Then She Was Gone
THENShe was fifteen, her mother's golden girl. She had her whole life ahead of her. And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone. NOW It’s been ten years since Ellie disappeared, but Laurel has never given up hope of finding her daughter.And then one day a charming and charismatic stranger called Floyd walks into a café and sweeps Laurel off her feet. Before too long she’s staying the night at this house and being introduced to his nine year old daughter. Poppy is precocious and pretty - and meeting her completely takes Laurel's breath away. Because Poppy is the spitting image of Ellie when she was that age.And now all those unanswered questions that have haunted Laurel come flooding back. What happened to Ellie? Where did she go? Who still has secrets to hide?

Then She Was Gone Details

TitleThen She Was Gone
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 17th, 2018
PublisherAtria Books
ISBN-139781501154645
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Suspense

Then She Was Gone Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    Apologies for republishing this, but apparently some haters thought it would be funny to report my review and get it taken down because they have nothing better to do. 4.5 STARS"If she could unwind the timeline, untwist it and roll it back the other way like a ball of wool, she'd see the knots in the yarn, the warning signs. Looking at it backward it was obvious all along. But back then, when she knew nothing about anything, she had not seen it coming. She had walked straight into it with her ey Apologies for republishing this, but apparently some haters thought it would be funny to report my review and get it taken down because they have nothing better to do. 4.5 STARS"If she could unwind the timeline, untwist it and roll it back the other way like a ball of wool, she'd see the knots in the yarn, the warning signs. Looking at it backward it was obvious all along. But back then, when she knew nothing about anything, she had not seen it coming. She had walked straight into it with her eyes open."Lisa Jewell has quickly become one of my favorite authors, and for good reason. Her writing is addictive and appeals to a wide variety of readers; not too light, not too dark, but just right. Her characters are full bodied and bloom like a spring flower by the end of her stories. Also, who doesn't like to read books by genuinely nice people? If you've been active in the book community at all this month then you're sure to have noticed that Then She Was Gone is an April Pick by Book Of The Month, so naturally this is one that's being hyped for a reason-it's just that good! If you haven't managed to get your hands on a copy yet, then you'll want to make it a priority and here's why...Lisa Jewell knows how to take a classic storyline and make it her own. Most of her plots are traditional tales that have been told before in some form, but the difference is that she knows how to take something that could be predictable and put her own spin on it. The atmosphere, characterization, and raw emotion that is infused into each of her novels elevates their status to something that few suspense novelists have attained. The blending of multiple genres in each of her books really creates a unique reading experience; readers of every gender and walk of life have been able to connect with her writing and I feel that's a sure sign of the highest quality of writing.I'm positive you've noticed that I haven't mentioned the plot yet, and that's for good reason. You really truly want to go as blind into this one as you can. I'm going to avoid any details here, as I want you to have the most fabulous reading experience with this one possible, so I'll stick to describing it with some buzz words. Breathtaking. Compulsive. Suspenseful. Poetic. <--- But Chelsea, how can you describe something thrilling as poetic? Trust me, once you experience Jewell's writing, you'll understand.Gang, this one is more than just a a beautiful shell of a cover. But that cover IS stunning, amiright? You definitely want to add this to your reading schedule ASAP, especially if you're looking for a read that is so gripping you'll fly right through it. To say I'm waiting with bated breath for Lisa's next novel would be an understatement, and I hope you enjoy this story as much as I did. <3*Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy. 
    more
  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    This was a fairly average experience for me. It's a very quick read - I read it in a single day - and it goes down smoothly and easily, but it is so easy to predict everything that will happen. I was always several chapters ahead of the characters and it sapped a lot of tension out of the story.I can see why, with a better plot, Jewell is a great writer. The relationships and characters were fleshed out and interesting. Laurel’s pain over her missing daughter is palpable and realistic. The loss This was a fairly average experience for me. It's a very quick read - I read it in a single day - and it goes down smoothly and easily, but it is so easy to predict everything that will happen. I was always several chapters ahead of the characters and it sapped a lot of tension out of the story.I can see why, with a better plot, Jewell is a great writer. The relationships and characters were fleshed out and interesting. Laurel’s pain over her missing daughter is palpable and realistic. The loss of Ellie felt like a real thing, not something that exists only inside a book. It's a shame, though, that we know a major aspect of Ellie's fate almost immediately, seeing as this is probably what I would have cared about most.In the wake of Ellie's disappearance ten years ago, her mother and father have split and the family has been torn apart by losing its "golden child". Laurel, Ellie's mother, is struggling to get her life back on track and save her relationships with her two remaining children. A new romance with a guy called Floyd makes her think that she may finally be moving on, until she meets his youngest daughter, Poppy, who looks shockingly like Ellie.It sort of feels like I've read a hundred different variations of the missing daughter/grieving mother plot, and Then She Was Gone doesn't really do anything new with it. The writing is strong, but it's disappointing when you figure out all the major reveals in the first few chapters and even get the reasons behind them. As soon as certain characters are introduced, I was thinking “ah, got it” and, unfortunately, I was right. I kept hoping something exciting would happen to prove me wrong, but it really is as obvious as it seems.I'm also not totally convinced about the biological possibility of one plot point.Then She Was Gone was fine as an undemanding beach thriller, but I wouldn't recommend it for readers looking for something new and innovative.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Edgy, Dark and AddictiveThis turned out to be quite a stunner. I’ve read lots of psychological thrillers and this one caught me off guard. Much more than your typical missing daughter plot. Scattered with hints of some shocking revelations to come.This is my fourth Lisa Jewell novel and I’m a huge fan. I love her writing style and how she keeps me totally absorbed in the story line. The more I read, the more invested I became and started to care about some of the key characters. Told in multiple Edgy, Dark and AddictiveThis turned out to be quite a stunner. I’ve read lots of psychological thrillers and this one caught me off guard. Much more than your typical missing daughter plot. Scattered with hints of some shocking revelations to come.This is my fourth Lisa Jewell novel and I’m a huge fan. I love her writing style and how she keeps me totally absorbed in the story line. The more I read, the more invested I became and started to care about some of the key characters. Told in multiple POVs we get to learn about their motivations as secrets come out. Somewhere around seventy percent, it became unputdownable as so many shockers were thrown at me. I’m pretty sure I was talking to myself about what was happening!Laurel’s teenage daughter, Ellie goes missing, she is a smart and clever girl. In time, Laurel meets a charming man who she is very attracted to. When she meets his teenage daughter, she can’t shake the feeling of how much she reminds her of her beloved Ellie. Well, what the heck is going on here? You’ll have to read it to find out!There is an emotional punch as the tension builds towards the dramatic end. Thanks to Atria for my ARC.Review will also post on my blog https://dressedtoread.com/
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell is a 2018 Atria Books publication. Well, this was certainly different!Missing persons tropes are common in mysteries and thrillers, and the theme has been written and explored in many predictable ways, but also in many clever, even shocking ways. But, no matter how it is presented, it is a scenario that never fails to draw me in. But, I must say, this novel puts an entirely new and fresh spin on the missing persons mystery-The story begins like so many others- El Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell is a 2018 Atria Books publication. Well, this was certainly different!Missing persons tropes are common in mysteries and thrillers, and the theme has been written and explored in many predictable ways, but also in many clever, even shocking ways. But, no matter how it is presented, it is a scenario that never fails to draw me in. But, I must say, this novel puts an entirely new and fresh spin on the missing persons mystery-The story begins like so many others- Ellie, a conscientious teenager, and the apple of her mother's eye, left to visit the library and was never seen or heard from again. Laurel, Ellie's mother, couldn’t understand how her other children and her husband were able to move on with their lives without knowing what happened to Ellie. Laurel's life stalled, her marriage fell apart and the relationship with her two remaining children is strained. But, finally, after years of just going through the motions of life, Laurel meets Floyd, a single dad with a young daughter named Poppy. The connection between Laurel and Floyd is immediate and heady. But, when Laurel finally gets to meet Poppy, she is unnerved by the uncanny resemblance to her daughter, Ellie. She even smells like Ellie, which kicks Laurel's natural maternal instincts into high gear. This and another small coincidence, puts new thoughts into Laurel’s head, prompting her to do a little amateur sleuthing. She never in a million years could have predicted the shocking revelations her inquiries would uncover or the personal epiphanies that would change Laurel's life forevermore. Is it possible that Laurel could, at long last, find all the answers about her daughter’s disappearance? This story was very dark, gloomy, and creepy, but also quite emotional and poignant. Laurel's voice is so realististic, raw, and sympathetic, she nearly had me believing she was a real person and that this was a true story. Her emergence from a tortuous state of limbo and her fierce determination to get to the truth, and begin truly living life again was an amazing transformation. I think Lisa Jewell has written a chilling novel of suspense, but it is also a book about the power of maternal love, forgiveness and healing and never giving up. This could be Jewel’s first tentatives steps towards advancing up to the literary thriller category. I was impressed with this novel as it held my rapt attention from start to finish. It gave me goosebumps in more ways than one.4.5 stars
    more
  • James
    January 1, 1970
    I read a Lisa Jewell novel last year and connected immediately with her writing style, tone, and voice. When Then She Was Gone showed up on NetGalley last month, I immediately requested it and added it to my reading queue for April. I really find myself enamored with Jewell's characters, plots, and settings, so much that I've added ten of her other books to my TBR and hope to read a few more later this year.Domestic drama is the best sub-genre to describe this book. A 15-year-old girl goes missi I read a Lisa Jewell novel last year and connected immediately with her writing style, tone, and voice. When Then She Was Gone showed up on NetGalley last month, I immediately requested it and added it to my reading queue for April. I really find myself enamored with Jewell's characters, plots, and settings, so much that I've added ten of her other books to my TBR and hope to read a few more later this year.Domestic drama is the best sub-genre to describe this book. A 15-year-old girl goes missing, resulting in her family falling apart. Ten years later, her mother finds new love (divorced her ex-husband though they still remain friends) and slowly learns of connections to her missing child who was feared dead. The description in the Goodreads or Amazon summary says it all, so I don't need to add to it here. The book alternates between "Then" and "Now" to tell the story of what happened to Ellie, who kidnapped and hurt her, what the new love interest for Ellie's mother, Laurel, has to say transpired over all the years, and where things really fell apart. This book read itself. I intended to spend 90 minutes reading on a weekend afternoon to have a relaxing break from some outside chores. Three (3) hours later, I'd finished it. The book was so good that I lost track of time and read so quickly, everything just disappeared, but I was absolutely connected and attached to every part of the story and characters. Jewell clearly knows how to lead readers on a path where investment is deep and shock is wide. I'm sure a few readers will sideways glance at a couple of plot twists, and I can understand it. You have to suspend a tiny bit of your disbelief or questions as to how the kidnapping was truly pulled off. But it's fiction and it's part of a story and that's why it worked -- the writing supports it and carries you off into a world you cannot leave.I normally figure out what's really going on. But Jewell uses some clever disguises regarding timing that make it complicated, and when you do figure it out about 2/3 of the way thru, you have to stop for a few minutes and think about all the repercussions, Then, it all adds up. How did I miss it??? But for me, that's what makes an incredibly gifted writer. One who transports you into the story that you forget to try to solve it because you're just so stunned by its beauty. I can't wait to pick up another Jewell book this summer. So many to choose from! But this one gets at least 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsEllie Mack was 15 years old when she went missing. She was the youngest of three children who left the house one day to go to the library and never returned. Her Mother, Laurel Mack, fell apart after her daughter's disappearance, as most parents would. Her daughter's disappearance forever altered her life. Her marriage fell apart, her other daughter, Hanna became distant and withdrawn from her Mother,her son moved away. Throughout it all she never gave up hope on finding her daughter. W 4.5 starsEllie Mack was 15 years old when she went missing. She was the youngest of three children who left the house one day to go to the library and never returned. Her Mother, Laurel Mack, fell apart after her daughter's disappearance, as most parents would. Her daughter's disappearance forever altered her life. Her marriage fell apart, her other daughter, Hanna became distant and withdrawn from her Mother,her son moved away. Throughout it all she never gave up hope on finding her daughter. Was Ellie a runaway as the police suggested? Was she kidnapped? Was there an accident? So many questions without answers can wear a person down, can leave a hole, and can prevent a person from fully moving on with one's life.Then ten years after her daughter's disappearance, she goes into a bakery after getting her hair cut, and meets a man named Floyd. He compliments her hair and offers her a bite of his carrot cake. Laurel usually doesn't take chances, but after the last clue in Ellie's case was discovered, Laurel is ready to put her life back on track. Soon Laurel and Floyd are a couple and she has met his two daughters. She is shocked to see that his youngest daughter, Poppy has a strong resemblance to her daughter, Ellie. As Laurel gets to know the entire family, she begins to learn about coincidences, there is a certain individual who ties both of their lives together. I read this book in one day. I literally could not put this book down. Lisa Jewell has written a very good psychological thriller/mystery. I enjoyed all the characters even the bad ones. The bad ones were good characters in so much that they were creepy and sinister while at the same time being damaged. This book was a very well thought out and developed plot. The story moves at a very good pace. There were no dull moments. There were moments when I wanted to yell at Laurel "Ask more questions!" and "come on, put it together". Is the book a little predictable? Yes, yes, it is a little predictable. I figured the "mystery" out but that did not spoil the book for me, as I kept turning the pages to see who else was going to figure the book out. The suspense builds as some questions get answered. Do you need to suspend some disbelief? Sure, a little...but that didn't affect my enjoyment of this book at all. Thank you to Atria Books and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.See more of my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    Gripping psychological thriller about the disappearance of 15-year-old Ellie Mack. Then She was Gone is not about what happened to Ellie, it’s more about the how and the why she disappeared, as well as the after-effects of her disappearance on her family. One morning, Ellie Mack heads to the library. At 10:43 am, she was never to be seen again. The police’s investigation never turned up any clues to what happened to her, but believe she ran away. Her mother, Laurel, believes otherwise. After 1 Gripping psychological thriller about the disappearance of 15-year-old Ellie Mack. Then She was Gone is not about what happened to Ellie, it’s more about the how and the why she disappeared, as well as the after-effects of her disappearance on her family. One morning, Ellie Mack heads to the library. At 10:43 am, she was never to be seen again. The police’s investigation never turned up any clues to what happened to her, but believe she ran away. Her mother, Laurel, believes otherwise. After 10 years have passed, the family finally gets some answers--what they don’t realize is how close they were to knowing the truth all along.As Laurel slowly finds closure, she begins to rebuild her life. She starts dating and it seems as if she has found love again with a single father named Floyd. But something isn’t quite right about Floyd, especially his relationship with his nine-year-old daughter, Polly. The more and more Laurel spends time with Floyd and Polly, she comes to realize that what happened to Ellie was not at all what it seemed. The reasons behind Ellie’s disappearance come to light through Ellie’s POV. Her mother, Laurel, also has a main voice in the story.There are several things I loved about this book. While it’s obvious what happened to Ellie, what is not are the reasons why. Jewell has a way of writing that is just completely enthralling. I always get sucked into her books, and one of the reasons why is her strong characterization. By the end of this, I really felt like I knew Laurel Mack. Although parts of the story are a little bizarre (Jewell says this herself in the Acknowledgements), she makes it work. This is a fast-paced, dark read with some interesting twists and some well-written psychopaths! I highly recommend!
    more
  • Elyse
    January 1, 1970
    Totally enjoyable .....As a couple of friends said - (Diane & Esil) - they were pretty sure ‘what’ happened to Ellie who had gone missing early in their reading — me too - but I didn’t know ‘why’. All I knew was that Ellie was a bright girl - an excellent student - and that her mother - Laurel had a ‘special’ love for her ( in ways she definitely didn’t her other two children) — Much about this story felt real. While on the way to the library— a child is never to be seen again. It gives me c Totally enjoyable .....As a couple of friends said - (Diane & Esil) - they were pretty sure ‘what’ happened to Ellie who had gone missing early in their reading — me too - but I didn’t know ‘why’. All I knew was that Ellie was a bright girl - an excellent student - and that her mother - Laurel had a ‘special’ love for her ( in ways she definitely didn’t her other two children) — Much about this story felt real. While on the way to the library— a child is never to be seen again. It gives me chills thinking of the missing children I still remember from years ago. Right here in the Bay Area.Besides the suspense — the characters hearts are tender - I felt what they did — none were offensive. The more I read - the more I wanted to keep reading. Lisa Jewel wrote a ‘jewel’ of a great suspenseful- book with terrific fantastic characters. The epilogue — I’ll just say WOW! An ending - and book I’m likely NOT to forget.
    more
  • Diane S ☔
    January 1, 1970
    Ellie was fifteen eager to take her exams. Now that she had been tutored in math she was sure she would do well. On her way to the library one evening, she disappears. Her disappearance takes a huge toll on the family, a family that breaks apart as many families in this type of situations often do. Now ten years later, Laurel is willing to take a shot at having a life and love again a series of events will send her reeling. Would she finally find out what happened to her daughter?A very suspense Ellie was fifteen eager to take her exams. Now that she had been tutored in math she was sure she would do well. On her way to the library one evening, she disappears. Her disappearance takes a huge toll on the family, a family that breaks apart as many families in this type of situations often do. Now ten years later, Laurel is willing to take a shot at having a life and love again a series of events will send her reeling. Would she finally find out what happened to her daughter?A very suspenseful story, with an underlying sense of creepiness, and a novel way of telling a story. As a reader I pretty guessed what had happened to Ellie, in fact the sisters I was reading this with also had the same thoughts. This happened in the first third of the book but...there was still much to discover. The author kept my interest by some very good storytelling, and by the way it was structured. Changing tenses and changing narators the fast pace continued, new discoveries, and the insidious darkness beneath, kept me turning pages.I have now read the last few books by this author and look forward to reading many more. To prove a point of mine, it is possible to write a good and suspenseful story without blood, excess gore and constant action. This is the kind of psychological thriller I actually enjoy.ARC from Edelweiss.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4.25 Stars (rounded down)Spellbinding and Completely Irresistible. Ellie Mack went missing 10 years ago. Her mother, Laurel has never given up hope of finding her. Ellie was fifteen years old, full of life. The world was, in fact, her oyster. No one knew what happened to Ellie. The police have never found a trace of her. My interest was piqued from the very beginning. My breath caught in my throat - nerves jangled. Now, Laurel Mack’s life is very different: her marriage fell apart years ago and 4.25 Stars (rounded down)Spellbinding and Completely Irresistible. Ellie Mack went missing 10 years ago. Her mother, Laurel has never given up hope of finding her. Ellie was fifteen years old, full of life. The world was, in fact, her oyster. No one knew what happened to Ellie. The police have never found a trace of her. My interest was piqued from the very beginning. My breath caught in my throat - nerves jangled. Now, Laurel Mack’s life is very different: her marriage fell apart years ago and her relationship with her remaining children is tenuous. Somehow, she meets Floyd - a devastatingly handsome man and she is immediately swept off her feet. Then Laurel is introduced to his little girl: Poppy, and she is dumbfounded to discover that Poppy bears a striking resemblance to Ellie, her Ellie. Of course, this isn’t possible - it’s a coincidence, right? And if it’s not, what ever does it mean? Laurel begins questioning everything and those questions take her on a dangerous path, one she never envisioned. Can you feel the hair on the back of your neck stand up? Mine did. What unfolds thereafter is brilliant, stunning and packs one heck of an emotional punch. Lisa Jewell’s “Then She Was Gone” is a phenomenal psychological thriller that kept me enthralled throughout. Though I knew where it was going early on, I still truly enjoyed it and simply could not put it down! The character development was stellar and the writing was spot on. This is the second Lisa Jewell novel I’ve read (I Found You, being the first) and I can’t wait to read more of Ms. Jewell’s novels. This was a Traveling Sister Read, which we all really liked. For full Traveling Sister Group reviews, please see Brenda and Norma’s blog: https://twosisterslostinacoulee.comThank you to NetGalley, Ariele Friedman, Atria Books and Lisa Jewell for a complimentary copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on NetGalley, Goodreads and Twitter on 4.15.18. *Will be published on Amazon on 4.17.18.
    more
  • Matthew
    January 1, 1970
    Missing with a twist - this is quite a popular book genre right now. I feel like saying it has a "twist" is no longer a spoiler. It reminds me of when M. Night Shamalan first made movies and everyone was surprised by the shocking twist. Now, when you see one, you are sitting there not wondering if there will be a twist, but when. So, yes, Gone Girl-ers, this is another book for you!Now, this doesn't tend to be a favorite genre of mine. Because of this, it has to be creative and well written to k Missing with a twist - this is quite a popular book genre right now. I feel like saying it has a "twist" is no longer a spoiler. It reminds me of when M. Night Shamalan first made movies and everyone was surprised by the shocking twist. Now, when you see one, you are sitting there not wondering if there will be a twist, but when. So, yes, Gone Girl-ers, this is another book for you!Now, this doesn't tend to be a favorite genre of mine. Because of this, it has to be creative and well written to keep me interested. If the author leans on hateable characters (like The Girl on the Train) or other thriller tropes (alcoholism, mental illness, etc.) I tend to find my focus drifting. If the author can find just the right combination of these things, then I will be right there ready to throw more stars their way.Happily I can report that Then She Was Gone is a successful member of this genre. I have seen some mentions that the outcome was predictable, but I found it to be unique, suspenseful, and surprising in the end. My wife read this about a month before I did and I looked forward to our nightly rehash sessions of the section I read that day. Even now, after finishing, there are still some questions I have floating around in my head about the events of the novel and the outcome. Because of all this, I am thinking this would be a great book to read with a group of friends or a book club (and, it does just so happens to be one of my book club picks this month)Much like the other book I just read from this genre (What Happened to Michael), I can safely recommend this to "missing person with a twist" thriller fans. Wait!? Two from this genre in a row that I am giving high marks!? Maybe I am turning over a new leaf!
    more
  • Kaceey - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    4.5* Brilliant! I completely lost myself in this book from beginning to end!Laurel is doing her best to move on with her life. Her teenage daughter went missing years ago, triggering an avalanche of misfortune. The family splintered. Laurel and Paul divorcing. And now, their two remaining children are leaving home at the first chance they get - anxious to live their own lives, away from the oppressive tension within their home. When laurel meets Floyd she’s quickly swept off her feet. She’s fina 4.5* Brilliant! I completely lost myself in this book from beginning to end!Laurel is doing her best to move on with her life. Her teenage daughter went missing years ago, triggering an avalanche of misfortune. The family splintered. Laurel and Paul divorcing. And now, their two remaining children are leaving home at the first chance they get - anxious to live their own lives, away from the oppressive tension within their home. When laurel meets Floyd she’s quickly swept off her feet. She’s finally ready to live and love again. But too many things just aren’t adding up. What do they say about coincidences? Could Floyd be too good to be true? Why do the doors to the past keep opening? What a breath of fresh air this book was for me. I‘ve had trouble loosing myself in a good book lately. And isn’t that what we all hope for? Well, this was the refreshing change I’d been looking for! Though some give-away clues are revealed early on, you’re still taken on a journey that will most definitely pull your heart in many directions.A wonderful Traveling Sister read 🌸Thank you to NetGalley, Atria Books and Lisa Jewell for an ARC to read in exchange for an honest review.For this review and our full Traveling Sister review please visit Brenda and Norma’s fabulous blog:https://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    Another winner from Lisa Jewell!Laurel Mack’s smart and beautiful teenage daughter Ellie disappeared 10 years ago. Now divorced and distant from her other two children, Laurel is attempting to move on and begins dating a handsome and kind man. Then unusual coincidences related to Laurel’s new boyfriend and also to Ellie begin occurring and things start to get unsettling for Laurel. I don’t want to say more because part of the excitement of the book is discovering how the various plot lines inter Another winner from Lisa Jewell!Laurel Mack’s smart and beautiful teenage daughter Ellie disappeared 10 years ago. Now divorced and distant from her other two children, Laurel is attempting to move on and begins dating a handsome and kind man. Then unusual coincidences related to Laurel’s new boyfriend and also to Ellie begin occurring and things start to get unsettling for Laurel. I don’t want to say more because part of the excitement of the book is discovering how the various plot lines intertwine and how the mysteries are resolved. Lisa Jewell is a brilliant storyteller and I will be recommending this book for an emotional, suspenseful, and captivating read.
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    THEN SHE WAS GONE by LISA JEWELL is a breathtaking, thrilling, unputdownable, and suspenseful psychological thriller novel that had me totally engrossed and interested right from the very first page. I was so intrigued in finding out what happened to Ellie Mack that I was racing through those pages as fast as I could! LISA JEWELL delivers a well-written story here with flawed, believable, and compelling characters that was told in alternating points of view and short chapters to make this a quic THEN SHE WAS GONE by LISA JEWELL is a breathtaking, thrilling, unputdownable, and suspenseful psychological thriller novel that had me totally engrossed and interested right from the very first page. I was so intrigued in finding out what happened to Ellie Mack that I was racing through those pages as fast as I could! LISA JEWELL delivers a well-written story here with flawed, believable, and compelling characters that was told in alternating points of view and short chapters to make this a quick and easy read. Upon finishing one chapter it was easy to read the next and then just one more chapter and before I knew it I was finished!I absolutely love LISA JEWELL’S writing style as she writes with passion and feeling and I couldn’t help but feel for so many of these characters. Also, I really enjoyed how she leaves us with little snippets of clues along the way for us readers to pick up on right away and start questioning and guessing how they fit into the story. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and the ending was very touching and satisfying for me. Would recommend!Publishing Date: April 17, 2018Thank you so much to NetGalley, Atria Books, and Lisa Jewell for the opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book.Review written and posted on our themed book blog:Two Sisters Lost In A Coulee Readinghttps://twosisterslostinacoulee.com
    more
  • Dorie
    January 1, 1970
    This is the third Lisa Jewell thriller that I have read and she has penned another winner! After finishing this book I really had to wait a few days to sort of “SETTLE ME DOWN” as this mystery touched some very delicate feelings in me, more so than her first two books. Call me a snob but in my experience with thrillers, it has been hard to find many with the combination of great writing, past and present POV’s that flow seamlessly together, and create emotions that well up inside of you and real This is the third Lisa Jewell thriller that I have read and she has penned another winner! After finishing this book I really had to wait a few days to sort of “SETTLE ME DOWN” as this mystery touched some very delicate feelings in me, more so than her first two books. Call me a snob but in my experience with thrillers, it has been hard to find many with the combination of great writing, past and present POV’s that flow seamlessly together, and create emotions that well up inside of you and really stay with you. The main character in this novel is Laurel who has three children, two of whom are daughters whom she adores and they have great family dynamics. On a seemingly “normal” day, her youngest daughter Ellie leaves for the library and never returns. There are no clues or hints to explain her disappearance and the police keep coming up empty handed. Laurel however still feels that her daughter is alive even though many years go by. It is hard to read the despair and feelings of inadequacies that the family members encounter and at one point it was a little hard for me to continue. Not because the plot was stagnant but quite the opposite, it was speeding along so fast and with an outcome that seemed too terrible that I just had to stop, just until the next day when I furiously turned the pages to find out the mystery.I won’t go over the plot, I rarely do that, you all read the blurbs on the books I know you do! This is a true thriller to me as it contains an extremely deviant sociopath who is so mentally ill that it’s painful to read her thoughts. You know where it’s going but you just can’t stop it.I love strongly character driven novels, including thrillers and that is what Ms. Jewell does so so well. I became invested in the feelings of Eliie’s mother, and as a mother of four daughters, I wanted so badly for things to somehow turn out that this poor woman didn’t have to continue without knowing what happened to her missing beautiful, intelligent, golden girl!If you loved “Girls in the Garden” and “I Found You” you will definitely love this book. For me this one was a little difficult to read because the behavior of this probable psychopath was just so twisted and ugly. After starting this novel I couldn’t quit, her writing is just so compelling, those of the words I would use to describe it!I received a ARC of this novel from the publisher through Edelweiss, thank you, will post to public media upon publication.
    more
  • Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*
    January 1, 1970
    EXCERPT: She had no one to call, no one to ask 'Have you seen Hanna? Do you know where she is?' Her life simply didn't work like that. There were no connections anywhere. Just little islands of life dotted here and there. It was possible, she thought, that Hanna had met a man, but unlikely. Hannah hadn't had a boyfriend, not one, ever. Someone once mooted the theory that Hanna felt too guilty to have a boyfriend because her little sister would never have one. The same theory could also be applie EXCERPT: She had no one to call, no one to ask 'Have you seen Hanna? Do you know where she is?' Her life simply didn't work like that. There were no connections anywhere. Just little islands of life dotted here and there. It was possible, she thought, that Hanna had met a man, but unlikely. Hannah hadn't had a boyfriend, not one, ever. Someone once mooted the theory that Hanna felt too guilty to have a boyfriend because her little sister would never have one. The same theory could also be applied to her miserable flat and her nonexistent social life. Laurel knew simultaneously that she was overreacting and also that she was not overreacting. When you are the parent of a child who walked out of the house one morning with a rucksack full of books to study at a library a fifteen minute walk away and then never came home again, then there is no such thing as overreacting. The fact that she was standing in her adult daughter’s kitchen picturing her dead in a ditch because she hadn't left a cereal bowl in the sink was perfectly sane and reasonable in the context of her own experience. ABOUT THIS BOOK: THENShe was fifteen, her mother's golden girl. She had her whole life ahead of her. And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone. NOW It’s been ten years since Ellie disappeared, but Laurel has never given up hope of finding her daughter.And then one day a charming and charismatic stranger called Floyd walks into a café and sweeps Laurel off her feet. Before too long she’s staying the night at this house and being introduced to his nine year old daughter. Poppy is precocious and pretty - and meeting her completely takes Laurel's breath away. Because Poppy is the spitting image of Ellie when she was that age.And now all those unanswered questions that have haunted Laurel come flooding back. What happened to Ellie? Where did she go? Who still has secrets to hide?MY THOUGHTS: I loved this book. I love Lisa Jewell's writing. I love her characters. I wanted, so badly, to know what happened, but I wanted the book never to end. I think I am addicted. I have started another of this author's books straight away. And I seldom, if ever, do that. The characters are very ordinary people. They are not rich, nor particularly successful. They don't marry millionaires and live happily ever after. They are ordinary people with ordinary worries who have ordinary awful things happen, and who react like I imagine that I, or any of my friends, would react should a child of mine go missing. And in this very 'ordinaryness' Jewell creates compelling characters that we come to love and empathise with, and addictive reads. A jewel. A treasure. And even though I had an inkling about where this was going, it didn't diminish my pleasure in this read at all.Thank you to Random House UK, Cornerstone Arrow for providing a digital ARC of Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions. Please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the 'about' page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com for an explanation of my rating system. This review and others are also published on my blog sandysbookaday.wordpress.com. https://sandysbookaday.wordpress.com/...
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    This novel is creepy—in a good way. Fifteen-year-old Ellie disappears on her way to the library one day. Ultimately, since police can’t find anything, they suspect she’s a runaway despite the fact she had a boyfriend she loved and was looking forward to taking the exams she’d been studying hard for.When we meet up with her mother Laurel ten years later, Laurel’s relationships with her other daughter, her son, and her now-ex-husband have all suffered greatly because they’d never found a body or a This novel is creepy—in a good way. Fifteen-year-old Ellie disappears on her way to the library one day. Ultimately, since police can’t find anything, they suspect she’s a runaway despite the fact she had a boyfriend she loved and was looking forward to taking the exams she’d been studying hard for.When we meet up with her mother Laurel ten years later, Laurel’s relationships with her other daughter, her son, and her now-ex-husband have all suffered greatly because they’d never found a body or any evidence of where Ellie may have gone. The not knowing if Ellie is alive or dead has made it impossible for Laurel to move on.New evidence comes to light at the same time Laurel falls for Floyd, her first relationship with a man since she and her husband separated seven years earlier. At first, the romance is dizzyingly exciting. Then, certain things that Lloyd does start to niggle at Laurel. Something doesn’t seem quite right.This was not my favorite suspense novel that I’ve read recently, so if you’re strapped for time, I might go with another book. It’s good, but not great, in part because you can guess at a huge part of the mystery (and be right) well before everything is revealed. Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this mystery, which will be published in the States on April 17, 2018. For more reviews, please visit: http://www.theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • Lindsay - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars! This was a spine-tingling and addictive story!This novel follows Laurel whose teenage daughter, Ellie, went missing ten years ago. Laurel has been battling her grief since the day Ellie disappeared with the hope that she may one day come home. After Ellie’s disappearance, being swallowed up in her sadness and grief, Laurel’s marriage falls apart and she loses her connection with her two other children.The story is narrated by various characters in Laurel’s life through a Now and Then pe 4 stars! This was a spine-tingling and addictive story!This novel follows Laurel whose teenage daughter, Ellie, went missing ten years ago. Laurel has been battling her grief since the day Ellie disappeared with the hope that she may one day come home. After Ellie’s disappearance, being swallowed up in her sadness and grief, Laurel’s marriage falls apart and she loses her connection with her two other children.The story is narrated by various characters in Laurel’s life through a Now and Then perspective, each character adding a new layer of suspense and appeal as the novel brilliantly unfolds.The author, Lisa Jewell, has a fantastic ability to pull you in right from the start. Her writing is strong, compelling and addictive. I look forward to reading more from her!This was a Traveling Sister read that we all enjoyed! To find this review, along with the other Traveling Sister reviews, please visit Brenda and Norma’s fabulous blog at:https://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/2...A big thank you to NetGalley, Simon & Schuster Canada and Lisa Jewell for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review!!
    more
  • Luffy
    January 1, 1970
    Then She Was Gone is a very mild title compared to the volcanic torment and angst behind the cover. Teenage daughter Ellie goes missing and blah blah blah...except that it's not so clear cut or cliched.The action takes place in multiple points of view, and it's a treat to be fed factoid after factoid to try and make sense. It's deliciously excruciating how the info builds up to shape up the final solution.Lisa Jewell is part of the latest generation of writers. The latter have bypassed Chaucer, Then She Was Gone is a very mild title compared to the volcanic torment and angst behind the cover. Teenage daughter Ellie goes missing and blah blah blah...except that it's not so clear cut or cliched.The action takes place in multiple points of view, and it's a treat to be fed factoid after factoid to try and make sense. It's deliciously excruciating how the info builds up to shape up the final solution.Lisa Jewell is part of the latest generation of writers. The latter have bypassed Chaucer, Milton, and Shakespeare to shape up to be gifted writers. Lisa Jewell is part of this disconnected generation. This was a wonderful book.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    "People try and make out there's a greater purpose, a secret meaning, that it all means something. And it doesn't."Loss is like that. There's no justifying it. There are no words of wisdom that can ever buffer the pain. It becomes a life sentence worn like the weight of a sack cloth far into eternity and beyond.Laurel Mack is a grieving mother. Period. Her beautiful daughter, Ellie, disappeared one day on her way to her weekly lesson with her math tutor. There is no evidence, no clues, no remnan "People try and make out there's a greater purpose, a secret meaning, that it all means something. And it doesn't."Loss is like that. There's no justifying it. There are no words of wisdom that can ever buffer the pain. It becomes a life sentence worn like the weight of a sack cloth far into eternity and beyond.Laurel Mack is a grieving mother. Period. Her beautiful daughter, Ellie, disappeared one day on her way to her weekly lesson with her math tutor. There is no evidence, no clues, no remnants of a missing Ellie even after ten years. The police have leaned toward labeling this case as a teenage runaway. Nothing could be farther than the truth in Laurel's eyes.As time passes, the deep love imprint of the missing Ellie has left its mark on the Mack family. Laurel and her husband, Paul, have divorced. Grief sometimes forces a wedge between individuals who are saturated in its unspeakable sorrow. Their now adult children, Jake and Hanna, have carved out separate lives that interact briefly with their parents now and then. Different directions with different intentions.But Laurel has met an attractive man in a coffee shop that she frequents. She and Floyd seem to hit it off well with unexpected humor as the draw. Floyd has two daughters: the more serious Sarah Jade and the vivacious young Poppy. But it is Poppy with her rich brown hair and strategic dimple that makes Laurel do a double take. She envisions her lost Ellie in the persona of Poppy. Coincidence or merely a longing of the soul?Lisa Jewell presents a storyline that begins with the tragedy of a missing daughter and a family's downward spiral in its aftermath. But she doesn't allow you to sit with this reality too long in your lap. The chapters will occasionally revert from the present to "Then" as the rough edges of Ellie's story come to light. There will also be moments of celebration as Laurel slowly removes layer upon layer of her self-imposed isolation and begins a life with Floyd.As readers, we will note that Lisa Jewell tends to stretch the borders of reality in some scenes. But the main thread is captivating and it tugs at us to delve deeper into this story. As in a fine-tuned musical piece, there will be quite the crescendo at the end even though you may have a sense of where all this is leading. High interest, unusual characters, breadcrumbs into the fire will all make this a must read when you long for something to take you out of the doldrums. Looking forward to more from this author.
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    This story got me out of my rut... knock on wood.A daughter, Ellie Mack, has been missing only to be found 10 years later.Her mother, Laurel, whom now has closure, is trying to move on with her life; fix the relationships that have suffered during her grieving.She meets a man, with a child, who very much reminds her of her once precious one. As the story unfolds, the perspective is told by Ellie and the mystery of her disappearance.Jewell delivers another fast paced whodunnit with some interesti This story got me out of my rut... knock on wood.A daughter, Ellie Mack, has been missing only to be found 10 years later.Her mother, Laurel, whom now has closure, is trying to move on with her life; fix the relationships that have suffered during her grieving.She meets a man, with a child, who very much reminds her of her once precious one. As the story unfolds, the perspective is told by Ellie and the mystery of her disappearance.Jewell delivers another fast paced whodunnit with some interesting well braided twists.Reminded me a little of Her Lovely Bones.Only complaint: the British term ‘jumper’ came up several times referring to apparel. This threw me off. (Every pun intended) I think it must be a sweater but reminded me of something with suspenders and possibly shorts?! Off to google I go.4⭐️ go to Jewell for another successful and well done mystery.
    more
  • Rebecca Carter
    January 1, 1970
    Over the past few years there seems to have been a huge saturation in the market of psychological mystery type thrillers. Or maybe that's just me thinking this, simply because I've bought or requested viaNetGalley, many books of this type. Then She Was Gone, is another one to add to this genre.There's nothing much I can add really, the description is easily available to read. The narrative goes back and forth between the present day and the past, and is told from the perspective of four differen Over the past few years there seems to have been a huge saturation in the market of psychological mystery type thrillers. Or maybe that's just me thinking this, simply because I've bought or requested viaNetGalley, many books of this type. Then She Was Gone, is another one to add to this genre.There's nothing much I can add really, the description is easily available to read. The narrative goes back and forth between the present day and the past, and is told from the perspective of four different characters, at different times throughout the book, although mainly from the pov of Laurel and Ellie. As a reader it's not at all difficult to keep on track, the perspectives don't keep changing continually, but rather gently weave in and out. Other than that, Then She Was Gone, is an enjoyable suspenseful read, filled with characters with shady secrets and questionable pasts. There are many emotional parts with plenty of moving moments. The book has some twists and turns, but I think I may have read so many books of this genre, that I was able to see where the story was going. However, I shouldn't let this detract from the fact this is a well written book, it certainly didn't drag, each time i picked my kindle up I was looking forward to reading it. It just wasn't "omg that was original" or "well I never saw that coming".I don't mean to put a downer on the book, I do think it's well worth a read, even if you have read a lot of this genre of late. I will definitely keep my eyes peeled for more books written by Lisa Jewell. The ending is particularly touching and I defy anyone to not be moved. With thanks to NetGalley and Random House U.K, Cornerstone for the opportunity to read this ARC in return for an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Brenda - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Norma and I were lost in the dark and light earthy lush coulee with five of our Traveling Sisters reading Then She Was Gone. We all really enjoyed it and it lead to a great discussion amongst us. We all were immediately drawn into this intriguing story right from start to the rewarding and very satisfying ending that we all loved. We all agreed Lisa Jewell brilliantly creates a well-written and perfectly paced story to create a good, intriguing suspenseful story. Just at the right time, she reve Norma and I were lost in the dark and light earthy lush coulee with five of our Traveling Sisters reading Then She Was Gone. We all really enjoyed it and it lead to a great discussion amongst us. We all were immediately drawn into this intriguing story right from start to the rewarding and very satisfying ending that we all loved. We all agreed Lisa Jewell brilliantly creates a well-written and perfectly paced story to create a good, intriguing suspenseful story. Just at the right time, she reveals enough of the story to create suspense and then gives us understanding and insight into her characters rather than creating a shocky twisty story. She balances the darkest well by adding just the right amount of disturbing and creepy along with the insight into the well-developed characters’ emotions, creating emotional layers to the characters along with layers to the plot.Some of us have read a few of Lisa Jewell's books and loved them all and the rest of us will be looking into reading more of her books. For me I have read a few and have a couple to review. We all highly recommend Then She Was Gone.Publishing Date: April 17, 2018Thank you, NetGalley, Atria Books, and Lisa Jewell for a copy to read and review. Review written and posted on our themed book blog Two Sisters Lost In A Coulee Reading.https://twosisterslostinacoulee.comCoulee: a term applied rather loosely to different landforms, all of which refer to a kind of valley.
    more
  • Malia
    January 1, 1970
    As a big fan of Lisa Jewell, I was excited to hear about Then She Was Gone, which follows her turn to a rather darker spin she has been successfully using in her past few books. The story follows Laurel Mack, though it is really told from multiple POVs (of which I tend to be a big fan). Her teenage daughter went missing ten years ago, and when she meets a man, Floyd, whose nine-year-old daughter is the image of Laurel's missing child, Ellie, and she understandably cannot let the mystery go. Laur As a big fan of Lisa Jewell, I was excited to hear about Then She Was Gone, which follows her turn to a rather darker spin she has been successfully using in her past few books. The story follows Laurel Mack, though it is really told from multiple POVs (of which I tend to be a big fan). Her teenage daughter went missing ten years ago, and when she meets a man, Floyd, whose nine-year-old daughter is the image of Laurel's missing child, Ellie, and she understandably cannot let the mystery go. Laurel is amicably divorced, but has a strained relationship with her two other children, fixated on her daughter, Ellie, her favorite, she has to admit to herself.Initially, I wasn't sure about Laurel. She came across as a little cold, but after a while, I felt this was mostly a defense mechanism, because she was just so shattered by what had happened to her family. I really liked the multiple view points from which the story is told, jumping back in time as well, which Jewell did very smoothly. The story is fast-paced, though the action is slow and meticulous. I will admit, I guessed the revelation about half-way through, but that may simply be because I read a lot of crime fiction and it is getting harder and harder to find a book in this genre with a truly shocking twist. That being said, I happily continued reading, eager to know if my guesses were correct.Jewell has a style that makes you feel immediately involved in the story. Her writing is sometimes chatty, but never banal, and I think she has made the shift from chick-lit author to crime fiction writer very nicely. Her books are some of the best domestic suspense I have read, and would surely appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty or Sophie McKenzie. Recommended!Find more reviews and bookish fun at http://www.princessandpen.com
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell is a psychological thriller that weaves a deliciously tangled web from the opening pages until the very end. The story is told in parts and changes the point of view between various characters along the way going between the past and the present day.Laurel Mack had the perfect family with her husband and three beautiful children until one day when her youngest daughter Ellie didn’t come home. An overachiever Ellie was not the type of daughter to run away but that Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell is a psychological thriller that weaves a deliciously tangled web from the opening pages until the very end. The story is told in parts and changes the point of view between various characters along the way going between the past and the present day.Laurel Mack had the perfect family with her husband and three beautiful children until one day when her youngest daughter Ellie didn’t come home. An overachiever Ellie was not the type of daughter to run away but that is exactly what the police concluded after months of searching for the teen.Ten years later Laurel’s marriage had fallen apart as she took Ellie’s disappearance pretty hard and pushed the rest of her family away. When meeting a new man Ellie still isn’t sure about getting back out there but with the two both sharing a loss in their lives Laurel decides to take a chance.For me there is nothing more compelling than the story of a missing child and Lisa Jewell has taken that and turned it into so much more. For me this was almost a perfect read with the exception of part two which seemed to drag a bit but even then I still wanted to know how it would all turn out. Never would I have imagined where this one would go as the twists and turns were found all throughout the book. When finished I’d definitely recommend this one to all the thriller fans out there.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    Whoa! This book may have started out a bit slow but like all good roller coasters of the psychological thriller variety, it sky rocketed me into a mysterious family drama that ended up giving me whiplash with as many surprising revelations it held around every twist and turn. I hope with all my heart this situation is far fetched because I couldn't cope if I thought the main jaw-drop of this book could actually happen. Then She Was Gone is a crazy train of fairly unlikable characters in my opini Whoa! This book may have started out a bit slow but like all good roller coasters of the psychological thriller variety, it sky rocketed me into a mysterious family drama that ended up giving me whiplash with as many surprising revelations it held around every twist and turn. I hope with all my heart this situation is far fetched because I couldn't cope if I thought the main jaw-drop of this book could actually happen. Then She Was Gone is a crazy train of fairly unlikable characters in my opinion. You just know there is something off about each of them and that is Lisa Jewell's talent right there. Building these characters, allowing you to give each the benefit of the doubt, then finally turning them into someone redeemable or absolutely horrific. This book was mysterious, sad, crazy, but thoroughly engaging. If you are a fan of Lisa Jewell or if you have never heard of her before, Then She Was Gone needs to be on your list! Check it out!!My favorite quote:"I remember being twenty-one and thinking that my personality was a solid thing, that me was set in stone, that I would always feel what I felt and believe what I believed. But now I know that me is fluid and shape-changing. So whatever you're feeling now, it's temporary."Thank you to the following for permitting me access to an advance reader's copy (ARC) of Then She Was Gone: A Novel. This generosity did not impact my honesty when rating/reviewing.Source: NetGalleyAuthor: Lisa JewellPublisher: Atria BooksGenres: Women's FictionPub Date: April 24, 2018
    more
  • Esil
    January 1, 1970
    4 high starsI find that Lisa Jewell’s books are always a cut above the spate of books with “Gone”, “Girl” and “Lies” in their titles. For one, she can really write. And also her main characters are not breathless naive young woman, but usually middle aged women or men with recognizable emotions. I’ve now read four of her books, and Then She Was Gone is one of my favourites.The story focuses on the effects of the disappearance of Laurel’s daughter, Ellie. The story is told in two timelines and fr 4 high starsI find that Lisa Jewell’s books are always a cut above the spate of books with “Gone”, “Girl” and “Lies” in their titles. For one, she can really write. And also her main characters are not breathless naive young woman, but usually middle aged women or men with recognizable emotions. I’ve now read four of her books, and Then She Was Gone is one of my favourites.The story focuses on the effects of the disappearance of Laurel’s daughter, Ellie. The story is told in two timelines and from a few points of view. Mostly the story focuses on Laurel approximately 10 years after Ellie’s disappearance, but parts of the narrative are from Ellie’s perspective at the time she disappeared. Ten years on, Laurel still struggles with Ellie’s disappearance but she is feeling emotionally buoyant enough to start a new relationship with Floyd, who has a lovely daughter Poppie. Somehow — I’m not telling how to avoid spoilers — this leads Laurel down the road to figuring out what happened to Ellie.I must admit that I guessed much of the mystery early on. That’s not because the plot is predictable, but because Jewell does a lot of foreshadowing. But I thought that Jewell did a fantastic job with the characters, especially Laurel. She is smart, devastated but functional, equally self aware and self deluded, at times funny, and doggedly determined to find out what happened to Ellie. For those who worry about gruesomeness, there are no gruesome details but, on an existential level, given what we find out about what happens to Ellie, this one is not for the faint of heart.Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for an opportunity to read an advance copy.
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell is a psychological thriller. A young girl Ellie goes missing one day on her way to the library and her mother Laurel is frantic with worry.Ten years later Laurel who is no longer with her husband meets a man Floyd in a coffee shop and they strike up a friendship. When Laurel meets Loyd's nine year old daughter she is taken aback at the strikingly resemblance she has to her missing daughter. I really enjoyed this book, well worth a read.
    more
  • Mandy
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! I've read other books by this author and really enjoyed them so I was pretty sure going in that I'd like it. This book is about Laurel Mack, who's daughter has been missing for years but has never been able to move forward in her life. It's also about her family and what Ellie's disappearance has meant for them. When Laurel meets Floyd she begins to fall in love with him. Then she meets his daughter Poppy.This author just writes so well, I think. Her characters are always so r I loved this book! I've read other books by this author and really enjoyed them so I was pretty sure going in that I'd like it. This book is about Laurel Mack, who's daughter has been missing for years but has never been able to move forward in her life. It's also about her family and what Ellie's disappearance has meant for them. When Laurel meets Floyd she begins to fall in love with him. Then she meets his daughter Poppy.This author just writes so well, I think. Her characters are always so real that I can imagine them living, out in the real world. I flew through this book, because I just had to keep reading, literally could not stop, I needed to find out what was going to happen.Loved this book! Easily one of my favourites of the year.Many thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for letting me read this.
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    My reviews can be seen at https://yayareadslotsofbooks.wordpres...3.5 kept me reading but very predictable stars"A wife who loses a husband is called a widow. A husband who loses a wife is called a widower. A child who loses his parents is called an orphan. There is no word for a parent who loses a child. That's how awful the loss is." (Ronald Reagan)As the above quote states there is no word for a parent who loses a child. There is no consolation one can give that will ever make up for that los My reviews can be seen at https://yayareadslotsofbooks.wordpres...3.5 kept me reading but very predictable stars"A wife who loses a husband is called a widow. A husband who loses a wife is called a widower. A child who loses his parents is called an orphan. There is no word for a parent who loses a child. That's how awful the loss is." (Ronald Reagan)As the above quote states there is no word for a parent who loses a child. There is no consolation one can give that will ever make up for that loss. The loss of a child is devastating but the loss of a child without knowing the why or the wherefore must be a pain that is worse than any other.In this story we learn that the Mack family has lost their daughter, Ellie, ten years ago. She was there one day a bright lovely fifteen year old with everything going for her and then she was gone without a trace. The family falls apart, divorce, separation from feelings, the drifting away from family that often accompanies a loss such as this. Who do we blame, how can this be, and where is our daughter, our sister, our shining star?Laurel meets a man in a coffee shop and seems to connect with him. They date, he brings her eventually to his home where Laurel meets his young daughter, Poppy. Strange as it may seem Poppy resembles Ellie. Is this a figment of Laurel's mind or is there some something that lurks in the back of Laurel's mind, some itch that she feels something is just not right, things are uneven.The story continues and as events are revealed we find that Laurel's initial feelings hold a secret that has been buried for quite some time. Will this secret bring Ellie back? While I did like the story and it held my interest throughout, I did feel that there was quite a large element of predictability to the tale. However, what must be said about how a family often falls apart after this type of disaster is ever so relevant and important. There is no greater sorrow in parents' lives than to lose their child.
    more
Write a review