkness for over 100 years. Or as she describes it “exiled in hell with no light, no hair products & no coffee”. Reyes finds her in no time & Book #13…..when you’re writing a series about the Grim Reaper, somehow that seems an appropriate number to end on. Yep, you heard me. From now on you’ll have to find another reason to visit Albuquerque because Charley Davidson & Co. are signing off. But first…a few loose ends.As the book opens, Charley pops up back on Earth after being banished to darkness for over 100 years. Or as she describes it “exiled in hell with no light, no hair products & no coffee”. Reyes finds her in no time & after an…er…”warm” welcome, brings her up to speed. It’s kind of a good news/bad news situation. The good: he’s fine, Beep’s fine, all the gang are fine. The bad: it seems he accidentally opened up a hell dimension & demons are pouring through. LOTS of demons. While they’re busy slurping up human souls, a shade has descended on the city & it’s spreading. There’s no time to waste & Charley & Reyes are soon hunkered down with their crew as they brainstorm ways to banish the nasty creatures snacking on the good citizens of Albuquerque. As usual there are numerous story lines & Charley must keep herself highly caffeinated if she’s going to multi-task her way through the whole mess. Everything is aligned for a final showdown between the forces of good & evil. And while it’s maybe not as epic as I was hoping, it does provide answers to long running questions. Trust me, there are some jaw droppers here ( looking at YOU, Uncle Bob )Story lines & character arcs are tidied up as you’d expect in a final instalment. My only quibble would be this is more saccharine than we’re accustomed to given Charley’s tendency to shoot from the lip. But when you’re wrapping up a series, it has to be a challenge to say good-bye without getting a little misty. The author could have kept it going (I imagine her publishers wished she had). But I applaud her for ending things while the story lines were still strong & original. Of course I’ll miss the characters but for me, one of the things I always looked forward to were the headers of each chapter. So on that note, I will leave you with this….. Trust me. You can dance. — Vodka 🍸Ciao, Charley. Thanks for the laughs.
    more
  • AleJandra
    January 1, 1970
    Yo al leer la sinopsis:Yo al ver que ya atrasaron la fecha de publicación, hasta el 2019:Que la autora lo haya retrasado me da a entender que este libro será completamente épico, un final digno para Reyes y Charlie.Así me da tiempo de releer la serie.
    more
  • Aria
    January 1, 1970
    AAAAAAAAAA! Can't tell if I'm excited or about to burst into tears.
  • Marta Cox
    January 1, 1970
    How do I begin to write a review for this bittersweet final book ? It's been a series I've really enjoyed and I love that the author decided to end it on episode thirteen as somehow that is just so fitting. These characters have gone through so much and recently I've been more than a little upset that Charley and Reyes cannot be with their daughter Beep and I was so hoping that this book would change all that. Still this power couple just keep going fighting demons, drinking coffee, helping the How do I begin to write a review for this bittersweet final book ? It's been a series I've really enjoyed and I love that the author decided to end it on episode thirteen as somehow that is just so fitting. These characters have gone through so much and recently I've been more than a little upset that Charley and Reyes cannot be with their daughter Beep and I was so hoping that this book would change all that. Still this power couple just keep going fighting demons, drinking coffee, helping the dead and generally saving the world. Oh but that unfortunately is exactly what they need to do here but how do they defeat something that is pretty much going to mean the end of the world ? Too bad Reyes big brother isn't around but luckily Charley is home although she's not exactly sure how or why she's where she wants to be. No time for analysis though except there are those who have been watching and they are a lot closer than she thought !I began this feeling hopeful and honestly felt my heart start to sink as the story progressed. Something I kind of guessed but still this author twisted the knife. You will smile and be elated, you will feel a creeping melancholy but most of all you will want to go back to the beginning and read this wonderful series all over again because it's ends exactly as it should but my lips are sealed !
    more
  • ☕ Kimberly
    January 1, 1970
    Summoned to Thirteenth Grave by Darynda Jones is the final book in the Charley Davidson series featuring a coffee loving, Grim Reaping god who collects friends, named her tits and loves a Demon who happens to be the son of Lucifer. These are my people. Osh, Cookie, Garret, Uncle Bob, the kids and so many more from the living to the non-living. I have loved every minute of this series, even the killer last paragraphs that left me hanging to the next release.The only reason I am not curled in a fe Summoned to Thirteenth Grave by Darynda Jones is the final book in the Charley Davidson series featuring a coffee loving, Grim Reaping god who collects friends, named her tits and loves a Demon who happens to be the son of Lucifer. These are my people. Osh, Cookie, Garret, Uncle Bob, the kids and so many more from the living to the non-living. I have loved every minute of this series, even the killer last paragraphs that left me hanging to the next release.The only reason I am not curled in a fetal position somewhere is because I have it on good authority we will see more from this world pertaining to Beep.Jones took me on one heck of an emotional ride and made me experience all the feels from laughter to tears as we said goodbye to some, made startling revelations, learned the fate of some, battled demons and spent time with our favorite couples.An apocalyptic event is happening in Albuquerque because of events in the previous books. The CDC and national news are reporting illness, followed by violent changes in behavior to those affected. Think..zombie apocalypse..but no one is eating brains. Oh, and there are demons from a hell dimension. You must read the book to discover more but Charley and her army of misfits have mere days to save the world.Summoned to Thirteenth Grave was epic!! If you haven't begun the series now is the time to binge. If you've read all the books, but have final book phobia (trust me it is a thing), do not be afraid. I repeat. Do not be afraid....it is safe to go into the light!On and Ms. Jones, that last paragraph was a killer.  This review was originally posted at Caffeinated Reviewer
    more
  • Maya
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received in exchange for an honest review.This is it, the final book in this series. And how fitting that it's the number thirteen. I'm sad that it's going to be the last one but at the same time I'm glad that we got our big ending. I think we've all been waiting a long time for that to happen, since the previous book ended on such a huge cliffhanger. And to be honest, this book ends more on a HFN than a HEA, since there's still the big battle that Beep has to fight agains Lucifer. I've read ARC received in exchange for an honest review.This is it, the final book in this series. And how fitting that it's the number thirteen. I'm sad that it's going to be the last one but at the same time I'm glad that we got our big ending. I think we've all been waiting a long time for that to happen, since the previous book ended on such a huge cliffhanger. And to be honest, this book ends more on a HFN than a HEA, since there's still the big battle that Beep has to fight agains Lucifer. I've read somewhere, so this info might not be 100% accurate, that we'll get a spin off for Beep's story. I hope that's true, since I'm in love with this series and would love to continue reading about such fantastic characters. Especially since we don't know what happened to Osh. So I think the author is hinting at the new spin off with that little clue. And about what happens in this book...well...I'm not giving away any big spoilers so you'll just have to read the book to find out for yourself. But it's safe to say that this time all that could go wrong, goes wrong. And disastrously so. As in all hell is breaking loose and in the literal sense at that. Can't say I'm surprised by that, since that happens to me on a daily basis once I leave home and my cats can have the time of their lives destroying the house. As for Charley and Reyes, I mean, they can't do any wrong in my opinion. Even if they accidentally almost destroy the whole world, no biggie. After being gone from the earthly plain for what felt like an eternity Charley had to live a little, right? And also, this might be the book where we get to see the couple spend most of their time together. Can't tell you how much I loved that. They are one of my all time favourite couples, their relationship is always so funny and something I someday wish to have with my loved one. Not to mention all the sexy scenes we get in this book. Aside from that, it felt so good to get the whole gang back together, the whole big family reuniting once again for this big battle. I mean, what more could one want from this series conclusion, right? Well, there were some pretty big plot twist and revelations and even deaths that left me completely stunned. I think it was Rocket's secret that had shocked me the most, like who knew? I was so happy and at the same time so sad for him. I wished someone would give him a big hug. All in all, this is a bitterweeet ending of a great series and this book is a must read for all Charley and Reyes fans!
    more
  • Anna Serene
    January 1, 1970
    I'm confused... if she gets 100 years in exile, how are Reyes and Beep still around? Or if it's got a time discrepancy with the dimensions, how much time has actually passed? Is this a cop out? God I hope this is good.
  • Maranda
    January 1, 1970
    Chapter headings are usually only a quick glance but.. Jones' are so unique and always make me smile and chuckle before the story continues. Go to her web site and take a look at them; she has a list. This series is one of my all time favorites. Absolutely nothing left out no matter what your preferred reading material is. So... LET'S SEE WHAT WE HAVE: 1. Mega unique and I just love them characters. 2. Romance and under the sheet moments. 3. Some tears are shed. 4. Paranormal aspects - Charley i Chapter headings are usually only a quick glance but.. Jones' are so unique and always make me smile and chuckle before the story continues. Go to her web site and take a look at them; she has a list. This series is one of my all time favorites. Absolutely nothing left out no matter what your preferred reading material is. So... LET'S SEE WHAT WE HAVE: 1. Mega unique and I just love them characters. 2. Romance and under the sheet moments. 3. Some tears are shed. 4. Paranormal aspects - Charley is the Grim Reaper and her husband is from the Dark side. 5 Humor - Who names their Boobs? 6. Action and conflicts that keep the pages turning. 7. Jones does not use cliff hangers just a craving for the next book to come out. Can't think of anything else to say except start the series from the beginning and treat yourself to an escape. "A copy of this book was provided by St. Martin's Press Via Netgalley with no requirements for a review. Comments here are my honest opinion."
    more
  • Betul
    January 1, 1970
    **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**This is it. The conclusion to the Charley Davidson series. I thought I was ready for this book, but boy was I wrong. I was prepared for anything, and made sure to keep tissues close by, because I knew I would need them. This review will contain spoilers if you haven't read the previous books in the series. So think twice before you continue reading. If you read the previous book, you know Charley did the one thing she was explicitly t **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**This is it. The conclusion to the Charley Davidson series. I thought I was ready for this book, but boy was I wrong. I was prepared for anything, and made sure to keep tissues close by, because I knew I would need them. This review will contain spoilers if you haven't read the previous books in the series. So think twice before you continue reading. If you read the previous book, you know Charley did the one thing she was explicitly told not to, which resulted in her paying the price: being kicked off the earthly plain for eternity. But of course she makes it back to earth because there is a battle to be fought. This book was action-packed, mysterious, hilarious, emotional and amazing. Summoned to Thirteenth Grave was perfect.It was also very emotional for me, because I spent more than six years hanging out with Charley and her tribe. Six years of going on crazy adventures, laughing and crying with them. Each and every character in this book has a special place in my heart. Darynda Jones, like in her previous books, found a way to add twists and turns to the story. There were still so many secrets to be revealed, and some of them shocked the hell out of me. Don't expect this book to only focus on the battle, if you know Charley, she can multitask like no other. She won't leave any case unsolved, and I loved that the author included them into the story. I am also happy that we got to see every character again. I am going to miss them so much, and they will hold a special place in my heart forever. It will take some time for me to get over this series. The only upside to the conclusion of this book is that there will be a spin-off focusing on Charley and Reyes daughter Beep.
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    Can't believe it is over...or is it?Full review to come!*EDITED TO ADD REVIEW*It is so very hard to review perfection isn't it?I mean where do you even begin, and let's face it, this series has been pretty much that, from the very beginning. And while this has been such a bittersweet experience, it has also been one I won't soon forget. I adore these characters and while they aren't my babies like they are Ms. Jones, they are still, well, family to me. I love them, I care for them, and I will mi Can't believe it is over...or is it?Full review to come!*EDITED TO ADD REVIEW*It is so very hard to review perfection isn't it?I mean where do you even begin, and let's face it, this series has been pretty much that, from the very beginning. And while this has been such a bittersweet experience, it has also been one I won't soon forget. I adore these characters and while they aren't my babies like they are Ms. Jones, they are still, well, family to me. I love them, I care for them, and I will miss them like crazy. Reading this book has not only pushed me past my emotional limits but has tested them as well. So many feels.It started with simply both wanting to devour and savor the experience of it. Heartbreak at knowing this was it for Charley and Reyes and all these amazing characters and yet, also knowing that I had to get through it, because I couldn't wait to see what happened. Couldn't wait to be immersed back into their world. So with a heart both beating fast to know what would happen and slowly breaking at realizing this was it, I soldiered on and dove straight in, head (and heart) first. And oh what an experience! I relished it, I devoured it. I soaked it up and in and...it was amazing. Everything I was use to, everything I never thought it could be and everything I knew it could. The classic Charley humor, the love, the cases, the discoveries, the revelations. The loses, the bemoaning. Just so very much. I loved it and the ending, while perfect, also left me wanting more. That spin-off series, oh man, it better get here soon. All in all, that word again, perfection. Well done Ms. Jones, well done. *ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Yodamom
    January 1, 1970
    Can Not Wait !
  • Mindy Lou's Book Review
    January 1, 1970
    What an incredible Finale. This is seriously one of the best series I have read to date. If I had to describe it in a few words... It was Epic!! Brilliant!! Fun and Entertaining!! It has everything I love from the humor, the fun side characters, the suspense, and most of all, the ultimate love story between Charley and Reyes. The first few books was slow to bring us that love story but once it did, it was truly beautiful. These two are one of my favorite couples. There were some very, sad moment What an incredible Finale. This is seriously one of the best series I have read to date. If I had to describe it in a few words... It was Epic!! Brilliant!! Fun and Entertaining!! It has everything I love from the humor, the fun side characters, the suspense, and most of all, the ultimate love story between Charley and Reyes. The first few books was slow to bring us that love story but once it did, it was truly beautiful. These two are one of my favorite couples. There were some very, sad moments but I am happy with how this concluded. I do feel there may be more to come. Maybe in a spin-off of the series? I really hope that is what the author has planned. She has a devoted reader in me after this series and that means I will always ask for more. I can honestly say that I could read about these characters forever. I've enjoyed each and every book and will be re-reading this series again and again.
    more
  • A Voracious Reader (a.k.a. Carol)
    January 1, 1970
    That ending! If Beep doesn't get her own series when she is grown then I'll...I'll...I don't know what I'll do. Wail helplessly and endlessly?**********************************************************************Review:Book source ~ NetGalley (for tour)Charley Davidson broke the only rule she was supposed to follow and God (yes, Him) flicked her like a bug into a Hell dimension as punishment. Ok, maybe he didn’t actually flick her. He may have whisked her. Or scooted? Anyway, after 100+ years of That ending! If Beep doesn't get her own series when she is grown then I'll...I'll...I don't know what I'll do. Wail helplessly and endlessly?**********************************************************************Review:Book source ~ NetGalley (for tour)Charley Davidson broke the only rule she was supposed to follow and God (yes, Him) flicked her like a bug into a Hell dimension as punishment. Ok, maybe he didn’t actually flick her. He may have whisked her. Or scooted? Anyway, after 100+ years of exile she’s back and she’s not sure what she’s missed more: Reyes, her daughter, her friends or coffee. But just because she’s been gone doesn’t mean shit hasn’t hit the fan and now she has to roll up her sleeves, assuming she has sleeves, and get to work.I finished this epic final installment of an even bigger epic series and all I could hear is the Doors playing The End. That was a stupid ringtone I picked for my phone, but anyway, I’m sad to say it is The End for Charley’s adventures. However, I left the last page behind with hope in my heart that there will, at some point, be a book/trilogy/series featuring the ever adorable Beep and her army facing off with Lucifer.I laughed, I cried, I snorted, I drooled, so it was a typical Charley book in that respect. But I was also floored by a certain revelation. Woo doggie! I totally did not see that coming. And that thing, at the end? I never would have thought of that! So, goodbye for now, my friends. I hope to see you again soon in another dimension. Or installment. Or whatever. Oh, who am I kidding? I’m totally going to re-read this entire series and soon, so get some cookies and put on the tea!
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Fun-filled, laugh out loud funny and fighting evil, what else could you ask for for the conclusion of the Charley Davidson season. I have to admit, I'm a little conflict knowing this is the last in the series but Jones wraps up this zany, outlandish, utterly addicting series with panache that we've come to expect. Charlie and Reyes are about to face the ultimate show down and it becomes a family affair. Finish the Charley Davidson series just makes you want to pick them all up and doing a re-rea Fun-filled, laugh out loud funny and fighting evil, what else could you ask for for the conclusion of the Charley Davidson season. I have to admit, I'm a little conflict knowing this is the last in the series but Jones wraps up this zany, outlandish, utterly addicting series with panache that we've come to expect. Charlie and Reyes are about to face the ultimate show down and it becomes a family affair. Finish the Charley Davidson series just makes you want to pick them all up and doing a re-read.I received this ARC copy of Summoned to Thirtheenth Grave from St. Martin's Press. This is my honest and voluntary review. Summoned to Thirtheenth Grave is set for publication Jan. 15, 2019.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Darynda JonesSeries: Charley Davidson Series Sequence in Series: Book 13Hardcover: 304 pagesPublisher: St. Martin's Press Publication Date: January 15, 2019ISBN-10: 125014941XISBN-13: 978-1250149411Genre: Scifi | Mystery | HumorAmazon: https://www.amazon.com/Summoned-Thirt...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/summ...Itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/summ...
    more
  • Carvanz
    January 1, 1970
    I’m in a wonderfully awful place right now. I’ve loved every moment of this series and reaching its conclusion is bittersweet on its own. (I can’t even imagine what this feels like for the author.) So much takes place in this final installment. It still has the wonderful Charley Davidson humor as well as the steam of her relationship with Reyes. But there is so much more this time around. Even as the ending drew nearer, I could feel it in every word written as well as their tone that we were ent I’m in a wonderfully awful place right now. I’ve loved every moment of this series and reaching its conclusion is bittersweet on its own. (I can’t even imagine what this feels like for the author.) So much takes place in this final installment. It still has the wonderful Charley Davidson humor as well as the steam of her relationship with Reyes. But there is so much more this time around. Even as the ending drew nearer, I could feel it in every word written as well as their tone that we were entering a new place that this series hasn’t taken us to before. I found myself absolutely sobbing through all the bad, the good and the in between. I have a love hate relationship with this author for making me fall in love with every single one of these characters, not just Charley and Reyes, and then bringing it all to an end. I’m not reviewing the actual storyline here in any real sense of the word because if you’ve reached this point in the series, then I encourage you not to read anything that’s going to spoiler it for you. And really, no matter the actions these characters take, you’re going to be an emotional mess like myself simply because their story has reached its end. If your checking out reviews to learn if this series is “safe”, then pull up book one as quickly as you can and dig in. You can’t find a better time and any delay will only having you kicking yourself later.Heroine POVSafe (view spoiler)[no ow/om drama; no cheating although h kisses om in order to share her powers with him – this is not a sexual kiss but in Charley’s world her sarcasm puts a bit of a quirky spin to it (hide spoiler)]Triggers (view spoiler)[a villain is a child molester/kidnapper but no details of his abuse is shared or on page other than to let the reader know who and what he is (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    When I picked up my first Charley Davidson book last fall, I didn't expect to fall in love with Darynda Jones' fantastic series and the equally wonderful cast of characters or speed race my way through books 1 through 12 within a two week span! Then I reread them again this spring in anticipation of Summoned to Thirteenth Grave, the final book in the series because I wanted to savor each book and make sure I was ready to say one last, bittersweet goodbye to a series that is truly one of my all-t When I picked up my first Charley Davidson book last fall, I didn't expect to fall in love with Darynda Jones' fantastic series and the equally wonderful cast of characters or speed race my way through books 1 through 12 within a two week span! Then I reread them again this spring in anticipation of Summoned to Thirteenth Grave, the final book in the series because I wanted to savor each book and make sure I was ready to say one last, bittersweet goodbye to a series that is truly one of my all-time favorites. As much as I hate to see the end the series, I can say that I'm one-hundred percent thrilled with the way Jones wrapped everything up! The thirteenth and final installment is just a brilliant and fitting ending for Charley, Reyes, Cookie, Amber, Uncle Bob, Garrett, Osh, Angel...well, all Charley's tribe! I'll definitely miss a character who loves coffee as much as I do!What I loved most in this book was that there were no loose ends for the characters and although there were many moments, well a lot to be honest, that brought tears to my eyes, the endings were not improbable or far-fetched, but made sense for each character and what we've grown to know and love about them. Jones even left it open for a possible...PLEASE...Beep spin-off, which I know so many lovers of the series will die to read!I'm going to miss Charley and her snarky sense of humor and Reyes with his smoldering glances but most of all, I'm going to miss the friendships that Jones wrote so well. The entire series has not just been about solving mysteries, saving people, fighting demons, or saving humanity, but building friendships and relationships that have been woven as threads throughout each book. These relationships are the heart of the series and one reason why I've loved the books so much. I would honestly love to spend time with Charley and Cookie...and stare at Reyes for a while.Book 13 has a truly a wonderful cast of characters, a fantastic plot, and is an extraordinary ending to an incredible series...if you haven't read the first twelve books, then you need to run and do so now before Summoned to Thirteenth Grave is released on January 15, 2019!! They really are one of my most beloved series ever, and I can't recommend them highly enough.Bye, Charley and the gang, you'll be missed! I'll be waiting with anticipation for what Jones has in store for us next!!**Thank you NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for an ARC to read in exchange for my fair and honest review.**
    more
  • Tanja ~ T's Book ~ KT Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    I am absolutely stunned by this ending. STUNNED. The first words I wrote on my Goodreads page after finishing was “I am a speechless, sobbing mess. Words will come, but it's gonna take some time.” and believe me, it has.Okay, getting myself together. Firstly, let me just say that the Charley Davidson series has been one hell of a ride. From the moment Charley entered my bookish life, till the very end. She has been and will remain one of my all-time favorite heroines. Her snark, troubled escapad I am absolutely stunned by this ending. STUNNED. The first words I wrote on my Goodreads page after finishing was “I am a speechless, sobbing mess. Words will come, but it's gonna take some time.” and believe me, it has.Okay, getting myself together. Firstly, let me just say that the Charley Davidson series has been one hell of a ride. From the moment Charley entered my bookish life, till the very end. She has been and will remain one of my all-time favorite heroines. Her snark, troubled escapades, her hidden emotions, and seriously criminal coffee addiction will be sorely missed.As for Summoned to Thirteenth, well… my emotions were all over the place in this final book. From relief, to grief, and a melancholy yet somber feeling when I reached the last page. I will miss them all. Cookie, Uncle Bob, Mr. Wong, Artemis, Osh… and so many more.“I savored the scene as long as I could, memorizing each face. Each smile. Each laugh. This was a room filled with greatness. With gifts and talents that were unmatched the world over. A god, a warrior, a spiritualist, a healer, a scholar, a magician, a caregiver, a ruler, and a handful of guardians. This was my world. These were my people.”The shining star in all this is the knowledge that more seems to be coming with Beep. The foreshadowing is all over Summoned to Thirteenth. I am truly sad that it's over yet… is there more?“I want what you and Reyes have.” “The strong possibility of an STD?” “No, a love that spans the life of a million stars.”5 Coffee infused sadly it’s over stars~Tanja**PUSHES ALL OTHER BOOKS OFF DESK. STARTS READING** Follow us on KT Book ReviewsTwitterFacebookPinteresttumblrYouTubeBook BabblersInstagram
    more
  • Under the Covers Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.How do you read an anticipated end-of-series novel and not let it end? Savor every word, every scene, highlight every quote and hope that the next page is not the last. I seriously tried to slow down my reading and not devour this book in one sitting. Unfortunately, it’s like taking that red pill. Once I started reading, I’m basically done for. C I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.How do you read an anticipated end-of-series novel and not let it end? Savor every word, every scene, highlight every quote and hope that the next page is not the last. I seriously tried to slow down my reading and not devour this book in one sitting. Unfortunately, it’s like taking that red pill. Once I started reading, I’m basically done for. Charlie is back from her hundred years in exile. While she came back with a lead about her mother, she comes back to the chaos that is threatening her loved ones and mankind. It’s been quite a journey for Charley, Reyes, and crew, but in this last installment, they will fight the biggest battle of all.What a perfect ending to an amazing series. Not just for Charley, but for a handful of other characters in this book. Darynda did right by them and with that, she did right by me. I loved every page. What amazed me is how Darynda neatly tied things together. From the very beginning of the series to this very last. There were twists and turn of events and reveals that shocked the heck out of me. Unfortunately, mentioning any of it will just lead to spoilers but know this, you will not be disappointed in any of the outcomes. Here’s what that excites me the most; Darynda left a few things open. Not so much a cliffhanger but more of a possibility for a spin-off. I was told by DJ herself that she has plans for that. The question is when. I just hope sooner than later. Meanwhile, she has another series in the making and I have no doubt it will be amazing. Since I read this book in November, it was hard not including it in my Best of 2018. So, I will say it now, this book is in the running for my Best Book, Best Couple, Best Sex Scene, Best Series, Kick-Ass Heroine, And Sexiest Hero for 2019. Not to mention Best Author! If you haven't read this series yet, you simply must! *ARC provided by publisherReviewed by Angela❤ ♡ Don't want to miss any of our posts? Subscribe to our blog by email! ♡ ❤
    more
  • Jen (That's What I'm Talking About)
    January 1, 1970
    Summoned to Thirteenth Grave is the final book in the Charley Davidson series, so I strongly suggest you not start the series with this title. Overall, this series has been a crazy, enjoyable ride, so if you are interested in Charley’s story, please start with the first book, First Grave on the Right. Beware: series spoilers (but not this book spoilers) ahead…Summoned to Thirteenth Grave picks up a certain time after the shocking conclusion of the previous book, when Charley was banished from th Summoned to Thirteenth Grave is the final book in the Charley Davidson series, so I strongly suggest you not start the series with this title. Overall, this series has been a crazy, enjoyable ride, so if you are interested in Charley’s story, please start with the first book, First Grave on the Right. Beware: series spoilers (but not this book spoilers) ahead…Summoned to Thirteenth Grave picks up a certain time after the shocking conclusion of the previous book, when Charley was banished from the earthly realm and universe for breaking one of Jehovah’s rules. Without sharing specifics, I’ll tell you that Charley does end up back on Earth just in time to help the gang deal with the hell dimension that is taking over New Mexico. The tear is feeding demons onto Earth, causing people to go crazy, and within days, it will spread across the globe. There isn’t much I can share about Summoned to Thirteenth Grave without giving away spoilers. While there were some jaw dropping moments, and a couple twists that felt under developed, by-in-large the book wrapped up loose ends that have been dangling for a while. We get closure on most characters' issues and/or catch a glimpse of their future. The tempo and flow of the story is similar to when the series first started - no extraneous side stories, and I didn't have to split my attention in too many directions (which was a problem I had with some of the books). The humor is consistent and excellent. The issues I've had between Reyes and Charley are gone, and the characters are better for it. I felt a maturity in Charley that has been missing in previous titles.Narration: This book, like the entire series, is shared via the first person POV of Charley. It is her story, and we are in her brain. Lorelei King, my all-time favorite narrator, continues to capture Charley’s unique and crazy personality, easily jumping from one subject to the next without pause. She has mastered Charley’s sarcasm and sincerity, her passion and her fury. I think the only reason I can keep up with Charley’s ADD lifestyle is due to Ms. King’s masterful performance. And it’s not just Charley, but Ms. King provides a large range of unique voices for every character, making the recording sound like a cast of dozens, rather than one. Summoned to Thirteenth Grave provides a very good ending to a series I've both loved and been utterly frustrated with. The author does a great job bringing outstanding issues to closure. Ms. Jones allows each character some stage time without it feeling forced or contrived. The door has been left open for future tales, and I for one, hope we get them.My Ratings:
Story: A-
Narration: A+Review copy provided by Macmillan Audio
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Final Book????? 2019???? I just.... Summoned to Thirteenth Grave Charley Davidson , Book 13 I Picked Up This Book Because: Continue the series. The Characters: Charley Davidson: Reyes Alexander Farrow: Cookie, Amber, Uncle Bob, Osh, Peri, Garrett, Beep, Gemma, I’m probably leaving someone out. The Story: Let’s move past the part when I cried because this is the last book in the series. Let’s also forget the other random crying I did throughout the book as they are related to major spoile Final Book????? 2019???? I just.... Summoned to Thirteenth Grave Charley Davidson , Book 13 I Picked Up This Book Because: Continue the series. The Characters: Charley Davidson: Reyes Alexander Farrow: Cookie, Amber, Uncle Bob, Osh, Peri, Garrett, Beep, Gemma, I’m probably leaving someone out. The Story: Let’s move past the part when I cried because this is the last book in the series. Let’s also forget the other random crying I did throughout the book as they are related to major spoilers. Let’s focus on the fact that we are on the thirteenth book and Ms Jones still manage to shock and surprise me with every chapter. Don’t get me wrong I am incredibly saddened by the end of this series but I could not be happier with the way it ended. I think Ms Jones gave us appropriate closure to the story. The amount of tears I shed during this book is probably record breaking. There are so many characters that we must say a loving goodbye to but who knows maybe the goodbye is only temporary. The Random Thoughts: I cannot wait for the audiobook to be released. Definitely deserves another read/listen. The Score Card: 5 Stars
    more
  • Amelia Hutchins
    January 1, 1970
    5 star review for the end of an era. Darynda has taken us on an epic ride of love, laughter, coffee out the nose belly laughs. I hate to see it end, but the best things always do that. This series has been one epic ride that everyone should take. I have followed Darynda since book one was released. I’ve waited on the edge of my seat for every one of these beautiful, breathtakingly masterful rides to come to light. It’s an end of one of the greatest series of all time. This story is perfect, and 5 star review for the end of an era. Darynda has taken us on an epic ride of love, laughter, coffee out the nose belly laughs. I hate to see it end, but the best things always do that. This series has been one epic ride that everyone should take. I have followed Darynda since book one was released. I’ve waited on the edge of my seat for every one of these beautiful, breathtakingly masterful rides to come to light. It’s an end of one of the greatest series of all time. This story is perfect, and while I refuse to let Reyes go, I know that this was the perfect way to accomplish it. Through this journey, I’ve cheered, (cried a little) Not admitting that out loud, loved, and cherished being allowed into the world Darynda has created. I cannot wait to see what she has in store for us next. Thank you for the beautiful journey, Darynda. If you have not read this series, do it! You won’t be disappointed.
    more
  • Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey)
    January 1, 1970
    Disappointed.Let me start with the positive. I love this series and it's characters and will recommend every time. And had this been another installment in the series, I would be leaving a very different review with words like okay and good (if you exclude the final chapter).However, to my shock, I learned that this was the last book. How did I not know this? I'm a loyal fan of the series from years ago and have faithfully one clicked each annual release week. So what went wrong?This book was no Disappointed.Let me start with the positive. I love this series and it's characters and will recommend every time. And had this been another installment in the series, I would be leaving a very different review with words like okay and good (if you exclude the final chapter).However, to my shock, I learned that this was the last book. How did I not know this? I'm a loyal fan of the series from years ago and have faithfully one clicked each annual release week. So what went wrong?This book was not the epic conclusion I expected after hearing the author's note in the audiobook at the start.SPOILERS AHEADWhat we got was a hodgepodge of events that created a book, but not a story. Not much of what happens adds to what should be a story arc or even a series arc.For example, if the author knew that Uncle Bob was an angel, why weren't there little hints along the way of the last 12 books. Nope. None. Charley should not have been completely surprised. How did her dad not know that was his brother or did he? Not explained. There was never a mention that the brothers didn't look alike. No explanation about when he was inserted into her father's life to protect her birth? All of which suggest that this was contrived for this book to give closure to this character. Then the Uncle Bob I loved lost all his shine. He made a deal to protect Charley with no care about his wife or step daughter who pleaded with him to stay and be her father. They were just extras to him. Add what really did his presence add to the final battle?? Nothing. Why did Rhes act like his presence was at his request when Uncle Bob made the deal with Micheal. Nothing is explained. And all of it wasn't necessary and took a good character and made him bad in my eyes.And other characters that couldn't have closure were killed off. Why did Jemma need to die? (sorry, I listened to entire series. I have no idea how names are spelled.) How did that add to this story or series arc. Not that I cared about her character. It just seemed random. Like why didn't we know she died until Charley asked her to cross? It felt like it was there for shock value. Didn't other people see her??? Maybe I missed something.And why kill off the poor cop who couldn't catch a break? What was the point? Again, she needed to give him closure and had none, so he was dead. This isn't GOT.The only character I gave too shakes about whether he lived or passed on was Rocket. And what's this about him fathering a child? Wouldn't he have rambled the name of his love at some point or several over the course of the series? Again, it felt contrived to give him a send off.Here's a big one. Rhes created this dimension/realm to house Charley that was set loose. Wouldn't he have dominion over it like Jehovah has over "earth". Wouldn't the shades he created have to abide by his rules??? Again another contrived plot thread so that we have this battle. Rhes had a hard time killing one at the hospital with witnesses, but he can pull out a scythe during the final battle and easily cut it in half??? The world building was just a hot mess in this story. What was the point of Ghost Boys story? Again, it was a sad story that really added nothing for Charley to learn for the ending battle. A random story that would have been better served earlier in the series when we were learning Rhes's back story. But here, it was pointless and only again felt contrived. Like Rhes knew his step father had a son and didn't tell Charley? Didn't watch over the guy like he had Kim and could have stopped him? It doesn't fit with Rhes's character that he would keep this a secret. Which meant it was devised for this story alone, yet it wasn't needed at all. Overall, it didn't really tie into what Charley's mission was from book one. The baby wasn't there. What was her purpose? What was she to accomplish? And if I give you the baby then why... see below.And the final thing that totally pissed me off was the ending. They found a way to create a safe place for their daughter to grow up. So why would they not parent her??? The reasoning before was she would be discovered and wouldn't be safe with them. But now, there's a place where no bad things can get to her. Why wouldn't they parent her? She's still a baby and wouldn't remember the Lore's. Who could still be a part of her life. It felt like they couldn't be bothered to be parents, when they both had such unhappy child lives, they could make it better with their own. This bothered me lots.Overall, I was just deeply disappointed that this was the ending we got. Again, if this was another installment, I would have rated and reviewed it differently.I also would like to say that this is my opinion and not a real reflection of the author's talent because I still adore this series. But this series ending didn't work for me.
    more
  • Douglas Meeks
    January 1, 1970
    Seems like I have been reading this series forever and I can't believe that it might be over ..... I say might because like always there was the last sentence that seemed to indicate there might be "something" to come in the future.I digress, this was an amazing finish and if there was a loose end that was not cleaned up I can't think of it (well there that lion thing) and then there are some major surprises as always. There was always the large extended family that Charlie has acquired through Seems like I have been reading this series forever and I can't believe that it might be over ..... I say might because like always there was the last sentence that seemed to indicate there might be "something" to come in the future.I digress, this was an amazing finish and if there was a loose end that was not cleaned up I can't think of it (well there that lion thing) and then there are some major surprises as always. There was always the large extended family that Charlie has acquired through these 13 books and everyone of them had to be accounted for and any lingering trouble or problem concerning them had to be taken care of also and a couple of those had some really intriguing solutions.The story was amazing, the solutions creative and the love for everybody was heartfelt but for my reading pleasure it got a bit verbose in places and the erotic scenes between our main couple just got redundant IMHO.Bottom Line: Amazing story, excellent ending, a bit verbose, a wee bit too much sex at inappropriate times it seemed (since the world might be ending) but if you have read most of the books in this series (and don't even THINK about reading this if you haven't) this was an excellent ending but there is that last sentence ..............
    more
  • Mei
    January 1, 1970
    Review coming soon...
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    January 1, 1970
    The fun was there, but at the same time, I did not like how it ended. It was all building up to a Beep book set in the future, with I guess lots of dead people as ghosts helping her in the war. This book ended in a cliffie that way and that is a horrible way for a series to end.THe apocalypse is happening. Charley return to her gang to help save the world, for this time. There are "zombies", lots of death regarding people you like. Revelations, and she even has time to solve a a crime of a missi The fun was there, but at the same time, I did not like how it ended. It was all building up to a Beep book set in the future, with I guess lots of dead people as ghosts helping her in the war. This book ended in a cliffie that way and that is a horrible way for a series to end.THe apocalypse is happening. Charley return to her gang to help save the world, for this time. There are "zombies", lots of death regarding people you like. Revelations, and she even has time to solve a a crime of a missing girl. Which, considering was really strange. Focus on the big bad.But the whole book was at the same time a build up for a future Beep book as nothing is solvedAnd I just can not like Osh, I find it creepy. It was one thing with Reyes, but Beep is a baby in these books.So do not expect a neat ending. The big battle is still to come. But I enjoyed it for old times sake.
    more
  • Melliane
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/5Mon avis en FrançaisMy English reviewI really like this series very, very much, so I was looking forward to this last volume with great anticipation! It’s sad, and at the same time, I was curious to see what the author was going to cook for us.Charley has been exiled for hundreds of years in a parallel dimension, so she is very surprised when she is back on earth and that only 10 days have passed. But she did not expect the previous events to have left so many terrible consequences, for whi 4.5/5Mon avis en FrançaisMy English reviewI really like this series very, very much, so I was looking forward to this last volume with great anticipation! It’s sad, and at the same time, I was curious to see what the author was going to cook for us.Charley has been exiled for hundreds of years in a parallel dimension, so she is very surprised when she is back on earth and that only 10 days have passed. But she did not expect the previous events to have left so many terrible consequences, for which she is largely responsible. In addition to that, she learned during her absence that, to contain the current crisis, she had to learn what happened when her mother died giving her birth.I once again really enjoyed this novel and even if I don’t want to reveal too much, I loved learning a little more about Charley’s mother. Our heroes have to face a battle that will not be easy, while managing everyday life that is not easy either, it must be said.It was as always a very good reading and I was delighted to see all the characters again. I am very curious to discover more about the universe and to discover the spin off of the series!
    more
  • Luckylovesbooks
    January 1, 1970
    January 18, 2019Well, the series has come to an end. I spent 7 years following these books and them ending is a bittersweet moment. In the last 7 years, through some pretty tough times, Charley’s adventures and her unparalleled sense of humour has been what I’ve looked forward to as an escape. To Ms. Jones, thank you. To the story itself, the heartache of lost friends was profound and the revelations were shocking! Overall a wonderful, amazing series and honestly, I think the bar that Ms. Jones January 18, 2019Well, the series has come to an end. I spent 7 years following these books and them ending is a bittersweet moment. In the last 7 years, through some pretty tough times, Charley’s adventures and her unparalleled sense of humour has been what I’ve looked forward to as an escape. To Ms. Jones, thank you. To the story itself, the heartache of lost friends was profound and the revelations were shocking! Overall a wonderful, amazing series and honestly, I think the bar that Ms. Jones has set for a characters sense of humour is pretty damn high. I’m hoping we get Beep’s books. I really, really hope we do. June 24, 2018What do you mean A MERE HUNDRED YEARS?! SHES BEEN GONE A HUNDRED YEARS?! Btw, cover is gorgeous Feb 16, 20182019?! WHAT IS THISNov 3, 2017A WHOLE YEAR?! WHAT
    more
  • Bonnie
    January 1, 1970
    3.5
  • Christy LoveOfBooks
    January 1, 1970
    What a good ending to the series! Can't wait to see what's next. RTC.
Write a review