His Temptation (The HIS Collection, #4)
Dog walking was supposed to be Katie’s easy third job.When she answered the ad, she had no idea she’d be working for Clay “The Grinch” Colson—recently retired baseball superstar. He’s every bit as intimidating as the scowl he’s famous for, and Katie believes the rumors she’s heard about how mean he is are true—until she sees him with his overgrown, crazy Boxer, Dixie.Lucky Katie gets completely unexpected, front-row seats to a side of Clay the tabloids never captured. Every. Single. Morning. And the more she’s exposed to his gruff affection, the more she can’t help thinking there’s so much hiding behind that scowl… The more she wonders what she’d have to do to have him call her his good girl.Every morning, the sexiest woman he’s ever seen comes to his house and calls him Daddy. Sure, she’s his dog walker, but that doesn’t mean she has the right to sashay into his world every morning, plant that saucy little gaze on him, and say, “Good morning, Daddy.”Now that’s all he can think about—being her very dirty daddy.Enjoy the other books in the His Collection by Jenika Snow, Roxie Brock, Frankie Love, Dani Wyatt, and Aria Cole.

His Temptation (The HIS Collection, #4) Details

TitleHis Temptation (The HIS Collection, #4)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
Number of pages112 pages
Rating
GenreNovella, Adult Fiction, Erotica, Romance, Contemporary Romance, Did Not Finish, Short Stories, Contemporary

His Temptation (The HIS Collection, #4) Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    June 10, 2017
    His Temptation by Amber A. Bardan is part of the six book His series by six different authors. Amber is a new to me author and I want to say up front that I fell in love with this book. These two, Katie and Clay, were perfect for one another. And for the first time, I feel like I have a better understanding of the Daddy/baby girl relationship. Katie is a dog walker, nanny, pastry chef, and big sister to six little brothers. She is twenty three years old, and has never not had to take care of oth His Temptation by Amber A. Bardan is part of the six book His series by six different authors. Amber is a new to me author and I want to say up front that I fell in love with this book. These two, Katie and Clay, were perfect for one another. And for the first time, I feel like I have a better understanding of the Daddy/baby girl relationship. Katie is a dog walker, nanny, pastry chef, and big sister to six little brothers. She is twenty three years old, and has never not had to take care of other people. She has never had someone just take care of her! But she is also sweet, funny, quirky, compassionate, and such a strong young woman. A year ago she took the job as Clay “The Grinch” Colson’s dog walker for his adorable boxer, Dixie. Clay never smiles and wears a permanent scowl. But Katie has seen how he interacts with his dog and she knows that there is more to him. Clay Colson, baseball legend and construction tycoon, looks forward to Katie’s arrival every morning and also dreads it. She is his reason for getting up in the morning and the source of his torture, every time he looks at her. “What’s wrong with me that I’m so hungry for the approval of a man who always looks at me as though I’ve done something wrong?” Clay has been fighting his obsession with Katie for so long and just can’t do it anymore. But he feels like she deserves so much more than what he can offer her. The more he learns of the responsibility she is shouldering, the more he wants to help her, care for her. “You know what helps forgetful girls?”“What?”“Consequences.”He’s misunderstood. I’m not scared of what he’s going to do. I’m about to expire from wanting it. What did I love about this book? Just about everything. Clay and Katie treated the daddy/baby girl role play as just that, a game, pretend. When they were serious, they called each other by their real names. Clay didn’t try to run Katie’s life, he just wanted her. He wanted to help her, care for her. And Katie knew how to dish it out. She knew just what buttons to push to get the reaction she wanted out of Clay. She made him smile, brought out a playful side in him. “He’s not trying to be my non-existent father, he wants to be my daddy. The man who’s going to take care of me. Protect me. Punish me. Make me scream.” I loved these two together. Katie was just one of those characters that got to me. I loved this book and look forward to exploring other works from this author. I am so enjoying this series. “You’re turning into a very spoiled girl.”I am - with him. With him I get to be spoiled. With him I get to be everything I’m not.
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    June 7, 2017
    The cover is very good in my opinion. It is sexy and a somewhat good representation of the hero. All the books in this series have similar covers, and they are all excellent with great composition and eye-catching typography.This was another great read in this series. The writing was fabulous. The pace was great. The plot was pretty well-rounded for it being a novella. There are smokin' hot sex scenes. A little angst. No OW/OM drama. Two very likable main characters. Neither were virgins (thankf The cover is very good in my opinion. It is sexy and a somewhat good representation of the hero. All the books in this series have similar covers, and they are all excellent with great composition and eye-catching typography.This was another great read in this series. The writing was fabulous. The pace was great. The plot was pretty well-rounded for it being a novella. There are smokin' hot sex scenes. A little angst. No OW/OM drama. Two very likable main characters. Neither were virgins (thankfully). In fact, the heroine seemed to enjoy a healthy sex life before the hero (shocking I know!) All wrapped up in an OK one year later epilogue. Two thumbs up from yours truly.
    more
  • ♡Tonya♡
    June 10, 2017
    Hot. Short. Safe Really enjoyed this story- my first from this author. -no cheating-no ow/om -neither virgins-hero pushed away slightly-steamy-daddy kink-no violence -just ok epilogue, 1 year out
  • Talltree
    June 13, 2017
    3.5 stars!
  • ♥ WishfulMiss ♥
    June 20, 2017
    This is the story of Clay and Katie Retired baseball star Clay and his teasing dog sitter Katie finally give in to their mutual attraction. This story was basically some raunchy smut, a sprinkle of outside the bedroom interaction and a lot of insta-lust/love. Why it didn’t work for me: The pacing was super fast and felt like giant parts of the relevant story were missing. I wanted something sweet and short and this delivered only one of those. The Daddy play was confusing, mainly because the h This is the story of Clay and Katie Retired baseball star Clay and his teasing dog sitter Katie finally give in to their mutual attraction. This story was basically some raunchy smut, a sprinkle of outside the bedroom interaction and a lot of insta-lust/love. Why it didn’t work for me: The pacing was super fast and felt like giant parts of the relevant story were missing. I wanted something sweet and short and this delivered only one of those. The Daddy play was confusing, mainly because the h, Katie was unsure half the time on whether they were “playing” or not. If she doesn’t know where they stand, how should the reader?But the biggest fault was the amount of time they spent together. It literally was all about the sex and the play. I never felt any really emotional connection. It was all very wham-bam-thank-you-Daddy. When the author throws in situations that lead me to think there is more to their relationship then sex, she skims over it and resolves it with zero page time. For example, when Katie’s 3 year old brother goes missing, the search, the recovery and then the family reunion all happens off page. It was all told and not experienced. Then there’s Clay’s reason for distancing himself from Katie, I thought for sure we’d finally get to see some in depth emotion from Katie and Clay and again it was rushed and easily resolved.By the end of this quickie read, it really just felt like a waste of my time, I didn’t feel anything for anyone in this story and when the story has a missing kid and a health scare, that’s saying something. Memorable Moments: Because it made me laugh . . .Her horse whisper freezes me. (I’m pretty sure it was meant to be “hoarse” whisper but I instantly pictured a horse whispering and couldn’t hold in the burst of laughter over it.) SAFETY (view spoiler)[Ages: Clay is 36 and Katie is 23. Neither are virgin.Cheating: None.OM/OW drama: None.Separation: A small one of 1-2 weeksPush/Pull:Yes, by the H, he believes his cancer, which had been in remission for a while, is back. He feels like Katie is too young to be burdened by his medical issues. He tries to break things off but Katie doesn’t let him. In the end we find out his cancer is not back. Main Pursuer of relationship: Katie is the one to tease and taunt Clay into finally giving in. She is also the one to go after him once she finds out the real reason he pushed her away.Triggers: Cancer scare (H), missing child (h’s younger brother), Daddy playHEA/HFN: Ends with a HFN and a 1 year later epilogue that shows their HEA. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • ReadingisMyEscape
    June 12, 2017
    No rating as I DNF'd fairly quickly. Daddy/LG role play was just too much for me to overcome. Had it been mentioned and only slightly played out I would have been ok but this was in my face to much.
  • C
    June 9, 2017
    3/5Safe read-Insta love-H not a man whore-both not virgins-Daddy play-some pushing away-no Ow drama-HEA no epilogue
  • Janna ♥ I'm A Sweet And Sassy Book Whore ♥
    June 12, 2017
    3.5 stars***This and other reviews can be found at www.imasweetandsassybookwhore.com ****ARC*I love a good quick and sexy read and that is exactly was His Temptation was. I wanted something I could read quickly before having to start doing things that I have been putting off and I was able to read this one in about an hour or so. It was hot, it was sexy and it was a pretty good one. We have a cocky hero that has a reputation of coming across as an asshole and we have a not so innocent heroine wh 3.5 stars***This and other reviews can be found at www.imasweetandsassybookwhore.com ****ARC*I love a good quick and sexy read and that is exactly was His Temptation was. I wanted something I could read quickly before having to start doing things that I have been putting off and I was able to read this one in about an hour or so. It was hot, it was sexy and it was a pretty good one. We have a cocky hero that has a reputation of coming across as an asshole and we have a not so innocent heroine who wants her boss. Clay was what Katie needed and she was what he needed as well. This is quick so there isn’t a whole lot to the plot and I almost wish it would have been a bit longer especially when we learn about a secret of Clays I think it should have had more attention that it got but besides that I overall really enjoyed His Temptation.
    more
  • Janice Somers
    June 7, 2017
    Love this story. This is such a great story. It's hot/wet, dirty/filthy and a crazy Boxer...Katie has three jobs and dog walker is the last one. Katie hasn't had it easy growing up with her mother and six siblings. She just has to help hold everything together. But she has a plan. She is working different jobs and going to school.Clay gets to see Katie every morning when she comes to walk Dixie and says "Good morning, Daddy."Clay is retired from baseball and he has a reputation as "The Grinch" u Love this story. This is such a great story. It's hot/wet, dirty/filthy and a crazy Boxer...Katie has three jobs and dog walker is the last one. Katie hasn't had it easy growing up with her mother and six siblings. She just has to help hold everything together. But she has a plan. She is working different jobs and going to school.Clay gets to see Katie every morning when she comes to walk Dixie and says "Good morning, Daddy."Clay is retired from baseball and he has a reputation as "The Grinch" until you see the real man she sees with Dixie.These two are so hot together and when they plan it is even hotter.
    more
  • Amber Bardan
    May 28, 2017
    Coming VERY SOON!
  • Christiann Igou
    June 10, 2017
    WowThe storyline was amazing and Was beautifully written. This is a faced easy read but well worth it! Loved the chemistry between Clay & Katie, their love is genuine and playful all wrapped in one sizzling sexy package!
  • Jamie
    June 11, 2017
    Great short readThis well written story was a great short read with interesting characters. It was sizzling enough to get the blood pumping! Lol
  • Sam
    June 8, 2017
    Dirty, dirty, dirty, but soooo good! You gotta love that broody man that just melts for his liitle girl. This was a new author for me, and I will be looking for more books by this author.
  • April Symes
    June 18, 2017
    His Temptation is a fantastically good quick and dirty sexy read . Katie has three jobs and dog walker is the last one. She comes from a family of 6 children and a single mother and she is the oldest of the siblings (she is 23 yrs old) . She just has to help keep everything together and that’s where her plan comes in- She is working different jobs and going to school. She always is sweet, keeps positive and does whatever is asked of her. Clay Colson, baseball legend and construction tycoon hire His Temptation is a fantastically good quick and dirty sexy read . Katie has three jobs and dog walker is the last one. She comes from a family of 6 children and a single mother and she is the oldest of the siblings (she is 23 yrs old) . She just has to help keep everything together and that’s where her plan comes in- She is working different jobs and going to school. She always is sweet, keeps positive and does whatever is asked of her. Clay Colson, baseball legend and construction tycoon hired Katie to be his dog walker and in the year she has had this position with him, there has been this attraction building. He looks forward to her coming to walk his dog Dixie. Katie has become his obsession and he just is at his wits end with fighting that obsession. The more he learns of the responsibility she has, the more he wants to help her, care for her, do for her. This book had everything I loved-- the daddy/baby girl role play, When they were in the moment, they called each other daddy/baby girl and when they were serious, they called each other by their real names. There was this story with a great plot with emotions, angst, hot sexy passion and a fantastic ending. I loved it and would love to see more stories like this from Ms. Bardan.My Rating: 4.8 stars *****"I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Teresa
    June 9, 2017
    I really liked this story.The ages of the two characters were perfect, Katie's in her twenties, clay in his thirties. I'm not a fan when the girl is really young compared to the guy, always find it abit icky! The chemistry was smoking with these two, really well suited, perfect for each other. Clay had the whole dark and brooding alpha thing going on and Katie was light and fun, perfect to balance him out.
    more
  • Xavier Neal
    June 15, 2017
    Great read if....You enjoy insta love, quick reads, Daddy play, hot sex, and an HEA.Side Note: This was the first book by Amber and I enjoyed her writing. It was easy to enjoy, quick to get through, and I particular like how she handled her man POV. She kept it strong and I appreciated that. While Daddy Play is not a kink everyone enjoys, I myself enjoy a read that handles it well. That doesn't make it creepy or unrealistic or put all the emphasis on JUST that aspect. She did great. This was an Great read if....You enjoy insta love, quick reads, Daddy play, hot sex, and an HEA.Side Note: This was the first book by Amber and I enjoyed her writing. It was easy to enjoy, quick to get through, and I particular like how she handled her man POV. She kept it strong and I appreciated that. While Daddy Play is not a kink everyone enjoys, I myself enjoy a read that handles it well. That doesn't make it creepy or unrealistic or put all the emphasis on JUST that aspect. She did great. This was an enjoyable read that if you are interested in that specific type of sexual activity, to def check out.
    more
  • Jen
    June 16, 2017
    I really enjoyed this story. Both main characters were down to earth, and I liked their interactions and how they talked things through. The DD/lg dynamic was very well done because of their willingness to discuss their needs and boundaries, and everything just meshed to create an engaging lust-to-love story.
    more
  • Gavinsmommaloves2read
    June 7, 2017
    i love the His books. His Temptation was amazing. i love the daddy theme and it was hot hot hot! sweet and oh so sexy...
  • Eve Hart
    June 11, 2017
    I love me some Amber Bardan. She is my go to for fast-paced, sexy contemporary romance.This book, while not my favorite of her books, is still a good read.Clay is recovering from the end of his baseball career and trying to build his construction business. Along comes sexy, distracting dog walker, Katie. He tries to resist her but...well, she TRIES to tempt him, which annoys me. There's a different between being sexy and seductive with feminine wiles, and just being flat out desperate. Going bra I love me some Amber Bardan. She is my go to for fast-paced, sexy contemporary romance.This book, while not my favorite of her books, is still a good read.Clay is recovering from the end of his baseball career and trying to build his construction business. Along comes sexy, distracting dog walker, Katie. He tries to resist her but...well, she TRIES to tempt him, which annoys me. There's a different between being sexy and seductive with feminine wiles, and just being flat out desperate. Going braless and getting herself wet with the hose seemed like something a high schooler would do to get the quarterback into bed. Yes, she's young but she isn't a virgin. Her attempts to lure Clay were clumsy and only made me cringe. Also, Katie's mind is a hodge-podge of childish thoughts and stupid ones.On the other hand, Clay has the filthy mouth and daddy kink thing going. Who doesn't want a sexy older man to take care of her need--sexual and material? While I don't get how calling your sexual partner "daddy" is a turn on, I do get how thrilling it can be to give in to a supposedly taboo desire.I can't stand the character of Katie. She annoys me and I can't get behind her motivations. I liked Clay as a seducer and giver of pleasure. So, I'm torn. I want to give more stars, but because of the ridiculousness of Katie as a likable character, I can't give it more than three stars. This book would have been better with a more mature heroine--as in a young woman with mature thoughts and motivations.
    more
  • Jennifer Finn
    June 11, 2017
    3 1/2 STARSOne thing that really annoyed me about this book was the H constantly saying that h had "horny tits", I don't know how that's even possible but the phrase was used a few times and it was icky. Clay Colson is a 36 year old retired baseball star whose nickname is "The Grinch". He never smiles for photographs and is now trying to be taken seriously as a businessman. He started his own company, Colson Magnus Construction Company with his BFF and former teammate, Blake Magnus. Katie is 23 3 1/2 STARSOne thing that really annoyed me about this book was the H constantly saying that h had "horny tits", I don't know how that's even possible but the phrase was used a few times and it was icky. Clay Colson is a 36 year old retired baseball star whose nickname is "The Grinch". He never smiles for photographs and is now trying to be taken seriously as a businessman. He started his own company, Colson Magnus Construction Company with his BFF and former teammate, Blake Magnus. Katie is 23 years old, working three jobs and taking classes to be a pastry chef. She has 6 younger brothers and as much as she loves her Mom she also knows how disorganized she is. She still lives at home so she can help her Mom financially and with watching her brothers. One of her jobs is walking dogs one of which is Daisy, Clay's dog. Clay is equally attracted to and annoyed by Katie and he feels horrible for wanting her so badly. He notices how she's always in a rush and looks exhausted and definitely doesn't seem to be getting enough to eat and all he wants is to take care of her. Katie enjoys her time every morning with Clay and she knows he's not as mean as the tabloids have made him out to be. She also knows she shouldn't be having dirty thoughts about her boss but she can't seem to help herself. This book was good but one thing I can't stand is either the H or the h pushing the other away after they've already been together. I don't want to give anything away but I find it difficult to believe especially with his past that he would've been made to wait all that time to be seen.
    more
  • Sparklybearsy
    June 11, 2017
    I am one of those not on trend women who nopes out of daddy books. I've tried them and they're just not my shortbread biscuit, BUT when I saw my crack-author Amber Bardan had gone daddy I had a little team talk with myself and decided I had to read because Amber! She writes so gorgeously if anyone could sway me to the dark side It would be her. While it's not going to be my fave book of hers ( I tried, I really tried! ) the whole daddy trope just isn't for me. If I took that out of the equation, I am one of those not on trend women who nopes out of daddy books. I've tried them and they're just not my shortbread biscuit, BUT when I saw my crack-author Amber Bardan had gone daddy I had a little team talk with myself and decided I had to read because Amber! She writes so gorgeously if anyone could sway me to the dark side It would be her. While it's not going to be my fave book of hers ( I tried, I really tried! ) the whole daddy trope just isn't for me. If I took that out of the equation, this was a short sexy read and the characters fully formed for a novella. And as always Amber's writing is effortlessly lush. If you're into this trope, then you'll love the writing and the sexy story.
    more
  • Becky Rendon
    June 9, 2017
    Never really been a fan of the "Daddy" kink but I have to say this is the first time it didn't make me feel creepy. Normally, I get twitchy and can't finish or start (for that matter)- no matter the size. But His Temptation was hot and I could see myself opening up to future Daddy's girls.Amber Bardan keeps it classy but naughty as Hell- just the way I like it. Classy as in, a smart ass Katie making sure her punishments met all her needs.I definitely had fun reading it. I think if you ask nicely Never really been a fan of the "Daddy" kink but I have to say this is the first time it didn't make me feel creepy. Normally, I get twitchy and can't finish or start (for that matter)- no matter the size. But His Temptation was hot and I could see myself opening up to future Daddy's girls.Amber Bardan keeps it classy but naughty as Hell- just the way I like it. Classy as in, a smart ass Katie making sure her punishments met all her needs.I definitely had fun reading it. I think if you ask nicely, Daddy will meet your needs too.
    more
  • Neringa Neringiukas
    June 11, 2017
    Honestly, I'm not sure how to rate this book. I'm not against taboo or dd/lg play, though I'm not really that much into the latest one, but... Okay, I'm good with Clay. He's possessive, protective and someone who wish to take care of his girl. On the other hand, Katie was too needy, too clingy for my liking. And I just couldn't like her. Not even a tiny bit. So, yeah, I'm not sure how to rate. Because while the story is good, h a little ruined it for me.
    more
  • Amara
    June 18, 2017
    Okay, this is some daddy play I can get behind. Meaning, it only happens during play, and not as a complete lifestyle. Cause, ya know, as I've said. That's fucking weird.
  • Carol
    June 11, 2017
    4.5 stars.
  • MillsyLovesBooks
    June 11, 2017
    His Temptation is sixth and final book that i have read from the The His Collection. Even though this is the last one i have read they DO NOT follow in any order its just how i have read them. And to be honest i'm glad this one was the last!! Why well because the saying goes save the best for last and that certainly happened here. This is still a novella but was longer than the others in the collection which i loved. "Morning, Daddy." MotherfuckerKatie is a twenty-three year old woman trying to His Temptation is sixth and final book that i have read from the The His Collection. Even though this is the last one i have read they DO NOT follow in any order its just how i have read them. And to be honest i'm glad this one was the last!! Why well because the saying goes save the best for last and that certainly happened here. This is still a novella but was longer than the others in the collection which i loved. "Morning, Daddy." MotherfuckerKatie is a twenty-three year old woman trying to balance life with her jobs. She's shy, caring, compassionate and a bundle of energy. Clay is Katie's brooding boss and even though his dog walker drives him crazy he can't seem to dismiss her. Try as he might to distance himself, Clay is the only one noticing that she's drowning in her commitments. He feels very protective of her and wants to take care of her.When their relationship explodes into more they come to realise each has quite the fantasy for Daddy/baby girl kink. "Consequences help naughty, forgetful girls to remember to behave."This story was Daddy/BabyGirl heaven its chemistry and passion between Katie and Clay was beautiful to read. I know you might be thinking this is a smutty read but they can still have passion and be sweet, beautiful and kinky altogether. Especially when the story is wrote well and Amber Bardan has certainly delivered that with His Temptation.I'm a fan of each of these authors and this collection of short smutty Daddy reads is a great addition to each of the authors. If you're a fan of these type of stories then this collection will be a must read for you. Their easy lighthearted fun OTT reads and i love them everyone needs that break and these short reads give you that.Six books dedicated to Daddy’s everywhere by fabulous steamy authors.
    more
  • Angela
    June 8, 2017
    I graciously received this ARC from the Author in exchange for an honest reviewAnother first time read for me! I am not going to rehash my sentiments on this subject AGAIN in this review, but I did learn something about myself reading this particular novella in the HIS collection and have enjoyed it more than the previous than its predecessors. Bardan did an amazing job of making a distinction between "play time" and everyday life that made this a better reading experience for someone like mysel I graciously received this ARC from the Author in exchange for an honest reviewAnother first time read for me! I am not going to rehash my sentiments on this subject AGAIN in this review, but I did learn something about myself reading this particular novella in the HIS collection and have enjoyed it more than the previous than its predecessors. Bardan did an amazing job of making a distinction between "play time" and everyday life that made this a better reading experience for someone like myself that does not enjoy the Dd/Lg genre.The basics of the story are Clay Colson desires his twenty something year old dog walker Katie in a way he thinks he shouldn't. From the first moment she speaks for his dog Dixie, and calls him 'Daddy' he is done for. He spends so much time fighting this desire for Katie, that he doesn't notice that Katie desires him too. However, once the damn of desire that Clay has so carefully constructed has ruptured there is no turning back for these two.His Temptation is based on the pure animalistic desire of two people for one another. However, Bardan does an amazing job showing us how that desire has the ability to turn into something more. In this short novella we watch these two characters go from looking for ways to satisfy their sexual needs to loving each other in ways that no one else could. Their relationship grows from their physical desire of one another into something more, which in this case makes it strong for the trials they have to face in the future.I find myself drawn into Braden's writing and unable to anticipate where the story is going to lead. I will for sure be looking for more of her writing in the future.
    more
  • Dee
    June 11, 2017
    Opinion, is simply one individuals view, nothing more and nothing less.Wondering if perhaps I read a different book than everyone else… “His Temptation” was simply an OK read for me. Although the story line readily progressed, it didn’t seem to flow. I had difficulty with the writing style, found myself frequently confused (as if I missed something) and spent quite a bit of time going back to reread passages. It could have been the authors effort at building suspense but for me, only lead to con Opinion, is simply one individuals view, nothing more and nothing less.Wondering if perhaps I read a different book than everyone else… “His Temptation” was simply an OK read for me. Although the story line readily progressed, it didn’t seem to flow. I had difficulty with the writing style, found myself frequently confused (as if I missed something) and spent quite a bit of time going back to reread passages. It could have been the authors effort at building suspense but for me, only lead to confusion. The characterizations were a bit off as well. Even though I felt empathy for Katie’s situation, I never became invested in her character. Clay was even more difficult to decipher, his character spent a good portion of the book being distant, seemingly indifferent or perhaps too inhibited? I just never felt a true connection between the characters. Perhaps there was too much apprising and not enough demonstration? The DD/lg aspect of the story fell short for me as well. Once again, I can’t quite articulate what went wrong. Although the primary motivations of “caring for and protecting” were in place, the hunger was missing and the chemistry was lacking. In the DD/lg sphere, certain elements are usually present in the male lead such as possessiveness, dominance, control and intensity. I could not identify any of these qualities in Clay. The twist at the end did clarify some of Clay’s actions (or lack of) but did not compensate for the disjointed narrative throughout much of the novella.
    more
  • Lita Thomas
    June 12, 2017
    His Temptation by Amber Barden Part of the His Collection series of 6 books by 6 authors books written stories about alpha men. Clay is a retired ballplayer who has a reputation of being a very ornery and grumpy person. The only person who happens to even get a glimpse of a nice person is his dog walker Katie. She is a young lady who has a full plate of responsibilities and jobs. Katie helps her single mother with her many younger siblings, a part time nanny, dog walker and she goes to school to His Temptation by Amber Barden Part of the His Collection series of 6 books by 6 authors books written stories about alpha men. Clay is a retired ballplayer who has a reputation of being a very ornery and grumpy person. The only person who happens to even get a glimpse of a nice person is his dog walker Katie. She is a young lady who has a full plate of responsibilities and jobs. Katie helps her single mother with her many younger siblings, a part time nanny, dog walker and she goes to school to be a pastry chef. Clay has a thing for his dog walker but he knows there is an age difference between the two. However every time Katie calls him Daddy he has to do everything in his power to keep from jumping her bones. When he catches her doing something all bet are off and he goes for what he wants. But when he gets some news he ends up keeping her at bay hurting not only himself but Katie as well. I really liked this story. Not only was it funny but serious at times with a bit of kink. This was the first time I have read a book by this author and I will be reading more from her. I voluntarily read and Advanced Reader Copy of this book and give it 5 stars.
    more
  • Janice
    June 16, 2017
    A Review of His Temptation by Amber BardanOne sweet story - 5 starsBeing a cover snob, I have to say the cover is the first thing that drew me to this book, then the author and knowing how she writes. The connection between Katie and Clay is the kind that you want to experience for yourself. The fact that she has been walking his dog for a year now and things have NOT gotten into the feelings they both have for each other shows that it's not just a wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am type of story. There a A Review of His Temptation by Amber BardanOne sweet story - 5 starsBeing a cover snob, I have to say the cover is the first thing that drew me to this book, then the author and knowing how she writes. The connection between Katie and Clay is the kind that you want to experience for yourself. The fact that she has been walking his dog for a year now and things have NOT gotten into the feelings they both have for each other shows that it's not just a wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am type of story. There are so many things I would like to talk about, but that would be giving too many spoilers, which I don't like doing. I feel like anyone that wants to read the story will want to get all the 'feelings' that you can only get by reading the whole thing at your own pace. I have a lot of respect for Katie and the fact that she is willing to work three different jobs to take care of herself AND help her mother as much as she can with her six little brothers. Definitely worth the time and money to get this one, you will not be disappointed. **Honest review voluntarily provided from a Complimentary Copy**
    more
Write a review