Water's Mark (Zodiac Shifters, #15) (Lords of Krete, #1)
She's as fluid as waterCyane of the Pegaeae, spring nymphs, can cure any disease. Imprisoned for her powers not once, but twice, she's determined to return to her people. But that means escaping her second captor, the formidable Lord of a race of crab shifters, who has no intention of letting her go. Not until she's healed every last one of his people--a task which will drain the last drops of her powers.He's as rigid as stoneTheron, leader of the Karkinos, has vowed to save his people from a brutal disease, no matter the cost. So when a scintillating nymph with the power to heal them all falls into his lap, he'll do whatever it takes to keep her within his grasp--and far from his heart. Betrayed by those closest to him, Theron's hardened his shell so much, no one can penetrate his armor. Not even Cyane, though that doesn't stop her from demanding the one thing he's sworn he'll never give to anyone again--his trust.Only she can crack through his shellUnquenchable passions crash them into each other, binding their destinies, and their hearts. If they can stand together and fight the darkness claiming him from the inside out, they might find a way to save not only his people, but hers as well.The Lords of Krete series (a spin-off of the Halcyon Romance series)Five interwoven tales of allurement, redemption, and devotion where powerful, steadfast males and bold, spirited females battle the elements within themselves to prove that true love stays the course and conquers all.Water's MarkEarth's MarkAir's MarkFire's MarkAether's Mark

Water's Mark (Zodiac Shifters, #15) (Lords of Krete, #1) Details

TitleWater's Mark (Zodiac Shifters, #15) (Lords of Krete, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal

Water's Mark (Zodiac Shifters, #15) (Lords of Krete, #1) Review

  • Gina Roberts
    May 31, 2017
    Can a nymph, non-violent by nature, and a crab-shifter warrior find a way to save his people and fall in love?Thanks to Rachael Slate, they have their shot in Water's Mark: Cancer!As always, these characters will capture your imagination and your heart, leaving you eager for more about their lives, like that old friend who moved away.Although connected with the rest of the Halcyon series, this is a gateway to a land only referenced until now: Krete. The Centaurs of that as yet explored land have Can a nymph, non-violent by nature, and a crab-shifter warrior find a way to save his people and fall in love?Thanks to Rachael Slate, they have their shot in Water's Mark: Cancer!As always, these characters will capture your imagination and your heart, leaving you eager for more about their lives, like that old friend who moved away.Although connected with the rest of the Halcyon series, this is a gateway to a land only referenced until now: Krete. The Centaurs of that as yet explored land have been referenced in the Centaur Novellas and are officially introduced, briefly, here.New and old races appear, events that play a large role in the overall story are referenced just enough to give that connected feeling without overpowering the story of Cyane and Theron.If you've enjoyed the other Halcyon Romances, you'll find this a great addition to the story. If you haven't read any of the others, don't worry. This tale is strong enough to stand on its own...and it just might entice you to try more of the books.
    more
  • Cherri-Anne
    June 27, 2017
    His last hope. 5 MATING POOLSThis one tiny maiden was their miracle. you’re just the nymph I was looking for. Stroke me, if you dare. Oh, my. He was simply…magnificent. Go ahead, lass. You’re too full of light to shine into my dark world. HOLY KRETE!!! What a SPECTACULAR book that lorded over my heart right from the start!! I have been thoroughly "enjoying" - which is way too tame to describe it - Rachael's Halcyon World since the very beginning and have loved every single release, eagerly & His last hope. 5 MATING POOLSThis one tiny maiden was their miracle. you’re just the nymph I was looking for. Stroke me, if you dare. Oh, my. He was simply…magnificent. Go ahead, lass. You’re too full of light to shine into my dark world. HOLY KRETE!!! What a SPECTACULAR book that lorded over my heart right from the start!! I have been thoroughly "enjoying" - which is way too tame to describe it - Rachael's Halcyon World since the very beginning and have loved every single release, eagerly & impatiently waiting for the next one, and the next one and the next... I love how Rachael blended her phenomenal mythology stories with the Zodiac Shifters World! In my opinion, it takes a truly extraordinarily talented author to be able to do that and Rachael not only did it beautifully, but faultlessly and impeccably as well! Water's Mark is one cracking great story with surprises, twists & turns, secrets, romance, drool-worthy naughty moments and so much more! With her seductively, lush descriptions and captivating storytelling, I was so fully immersed into the story I felt like I truly lived it, experiencing every little element with, for and as the characters! It is one of those stories – and World – that is all encompassing, all consuming and I wouldn’t change that for anything! Rachael's unparalleled talent and genuine gift for crafting the exact kind of stories that I love, Love, LOVE to read, to live, had me laughing, bawling, gasping, cursing, holding my breath, panting, swooning, from beginning to end right alongside the characters I wish I really could be! The sassy, playful, caring, sweet nymph Cyane is one of my favourite characters in this Halcyon World! Then there's Theron. *dreamy sigh* He may be a very hard-headed leader of his people, and just like the crustacean he can become - which is beyond cool, by the way! - he has that tough, almost impenetrable outer layer, but when you get under that shell, he is one hot, Hot, HOT delectable morsel! snicker Sorry Theron! I couldn't resist! wink Once again, Rachael has transported me back into her MYTHTASTICALLY enriched Halcyon Romance World where I NEVER want to leave! Thankfully, it looks like Rachael and my fellow readers love it almost as much as I do, because there are more books on the horizon!! Mythology, paranormal and romance have never looked so RACHELICIOUSLY enchanting!! Only Rachael Slate could leave her Water's Mark on my bookshelf and heart!
    more
  • Lyn Mckenzie
    June 27, 2017
    I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book OMG Rachael Slate has created such an amazing Tale, I can't express how much I adored this book!!!! I have read a lot of this author's work and love her writing, I have to say that I love this one the most!!!There is such vitality to this book, it is definitely more than reading a book, its like living an experience, you are there with the characters, in their world experiencing it all with them. This is definitely a book I could read o I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book OMG Rachael Slate has created such an amazing Tale, I can't express how much I adored this book!!!! I have read a lot of this author's work and love her writing, I have to say that I love this one the most!!!There is such vitality to this book, it is definitely more than reading a book, its like living an experience, you are there with the characters, in their world experiencing it all with them. This is definitely a book I could read over and over again!!!! I adored the storyline, its not just about the two main characters, its about a whole community trying to stay safe and care about each other and that family is what you make it, not just about Blood and this is something that is extremely important to be so I could really relate to that aspect of the story. The other thing that I really enjoyed was the fact its crab shifters, it is very refreshing to not read about the same type of shifters, that the thing with this author, she brings us reader tantalising fresh ideas!!!I really took to the characters. Two very strong personalities and different in so many ways but still made for each other, complementing each other. The thing that I loved about Cyane is that she may be small and gentle, needing to heal people but she is a strong woman with a need for independence and a strong will and determination. She is not to be underestimated!!! I really felt for Theron from the start, he has a rough exterior but you could see he has reasons and it becomes quite clear that his one focus is his people and he will do anything to keep them safe and ensure their survival.This book definitely deserves my 5* rating and I seriously can't wait to the next Lords of Krete book and people need to get this book it really is amazing in how it captures you from the first page and doesn't let go until the last sentence. Trust me, you won't regret it!!!!
    more
  • Nikki Brooks
    June 13, 2017
    As a cranky crab myself, crab shifters were always going to be up my alley!! This is a cross over between Zodiac Shifters and Ms Slate's own Halcyon Romance series. Cyane dangled herself as bait and her adopted brothers were supposed to come and rescue her. But the best laid plans go awry and Cyane finds herself searching her prison for the vial containing her healing powers. When she is caught and manhandled by a very large figure and then carted off again, she really cannot believe her luck! T As a cranky crab myself, crab shifters were always going to be up my alley!! This is a cross over between Zodiac Shifters and Ms Slate's own Halcyon Romance series. Cyane dangled herself as bait and her adopted brothers were supposed to come and rescue her. But the best laid plans go awry and Cyane finds herself searching her prison for the vial containing her healing powers. When she is caught and manhandled by a very large figure and then carted off again, she really cannot believe her luck! Theron is the leader of his people, a race of crab shifters. Faced with the extinction of his race at the whim of a foul disease he is searching for a cure. When he comes across a thief who just consumed the very healing powers he was looking for, he takes the lad off home with him. But once they arrive he realises that this is no lad but a nymph!I loved this crossover! Mix a pacifist nymph and crab shifter warrior and you have a maelstrom of trouble! Cyane is sweet and snarky at the same time with a very un-nymph like outlook. Theron is beleaguered by family betrayal and the deaths of his subjects, which gave him a slightly skewed and unhinged outlook on life.
    more
  • Robin
    June 27, 2017
    I really enjoyed meeting another nymph and wow a crab shifter a first for me. This new series is an offshoot of the series about the war for love as Cyane is a nymph of healing that Philaeus had imprisoned and the Amazons and other centaurs had saved them and released them. However, Cyane wanted her healing gift back so she had to go to an area where Theron too was headed for that same vial. Cyane proved the better thief but Theron then captured her.I really recommend this story because it shows I really enjoyed meeting another nymph and wow a crab shifter a first for me. This new series is an offshoot of the series about the war for love as Cyane is a nymph of healing that Philaeus had imprisoned and the Amazons and other centaurs had saved them and released them. However, Cyane wanted her healing gift back so she had to go to an area where Theron too was headed for that same vial. Cyane proved the better thief but Theron then captured her.I really recommend this story because it shows a variety of emotions during the course of love for this pair. Ms. Slate kept me captivated and riveted to those pages as I devoured this story.I voluntarily read an advance copy and this is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Kathi
    June 25, 2017
    Terrific story of myth, magic and relationships!!Cyane, a spring nymph, had healing powers and someone always seems to be making her their captive. Theron, leader of the Karkinos (crab shifters), is torn – he can see what the healing takes out of Cyane, but his people will die without her. Cyane is a nymph with no “experience” thanks to her protective brothers – but Theron is drawn to her. Each must work to save their people – but perhaps working together will solve both their problems.A fabulou Terrific story of myth, magic and relationships!!Cyane, a spring nymph, had healing powers and someone always seems to be making her their captive. Theron, leader of the Karkinos (crab shifters), is torn – he can see what the healing takes out of Cyane, but his people will die without her. Cyane is a nymph with no “experience” thanks to her protective brothers – but Theron is drawn to her. Each must work to save their people – but perhaps working together will solve both their problems.A fabulous story of attraction, myth, family, and putting others before yourself. *** I am voluntarily leaving my honest review of this book ***
    more
  • Cassandra
    June 19, 2017
    An incredibly, fast-paced thrill ride. I loved every second of Theron and Cyane's story!Excitement starts at the very beginning and never lets up. Theron thinks he is only using Cyane to cure his people, but his heart has other plans. Cyane's hates Theron for taking her prisoner and forcing her to help the Karkinos, at least her head tells her she does. After spending some time together the two realize there may be more to their meeting than they thought. Can they work together to save his peopl An incredibly, fast-paced thrill ride. I loved every second of Theron and Cyane's story!Excitement starts at the very beginning and never lets up. Theron thinks he is only using Cyane to cure his people, but his heart has other plans. Cyane's hates Theron for taking her prisoner and forcing her to help the Karkinos, at least her head tells her she does. After spending some time together the two realize there may be more to their meeting than they thought. Can they work together to save his people? You'll have to read the book to find out... Trust me you won't want to miss out on the first installment of the Lords of Krete series. Another winner by the amazing Rachael Slate!!
    more
  • Michelle VanDaley
    June 28, 2017
    Rachael Slate colors such a descriptive tale that you feel as if you are experiencing the world right along with the characters. You can see the rooms and what each character looks like, what they are doing, how they are dressed and how they are feeling. I absolutely LOVE that she made Theron a crab shifter, which I have never seen before. The story unfolds with perfect pacing and I did not want to put it down. It kept me captivated from beginning to end. Once again proving why Rachael Slate wil Rachael Slate colors such a descriptive tale that you feel as if you are experiencing the world right along with the characters. You can see the rooms and what each character looks like, what they are doing, how they are dressed and how they are feeling. I absolutely LOVE that she made Theron a crab shifter, which I have never seen before. The story unfolds with perfect pacing and I did not want to put it down. It kept me captivated from beginning to end. Once again proving why Rachael Slate will always be a One-click Author to me.
    more
  • Patti
    June 27, 2017
    As a healer, you spend tireless hours trying to heal those that you can. But what do you do when faced with the possibility of your own death if you keep trying to help those in need? This poor, brave heroine did not seek out to be in this dilemma but brought forcibly into awareness of its existence. This talented author sets her characters down this journey and holds us captive as we read page after page hoping for an HEA that keeps looking impossible. Definitely read this amazing story to find As a healer, you spend tireless hours trying to heal those that you can. But what do you do when faced with the possibility of your own death if you keep trying to help those in need? This poor, brave heroine did not seek out to be in this dilemma but brought forcibly into awareness of its existence. This talented author sets her characters down this journey and holds us captive as we read page after page hoping for an HEA that keeps looking impossible. Definitely read this amazing story to find out if this brave nymph and impossible crab warrior manage to save their people!
    more
  • Jennifer Alvarez
    June 30, 2017
    Wonderfully amazing! A must-read!Theron and Cyane both have a mission to save their people. Theron's people are dying from a mysterious illness. Cyane's by an evil King. Can Cyane save Theron's people without loosing herself not only to Theron but also this disease? Can Theron learn to trust in order to save himself and his people? This is an excellent PNR! It draws you in from the start with promises of passion and adventures and delivers! This is part of a series but satisfying on its own! A d Wonderfully amazing! A must-read!Theron and Cyane both have a mission to save their people. Theron's people are dying from a mysterious illness. Cyane's by an evil King. Can Cyane save Theron's people without loosing herself not only to Theron but also this disease? Can Theron learn to trust in order to save himself and his people? This is an excellent PNR! It draws you in from the start with promises of passion and adventures and delivers! This is part of a series but satisfying on its own! A definite one-click addition to any book-lover's collection!
    more
  • Stacy Aube
    June 22, 2017
    I received and voluntary reviewed an ARC of this book.Amazing!!!I love all books by Rachael so this shouldn't be a shock I absolutely adore this book. The lead characters are strong and honorable. With the goal of saving his people Theron does some less than stellar actions but ultimately redeems him self. Having a strong female lead pitted against an alpha male tend to make the story that much better. I can't wait to read the rest of this series.
    more
  • Katrina Berry
    June 12, 2017
    Water's Mark: Cancer by Rachael Slate is Book 13 of the Zodiac Shifters Series and Book 1 of the Lords of Krete series which is a spin-off of the Halcyon series. Even though this book is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone. Water’s Mark is Cyane and Theron’s tale and is a wonderfully woven story of love and redemption. Engaging characters, an original storyline, and a vivid, solid world bring this tale to life in a way only Ms. Slate can.
    more
  • Nicole Smith
    July 9, 2017
    This is start of a new series and I'm already in love with it! of course I love anything Rachael writes. This book had me right from the beginning and I hardly could put it down. Rachael just has magic when she weaves her stories. I loved Cyane because she has a big heart, but she is fierce and can kick some butt. I can say this is the first time I've read a book with a crab shifter. This will suck you right in and leave you anticipating the next book.
    more
  • Gladys
    June 25, 2017
    Water's Mark by Rachel Slate is a truly entertaining and engaging book. Sexy, sassy and fun, I loved Cyane and Theron. Well written and fast moving this book will grab you at the start and not let go. I loved the chemistry between the characters and the well developed world. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC copy of this book
    more
  • Willow
    June 9, 2017
    A crab shifter who desperately needed the healing waters of a nymph - not something you read about everyday! An enjoyable read and a good addition to the Halcyon series. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
  • And Etc
    July 4, 2017
    A wonderful tale with mythical tones that s going to keep you on your toes throughout a heartwarming love story and a captivating plot line. With complex characters and engaging twist and turns this story is a must read for all PNR readers.I voluntarily reviewed for the arc team.
    more
  • Lindsay
    June 9, 2017
    Stars: 4.5 sassy water drops!I absolutely love Cyane! She's absolutely perfect for Theron, who may be a bit crabby to start out (see what I did there?) Their meeting is unconventional but the love produced from it is absolutely amazing to watch blossom. I adored getting to know these characters in this fast paced romance! I was able to read it in one sitting!
    more
  • Rachael Slate
    May 27, 2017
Write a review