Take Me with You
For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time.Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploration of what it means to heal and to be different in this strange age. Take Me With You, illustrated throughout with evocative line drawings by Sarah J. Coleman, is small enough to fit in your bag, with messages that are big enough to wake even the sleepiest heart. Divided into three sections (love, the world, and becoming) of one liners, couplets, greatest hits phrases, and longer form poems, it has something for everyone, and will be placed in stockings, lockers, and the hands of anyone who could use its wisdom.

Take Me with You Details

TitleTake Me with You
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 23rd, 2018
PublisherPlume Books
ISBN-139780735219519
Rating
GenrePoetry, Lgbt, Glbt, Queer

Take Me with You Review

  • Chelsea
    January 1, 1970
    Andrea Gibson prefers they/them pronouns, so can you please stop misgendering them in your reviews?!
  • Romie
    January 1, 1970
    20 October 2017: This is probably the purest poetry collection I've ever read.I know poetry is extremely personal, you have to connect to an author's personal experience to really enjoy what this person has to say, and fortunately for me I did connect with Andrea Gibson. They touched my heart on so many levels, reading their poetry collection was a beautiful experience.There is a huge message of hope hiding behind all these poems, and this collection isn't trying to sell you some easy and polis 20 October 2017: This is probably the purest poetry collection I've ever read.I know poetry is extremely personal, you have to connect to an author's personal experience to really enjoy what this person has to say, and fortunately for me I did connect with Andrea Gibson. They touched my heart on so many levels, reading their poetry collection was a beautiful experience.There is a huge message of hope hiding behind all these poems, and this collection isn't trying to sell you some easy and polished hope, no, it's telling you ‘here, here's what you can hope for the future, but it won't happen in one day, you'll have to work for it, but trust me it's worth it.’I simply cannot wait to have this poetry collection in my hands.IT'S OKAY.EVERYBODY'SSURVIVAL LOOKSA LITTLE BIT LIKEDEATH SOMETIMES.Thank you Netgalley for providing me an e-arc in exchange for an honest review. 3 February 2018: I am still so in love with this book of poetry. I bought a physical copy the day it was released because of how much it meant to me when I first read it as an ARC.
    more
  • Beatrice Masaluñga
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Since I adore Rupi Kaur's poems, I'm intrgued to give Take Me With You a try. It's a LGBTQ poem collection which explores various topics. The topics that highlighted this book were political and family related poems. Raising their voices as they struggled on being accepted by the society and their love ones. It's written with such rawness and I like it. However, some poems aren't my cup of tea particularly about love. I thought the I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Since I adore Rupi Kaur's poems, I'm intrgued to give Take Me With You a try. It's a LGBTQ poem collection which explores various topics. The topics that highlighted this book were political and family related poems. Raising their voices as they struggled on being accepted by the society and their love ones. It's written with such rawness and I like it. However, some poems aren't my cup of tea particularly about love. I thought they're bland and unoriginal.
    more
  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    January 1, 1970
    I like the idea and sentiment of these poems but I feel like the poet barely scratches the surface. It is more like they are presenting the reader with brief sentiments rather than fully developed poems. I feel like there is a lot more there, and using their themes of the intersection of politics and love, love-as-resistance, etc., I would just say, please do more with these ideas.As they are, they fall into the Instagram/Tumblr poetry category... some compare with Rupi Kaur but I would only agr I like the idea and sentiment of these poems but I feel like the poet barely scratches the surface. It is more like they are presenting the reader with brief sentiments rather than fully developed poems. I feel like there is a lot more there, and using their themes of the intersection of politics and love, love-as-resistance, etc., I would just say, please do more with these ideas.As they are, they fall into the Instagram/Tumblr poetry category... some compare with Rupi Kaur but I would only agree with that if the comparison is to Rupi's one sentence poems. I would have liked to see the same variety in this work. There is also at least one direct trauma mention, and as I've mentioned previously, I think we need a subgenre or a new word for some of this poetry that seems to be coming out of therapy and trauma. It isn't the same as literary poetry and I keep feeling misdirected when I pick it up. This is not the poet's fault. I should throw in my usual caveat, in that if you are ten years younger than me and you are exploring what love looks like, especially in an LGBTQ world, these may connect more directly to you. Thanks to the publisher for providing early access to this through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This volume comes out January 23, 2018.
    more
  • Agirlcandream
    January 1, 1970
    Go to Andrea Gibson’s website, https://www.andreagibson.org/ and see how they are marketing this little pocketbook of inspirational quotes."A pocket book, by Andrea Gibson. Out January 23rd, 2018A book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time.Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the ex Go to Andrea Gibson’s website, https://www.andreagibson.org/ and see how they are marketing this little pocketbook of inspirational quotes."A pocket book, by Andrea Gibson. Out January 23rd, 2018A book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time.Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploration of what it means to heal and to be different in this strange age. Take Me With You, illustrated throughout with evocative line drawings by Sarah J. Coleman, is small enough to fit in your bag, with messages that are big enough to wake even the sleepiest heart." Andrea Gibson is a non-binary spoken word artist whose YouTube videos are heartfelt and powerful. I dare anyone to listen to the video ‘Orlando” and not be affected by her honesty and powerful presence. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNadn...This little pocket book moved me. Gibson distills the thoughts of many of us living on the fringe of accepted society. Well done. eARC received with thanks from publisher via NetGalley for review.
    more
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    I didn’t feel this collection of poems to be very impactful. Review: bit.ly/2HAQyNL*A copy of this book was provided to me by Penguin Random House Canada*
  • Brandon Forsyth
    January 1, 1970
    I laughed as much as I cried. It was a huge mistake to take this book out in public.
  • Abantika(hiltonjenkin)
    January 1, 1970
    Disclaimer: Got a pre release ARC copy through Net Galley for an honest review.Expected Publication Date: 13 February, 2018Take Me With You is a collection of LGBTQ poems written by Andrea Gibson. And is divided into three segments: Love, The World and Becoming, through which it explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness.Few of the poems were really well written and touches your heart. But many were just, Just Bad. Among which some were too cliched and some cri Disclaimer: Got a pre release ARC copy through Net Galley for an honest review.Expected Publication Date: 13 February, 2018Take Me With You is a collection of LGBTQ poems written by Andrea Gibson. And is divided into three segments: Love, The World and Becoming, through which it explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness.Few of the poems were really well written and touches your heart. But many were just, Just Bad. Among which some were too cliched and some cringe worthy.(I would have quoted some of the poems from the book so that you all could decide yourselves but I'm not allowed to do so with my ARC.)I will still give it a '3 star' rating as few of the poems were excillent. But again, the all over experience was disappointing. Honestly, reading the title and the blurb I really expected to like this poetry collection.
    more
  • Maria
    January 1, 1970
    I didn't mean to read Take Me With You in one sitting, but the bus ride was long and at every page I felt more alive. It was an emotional roller coaster that I will certainly be taking again... and again and again and again.These are excerpts of poems. Some of them were new to me, some I've had the pleasure of listening to live. Some of these few lines managed to take me right back to that extraordinary moment when Andrea Gibson was in front of me, their voice everything. They are magic and they I didn't mean to read Take Me With You in one sitting, but the bus ride was long and at every page I felt more alive. It was an emotional roller coaster that I will certainly be taking again... and again and again and again.These are excerpts of poems. Some of them were new to me, some I've had the pleasure of listening to live. Some of these few lines managed to take me right back to that extraordinary moment when Andrea Gibson was in front of me, their voice everything. They are magic and they are real.I hope that whoever runs into this collection without having read them before feels the need to dive, eyes and heart open, into their complete body of work. It's an experience.Couldn't be more grateful for the ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley.
    more
  • jenni
    January 1, 1970
    sorta trite insta-poet-like fluff punctuated by watered-down platitudes that make this kind of bottom-shelf stylizing of what is otherwise an amazing poet's polished and refreshing form into something completely lacking the much-anticipated depth. andrea gibson is a mystifying poet! but this formatting continues to embarrass me.
    more
  • Adrianna
    January 1, 1970
    I originally was going to give this book 2 stars, but the more I read the more I started to like it. It’s not my favourite poetry book I’ve read but I felt a range of emotions and even laughed around while reading this book. I always appreciate an author that can make me feel more than one emotion and Andrea Gibson did just that.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Thoughts after I finished it: The moment I was finished I immediately reread all of it again and I can see myself rereading it over and over again in the near future as well. Full review(originally posted on The Writing Hufflepuff)Disclaimer: I received an arc of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, this means that the author may have made changes in the final print and some of the quotes used in this review may have been changedThis book was absolutely beautiful and it’s s Thoughts after I finished it: The moment I was finished I immediately reread all of it again and I can see myself rereading it over and over again in the near future as well. Full review(originally posted on The Writing Hufflepuff)Disclaimer: I received an arc of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, this means that the author may have made changes in the final print and some of the quotes used in this review may have been changedThis book was absolutely beautiful and it’s so hard to put my thoughts and feelings into words. First, let’s talk about the formatting though, because that confused me a bit at first and looking at some Goodreads review, I wasn’t the only one.This book, as I understood it, consists of three poems. Not multiple short ones, but three long poems. You can distinguish them because they’re numbered and by their names: On Love, On The World and On Becoming, but I can see why some people on Goodreads are confused and thought there are multiple short poems, because I did at first too.Another important thing to know going in this book, is that Andrea Gibson is at the forefront of the spoken word movement. Before I knew that, I thought the poems read like spoken word poetry. Knowing that Gibson is a spoken word poet, I think this was deliberate. Some reviewers on Goodreads criticised the use of all caps, but I read that as Gibson raising their voice, like they do in spoken word poetry.Now that we got that out of the way, let’s talk about the book in more detail. I absolutely love spoken word poetry. I’m not an expert on poetry, but it’s probably my favourite form. Thus, Take Me With You was right up my alley, especially since it’s LGBTQ+ poetry.I found Take Me With You absolutely beautiful, heartbreaking, powerful… I’m starting to feel like Lady Gaga hereBut seriously, I am in awe and in love with this book. I have no words. Once I finished it, I immediately reread it again and cried my eyes out a little bit more. I’ve marked pretty much the entire book on my kindle and I need a physical copy to hold close and take with me* asap.* Ha see what I did thereThere were so many powerful quotes, but I also loved how easily Gibson switched between serious or beautiful and funny''I find great comfort in believing anyone who has ever broken up with me has probably never gotten over my dog.''I cannot for the life of my choose one favourite quote, as there are so many. I laughed, smiled and cried (hard) at this amazing book. Some of the sentences in her poems are pure and wholesome, and like I said funny, others? Broke my heart completely and left me a mess.''When the first responders entered the Pulse nightclub after te massacre in Orlando,they walked through the horrible scene of bodies and called out, ”If you’re alive, raise your hand.” I was sleeping in a hotel in de midwest at the time but I imagine in that exact moment my hand twitched in my sleep – some unconscious part of me aware that I had a pulse,that I was alive''Again, I have no words to describe how I feel about this book, what it meant reading it and how much I love it. I highly recommend picking this one up.
    more
  • Rita
    January 1, 1970
    Take Me With You is definitely an appropriate title. As I finished reading I felt that this would be a wonderful book to keep with you and read passages from whenever life is getting you down because “beating yourself up is never a fair fight.”There are three parts that cover sexuality, gender, politics, feminism, family and accepting oneself. I breezed through this little book in half an hour but I was so taken with it that I know I’ll find myself revisiting it often. Not to mention, the illust Take Me With You is definitely an appropriate title. As I finished reading I felt that this would be a wonderful book to keep with you and read passages from whenever life is getting you down because “beating yourself up is never a fair fight.”There are three parts that cover sexuality, gender, politics, feminism, family and accepting oneself. I breezed through this little book in half an hour but I was so taken with it that I know I’ll find myself revisiting it often. Not to mention, the illustrations were such a delightful addition, I felt they added whimsy and charm to balance out the important topics mentioned in the text.While I enjoyed every part of this little pocket book, I think Part I was my favorite. It reads like an open love letter. Maybe not in the traditional sense, but rather, to lovers past, present, and future. Gibson does an incredible job of capturing our state of mind as we become more aware of ourselves and our sexuality and how we interact with others.The rest of the book I found myself nodding in agreement or smiling because it felt like they really get it, you know? It felt like the author was taking my hand and guiding me through. Not necessarily gentle at times, but in a way that I felt like I was truly learning something. I found that comforting. I’m admittedly not an expert in poetry and at times this book read more like a collection of statements, but each one touched me as an affirmation to some of my own feelings or as an eye opener to things I hadn’t thought about until now.I would definitely recommend giving it a look.I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Bree Hill
    January 1, 1970
    Loved Pansy by Andrea Gibson so I was very excited when I learned she had another poetry collection coming out. This one was okay to me. I hate to compare it to Pansy but Pansy completely blew me away! I couldn’t recommend it enough! I was trying to put in the hands of anyone I could. This one just didn’t leave me with that feeling. The good thing about Poetry is that everyone interprets it different and there are collections that if you read them initially at the wrong time you may reread them Loved Pansy by Andrea Gibson so I was very excited when I learned she had another poetry collection coming out. This one was okay to me. I hate to compare it to Pansy but Pansy completely blew me away! I couldn’t recommend it enough! I was trying to put in the hands of anyone I could. This one just didn’t leave me with that feeling. The good thing about Poetry is that everyone interprets it different and there are collections that if you read them initially at the wrong time you may reread them later and be astounded at what you’re reading! Hopefully that’s the case with this one for me.
    more
  • Kate
    January 1, 1970
    There were parts of this that I loved, parts I liked, and parts that were okay- but the parts I loved, I really loved. It's not all quite poetry, but lovely bits of words stringed together in interesting and exciting ways. This is my first introduction to Andrea Gibson, but I'm looking forward to what they write in the future!
    more
  • Cookielover
    January 1, 1970
    Some good ones; most of them I didn’t care for and couldn’t relate to.
  • KayCee K
    January 1, 1970
    Take Me With You by Andrea Gibson is a wonderfully written poetry. It is also a collection of LGBTQ. This is this first for me, I've never read LGBTQ inspired poetry book before. With lines like" You keep worrying you're taking up too much space I wish you'd let yourself be the Milkyway" and "I told myself I was built like a song..." are powerful lines woven into these pages. There's a balance of upbeat poems to deeper more meaningful words. This book shows today's world in these lines of poems Take Me With You by Andrea Gibson is a wonderfully written poetry. It is also a collection of LGBTQ. This is this first for me, I've never read LGBTQ inspired poetry book before. With lines like" You keep worrying you're taking up too much space I wish you'd let yourself be the Milkyway" and "I told myself I was built like a song..." are powerful lines woven into these pages. There's a balance of upbeat poems to deeper more meaningful words. This book shows today's world in these lines of poems that reflect in a truthful way that explores significant themes to today's' world from love to politics to gender, family, and feelings. Take Me With You also has drawings, I also enjoyed the font and layout of the book. This is a must-read for anyone who enjoys poetry.
    more
  • Loring Wirbel
    January 1, 1970
    Let's say this out loud: This is not a book of the kind of marvelous poetry Andrea Gibson gives us in Pansy or The Madness Vase. Instead, Take Me With You is a set of Zen koans set in large cartoon-style typeface with accompanying illustrations. The small size of the book is intended for it to be used as a collection of pocket aphorisms, and for that I'd just as soon pick Gibson as a guide as well as anyone. While the author is best known in the LGBTQ community, and the first section of the book Let's say this out loud: This is not a book of the kind of marvelous poetry Andrea Gibson gives us in Pansy or The Madness Vase. Instead, Take Me With You is a set of Zen koans set in large cartoon-style typeface with accompanying illustrations. The small size of the book is intended for it to be used as a collection of pocket aphorisms, and for that I'd just as soon pick Gibson as a guide as well as anyone. While the author is best known in the LGBTQ community, and the first section of the book is focused on gay love, Gibson's enthusiasm for life and her insistence on defaulting to joy makes this a fine pocket reference guide.I'll give both Gibson and the publisher credit for name-checking Rupi Kaur's small poetry volume, Milk and Honey, from which this book takes its stylistic reference. But don't think of this as Gibson or Penguin/Random House cashing in on a trend. Rather, Gibson uses the Kaur format to present interpretations of life that are startling, if occasionally a reach. The second two sections takes Gibson into a wide world of broken humanity, reminding us that kindness and joy may be the shortest distance between two points, but kindness also can be a helluva lot of work - even if it's worthy and enriching work (the koan on page 123 of the ARC, on kindness and gardening, is good enough to stand in for the book at large).The only reason I gave this book three stars is because I know the stunning poetry Gibson is capable of giving the reader, and this is not one of those books. It's a simple, straightforward quick read, but one that is quotable for years to come. And hey, it's good to see poetry of any sorts in the bestseller list again. If Gibson and Kaur can sell zillions of copies of this minimalist poetry for dummies, it's a great leap past Richard Brautigan, in any event.
    more
  • Lenora Good
    January 1, 1970
    Note: Book will not be available until 13 February 2018Disclaimer: I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewIf I read at the beginning of this book that Ms. Gibson is a member of the LGBTQ community, it didn't register, because I don't really care. However, if you do care, you need to know, because she is a lesbian, and her poetry shows it.Reading an electronic ARC I missed the white space the printed page would give. I assume each wee poem or aphorism will appear on its Note: Book will not be available until 13 February 2018Disclaimer: I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewIf I read at the beginning of this book that Ms. Gibson is a member of the LGBTQ community, it didn't register, because I don't really care. However, if you do care, you need to know, because she is a lesbian, and her poetry shows it.Reading an electronic ARC I missed the white space the printed page would give. I assume each wee poem or aphorism will appear on its own page in the final form. On my eReader (phone) they appear to be on a long, single page, all running together, and the mix of fonts distracted, especially the middle-of-the-word caps, e.g., FIght. Those bothered me the most and threw me out of the book each time I came to one. I had to stop, re-read, decide what I thought she was saying, and determine whether or not it was misspelled.This book, as I read it, is a mix of good, bad, and so-so writings. I felt it was un-polished, and perhaps not up to her normal standard of writing. Even so, I could relate to much of what she wrote.
    more
  • Marzie
    January 1, 1970
    Boulder, Colorado poet Andrea Gibson has been writing about gender, orientation, and social and political LGBTQ issues for more than a decade. Their eminently quotable work first broke onto the scene with poetry slam performances in the early 2000's. "Take Me With You" is a volume of love found and lost poetry that also touches on one of their frequent themes- being, whether the risks of being yourself, of being lost, or of being here. With beautiful ink and gouache illustrations, the book speak Boulder, Colorado poet Andrea Gibson has been writing about gender, orientation, and social and political LGBTQ issues for more than a decade. Their eminently quotable work first broke onto the scene with poetry slam performances in the early 2000's. "Take Me With You" is a volume of love found and lost poetry that also touches on one of their frequent themes- being, whether the risks of being yourself, of being lost, or of being here. With beautiful ink and gouache illustrations, the book speaks not just to LGBTQ persons but to anyone who has struggled with becoming who they really are, or to those searching, finding, losing love.Gibson, who also records albums of poetry with music, recently released their latest album, "Hey Galaxy."
    more
  • Caitlin
    January 1, 1970
    Received free from Penguin First to Read, my thoughts are my own.These prose poems sometimes are so short they don't really seem like poems, just short, pithy sayings. There are longer ones, too, enough the book doesn't feel too short. And there are illustrations, some full page, to keep the pages from looking bare.The poems cover love, heartbreak, and gender roles. Many are thoughtful and thought provoking, some take a moment to soak in. Whether you enjoy it is going to depend on what kind of p Received free from Penguin First to Read, my thoughts are my own.These prose poems sometimes are so short they don't really seem like poems, just short, pithy sayings. There are longer ones, too, enough the book doesn't feel too short. And there are illustrations, some full page, to keep the pages from looking bare.The poems cover love, heartbreak, and gender roles. Many are thoughtful and thought provoking, some take a moment to soak in. Whether you enjoy it is going to depend on what kind of poetry you enjoy. If you're not wedded to traditional forms, and enjoy discussions on love and equality, give it a try.
    more
  • Emma Rund
    January 1, 1970
    This cute little collection of poetry had some beautiful moments, but I would not give it a metal. I really enjoyed the pairing of poems and drawings, and there were a few poems that I loved, but there were also a lot of poems that fell flat for me. I do believe poetry is an extremely personal form of literature, so everyone will react differently. I think if you can relate to the author's struggles you might really enjoy this.
    more
  • Guillermo
    January 1, 1970
    I'll start by saying, I love Andrea Gibson's poetry. Love the performances posted in YouTube. I've been a fan the moment I first heard "I Do." And "Maybe I Need You" is by far my favorite poem by the poet. When I saw this little book at the store, I knew I must have it. There was some disappointment when I realized this wasn't a new work by Gibson, but a compilation of past works. It is still beautiful and powerful and a must read for poetry lovers.
    more
  • Luke Gorham
    January 1, 1970
    Full disclosure: this style of soundbite poetry is aggressively not my style. It is to poetry what Drake is to hip hop: an endless flow of one-liners, some good, some not, but very few constituting anything more than #wordporn-level substance. Why Gibson felt the draw to explore this particular form is baffling to me. Pansy is one of the best collections of the decade, a thematically rich and formally impressive exercise in poetic gymnastics, and this style feels decidedly cheap. Low-rent. Click Full disclosure: this style of soundbite poetry is aggressively not my style. It is to poetry what Drake is to hip hop: an endless flow of one-liners, some good, some not, but very few constituting anything more than #wordporn-level substance. Why Gibson felt the draw to explore this particular form is baffling to me. Pansy is one of the best collections of the decade, a thematically rich and formally impressive exercise in poetic gymnastics, and this style feels decidedly cheap. Low-rent. Clickbait poetry. That said, Gibson does about as good as they can here with the chosen form. The collection is (mostly) devoid of the trite, self-help platitudes that dominated Rupi Kaur's latest collection (and the final section of her first), and there's a few genuine stunners here. But when you're working with nearly 200 micro-poems, a 5% success rate can only leave you so satisfied.
    more
  • Sassafras Lowrey
    January 1, 1970
    I read this entire book on a very long trip to the Home Depot —— it was an aesthetically beautiful book and I love Andrea Gobson’s poetry but I’ve listened to all of their CDs/albums many times and I didn’t realize this book was inspirational quotes pulled directly from their poems. I’m glad it was a library book
    more
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    This felt more like a series of affirmations rather than poems. But it well worth a read. Really enjoyed the author's quirky original view and expression. Some of it resonated but some of it missed it for me which is why I've only given it 3 stars. Some of the material is definitely 5 stars but other's aren't.I will be seeking out more of her work.
    more
  • Jessica Ciarcz
    January 1, 1970
    I really did not enjoy this book mostly because I had a lot of trouble following it.
  • Rainey
    January 1, 1970
    A solid collection with an interesting format, but not nearly as perfect as previous volumes.
  • Nikiverse
    January 1, 1970
    Checked this out from the library, I would not have paid for it! Nice sentiments though. But like a lot of tumblr poetry out there ... I wanna hear something deeper than a tweet.
  • camille fredrickson
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely loved this collection. Picked it up for the cover, devoured it because of the amazing prose.
Write a review