The Devil in Beauty
"Stab the body and it heals, but injure the heart and the wound lasts a lifetime." Julian "Trev" Silvester, the Marquis of Trevelin, once had everything a gentleman could want--fortune, good looks, and enough charm to seduce the beautiful young ladies of the ton.But after a duel with a jealous duke leaves him disfigured, Trev is ostracized by those who once celebrated him. Though his life is irrevocably changed, Trev is still loyal to his friends. When Willy Gilbert is accused of murder and Lady Vawdrey's diamond necklace is stolen, he jumps at the chance to help them.As the two cases merge, however, Trev finds an unlikely ally in Miss Desdemona Woodmansey. She's the only young lady who doesn't seem put off by his scar and the scandal of the duel. But as their investigation into the murder reveals just how treacherous the mask of polite society can be, both Trev and Desdemona are placed in grave danger. Trev has already lived through the disgrace of a scandal, but can he survive a murderer who will do anything to protect a sinister secret?

The Devil in Beauty Details

TitleThe Devil in Beauty
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 21st, 2017
PublisherDunhaven Place Publishing
Number of pages294 pages
Rating
GenreMystery

The Devil in Beauty Review

  • Debbie
    July 17, 2017
    3.5 stars. "The Devil in Beauty" is a mystery set in 1811 in London. Lord Trevelin is disfigured and in social disgrace. When a friend is taken to Newgate Prison more because he's disabled than because he's likely to have murdered his brother, Trev investigates to find the true murderer. A man visiting from Barcelona helps him despite their rivalry over Miss Woodmansey, a short woman who likes them both and thinks it'd be exciting to help solve a mystery. Her role was more to cause tension than 3.5 stars. "The Devil in Beauty" is a mystery set in 1811 in London. Lord Trevelin is disfigured and in social disgrace. When a friend is taken to Newgate Prison more because he's disabled than because he's likely to have murdered his brother, Trev investigates to find the true murderer. A man visiting from Barcelona helps him despite their rivalry over Miss Woodmansey, a short woman who likes them both and thinks it'd be exciting to help solve a mystery. Her role was more to cause tension than to help, though.The mystery was complex enough that confession was required to confirm exactly what happened, though you could guess at parts. Trev had a temper and cruel tongue at times, but the main characters were generally interesting and engaging. The story was not a happy one. Quite a few people died from various causes, including suicide. Nice historical details about Newgate, social manners, and such were woven into the story.There was no bad language or sex. Overall, I'd recommend this interesting novel, though it was different from what I expected from the book description.I received an ebook review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • Amberly Lucas
    May 8, 2017
    I really loved this book!! I couldn't put it down! I read it over 2 days. Heidi pulls you into the regency world and its as if you are there with the hero. I really liked being inside Trev's head and viewing the story through his eyes! I admire Trev and how compassionate he was to those he was trying to care for even though he was shunned in Society. I can't wait for his next adventure!! Thank you so much Heidi for this opportunity to read this! I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I can't wait to se I really loved this book!! I couldn't put it down! I read it over 2 days. Heidi pulls you into the regency world and its as if you are there with the hero. I really liked being inside Trev's head and viewing the story through his eyes! I admire Trev and how compassionate he was to those he was trying to care for even though he was shunned in Society. I can't wait for his next adventure!! Thank you so much Heidi for this opportunity to read this! I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I can't wait to see Trev get his happy ending!
    more
  • Nancy Runyan
    April 27, 2017
    I don't usually put my opinions in print, but here goes. Heidi gave me a prepublication edition of this book, and I read it one day. Admitedly, it was very late when I finished. I love mystery books, and this is a very good one. Heidi's attention to Regency detail and language is wonderful. I love details and she has a keen eye for the mores of the time period. The characters develop many layers as they progress, and you need to pay attention to these details, because they come back at you when I don't usually put my opinions in print, but here goes. Heidi gave me a prepublication edition of this book, and I read it one day. Admitedly, it was very late when I finished. I love mystery books, and this is a very good one. Heidi's attention to Regency detail and language is wonderful. I love details and she has a keen eye for the mores of the time period. The characters develop many layers as they progress, and you need to pay attention to these details, because they come back at you when the story unfolds. There are some interesting twists and turns, and they are very believable. I don't want to give any spoilers, so, read it and enjoy it.
    more
  • Tammy Buchli
    June 30, 2017
    I struggled a bit with this one and if we were allowed half-stars, I'd have given this book 3 1/2 rather than 4. Ashworth certainly knows her way around Regency England, which I do appreciate, but I felt that the pacing was not what it should have been. This was a problem because the book was a mystery not a romance, and a nicely twisty-turny mystery, too. But a darkish mystery like this should have had a lot more pep. It felt like it was paced more like a romance. There were some surface simila I struggled a bit with this one and if we were allowed half-stars, I'd have given this book 3 1/2 rather than 4. Ashworth certainly knows her way around Regency England, which I do appreciate, but I felt that the pacing was not what it should have been. This was a problem because the book was a mystery not a romance, and a nicely twisty-turny mystery, too. But a darkish mystery like this should have had a lot more pep. It felt like it was paced more like a romance. There were some surface similarities to two other regency period mystery series that I love. But Trevelin doesn't seem to be a hero on par with either Ashley Gardner's Major Lacey or C. S. Harris' Sebastian St. Cyr. He was actually a bit of a whiner, frankly. Still, the twist in the final pages of the book has me very intrigued about future books in the series, so I will definitely keep reading.
    more
  • Kimberly
    May 12, 2017
    What an amazing story...I was pulled in from the get-go, and stayed on the edge of my seat until the last page! The characters are complex, as is the story line. Heidi Ashworth is one to watch...truly a storyteller extraordinaire!
  • Carolyn V
    May 19, 2017
    One of the best books I have read by Heidi Ashworth. The Regency mystery hooked me from the beginning and kept me captivated until the very end. It was such a good read, I read it in two days. Through the book I tried to guess who had done it and why, but was surprised at the ending. I can't wait for the next book in this series!
    more
  • Rosanne Lortz
    July 16, 2017
    The Devil in Beauty is Heidi Ashworth’s first foray into historical mystery and the first in a series with the Marquis of Trevelin as a detective.The characters were superbly painted, particularly the protagonist. Lord Trevelin (“Trev”) is a pariah in polite society. Not only did he fight a duel over a married woman, but he also received a horrific scar in the process. The disfigurement of his face causes stares and discomfort, and the pain of social rejection is poignantly portrayed as Trev str The Devil in Beauty is Heidi Ashworth’s first foray into historical mystery and the first in a series with the Marquis of Trevelin as a detective.The characters were superbly painted, particularly the protagonist. Lord Trevelin (“Trev”) is a pariah in polite society. Not only did he fight a duel over a married woman, but he also received a horrific scar in the process. The disfigurement of his face causes stares and discomfort, and the pain of social rejection is poignantly portrayed as Trev struggles to find any mother willing to have her daughter converse with him or any debutante willing to stand up with him at a ball. His desperation to find a friend is another aspect that Ashworth does marvelously, making Lord Trevelin a truly sympathetic protagonist.Other characters such as the diminutive Seyñor Rey and the capricious virago Lady Vawdrey also come alive from the pages, lending more color to the plot. Historical characters are portrayed as well, such as George Canning (with whom Trev lodges), and deftly woven into the fabric of the story.The story begins with a murder committed: a fifteen-year-old boy has been stabbed to death and his brother Willy–a man with a disabled arm and leg and limited speech capacity–is presupposed to be guilty of the crime. Trev and Willy have a longstanding friendship, from before either of them incurred their disabilities, and Trev is determined to prove Willy innocent. His far-ranging investigation involves a frightened tutor addicted to something other than teaching, a mysterious secretary-cum-housekeeper with violet eyes, a rash of disappearing females from the nearby workhouse, and a secret gambling ring in one of the neighboring houses.My one quibble with the story would be that the resolution to the mystery felt a little unrealistic and fantastical (particularly in a story that touched on a lot of emotional truths and that contained so much realism in other aspects). I am very excited, however, to see what the next Lord Trevelin mystery has in store for me…and I particularly want to know what revenge Trev’s cousin Evelyn is plotting for him, as the story of their dealings together continues to unfold.
    more
  • Cheryl Harrington
    May 17, 2017
    I was delighted to be one of the lucky few to receive a pre-publication copy of The Devil in Beauty, first in Heidi Ashworth's new Regency mystery series. And I'm equally delighted to report I was hooked from the very first page. The mystery is cleverly presented and deviously plotted with plenty of twists that kept me guessing all the way to the diabolical ending. Ms. Ashworth is a master at bringing the Regency era to life, crafting settings and characters so vivid you feel you know them intim I was delighted to be one of the lucky few to receive a pre-publication copy of The Devil in Beauty, first in Heidi Ashworth's new Regency mystery series. And I'm equally delighted to report I was hooked from the very first page. The mystery is cleverly presented and deviously plotted with plenty of twists that kept me guessing all the way to the diabolical ending. Ms. Ashworth is a master at bringing the Regency era to life, crafting settings and characters so vivid you feel you know them intimately. Her deft use of period language and manners is so "spot on" I felt immediately transported. Julian Silvester, the Marquis of Trevelin, is the perfect wounded hero - a complex character whose backstory is satisfyingly revealed one tantalising glimpse at a time. Overall, an excellent start to the Lord Trevelin Mysteries - bravo!
    more
  • Deborah Carter
    July 17, 2017
    This is a dark story. It is a regency, paranormal mystery. The romance does exist but, seems more of a by product. The hero, Trev, was involved in a duel as a second for his cousin. Trev wound up getting hurt. His cousin was not worth standing up for. Trev was ostracized socially for what society and the Earl believe he did. He also bears a disfiguring scar on his face, thus reminding all who see it of his supposed guilt. There are murders occurring. One such murder was a young boy and one was a This is a dark story. It is a regency, paranormal mystery. The romance does exist but, seems more of a by product. The hero, Trev, was involved in a duel as a second for his cousin. Trev wound up getting hurt. His cousin was not worth standing up for. Trev was ostracized socially for what society and the Earl believe he did. He also bears a disfiguring scar on his face, thus reminding all who see it of his supposed guilt. There are murders occurring. One such murder was a young boy and one was a poor young woman. Are they related? Who is screaming in the middle of the night in a neighboring home? There are to my mind some Jack the Ripper nuances at the end of the book. There is also a ghost. I would like to read the next book, now that I have something of a foundation for this character. I also hope that we get to see Trev obtain and maintain a romantic interest.
    more
  • Susan
    July 14, 2017
    October 1811 and disgraced Julian Silvester, the Marquis of Trevelin vows to clear his friend Willy Gilbert of killing his younger brother. An acquinatnce of his, Lady Vawdrey, has had her diamond necklace stolen and he agrees to find it and the guilty party. But is there a connection between the two events. His aim is to get back his good name and be welcomed back into society.I really enjoyed this well-written, historical mystery, with some good rounded characters and look forward to the next October 1811 and disgraced Julian Silvester, the Marquis of Trevelin vows to clear his friend Willy Gilbert of killing his younger brother. An acquinatnce of his, Lady Vawdrey, has had her diamond necklace stolen and he agrees to find it and the guilty party. But is there a connection between the two events. His aim is to get back his good name and be welcomed back into society.I really enjoyed this well-written, historical mystery, with some good rounded characters and look forward to the next book.A NetGalley Book
    more
  • Judy Benson
    June 26, 2017
    Lord Trevelin I took advantage of a free book offer and the book had twist and turns, surprises, intrigue. All of it. However I didn't find it an easy flowing read. Almost suffocated in all the words.
  • Leila
    June 5, 2017
    "Predictable" is not an adjective you'll find in reviews of writings of Heidi Baldwin Ashworth. She continually delights, entertains and amazes with her insightful and descriptive world of the regency era. The Devil in Beauty: A Lord Trevelin Mystery", might startle readers with an unexpected left turn by Heidi from the dominant romance driven plots to a mystery with surprising twists but not completely devoid of an element of romance. It's difficult writing a review without using dreaded spoile "Predictable" is not an adjective you'll find in reviews of writings of Heidi Baldwin Ashworth. She continually delights, entertains and amazes with her insightful and descriptive world of the regency era. The Devil in Beauty: A Lord Trevelin Mystery", might startle readers with an unexpected left turn by Heidi from the dominant romance driven plots to a mystery with surprising twists but not completely devoid of an element of romance. It's difficult writing a review without using dreaded spoilers to illustrate. Bottom line: I was not disappointed and excited about promises of more to come.
    more
  • Betsy
    May 11, 2017
    I am so honored you asked me to read and review this book. I really enjoyed it. I would say 4.5 stars but it's only because I have a feeling there will be a surprise from this book in a future book. But that's just my thinking and I could be totally wrong. If it wasn't for the fact that I know how Lord Trevalin ends up I would probably have been a lot more upset. Now I am only intrigued and can't wait for the next one. Definitely, not what I expected. Kept me guessing till the end and had me goi I am so honored you asked me to read and review this book. I really enjoyed it. I would say 4.5 stars but it's only because I have a feeling there will be a surprise from this book in a future book. But that's just my thinking and I could be totally wrong. If it wasn't for the fact that I know how Lord Trevalin ends up I would probably have been a lot more upset. Now I am only intrigued and can't wait for the next one. Definitely, not what I expected. Kept me guessing till the end and had me going back and forth with who done it. My favorite part of your style of writing are the dialogues between characters. So many writers today use such a simplistic modern day post dictionary dialogue that at any moment I expect a lord or a lady to lol or I cringe when they sound as if the highest educational level completed is elementary school.
    more
  • Lisa Mason
    April 28, 2017
    The first in a series began with a bang!!! The Devil in Beauty was a book I could not put down, I literally read the entire book in less than 24 hours. The story line was enticing and daring with characters who I couldn't help but love.Lord "Trev" is a man who has been cast in society as disreputable. The telltale scar on his face only seems to confirm his guilt. However, Heidi Ashworth will take you on a spin around London and you won't know from one page to the next who is the real perpetrator The first in a series began with a bang!!! The Devil in Beauty was a book I could not put down, I literally read the entire book in less than 24 hours. The story line was enticing and daring with characters who I couldn't help but love.Lord "Trev" is a man who has been cast in society as disreputable. The telltale scar on his face only seems to confirm his guilt. However, Heidi Ashworth will take you on a spin around London and you won't know from one page to the next who is the real perpetrator and who is honorable. Ashworth hits many high notes as she touches on issues such as innocence vs. guilt, rich vs. poor, popular vs. friendless, honesty vs. secrecy and flawed vs. beautiful.Too indulgent to pass up!!!
    more
  • Heidi
    April 26, 2017
  • Candy Briggs
    June 12, 2017
    This was a different kind of mystery. It has the usual intrigue, danger and murders. You are bought into the story with the descriptions and great characters. Trevelin is very much attracted to Miss Desdemona Woodmansey. But he has a terrible reputation and he has a rival. Senyor Juliol Rey of Barcelona who is as short as Miss Woodmansey and feels he must defend her honor. The plot takes a bunch of pieces and brings them together into an understandable whole. People are dying all around Trevelin This was a different kind of mystery. It has the usual intrigue, danger and murders. You are bought into the story with the descriptions and great characters. Trevelin is very much attracted to Miss Desdemona Woodmansey. But he has a terrible reputation and he has a rival. Senyor Juliol Rey of Barcelona who is as short as Miss Woodmansey and feels he must defend her honor. The plot takes a bunch of pieces and brings them together into an understandable whole. People are dying all around Trevelin and he has trouble seeing the parts. It is a complex tale with the murders, his two friends, one in jail and the other dead, his love life what there is of it, just so many factors, and more. It kept me mesmerized and I really loved it. The end was a surprise for me but I am so ready for the next book. The author did an excellent job of keeping all the parts together and making it a smooth, concise and well paced book. I received this book for free and voluntarily reviewed it.
    more
Write a review