Flee, Be Silent, Pray
When daily prayer and Bible study leaves a Christian anxious, doubtful, and frustrated, is there any hope for finding peace with God?Ed Cyzewski grew up in a restrictive Catholic Church, immersed himself in the hard-working world of evangelical Christianity as the path to knowing God, and then graduated uncertain about praying or finding God. The Christian prayer tradition known as contemplation, primarily preserved in monasteries through practices such as centering prayer, was the answer he didn’t want to find. If his Protestant faith was going to survive, he needed to move beyond his past grudges in order to learn Christian meditation and contemplative prayer from Catholic teachers.Contemplative prayer goes beyond the limits of Bible study and experiences the loving presence of God described in the scriptures. While scripture and spiritual disciplines have their place, Cyzewski learned that the unstoppable love of God forms the foundation of all Christian spirituality, and that daily contemplative prayer helps us rest in God’s loving presence.Using Henrí Nouwen’s The Way of the Heart to highlight the three movements into contemplation with the words flee, be silent, pray, Cyzewski found what it means to quiet his religious anxiety by resting in the love of God. Anxious evangelicals and Christians on the brink of losing their faith will find an accessible path toward using this simple, proven approach to daily prayer.

Flee, Be Silent, Pray Details

TitleFlee, Be Silent, Pray
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 19th, 2017
PublisherAmazon Digital Services
Number of pages131 pages
Rating
GenreChristian

Flee, Be Silent, Pray Review

  • Miah Oren
    June 19, 2017
    I wish my church had read this book when I was growing up. So often as an evangelical, silence is dismissed in favor of spectacle, of performance, and filling space with impressive-sounding words. I quickly learned that as a person who favored silence and solitude, I didn't quite belong.Ed Cyzewski's book encourages us to escape the pressure of our busy, productivity-addicted culture by exploring what silence and solitude have to offer our anxious hearts, minds, and bodies by being fully present I wish my church had read this book when I was growing up. So often as an evangelical, silence is dismissed in favor of spectacle, of performance, and filling space with impressive-sounding words. I quickly learned that as a person who favored silence and solitude, I didn't quite belong.Ed Cyzewski's book encourages us to escape the pressure of our busy, productivity-addicted culture by exploring what silence and solitude have to offer our anxious hearts, minds, and bodies by being fully present. It charts a path away from a task-driven anxious faith toward a deeper peace with God.I highly recommend this book to anyone who is exhausted or anxious in their faith.I received an advance review copy of this book.
    more
  • JD Reynolds
    June 20, 2017
    Ed Cyzewski's newest book is the primer to spiritual practices that everyone anxious (or cynical) evangelical needs. A person could spend hours collecting different articles and books on the subject, and weeks reading them. Cyzewski condenses all of this and makes it accessible, with anecdotes that demonstrate how to put these practices into daily use and a list of resources for further explanation. I received an advanced copy and have already encouraged my friends to purchase it.
    more
  • Natalie Hart
    June 6, 2017
    While my Christian culture isn't American evangelical, I do suffer with anxiety and grew up in a Christian culture that emphasizes duty and obedience, and often treats faith as an intellectual matter. This book is a lifeline. It encourages us to bring more rest into our spiritual practices, to spend time in God's presence, to release our need for results and definable progress, to release our use of mountain-top experiences and stunning revelations as proof that we're on the right track. Flee, B While my Christian culture isn't American evangelical, I do suffer with anxiety and grew up in a Christian culture that emphasizes duty and obedience, and often treats faith as an intellectual matter. This book is a lifeline. It encourages us to bring more rest into our spiritual practices, to spend time in God's presence, to release our need for results and definable progress, to release our use of mountain-top experiences and stunning revelations as proof that we're on the right track. Flee, Be Silent, Pray is a call to return to our spiritual roots and to the time-tested practices of the desert fathers and mothers, a call to let our spiritual roots extend way down deep in God's love for us, which we can do nothing to earn and which can utterly transform us. I've been on that path of seeking to rest more in God, of adding gentleness with myself to my spiritual practices, of accepting my status as God's beloved child, and this book is a tremendous encouragement to keep going. Many moments made me cry, this one especially, because I can never hear it enough: "Whether you need a booming voice from heaven to shake you free from your anxious thoughts or you need a gentle whisper to call you back to your first love, God is speaking to you right now in this place...This message is for you if you can take it on faith, even right now: 'You are my child, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.'"
    more
  • Heather Caliri
    June 6, 2017
    This book proved to be a deep exhale and release from a lot of anxiety about contemplative prayer. I've been drawn into these powerful practices in recent years, but my perfectionism and anxiety made it hard to practice regularly, or feel like my experience was "successful". I also had practical questions: when--how--how much--and that niggling anxiety, -am I doing it right?-Ed's gentle book gives readers a good introduction to the history and theological underpinnings of contemplative prayer. H This book proved to be a deep exhale and release from a lot of anxiety about contemplative prayer. I've been drawn into these powerful practices in recent years, but my perfectionism and anxiety made it hard to practice regularly, or feel like my experience was "successful". I also had practical questions: when--how--how much--and that niggling anxiety, -am I doing it right?-Ed's gentle book gives readers a good introduction to the history and theological underpinnings of contemplative prayer. He demystifies the practices without being prescriptive or reductive. He emphasizes again and again that the journey into contemplation is the point, not any 'results' we achieve. I found his incredibly kind, gracious book a huge relief. I look at my practice with different, more calm eyes, and feel connected to God because of the decrease in anxiety the book helped engender. Though I feel like Ed's book is a good jumping off point, and not the end-all-be-all of contemplative books, I would guess he would agree--it's precisely his point. He provides so many helpful quotes and references to writers with more experience in these disciplines that his book is a great primer. Readers interested in deeper knowledge of these disciplines have a built in bibliography to guide them.Highly recommended, especially if contemplative disciplines make you nervous.
    more
  • Lisa notes
    June 23, 2017
    When we think we don’t pray enough or don’t do it right, this book can erase our anxiety. Ed Cyzewski presents fresh (yet age-old) ideas about how to enjoy God’s presence through prayer in quieter ways, using less words but with just as much meaning. Topics include praying through the words of others (Psalms, Jesus’ prayers, etc.), praying with the Examen and Divine Hours, and praying in silence (Centering Prayer, etc.)Whether you’re new to contemplative prayer or have been doing it for years, t When we think we don’t pray enough or don’t do it right, this book can erase our anxiety. Ed Cyzewski presents fresh (yet age-old) ideas about how to enjoy God’s presence through prayer in quieter ways, using less words but with just as much meaning. Topics include praying through the words of others (Psalms, Jesus’ prayers, etc.), praying with the Examen and Divine Hours, and praying in silence (Centering Prayer, etc.)Whether you’re new to contemplative prayer or have been doing it for years, this book will inspire your practice and increase your awareness of the presence of God. I appreciate getting to read an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Lisa
    June 29, 2017
    It's so refreshing to read a book about a spiritual practice and feel relieved rather than pressured, excited rather than anxious. In this book, Ed offers evangelicals another way to spiritual growth. A way that can't be measured or controlled, one that is unpredictable and a little bit scary. I can't wait to get started on my contemplative prayer journey.
    more
  • Pamela
    June 29, 2017
    A Real Treasure Having been an anxious Evangelical for many years, this book is truly a Godsend. It confirms so many of the things God has been teaching me about simply being with Him, living in His presence. Contemplative prayer opens up a whole new world of rest and peace with Christ in our belovedness. A wonderful, helpful book!
    more
Write a review