Five ​Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns, #4)
After the battle with Katharine, the rebellion lies in tatters. Jules’s legion curse has been unbound, leaving her out of her mind and unfit to rule. Arsinoe must find a cure, even as the responsibility of stopping the ravaging mist rests heavy on her shoulders, and her shoulders alone. Mirabella has disappeared. Queen Katharine’s rule over Fennbirn remains intact—for now. But her attack on the rebellion exacted a high price: her beloved Pietyr. Without him, who can she rely upon when Mirabella arrives, seemingly under a banner of truce? As oldest and youngest circle each other, and Katharine begins to yearn for the closeness that Mirabella and Arsinoe share, the dead queens hiss caution—Mirabella is not to be trusted. In this conclusion to the Three Dark Crowns series, three dark sisters will rise to fight as the secrets of Fennbirn’s history are laid bare. Allegiances will shift. Bonds will be tested, and some broken forever.The fate of the island lies in the hands of its queens.

Five ​Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns, #4) Details

TitleFive ​Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns, #4)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 3rd, 2019
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN-139780062686176
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Five ​Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns, #4) Review

  • Hamad
    January 1, 1970
    I really hope this does not end up being One Fat Disappointment!
  • Fatih Turgut
    January 1, 1970
    It's rumoured title is: Last Dark Queen. AS I SAID ITS JUST A RUMOUR
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    3/29/19With this synopsis it seems Pietyr really is gone and buried =( ---2/6/19Omg this cover and title reveal!!! - This finale is going to be insane.(view spoiler)[1.) What happens to Katharine? Is she still in control? Or have the evil dead queens totally taken over? Does Pietyr survive their wrath!?2.) Is Mirabella really going to join forces with Katharine? And if so, will she be able to rescue Katharine from herself? 3.) Will Arsinoe still stand by Jules now that she's likely gone mad? Wi 3/29/19With this synopsis it seems Pietyr really is gone and buried =( ---2/6/19Omg this cover and title reveal!!! - This finale is going to be insane.(view spoiler)[1.) What happens to Katharine? Is she still in control? Or have the evil dead queens totally taken over? Does Pietyr survive their wrath!?2.) Is Mirabella really going to join forces with Katharine? And if so, will she be able to rescue Katharine from herself? 3.) Will Arsinoe still stand by Jules now that she's likely gone mad? Will she heed Daphne's words and sacrifice her sister in the name of saving the island? (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • manda
    January 1, 1970
    21 Apr. '19 My other reviews for:Three Dark Crowns | One Dark Throne | Two Dark Reigns My expectations for this book: 1. Mirabella must dieIt does not please me to say this, because if I had to choose One Sister to Rule Them All, it would be M.But, if the author wants to remain consistent with the "prophecy" the Blue Queen left behind; if she isn't afraid to pull any punches; if this series is to end with any depth or meaning, then Mirabella must die.2. Jules needs to be a villainBy "villain", 21 Apr. '19 My other reviews for:Three Dark Crowns | One Dark Throne | Two Dark Reigns My expectations for this book: 1. Mirabella must dieIt does not please me to say this, because if I had to choose One Sister to Rule Them All, it would be M.But, if the author wants to remain consistent with the "prophecy" the Blue Queen left behind; if she isn't afraid to pull any punches; if this series is to end with any depth or meaning, then Mirabella must die.2. Jules needs to be a villainBy "villain", I mean her insanity must be fore- and front-most. It needs to be embraced, known, a driving point of the plot. A threat to Fennbirn's existence.And not in the is-still-redeemable-at-the-end way, either. It was said that Legion-cursed people would lose their mind; this rule must also remain consistent with Jules, otherwise she is nothing more than an authorial Golden Child.3. Pietyr must remain deadPlease do not undermine the gravitas of his sacrifice in the previous book by having him somehow returned to life. My predictions for this book: 1. Mirabella tries to unite all her sisters. They probably end up trying to defeat Jules / save Fennbirn from her madness.2. Katharine dies maybe in an attempt to redeem herself. This would be the only ending I deem acceptable for her.3. Arsinoe takes the crown.4. The mist is destroyed / gone, and Fennbirn re-connects with the rest of the world. The tradition with the whole pitting-sisters-to-the-death thing will be put aside. Questions that must be answered by the end of this series: 1. WTF is Braddock and why/how is he still tame despite Arsinoe no longer using low magic on him?! I cannot take this point seriously, since it only highlights what a special cookie Arsinoe is.2. The side-point in either Book 1 or Book 2 that Mirabella kept having dreams about her sister (when she was supposed to have forgotten all about them) kind of went to nothing. I still want to know why the f*** she was having these memory-dreams. And no, I do not want to have to read a novella to find out.3. Still wondering why, in Three Dark Crowns when Jack's rooster pecked/ingested Arsinoe's blood, and Madrigal who handled Arsinoe's blood several different times, didn't die. Arsinoe is clearly a powerful poisoner. If Katharine (who is not even a true Poisoner - only possessed by the spirits of some poisoners) kills men who simply has sex with her, then Arsinoe's bodily fluids should also prove just as lethal.
    more
  • helena
    January 1, 1970
    release date: september 3rdWE HAVE A COVER!!!!! WE HAVE A TITLE!!! WE HAVE A TITLE AND A COVER AND THEY ARE AWESOME!ok, i didn’t get my guess right about the title, but wow... five? what the fuck? the triplets, jules and the island? i have so many questions._____________________my guess about the title is: “four dark queens” because of the triplets and jules.let’s see. can’t wait!!!!!
    more
  • Morgane Schroyen
    January 1, 1970
    I need this book like yesterday
  • The Enchanted Library
    January 1, 1970
    02/10/19How can it be just 320 pages long?!I don't want this to end so fast😞
  • Catherine
    January 1, 1970
    We have the title and the cover everyone! And we have a five in it, not a four. Though, we have four books in the series, so there is a four. So, Five Dark Fates: of course there are Mirabella, Katharine and Arsinoe, as for the two others, do you have theories? We have the title and the cover everyone! And we have a five in it, not a four. Though, we have four books in the series, so there is a four. So, Five ​Dark Fates: of course there are Mirabella, Katharine and Arsinoe, as for the two others, do you have theories?
    more
  • Claire ✨
    January 1, 1970
    9th FEB 2019: WOW I CAN’T BELIEVE I WAS RIGHT WITH THE FIVE.Bring on Five Dark Fates! ✨26TH OCT 2018: Okay, after having a think, Four Dark Queens is most likely to mirror the triplets and Jules. However, I could also see this being called Five Dark Queens. It wouldn't make sense with the title numbering, as there's been One, Two and Three already, so naturally Four would follow, BUT consider also that Illian will play a big part in #4, and that makes five queens.Either way still H Y P E.9TH OCT 9th FEB 2019: WOW I CAN’T BELIEVE I WAS RIGHT WITH THE FIVE.Bring on Five Dark Fates! ✨26TH OCT 2018: Okay, after having a think, Four Dark Queens is most likely to mirror the triplets and Jules. However, I could also see this being called Five Dark Queens. It wouldn't make sense with the title numbering, as there's been One, Two and Three already, so naturally Four would follow, BUT consider also that Illian will play a big part in #4, and that makes five queens.Either way still H Y P E.9TH OCT 2018: Calling it now: this will be called Four Dark Queens. I am H Y P E.1: THREE DARK CROWNS || 2: ONE DARK THRONE || 3: TWO DARK REIGNS
    more
  • Sheila Goicea
    January 1, 1970
    *Review for book 1 in series: Three Dark Crowns*Review for book 2 in series: One Dark Throne*Review for book 3 (novella) in series: The Young Queens
  • Valeria Andrea
    January 1, 1970
    Five Dark Fates?FIVE?I don't understand this title, nor the cover.
  • Nia •ShadesOfPaper•
    January 1, 1970
    You see that skull over there? Because that will be me!We stan a gorgeous cover, tho!
  • Nadhira Satria
    January 1, 1970
    I NEED THIS AND I NEED THIS NOW
  • D.✧
    January 1, 1970
    yess can't wait!!!Adore the three dark crown series and can't wait to see it all end in the last installment!!!
  • Felicia R
    January 1, 1970
    I hope it will be called something like “Last Dark Rule” or something epic! I wonder if Jules really will be a Queen or if it will end becoming a democracy i wouldn’t be totally against it but i wish it would remain with a monarch. Constitutional Monarchy?
    more
  • Joana 🌙
    January 1, 1970
    Only 320 pages???????
  • Mia
    January 1, 1970
    If you look at the shield/crest on the cover it has a symbol that could represent each of the gifts. The skull with snakes (possibly representing Arsinoe), the lightning bolt (most likely Mirabella or perhaps Daphne or Illian), the shield and swords (most likely Jules), a mountain cat (also could be Jules because of Camden or Katharine because of her true gift) and an eye in the middle (an oracle who we may yet to be introduced to). The saving of the island could require each of the gifts workin If you look at the shield/crest on the cover it has a symbol that could represent each of the gifts. The skull with snakes (possibly representing Arsinoe), the lightning bolt (most likely Mirabella or perhaps Daphne or Illian), the shield and swords (most likely Jules), a mountain cat (also could be Jules because of Camden or Katharine because of her true gift) and an eye in the middle (an oracle who we may yet to be introduced to). The saving of the island could require each of the gifts working together. Also, on the sides the most predominant features are snakes and fire which could emphasize an importance to Arsinoe and Mirabella.
    more
  • FloeticFlo
    January 1, 1970
    Five Dark Fates was one of my most anticipated, if not my most anticipated book of this year, so I was beyond the moon to read it. I am so, so happy to report that it did not disappoint! I flew through this book in under 48 hours. This series is just so compulsive readable. You find yourself flipping the pages because the pacing is so strong and steady, while it builds and builds to the conclusion.I definitely had a book hangover this one and had to step back for a few days before writing my rev Five Dark Fates was one of my most anticipated, if not my most anticipated book of this year, so I was beyond the moon to read it. I am so, so happy to report that it did not disappoint! I flew through this book in under 48 hours. This series is just so compulsive readable. You find yourself flipping the pages because the pacing is so strong and steady, while it builds and builds to the conclusion.I definitely had a book hangover this one and had to step back for a few days before writing my review so I could process my thoughts. In a nutshell: Five Dark Fates is a thrilling and satisfying conclusion to a fantastic YA fantasy series. Each one of the queens has a fulfilling role in the fate of the island. That's not to say that my heart wasn't wrenched out a bit, so be prepared! But each queen's story ended in a way that was true to her individual character. I can honestly say that I understood each queen's arc and where it led her. They were realistic, and I really enjoyed following their journeys from book one to book four.The best kind of ending for a series is one where you set down the last book with a bittersweet feeling in your heart: you are sad to leave the world and the characters, but you are also so proud of them and you know that they will be alright. I definitely had this feeling for Fennbirn at the end of Five Dark Fates.I will end by reiterating what I said above -- if you haven't read this series, I highly, highly encourage you to do so. You will not be disappointed! Kendare Blake has given us such a fun roller coaster of a fantasy ride. Pack your bags and head to the island.If you have read the series and are eagerly anticipating this conclusion -- you will not be disappointed! Pick this one up as soon as you can.This review is also posted on Book Nerds Across America: http://www.booknerdsacrossamerica.com...
    more
  • Nina
    January 1, 1970
    FIVE?! Five? I am so confused.
  • Mizuki
    January 1, 1970
    We have a title and book cover!I hope this series will continue to be good. *groans*
  • Sage Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    1.) Three Dark Crowns ★★★★★2.) One Dark Throne ★★★★★3.) Two Dark Reigns ★★★★★
  • Joye0326
    January 1, 1970
    Can’t wait for the book.I want Katherine (which is always the worst and villain) dies in this book. She must be die to pay for what she had done in the past books.I am not sure if Mirabella or Arsinoe should be the queen. Maybe they can rule together.
    more
  • Rayenne
    January 1, 1970
    Omgggg!! Finally title reveal,ohh I love the cover 🤩
  • Orlanda Sanders
    January 1, 1970
    This cover !!! Omg
  • Nina
    January 1, 1970
    We have a title and a cover!!!! And a super promising tagline 👑
  • Lee
    January 1, 1970
    I DIDN'T EVEN REALIZE THERE WAS A COVER AND TITLE!!!That. flipping. cover. is. so. pretty. I. could. cry!So ready for this... ugh!!!
  • Grace Eleanor
    January 1, 1970
    Why is it so short? 🤨🤨
  • Hannah
    January 1, 1970
    update: 02/09/19wow look at that cover.. hbd to me
  • Pauliina Vuorinen (The Bookaholic Dreamer)
    January 1, 1970
    WELL HELLO BEAUTIFUL
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    My predictions:• The mist will need to be renewed and either Arsinoe (who I'm leaning towards) must be the one to give up her life. Mirabella is my other choice cause of her elemental gift.• We learn more about the system behind the triplets and more about the Goddess herself. One becomes queen, but I'm thinking the sacrifice of the other two sisters preserves the island and the people (like the creation of the mist through death and it keeps the island safe. The Goddess keeps after her babies!) My predictions:• The mist will need to be renewed and either Arsinoe (who I'm leaning towards) must be the one to give up her life. Mirabella is my other choice cause of her elemental gift.• We learn more about the system behind the triplets and more about the Goddess herself. One becomes queen, but I'm thinking the sacrifice of the other two sisters preserves the island and the people (like the creation of the mist through death and it keeps the island safe. The Goddess keeps after her babies!), but the populace has forgotten this overtime. Background of the creation of the queen system would be dope! The very first queen? Oooh!• Jules somehow leaves the island or dies. Leaving could help dull her gifts like what happened with Mirabella and restore sanity. Or she dies, cause of the hint of bonds breaking.• Some sort of resolution with the dead queens in Katharine. Save my girl, Mira! She just wants to be a good ruler! A Queen crowned is crowned forever.• Mirabella fixes shit. Maybe becomes queen herself so the triplets can be born. Surrogate? Throwdown with the Goddess? (pfft, good luck tho. The Goddess is a bamf)• Justice for Elsabet and the oracle gift, please?• Natalia is revived and kicks everyone’s ass.
    more
Write a review