The Room on Rue Amélie
For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family—by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again—tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can’t imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he’s really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting—and an unexpected road home.When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis—and to open their own broken hearts—as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned.

The Room on Rue Amélie Details

TitleThe Room on Rue Amélie
Author
ReleaseMar 27th, 2018
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781501171406
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, War, World War II, Fiction, Adult Fiction

The Room on Rue Amélie Review

  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    Cliches abound: “You must forgive yourself. Knowledge is power. It’s a mother’s job to protect her child. It’s what’s inside a person that counts. Better safe than sorry. I still believe in the goodness of mankind. What matters is what’s in your heart. Your life depends on it”. At one point. I wanted to place the back of my hand to my forehead with a dramatic sigh.To be fair, this was my fault. I went into this thinking that it would be similar to The Nightingale. Given what I do for a living, I Cliches abound: “You must forgive yourself. Knowledge is power. It’s a mother’s job to protect her child. It’s what’s inside a person that counts. Better safe than sorry. I still believe in the goodness of mankind. What matters is what’s in your heart. Your life depends on it”. At one point. I wanted to place the back of my hand to my forehead with a dramatic sigh.To be fair, this was my fault. I went into this thinking that it would be similar to The Nightingale. Given what I do for a living, I should have known better. This is a straightforward romance and not up my street in the least. I awarded four stars because it succeeds within this genre and romance readers will positively swoon.
    more
  • Brandi Hodges
    January 1, 1970
    This book broke my heart into little, tiny pieces. That being said, "The Room on Rue Amélie" is one of the best books I have read this year. You know you have found something special when you find an author who can make you cry and yearn to continue reading within a few short paragraphs. When I read my first book by author Kristin Harmel a few years ago, my heart was broken and put back together so many times I lost count - and that was in one book! The characters and the worlds built by Harmel This book broke my heart into little, tiny pieces. That being said, "The Room on Rue Amélie" is one of the best books I have read this year. You know you have found something special when you find an author who can make you cry and yearn to continue reading within a few short paragraphs. When I read my first book by author Kristin Harmel a few years ago, my heart was broken and put back together so many times I lost count - and that was in one book! The characters and the worlds built by Harmel are transporting. And really, that’s what I look for in a book. I want to be sitting in one spot reading while being taken elsewhere, living lives alongside the beautifully real people I meet through Harmel’s words. In her latest book, "The Room on Rue Amélie" which will be published in March of 2018, We meet a couple in 2002. A pair who have been married for five decades of love, laughter and family. Now, it seems, the failing health of one half of this couple is looming to separate them forever. A literary device that Harmel has used in her books that I really enjoy are flashbacks. In this book, readers travel from 2002 to the late 1930’s where the book moves forward in time. Throughout the book you don’t know who the man and woman we meet in the first chapter grow up to be. As you read, you “meet” the other characters of the story. I grew to love each and every one of them and, as I read, hoped they would survive.Young college student Ruby Henderson is living in New York City in 1938. She has moved from her childhood home in California to broaden her horizons. A whirlwind relationship with a frenchman named Marcel Benoit finds her married and living in Paris by the next year. Europe is on the cusp of World War II, and in the beginning, that does not bother Marcel. He believes France will hold strong against Germany - a belief that later proves false.Ten year old Charlotte Dacher and her family live in the same apartment building as the Benoit’s. Young Charlotte is teased and mocked by classmates because her family is Jewish. On a cold December night, she meets Ruby who is standing on the neighboring terrace. Thomas Clarke is a member of the Royal Air Force. He is ready to take to the skies and into the war. As the war rages on, Ruby stays in Paris, much to the chagrin of her husband who all but ordered her to leave for her safety. Ruby, in her words, is stubborn. She refuses to leave her home or her husband. Also, still in Paris, is the Dacher family. As the year progresses and war and fear is all around, Ruby and Charlotte become closer. Ruby becomes pregnant and loses her baby all while her husband is sneaking around and keeping secrets.After finding an injured allied soldier in her hallway, and helping hide him while he recovers, Ruby discovers that her husband has been helping downed soldiers escape Paris and find their way back home and back into the battle. Marcel is found out and executed and his wife takes his place in the escape line. Countless soldiers and pilots come and go but one sticks with her heart long after he is back in the skies. As the Germans crack down on Jewish families, Charlotte is taken in by Ruby just before they are taken by the Germans. Doing her part to help, Charlotte meets a young forger -Lucien - who teaches her his trade and offers her his friendship and affection at a time when she needs it the most. This is a story of heartbreak and survival, of rebirth and resolve. Who is this couple we met at the beginning of the story? One thing I both love and greatly mourn is that Harmel's characters do not all survived. They do not all have happy endings. Life does not have happy endings all the time either. I feel like I learn more about myself when I read Harmel's stories. I can ask myself if I would ever be brave enough to do the things that these characters do. What I have that kind of strength of character? You can read this book in March of 2018. For anyone who likes history, especially history told from a different point of view than the view you get out of a history book, this is a book for you.
    more
  • Denise
    January 1, 1970
    The Room on Rue Amelie by Kristin Harmel is an historical fiction novel that takes the reader back to WWII. Reading historical fiction novels are my favourite genre and this book reinforces why I love this genre. It s a stunning, inspiring novel about love, loss and the worst and best of humanity.The main characters are well developed, realistic and engaging. As the reader, I was transported back in time and expended their anguish, fear and passion. In the beginning of this brilliant novel, I wo The Room on Rue Amelie by Kristin Harmel is an historical fiction novel that takes the reader back to WWII. Reading historical fiction novels are my favourite genre and this book reinforces why I love this genre. It s a stunning, inspiring novel about love, loss and the worst and best of humanity.The main characters are well developed, realistic and engaging. As the reader, I was transported back in time and expended their anguish, fear and passion. In the beginning of this brilliant novel, I wondered how Charlotte, a young Jewish girl in Paris, Thomas a RAF pilot based in England and Ruby a young American married and living in Paris could meet. Kristin Harmel answered by musings and brilliantly intertwined their lives.In any good book, I feel that the reader must relate to the characters. This was especially true for me! My father was in the RAF in WWII and was shot down over Germany. He was a POW for the last four years of the war. I kept wishing he had met a Ruby. Thank you to NetGalley and Kristin Harmel for the privilege to read this brilliant 5 star novel.
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 1, 1970
    The year is 1939 and Ruby Benoit is an American newlywed who arrives in Paris with her husband, Marcel. Rumors of war abound, but many Parisians think that their army will be able to repel a German attack. However, their hopes are dashed when the Germans invade France. Ruby decides to remain in Paris with her husband whose clandestine activities leave her isolated. She befriends the Jewish Dacher family who live in the apartment next door to Ruby’s. As the Nazis’ hold over Paris tightens, Ruby k The year is 1939 and Ruby Benoit is an American newlywed who arrives in Paris with her husband, Marcel. Rumors of war abound, but many Parisians think that their army will be able to repel a German attack. However, their hopes are dashed when the Germans invade France. Ruby decides to remain in Paris with her husband whose clandestine activities leave her isolated. She befriends the Jewish Dacher family who live in the apartment next door to Ruby’s. As the Nazis’ hold over Paris tightens, Ruby knows that she must fight against the injustices that she sees.Author Kristin Harmel was inspired to write this novel after reading the true story of an American woman who married a Frenchman and moved to Paris just before World War II. The characters in this novel are very likable, and the plot is compelling despite the fact that some parts require a stretch of the imagination. It’s an interesting story that will pull you in and keep you reading in order to discover the fates of the characters. Thank you to author Kristin Harmel, Simon & Schuster, and Net Galley for giving me the opportunity to read the ARC of this historical novel.
    more
  • Katie Kelley
    January 1, 1970
    Heartbreaking. And beautiful. And I can’t believe I binged the entire thing in one night...that’s how good it was. I kept saying, oh I’ll just stop after this chapter. And I didn’t! It was just so GOOD! This is one piece of historical fiction that gets it right. The characters were believable, the settings were magnificent (and horrifyingly real), and the story was incredible. It releases in March 2018...get it. You won’t be sorry. For fans of Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network, this is your next bi Heartbreaking. And beautiful. And I can’t believe I binged the entire thing in one night...that’s how good it was. I kept saying, oh I’ll just stop after this chapter. And I didn’t! It was just so GOOD! This is one piece of historical fiction that gets it right. The characters were believable, the settings were magnificent (and horrifyingly real), and the story was incredible. It releases in March 2018...get it. You won’t be sorry. For fans of Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network, this is your next binge, trust me. HUGE thanks to NetGalley for allowing me a sneak peek in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Paul Pessolano
    January 1, 1970
    “The Room on Rue Amelie” by Kristin Harmel, published by Gallery Books.Category – Fiction/Literature Publication Date – March 27, 2018.Ruby Henderson, an American, moves to Paris with her husband Parisian Marcel Benoit and begins to enjoy the, “City of Lights”. The love affair with Paris ends quickly when the Nazi’s invade Paris. Ruby and Marcel become estranged when Marcel disappears frequently and Ruby feels he may be a Nazi collaborator. Ruby befriends, Charlotte, a Jewish girl who lives next “The Room on Rue Amelie” by Kristin Harmel, published by Gallery Books.Category – Fiction/Literature Publication Date – March 27, 2018.Ruby Henderson, an American, moves to Paris with her husband Parisian Marcel Benoit and begins to enjoy the, “City of Lights”. The love affair with Paris ends quickly when the Nazi’s invade Paris. Ruby and Marcel become estranged when Marcel disappears frequently and Ruby feels he may be a Nazi collaborator. Ruby befriends, Charlotte, a Jewish girl who lives next door and their lives come together as Charlotte’s parents are sent to a concentration camp.Ruby, and later Charlotte, become involved with the French Underground and begins to assist British pilots who have been shot down over Paris. Ruby becomes romantically involved with a pilot but must give him up when he returns to England. Their love for each other is steadfast throughout their separation, but will they be able to last out the war and renew their romance.Although this is classified as Fiction/Literature it comes very close to being a romantic novel set in the era of World War II. The book will definitely be more appealing to those who like romance as to those who like historical novels based in history.
    more
  • Kelly Long
    January 1, 1970
    I read an advance reading copy of this book. This book is so good! It is one of the best historical fiction books I have read. I would recommend it to anyone who likes reading WWII books.
  • Sue
    January 1, 1970
    This is a wonderful new book about the resistance in Paris during World War II. The characters are well written and the story is a real page turner that will keep you reading to find out how it ends.I liked the way the author started the book with an epilogue about a elderly couple in California during current times. The wife is very ill and facing death and the husband is very distraught. As readers, we don't know until the end of the book which of the couples in the story the epilogue was abou This is a wonderful new book about the resistance in Paris during World War II. The characters are well written and the story is a real page turner that will keep you reading to find out how it ends.I liked the way the author started the book with an epilogue about a elderly couple in California during current times. The wife is very ill and facing death and the husband is very distraught. As readers, we don't know until the end of the book which of the couples in the story the epilogue was about.The year is 1939 and Ruby has fallen in love with a Frenchman and moved to Paris despite her parent's warning that the political climate could be dangerous. She is in love and it's Paris and what could possibly go wrong with her life? In 1940, Paris fell to the Nazis and her life and her marriage began to fall apart. During this time, she became friends with a young Jewish girl in the next apartment whose father felt that he had nothing to worry about with the Nazis because he was a a vital member of the economy. Add to the story, an RAF pilot who got shot down and needs to get back to England and you have a story of intrigue as everyone tries to help him without getting caught by the Nazis - which would mean certain death.This book is about two brave strong women who stood up against the evil of the Nazi regime in Paris to save their friends and their city. Readers will want to add this to their bookshelves with other recent books like The Nightengale and The Lilac Girls.Thanks to the publisher for a copy of this book to read and review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Rachelle
    January 1, 1970
    I fell in love with the prologue of this book because it was so beautifully written and heart wrenching. I hoped the rest of the book was like that, but it fell sort of flat. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters, and they all seemed to have swallowed a book of clichés that were thrown about like ordinary conversation and lost all meaning. The plot was fairly predictable, too. I’m not a huge fan of romance stories or WWII stories to begin with (which makes you wonder why I was readi I fell in love with the prologue of this book because it was so beautifully written and heart wrenching. I hoped the rest of the book was like that, but it fell sort of flat. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters, and they all seemed to have swallowed a book of clichés that were thrown about like ordinary conversation and lost all meaning. The plot was fairly predictable, too. I’m not a huge fan of romance stories or WWII stories to begin with (which makes you wonder why I was reading this, but again, the prologue was beautiful), so the fact that this was mainly a romance with a bit of WWII thrown in wasn’t exactly my cup of tea. It was likened to The Nightingale, which I actually enjoyed quite a bit, and while there were similar elements in here, it didn’t have the same emotional punch.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    This Advance Reader Copy of the book is courtesy of NetGalley and the book's publishers. I am not receiving any financial or additional benefit for posting this review other than the opportunity to read this book before it's released publically. tl;dr Review:Beautifully written and better than expected!Full Review:So if you couldn't already tell from some of the other books I've reviewed, I'm a fan of historical fiction. I am also a sucker for strong book covers, so choosing to read The Room on This Advance Reader Copy of the book is courtesy of NetGalley and the book's publishers. I am not receiving any financial or additional benefit for posting this review other than the opportunity to read this book before it's released publically. tl;dr Review:Beautifully written and better than expected!Full Review:So if you couldn't already tell from some of the other books I've reviewed, I'm a fan of historical fiction. I am also a sucker for strong book covers, so choosing to read The Room on Rue Amélie by Kristin Harmel was a no-brainer.The problem with some historical fiction though is that authors can get wrapped up in too much history or too much fake drama, and the story becomes long-winded or ridiculous or overbearing.Thankfully, The Room on Rue Amélie is none of those things! The author deftly wove together three main characters stories in a way few authors can do.Usually, when I encounter a book that switches between different narrators, it can get confusing (see: Crazy Rich Asians). I end up having to refer back to other chapters to try and understand what's going on.That's not the case here, and I am so happy for that. Each of the narrators is easy to follow, but the stories are also easily intertwined and you gain understanding from all aspects.Not only that, but author Kristin Harmel also manages to make you feel like you really are in Paris in the 1940s. Having only been to Paris once (and honestly, was not that big of a fan), this book helped to soften my dislike for the city.This book was so well written that the ending almost brought me to tears. And it takes a LOT for me to get emotional. I read about 2 - 4 books a week (depending on the week and the length), and there have only been two books in my entire life that have made me cry. So to get me to the point where I was almost in tears takes a truly well-written story.I leave you with one of my favorite quotes from the book that is especially applicable to the start of a new year:"You see, when you look back on things later in life, it's sometimes easier to see the purpose. So perhaps, for now, it's best to try your hardest to focus on what lies ahead. The future is still something that can be changed. . ."I give this book 5 out of 5 thumbs up and I can't wait to see what this author writes next!
    more
  • Karen Trosterud
    January 1, 1970
    This was an amazing book!! I could not put it down.. read it, you won’t be sorry
  • Toni Osborne
    January 1, 1970
    This is a touching story about the struggle to find normalcy during the horrors of WW11. Based on true events the tale is said from three voices in a very emotional tone. It is mainly about three lives that became interconnected by the War and the friendships that came out of it.First we are introduced to Ruby Henderson who is swept off her feet by handsome Frenchman and relocated to Paris, till one day the war changed everything. The second narrator is 11 year old Charlotte Dacher, Ruby’s young This is a touching story about the struggle to find normalcy during the horrors of WW11. Based on true events the tale is said from three voices in a very emotional tone. It is mainly about three lives that became interconnected by the War and the friendships that came out of it.First we are introduced to Ruby Henderson who is swept off her feet by handsome Frenchman and relocated to Paris, till one day the war changed everything. The second narrator is 11 year old Charlotte Dacher, Ruby’s young Jewish neighbor. The war literary ripped apart her world. The third narrative comes from an attractive RAF pilot Thomas Clarke who after being shot down over the sky of France came knocking on Ruby’s door. Fate brought these three together as they fought against the Nazis….Bring out your box of tissues this story is a tear jerker. It is quite easy to imagine oneself in the shoes of one of the characters. The story is filled with details and heart-wrenching emotion. The words are said with love, selflessness and mainly courage. This story is an absorbing tale of people willing to risk everything for freedom and of the wonderful people that would do anything to help. Even during hard times there is still good in humankind. It is quite easy to be drawn by the characters and what happens to them ……you may have to dip into your tissue box on many occasions……..Well-written, excellent characterization and a unforgettable storyline. I received this ARC from Simon & Schuster Canada via NetGalleys for my honest thoughts
    more
  • Jeanne
    January 1, 1970
    When I set aside all chores during the holiday season to read a book in 1 day, it must be good. The narrator of the book takes the reader back in time to Europe during WW2. It is a story about 3 individuals, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas, from 3 countries whose lives merge in Paris during the occupation. Ruby is a California native whose marries Marcel Benoit, a French citizen, and goes to Paris to live and work in his family’s art gallery. As war looms, the newlywed couple enjoys mingling with th When I set aside all chores during the holiday season to read a book in 1 day, it must be good. The narrator of the book takes the reader back in time to Europe during WW2. It is a story about 3 individuals, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas, from 3 countries whose lives merge in Paris during the occupation. Ruby is a California native whose marries Marcel Benoit, a French citizen, and goes to Paris to live and work in his family’s art gallery. As war looms, the newlywed couple enjoys mingling with the wealthy and influential families in their district. In the adjoining apartment lives a Jewish family, the Dachers, and their 10 year old daughter Charlotte. While the parents are descendants of Polish Jews, they are French citizens and run an influential business. Charlotte is a native Parisien who knows nothing about the prejudices of the enemy and of other French citizens. As the German forces advance, denial leads to a realization of the implications and horrors that will come with the occupation. Ruby's decides to stay in Paris with her husband and resist the occupation. The Dacher’s become targets and ask Ruby to protect their child should anything happen to them. Thomas is a British RAF pilot whose plane is shot down on the outskirts of Paris. Having heard of a secret pipeline that helps downed aviators return to their homeland, he makes his way to Paris. This is when three very different lives intersect and affect what is to come for many years. This book has been compared to the excellent novels “The Nightingale by Kristen Hannah and “The Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly. While there are similarities such as the role of the French Resistance and the “work camps”, this book and its characters are unique and complex. The author’s historical research brings to life the subtle, eroding infringement on the freedom and rights of the citizens, and of the growing silent movement of the Resistance. In any book that involves the horrors of war, the reader knows that many characters they meet may not “live happily ever after.” There is heartbreak. Yet the common threads that the author weaves through the book are of faith, hope, love and courage. It is a book that reminds us that we should not take life for granted and to stand up for what is right and humane. I am thankful to have won this book as a Goodreads Giveaway.
    more
  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    I'm a fan of Kristin Harmel's novels. Every time I pick one up, I know I'll be getting a good story, and The Room on Rue Amélie is no exception. Like with The Sweetness of Forgetting, she set her story in France during World War II. However, this story had a different feel from Sweetness, and reminded me a bit of Kristin Hannah's novel, The Nightingale. Even so, this novel was full of interesting twists and surprises. Kristin kept me guessing the entire time, while also captivating me with her b I'm a fan of Kristin Harmel's novels. Every time I pick one up, I know I'll be getting a good story, and The Room on Rue Amélie is no exception. Like with The Sweetness of Forgetting, she set her story in France during World War II. However, this story had a different feel from Sweetness, and reminded me a bit of Kristin Hannah's novel, The Nightingale. Even so, this novel was full of interesting twists and surprises. Kristin kept me guessing the entire time, while also captivating me with her beautiful writing and a mesmerizing love story. I really liked all three of the main characters: Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas. They carried a lot of pain, but they also grew in many ways throughout the novel. I enjoyed getting to know them and cared a lot about them by the end of the story. I don't like some of the things that happened to them at certain points though. Everything was easy to visualize, even though I've never been to France before.I highly recommend The Room and can't stop thinking about it. It will be published in late March, so save a space at the top of your TBR pile!Dream movie cast:Ruby: Christa B. AllenCharlotte: Izabela VidovicThomas: William MoseleyMarcel: Finn WittrockLucien: Aramis KnightLaure: Léa Seydoux
    more
  • Emely
    January 1, 1970
    "As long as you have Nadia, you have hope." -This is my favorite quote from "The Room in Rue Amelie"; it's the quote which, for me, is the very core of this masterfully written book by Kristin Harmel.A friend of mine recommended this book to me even though she knew that I'm not much into the genre of WWII novel-wise. I thought 'Why not? Can't hurt to at least flip through the first few chapters'. In general, for most books, I feel you have to read into 20 something pages to get an idea of what t "As long as you have Nadia, you have hope." -This is my favorite quote from "The Room in Rue Amelie"; it's the quote which, for me, is the very core of this masterfully written book by Kristin Harmel.A friend of mine recommended this book to me even though she knew that I'm not much into the genre of WWII novel-wise. I thought 'Why not? Can't hurt to at least flip through the first few chapters'. In general, for most books, I feel you have to read into 20 something pages to get an idea of what the story might be made of and what color of story you are stepping in. Not so with this one! After only 4 pages, the first chapter, I not only felt like I was standing there right next to the two people but I had a lump in my throat, tears rolling down my cheeks. Just then I knew that this book will get to me, that it will be an emotional roller coaster. And it was. Every chapter, every page. To the very end. Kristin Harmel has crafted an incredible multi-dimensional story which will stay with you for a long time after. I'm so grateful to my friend for literally pushing me onto this one but also very glad to have given it a chance. I definitely would have missed out on an incredibly beautifully written story about people who lived through the dark days of a war that claimed Millions of innocent lives.There are books that are exciting and fun to read. Then there are books which you can't put away, the page turners, the "just one more chapter" books. And there are books which shake you to the core, the once that grab you by your heart, the ones you have to lay down for a moment to let sink in what you just experienced even though you feel the need to read on, the once that stay with you for a long time. "The Room on Rue Amelie" is all of the above and then some."The Room on Rue Amelie" is not only a story about love, heartbreak, happiness and loss, it's a story which cuts to the heart of struggle, danger, compassion, conviction, honor, morals and human values. And love. When I finished the last page I felt as if I had just read a story about people I once knew. I cheered them on, I wanted them to succeed, I was angry at some, relieved about others. I suffered and loved and wept with them, every step of the way.On the "technical" side of my review: All characters were well fleshed out, very much relatable, not too many to keep track off, not too few to run the risk of a homogeneous feel. No plot holes, and the story advances with such a smooth and well orchestrated rhythm that it resembles a long forgotten song of sorrow and hope. There was one thing which I'd like point to out that made it sometimes difficult for me personally to keep up with my reading speed. I don't know if anyone else had this "problem" but for me the names "Ruby" and "Charlotte", especially when these two woman were in one scene together, often made me stop in my track because I had to consciously recall who is the older and who is the younger one. I assume that this feeling might be because of my own personal life experience. To me, "Ruby" always read as the younger of the two, as a name of a child, probably because of the letter "y". The name "Charlotte", on the other hand, I somehow associate with a grown woman. We all know that the choice of characters' names is very important and sometimes it can make or break a story, but in this case the writer's excellent writing skills made up for it. In the end I decided not to deduct a star from the rating because I'm thinking this "blemish" is is more a question of my own personal preference than a universal observation.Bottom line (and I'll make it short): Read this book! You won't regret it!
    more
  • Pam
    January 1, 1970
    I don't know where to start with this review! Even though this is another WWII story, it was absolutely fantastic. The characters were so believable and well developed. I was completely immersed in this story. I loved who I was supposed to love and I hated who I was supposed to hate! I can't stop using exclamation points!!!!!!!!! Get this book on your pre-order list immediately! Run do not walk to your favorite book seller and make sure that you purchase this book! This book was wonderful! My th I don't know where to start with this review! Even though this is another WWII story, it was absolutely fantastic. The characters were so believable and well developed. I was completely immersed in this story. I loved who I was supposed to love and I hated who I was supposed to hate! I can't stop using exclamation points!!!!!!!!! Get this book on your pre-order list immediately! Run do not walk to your favorite book seller and make sure that you purchase this book! This book was wonderful! My thanks to Netgalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket BooksGallery Books for this advanced readers copy.
    more
  • Chrissy
    January 1, 1970
    http://rpmbt-blog.com/rpmbt/review-th...The Room on Rue Amélie is a book completely out of the genre’s I would normally read, but something I am extremely happy I was able to get my hands on. This book is about bravery, strength, and beating the odds in a time where so many gave up, and my heart broke for these characters, and I found myself fearing for my life with these characters, bonding with these characters, and crying with these characters.When this book first starts, it’s before World Wa http://rpmbt-blog.com/rpmbt/review-th...The Room on Rue Amélie is a book completely out of the genre’s I would normally read, but something I am extremely happy I was able to get my hands on. This book is about bravery, strength, and beating the odds in a time where so many gave up, and my heart broke for these characters, and I found myself fearing for my life with these characters, bonding with these characters, and crying with these characters.When this book first starts, it’s before World War 2 has started, and Ruby is still in New York and has just met Marcel, she’s fallen in love and has agreed to be his wife and move to Paris, against the protests of her parents and the unrest in Europe. Once she’s in Paris and has fallen in love with the city, rumors of unrest and has started and the war has begun. She’s befriended her young neighbor Charlotte, and has seen her husband pulling away from her now that Paris is starting to be overtaken by Nazi’s. She refuses to go back to America as she’s made up her mind to stay with her husband, but she feels so hopeless with everything that is going on.As the story continues we see Ruby’s struggles, as well as Charlotte’s being a part of a Jewish family in the middle of a city that is overrun by Germans who hate who she is. Seeing the things Charlotte and her parents go through will make anyone who reads this book have their heart broken, but I loved how Ruby tried to make her see past the evil that was surrounding them and see that things would get better. When tragedy strikes, and Ruby takes over helping pilots, she meets a RAF pilot Thomas, and even though their time together was short, there was a connection there that was in-explainable. Throughout the year after Thomas was gone Ruby continued to think of him as Charlotte and Ruby continued to be in danger and never once did she forget about him as their lives continued to get worse. Seeing how strong Ruby and Charlotte were in the face of adversity made me proud to know that there were people during this time that did the things that they did (if you read the author’s note at the end of the book you’ll see that Ruby was based off of a real person during the war).When Thomas appears back in Ruby’s life, I really was like YES, but I knew things were going be much worse since now the city was overrun and the things were much more dire now in Paris. Through all of it Ruby and Charlotte stood out and made sure they did their part in helping, as small as their part was, in trying to help the Allie’s win the war. Everything goes from bad to worse, and this book tells the story of four amazing characters facing adversity, war, tragedy, and also falling in love and finding hope when everything around them is going to hell.This book is definitely heartbreaking, but also gives you hope that there is good in humankind. It’s definitely not one that I would have thought I would have enjoyed since it’s out of my normal reading genre’s but once I picked it up, I found myself drawn to these characters, the writing, and the story. I felt empowered by the story and as much as I hated what was going on and what happened to these characters, I loved how they dealt with the circumstances that where thrown their way. Ruby and Charlotte are definitely some of the strongest female characters I have ever read, and I definitely fell in love with them.I can’t recommend The Room on Rue Amélie enough. Definitely pre-order your copy of this book today, so when it releases in March you have it on your e-reader!I have received this book as a member of the XOXperts, XOXO After Dark’s official street team, in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    January 1, 1970
    Amazing, emotional, heartbreaking, and inspiring. Great for fans of The Nightingale.
  • Lynn
    January 1, 1970
    An American woman meets, falls in love with, and marries a French man just prior to the outbreak of WWII. They move to France, convinced that the Germans will be content with the annexation of the Sudetenland. As war gets closer, Ruby's husband joins the resistance and is ultimately killed. Ruby befriends a young Jewish girl in the neighboring apartment, and every time there are footsteps on the stairs, is frightened for Charlotte and her family.This story of Ruby and Charlotte is truly remarkab An American woman meets, falls in love with, and marries a French man just prior to the outbreak of WWII. They move to France, convinced that the Germans will be content with the annexation of the Sudetenland. As war gets closer, Ruby's husband joins the resistance and is ultimately killed. Ruby befriends a young Jewish girl in the neighboring apartment, and every time there are footsteps on the stairs, is frightened for Charlotte and her family.This story of Ruby and Charlotte is truly remarkable. The ending will not fail to bring a tear.I saw hints of Kristin Hannah's "The Nightingale" and Tatiana de Rosnay's "Sarah's Key", both of which I thoroughly enjoyed.I read this EARC courtesy of Gallery Books and Edelweiss. pub date 03/27/18
    more
  • Sarah Beth
    January 1, 1970
    I received an advance uncorrected proof copy of this novel from a Goodreads giveaway. American Ruby Henderson Benoit imagines a dreamy life as a newlywed in Paris when she arrives with her French husband Marcel in 1939, but as the war continues to encroach on Paris, her marriage also begins to fall apart. Ruby befriends a young Jewish schoolgirl, Charlotte, who lives with her parents in the apartment next door. When the war throws Ruby and Charlotte together, they must fight to survive while als I received an advance uncorrected proof copy of this novel from a Goodreads giveaway. American Ruby Henderson Benoit imagines a dreamy life as a newlywed in Paris when she arrives with her French husband Marcel in 1939, but as the war continues to encroach on Paris, her marriage also begins to fall apart. Ruby befriends a young Jewish schoolgirl, Charlotte, who lives with her parents in the apartment next door. When the war throws Ruby and Charlotte together, they must fight to survive while also finding the courage to secretly defy the Nazis. I loved that this novel was based on a true story and I found Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas very likeable characters. This was a fast and entertaining read. However, I did find that many of the characters were thinly fleshed out. Ruby's romance with her husband Marcel takes place on a couple of pages. Little is really known about him or indeed about Ruby's parents and childhood. They simply function as a means to locate Ruby as a character in Paris. Ruby and Charlotte are not too terribly well defined, other than being courageous and fighting to survive while also falling in love. Other details required some suspension of disbelief, most notably the question of Ruby's finances. No mention is made of her income or how she affords her apartment or anything else both before or after Marcel's death. Despite the gaps in this novel, I was rooting for Ruby, Charlotte, and their respective love interests until the heartbreaking conclusion. An entertaining enough read, but one that lacked substantial depth, characterization, or historical detail.
    more
  • Jess Clayton
    January 1, 1970
    Fans of historical fiction, rejoice! We have a new book to get excited about. Kristin Harmel has crafted a love story everyone will be talking about. The Room on Rue Amelie is set in Paris during WWII and tells the story of an American woman, her Jewish neighbors, and a British pilot meeting under unfortunate circumstances. If it sounds similar to The Nightingale, it is, but only in that there is a network of resistance fighters helping downed pilots escape occupied France. This book affected me Fans of historical fiction, rejoice! We have a new book to get excited about. Kristin Harmel has crafted a love story everyone will be talking about. The Room on Rue Amelie is set in Paris during WWII and tells the story of an American woman, her Jewish neighbors, and a British pilot meeting under unfortunate circumstances. If it sounds similar to The Nightingale, it is, but only in that there is a network of resistance fighters helping downed pilots escape occupied France. This book affected me differently than most historical fiction dealing with the tragedy of WWII. I never got the sense that the war was going to be the end of the story. I guess you could compare it to sitting with a beloved grandparent, listening to them tell their life story. There may have been terrible setbacks during their lives, but you know how the story ends. They overcome. Remember how much everyone loved The Notebook? It wrecked us but we knew they persevered because it starts with Jack telling the story; we see them as old people near the end of their lives. You will get the same feeling with this story. It is a total coincidence that I read this beautiful new book right after finishing The Alice Network. Both books are set in Paris during a war, both involve characters taking part in some sort of resistance network. Both involve a love story. The plots are different but both are incredibly memorable. Be sure to pick it up when it releases on March 27, 2018!Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an advance copy in exchange for a review.
    more
  • Adrisblog ✨
    January 1, 1970
    I honestly don’t know what to say, I just loved this heartbreaking book so much!! It is not only a romantic novel, but also a survival story that takes you back to the WWII. Ruby is an American woman who falls in love with, and marries a Frenchman in US. They decide to move to Paris. As the war is coming, she refuses to go back to the states. She decides to stay by her husband’s side. In the neighbourhood, Ruby meets a wonderful Jewish girl named Charlotte, and they become very good friends even I honestly don’t know what to say, I just loved this heartbreaking book so much!! It is not only a romantic novel, but also a survival story that takes you back to the WWII. Ruby is an American woman who falls in love with, and marries a Frenchman in US. They decide to move to Paris. As the war is coming, she refuses to go back to the states. She decides to stay by her husband’s side. In the neighbourhood, Ruby meets a wonderful Jewish girl named Charlotte, and they become very good friends even though she is only 11 years old. Thomas is a RAF pilot, whom Ruby meets during the war because of her amazing strong “job” to help save people. Charlotte decides to help Ruby with her job, and she meets, falls in love with a boy named Lucien. I don’t want to spoil this book, it comes out on March 27, 2018. Read it, you won’t regret it <3 Highly recommended for those who believe in hope, dreams, and love.. <3!
    more
  • •Catherine•
    January 1, 1970
    Room on Rue Amelie is one of Harmel’s best books to date. It’s a stunning piece about love, loss, and the depths of humanity. I really enjoy books that tell stories through flashbacks so immediately I knew this book would be for me. Honestly though, I have never read a Kristin Harmel that I didn’t like. This novel was a pleasure to read (although I use that term loosely because its not necessarily a happily ever after novel) and will surely be a favorite of anyone who enjoyed Harmel’s own novel Room on Rue Amelie is one of Harmel’s best books to date. It’s a stunning piece about love, loss, and the depths of humanity. I really enjoy books that tell stories through flashbacks so immediately I knew this book would be for me. Honestly though, I have never read a Kristin Harmel that I didn’t like. This novel was a pleasure to read (although I use that term loosely because its not necessarily a happily ever after novel) and will surely be a favorite of anyone who enjoyed Harmel’s own novel ‘The Sweetness of Forgetting’ and Kristin Hannah’s novel ‘The Nightingale’. It broke my heart into a million little pieces but it is well worth the journey.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    I was curious about this novel because it had been compared to Kristin Hannah's "The Nightingale" and Kate Quinn's "The Alice Network". Both of which, I loved! After reading just the first couple chapters, you can tell the author was a fan of those works as well. The plot was almost exactly a mash up of those two stories. While not altogether unenjoyable, the story was kind of formulaic. If you had read either of the two previously mention works, you kind of knew where this was going. I felt li I was curious about this novel because it had been compared to Kristin Hannah's "The Nightingale" and Kate Quinn's "The Alice Network". Both of which, I loved! After reading just the first couple chapters, you can tell the author was a fan of those works as well. The plot was almost exactly a mash up of those two stories. While not altogether unenjoyable, the story was kind of formulaic. If you had read either of the two previously mention works, you kind of knew where this was going. I felt like this was an unoriginal copy cat. Thank you to Netgalley for providing an ARC for review.
    more
  • Ari
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for a review. I wanted to like this book, especially since it was compared to several other books I loved. But it fell a little flat. I earned to love the characters but I felt like I didn’t really know them very well, it felt very rushed. The ending seems unnecessarily dramatic, and rather irritating. Otherwise, I’m always interested by books set during WW2, especially when focused on how people fought to help people in less traditional ways. 3.5 sta I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for a review. I wanted to like this book, especially since it was compared to several other books I loved. But it fell a little flat. I earned to love the characters but I felt like I didn’t really know them very well, it felt very rushed. The ending seems unnecessarily dramatic, and rather irritating. Otherwise, I’m always interested by books set during WW2, especially when focused on how people fought to help people in less traditional ways. 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Barbara
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars...This novel was based on a true story of a woman from Florida who married a Frenchman in 1937, moved to Paris to live, and ultimately became part of the French Resistant during WWII. The story is very similar to The Nightingale, where a resistance group used the 'Comet escape line' to help Allied soldiers and airmen return to Britain, as well as the novels, The Lilac Girls and The Alice Network.The author does not follow the true story of Virginia d'Albert-Lake, but uses many facts of 3.5 stars...This novel was based on a true story of a woman from Florida who married a Frenchman in 1937, moved to Paris to live, and ultimately became part of the French Resistant during WWII. The story is very similar to The Nightingale, where a resistance group used the 'Comet escape line' to help Allied soldiers and airmen return to Britain, as well as the novels, The Lilac Girls and The Alice Network.The author does not follow the true story of Virginia d'Albert-Lake, but uses many facts of this heroine to tell her story. Ruby Benoit chooses to stay in Paris and remain as her husband's side as Germany invades Paris, thinking she will be safe. Her life intersects with her young neighbor, Charlotte, whose parents are part of the Vel d'Hiv Roundup. Their lives take a dangerous turn when they become part of the resistance. The third main character is Thomas Clarke, a British RAF pilot who is saved by the resistance and falls in love with Ruby.I thought a good part of the book was predictable, based on other books I have read on this subject. As in any book set in war times, there is always death, sadness, and injustice. This was a quick read, with a strong romantic component as well as historical, which I could have done without. At times I felt the relationship between Ruby and Thomas was overly dramatic and drawn out. Ruby and Charlotte are strong characters during intense times and the author does a good job allowing her readers to know them personally. This book has not yet come out in hardcover, but a friend won this on Goodreads, then passed along to me. Thanks, Jeanne!
    more
  • Olya
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC of this book through NetGalley-thank you!I read a lot of World War II historical fiction-at least several books a year. This is my first one for 2018. This one was very good, but it does not make my list of favorites. The pace was good, and I read it quickly, but even though it was heartbreaking, I felt like I was missing out on some of the emotion that could have been there. I did like all the characters and would still recommend it to those who like WWII historical fiction.
    more
  • Matthew
    January 1, 1970
    WOW! What a great book. It opens telling you of a love that is SOOO powerful {it makes me glad that I am with my wife because we have that love}. This is NOT a "Romance Novel" it is a novel that has romance in it, and war, and heroes, and normal every-day people with GREAT courage. Ihated to put it down every time I had to go bact to work [I read on my breaks and before my shift starts]. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time!
    more
  • Sara Fuller
    January 1, 1970
    I can say with full confidence that this is one of the best stories I have ever read. I went through a full palette of emotions from beginning to end while being reminded on every page of how much good exists amongst evil in this world. By the end, my heart was actually pounding in anticipation. The Room on Rue Amelie has nestled its way into my heart and I have a feeling it will stay for a long, long time.
    more
  • Rachael Burrows
    January 1, 1970
    I am an official reviewer for NetGalley..and had the great privilege to read this book.From the very first page, this book drew me in. WWII is a fascinating time period for me and this book set the stage well. Paris is also at the top of my bucket list and Kristen Harmel allowed me to see it through Ruby’s eyes. Ruby is an American woman who decides to stay in Paris during the war years, risking her life to save others. This book has lots of twists and turns and is well written. I can picture my I am an official reviewer for NetGalley..and had the great privilege to read this book.From the very first page, this book drew me in. WWII is a fascinating time period for me and this book set the stage well. Paris is also at the top of my bucket list and Kristen Harmel allowed me to see it through Ruby’s eyes. Ruby is an American woman who decides to stay in Paris during the war years, risking her life to save others. This book has lots of twists and turns and is well written. I can picture myself in Paris in WWII...I often ask what I think I would have done had I been raised during this time period. I hope that I would be just like Ruby and risk my life to help others.
    more
Write a review