Think Smart Not Hard
Are you unhappy with your directionless life? Discover a roadmap for navigating your successful, fulfilling future. "A simple, effective plan to change your life and attain your goals." - Jim "TheRookie" Morris, Athlete, author, teacher and inspiration for the movie, The Rookie.Struggling to cope with personal tragedy? Worried you’ll never live up to your full potential? Bestselling author Roy Huff overcame abuse and abject poverty to become an accomplished teacher and research scientist. His secrets for success have changed countless lives, and now they can help you too! Think Smart Not Hard connects science and human psychology to help you retrain your brain for a brighter tomorrow. Through a combination of step-by-step strategies and inspirational anecdotes, this transformational guidebook will help you conquer common obstacles to discover your life’s true path. In Think Smart Not Hard, you’ll discover: -How to develop the right mindset to overcome any personal tragedy-How writing down and reflecting upon action plans will ignite your success-How incorporating weekly principles can accelerate your road to recovery-A series of exclusive quotations from industry leaders and motivational gurus-Simple hacks to help you take charge of your personal finances, and much, much more! Think Smart Not Hard is your no-nonsense guide for finally grasping the life you were born to live. If you like real-world applications, optimizing your existing strengths, and honest accounts from a self-made man, then you’ll love Roy Huff’s energizing resource. Buy Think Smart Not Hard to begin shaping your destiny today!

Think Smart Not Hard Details

TitleThink Smart Not Hard
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 8th, 2017
PublisherCreateSpace
ISBN1547206985
ISBN-139781547206988
Number of pages266 pages
Rating
GenreSelf Help

Think Smart Not Hard Review

  • Pankaj Giri
    June 20, 2017
    Having been acquainted to the author via social media, I got to know about this book. Although I generally don't read self-help books, I thought of giving this a try. It turned out to be a good decision. Using simple yet illuminating techniques and snippets of wisdom from the author as well as innovative thinkers across the globe, the book shows us how to overcome personal tragedies, bring positivity into our lives, and even how to manage personal finances. It also shows you how to build good, l Having been acquainted to the author via social media, I got to know about this book. Although I generally don't read self-help books, I thought of giving this a try. It turned out to be a good decision. Using simple yet illuminating techniques and snippets of wisdom from the author as well as innovative thinkers across the globe, the book shows us how to overcome personal tragedies, bring positivity into our lives, and even how to manage personal finances. It also shows you how to build good, long-lasting relationships in your professional and personal lives. I think this is a must read for all.
    more
  • Terry Clayton
    June 8, 2017
    Review Think Smart Not HardRoy Huff’s Think Smart Not Hard may well be the ultimate self-help book. What Huff seems to have done is hoover through a large share of the self-help books out there and condensed them into 52 principles. That may seem a large number, but Think Smart Not Hard isn’t the kind of book you read from page 1 through to the end. Having read my fair share of self-help books, this is a major feature.Too many self-help authors have a good point to make, but not a book, so what Review Think Smart Not HardRoy Huff’s Think Smart Not Hard may well be the ultimate self-help book. What Huff seems to have done is hoover through a large share of the self-help books out there and condensed them into 52 principles. That may seem a large number, but Think Smart Not Hard isn’t the kind of book you read from page 1 through to the end. Having read my fair share of self-help books, this is a major feature.Too many self-help authors have a good point to make, but not a book, so what they do is stuff in the padding. Padding most often takes the form of what are meant to be colorful, inspiring or heart-warming anecdotes meant to illustrate the main point. Repeat your main point between paddings and you can easily crank out 200 pages. I don’t know about other readers but I usually throw these against the wall after about 50 pages.I prefer what Huff has done. Here are the principles that add up to a life of value. Assess yourself and do what you need to do.Each reader will find him/herself nodding in agreement with some principles. These are the ones you think you are doing now. I make action plans all the time (#6). I’m really good at compartmentalizing (#13). I have become better at asking for advice (#19). What a smart fellow this Roy Huff is!Other principles will have some readers going “duh”. These are the ones you think beneath your notice because they are so simple or the ones you don’t agree with. Eat a healthy diet and get exercise. Well yeah. Who doesn’t know that? Tell me something I don’t know Roy. Wait a minute. Should I really be “treating” myself to a bag of Cheetos every time I watch an episode of Elementary?And then there some principles you will find yourself thinking, “Never thought of that or thought of it that way”. Plan for poor choices (#18). Surprising I have never thought of that given all the poor choices I have made.Basically, there is something here for everyone and thanks to the bare-bones no padding approach, you can use Think Smart Not Hard as a kind of checklist to assess your current state of being and go from there.Think Smart Not Hard is written in an easy, matter-of-fact speaking style free of annoying typos all too common in self-published work these days and Huff’s principles come with practical “you can do this at home” advice. Overall, I would say this is a useful and though provoking addition to your self-help bookshelf.
    more
  • Nicholas Adams
    June 14, 2017
    Roy Huff's humble beginnings give him a unique perspective on overcoming trials, setting and achieving goals. In his book, Think Smart Not Hard: 52 Principles to Success and Happiness, he uses personal experiences and empirical data to support the methods he outlines to develop integrity, character, personal responsibility, and excellence (among others qualities).His straightforward, no frills, and encouraging writing style will help readers see the opportunities they have to make positive chang Roy Huff's humble beginnings give him a unique perspective on overcoming trials, setting and achieving goals. In his book, Think Smart Not Hard: 52 Principles to Success and Happiness, he uses personal experiences and empirical data to support the methods he outlines to develop integrity, character, personal responsibility, and excellence (among others qualities).His straightforward, no frills, and encouraging writing style will help readers see the opportunities they have to make positive changes to their lives and map out a path to set and achieve their goals and desires.What I liked:Roy's examples are personal, and therefore relatable. He speaks from the heart as "one who knows" and understands what it takes to overcome personal and professional obstacles.What I didn't like:My only criticism would be that I felt some of the principles could be condensed into smaller sections, but this is just my opinion.Overall:I would recommend Think Smart Not Hard by Roy Huff to those who want to make positive changes by incorporating some or all of his principles in their lives.
    more
  • Fred Fanning
    June 8, 2017
    This is an outstanding book on the principles of life. Each principle is well thought out and explained to the reader. The fact that he developed 52 principles makes them easy to apply over a year. Throughout the book, Roy encourages the reader to take action. I think this is the single greatest lesson from the book. If the reader takes Roy's advice on the principles and takes action rather than just reading them they change their life and be more successful. However, even applying some of the p This is an outstanding book on the principles of life. Each principle is well thought out and explained to the reader. The fact that he developed 52 principles makes them easy to apply over a year. Throughout the book, Roy encourages the reader to take action. I think this is the single greatest lesson from the book. If the reader takes Roy's advice on the principles and takes action rather than just reading them they change their life and be more successful. However, even applying some of the principles can help improve the reader's life. I wholeheartedly recommend this book to everyone as a manual for the human life.
    more
  • Mary Jung
    June 10, 2017
    Think Smart Not Hard52 Key Principles To Success and Happiness by Roy HuffI did start by reading this book through to the end but I knew that I’d be going back and reading and acting on an individual chapter a week.I’ve read a number of self-help books over the years but this one left an impression on me and a knowing that by reading and thinking about what I’ve read week by week, I’d be not only changing the way I feel about certain things but also improving myself in small steps at a time.I’d Think Smart Not Hard52 Key Principles To Success and Happiness by Roy HuffI did start by reading this book through to the end but I knew that I’d be going back and reading and acting on an individual chapter a week.I’ve read a number of self-help books over the years but this one left an impression on me and a knowing that by reading and thinking about what I’ve read week by week, I’d be not only changing the way I feel about certain things but also improving myself in small steps at a time.I’d suggest that a new reader would read the book from beginning to end and then put it someplace nearby, along with a tablet of papers to jot down my thoughts and re-read it chapter by chapter.Thank you Mr. Huff for providing an insightful way of looking at my life in small segments.
    more
  • Pam
    June 23, 2017
    I couldn’t agree more with the author’s choice of the 52 ‘key principles’ described in his book. My own life with its many challenges over these past 74 years continues to be both successful and happy based on living such advice and in reading his compilation discovered a kindred spirit sharing them. But the challenge is in going beyond the ‘feel good’ reading of these many proven techniques, rather it’s in living them in your daily life and that is his message in giving us 52 of them, one to fo I couldn’t agree more with the author’s choice of the 52 ‘key principles’ described in his book. My own life with its many challenges over these past 74 years continues to be both successful and happy based on living such advice and in reading his compilation discovered a kindred spirit sharing them. But the challenge is in going beyond the ‘feel good’ reading of these many proven techniques, rather it’s in living them in your daily life and that is his message in giving us 52 of them, one to focus on for each week of a year. But my advice from this reading is to first, read through the full 264 pages to get the big picture and be inspired with its possibilities. Then go back and reread one principle to focus on for one week – either sequentially or pick and choose at random those with the most appeal or application to your own life environment. The author has even organized them into chapters built around common themes for ease of use.As just one example, chapter 2 contains principles around ‘Goal Setting’ a theme that I can’t’ say enough about, yet he gets the points across in a very concise way. Reflecting on knowing yourself, developing goals that align with your values and strengths, writing them down and posting them someplace where you will see them often is an all-powerful technique for achieving personal success. I am almost inspired to write my own book of personal examples and testimonies of how that one area has given me a lifetime of success and happiness, often with examples that seem beyond belief in how they led towards some amazing events that fit my life dreams. That goes from actually flying an antique open cockpit bi-plane to traveling to Australia and snorkeling on its Great Barrier Reef, ‘for free!’ In life I have often supported Roy’s message here in advising people to be careful what you wish for (write down) because it will come true if you follow this principle filled chapter.The author offers plenty of stories from his own life throughout to give evidence of how powerful these principles can be, making for much more than just another self-help book, rather one that is entertaining as well as inspirational. If you do as he suggests in incorporating any amount of these principles into your own life – or even better, all of them – your life will never be the same, bringing you closer to your full personal potential with each principle you make your own. This is an empowering read and action planning guide for anyone interested in living the better life of personal success and enjoying happiness that comes with that achievement. But remember, it’s not enough to just read it – follow up with actions to grow and turn those dreams into your reality.
    more
  • Jibin Menon
    June 25, 2017
    This book if one adheres is a sure method to achieving the desires whether happiness or goals leading to them. Roy takes you through the principles of key attributes needed with an ease that one can relate distinctly with the incidents in ones life. The principles are not something that one wouldn’t have heard, however they are articulated in a manner one would realize its importance. Roy has taken direction and guidance to a level which is easy to comprehend and also implement with ease if one This book if one adheres is a sure method to achieving the desires whether happiness or goals leading to them. Roy takes you through the principles of key attributes needed with an ease that one can relate distinctly with the incidents in ones life. The principles are not something that one wouldn’t have heard, however they are articulated in a manner one would realize its importance. Roy has taken direction and guidance to a level which is easy to comprehend and also implement with ease if one is looking for guidance in realizing their goals. Each of the key ingredients are important and the sequence and importance of each are given with some basic ingredients that need to be adhered to at all times. Keeping integrity as a key constituent to follow the principles when you are at it is given right at the beginning.It is a choice in the beginning one has to make in order to realize the dream if one wants to follow or not but it sure is something that Roy has tried and followed meticulously in realizing his. The book may or not be for you but certainly someone you think who needs it can be introduced to it. This book will help channelize ones energy in an organized manner to achieve the goal whether short or long term.
    more
  • Charli Mills
    June 18, 2017
    Practical and Broad TipsThis is a good book for anyone seeking to improve their goals: personal, work or entrepreneurial. While the information is not necessarily new, it is presented clearly and the author uses his own personal experience to demonstrate the principles in action. He also lists all his sources by chapter so if a particular principle is interesting, the reader can look into it further. He also suggests that principles can be read according to one's interest, but I appreciated how Practical and Broad TipsThis is a good book for anyone seeking to improve their goals: personal, work or entrepreneurial. While the information is not necessarily new, it is presented clearly and the author uses his own personal experience to demonstrate the principles in action. He also lists all his sources by chapter so if a particular principle is interesting, the reader can look into it further. He also suggests that principles can be read according to one's interest, but I appreciated how they build one upon the others. You might find some areas of less interest, but I liked the author's suggestion to focus on ones that might need improving. Much of the book was validating and some of it felt uncomfortable, but I think those feelings are good clues to what is working and what I could work on more. Take time to read and process. It's clear and easy to read, but you'll want take your time to consider and apply the principles to your own life, work and goals.
    more
  • Susan Sigourney
    June 18, 2017
    You can read this book through at once, or read a principle a week. I did the former, as I received an advance MOBI copy which I read in my Kindle app in exchange for giving my honest review, which follows. The first principle is forgiveness. The Lord's Prayer tells us to "forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us." We recite this prayer every day, yet still find it very hard to forgive others. Mr. Huff explains how we should forgive, not to excuse perceived hurt tha You can read this book through at once, or read a principle a week. I did the former, as I received an advance MOBI copy which I read in my Kindle app in exchange for giving my honest review, which follows. The first principle is forgiveness. The Lord's Prayer tells us to "forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us." We recite this prayer every day, yet still find it very hard to forgive others. Mr. Huff explains how we should forgive, not to excuse perceived hurt that is inflicted on us, but for our own benefit, so that we can move forward. Every one of his 52 key principles is full of valuable insights and suggestions that I plan to reread, whether daily or weekly it doesn't really matter. This book has something for everyone, whether you are starting out in your career or a senior citizen like me. Enjoy.
    more
  • David McClendon, Sr
    June 7, 2017
    Think Smart Not Hard offers readers 52 steps towards improving their lives. The author, Roy Huff, introduces readers to different ideas that may help them streamline their lives.This book is well-written and interesting. Much of the advice is common sense. As most of us know, common sense is no longer common. Roy Huff gives his readers some real world examples from his life of how he wasted some time and effort and found ways to avoid wasting time and effort in the future.Think Smart Not Hard of Think Smart Not Hard offers readers 52 steps towards improving their lives. The author, Roy Huff, introduces readers to different ideas that may help them streamline their lives.This book is well-written and interesting. Much of the advice is common sense. As most of us know, common sense is no longer common. Roy Huff gives his readers some real world examples from his life of how he wasted some time and effort and found ways to avoid wasting time and effort in the future.Think Smart Not Hard offers readers some real world, practical advice. Most readers will benefit greatly from having read the book. The advice in Think Smart Not Hard is only helpful if the reader takes action on it. For instance, you can read all the diet books in the world, but you won’t actually lose weight until you act upon what you have learned. The author sent us a pre-production version of Think Smart Not Hard so that we might review it. This pre-production version had no charts or illustrations so we cannot comment on his use of those. However, the book stands well on its own without charts, graphs, or illustrations.We give the book Think Smart Not Hard all five stars. We think it is a good read and offers some good advice. If you are trying to get your life’s wheels back on the tracks, reading this book, and taking action, might help you accomplish that goal.
    more
  • Erica
    June 8, 2017
    *I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.Let me just preface this review by stating that typically, I do not read self-help books. However, I will sample the genre from time-to-time if the premise seems interesting. That being said, when I read the synopsis of Mr. Huff's book, I thought I would give this one a go. So, my review is a bit biased based on my typical reading preferences.There were several times that I wanted to put this book down. I really had *I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.Let me just preface this review by stating that typically, I do not read self-help books. However, I will sample the genre from time-to-time if the premise seems interesting. That being said, when I read the synopsis of Mr. Huff's book, I thought I would give this one a go. So, my review is a bit biased based on my typical reading preferences.There were several times that I wanted to put this book down. I really had to force myself to stay with the read. It wasn't just that this book is self-help, a lot of the advice contained in the pages struck me as... well, obvious. The book is broken down into 52 principles that will guide one toward "success and happiness", and really, being more effective and efficient in your own life. The idea is great! Who doesn't want to be more efficient and successful? And the author himself has had numerous experiences in his own life that validate his ability to give this type of advice. But, to the obvious...The principles start off as a guide to the reader on how to be successful... "set goals, make an action plan, reflect weekly on your goals, break bad habits etc". To me: yeah... duh. Elementary students learn these principles.As the book goes further, the principles struck me simply as filler to make a complete novel. One piece of advice that is given is "take a shower every day". Um.I just didn't find anything in the book to be particularly original or ground-breaking; I certainly wasn't motivated to start employing the principles in my own life. I have no doubt that employing one of the 52 principles weekly for a year into your life would do you any harm, and you would probably benefit - but changing your whole life around and achieving "success"? I'm just not sold.
    more
  • Roy Huff
    June 7, 2017
Write a review