Déjà Vu & Gin (Toil & Trouble #5)
Fair is foul and foul is fair. Betrayed by her father. Abandoned by her mother. Left at the altar by the prince of her dreams. Anastasia Gosse's past is more tangled than most. Everything she's been through has taught this witch one valuable lesson. Trust no one. All that Ana's ever wanted was to have her family back together and safe. She'd do anything to make that happen. Even blackmail an assassin of the realm who drives her crazy in more ways than one. Tyr Kanerva thinks he's seen it all, the worst of both the human and fairytale worlds. This assassin thinks he's too jaded for surprises. Enter one clever, calculating witch who tricks Tyr into a contract that just might be the death of him. He should hate her, but instead he finds himself wondering what the witch is hiding under all that ice? When Ana comes up with a sinful solution to satisfy their mutual curiosity, neither of them are prepared for where their liaison will led. Because the FTC world is not a kind one, and between gods, goddesses and a Fire Prince who will stop at nothing to have Ana back at his side, a happily ever after for these two may be just another impossible fairytale....

Déjà Vu & Gin (Toil & Trouble #5) Details

TitleDéjà Vu & Gin (Toil & Trouble #5)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 29th, 2017
Number of pages169 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Magic

Déjà Vu & Gin (Toil & Trouble #5) Review

  • Chantal ❤️
    June 28, 2017
    3.5 ALMOST DIDN'T STARS ARC IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEWI will start this review by saying that up until this book, this series has been a complete 5 ++ STARS read for me. I was honestly counting down the days for each book release! This was literally me...So when I started this book, I had some pretty high expectations. I was expecting to be completely overwhelmed with feelings, and after those first few chapters, I thought I had struck gold! Sadly, the rest of the book wasn't that intense 3.5 ALMOST DIDN'T STARS ARC IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEWI will start this review by saying that up until this book, this series has been a complete 5 ++ STARS read for me. I was honestly counting down the days for each book release! This was literally me...So when I started this book, I had some pretty high expectations. I was expecting to be completely overwhelmed with feelings, and after those first few chapters, I thought I had struck gold! Sadly, the rest of the book wasn't that intense and I was left feeling very disconnected from the hero and the heroine. I'm not blaming anyone here...I wasn't able to relate with either of characters. To me, they both seemed very cold and self serving. Even when the heroine was "betrayed" by the hero, she was unable to even summon one tear from me and that my friends is NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE. I honestly almost always cry at EVERYTHING! However, I found it extremely hard to relate to them as individuals and even less so as a couple. They were both so distant. I understood why but I still felt that they should have been able to let their guards down with each other, maybe? Anyways, I still enjoyed parts of this book that related to the other characters and I'm really looking forward to the next book. Just this book or storyline wasn't a hit for me personally. This is just how I saw it. Please enjoy and as always... Happy reading! 💋
    more
  • Gio
    June 2, 2017
    "CHAOS IS THE MASTER ALL MUST BOW TO IN THE END."Continuation Of The Witches Spawns Sisters Four: WinterAna Our Heroine The Witch Who Hired The Assassin To Protect Her FamilyTyR Our Hero The Assassin Assigned To The FAIRY TALE CREATURESCannot Say Much Without Giving It Away (Go Get Sixpence & Whiskey And Start Reading)I received this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review
    more
  • Sarah
    June 23, 2017
    This book seals Heather R Blair's fate. I'm officially in love with her brain, and she's never getting rid of me. I'm going to start this review with a confession. I was worried. Why do you ask? Well, it's because I've been waiting through four books for Tyr story. I fell in love with this assassin of the realm in book one, and I was more than apprehensive that he wouldn't live up to my expectations.I shouldn't have worried.Tyr was everything I was hoping for and more. I mean, come on, he says t This book seals Heather R Blair's fate. I'm officially in love with her brain, and she's never getting rid of me. I'm going to start this review with a confession. I was worried. Why do you ask? Well, it's because I've been waiting through four books for Tyr story. I fell in love with this assassin of the realm in book one, and I was more than apprehensive that he wouldn't live up to my expectations.I shouldn't have worried.Tyr was everything I was hoping for and more. I mean, come on, he says things like this..."When it comes to this 'arrangement' of ours, get one thing straight right now. I'm no fucking gentleman. I'm going to smack your ass. I'm going to pull your hair." I lean in close. "I'm going to bite." Her eyes go wide as saucers, her mouth a tiny O. "I won't ask for what I want nicely. I'm going to demand, and you're going to obey." And Tyr and Ana together, they're just magical. We get a whole lot of this ...I give her what she wants, what we both want. It's fast and hard and brutal and perfect.Tempered with a little of this...When we come together this time, it's different. It's sweet and soft and achingly slow, as if we're both trying to draw out every minute, every second and every heartbeat.*sigh*With Heather R Blair's wicked sense of humor and beautifully intriguing storytelling, this book draws you in and never lets you go.
    more
  • Carvanz
    June 21, 2017
    4.5 Stars!What an incredible addition to the Toil & Trouble series! This was everything I had hoped it to be and so much more. I only thought I knew where this story was headed. Oh man! This author is wicked good. After having read the previous books in this series, I suspected I might have figured out a method to her madness. I couldn’t have been more wrong.Going into this story we are actually in the middle of Ana’s sister Seph’s troubles. While all that craziness was going on we were neve 4.5 Stars!What an incredible addition to the Toil & Trouble series! This was everything I had hoped it to be and so much more. I only thought I knew where this story was headed. Oh man! This author is wicked good. After having read the previous books in this series, I suspected I might have figured out a method to her madness. I couldn’t have been more wrong.Going into this story we are actually in the middle of Ana’s sister Seph’s troubles. While all that craziness was going on we were never given a full view of what was taking place with Ana or Tyr. This is their story and it is everything you could ever want when reading about witches, magic, assassins, shifters, gods and more gods. Ana is the definition of protection when it comes to her family. Due to the loss of them so early in her life she has shielded herself behind an icy veneer. She is strong and wily, and more than I anticipated. Tyr is an assassin for the realm. Pretty much the only rule he follows is the only one he is required to follow: Honor the terms of the contract. Unfortunately, Ana, the icy witch, has blackmailed him into a contract that contradicts another contract. He’s kinda in a tight spot. While this one doesn’t have all the twisty turns and crazy detours the previous books had, I was constantly on edge waiting for the other shoe to drop for Ana and Tyr. And it definitely does. I recommend going into this book – the series! – with as little info as you can. The less you know the greater the ride. While this could possibly be read as a standalone, it would be better to read it in order. Told in dual points of view, it is completely safe in my opinion and does not present any triggers. I will give you a warning about the prologue…tissues will most likely be needed. ARC generously given by the author but I purchased it as well because it's just that good!Amazon
    more
  • Lakshmi C
    June 28, 2017
    Fair Warning : Read this series from the start if you don't want to end up as a cluless smurf. Plus you will definitely enjoy it more with all the facts at hand.Ana and Try are both intriguing characters and this story gives you a glimpse into their past.Some people like living in the past; it’s where they feel cozy and safe. Ana was the eldest sister - cold, distant and reserved. She was protective to the bone, loyal to her family. You learn her paranoia and fears are well founded. All my siste Fair Warning : Read this series from the start if you don't want to end up as a cluless smurf. Plus you will definitely enjoy it more with all the facts at hand.Ana and Try are both intriguing characters and this story gives you a glimpse into their past.Some people like living in the past; it’s where they feel cozy and safe. Ana was the eldest sister - cold, distant and reserved. She was protective to the bone, loyal to her family. You learn her paranoia and fears are well founded. All my sisters, gone.It’s my worst nightmare all over again.Tyr has trained under Freya and is the best Assasin of the Realm. He has a reputation for being ruthless and finds himself in a tough spot.Barmy as it is, I’ll be attempting to honor two opposing contracts. If I succeed, it’ll add to the legend. If I don’t . . . I shrug. Tyr was quick, patient, inventive and was linked to three sisters from the prophecy.Tyr and Ana were an unlikely couple and I was worried about how they would move forward. Both seek control and are formidable with unique skills.“I dislike surprises, Anastasia.” The words are low and surprisingly soft. “So you will not be getting injured again.”“Is that an order?” I blink up at him.He doesn’t smile. “It is.”The story also gives you another perspective on Seph's conundrum and the Gosse family. Mother Gosse makes an appearance, she is enigmatic and leaves you puzzled.Chaos is the master all must bow to in the end.The writing was lyrical and hypnotic, luring you into a dangerous world with dark fairytales. She sang of broken hearts and lovers lost. Heather Blair is a Master of the Cliffhanger and you will be waiting for the next book with bated breath. Or paying an assasin to procure the book for you...I received a free ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Nicole
    June 28, 2017
    This is book 5 in Heather Blair's bewitched world. It's Ana and Tyr's story and boy, was it a good one.These two are very hot together. I even mentioned needing a cigarette after reading about their first sexy time together. I don't smoke kids....This is a sexy, magical, wild and witty read. I love that we get glimpses of the past couples, too.I'm anxiously awaiting Carly's book next. You must read this series. Start with book 1, hunker down and just enjoy. *ARC received in exchange for an hones This is book 5 in Heather Blair's bewitched world. It's Ana and Tyr's story and boy, was it a good one.These two are very hot together. I even mentioned needing a cigarette after reading about their first sexy time together. I don't smoke kids....This is a sexy, magical, wild and witty read. I love that we get glimpses of the past couples, too.I'm anxiously awaiting Carly's book next. You must read this series. Start with book 1, hunker down and just enjoy. *ARC received in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • April ♥
    June 21, 2017
    5+ STARS!!!Let me just say that I've been a fan of Heather R. Blair's writing ever since I read Smoke in Moonlight back in 2014 and even I was impressed with how well thought out and written this story was. This book isn't just an addition to an already creative series, it is written as a parallel narrative to the first four books in this series. I found myself in awe of how Ms. Blair was able to seamlessly connect all of the books as well as the events throughout the series. Anastasia Gosse has 5+ STARS!!!Let me just say that I've been a fan of Heather R. Blair's writing ever since I read Smoke in Moonlight back in 2014 and even I was impressed with how well thought out and written this story was. This book isn't just an addition to an already creative series, it is written as a parallel narrative to the first four books in this series. I found myself in awe of how Ms. Blair was able to seamlessly connect all of the books as well as the events throughout the series. Anastasia Gosse has always been the cold and aloof sister with a heart of ice and no time or desire for love. But what if she wasn't always like that? What if all Ana ever wanted was to reunite her sisters and protect them from the evil surrounding their family? When Ana decides to blackmail Tyr Kanerva, an assassin of the realm, she never expects to find her happily ever after. And when a ghost from her past rises up again to claim her, Ana may lose her chance at HEA for good. I absolutely loved this book and I would highly recommend this series to PNR fans. You will not be disappointed.
    more
  • Kimberly / Love Notes Book Blog
    June 29, 2017
    4 stars! This was a great addition to the Toil and Trouble series! This is Anastasia and Tyr's story. Ana was the witchy sister that I knew the least about. She was raised in the revolutionary area, while separated from her mother and sisters. Though she is in the present day now, she still dresses like Marie Antoinette. Tyr is a gypsy orphan turned assassin for hire. The two have run in the same circles in the fairytale world, but don't know each other well. But when all of stuff started to go 4 stars! This was a great addition to the Toil and Trouble series! This is Anastasia and Tyr's story. Ana was the witchy sister that I knew the least about. She was raised in the revolutionary area, while separated from her mother and sisters. Though she is in the present day now, she still dresses like Marie Antoinette. Tyr is a gypsy orphan turned assassin for hire. The two have run in the same circles in the fairytale world, but don't know each other well. But when all of stuff started to go down in the previous books to Seph (Ana's sister), Ana hires Tyr to keep Seph safe. The only trouble is that someone else, someone more powerful, has hired Tyr to kill Seph. He is contracted to do conflicting missions and he doesn't know how to honor both vows. But he does know that he is attracted to Ana, and vice versa. Ana has had a long dry spell in the romance department (like 100 years). She has never had the pull and attraction to someone that she feels with Tyr. They begin a no-strings, physcal relationship, but soon grow to care for each other and eventually fall in love. They have to deal with Tyr's dilemma, some scary characters, sibling and parent issues, but it all works out in the end.I really liked both Ana and Tyr. They were both great, complicated characters who had been through a lot in their pasts. They both deserved to find love and happiness with each other. Ana comes off as an ice queen at first, but really she is feisty, caring and selfless, often putting her sisters' happiness first. Tyr never imagined he would have a life beyond being an assassin, but he couldn't get Ana out of his head. They had a great connection and understood each other in a way no one ever had. They also had some very sexy and sweet moments. I loved that they were both new to being in a relationship, but they never really pushed each other away. They accepted that they were falling for each other and let it happen. Overall, I did really enjoy this book, but there were a few things that didn't quite work for me. This was a little tricky to follow at first. This book takes place at the same time as the Seph's books (books 1-3 in the series), but it had been awhile for me since I read those books. There is a lot going on, and I wish I had re-read those books before this one. I was a little confused. I don't think I would consider this book a standalone. There is also a 6 month time jump in the book, which I wasn't too fond of. I wish I had that time to see Ana and Tyr's relationship grow stronger and them become closer. Because of that, I felt the pacing was a little bit off. Also, there were some scary, suspenseful moments going on, but I didn't feel the sense of danger that was implied. Maybe that was because I knew the outcome of most of the conflicts since it was repeated from the previous books. But, despite those few things, I really liked the book. I would like to binge-reread the whole series again in order and I think I will like this book even more with the story all fresh in my mind. I have enjoyed this fun series so much. The awesome characters and story are so original and interesting. I am really looking forward to Carly and Styx's story, as I have loved the glimpses we have gotten of their relationship so far. This is one of my fave paranormal series and I definitely recommend it!*arc provided in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • R.C. Matthews
    June 27, 2017
    I'm going to be honest and say that after the first two chapters, I wasn't sure where I was going to land on this book. But I LOVED the story of Ana and Tyr. These two characters have amazing chemistry and my heart literally ached for them. The author blasted me with a wicked curve ball - which I really should've seen coming - but I did not. I love how the storyline all came together in the end. I've read all of the other books in this series and I honestly don't know if a reader would enjoy thi I'm going to be honest and say that after the first two chapters, I wasn't sure where I was going to land on this book. But I LOVED the story of Ana and Tyr. These two characters have amazing chemistry and my heart literally ached for them. The author blasted me with a wicked curve ball - which I really should've seen coming - but I did not. I love how the storyline all came together in the end. I've read all of the other books in this series and I honestly don't know if a reader would enjoy this book as a stand alone story. There are several leaps in timeline ... and the author brushes over some of the incidents with the other sisters ... which is fine if you've read the other books. Personally, I think this book works because I already knew the background. Ana is a wonderful character but, for me, it was Tyr that made this story great.
    more
  • Kat Desi
    June 25, 2017
    !!!Full review to come. Need to gather my thoughts for a decent review.
  • Gay
    June 25, 2017
    Outstanding! This is a continuation of the "Toil & Trouble" series. Passion, intrigue, and betrayal are foremost in fun story. This is the 4th book I have read by this author and I love each one. I can not wait to read the next one! Grab yours and enjoy all the mythical beings come to life.
    more
  • Renégade ♥
    July 2, 2017
    4 1/2 stars Review to come
  • Hstighe
    June 26, 2017
    I was lucky enough to get an ARC copy for an honest review from the author, and I am so glad I did! From the very beginning, Deja Vu & Gin packs an emotional punch. I love how Ms. Blair continues to create a depth to her characters that is not formulaic or expected. I had anticipated this book and thought I had an idea of how the characters would be portrayed. Ms. Blair threw me for a loop with the background of both characters, and gave a fascinating view of the past demons they were fighti I was lucky enough to get an ARC copy for an honest review from the author, and I am so glad I did! From the very beginning, Deja Vu & Gin packs an emotional punch. I love how Ms. Blair continues to create a depth to her characters that is not formulaic or expected. I had anticipated this book and thought I had an idea of how the characters would be portrayed. Ms. Blair threw me for a loop with the background of both characters, and gave a fascinating view of the past demons they were fighting in order to move on and be open to love. I would characterize this story as a true love story. A love story where two broken people are willing to grow, trust and sacrifice in order to be together. It is a beautiful tale, not just a romance or erotic romance, but a story of magic, mystery, eroticism and true love. I think that is why I love her book so much. I love my romances, I love my hot scenes, but anymore, it is hard to find a book that draws you so into the story and the characters, that make you feel every emotion the characters are experiencing. A book that you find even with a happy ending bittersweet, because you can't wait to be sucked back into that world.
    more
  • Shari Kay
    July 1, 2017
    Mixed feelings...RTC after I think about it for awhile
  • Veronica Rosa
    January 15, 2017
    What can I say about this book without sounding like a raving fangirl? Uh, I don't think that's possible. I freaken loved this book! While you could read it as a standalone, I wouldn't recommend it. You'd definitely be lost. So that means do yourself a favour and start with Sixpence and Whiskey , enjoy the twists and turns of the series and then once you're caught, read this book.I adored Ana and Tyr. Honestly wasn't sure how I'd feel about Ana because she's a cold woman. Her emotions are in a What can I say about this book without sounding like a raving fangirl? Uh, I don't think that's possible. I freaken loved this book! While you could read it as a standalone, I wouldn't recommend it. You'd definitely be lost. So that means do yourself a favour and start with Sixpence and Whiskey , enjoy the twists and turns of the series and then once you're caught, read this book.I adored Ana and Tyr. Honestly wasn't sure how I'd feel about Ana because she's a cold woman. Her emotions are in a deep freeze, but there's a good reason why. I'm not spoiling it for you, read it yourself and you'll know. ;) Tyr, well, the assassin of the realm had me intrigued since the day he appeared in Seph's book, contracted to kill her. Again, read the series and I'll know what I mean. I feel like River Song and her "spoilers!" *laughs* If you don't get that reference, we probably can't be friends.The chemistry between these two was awesome. There were some moments where I was blushing. Wheew! I didn't stop reading, though. If I could give this book more stars, I would. Now I'll not-so-patiently wait for the next book. It's Carly and Styx! Woot!!
    more
  • Leslie
    July 1, 2017
    pretty good
  • Heather Blair
    December 2, 2016
Write a review