Sunshine After the Rain
The new delightfully uplifting beach read from Daisy James. Perfect for fans of Mandy Baggot, Christie Barlow and Zara Stoneley.A summer that changes everything…Frazzled workaholic Evie Johnson has finally had enough! When she’s blamed for a publicity disaster at the art gallery she loves, she decides to flee the bright lights of London for the sun-drenched shores of Corfu and turn her life upside-down.Under the shade of the olive trees, she picks up her dusty paintbrushes and begins to chase the dreams she had put aside for so long. But she never expected to bump into drop-dead-gorgeous Sam Bradbury – and certainly not whilst wrapped only in a towel!A summer fling is the last thing Evie wanted but a few stolen kisses under the stars might just begin to change her mind…

Sunshine After the Rain Details

TitleSunshine After the Rain
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 5th, 2017
PublisherHQ Digital
Rating
GenreContemporary

Sunshine After the Rain Review

  • Carrie
    June 24, 2017
    Evie Johnson was in charge of the big showing at the art gallery she works at and wanted it to be a big success but when a last minute painting arrives it throws everyone into a tailspin to be ready in time for the opening. The new piece was absolutely beautiful and nothing like the artists other works so when the artist arrives and it appalled this piece is up at his show it becomes obvious a mistake had been made. Evie knows the mistake was her fault and decides to head to the sun-drenched sho Evie Johnson was in charge of the big showing at the art gallery she works at and wanted it to be a big success but when a last minute painting arrives it throws everyone into a tailspin to be ready in time for the opening. The new piece was absolutely beautiful and nothing like the artists other works so when the artist arrives and it appalled this piece is up at his show it becomes obvious a mistake had been made. Evie knows the mistake was her fault and decides to head to the sun-drenched shores of Corfu while things are sorted out and await news if she will still have a job. Wanting to reconnect with her love of painting in a beautiful setting Evie plans to spend the days alone but when she arrives back at the villa and finds her boss's son, Sam Bradbury, there she never expected an attraction between them. Sunshine After the Rain did hold a couple of really wonderful things within it's pages that I absolutely enjoyed so I will get to those first. One the setting in the story is one that makes for the perfect sunny summer read with the beautiful are in Corfu. With the artistic content I could sometimes see the area perfectly in my mind and was a bit jealous I wasn't enjoying it myself. Also, I liked that Evie spent some time working out her own life and what she wanted out of it, the growth from the frantic workaholic was nice in the story.For me though this book was really really slow paced when you think of romance reads. The entire first half was a build up of Evie and her life and Sam didn't even make his first appearance for quite a while in the story. Also, it took even longer for Evie to consider Sam romantically at all so by the time this all happens it felt almost like a rushed insta-love case in the last quarter of the story when it could have had been built upon so much earlier and grown at a more steady pace so I was a tad disappointed in that part. I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Nicola
    July 2, 2017
    3.5 stars.Daisy James transports us to Corfu for Sunshine After the Rain and, in a beautiful setting with endearing characters, it's a story in which there was plenty to appreciate. "You need some time and space to consider your future and what better place to do that than overlooking the crystal blue calm of the Ionian Sea? Following a PR disaster at the art gallery she manages, Evie flees to the popular Greek island to try and awaken her dormant artistic flair and soon discovers a familiar fac 3.5 stars.Daisy James transports us to Corfu for Sunshine After the Rain and, in a beautiful setting with endearing characters, it's a story in which there was plenty to appreciate. "You need some time and space to consider your future and what better place to do that than overlooking the crystal blue calm of the Ionian Sea? Following a PR disaster at the art gallery she manages, Evie flees to the popular Greek island to try and awaken her dormant artistic flair and soon discovers a familiar face—her bosses son and barrister, Sam—on the island doing pretty much the same. And so begins their journey, discovering their love of art together whilst basking in the natural and cultural beauty surrounding them. The romance is very slow burn and whilst Sam and Evie spend a great deal of time together as the story progresses, it's very much Evie's story and it was nice to see her focussing on herself and falling back in love with her talent. As it was watching Sam support her and open up which brought many of the heartfelt moments. However for me, the pacing could have been a little more evenly spread, as when they realise their feelings for one another, everything seemed to happen fairly quickly. "You made me realize that I am the only person who can make my dreams come true." Overall, Sunshine After the Rain is an enjoyable, feel-good summer read and Daisy James is an author I'll definitely be checking out in the future. Copy provided by HQ Digital via NetGalley for an honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Elaine
    July 5, 2017
    Awww - I have to say I loved escaping to Corfu in this heartwarming story . . . . mind you, now I quite fancy going to visit there for myself to see some of the sights described so vividly by this talented author, especially the descriptions of the places where Evie and Sam go to paint . Sorry, I digress, back to the story . . .Evie had been keen on making a career for herself as an artist until a terrible review not only knocked her confidence but also had her running from her home in Cornwall Awww - I have to say I loved escaping to Corfu in this heartwarming story . . . . mind you, now I quite fancy going to visit there for myself to see some of the sights described so vividly by this talented author, especially the descriptions of the places where Evie and Sam go to paint . Sorry, I digress, back to the story . . .Evie had been keen on making a career for herself as an artist until a terrible review not only knocked her confidence but also had her running from her home in Cornwall to work in a London Art Gallery. There the pressures of work, commuting and her disastrous relationship with her long term boyfriend all drain her creativity - she has an all work and no play life with no time for her own art. Well, that is until she organises the latest exhibition for a pop idol who wants to be an artist and is duped into having, as the centre piece, a fantastic painting that is actually by someone else! The irate artist demands she be sacked and she resigns.That’s when a friend suggests she goes to stay in Corfu and she actually starts to live again - and to paint, after being inspired and challenged to do so by the Gallery’s owner, Sam Bradbury, who turns up supposedly to check she's okay. Not only is the scenery brought to life, but so are the people and atmosphere - it feels like you could just pop out to meet so many of them! Get ready for a story about expectations of parents, ambitions of offspring, unexpected outcomes to well intended actions, brilliant characters and a plot with so many twists and turns, you too could get lost in the countryside!This is a delightful, fun, slow paced but engaging story in a setting that is brought to life in the pages of the story that I thoroughly enjoyed. It is an emotive journey by both main characters and develops into a delightful romance. Definitely another winner by this author and one that I have no hesitation in highly recommending!I requested and was given a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it.
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    June 27, 2017
    Release Date: July 5, 2017 Genre: Chick LitSunshine After the Rain by Daisy James is a fun little book that I really enjoyed reading. There are books out there that are sure to lift your spirits, and readers, this is one of them! One of my favorite things when reading this one is that I was able to be transported into a lovely setting. The author does a wonderful job at essentially drawing us a picture of Corfu, and if I could go there myself I would. This is a magical quality for any book an Release Date: July 5, 2017 Genre: Chick LitSunshine After the Rain by Daisy James is a fun little book that I really enjoyed reading. There are books out there that are sure to lift your spirits, and readers, this is one of them! One of my favorite things when reading this one is that I was able to be transported into a lovely setting. The author does a wonderful job at essentially drawing us a picture of Corfu, and if I could go there myself I would. This is a magical quality for any book and the James really hit the nail on the head. With that, this is the perfect summer read. It fast paced, lighthearted, and 100% charming. The characters are fun to get to know, and watching Evie grow throughout the story was amazing to witness. For me, this adds a realistic quality to the novel. In some books, character growth is nonexistent. This can take away from the story (especially for me as a reader) so I was thrilled to see it in this one. And don't forget the setting! You'll be wanting to vacation on Corfu too!! Recommended Read
    more
  • Stacey
    July 13, 2017
    3.5 stars.I'll be honest, at first I wasn't sure of what to make of this book. I fell in love with the cover and the storyline sounded good so I felt a need to read it! However, I would probably have enjoyed it more if I had a passion for the main subject: Art. A lot of the book was talking about Evie's painting and her art career and although I found the location and her relationship side of the book intriguing, I found the parts about art a little too much.The book starts up with Evie losing h 3.5 stars.I'll be honest, at first I wasn't sure of what to make of this book. I fell in love with the cover and the storyline sounded good so I felt a need to read it! However, I would probably have enjoyed it more if I had a passion for the main subject: Art. A lot of the book was talking about Evie's painting and her art career and although I found the location and her relationship side of the book intriguing, I found the parts about art a little too much.The book starts up with Evie losing her job at an art gallery in London and after breaking up with her boyfriend, she is persuaded to go for a holiday at her boss' villa in Corfu. The description of the location in which Evie ends up is beautifully written and I found myself getting drawn into the novel and wanting to go to Corfu! It definitely is a lovely summer read.At the beginning I found this story was a little slow and romantic interest Sam doesn't come into the story much at all until half way through. One thing that did confuse me was the relevance of Andreas, I found his whole character to be a little irritating (I know you're probably meant to, he's like the villain in this book!) but a little unbelievable. Would Evie really jump on his boat when she first met him? I'm not sure. I did find that Evie and Sam's romance story did get a little rushed towards the end but I did enjoy reading about the dates they went on.Overall, still a really nice summer read with beautiful descriptions of sunny Corfu. Thank you to Netgalley and to HQ for a chance to read this book, to which I have read and reviewed honestly.
    more
  • Patty Wilderman
    June 22, 2017
    This was the first book by Daisy James that I have read and I was not disappointed.  This book was a refreshing sweet romance.  A book about sweet romance and kisses and summer fun.In this book you have Evie Johnson, art museum manager and Sam Bradbury hot son of her boss James Bradbury.  Evie has a bout of bad luck, when she gets blamed for a painting mishap.  She has to resign from her job in order to save the gallery.  So she resigns and runs away for a two-week stint in Corfu.  While there S This was the first book by Daisy James that I have read and I was not disappointed.  This book was a refreshing sweet romance.  A book about sweet romance and kisses and summer fun.In this book you have Evie Johnson, art museum manager and Sam Bradbury hot son of her boss James Bradbury.  Evie has a bout of bad luck, when she gets blamed for a painting mishap.  She has to resign from her job in order to save the gallery.  So she resigns and runs away for a two-week stint in Corfu.  While there Sam turns up to talk her into not resigning and to take the two weeks to open up her creative mind.  When Evie learns a terrible secret everything in her past comes rushing in.  Can Evie keep from losing her passion for art?  Can Sam convince her to follow her heart and dreams?This book flowed effortlessly.  The writer took her time laying out the plot for the book and created a beautiful setting with some wonderful characters.   Evie is such a strong character with a beautiful mind.  She struggles with getting her passion back to continue painting.  Sam is an accomplished artist struggling to gain the approval of his father.  This book is about believing in yourself and not being afraid of chasing your dreams.  The book is very insightful and a wonderful read.  I give the book 5 Stars.  *ARC provided by Netgalley
    more
  • Kim
    July 9, 2017
    When a mistake happens at a show in the art gallery that she manages, Evie feels that she has to resign. Her colleague and friend comes round with the keys to the owners property in Corfu and suggests that she takes a break there.Corfu is so beautifully depicted within the pages that you can't help but want to join them all. Sam is the owners son and he turns up at the villa whilst Evie is there and although she's staying in the art studio and he's in the main building, they do meet up. He encou When a mistake happens at a show in the art gallery that she manages, Evie feels that she has to resign. Her colleague and friend comes round with the keys to the owners property in Corfu and suggests that she takes a break there.Corfu is so beautifully depicted within the pages that you can't help but want to join them all. Sam is the owners son and he turns up at the villa whilst Evie is there and although she's staying in the art studio and he's in the main building, they do meet up. He encourages her to take up her paints again and takes her on some wonderful trips to inspire her. She also gets her head turned by the local Greek Lothario and sees some of the island with him.You feel that you know the locals and would love to join them to sample the local fare and stagger back to your villa after sampling the retsina. I loved my trip to Corfu- the hint of sunshine, the stunning views that are described makes you want to be able to paint a picture for your own house and the romance sparks and delicious food and drink make it a perfect summer read.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    July 14, 2017
    A lovely easy to read summer special. Wonderfully written with great characters. This book is sure to lift your spirits and leave you smiling from ear to ear. Workaholic Evie has had enough. After being blamed for a disaster that had nothing to do with her. Evie gives up her job and flees to Cyprus. In the hopes of lying low and restoring her soul. Finding the scenery picture perfect. Evie proves that it is never too late to live your dreams. Amongst painting the beautiful island Evie meets the A lovely easy to read summer special. Wonderfully written with great characters. This book is sure to lift your spirits and leave you smiling from ear to ear. Workaholic Evie has had enough. After being blamed for a disaster that had nothing to do with her. Evie gives up her job and flees to Cyprus. In the hopes of lying low and restoring her soul. Finding the scenery picture perfect. Evie proves that it is never too late to live your dreams. Amongst painting the beautiful island Evie meets the handsome Sam. Romance is far from Evie's mind but she cannot let the chance encounter with Sam go forgotten about. Will Cyprus and Sam be the antidote Evie had been looking for? A really fun fast passed book. Perfect for the summer holidays. Loved it.
    more
  • Sally Coles
    July 27, 2017
    When Evie is blamed for a disaster at work she decides to take up her boss's offer of his villa in Corfu and have some fun in the sun. She quickly settles in and rediscovers her love for art and painting and what more beautiful setting to paint in than CorfuThen who appears but Sam her boss's son and gradually she builds up a friendship with him - but what about Andreas as well!A good light hearted read perfect for the beach - pretty predictable but made up for by the setting in Corfu a lovely i When Evie is blamed for a disaster at work she decides to take up her boss's offer of his villa in Corfu and have some fun in the sun. She quickly settles in and rediscovers her love for art and painting and what more beautiful setting to paint in than CorfuThen who appears but Sam her boss's son and gradually she builds up a friendship with him - but what about Andreas as well!A good light hearted read perfect for the beach - pretty predictable but made up for by the setting in Corfu a lovely island
    more
Write a review