Burning to Ride (Raising Hellfire MC, #1)
Welcome to the gritty biker world of the Raising Hellfire MC series where these L.A. bikers drink hard, drive fast, and dig deep for love."De Winton brings the sass and the smexy as Cole and Briony burn up the sheets in this must read biker romance." — USA Today bestselling author Amy AndrewsThis sexy 2-in-1 set features Burned by Lust and Burned by Blackmail – previously released as individual titles.In Burned by Lust, Biker, Hard Corban, is set to take over the Raising Hellfire MC and doesn’t have love on his agenda. But Lee Delevinge, a raven-haired burlesque dancer running from her past, is set on burning up his heart. When their fling takes a serious turn, could they have the relationship they both crave?In Burned by Blackmail, Briony Wilde is desperate to save her biker bar from a millionaire developer. When Cole Knight walks into her bar, all green eyes and sharp suit, she allows herself a little distraction, only to find he’s behind the development that threatens everything she holds dear. Solution? Blackmail him into an engagement. Obviously. After such a shaky start, could their relationship have any chance of changing from a forced arrangement to something real?

Burning to Ride (Raising Hellfire MC, #1) Details

TitleBurning to Ride (Raising Hellfire MC, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherSwerve
Number of pages300 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Burning to Ride (Raising Hellfire MC, #1) Review

  • Maria11
    July 3, 2017
    Ok maybe one star...I have read a great deal of MC stories this summer and I have to say this is the worst one I have read.Gang...ok all the MC stories state they are a club not a gang the author calls them a gang throughout.The girl in the first book...wow just plain yuk. I am all for a girl that wants sex and is ok with getting it. But she is just plain trash. There is no development of her character we hear about her past. It the summary states it could come back to her...not. There was hardl Ok maybe one star...I have read a great deal of MC stories this summer and I have to say this is the worst one I have read.Gang...ok all the MC stories state they are a club not a gang the author calls them a gang throughout.The girl in the first book...wow just plain yuk. I am all for a girl that wants sex and is ok with getting it. But she is just plain trash. There is no development of her character we hear about her past. It the summary states it could come back to her...not. There was hardly anything about Hade or the club.The second book was ok. Still just nothing to go with and kinda unrealistic. Just doesn't have it.I received an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley. They can have it back.
    more
  • Susan (susayq ~)
    July 11, 2017
    3.5 starsThis was two books in one edition...Burned by Lust and Burned by Blackmail. Lee and Hade were the couple in Burned by Lust and Briony and Cole were in Burned by Blackmail. I'll just be honest and say that Cole and Briony saved this for me. I did not like Lee at all and had that been the whole book I'd have been ticked. I did not connect with her at all. Hade? I liked him. He realized he wanted more than to lead the Hell's Boys and he felt like he could get that with Lee. Good for him ca 3.5 starsThis was two books in one edition...Burned by Lust and Burned by Blackmail. Lee and Hade were the couple in Burned by Lust and Briony and Cole were in Burned by Blackmail. I'll just be honest and say that Cole and Briony saved this for me. I did not like Lee at all and had that been the whole book I'd have been ticked. I did not connect with her at all. Hade? I liked him. He realized he wanted more than to lead the Hell's Boys and he felt like he could get that with Lee. Good for him cause I wouldn't have let him be with her if I was in charge LOL Now Cole and Briony? LOVED THEM! Theirs was a fake to real story, and you all know how much I adore those. They had such chemistry and there was this tension due to the blackmail going on. Loved it!So, will I read the next book in the series? Sure, I'll give it a try and see how I like it :) I've already got it downloaded, so be on the lookout for my thoughts on it soon!*thanks to the publisher for sharing this with me*
    more
  • Zili
    July 10, 2017
    Burning to Ride features two stories Burned by Lust (which is more of a novella) and Burned by Blackmail, so I'm going to review them separately.Burned by Lust: In this short story we meet soon-to-be Raising Hellfire MC's leader, Hade, as he's seduced and won over by spitfire Lee. I'm used to biker books where the characters are very clear that they're not in a gang, so the labelling of these bikers as being a gang was a little confusing and I didn't really know what to make of it.I liked Hade a Burning to Ride features two stories Burned by Lust (which is more of a novella) and Burned by Blackmail, so I'm going to review them separately.Burned by Lust: In this short story we meet soon-to-be Raising Hellfire MC's leader, Hade, as he's seduced and won over by spitfire Lee. I'm used to biker books where the characters are very clear that they're not in a gang, so the labelling of these bikers as being a gang was a little confusing and I didn't really know what to make of it.I liked Hade and felt as though his struggle between love and leadership helped enrich his character. I did feel that it was all little rushed, but this is often the case with novellas. I have to admit I didn't really like Lee at all. I'm all for female empowerment and I like a woman who knows what she wants in the bedroom but, and I hate to say it, she doesn't come across as empowered in necessarily the way she'd want. I didn't think Lee was particularly developed as a character - I had such high hopes for her.So overall I'm not the biggest fan of this part.Sorry only 2.5 Stars for this part.Burned by Blackmail: It's not all doom and gloom because I liked Briony's and Cole's story much more.Bri is desperate to save her family bar and hotel, whilst Cole is determined to redevelop the entire area and replace Bri's biker bar with a more upmarket hotel. I enjoyed their flirty banter and chemistry. I even liked Bri's fiery temper. She's definitely quick to anger but is fiercely loyal.Cole is very dedicated and caring. He wants to protect the company name and help the community - he just has to learn to love the bikers...The club members are explored in far great detail than in the previous story, which really helped make the MC more likeable - it was easy to see why Bri was so devoted to them, well mostly.I would have liked to see a little more of Cole and his family but I enjoyed the story.3.5 Stars for this partOverall 3 Stars in my Sky!I received a copy in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Faith89
    July 15, 2017
    copy received through Netgalley for review2 book combo - _ I had a hard time with the female leads in both stories. The MC was a gang of misfits that did not seem to know how a MC was supposed to act.Burning by Lust is the first and a novella. I found it difficult to get into Lee's character. I don't mind a sexy confident leading lady, but she was too over the top for me. She has a past that is hinted at but nothing really comes of it. She ran away from it and it and that is all we know. Hade is copy received through Netgalley for review2 book combo - _ I had a hard time with the female leads in both stories. The MC was a gang of misfits that did not seem to know how a MC was supposed to act.Burning by Lust is the first and a novella. I found it difficult to get into Lee's character. I don't mind a sexy confident leading lady, but she was too over the top for me. She has a past that is hinted at but nothing really comes of it. She ran away from it and it and that is all we know. Hade is learning the ropes of running the gang after his brother is killed. He meets Lee and thy have what the think is a one night stand. The story was too short to develop the characters and a really good story.Burned by Blackmail was a little better. I liked Briony at first but my feelings wavered throughout the story. She started out as a strong individual but seem kind of weak in the big scenes. The situation with Cole was her doing but she blamed him for any ad all issues. She let her gang of misfits sway her into making some off the wall decisions. However, the story was much better and the characters more likable.
    more
  • Cathy Geha
    July 10, 2017
    Burning to Ride by Michel De WinterRaising Hellfire #1Two novella length fantasy erotica MC biker club stories are told in this book. In both books consensual protected sex happens between strangers almost immediately. Insta-lust proceeds through a few plot points, a few bumps are hit in the road to the couples deciding they are in love. This is NOT your typical dark, gritty, violent MC story so if that is what you are looking for then this will not suit your needs. If you are looking for a much Burning to Ride by Michel De WinterRaising Hellfire #1Two novella length fantasy erotica MC biker club stories are told in this book. In both books consensual protected sex happens between strangers almost immediately. Insta-lust proceeds through a few plot points, a few bumps are hit in the road to the couples deciding they are in love. This is NOT your typical dark, gritty, violent MC story so if that is what you are looking for then this will not suit your needs. If you are looking for a much tamer story with people affiliated to an MC club then this might be okay and a beginner step into the MC romance genre…maybe… Thank you to NetGalley and St Martin’s Press for the ARC – This is my honest review. 2-3 Stars
    more
  • Samantha
    July 16, 2017
    I thought this was a biker romance. No. There is little mention of the biker club. There are bikers in this bar spot and that is all. They refer to themselves as a gang not club or anything. No true angst or drama. The heroine in the first book just wants sex. I don’t even know how the hero and her formed a real relationship. This is not my cup of tea. I need my biker romance to be based off the club life with some drama. The hero and heroine have a connection outside of dirty sex. The second st I thought this was a biker romance. No. There is little mention of the biker club. There are bikers in this bar spot and that is all. They refer to themselves as a gang not club or anything. No true angst or drama. The heroine in the first book just wants sex. I don’t even know how the hero and her formed a real relationship. This is not my cup of tea. I need my biker romance to be based off the club life with some drama. The hero and heroine have a connection outside of dirty sex. The second story is the same. Biker bar owner and a corporate dude start a sexual relationship after he wants to take over her business. The plot is so weak and unrealistic. *ARC provided to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    July 8, 2017
    Fun sexy reads but not really for the hard core MC fans. Two good quick reads that are very entertaining. Burned by Lust - Never before has the leader of the Raising Hellfire MC had an old lady. They need to be focused on the club not the woman. Hard Corban is set to take over as the leader club but one woman has definitely grabbed his attention and he's not so sure he wants to let her go.Burned by Blackmail - Briony Walker may be the owner of a biker bar but the slick dressed stranger has defin Fun sexy reads but not really for the hard core MC fans. Two good quick reads that are very entertaining. Burned by Lust - Never before has the leader of the Raising Hellfire MC had an old lady. They need to be focused on the club not the woman. Hard Corban is set to take over as the leader club but one woman has definitely grabbed his attention and he's not so sure he wants to let her go.Burned by Blackmail - Briony Walker may be the owner of a biker bar but the slick dressed stranger has definitely caught her eye. What will happen when she finds out he's behind the company trying to cheat her out of her bar for a new development??I'd recommend these with the caveat that they are fun whimsical stories that just happen to feature bikers.
    more
  • Monique Daoust
    June 13, 2017
    Don’t expect your usual MC stories, because Michele De Winton doesn’t do anything like everybody else, and that’s why she’s one of my favourite authors. Treat yourself to this awesome read!BURNED BY LUST Hade Corban will soon be the head of his motorcycle club, and he needs to rethink how he’ll handle it; they need money. He’s having a drink at the local gang’s bar, and a club mate is getting it on with two women upstairs. He goes up to see what the racket is all about when he notices that his b Don’t expect your usual MC stories, because Michele De Winton doesn’t do anything like everybody else, and that’s why she’s one of my favourite authors. Treat yourself to this awesome read!BURNED BY LUST Hade Corban will soon be the head of his motorcycle club, and he needs to rethink how he’ll handle it; they need money. He’s having a drink at the local gang’s bar, and a club mate is getting it on with two women upstairs. He goes up to see what the racket is all about when he notices that his buddy is out cold, one woman just about, and the other one is in the bed, alone and almost dressed. And she’s Lee Delevinge, and she means business, as long as no one knows where she’s hiding…Michele de Winton does a mean MC book! And lust, sizzling hot!!! I love Lee; she loves sex and is unapologetic about it; no wilting violet here. She’s a great character, with many facets. Hade sounds like a real MC guy, but he wants to clean up their ways of doing things. The club is the only life he has ever known, but he’s a good guy. But oh when these two, Lee and Hade, get together sparks fly higher than you can imagine. I love how Ms. De Winton really captures the MC atmosphere; I felt like I was experiencing vicariously the biker life. There is a lot of hot, sweaty sex, but also a lot of tender romance, biker-style. BURNED BY LUST is fast-paces with great dialogues, and an absolutely fabulous heroine! Excellent!BURNED BY BLACKMAILBriony Wilde is on the verge of having her alcohol license revoked, and her finances are very tight, and she fears that the planning department will demolish her hotel. Briony is the owner of a biker hotel and bar, Wilde Hotel, and she is no shrinking violet. Her biker friends are her family, of whom she is very protective, and it goes the same for them. Then a man walks into the bar; Cole Knight’s car broke down. He is most handsome, not at all her type, but he flirts with Briony. She finds him absolutely irresistible, and soon after she takes him to her room to have sex. And it’s a wondrous experience, but she never asked that gorgeous man’s name. He happens to be the son of the same man who wants to wreck her business! But Briony, with the help of her biker friends, cooks up a scheme that will ascertain that she keeps her business…Michele De Winton has written a fabulous, wonderful, superb biker book. And the biker is the woman, and the man is in Armani. Briony and Cole are exquisitely multifaceted characters; both are engaging; all the characters are wonderfully colourful. Blackmail stories are sometimes perilous endeavours, but Michele De Winton has crafted a masterpiece in the genre. The plot is air-tight and wildly entertaining; and nothing happened quite the way I expected. The scorching chemistry between Briony and Cole feels entirely genuine, and the sex scenes are passionate, sensual and playful. I loved how the romance evolved; nothing was rushed nor convoluted, nor were there any loose ends. Michele De Winton is a favourite author of mine because of her unique voice and her dialogues are snappy and witty. Her writing style is original and modern: sharp and edgy, very lyrical in the musical sense; her prose has a particular urban elegance that is entirely her own. In BURNED BY BLACKMAIL, Michele De Winton shines like never before. Totally fab!I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.
    more
  • Angela
    July 11, 2017
    Burning to Ride is a combination of two novellas that were previously released as individual titles, but now make up what is the first book for the Raising Hellfire MC series. Wilde's bar & hotel has been home for the MC since before Briony Wilde took over after her father's death. This is where a majority of both books take place. Because I have different opinions about each book, I have decided to write separate reviews for them. My overall average review for both is 3 stars.Burned by Lust Burning to Ride is a combination of two novellas that were previously released as individual titles, but now make up what is the first book for the Raising Hellfire MC series. Wilde's bar & hotel has been home for the MC since before Briony Wilde took over after her father's death. This is where a majority of both books take place. Because I have different opinions about each book, I have decided to write separate reviews for them. My overall average review for both is 3 stars.Burned by Lust 2 starsThis was a very short novella about Hade, who is learning how to take over the MC, and Lee, who showed up at Wilde's with a rival gang member for a one-night stand that didn't work out like they planned. I had a very difficult time connecting with either character, which made it impossible to connect with the story, especially since it was so brief. The title seemed to have it right, cause I didn't feel anything between the main characters except for lust. There was a lot smokin' hot sex, but that seemed to be the majority of the story. This one just wasn't for me. Burned by Blackmail 4 starsThis story was about the bar & hotel owner Briony Wilde, and her situation with the only place she and the MC call home. With the bank and planning commission refusing to help her, and both trying to force her to sell, she's not sure what she's going to do. When one of the new MC guys is giving her trouble, the stranger at the end of the bar takes up for her. When she can't take her eyes off of him, and makes sure that he's not there under false pretenses, she decides that she's up for a night of fun. Cole Knight is trying to prove himself to his father, and the board, by building the pet project he's had for the last couple of years. After his car breaks down, he decides that he might as well check out the last place that's holding out, and keeping him from his dream. When he walks in Wilde's it's worse than he expected, but when he sees the beauty tending bar, he decides that talking to the owner can definitely wait until later. When they figure out who the other is, sparks start flying, and not in a good way. When the president of the MC gives Briony the ammunition needed to get Cole on her side, albeit reluctantly, things start changing more than either of them are prepared for. This is a great enemies to lovers story that you won't want to miss! There's plenty of sparks, sass, banter, and humor. I would definitely recommend it! There is one thing that I really didn't like in regards to this book, and that's the author using the term "gang" in reference to the MC. Just so it's clear, "MC" stands for Motorcycle Club, and I have never met any MC that refers to themselves or any other as a gang. I know that it's been said numerous times in other reviews, but I have to agree with them. I have voluntarily reviewed this arc provided by the publisher via NetGalley.
    more
  • Jennifer
    July 11, 2017
    Meet up with the biker's of Michele De Winton's Raising Hellfire MC and their HEA's as bikers with smoldering attitude take readers on rides full of well place wisecracks, lusty encounters and full on badassery!In Burn for Lust the intro novella to the Raising Hellfire MC series many of the key players are introduced but the real focus is on Hade Corban and his struggle with his desire to lead his club or risk his heart with Lee Delevinge a burlesque dancer escaping her threatening former life. Meet up with the biker's of Michele De Winton's Raising Hellfire MC and their HEA's as bikers with smoldering attitude take readers on rides full of well place wisecracks, lusty encounters and full on badassery!In Burn for Lust the intro novella to the Raising Hellfire MC series many of the key players are introduced but the real focus is on Hade Corban and his struggle with his desire to lead his club or risk his heart with Lee Delevinge a burlesque dancer escaping her threatening former life. These two put it all on the line as undeniable attraction turns into something more consequential but not without some real miscommunication and rough patches. The sexual energy between Hade and Lee put the L in lust and flamed into some seriously hot encounters. Michele DeWinton was at her best in this work as she brought out her trademark brash and offbeat humor for a great introduction to her Raising Hellfire MC series!Burned By Blackmail, the second work in Michele DeWinton's Burning to Ride series, was none stop entertainment! Desperate times call for desperate measures so when Briony Wilde, the owner of the notorious Wilde Hotel a biker hot spot, finds herself in a position to blackmail the man who threatens all she holds dear it is a no brainer and the volatile sizzle begins. Heat charged and smoking hot the hero and heroine of this work find that beyond their unsavory deal there might be something they never expected, a chance at love. Eccentric character portrayals set the tone and will keep readers interest in this fast paced story. With no lack of drama, humor and good writing Michele DeWinton revs up her audience for a great read in her latest book.*I was given an advanced copy. All opinions expressed are my own.**While part of a series this book can be read as a stand alone.*
    more
  • Liz F
    July 23, 2017
    Review copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley.** This is a DNF review **I didn't care for this book. I generally enjoy the MC romance genre and this one started out okay. But as I got further and further into the story, I liked it less and less.Now, the Sexy Time in this book is insanely hot. And I love books that have lots of hot Sexy Time. I also like having characters that are fun to read and I didn't really enjoy either character in this book (I never got to the second story, Burned by Review copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley.** This is a DNF review **I didn't care for this book. I generally enjoy the MC romance genre and this one started out okay. But as I got further and further into the story, I liked it less and less.Now, the Sexy Time in this book is insanely hot. And I love books that have lots of hot Sexy Time. I also like having characters that are fun to read and I didn't really enjoy either character in this book (I never got to the second story, Burned by Blackmail).The hero was okay but there wasn't really anything about him that stood out. It seemed to me like he didn't want to be the leader of the MC but he felt like he had to take over? I quit reading this book a few days ago and already, I can't remember what his complaint was. I guess I was so not invested in the story that I can't even remember why I didn't like it?!The heroine was my main problem with the story. Her history wasn't put out there at the start of the book. I think we're supposed to be fed a little bit of it at a time? I think she was supposed to have something bad or tragic in her past but I never got to that part. The main thing with her is that she really loves sex. It seemed like she would have sex with just about anyone and that here, she's chosen this biker dude. She just seemed like a big ol' slutbag to me. There wasn't anything strong or empowering about the sex... it was just sex.I would NOT recommend this to readers who are already fans of MC romances. I wouldn't say that this was a typical MC romance and it isn't indicative of what a good MC romance is. But on the other hand, I wouldn't recommend it to readers who want to try an MC romance for the same reasons.
    more
  • Linda
    July 7, 2017
    This is actually a 2 for 1 book so we don’t have to wait to read the 2nd story. That’s always a big plus in my book. This is also a new author for me so I was excited to read them and see how good a writer she was. The first book is burned by Lust. It’s Book 1 in the Raising Hellfire MC series. Hade is the President of the Raising Hellfire MC and he really didn’t enjoy it. It was supposed to be his brother’s job but as he was dying, he made Hade promise to take over. He meets Lee at the hotel th This is actually a 2 for 1 book so we don’t have to wait to read the 2nd story. That’s always a big plus in my book. This is also a new author for me so I was excited to read them and see how good a writer she was. The first book is burned by Lust. It’s Book 1 in the Raising Hellfire MC series. Hade is the President of the Raising Hellfire MC and he really didn’t enjoy it. It was supposed to be his brother’s job but as he was dying, he made Hade promise to take over. He meets Lee at the hotel that is part of the bar that the club goes to. I really enjoyed reading this book. It’s not often that you find love overcomes the MC family.Burned by Blackmail is Book 2 in the Raising Hellfire MC. Briony owns Wilde’s which is the bar/hotel that the Raising Hellfire MC goes to. The bar’s in trouble and the bank is trying to force her to sell to a developer who’s bought up everything around her. One dark and stormy night, a stranger walks into the bar (Yes, that sounds like a good story right there). She decides then and there that she’s going to have at least one good night before foreclosure happens. There’s some wild monkey sex happening then wham! She finds out he’s the developer. Things get really interesting after that. These 2 books are great! There’s so much going on that you can’t stop reading because you have to know what happens next. I voluntarily read and reviewed this book that I received from Netgalley.
    more
  • Linda Rea
    July 7, 2017
    Love this series it focuses around the Raising Hellfire MC and Wilde's hotel and this particular book has two stories in one. When Hade's brother died he told Hade to run the Hellfire MC's but Hade wants to make everything legal, no drugs gambling or prostitution. When he hears women making a lot of noise in one of the hotels rooms he decides to investigate and comes across a woman in black lace trying to revive a passed out biker, not one of his brothers. When Black Lace talks him into some fun Love this series it focuses around the Raising Hellfire MC and Wilde's hotel and this particular book has two stories in one. When Hade's brother died he told Hade to run the Hellfire MC's but Hade wants to make everything legal, no drugs gambling or prostitution. When he hears women making a lot of noise in one of the hotels rooms he decides to investigate and comes across a woman in black lace trying to revive a passed out biker, not one of his brothers. When Black Lace talks him into some fun they end up in the bathroom and Hade is really attracted to her. When he sees her next he finds out her name is Lee and she hits on one of his and he is jealous but the more he talks he finds out she is smart. When the boys start trying to figure out how to make honest money Lee comes up with a great suggestion and it helps a lot. But the closer Hade and Lee become the more they realize their secrets are going to end them and when there is a big misunderstanding it may be the end of them.Briony has run the bar and Wilde's hotel since her dad passed but she is having a hard time paying the bills and when a stranger shows up she decides to let go for one night. Turns out the sexy stranger is Cole Knight who is trying to put them out of business but the boys tell her they were video taped and she will blackmail him to save it. Cole and Briony strike up a deal that she would pretend to be his fiancé and he would help save her hotel but it has to be on the down low. What Cole and Briony don't see coming is the feelings that they are starting to have and it causes all kinds of trouble. Great combo of stories and I love the characters personalities and the changes that they go through.Reviewed on behalf of Once upon an Alpha
    more
  • Lillian Cummings
    July 16, 2017
    Can you stop running now? Lee knows that she is playing with fire but this could be her only chance at a place to stay until she decides were to go next. She just never expected to meet Hade and he likes what he sees but she just needs him and the hot sex that comes with him. But they start to realize that they fit well together but Hade knows that he can't continue he needs to focus on the biker gang and its members and the problems that the other gang is bringing. He wants them to become more Can you stop running now? Lee knows that she is playing with fire but this could be her only chance at a place to stay until she decides were to go next. She just never expected to meet Hade and he likes what he sees but she just needs him and the hot sex that comes with him. But they start to realize that they fit well together but Hade knows that he can't continue he needs to focus on the biker gang and its members and the problems that the other gang is bringing. He wants them to become more upstanding and the members aren't all that happy about it but he refuses to back down as he never wanted this but he is willing to give it a shot. Lee knows that she is falling for Hade and she wants to prove to him that she can help him and that she really wants to be with him but she blows that chance after thinking that he would appreciate a party and she makes the mistake of having drugs around even though she never knew that they were there, he throws her out. Now what for them, is this the end already?And Cole & Briony's story was a real bonus. Another great read who knew the biker world could be so smoking hot. I was lucky enough to receive a copy via Netgalley & the publishing house in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Viper Spaulding
    July 9, 2017
    This is a set of two biker romances, centering around the Raising Hellfire biker club. The first story, Burned by Lust, was very good. We have a biker named Hade, who is just starting as the club's leader after the death of his brother, and Lee, who is on the run from drug dealers in Boston and decides to blend in with the LA biker gang for protection. Their path to love is complicated by inside and outside forces, but their connection is well-established and Hade is everything Lee needs him to This is a set of two biker romances, centering around the Raising Hellfire biker club. The first story, Burned by Lust, was very good. We have a biker named Hade, who is just starting as the club's leader after the death of his brother, and Lee, who is on the run from drug dealers in Boston and decides to blend in with the LA biker gang for protection. Their path to love is complicated by inside and outside forces, but their connection is well-established and Hade is everything Lee needs him to be. The second book, Burned by Blackmail, was my favorite of the two. Briony is the owner of the bar/hotel where the Hell's Boys hang out, and Cole is a suited-up developer whose car breaks down nearby. Before you know it, Briony is blackmailing Cole, the bar is getting renovated, and Briony has a ring on her finger. This is a classic fish-out-of-water tale times two, as each one is completely unfamiliar with the other's world. Their chemistry is palpable and they play off each other beautifully, like a pen and ink, as Cole notes. The writing is excellent, the stories flow well and have wonderful secondary characters, and the attention to detail makes you feel as though you grew up in the biker gang, too. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.
    more
  • Danielle Gypsy Soul
    July 9, 2017
    1.5 Stars. MC books are hit and miss for me but unfortunately this one was a big miss for me (especially the first story). The first book is about Hade who is set to take over the MC since his brother's death. Apparently there is some rule that he can't have a relationship if he's in charge but then he meets Lee who is upstairs for a menage except that the other two people pass out before they actually have sex so she wants Hade to "take over." Apparently he finds her very hot and so he does. I 1.5 Stars. MC books are hit and miss for me but unfortunately this one was a big miss for me (especially the first story). The first book is about Hade who is set to take over the MC since his brother's death. Apparently there is some rule that he can't have a relationship if he's in charge but then he meets Lee who is upstairs for a menage except that the other two people pass out before they actually have sex so she wants Hade to "take over." Apparently he finds her very hot and so he does. I can't say I found Lee appealing at all. I like a woman who likes sex and is not shy about it but I just didn't like her character. Hade was undeveloped and I never really got a good read on him. I also didn't find the MC club all that believable. The first book is a 1 star book for me.The second book was a little better and I would give it two stars. I still think there was a lack of character development and I found the plot a bit unrealistic. Some of my frustration with the first book may have carried over to the second book as well. Overall this was just a big miss for me.A copy of this book was provided to me by NetGalley and the publisher with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book and my comments here are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Krystel
    July 10, 2017
    ARC given by publisher/Netgalley in return for an honest review.I have read a lot of MC books, and usually, almost always, they grab my attention straight away. With this one, I found it a bit harder than most to get into. In the beginning, it was hard for me to even like the characters. The dialogue, I think, between them felt so off and forced, which made it even harder to connect to this book and the set of characters.Though, with this one, two novellas for one. I ended up liking the second a ARC given by publisher/Netgalley in return for an honest review.I have read a lot of MC books, and usually, almost always, they grab my attention straight away. With this one, I found it a bit harder than most to get into. In the beginning, it was hard for me to even like the characters. The dialogue, I think, between them felt so off and forced, which made it even harder to connect to this book and the set of characters.Though, with this one, two novellas for one. I ended up liking the second a tad bit more than I did the first, but I still found myself struggling to really connect with the story and this world the author was building.I am hoping that maybe the next the author will feel stronger, and will grab me from the get go. Though, I didn't dislike everything. The action did grab me and keep my attention. But even then, I still felt like something was missing. I'm still glad I took a chance on it. I'm always looking for new authors, and De Winton was a new one for me.
    more
  • Crystal Yawn
    July 11, 2017
    Burned by blackmailBad Boy property developer meets Biker bar/hotel owner and heat scorches. Cole is trying to make a new start in a town where no one knows him or his past mistakes. Briony is trying to save her family's bar/hotel. A little blackmail puts the two together.I LOVE these characters - from Cole and Briony to the biker gang and Cole's family. They make for a real enjoyable story filled with laughter, joy, sadness, anger, jealousy and plenty of steam.The plot is very enjoyable. The fo Burned by blackmailBad Boy property developer meets Biker bar/hotel owner and heat scorches. Cole is trying to make a new start in a town where no one knows him or his past mistakes. Briony is trying to save her family's bar/hotel. A little blackmail puts the two together.I LOVE these characters - from Cole and Briony to the biker gang and Cole's family. They make for a real enjoyable story filled with laughter, joy, sadness, anger, jealousy and plenty of steam.The plot is very enjoyable. The force of attraction can't be beat. The fights and the jealousy make for a very easy enjoyable read. I'm excited to look into more books written by Michele!Burned by lust4 ****another hot addition to this box set. Lee is trying to escape her past by moving cross country and keeping a bed warm, but only one week at a time. Hade has some serious potential of wrecking her rules and life plan.it took me a bit to get into this story but towards the end I was hooked wanting more. I'd love to know what specifically sent Lee running.
    more
  • Cindy Reifel
    July 11, 2017
    BURNED BY LUST is a novella about Hade, the leader of the Raising Hellfire MC Club. He meets Lee and their attraction is immediate and explosive. Unfortunately, both have a history. of horrors in their lives they have had to overcome and, are unwilling to open themselves up to emotion. fortunately, fate has different ideas.BURNED BY BLACKMAIL is about Brioni Wilde, owner of the Wilde Hotel and Bar. She's about to lose both due to poor investments her late father made and, the fact that a huge de BURNED BY LUST is a novella about Hade, the leader of the Raising Hellfire MC Club. He meets Lee and their attraction is immediate and explosive. Unfortunately, both have a history. of horrors in their lives they have had to overcome and, are unwilling to open themselves up to emotion. fortunately, fate has different ideas.BURNED BY BLACKMAIL is about Brioni Wilde, owner of the Wilde Hotel and Bar. She's about to lose both due to poor investments her late father made and, the fact that a huge development is buying up all land and buildings around her. She meets Cole Knight, has a steamy one night stand then, finds out who he is. The new head of the MC tells her they taped her and Cole's 'encounter' and, can use it to blackmail him into marriage and renovation of her hotel and bar. The confusing, hurtful relationship between these two leads to many situations in which they both realize that, even though they keep saying the wrong things and acting the wrong way, love and family are what matters most of all.
    more
  • Dina Bushrod
    July 12, 2017
    In this 2 for 1, the first being Burned by Lust is a definite 18+ and so steamy you just might singe your fingers as your reading. We have a biker, after losing his brother to violence, preparing to become the boss of his club. A club that allows no permanent bonds with the fairer sex. Through very compromising circumstances, which you'll have to read yourself, he meets one hot, sexy, bad girl. They both have serious issues about long term relationships; will they stick to wham, bang thank you m In this 2 for 1, the first being Burned by Lust is a definite 18+ and so steamy you just might singe your fingers as your reading. We have a biker, after losing his brother to violence, preparing to become the boss of his club. A club that allows no permanent bonds with the fairer sex. Through very compromising circumstances, which you'll have to read yourself, he meets one hot, sexy, bad girl. They both have serious issues about long term relationships; will they stick to wham, bang thank you ma'am. Well I don't do spoilers so you'll have to pick up this book (tongs may be required) and find out for yourself. I recommend this to lovers of hot steamy MC romance. I found the second book Burned by Blackmail, to have a more involved storyline, not that the hot scenes aren't hot, just more depth to it. The strong woman in this story is trying to save her establishment from being bought out and when she finds out whose behind it, well let's just say she'll do anything to win.
    more
  • Brandi
    July 11, 2017
    This is the first book I've read from Michele De Winton and I loved both stories included in the book. Burned by LustHade Corban is ready to take his place at the head of his MC. He has a vision of how he wants his gang to move into the future. Making money legally and moving away from drugs that have killed so many innocent lives. One night at Wilde, he meets Lee, who is desperate to run away from her past. She trades a nig of endless passion with Hade and it quickly turns into a week making he This is the first book I've read from Michele De Winton and I loved both stories included in the book. Burned by LustHade Corban is ready to take his place at the head of his MC. He has a vision of how he wants his gang to move into the future. Making money legally and moving away from drugs that have killed so many innocent lives. One night at Wilde, he meets Lee, who is desperate to run away from her past. She trades a nig of endless passion with Hade and it quickly turns into a week making her finally feel safe. Burned by BlackmailBriony Wilde is desperate to keep her liquor license and the bar that has been in her family. With a looking developer trying to buy her out she is slowly losing the one thing she holds the most valuable. Her home. One stormy night she meets Cole Knight and he is not all he appears to be. Will she forgive him and save her bar?
    more
  • Lyn
    July 8, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book. While both stories that are included have previously been published on their own, this was my first time reading them.Burned by Lust - a very quick read, almost too quick for my liking. A good introduction to the Raising Hellfire 'gang'. I feel like the angst that Hade and Lee experienced with their pasts was realisticly written.Burned by Blackmail - until the blackmail element was introduced, I could not wrap my head around how blackmail would be part of this book. A I really enjoyed this book. While both stories that are included have previously been published on their own, this was my first time reading them.Burned by Lust - a very quick read, almost too quick for my liking. A good introduction to the Raising Hellfire 'gang'. I feel like the angst that Hade and Lee experienced with their pasts was realisticly written.Burned by Blackmail - until the blackmail element was introduced, I could not wrap my head around how blackmail would be part of this book. At times I felt like the story was longer than it needed to be, but overall every part of it was required. It was good to see Hade make appearances in Briony and Cole's interactions with the Raising Hellfire guys. While the blurb for the next book shows that the hero is Briony's half-brother, the way that Cole's brother and the other Hellfire boys were included leaves this series wide open for who will get their HEA next.
    more
  • Julie
    July 11, 2017
    Burned by Lust - Hade Cordan's mind is set on his job as the new leader of the Raising Hellfire MC after his brother died. Until a smoking hot woman, Lee Delevigne comes to town and takes up all his time. And he's not too guilty about it either.Burned by Blackmail - Briony Walker is the owner of the local biker bar. A smart dressed stranger, Cole Knight, catches her eye and they start to a conversation and more. But what will happen when she finds out, Cole is behind the company that wish to dem Burned by Lust - Hade Cordan's mind is set on his job as the new leader of the Raising Hellfire MC after his brother died. Until a smoking hot woman, Lee Delevigne comes to town and takes up all his time. And he's not too guilty about it either.Burned by Blackmail - Briony Walker is the owner of the local biker bar. A smart dressed stranger, Cole Knight, catches her eye and they start to a conversation and more. But what will happen when she finds out, Cole is behind the company that wish to demolish her beloved bar for a new development?These two novella's were well written with good characters. Just a little fast, which unfortunately novella's are, but still good reads.
    more
  • Danny Jeffery
    July 11, 2017
    This book gave us two different novellas. For me, there was not a lot of MC story and these stories were more fast paced insta romances set with an MC backdrop. I have to be honest, I struggled to stay motivated in reading this book as I felt that the plot and characters needed a lot more depth and development. The second book was by far my favourite and I actually liked the plot line but it all felt a little rushed. 2.5 starsI was provided with a copy of this book from the Publisher via NetGall This book gave us two different novellas. For me, there was not a lot of MC story and these stories were more fast paced insta romances set with an MC backdrop. I have to be honest, I struggled to stay motivated in reading this book as I felt that the plot and characters needed a lot more depth and development. The second book was by far my favourite and I actually liked the plot line but it all felt a little rushed. 2.5 starsI was provided with a copy of this book from the Publisher via NetGalley; there was no inducement or obligation.
    more
  • Crystal
    July 17, 2017
    3.5 StarsBurning to Ride is a good read, and what's even better is you get two novellas Burned by Lust and Burned by Blackmail to read all at one time. These stories are fast paced, drama filled, MC goodness. This was a good read for me.
  • Tammy
    July 12, 2017
    This is actually two novellas, Burned by Lust and Burned by Blackmail. These are both fast paced reads with plenty of steam and drama. This was a good read for me. The stories held my interest and I liked the characters.
  • C bond
    June 29, 2017
    netgalley3.5 starsan ok read.
  • Alexis Sky
    June 14, 2017
    2 stories in 1. Needed a lot more character and plot development to really work.
  • Mags
    June 28, 2017
    Burned by Lust - 3☆This was a quick and somewhat enjoyable read. That had no angst and two likable characters. However I didn't feel much in the way of chemistry between them and for me the story was just too rushed and just didn't grab my attention overall.Burned by Blackmail - 4☆I really enjoyed this story and it was definitely my favourite of the two. As not only were the two main characters very likable, but I really felt a spark between them. Plus the actual story had me hooked from beginni Burned by Lust - 3☆This was a quick and somewhat enjoyable read. That had no angst and two likable characters. However I didn't feel much in the way of chemistry between them and for me the story was just too rushed and just didn't grab my attention overall.Burned by Blackmail - 4☆I really enjoyed this story and it was definitely my favourite of the two. As not only were the two main characters very likable, but I really felt a spark between them. Plus the actual story had me hooked from beginning to end. And I would happily recommend it to others.**I was kindly provided with an ARC by the Publisher in exchange for an honest review**
    more
Write a review