Hate to Love Him
Brady Davis is as happy as he is charming. Usually. Unless he’s in the same room with the frustratingly gorgeous antidote to his cheer. Mia Kendrick is headstrong and determined. She’s done with men who stand in her way—even if he has arms like Thor and a smile that makes her dizzy. Whenever they’re together, sparks fly—both the bad and good kind.When Mia returns home to take over management of Kendrick Place, Brady is worried her focus on big business could be the end of his tight-knit home and the family he’s created there. Mia may have the power to change everything, but Brady could have the power to change her mind…if he can get inside her heart.

Hate to Love Him Details

TitleHate to Love Him
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Clean Romance

Hate to Love Him Review

  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    July 9, 2017
    Release Date: July 17, 2017 Genre: Contemporary RomanceHate to Love Him is a delightful read with charismatic characters and a plot that will keep readers engaged from start to finish. With family drama like this, readers will be sitting on the edge of their seats hoping that everything can be resolved nicely. In turn, they will be falling deeply in love with the friendships while making them realize that sometimes family doesn't always mean blood. I have read a few of Holford's books in the Release Date: July 17, 2017 Genre: Contemporary RomanceHate to Love Him is a delightful read with charismatic characters and a plot that will keep readers engaged from start to finish. With family drama like this, readers will be sitting on the edge of their seats hoping that everything can be resolved nicely. In turn, they will be falling deeply in love with the friendships while making them realize that sometimes family doesn't always mean blood. I have read a few of Holford's books in the past and have to say that each time I am very pleased with the outcome. She adds enough dramatics to make the story interesting but wraps everything up nicely making readers feel content in the end. If your a fan of the authors work or simply looking for your next sweet read, I would recommend this book to you.
    more
  • Beth
    June 30, 2017
    Simply fun and delightfully lighthearted.Mia want to prove to her brother and her father she has what it takes to make it in the family’s real estate business. They give her the appearance of a chance to “prove it” with an apartment building that her grandmother deeded over to Mia and her brother, Kendrick Place. Neither her brother or her father tell Mia that they already think she will fail because she is a woman, They also don’t tell her that her brother already had plans for Kendrick Place a Simply fun and delightfully lighthearted.Mia want to prove to her brother and her father she has what it takes to make it in the family’s real estate business. They give her the appearance of a chance to “prove it” with an apartment building that her grandmother deeded over to Mia and her brother, Kendrick Place. Neither her brother or her father tell Mia that they already think she will fail because she is a woman, They also don’t tell her that her brother already had plans for Kendrick Place and it doesn’t include her or the tenants that have made it a home.Brady has been covering for the missing building supervisor when Mia comes to take over management and live at Kendrick Place. They instantly clash but it is a case of burning chemistry that keeps them from even giving each other a chance. He has preconceived notions about the little rich girl and she won’t let anything stand in her of success with Kendrick Place. Mia must out think her brother to save a home and the home of people she come to cherish.Hate to Love Him is a cute and endearing light romance with strong friends, difficult family relations and a cast of characters that keep you wanting more.I received this ARC copy of Hate to Love Him from Entangled Publishing, LLC - Bliss. This is my honest and voluntary review. Hate to Love Him is set for publication July 17, 2017.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Jody HolfordPrint Length: 213 pagesPublisher: Entangled: Bliss Publication Date: July 17, 2017Sold by: MacmillanASIN: B0739MNMNSGenre: Contemporary RomanceItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/hate...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Hate-Love-Him-...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hate...Reviewed for:http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Elaine
    July 21, 2017
    This was a delightful, restful, easy read with well developed characters and an engaging plot. It continues the saga of Kendrick Place and many of the characters met in the earlier books are also in this one. Having typed that, I also have to say that I think this book will also work as a standalone as the author fills in the background information as the story progresses.In this case, Mia is fed up of being looked down on by the men in her family. Her father and brother have no respect for her This was a delightful, restful, easy read with well developed characters and an engaging plot. It continues the saga of Kendrick Place and many of the characters met in the earlier books are also in this one. Having typed that, I also have to say that I think this book will also work as a standalone as the author fills in the background information as the story progresses.In this case, Mia is fed up of being looked down on by the men in her family. Her father and brother have no respect for her business skills and she’s out to prove them wrong. She has six months to make Kendrick Place, the apartment building which started the family business, back into a viable concern and she’s determined to succeed. Her Grandmother is the only family member who believes in Mia and their relationship is a close one. However, Brady Davis, one of the residents of Kendrick Place, is worried that Mia is going to ruin the close knit community of residents with big business ideas. He doesn’t trust her but he’s certainly attracted to her. As sparks fly between them, there are surprises in store, secrets to be revealed and double dealing to be thwarted before love can find a way for this couple!I found this an engaging read, easy to escape into and enjoy. I certainly didn’t like the male family members and loved them getting their comeuppance - but I’m not telling you how. you’ll need to read it for yourself to find out what happens! If you enjoy contemporary romance, you’ll probably enjoy this one, too!I requested and was given a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    July 14, 2017
    If light and sweet is what you’re after - Hate to Love Him is just the thing for you! This was a super quick, easy read from an author who excels at writing solid, genuine, heartfelt stories. I felt like this, the third offering in the Kendrick Place series was a little lighter on the romance. It took a long time for things to fire up and there was a lot of focus on Mia’s personal struggles and growth. To that end, it read a little bit more like women’s fiction to me – but it was still an engagi If light and sweet is what you’re after - Hate to Love Him is just the thing for you! This was a super quick, easy read from an author who excels at writing solid, genuine, heartfelt stories. I felt like this, the third offering in the Kendrick Place series was a little lighter on the romance. It took a long time for things to fire up and there was a lot of focus on Mia’s personal struggles and growth. To that end, it read a little bit more like women’s fiction to me – but it was still an engaging and rewarding story. In fact, I feel like one of the things Ms. Holford excels at the most is capturing the nuances of family and friendship. In this case there was a sisterhood between the women in the building that hit me right in the feels. There’s a strong, heartwarming friendship theme in this book, but the reality is that there is always more than a romantic love story going on in every Jody Holford book, and is always one of my favorite parts of every book.Also, it bears mentioning that when the romance between Brady and Mia did finally fire up – it was well worth the wait. They were adorable together and as their hearts warmed toward each other, my tummy filled with butterflies and I couldn’t get enough of them. Brady, in particular, completely stole my heart. His character was so fiercely loyal and warm. There were moments so sweet my eyes welled up, some humorous moments that drew giggles from me, and – in the end – a well satisfied happy smile as everything fell into place. Whether it’s your first foray into Kendrick Place (and that’s okay! It works well as a standalone, though you’ll likely wind up hungry for the other stories – fair warning!) or you’ve been along for the entire ride - Hate to Love Him will not disappoint! ~ Shelly, 4 Stars
    more
  • wrecked_life
    June 25, 2017
    It's a fun, lighthearted read. Mia comes from a rich family but money doesn't equate happiness. Her family has never accepted her as she is. Her father and brother think she cannot be part of business just because she is a woman. After her grandmother intervened her father give her six months to run one of their residential buildings and prove herself. So she has a lot at stake to make Kendrick Place profitable.Brady knows that for some people money is everything. A business woman is going to ma It's a fun, lighthearted read. Mia comes from a rich family but money doesn't equate happiness. Her family has never accepted her as she is. Her father and brother think she cannot be part of business just because she is a woman. After her grandmother intervened her father give her six months to run one of their residential buildings and prove herself. So she has a lot at stake to make Kendrick Place profitable.Brady knows that for some people money is everything. A business woman is going to make everything about profit. Suffice it to say that he doesn't trust Mia at all. And he isn't willing to give her a chance. They both dislike each other and that's fine with him. Until his best friends started talking about her positively and he realizes that he has been misjudging her. She is not an entitled snob, in fact she might be most kind hearted woman he has known.Now they 're both going to try and be friends. It won't be easy but at least they can begin to stop hating each other so much and take it from there.... soon they even start linking one another... and may be even end up falling for each other.... but will they work, two people from such different backgrounds, they don't seem right together or may be that's what make them a perfect couple.It's quite enjoyable story. Characters are good too. I think that any contemporary reader will like it.
    more
  • D.M.
    July 12, 2017
    After reading the title and synopsis of Hate to Love Him, I thought I would have enjoyed this book. However, sadly I didn't. I disliked the main character Mia right from the start. By the end she was ok. The book is more about business than romance which is never my favourite kind of book. I was expecting a fiery relationship but I felt Mia was never really in the right, so I didn't really understand what her problem was with Brady. With this said, I notice on Goodreads other readers have liked After reading the title and synopsis of Hate to Love Him, I thought I would have enjoyed this book. However, sadly I didn't. I disliked the main character Mia right from the start. By the end she was ok. The book is more about business than romance which is never my favourite kind of book. I was expecting a fiery relationship but I felt Mia was never really in the right, so I didn't really understand what her problem was with Brady. With this said, I notice on Goodreads other readers have liked this book. I would say if you like a good business/ family drama story with a pinch of romance, this will be for you.Mia is headstrong and determined to show her family she can run an apartment block. She has 6 months to prove she is capable of helping to run the family business. Not everyone is supportive of her, but she is determined to prove them wrong. Brady is happy to tell Mia when she is in the wrong. He is a kind, charismatic guy who is happy to help anyone. Anyone but Mia of course! They are from two different backgrounds, but sometimes that's the kind of person you need. 2 stars out of 5. Sorry:(*I received an ARC in exchange for a fair review*
    more
  • Ayekah
    July 8, 2017
    I sat and read this is one sitting, yes it's that good. It's a little bit of everything you want in a book. Especially with Brady and Mia. Otherwise known as oil and water. Mia's returned from college abroad and wants a fair shake at proving to her father she can run a family business. Her father gives her Kendrick Place which is the family's original building bought and rebuilt by her great grandfather. It's also been neglected while she was gone, under the useless eye of her nasty brother, who I sat and read this is one sitting, yes it's that good. It's a little bit of everything you want in a book. Especially with Brady and Mia. Otherwise known as oil and water. Mia's returned from college abroad and wants a fair shake at proving to her father she can run a family business. Her father gives her Kendrick Place which is the family's original building bought and rebuilt by her great grandfather. It's also been neglected while she was gone, under the useless eye of her nasty brother, who is a real piece of work. Lots of expletives here. Mia is given a 6 month time frame to get the building back in shape, empty apartments rented and some other neglected issues taken care of, while also putting it back in the black. (read set up to fail) but Mia is stubborn and determined.Then we have Brady, owner of an auto repair and body shop who loves to abrade the hell out of Mia.He calls her "Princess" which really rubs her the wrong way and they just can't be civil. Even when attempts at trying to be, Brady can't help himself and just digs the hole deeper. Mia continues to grow suspect about the 6 month time limit and while she is making friends in the building who really like her for who she is, not her money, she seeks out the advice of an old friend who clues her in on what her Father and Brother are planning. It's not pretty. Mia makes a counter plan.Meanwhile she and Brady call a truce to their incessant barbs and they actually go out. Brady is still a little sensitive because of the money thing, but after spending time with each other, the attraction and chemistry is off the charts. So as any good story goes, the other shoe drops and unfortunately Brady is there and despite Mia having her ducks in a row he choses not to trust her... and things are said by Brady that leave Mia cold.The book is a must read and a great story. You'll love all the characters even Brady when he's showing his backside. Mia is a gem and their friends are great. I'm anxious to read more of this series and find out a little more about their history. Great story, perfect ending and I'd read it again.**arc from NetGalley and Entangled in exchange for a fair review**
    more
  • Carolyn's
    June 29, 2017
    LOVED! I adore this series! Such a great community and friendships- you just want to live there. I was looking forward to Brady's book- especially after being teased with his and Mia's relationship in The Bad Boy Next Door. Jody Holford knocked it out of the park.I was expecting this book to be filled with tense drama between Mia and Brady. She is high society, refined and polished and he is a blue jean, t-shirt wearing, greasy mechanic. (He is actually a business owner and very accomplished but LOVED! I adore this series! Such a great community and friendships- you just want to live there. I was looking forward to Brady's book- especially after being teased with his and Mia's relationship in The Bad Boy Next Door. Jody Holford knocked it out of the park.I was expecting this book to be filled with tense drama between Mia and Brady. She is high society, refined and polished and he is a blue jean, t-shirt wearing, greasy mechanic. (He is actually a business owner and very accomplished but didn't feel good enough for Mia). Honestly- they are perfect for each other, but these two are very entertaining in their sharp words and quick insults. They spend so much time fussing that everyone around them senses the intense chemistry that lies beyond their passionate arguments. Mia and Brady have both had terrible relationships in the past that have clouded their views on starting anything up. Deep down these two are meant for one another and compliment each other perfectly. Tensions with Mia's family cause Brady to see her in a different light and when he sticks up for her Mia changes in her views of Brady. Having someone fight along with you is what she wants but when she is bound by business and legal restrictions and can't be upfront with Brady he feels he has been snookered once again and wants to head for the hills.I loved that these two were able to talk about what the trouble was (after a cooling off) and realize what they had in one another. Mia had suffered enough at the hands of her family who were only focusing on money and not family. Family is what she found at Kendrick Place.LOVED!
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    July 9, 2017
    Loved it! A fantastically warm, lighthearted story that left me feeling happy and swooning. Ms. Holford takes us back to Kendrick Place where your neighbors are your friends and everyone watches out for everyone. Mia Kendrick has taken over as the building manager and she plans to make everything right and prove to her family she knows how do it. Being friends with everyone isn't what she's there to do yet before she knows it she finds herself caring for all the residents including the charming Loved it! A fantastically warm, lighthearted story that left me feeling happy and swooning. Ms. Holford takes us back to Kendrick Place where your neighbors are your friends and everyone watches out for everyone. Mia Kendrick has taken over as the building manager and she plans to make everything right and prove to her family she knows how do it. Being friends with everyone isn't what she's there to do yet before she knows it she finds herself caring for all the residents including the charming Brady Davis. When her loyalty is put to the test Mia needs to decide what the true meaning of family is to her.A great read and one you don't want to miss. I highly recommend it.
    more
  • Mommaleena
    July 8, 2017
    Hate To Love Him (Kendrick Place #3) by Jody Holford• Trust What an amazing emotional story! This is my first Jody Holford story, but it won't be my last. Hate To Live Him may be the 3rd Kendrick Place story, but it can also be read as a standalone story... Or the first one you read and then go back to find the others as I will be doing this weekend!! I voluntarily reviewed an ARC copy of this book via Entangled Publishing through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    July 8, 2017
    Sugar and spice deliver something nice. Ms. Holford proves that she can write sexy with the best of the best. Hate to Love Him relies heavily on the charm before it attempts to amp up to five alarm. With her fighting spirit, Mia masterminds a corporate takeover and meets her match in the process. Brady may be a gentleman, but he's no pushover. After reading Jody Holford the world seems a bit brighter and the heart a tad lighter.
    more
  • Julie hillier
    June 21, 2017
    Jody Holford never disappoints. In this story it's two people from two different worlds with the same beliefs, too fight. To never let anything or anyone hurt those they love, or take something important away without a fight. To find love in its truest form is something that doesn't come easy, and no one knows that better then Brady and Mia. They are passionate and determined. The feelings they have for each other are so intense you can feel it in your soul. They are fighters, sometimes they giv Jody Holford never disappoints. In this story it's two people from two different worlds with the same beliefs, too fight. To never let anything or anyone hurt those they love, or take something important away without a fight. To find love in its truest form is something that doesn't come easy, and no one knows that better then Brady and Mia. They are passionate and determined. The feelings they have for each other are so intense you can feel it in your soul. They are fighters, sometimes they give up too easy but when they realize they have made a mistake they fight harder and together to get where they know they need to be. Together! Loved this story big time!
    more
  • Beth ~ Panda & Boodle
    July 14, 2017
    He had no idea what they were doing or where this could possibly go, but in that second, it felt right. It felt necessary.I have a request for Jody Holford: Please keep writing these kinds of sweet, steamy romances. Seriously, I've enjoyed each and every one of the Kendrick Place books. They're cute, easy and quick to read, and Hate to Love Him was no exception. It was charming, light-hearted—despite the enemies-to-lovers trope, which can be volatile for me—and enjoyable. It starts with a slow b He had no idea what they were doing or where this could possibly go, but in that second, it felt right. It felt necessary.I have a request for Jody Holford: Please keep writing these kinds of sweet, steamy romances. Seriously, I've enjoyed each and every one of the Kendrick Place books. They're cute, easy and quick to read, and Hate to Love Him was no exception. It was charming, light-hearted—despite the enemies-to-lovers trope, which can be volatile for me—and enjoyable. It starts with a slow burn, some back-and-forth, a bit of banter, and it's fun. A lot of fun. I liked Brady's hang ups, Mia's obstacles. Sure, there were one or two moments I had hoped would play out slightly differently, but nonetheless, well-crafted, well-written and well-played out. The best thing about this book is the relationships. Between Brady and Mia, the centerpiece of this book, but also between the residents of Kendrick Place. The inclusion of Justin was a nice touch, though I'd have loved to see a little more on that, and the couples we already know and love—Shay and Wyatt, Gabby and Owen—were on hand also. It was great to see them again, to chuckle at them and swoon with them. Honestly, the way Ms. Holford underscored the romance in this book with the friend-that-are-family-ships ensured that I was invested, engaged and all-in to the very end. And that I'll also be first in line for more of her signature sweet, steamy stories. “…you know what, you don’t choose your family. You choose your friends and make them your family.”~ FOUR Princess STARS ~
    more
  • Book Lover
    July 18, 2017
    Mia Kendrick has moved in to Kendrick Place to manage it. She finally talked her father into giving her a chance and she’s been given 6 months to prove herself. She has loved the place since she was a child and looks forward to returning it to its former glory. She hasn’t had the best of luck making true friends so has shied away from making those connections.Brady Davis owns an auto repair shop he inherited from his dad. His dad wanted his older brother, Jared, to take over the business but Jar Mia Kendrick has moved in to Kendrick Place to manage it. She finally talked her father into giving her a chance and she’s been given 6 months to prove herself. She has loved the place since she was a child and looks forward to returning it to its former glory. She hasn’t had the best of luck making true friends so has shied away from making those connections.Brady Davis owns an auto repair shop he inherited from his dad. His dad wanted his older brother, Jared, to take over the business but Jared wanted nothing to do with it. Brady moved into Kendrick Place because of it’s proximity to his business. Since he didn’t have any close family, he created one with friends he made at the complex. Brady has also had a bad relationship experience where he was made to feel he wasn’t good enough. When he sees Mia and her class and sophistication, he knows he’ll never measure up. Shay and Gabby befriend Mia and show her the meaning of true friendship. Something she’s never had and doesn’t know how to trust. Brady and Mia spend more time snipping at each other and giving in to their insecurities than trying to get to know one another. It took much longer for the romance to develop and focused more on Mia’s issues with her family. The romance is clean and minimal. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC provided by the publisher and NetGalley.
    more
  • Karla Andrews
    July 12, 2017
    Seriously, loved this book!! Only after I kept thinking I read it before. Lol. I was thinking about wyatts and shays book. Wow! I loved the chemistry between Brady and Mia! Wow. Stereotypes are the worst to get out of. I love how u put that in there and how to get around it. I love this scene: “Did you just hit me?” (Wyatt)Owen cringed. “It was instinct. You were going to say something rude. We’re here to be supportive. You’re big, you can handle it, please don’t hit me back.”That had me rolling Seriously, loved this book!! Only after I kept thinking I read it before. Lol. I was thinking about wyatts and shays book. Wow! I loved the chemistry between Brady and Mia! Wow. Stereotypes are the worst to get out of. I love how u put that in there and how to get around it. I love this scene: “Did you just hit me?” (Wyatt)Owen cringed. “It was instinct. You were going to say something rude. We’re here to be supportive. You’re big, you can handle it, please don’t hit me back.”That had me rolling. And then this was really all u need to know:But you know what, you don’t choose your family. You choose your friends and make them your family.” Amen!
    more
  • Caitlin Grace
    July 5, 2017
    Hate to Love Him is the third book in the Kendrick Place books by Jody Holford. I have read both of her previous books in this series, so I was excited to see more of Brady. This book focuses on Brady's and Mia's story, which is definitely an opposites attract and enemies to lovers trope. I really enjoyed this book. I had fairly high expectations considering I adored the first two books, but this one checked all the boxes. The leading characters had wonderful chemistry and I loved the tension be Hate to Love Him is the third book in the Kendrick Place books by Jody Holford. I have read both of her previous books in this series, so I was excited to see more of Brady. This book focuses on Brady's and Mia's story, which is definitely an opposites attract and enemies to lovers trope. I really enjoyed this book. I had fairly high expectations considering I adored the first two books, but this one checked all the boxes. The leading characters had wonderful chemistry and I loved the tension between them in the first half of the book. I also enjoyed how the author gave us glimpses of the previous book's characters living their own happy endings. Overall, a very satisfying clean romance that made me smile.Recommended for ages 16+ who want a light-hearted cotton candy romance, typical of the Entangled Bliss line.I received an ARC, courtesy of Entangled Publishing and NetGalley. All reviews are my personal thoughts and opinions.
    more
  • Kim Vanravenswaay
    July 3, 2017
    I enjoyed Hate to Love Him. It was the first book in the Kendrick Place series that I've read. With that being said I feel I am safe in saying that this can be read as a stand alone book. I will be going back and reading the other couples stories that I missed however. The only thing that brought it down for me was that Brady needed to become more self assured of himself. He truly thought he wasn't good enough for Mia and felt that way up until the end of the book.
    more
  • Kirstie Ibrahim
    July 4, 2017
    This is the first book in the series that I've read and it did well as a standalone however its left me wanting to read the others also. I really enjoyed this. Loved the characters and the setting in the apartment block. I also liked that Brady and Mia came from two very different backgrounds yet you could feel the connection and passion between both of them. I look forward to reading more about all of the characters.
    more
  • Bec - Book Magic: Under a spell with every page Reviews
    July 18, 2017
    Brady Davis knows a princess when he sees one, and Mia Kendrick has princess written all over her. However, appearances can be deceiving with Mia working hard to turn things for the better at Kendrick Place; the apartment building where he lives. But when he learns about the plans being put in place for the building, will he be able to trust Mia to do the right thing, or will he ruin their chance at happy ever after?Ms. Holford delivers another enthralling read for this series in this book, whic Brady Davis knows a princess when he sees one, and Mia Kendrick has princess written all over her. However, appearances can be deceiving with Mia working hard to turn things for the better at Kendrick Place; the apartment building where he lives. But when he learns about the plans being put in place for the building, will he be able to trust Mia to do the right thing, or will he ruin their chance at happy ever after?Ms. Holford delivers another enthralling read for this series in this book, which illustrates perfectly that opposites do attract; where the main characters back stories and the intense dialogue had me hooked, because Mia is in for the fight of her life when it comes her grandfather's legacy; and the obstacles these two face on their journey to happy ever after had me determined to discover whether they'd be able to overcome them, because without putting their trust in each other there's no possible way they will be able to. The way this story started had me empathizing with the heroine, because as the landlord of Kendrick Place she has to make hard decisions. Will she be able to fix what she did when she realizes there were better choices she could have made?As for the dialogue, it was well-written, riveting and I liked every moment the hero and heroine conversed. Because they always manage to tick each other off, whether it's in the way Brady uses his nickname for the heroine to annoy her or when he's trying to do what's right for those he cares about and Mia can't help but feel he's interfering in her business. However, the dialogue wasn't all intense with this pair being at odds. There are moments where they tease each other, especially when it comes to Brady and his love of cars or Mia's competitive streak. No way is she going to allow Brady to win. Both the main characters were captivating and were characters I couldn't get enough of, especially Brady. He doesn't have a very good relationship with his brother, but I liked that he would do anything for his nephew, which is proven by giving the boy the acceptance he needs and making him feel like he's wanted; something his nephew doesn't seem to experience a lot when it comes to his parents. I also liked the way the hero won the heroine over with their excursions and his determination to prove they can be friends and possibly more. Their competitiveness had me laughing. Who would win? While the heroine, she's strong and brave the way she finally makes her family realize that she's not to be messed with when it comes to going after something that is important to her. Who knew the usually sweet Mia had it in her to play dirty the way she does? I also liked the kindness of the secondary characters, because Mia needs all the friends she can get; friends that aren't going to use her for her family connections and her rich girl status like she's had happen in the past. Yet, what I liked most about the heroine was her determination to do what's right for the tenants of Kendrick Place; a building that means so much to her. Overall, Ms. Holford has penned a delightfully sweet and enchanting read in this book, which captured my attention from the very beginning and didn't let go till the end. Certainly, emotions run high in this story, as Brady and Mia face some tough challenges to be together, but I absolutely loved how this story ended with Mia fighting for her future when it came to going up against her family and the way Brady does everything in his power to win Mia back. Really, his words were perfect. However, it was the epilogue that wrapped this story up nicely, because of the surprise Brady had for Mia. I would recommend Hate to Love Him by Jody Holford, if you enjoy the opposites attract trope, the enemy to lovers trope or books by authors Ashlee Mallory, Victoria James, Rachel Harris and Sonya Weiss.
    more
  • Elizabeth Neal
    July 22, 2017
    A downside of first impressions is that they are, at times, wrong. As is the case for Brady in regards to Mia. Brady, a tenant, had become the interim building manager upon the previous manager's criminal activity being discovered.Mia is determined to ensure Kendrick Place remains open as it holds a special place in her heart. However, upon taking over the responsibilities, it's quickly obvious she is not one of Brady's favorite people.Brady knows her type, well, at least he assumes he does, bel A downside of first impressions is that they are, at times, wrong. As is the case for Brady in regards to Mia. Brady, a tenant, had become the interim building manager upon the previous manager's criminal activity being discovered.Mia is determined to ensure Kendrick Place remains open as it holds a special place in her heart. However, upon taking over the responsibilities, it's quickly obvious she is not one of Brady's favorite people.Brady knows her type, well, at least he assumes he does, believing she's like his ex. Unfortunately for Mia, Brady seems unwilling to see her, instead of judging her based upon someone else's actions.Mia has, unfortunately, resigned herself to being viewed as different simply because of her last name, although she does not share the same characteristics as her dad and brother. Mia has a heart and uses it, whereas they view everything toward green tinted roses...as in, not making a move without knowing the figures. Mia has come to see that the residents have become a family, and they're inviting her to be a member. Now if only she and Brady would stop snipping at each other, both unaware their attraction is mutual.What happens when Brady and Mia realize the real reason behind their constant issues with one another? Will they act on it? Or deny it, due to Brady's belief they're too different? Will Mia fight for those living at Kendrick Place? Can she save their homes? Or will she have to make compromises, leading some, *cough cough Brady,* to believe the worst of her? Will Brady let the past go and see Mia for who she truly is? When Brady's nephew visits, what will that mean for all involved? Will Brady and Mia get their HEA?One-click now and follow along as two people, seemingly opposites, begin seeing different sides of one another, and liking it. I really hope this isn't the end for the series. I would love to see more of these residents.**I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.**
    more
  • Marsha Spohn
    July 30, 2017
    Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfIf you’re’ in the mood for a light hearted romance that goes a little below the surface to expose some raw feelings and insecurities… and deal with them, then Love To Hate Him would be a story that you’d probably enjoy.Mia is taking over the complex, she’ll run Kendrick Place as she sees is right for everyone involved. Trouble is that her way might just not be right for everyone and she’s about to realize that firsthand. Brady doesn’t want to lose what Kendrick Place Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfIf you’re’ in the mood for a light hearted romance that goes a little below the surface to expose some raw feelings and insecurities… and deal with them, then Love To Hate Him would be a story that you’d probably enjoy.Mia is taking over the complex, she’ll run Kendrick Place as she sees is right for everyone involved. Trouble is that her way might just not be right for everyone and she’s about to realize that firsthand. Brady doesn’t want to lose what Kendrick Place has in abundance, a close knit community that has each other’s back. When Mia takes over control he only sees what she might do, not what she is doing or going to do. It’s unfortunate that for a good while Brady does a lot of judging, assuming before knowing all the facts or looks beneath Mia’s surface public face.Mia has major trust issues. She’s accustomed to fighting to get what she needs within her own family… the trust and approval that running Kendrick Place successfully will eventually bring to her. She hopes. Every time she encounters Brady he’s judging her, or arguing with her or even thinking he knows what is best in a situation without even asking her. She gets enough of that from her family, she doesn’t need it from a man that if he didn’t think so little of her she might be attracted to.. maybe, kinda, sorta.Ready for some fireworks? Then settle into Love To Hate Him for a fun filled, bantering good time as Mia and Brady butt heads on their way to their own happy ever after. A really good enemies to friends to more styled romance, this one will leave you smiling, shaking your head and just plain enjoying yourself.*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley. That does not change what I think of this story. It is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinion about this book.*
    more
  • Eva
    July 14, 2017
    the third book in the kendrick place series, hate to love him, finally gives us more of brady davis, all around good guy and friend to the other leads residing in kendrick place. he's a mechanic who owns his own garage and is looking to expand to detailing luxury vehicles. he's also got a chip on his shoulder and his initial impressions and interactions with mia kendrick bring out his resentment full bore. also he's crazy attracted to her and doesn't want to admit it.and while mia does come from the third book in the kendrick place series, hate to love him, finally gives us more of brady davis, all around good guy and friend to the other leads residing in kendrick place. he's a mechanic who owns his own garage and is looking to expand to detailing luxury vehicles. he's also got a chip on his shoulder and his initial impressions and interactions with mia kendrick bring out his resentment full bore. also he's crazy attracted to her and doesn't want to admit it.and while mia does come from a wealthy family and has had every privilege in the world at her fingertips, she's also not a snob. she doesn't believe she is entitled and doesn't act like it either. while she hasn't been on her best behavior with brady, she can't explain why he gets her back up every time they are in a room together. mia is also a businesswoman under pressure to prove herself to her brother and father in an impossible situation.as brady and mia spend time together not arguing, they realize that the simmering attraction has the potential to be something real. but mia is keeping something big from brady. something that affects him personally and that if it weren't for the nda she signed she would reveal to him in a heartbeat. when brady stumbles across the truth there is anger and hurt to go around. because brady still has that chip. and it's a little easier to believe something you've always carried with you, than someone new.but all mia needs is a little faith. she needs brady to trust that she will make everything right for him. because she cares deeply about him and about kendrick place. it's more than just her heritage, it's her home, it's the community of people who have become her friends. kendrick place is something worth preserving and she will do her best to make it happen. for the family of friends she's chosen at kendrick place, for herself, but also for brady.**hate to love him will publish on july 17, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (bliss) in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Jennifer Pierson
    July 24, 2017
    Mia Kendrick has been given a test, and she won't fail, as her father never treated her like her brother in business, instead he thought she should be an ornament on some successful man's arm. But Mia doesn't feel the same way, so she's bound and determined to fix the things that her brother messed up. So she's returned home to manage Kendrick Place, which is special in her eyes, as it was the first place that her family started with, and she won't let anyone, much less a hot man who gives her b Mia Kendrick has been given a test, and she won't fail, as her father never treated her like her brother in business, instead he thought she should be an ornament on some successful man's arm. But Mia doesn't feel the same way, so she's bound and determined to fix the things that her brother messed up. So she's returned home to manage Kendrick Place, which is special in her eyes, as it was the first place that her family started with, and she won't let anyone, much less a hot man who gives her butterflies, stand in her way. Brady Davis is a very charming, happy go lucky guy to everyone but Mia. For whatever reason she rubs him the wrong way, as he's worried that her focus on the bottom line will mess with him and everyone in the building that he considers family. Will he be able to get past the walls that she has put up to get to know the real Mia? Hate to Love Him was a sweet story that I did enjoy. It took me a bit to get invested in the characters, but the entertaining cast of secondaries were on point. The story line was fast paced, and I quickly turned the pages to see what her family was really up to, and the twist of that really came out of left field, leaving me with my mouth hanging open. Jody Holford has a talented writing style that is very easy to read, but IN MY OPINION, the ending was a bit too rushed for me. However, I was intrigued enough that I wouldn't be opposed to more of Mia and Brady, (hint hint), as I would love to see what their future looks like. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
    more
  • Lynn Reynolds
    July 20, 2017
    Mia Kendrick is not having a good day. She has a very tough job and at times she has to do something she doesn’t like to do. Brady Davis has gone out of his way to help those that he likes. It’s interesting to watch this hate/love relationship begin and flower.Mia seems to always have to prove herself. She also seems to have a hard time trusting people this makes it hard to make friends and have relationships. It also seems like her job rules her life – makes it hard to be a woman. Brady seems t Mia Kendrick is not having a good day. She has a very tough job and at times she has to do something she doesn’t like to do. Brady Davis has gone out of his way to help those that he likes. It’s interesting to watch this hate/love relationship begin and flower.Mia seems to always have to prove herself. She also seems to have a hard time trusting people this makes it hard to make friends and have relationships. It also seems like her job rules her life – makes it hard to be a woman. Brady seems to be a very easygoing type of guy. He also seems to really care about people – a true book boyfriend. They are two people on opposites of the spectrum and it’s hard to picture these two as a couple. But if you are patient things will begin to piece together in this sweet romance. It takes time to warm up to Mia but Brady seems up for the challenge.This book is part of a series but if this is your first book that’s ok because this could be read as a standalone. I always love an ending that has me smiling. It’s a great introduction to this author if you’ve never read her work before. And if you have read her work maybe this will have you wanting to read more – she has plenty to choose from.I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
    more
  • Caro
    July 17, 2017
    3.5-4 stars.I really liked this one.Much like the rest of the series, I enjoyed this one. This time we hear from Brady and Mia. We know a little bit of them from the previous books. Brady came off a super protector of the tenants at Kendrick Place and this one, we learn why that is. I loved this guy, he truly protected those he cared about, although I wasn’t happy with the constant judgment he did on Mia. I was glad he got to really know her and see those thoughts were false, but I wanted to kic 3.5-4 stars.I really liked this one.Much like the rest of the series, I enjoyed this one. This time we hear from Brady and Mia. We know a little bit of them from the previous books. Brady came off a super protector of the tenants at Kendrick Place and this one, we learn why that is. I loved this guy, he truly protected those he cared about, although I wasn’t happy with the constant judgment he did on Mia. I was glad he got to really know her and see those thoughts were false, but I wanted to kick his ass every time he said something mean to her.As for Mia, she was SO much than what she showed the world, nothing like expected. She lived a very lonely life, barely counting on her family (except her grandma), and let’s not even mention people who called themselves her ‘friends’. I loved that she opened up to the people at Kendrick Place, she really needed friends and non-judgmental people around her.As for the two of them together, it was fun watching them fall for each other, but deny it so much, lol.This was a great story to complete (?) this series and looking forward to more from Ms. Holford.*Thank you to Entangled Publishing for providing an ARC in exchange of my honest opinion*
    more
  • Lucia
    July 17, 2017
    A fun, light-hearted, enemies to lovers romanceHate to Love Him is a fun, light-hearted, enemies to lovers romance. Having read the previous two books, I have been eagerly awaiting this book and I have to admit, it surprised me a little with the characters (in a good way). While this is part of a series this can be read as a standalone.Told from dual perspective, Mia and Brady are two strong people where there is a lot more to them than meets the eye. Mia is one of those characters where you wil A fun, light-hearted, enemies to lovers romanceHate to Love Him is a fun, light-hearted, enemies to lovers romance. Having read the previous two books, I have been eagerly awaiting this book and I have to admit, it surprised me a little with the characters (in a good way). While this is part of a series this can be read as a standalone.Told from dual perspective, Mia and Brady are two strong people where there is a lot more to them than meets the eye. Mia is one of those characters where you will possibly get a little frustrated with her but overall, the two characters were likeable. For fans of the series, we once again get to catch up with familiar faces who are just as loveable while we are also introduced to some other characters, some not so nice, some who will touch you with their problems. If you enjoy a light hearted hate to love style romance, definitely give this book a read!*I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book from Entangled Publishing via NetGalley. I was not compensated for my review, and I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion expressed here is my own.
    more
  • Jessica
    July 13, 2017
    Mia Kendrick has come back from her stint in Europe to take the opportunity to run Kendrick place. She is trying hard to prove to her father and brother that she can handle business matters just as well as they can. Everything is going well except her run-ins with Brady Davis. Brady is concerned that Mia is just in it for big business. He's afraid that it will interrupt the close-knit community that they have there. Sparks fly between the two and the more they butt heads the closer they get to s Mia Kendrick has come back from her stint in Europe to take the opportunity to run Kendrick place. She is trying hard to prove to her father and brother that she can handle business matters just as well as they can. Everything is going well except her run-ins with Brady Davis. Brady is concerned that Mia is just in it for big business. He's afraid that it will interrupt the close-knit community that they have there. Sparks fly between the two and the more they butt heads the closer they get to something more.In an Oyster Shell - A satisfying romance that is clean. It's nearly perfect!The Pearls - The setting is an old building where there are residents that have made a community. The camaraderie between the tenants makes for a cozy atmosphere that is tangible to the reader. The history behind the building helps set the ambiance for the book. The building is the setting for the whole series and it really works well.The characters were distinctive and well-done. Mia was a strong heiress but she was compassionate and malleable. Brady was a heart-warming character that was down to earth. The compliment of Mia and Brady was nice. They were from different sides of the tracks but met in the middle somehow.The romance was slow-burning. It really went from a hate to love relationship. It was clean which I really liked. Even though it was clean there was still some tangible heat.This book was really good. It was nearly perfect the first 5 pearls I've given in a while.5 Pearls!
    more
  • Melena Torretta
    July 17, 2017
    I loved the first two books in the Kendrick Place series and the third installment, Hate to Love Him, doesn't disappoint!Brady has been a presence in the first two books as a easygoing, friendly, and sweet guy. You get to know him a little, but not much past the fact that he's good friends with the other tenants of the building. Mia appears briefly in book two as well, but there's not much learned about her.I am so glad they turned out to be the couple for book three! They both have big hearts a I loved the first two books in the Kendrick Place series and the third installment, Hate to Love Him, doesn't disappoint!Brady has been a presence in the first two books as a easygoing, friendly, and sweet guy. You get to know him a little, but not much past the fact that he's good friends with the other tenants of the building. Mia appears briefly in book two as well, but there's not much learned about her.I am so glad they turned out to be the couple for book three! They both have big hearts and really want the best for Kendrick Place, but they continually rub each other the wrong way.Watching them grow to appreciate and understand each other was fun, and I really liked that Mia was strong and willing to stand up for what she believes in.A 5 star book and a great finish to the series!Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Nicole Smith
    July 22, 2017
    4.5 StarsI've been waiting for this after finishing The Bad Boy Next Door. I was instantly intrigued by Brady and Mia. This book lived up to my expectations. I just gobbled it right up. I really liked Mia. Though she comes from money she isn't like the rest of her family and it's hard for her to trust anyone's motives. Coming to Kendrick Place will be the best decision ever for her because she just may get more than she anticipated. Brady is a good guy, but he quickly judges Mia and his opinion 4.5 StarsI've been waiting for this after finishing The Bad Boy Next Door. I was instantly intrigued by Brady and Mia. This book lived up to my expectations. I just gobbled it right up. I really liked Mia. Though she comes from money she isn't like the rest of her family and it's hard for her to trust anyone's motives. Coming to Kendrick Place will be the best decision ever for her because she just may get more than she anticipated. Brady is a good guy, but he quickly judges Mia and his opinion of her is not great. He's in for a surprise once he gets to know her because once he peels the layers away he may just like what he sees. I loved getting to see the previous characters from the series enjoying their HEAs and how welcoming they are to Mia. She needs friends and they are just the people to fill that role.
    more
  • Crystal Yawn
    July 15, 2017
    Third in the series, can be read alone, but the characters build on each other. I'd like to go back and read one to fill in the gaps about Owen and Gabby. Book 3 brings us the dynamic grouping of Mia and Brady. All that tension can only go one of two ways, violent or between the sheets. Brady has always been very likable. He gets along with everyone in the building and has a very likable good ol'boy personality. That I'd until he's around Mia, where all the sudden he's not very likable. He jumps Third in the series, can be read alone, but the characters build on each other. I'd like to go back and read one to fill in the gaps about Owen and Gabby. Book 3 brings us the dynamic grouping of Mia and Brady. All that tension can only go one of two ways, violent or between the sheets. Brady has always been very likable. He gets along with everyone in the building and has a very likable good ol'boy personality. That I'd until he's around Mia, where all the sudden he's not very likable. He jumps to conclusions and is very judgmental. Mia is very guarded and has a hard time letting people get close. She has a lot hidden behind her designer clothes and all one has to do is be her friend to see it all. The characters in this story are great. Really sounds like the type of place one would want to live. A close knit community of apartments that take care of each other. Mia and Brady are explosive and you never know which way is up until the last page. Lots of fun to read and never boring.
    more
Write a review