Hot & Heavy (Lightning #2)
When a daredevil football stud tries to get into your yoga pants, you know class is about to get interesting. The New York Times bestselling author of Down & Dirty returns with Hot & Heavy.Sage: Although I come from a long line of free-spirited yoga teachers, sometimes I wish my life could be just a little more normal. More ordinary. More boring. Easier said than done, especially since it’s on me to keep my family’s studio up and running every time my mother wanders off to find herself. But that’s when my best friend sends me a sexy new student: Shawn Wilson, a slick wide receiver with a death wish and a chip on his broad, muscular, irresistible . . . wait, what were we talking about again?Shawn: They say I’m an adrenaline junkie. The truth is, I only really feel alive when I’m risking my life: Snowboarding, parachuting, BASE jumping . . . the kind of fun team management considers breach of contract. When my coach orders me to take yoga to “center myself,” I’m pissed—until I get an eyeful of delectable, flexible Sage Kaufmann. Unfortunately, she’s determined to keep things between us strictly business. But if Sage can get me to enjoy downward dog, maybe I can convince her that scorching hot sex could be the perfect shot of adrenaline.With their own sweet HEAs, Tracy Wolff’s red-hot Lightning novels can be read together or separately:DOWN & DIRTY | HOT & HEAVY

Hot & Heavy (Lightning #2) Details

TitleHot & Heavy (Lightning #2)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 17th, 2017
Rating
GenreRomance, Sports and Games, Sports, Contemporary Romance, Sports Romance, Football, Contemporary

Hot & Heavy (Lightning #2) Review

  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Electrifying chemistry, two wounded hearts finding their perfect match in an unconventional way...a one night stand... against a wall in a bar... The chemistry was definitely not the issue, it was all the other stuff and boy did that make for some marvelous storytelling.I received this ARC copy of Hot & Heavy from Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept. This is my honest and voluntary review. Hot & Heavy is set for publication July 17, 2018.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Tracy WolffSer Electrifying chemistry, two wounded hearts finding their perfect match in an unconventional way...a one night stand... against a wall in a bar... The chemistry was definitely not the issue, it was all the other stuff and boy did that make for some marvelous storytelling.I received this ARC copy of Hot & Heavy from Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept. This is my honest and voluntary review. Hot & Heavy is set for publication July 17, 2018.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Tracy WolffSeries: LightningSequence in series: 2Publisher: Loveswept Publication Date: July 17, 2018Sold by: Random House LLCGenre: Contemporary RomanceAmazon: https://www.amazon.com/Hot-Heavy-Ligh...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hot-...Itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/bo/book/hot-...For more reviews check out Tome Tender's Book Blog or find us on Facebook.
    more
  • Mindy Lou's Book Review
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this one! Shawn is such an easy character to love and Sage, while she was a bit uptight, I was happy to see her play hard to get. Not that she was playing. Her insecurities made it look like she was only partially interested. It worked for me because I just love it when a heroine makes the player type hero really work for it. Shawn and Sage both deal with some past baggage but it didn't over power the story. They were fun to read about and I can't wait for the next book.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received for reviewBook two of the Lightning football players. I don't remember much of Sage or Shawn from the first book. They were hot and heavy together plus throw in some emotional angst and issues from childhood, and it's a great romance. I sure hope Tanner gets the next book.
    more
  • Rosa Sharon (iScream Books Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    "Is it wrong that I want to lick him? Hot & Heavy is a standalone, though each book focuses on a different player on the Lightning football team. The first book in the series, Down & Dirty features Hunter & Emerson which happen to be the best friends of Shawn & Sage which are the H/h in this story. So, you can expect to spend some time with some sexy players and some fun friends in every book. What's not to love about that?One of the things that I love about this story is "Is it wrong that I want to lick him? Hot & Heavy is a standalone, though each book focuses on a different player on the Lightning football team. The first book in the series, Down & Dirty features Hunter & Emerson which happen to be the best friends of Shawn & Sage which are the H/h in this story. So, you can expect to spend some time with some sexy players and some fun friends in every book. What's not to love about that?One of the things that I love about this story is the broken characters. They are both running from demons and their pain is reflected in their lifestyles. They seem to be polar opposites, him being a daredevil in the spotlight and her being an OCD buttoned-up control freak. But when they accidentally run into each other there's no denying their #InstaLust for each other. Personally, I think that even if she hadn't broken her #TwoDrinkRule she would still have noticed him. "—Let's be honest—I'd have to be dead not to notice this guy. Notice him, hell, just knowing he's in the room is suddenly taking up all the oxygen." Shawn is very likable. He's not rude, cocky and arrogant like many of the celebrity athletes I've read before, but he's also used to women flocking to him. He's not ever had to make the first move, he just shows up and they come to him. But when he sees her for the first time she makes eye contact, but she doesn't approach him. They eye-fuck each other, but she doesn't take it any further. It's driving him crazy.Sage is not looking for trouble, but she finds it. "—the moment our gazes lock, I forget about normal. Forget about usual. And instead try to keep my panties from dropping straight to the floor." She'd never had that kind of reaction to a man before and doesn't quite know what to do with it. He doesn't approach her, but she feels the heat in his stare. And let me tell you, I felt the heat too! My Kindle was almost too hot to hold while reading this story, but you couldn't have pried it out of my hands if you tried.Yup, I'm addicted to reading Tracy Wolff romance. I happened upon the first book by accident, then I devoured her backlist, and now I get excited with anticipation with the announcement of each new title. She never disappoints. The line forms here...
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    Pretty hot stuff!An adrenaline junkie football player, Shawn, who’s been injured doing one of his crazy stunts and needs to get fit. And a beautiful yoga instructor, Sage, with instructions to help him. The trouble is they’ve met before.Yep, the chemistry is off the charts as they attempt to attend to Shawn’s problem, which he has the tendency to aggravate. Great fun.
    more
  • Kimberley C.
    January 1, 1970
    I liked this one a lot - AMAZING chemistry between to the two MCs, and their instant attraction and consequential hook up is HOT. The ending felt a wee bit rushed, but other than that, a solid second book in the series. 4 stars.I received an ARC from Netgalley.
    more
  • Catherine Bibby (Rochelle's Reviews)
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy via Net Galley and voluntarily left a review and all opinions are my own. After reading and loving the first book in Tracy Wolff's Lightning series called Down & Dirty, I just knew I had to get my greedy hands on Hot & Heavy. I mean if the titles in the series don't entice you the hottie football players certainly will. Tracy takes us back into this fictional world to heat us up once again to scorching levels with a couple that cannot keep their hands off of each other I received a copy via Net Galley and voluntarily left a review and all opinions are my own. After reading and loving the first book in Tracy Wolff's Lightning series called Down & Dirty, I just knew I had to get my greedy hands on Hot & Heavy. I mean if the titles in the series don't entice you the hottie football players certainly will. Tracy takes us back into this fictional world to heat us up once again to scorching levels with a couple that cannot keep their hands off of each other and their hearts from becoming entwined. Sage is a woman who is a structured person until she gives into her sexual impulses in a bar with a gorgeous man. Then she finds herself in an emotional turmoil like no other. I couldn't help but be drawn to her strength and tenacity after growing up in a life full of chaos, and I love how she learns to grow and not let her past over shadow her future. All the girl needs a little sexy fun in her life and Shawn is that and so much more! Shawn is a man who follows his impulses and once he sets his sights on Sage, he will settle for nothing less than making her his. Shawn is beyond hot with his ripped body, smoldering looks, and dirty talk. I couldn't help but fall a little harder for this hero who uses his reckless side to shield himself from his traumatic past. I just wanted to see him receive the love that he deserves. He is wild, impulsive, and everything that Sage needs in her neat little predictable world. They often say that opposites attract but with these two they practically incinerate! Tracy Wolff delivers another love story that melts our hearts and raises our temperature. I highly recommend Hot & Heavy along with the first book in the Lightning series Down & Dirty for a football hero who not only scores on the field but also in matters of the heart. I have grown to adore all of Tracy Wolff's characters and am always giddy with excitement when I hear that she is releasing another book. I cannot wait to read more about these football hotties who have grabbed my heart and never let go.
    more
  • Carvanz
    January 1, 1970
    Sage and Shawn meet across a crowded bar and when Sage doesn’t respond in the manner Shawn is accustomed to, he follows her to a dark hallway. After a hot and steamy session he’s once more struck dumb when she refuses to share numbers with him and then takes off like the bats of hell are after her. Sage’s past left her needing to protect herself against any kind of instability and Shawn’s apparent need for an adrenaline rush is the type of thing she will not tolerate. But the chemistry between t Sage and Shawn meet across a crowded bar and when Sage doesn’t respond in the manner Shawn is accustomed to, he follows her to a dark hallway. After a hot and steamy session he’s once more struck dumb when she refuses to share numbers with him and then takes off like the bats of hell are after her. Sage’s past left her needing to protect herself against any kind of instability and Shawn’s apparent need for an adrenaline rush is the type of thing she will not tolerate. But the chemistry between these two will not stay dormant and they end up in a flaming hot relationship that soon blossoms into more.I loved how Shawn was determined to be with Sage. His background left him with a hole that needed filling and my heart hurt for him. Sage was strong and independent but so weary of having to clean up all the messes her mother left behind in her wake. I wanted her to have a Shawn in her life that she could lean on to help carry the load. Interestingly enough, the story didn’t quite go in that direction and I was left wondering if anything regarding her mother was ever going to change. However, the relationship between her and Shawn was still heartwarming and engaging.This is a very fast paced read with some wonderful characters that I would love to read more about. The steam between the hero and heroine was so intense at moments that I’m sure I drooled a bit, if not a lot. There isn’t a lot of drama here but there were issues that each character had to work out both individually and as a couple. I enjoyed this story from the beginning to the end even though I wish there had been more in the middle. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book provided by NetGalley and Random House - Loveswept. All thoughts and opinions are my own.Dual POVSafe (view spoiler)[no ow/om drama; H was a bit of a man whore although there is no talk of ow (hide spoiler)]Triggers (view spoiler)[childhood neglect; death of a loved one (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Mary Mooney
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads, so here is my review.Sage is at a bachelorette party and would rather be anywhere else until she sees the most beautiful man she has ever seen sitting at the bar. When they make eye contact, Sage thinks that she is out of his league and tries to stop looking in his direction. But it is hard to do. When he sends over a round of drinks for the group, Sage thinks that he is making fun of her and it really makes her sad and she I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads, so here is my review.Sage is at a bachelorette party and would rather be anywhere else until she sees the most beautiful man she has ever seen sitting at the bar. When they make eye contact, Sage thinks that she is out of his league and tries to stop looking in his direction. But it is hard to do. When he sends over a round of drinks for the group, Sage thinks that he is making fun of her and it really makes her sad and she runs for the bathroom but before she reaches the bathroom, a strong hand grabs her. It turns out to be the sexy guy from the bar. Shawn is the football player that most every woman knows who he is, except for Sage. She has no idea who he is. While Shawn thinks that he has given her all the signs for her to make the next move, the sexy girl at the bar just isn't taken the hints. When she runs towards the bathroom after he sends a round of drinks, he has to find out what is wrong. They get hot and heavy in the alcove in the hall and when it is all over, Shawn wants her number so he can take her out to dinner and she refuses. While Shawn is an adrenaline junkie, Sage is just the opposite. She doesn't think anyone should risk their lives just for the rush. But if she stops and thinks about it, her feelings are because of the way she was raised. And Shawn is chasing his demons from his past. When Shawn does something that scares Sage, will she be able to forgive him or will she just walk away?Can Shawn and Sage get past the fear and demons they both are running from? Will they be able to make a relationship work? Will the future be bright for them both? Can they both share their past with the other so that they will understand why they do and act the way they do?I love this series and I think Shawn & Sage are my favorite couple so far. I can't wait to see who will be in book 3. If you are looking for a new author or haven't read Tracy Wolff yet, start on this series or any series for that matter. I love all her work and look forward to reading more from her.
    more
  • Ayekah
    January 1, 1970
    Another fantastic read in the Lightning series. Sage and Shawn. Night and day. Sage is running her mother's yoga studio while her mother is off yet again finding her bliss in India. After her childhood Sage settles for the sedate and predictable world of numbers. She's an accountant. She also keeps her mothers business going, that way everyone gets paid, bills sorted, taxes done. Shawn comes to her via a friend after he injures himself cliff diving in Mexico. Training camp starts in two weeks an Another fantastic read in the Lightning series. Sage and Shawn. Night and day. Sage is running her mother's yoga studio while her mother is off yet again finding her bliss in India. After her childhood Sage settles for the sedate and predictable world of numbers. She's an accountant. She also keeps her mothers business going, that way everyone gets paid, bills sorted, taxes done. Shawn comes to her via a friend after he injures himself cliff diving in Mexico. Training camp starts in two weeks and he's still having pain in his shoulder. He finally agrees to try yoga and there he meets again the elusive Sage. The woman who ran from him after doing something she's never done before. Sage has just learned her mother emptied out the business bank account, and Shawn is at the door and could the day get any worse when Shawn wants personal treatment from Sage only so when Sage names an astronomical fee, he quickly agrees. He writes her a check and wants to start right away. Day after tomorrow, because he's busy the next day. Busy is what Shawn does when he can't outrun his past and those feelings catch up with him. Shawn is an adrenaline junkie, he's however pushing the limits now and even his best friends are calling him out on it. Then there's Sage. What happens when Shawn takes one step too far? I loved these two together and such a great read. Plot is smooth, the flow is perfection and the pages flew by and it's stellar. Tracy is a favorite. Consistently great books!4.5 stars*arc from NetGalley and Loveswept for an honest review**
    more
  • S. B.
    January 1, 1970
    This book was a perfect “quickie” for a beach or vacation read. It moved along at a good pace, had interesting characters, and a plot that wasn’t overly complex. Each of the main characters, Sage and Shawn, carry around bags full of issues from their past. Sage's mother, s flighty and irresponsible yoga instructor, dragged her around all over the world and never allowed her to have a sense of security. Shawn blamed himself for the death of his mother and sister and compensated by engaging in adr This book was a perfect “quickie” for a beach or vacation read. It moved along at a good pace, had interesting characters, and a plot that wasn’t overly complex. Each of the main characters, Sage and Shawn, carry around bags full of issues from their past. Sage's mother, s flighty and irresponsible yoga instructor, dragged her around all over the world and never allowed her to have a sense of security. Shawn blamed himself for the death of his mother and sister and compensated by engaging in adrenaline seeking, dangerous sports that were prohibited in his NFL contract. The conflict, of course, comes from Sage's need for security balanced against Shawn’s need for thrills. While the plot is pretty straightforward and somewhat predictable, it is so well done you don’t care. The dialogue is authentic, especially the times when they are at odds. And when they aren’t- there's a lot of steaminess, so if that's your thing there's plenty. Whether or not you like a book, or how much, can change from day to day based on so many things including the phase of the moon or what you had for breakfast. I think a lot of people will love this book. There were some parts that caused me to have, “Wait, what?” moments. The opening scene in which Sage and Shawn, who have never met previously and only spoken a handful of words have an assignation in the back of a bar, had a pretty high ick factor for me. Sage constantly says it wasn’t like her to do that, and I agree. And I’m not sure his awesome hotness, or what she could see of it across the bar, was enough to overcome that. Their physical attraction seems to be the underlying basis of their relationship, and while we do get to see them develop something deeper as time goes on it still all seems really shallow and a little too insta-love. But this is a romance novel, and for that we make allowances!
    more
  • Christina
    January 1, 1970
    Well this just gives me all the feels. After reading the first book, I was hoping to read Tanner’s story next. But I’m very happy that Sage’s story was first. This was so good!!!! Sage is Emerson’s BFF. She runs her Mother’s yoga studio and is an accountant for a few other small companies as well. She’s lived her life by the books, so to speak. But one night while out with co-workers, she ditches the rules and allows herself one night of passion. One night, that apparently, turns out to be more Well this just gives me all the feels. After reading the first book, I was hoping to read Tanner’s story next. But I’m very happy that Sage’s story was first. This was so good!!!! Sage is Emerson’s BFF. She runs her Mother’s yoga studio and is an accountant for a few other small companies as well. She’s lived her life by the books, so to speak. But one night while out with co-workers, she ditches the rules and allows herself one night of passion. One night, that apparently, turns out to be more than just one night...Shawn is the star receiver for the pro football team in San Diego. After winning the Super Bowl, he took a vacation that’s put him in a tough spot. Why? Because he injured himself doing something against his contract. And now he needs to make sure he’s ready when training camp starts in a few weeks. Good thing Emerson suggested her friends yoga studio. Because when he shows up, his one night stand is standing right in front of him. This book lives up to its name, Hot & Heavy indeed. From the very beginning, the chemistry between these two is scorching hot. But it’s the back story for each character that pulls you in. And when self preservation kicks in for both Sage and Shawn, the end game is nothing short of fireworks! Now, can I get Tanner’s story???? Pleeeeeeeeeeeeease?
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    Although this is the second in a series, I hadn't read the first before reading this and I didn't feel as though I had missed out on anything too important. However, I am planning on going back and reading the first book when I get a chance. Ah, Sage and Shawn. I don't know if I can think of a book that I've read recently where both main characters came into the relationship with so much baggage. While it's common for character's history/background to cause issues with their relationships in boo Although this is the second in a series, I hadn't read the first before reading this and I didn't feel as though I had missed out on anything too important. However, I am planning on going back and reading the first book when I get a chance. Ah, Sage and Shawn. I don't know if I can think of a book that I've read recently where both main characters came into the relationship with so much baggage. While it's common for character's history/background to cause issues with their relationships in books, I felt that poor Sage really got dealt a crappy hand when it came to parents. Ultimately, she worked it out and moved past her issues, but honestly, I kind of wish that she had "had it out" more with her mother in the end. That woman needs a slap upside the head. And poor Shawn – although he seemed to recognize where his urge for adrenaline-junky activities came from, he didn't seem inclined to do anything about it until push came to shove. He was a bit of an idiot about it all, but ultimately got his head on straight. Since both characters seemed totally aware of their "issues" I did feel like shaking them and saying "JUST TALK TO EACH OTHER!" (but I guess that wouldn’t make for a very interesting story...). My only other issue was that I felt like they moved from lust to love a little unrealistically. Listen, I "knew" pretty quickly when I met my husband, and my parents eloped after knowing each other for three months and have been married for 54 years so I obviously don't have an issue with moving quickly. I just felt like there wasn't quite the basis for some of their quick progression. But it wasn't really a deal breaker. *I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*
    more
  • Ruthie Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~This is the second in the series, and does include elements from the first book, but would be a strong standalone too. Both Sage and Shawn have been deeply affected by their pasts, and the chemistry between them threatens all the coping mechanisms that they have developed over the years. Sage is thinking about taking a risk, Shawn may have found a solution to his need to take them. This opposing reaction in the face of l ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~This is the second in the series, and does include elements from the first book, but would be a strong standalone too. Both Sage and Shawn have been deeply affected by their pasts, and the chemistry between them threatens all the coping mechanisms that they have developed over the years. Sage is thinking about taking a risk, Shawn may have found a solution to his need to take them. This opposing reaction in the face of lust and impending love is an entertaining one to observe, and ties in well when the the worlds that they inhabit collide. I enjoy a good sports romance, and the therapy is often a part of the story, but rarely yoga, so it was fun to learn a little about the possible moves and help it could offer - and was amusing when Shawn realised that Sage really didn't know anything about him or his fame. This is a fun new addition to the series, thank you Tracy Wolff
    more
  • Mary
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. I enjoyed this book. One yoga teacher who knows nothing about sports hooks up a star football player and then leaves him without a backward glance.Sage doesn't take chances. She doesn't hook up with random guys. And she most certainly doesn't get it on with random guys in the back of club. When she does all three in one night is it any wonder that she practically runs from the bar and back to her safe little world?Shawn lov I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. I enjoyed this book. One yoga teacher who knows nothing about sports hooks up a star football player and then leaves him without a backward glance.Sage doesn't take chances. She doesn't hook up with random guys. And she most certainly doesn't get it on with random guys in the back of club. When she does all three in one night is it any wonder that she practically runs from the bar and back to her safe little world?Shawn loves taking chances. The Adrenalin rush takes him to places that he can't find normally. And at the height of it - he feels closer to the mom and sister he lost when he was a child. When he takes a chance and follows the woman he's been eyeing in the bar all evening to the back, he can't believe how right it feels to with her. When she leaves him without a backward glance? He's not sure how he feels about that.Sage's encounter with Shawn is quickly forgotten when realizes her flighty mother has once again left her holding the bag. Everything she's done since she turned eighteen is with the goal of being safe and secure. She had enough of living like a gypsy when she was growing and she never wants to be homeless or hungry again.Shawn comes back into her life at the right time -- she desperately needs help and he needs someone to help with his back problem. Low-key help. Reluctant to spend more time with him, she names an outrageous price and is stunned when he agrees to pay it for her to help him. The relationship quickly turns from all business to pure pleasure. Sage can't believe she's dating a professional athlete, one that could easily date anyone he wants. Shawn thinks that Sage hung the moon.A lack of communication between Sage and Shawn derails their fledgling relationship. Shawn has to learn to take other's feelings into consideration and learn to talk about the demons that haunt him. Sage's childhood issues play a huge part in her reluctance to enter into a relationship and to trust people.I wish that the author would have explored Sage's relationship with her mother more. I really think that there is a lot going on that would have helped the reader really understand Sage and her trust issues.~~Wicked Reads Review Team~~
    more
  • Romance Readers Retreat
    January 1, 1970
    This is the second book in Wolff's Lightning series and can be read as a standalone. This story is all about Sage and Shawn. Shawn was my favorite of the two. He is a sexy dare devil adrenaline junkie. He is not a happy camper when his coach insists he takes yoga to help center him and calm him down. Yoga is definitely not his type of activity, but he has no choice. Sage is a yoga instructor who is high strong with insecurities a mile long. The two should have nothing in common and should not be This is the second book in Wolff's Lightning series and can be read as a standalone. This story is all about Sage and Shawn. Shawn was my favorite of the two. He is a sexy dare devil adrenaline junkie. He is not a happy camper when his coach insists he takes yoga to help center him and calm him down. Yoga is definitely not his type of activity, but he has no choice. Sage is a yoga instructor who is high strong with insecurities a mile long. The two should have nothing in common and should not be the least attracted to each other, but sparks definitely fly. A one night stand (or more accurately some crazy intense sex against a bar wall) isn't enough to convince Sage, but Shawn can definitely see the appeal. Sage may even be able to convince him that yoga is a good idea. How hard can convincing her be? I enjoyed this story even more than book one. Shawn charmed me immediately and though it took me a bit longer to warm up to Sage worked her way into my heart as well.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    January 1, 1970
    This was a fantastic book. I thought Shawn and Sage worked so well together. Just what the other needed to give each balance. For Shawn being and NFL wide receiver wasn't enough he was also an adrenaline junkie. An addiction he fed with extreme sports. When an injury threatens to derail his career he finds himself at Sage's yoga studio door for help. Sage, after growing up with a loving but flighty mother, simply wants stability in her life. Running a yoga studio isn't her dream but it seems she This was a fantastic book. I thought Shawn and Sage worked so well together. Just what the other needed to give each balance. For Shawn being and NFL wide receiver wasn't enough he was also an adrenaline junkie. An addiction he fed with extreme sports. When an injury threatens to derail his career he finds himself at Sage's yoga studio door for help. Sage, after growing up with a loving but flighty mother, simply wants stability in her life. Running a yoga studio isn't her dream but it seems she's still taking care of her mother. She enjoys the therapeutic yoga aspect of the job and therefore she's certain she can help Shawn. Nothing else can develop between them. He definitely does not bring stability to her life. Can she calm him and can he get her to live a little? Grab a copy of this one and find out. You'll be happy you did. I definitely recommend it.
    more
  • Pennie Morgan
    January 1, 1970
    I really, really enjoyed this one!!! What do you get when you combine a football linebacker who is an adrenaline junkie and breaks all the rules of his contract by his risky behavior and an accountant/yoga instructor who has issues with rule breakers and unsafe behavior? So much chemistry it explodes off the kindle it nearly smoked with how fast the pages turned as I read this one. Shawn sees Sage across the bar and is immediately intrigued and who knew their tryst at the end of the hallway whic I really, really enjoyed this one!!! What do you get when you combine a football linebacker who is an adrenaline junkie and breaks all the rules of his contract by his risky behavior and an accountant/yoga instructor who has issues with rule breakers and unsafe behavior? So much chemistry it explodes off the kindle it nearly smoked with how fast the pages turned as I read this one. Shawn sees Sage across the bar and is immediately intrigued and who knew their tryst at the end of the hallway which was totally out of character for Sage would then turn into something more when Shawn is sent to her yoga studio for treatment. This one is definitely one you have to read!**Received this ARC for review from the publisher via NetGalley**
    more
  • LeeAnne
    January 1, 1970
    I quite enjoyed this standalone read, Shawn and Sage are both likeable characters who are fighting off demons from their past while trying to live their day-to-day lives. Sage, after being dragged to a bar by friends, breaks her rule of only have 2 drinks and winds up having a quickie with Shawn outside the bathrooms at the bar. Knowing it can’t go anywhere, when Shawn asks for her number, Sage denies him and splits. Then when Shawn needs a yoga instructor to help with his football injury, his f I quite enjoyed this standalone read, Shawn and Sage are both likeable characters who are fighting off demons from their past while trying to live their day-to-day lives. Sage, after being dragged to a bar by friends, breaks her rule of only have 2 drinks and winds up having a quickie with Shawn outside the bathrooms at the bar. Knowing it can’t go anywhere, when Shawn asks for her number, Sage denies him and splits. Then when Shawn needs a yoga instructor to help with his football injury, his friends recommend Sage and the two wind up hot and heavy. I loved the beginning of this book and the way that Shawn is down to earth instead of cocky like most athletes you read about. The ending felt rushed and I’d have liked more from their story but hopefully we’ll see Shawn and Sage appearing in future Lightning books!Read and Reviewed for Wicked Reads!
    more
  • Angela T
    January 1, 1970
    Sage Kauffman, Accountant and yoga instructor.Shawn Wilson, Professional Football Player for San Diego Lightening.Sage and Shawn met at a bar, they had explosive hallway sex. Something, Sage never does. This isn't her, she gets all weirded out, and runs out on, Shawn, leaving him standing there, baffled. Sage, ever the accountant, decided when she got home, to do the payroll and bills for Soul Studio, her mother's yoga studio, that she runs. Working with numbers being a natural relaxant, let the Sage Kauffman, Accountant and yoga instructor.Shawn Wilson, Professional Football Player for San Diego Lightening.Sage and Shawn met at a bar, they had explosive hallway sex. Something, Sage never does. This isn't her, she gets all weirded out, and runs out on, Shawn, leaving him standing there, baffled. Sage, ever the accountant, decided when she got home, to do the payroll and bills for Soul Studio, her mother's yoga studio, that she runs. Working with numbers being a natural relaxant, let the tension leave her body, just to have it return twice as bad. The checking/savings account for the studio was empty. Her mom, had drained it to give to her "guru" while she is in, India. Feeling devastated, what was she going to do, how was she going to pay the other instructors and all the bills due on the building itself?Shawn, the adrenaline junkie that he is, went cliff diving, while in Mexico. This is not the first time he's done this, but the first time doing it alone. He hit the water wrong, dislocating his shoulder, which in turn, causes pain in his back. He can't go to the team doctors about this, it's against his football contract, that he can't do anything that will jeopardize his playing football. He went to a private doctor, and for all intents and purposes, his back was healed, but he still had some pain. One of his teammates girlfriends, recommended, therapeutic yoga to work the kinks out. Explaining that her best friend worked miracles on people who were about to give up and give in to the pain. Shawn shows up at the yoga studio the next morning, and when the instructor came to the door, it was, Sage, the, Sage he hasn't been able to get off his mind since the night at the bar. Because of his popularity with being a professional football player, and he needs to keep the fact that he needs therapeutic yoga under wraps, he asks, Sage to be his personal instructor. In the beginning, it was an infinite no, but with some begging and a check for one hundred fifty thousand dollars, she agreed. Mostly, because she needed the money to pay all the bills. So, Shawn got his way, Sage will show up at his house daily to do his yoga. That first day, there was a tremendous amount of sexual energy between them. And things progressed, for a while, things were great between them. Then, they were invited out on a boat with a couple teammates and their significant others, they went, we're having a great time, until, Shawn decides he wants to go free diving. He doesn't tell anyone he was leaving the group. When, Sage went looking for, Shawn, and couldn't find him, in the water or on the boat, she got scared. Of course she got scared, with thoughts of him having drowned or something worse. A little while later, Sage gets a tap on her shoulder, it's Shawn. Sage asks him, where he's been, he says "free diving", well, to Sage, that was the straw that broke the camel's back. She was done, through, when they got back to the land, she was going home, alone. Yeah, the entire boat ride back to shore, Shawn tries talking to, Sage, but she ignores him. He tries again while standing at her car. But all of his words were meaningless to her. She got in her car and left, totally broken hearted. For days, she laid around eating ice cream and drinking lots of wine. A few days later, frantic knocking comes across her door. At first, she thought it was, Shawn, so she ignored it. But eventually, went to answer it. Her mom was standing there. She felt, Sage's distress, and came immediately. She explained to, Sage why she lives the way she did, and tried to explain to, Sage how much of her life she was denying because of fears she has she to her life growing up. It made sense to, Sage. So after some soul searching of her own, she realized she loved, Shawn, she opened her door to go find him, to find him standing at her door, with a large bouquet of flowers. Well, Shawn had intended on talking to, Sage, but other things come up, lol, so the talk will have to wait. When the talk came about, it was full of words of explanations of his actions, of why he takes the risks he does. And then words of love, lots of love, both Shawn and, Sage both declare their love for each other, Shawn asks Sage to marry him, that he has search his lifetime for her and didn't want to live another minute without her, in his life. She says yes and as the story goes, they live happily ever after.
    more
  • Jolie
    January 1, 1970
    You know when a book starts off with the two main characters getting their freak on in a bar outside the bathroom that the main focus is going to be sex. So I wasn’t surprised by the amount of sex in this book. What I was surprised was how involved I got with the characters. I was thinking that this book was going to be heavy on the sex and light on the plot. Instead, I got surprised. The plot was as good as the sex.I loved Sage. She has to be one of my favorite fictional characters to date. She You know when a book starts off with the two main characters getting their freak on in a bar outside the bathroom that the main focus is going to be sex. So I wasn’t surprised by the amount of sex in this book. What I was surprised was how involved I got with the characters. I was thinking that this book was going to be heavy on the sex and light on the plot. Instead, I got surprised. The plot was as good as the sex.I loved Sage. She has to be one of my favorite fictional characters to date. She had a childhood that left her craving for stability. So, what does she do? Becomes an accountant. Nothing more stable than that. She kept people at arm’s length, not willing to let anyone in. The only person she let in was Emerson. That was until she met Shaun. I felt that meeting Shaun was good for her. He made her go outside her comfort zone. He made her reevaluate what was important in her life. I loved watching her interact with Shaun. She didn’t know how to act with him. He threw her off-center. Loved it!!!I thought Shaun was an idiot for most of the book. He did high risk, daredevil antics that put him in danger. He didn’t care. Then he hurt his shoulder and met Sage. But even then, he didn’t slow down. I mean, after Sage did a deep muscle massage plus taught him some yoga moves, he went flipping mountain climbing and REINJURED his shoulder. I did a facepalm when he did that. He acted like a child. Did what he want, when he wanted and forget everyone else. It wasn’t until he scared Sage and his friends free diving that he kind of woke up. I say kind of because I didn’t get the feeling that he was going to stop. Tone down, yes. Stop, no.I wish that there the romance was built up between Shaun and Sage. While I appreciate, like any red-blooded woman, hot sex in a book, I do like a romance first at times. Sage and Shaun could have benefited from a romantic build up instead of banging the heck out of each other. I felt that any romance that could have happened was overshadowed by the sex. I did yell at my book and say “Take her out to dinner, Shaun. Not to your bed” a couple of times…lol.Speaking of sex, holy moly was it hot. This author loves having her characters do the dirty in public places. Hunter and Emerson (from Book 1) had a famous BJ while Emerson was showing him a house. Shaun and Sage, sex in a bar outside a bathroom. Yes!! Plus pool sex (which isn’t my thing, personally) was made fantastic and somewhat doable. Shaun and Sage also had insane sexual chemistry. INSANE!!! A look could get either of them going. Or in Shaun’s case, a touch when doing yoga…haha.I need to talk about what I didn’t like about both characters (besides the obvious). Sage’s mother was a piece of freaking work. Who, in their right mind, would take money out of a business and use it to pay a guru in India? And what got me was that she didn’t care. When Sage opened up to her about how her upbringing affected her, the first thing her mother said was “I make no apologies for how I lived my life” (or something along that line). I was like “Seriously lady, your daughter has ISSUES because of that”. I loved that the author didn’t try to change Sage’s mother and didn’t make excuses for her.What I didn’t like about Shaun was that he was feeling guilt over his mother and sister’s death. Yes, he was in a rush but he was also a child. Guess what, kids make parents rush. I wanted to hug him when he told Sage that. He also revealed why he did extreme sports. Which was also heartbreaking.The end of the book was what I expected. Total HEA. I read it with a huge grin on my face. I couldn’t wipe it away. Loved it!!What I liked about Hot & Heavy:A) Sage. Loved herB) The plot of the bookC) The sexWhat I disliked about Hot & Heavy:A) Shaun. He acted like a child for most of the bookB) Almost no romance. Wish there was moreC) Sage’s mother. Couldn’t stand herI would give Hot & Heavy an Adult rating. There is explicit sex. There is language. There is mild violence. I would recommend that no one under the age of 21 read this book.I would reread Hot & Heavy. I would also recommend to family and friends.I would like to thank Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept, and NetGalley for allowing me to read and review Hot & Heavy.All opinions stated in this review of Hot & Heavy are mine.**I chose to leave this review after reading an advance reader copy**
    more
  • Sandy S
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 stars--About the book: Release Date July 17, 2017 When a daredevil football stud tries to get into your yoga pants, you know class is about to get interesting. The New York Times bestselling author of Down & Dirty returns with Hot & Heavy.Sage: Although I come from a long line of free-spirited yoga teachers, sometimes I wish my life could be just a little more normal. More ordinary. More boring. Easier said than done, especially since it’s on me to keep my family’s studio up and run 3.75 stars--About the book: Release Date July 17, 2017 When a daredevil football stud tries to get into your yoga pants, you know class is about to get interesting. The New York Times bestselling author of Down & Dirty returns with Hot & Heavy.Sage: Although I come from a long line of free-spirited yoga teachers, sometimes I wish my life could be just a little more normal. More ordinary. More boring. Easier said than done, especially since it’s on me to keep my family’s studio up and running every time my mother wanders off to find herself. But that’s when my best friend sends me a sexy new student: Shawn Wilson, a slick wide receiver with a death wish and a chip on his broad, muscular, irresistible . . . wait, what were we talking about again?Shawn: They say I’m an adrenaline junkie. The truth is, I only really feel alive when I’m risking my life: Snowboarding, parachuting, BASE jumping . . . the kind of fun team management considers breach of contract. When my coach orders me to take yoga to “center myself,” I’m pissed—until I get an eyeful of delectable, flexible Sage Kaufmann. Unfortunately, she’s determined to keep things between us strictly business. But if Sage can get me to enjoy downward dog, maybe I can convince her that scorching hot sex could be the perfect shot of adrenaline.••••••••••REVIEW: 3.75 stars--HOT AND HEAVY is the second instalment in Tracy Wolff’s contemporary, adult LIGHTNING erotic, romance series focusing on the NFL’s San Diego Lightning. This is professional football player Shawn Wilson, and yoga instructor/accountant Sage Kaufmann’s story line. HOT AND HEAVY can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from the previous story lines is revealed where necessary.Told from dual first person points of view (Sage and Shawn) HOT AND HEAVY follows the building relationship between professional football player Shawn Wilson, and yoga instructor/accountant Sage Kaufmann. Shawn Wilson is an adrenaline junkie, trying to keep the demons at bay. A bar quickie with a mysterious stranger finds our hero pining for a woman he knows nothing about until his teammate’s fiancé recommends therapeutic yoga for all of his ailments. Enter Sage Kaufmann, Shawn’s one-night stand, and the woman with whom Shawn will fall in love. What ensues is the building relationship between Shawn and Sage, and the potential fall-out as Shawn’s selfishness and his need for adrenaline forces Sage to walk away to save her sanity and a possible broken heart.Twenty years earlier Shawn Wilson’s life spiralled out of control, and in the ensuing time, to bury his grief, Shawn embarks on dangerous and life-threatening endeavors to destroy the memories that claw at his soul. Sage Kaufmann has struggled throughout most of her life, following her hippie mother around the globe, in her attempts to find the next, best thing. On the verge of bankruptcy due to one of her mother’s ill-gotten schemes Sage accepts Shawn into her yoga studio in an effort to regain control of what was, and what could have been.The relationship between Shawn and Sage begins as a one-night stand; essentially a hit it and run in the back of a bar but an encounter that remains at the forefront of our couple’s minds. The $ex scenes are intimate, erotic and seductive without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text.The colorful and dynamic secondary and supporting characters include Shawn’s teammates: star quarterback Hunter Browning and realtor Emerson Day; Tanner Green, and Clay Bruce; Hunter’s niece Lucy and nephew Brent; and Sage’s free-wheeling and impulsive yoga teaching mother.HOT AND HEAVY is a fast paced and sexy story line of insta-lust, betrayal, memories and love. The premise is captivating and edgy ; the characters are flirty and sassy; the romance is provocative and arousing. HOT AND HEAVY is a delightful and engaging entry into Tracy Wolff’s LIGHTNING series.Copy supplied by Netgalleywww.thereadingcafe.com
    more
  • Sandy S
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 stars--About the book: Release Date July 17, 2017 When a daredevil football stud tries to get into your yoga pants, you know class is about to get interesting. The New York Times bestselling author of Down & Dirty returns with Hot & Heavy.Sage: Although I come from a long line of free-spirited yoga teachers, sometimes I wish my life could be just a little more normal. More ordinary. More boring. Easier said than done, especially since it’s on me to keep my family’s studio up and run 3.75 stars--About the book: Release Date July 17, 2017 When a daredevil football stud tries to get into your yoga pants, you know class is about to get interesting. The New York Times bestselling author of Down & Dirty returns with Hot & Heavy.Sage: Although I come from a long line of free-spirited yoga teachers, sometimes I wish my life could be just a little more normal. More ordinary. More boring. Easier said than done, especially since it’s on me to keep my family’s studio up and running every time my mother wanders off to find herself. But that’s when my best friend sends me a sexy new student: Shawn Wilson, a slick wide receiver with a death wish and a chip on his broad, muscular, irresistible . . . wait, what were we talking about again?Shawn: They say I’m an adrenaline junkie. The truth is, I only really feel alive when I’m risking my life: Snowboarding, parachuting, BASE jumping . . . the kind of fun team management considers breach of contract. When my coach orders me to take yoga to “center myself,” I’m pissed—until I get an eyeful of delectable, flexible Sage Kaufmann. Unfortunately, she’s determined to keep things between us strictly business. But if Sage can get me to enjoy downward dog, maybe I can convince her that scorching hot sex could be the perfect shot of adrenaline.••••••••••REVIEW: 3.75 stars--HOT AND HEAVY is the second instalment in Tracy Wolff’s contemporary, adult LIGHTNING erotic, romance series focusing on the NFL’s San Diego Lightning. This is professional football player Shawn Wilson, and yoga instructor/accountant Sage Kaufmann’s story line. HOT AND HEAVY can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from the previous story lines is revealed where necessary.Told from dual first person points of view (Sage and Shawn) HOT AND HEAVY follows the building relationship between professional football player Shawn Wilson, and yoga instructor/accountant Sage Kaufmann. Shawn Wilson is an adrenaline junkie, trying to keep the demons at bay. A bar quickie with a mysterious stranger finds our hero pining for a woman he knows nothing about until his teammate’s fiancé recommends therapeutic yoga for all of his ailments. Enter Sage Kaufmann, Shawn’s one-night stand, and the woman with whom Shawn will fall in love. What ensues is the building relationship between Shawn and Sage, and the potential fall-out as Shawn’s selfishness and his need for adrenaline forces Sage to walk away to save her sanity and a possible broken heart.Twenty years earlier Shawn Wilson’s life spiralled out of control, and in the ensuing time, to bury his grief, Shawn embarks on dangerous and life-threatening endeavors to destroy the memories that claw at his soul. Sage Kaufmann has struggled throughout most of her life, following her hippie mother around the globe, in her attempts to find the next, best thing. On the verge of bankruptcy due to one of her mother’s ill-gotten schemes Sage accepts Shawn into her yoga studio in an effort to regain control of what was, and what could have been.The relationship between Shawn and Sage begins as a one-night stand; essentially a hit it and run in the back of a bar but an encounter that remains at the forefront of our couple’s minds. The $ex scenes are intimate, erotic and seductive without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text.The colorful and dynamic secondary and supporting characters include Shawn’s teammates: star quarterback Hunter Browning and realtor Emerson Day; Tanner Green, and Clay Bruce; Hunter’s niece Lucy and nephew Brent; and Sage’s free-wheeling and impulsive yoga teaching mother.HOT AND HEAVY is a fast paced and sexy story line of insta-lust, betrayal, memories and love. The premise is captivating and edgy ; the characters are flirty and sassy; the romance is provocative and arousing. HOT AND HEAVY is a delightful and engaging entry into Tracy Wolff’s LIGHTNING series.Copy supplied by Netgalleywww.thereadingcafe.com
    more
  • Julie M.
    January 1, 1970
    The title, Hot & Heavy, was absolutely appropriate for this book! Wow! Sage and Shawn had some amazing chemistry and an off the charts romance! Sage and Shawn meet immediately in the book as Sage is at a Bachelorette party for one of her coworkers. Sage is reluctant to be there, but soon finds some eye candy in Shawn. Shawn, is a professional football player, who has no trouble catching the eye of any woman - except he can't seem to get Sage to engage with him. After a brief misunderstanding The title, Hot & Heavy, was absolutely appropriate for this book! Wow! Sage and Shawn had some amazing chemistry and an off the charts romance! Sage and Shawn meet immediately in the book as Sage is at a Bachelorette party for one of her coworkers. Sage is reluctant to be there, but soon finds some eye candy in Shawn. Shawn, is a professional football player, who has no trouble catching the eye of any woman - except he can't seem to get Sage to engage with him. After a brief misunderstanding, the two soon engage in a hot encounter, that leaves Sage running out in a panic while refusing to give out her number or take Shawn's. Needless to say, both are very confused by the nights turn of events. We find out Sage isn't a risk taker, and her behavior at the bar was completely out of character for her, but she can't seem to get Shawn out of her mind - no matter how much she knows she should. Sage is a uptight accountant/yoga instructor who is helping to run her mother's yoga studio while she's in India working with a guru. We soon find out that Sage has pretty much been the responsible adult in this mother/daughter relationship since she was very young - and it is reiterated when her mother cleans out the business' accounts and leaving only 17 cents for Sage to pay bills and employees. Sage has never been able to depend on her mother, which is why she craves stability and control in every aspect of her life. That's why her encounter with Shawn left her feeling reckless. Shawn, who is an adrenaline junkie, recently injured his shoulder during a vacation and faces possible suspension from his NFL team, if they find out. He's already been in trouble and fined several times before for breaking this rule. Shawn, who lost both his mother and sister, at a very young age - lives life recklessly because it's the only time he feels close to his mother, who was also a bit of a risk taker. He feels responsible for the death of his family and by living life to the extremes, he gets a bit of a reprieve. After a teammates' significant other suggests he try yoga to fix the issue before his coach finds out. Which leads him right back to Sage.... The two try to navigate their feelings, but can it work with one who lives life so recklessly and the other who craves stability? I'll avoid more spoilers. I definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a fast, sexy read!
    more
  • Sue Galuska
    January 1, 1970
    This book is the 2nd book in the Lighting football team series and Shawn Wilson's story. Shawn lost his mom and baby sister 20 years ago and still is not dealing with the loss very well. Instead of just concentrating on his professional football career, Shawn is an adrenaline junkie trying to find his next fix. One night in a bar Shawn notices a sexy brunette and he can't take his eyes off of her. Normally the women will come over to him, but this one doesn't seem to be biting. After sending her This book is the 2nd book in the Lighting football team series and Shawn Wilson's story. Shawn lost his mom and baby sister 20 years ago and still is not dealing with the loss very well. Instead of just concentrating on his professional football career, Shawn is an adrenaline junkie trying to find his next fix. One night in a bar Shawn notices a sexy brunette and he can't take his eyes off of her. Normally the women will come over to him, but this one doesn't seem to be biting. After sending her table over a round of old-fashion drinks she looks at him and runs off to the bathroom. Shawn decides to follow her and finally gets the chance to talk to the sexy brunette, Sage Kauffman. One thing quickly leads to another and these two are getting it on in an alcove in the bar. What neither of them expected was how electric their chemistry was. After finishing their fun, Sage quickly leaves. She is not this type of girl who has sex with a stranger in a bar of all places. She likes her life in neat, perfect order. Too bad life has other plans for her and Shawn.When Shawn was cliff jumping in Mexico, he hurt his back. The Drs say everything is healed, but he still has some pain. When Shawn's QB buddy, Hunter 's girlfriend, Emerson suggests that Shawn tries yoga with her good friend, Sage, Shawn can't believe his ears. With that name it can't be a coincidence.Imagine Sage's surprise when the football player who shows up for private yoga is none other than Shawn! Sage immediately wants to shut Shawn out, but he convinces her that he wants private lessons and even agrees to her fee of $150,000!!!!Of course the more private time these two spend together, the more things heat up. While both Shawn and Sage have demons from their past that they both must overcome first in order to get to their happy ending, they have a fun and flirty ride while getting there. Overall I really enjoyed these characters and the story they went on. It was a fun, enjoyable read.
    more
  • Misty (Red's Romance Review's)
    January 1, 1970
    When Sage Kaufmann attends a bachelorette party with a group of friends at a bar she never expects that it is going to lead to the hottest hook-up of her life... all she planned to do that night was have her two cocktails and then go home, but she wound up doing a whole lot more than that!! When her eyes connected with a tall, gorgeous man across the bar she was immediately drawn to him, but quickly decided he was to hot to take an interest in a girl like her... but she was so, so, wrong! Shawn When Sage Kaufmann attends a bachelorette party with a group of friends at a bar she never expects that it is going to lead to the hottest hook-up of her life... all she planned to do that night was have her two cocktails and then go home, but she wound up doing a whole lot more than that!! When her eyes connected with a tall, gorgeous man across the bar she was immediately drawn to him, but quickly decided he was to hot to take an interest in a girl like her... but she was so, so, wrong! Shawn Wilson is a man that likes to walk on the wild side, if it's risky and dangerous sign him up, he loves to push the limits, and not really dwell on the consequences. Which is why he is currently nursing a sore shoulder; he just had to push the limits on his vacation, and now his coach is telling him he might need to look into yoga to get his shoulder ready for training camp. He of course doubts the power of yoga, that is until his eyes land on the woman who will be teaching it to him, Sage is beyond gorgeous, and he wants to explore more than just some poses on the yoga mat with her. But she isn't looking for a man, especially one who likes to live dangerously!Hot and Heavy is sexy tale of taking risks, overcoming demons, and finding the courage to open your heart to love. The moment I met these two I knew they were a great pairing, they had amazing off the charts chemistry, but both of them also had demons that were preventing them from living a full life, so I knew their opposite personalities would compliment one another nicely, and also help the other see what they were missing living too cautiously. I thoroughly enjoyed this one, it was heartfelt, steamy, humorous, and good for the soul... I highly recommend you check it out, it's sure to leave your heart happy and your toes curled! I requested an advanced copy of this title from NetGalley, and I am voluntarily leaving my honest opinion.
    more
  • Downward dog
    January 1, 1970
    http://www.cocktailsandbooks.comI voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.I enjoyed reading this captivating story. It is the second book in the Lightning series and each book follows a different football player on the San Diego Lightning football team. Since I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in the series, I was excited to read this book chronicling Shawn and Sage’s story. It is witty with a lot of sexual tension and great dynamics bet http://www.cocktailsandbooks.comI voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.I enjoyed reading this captivating story. It is the second book in the Lightning series and each book follows a different football player on the San Diego Lightning football team. Since I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in the series, I was excited to read this book chronicling Shawn and Sage’s story. It is witty with a lot of sexual tension and great dynamics between the characters. In fact, the characters were a big factor in what makes this story so good. From the moment Shawn sees Sage he is taken in by everything about her. She is like a breath of fresh air and different from the usual girls he meets. She is low maintenance and easy to be with and she keeps Shawn on his toes. For the first time, Shawn has to work to get a woman to go out with him. I loved these two together and fell in love with Shawn. He has been in the NFL for eight years as a wide receiver. He is charming, kind and genuine. However, he also has demons that make him reckless and emotionally closed off. When Sage first meets Shawn she has no idea who he is, but the intense feelings he brings out in her make her uncomfortable. Sage is feisty and vulnerable but she lacks confidence. When she discovers who Shawn is, she doesn’t understand how he could possibly be interested in her. Sage is the opposite of Shawn. She is an accountant and is cautious and doesn’t like to take a risk. She tries to keep her defenses up around Shawn but finds it hard to ignore him. Shawn is not the type of man Sage wants to be attracted to. Shawn and Sage have an instant attraction and sizzling chemistry. They are both flawed and vulnerable and suffered from childhood trauma. They are great together and I loved all their interactions. This enthralling story is fun and incredibly hot.
    more
  • Up All Night With Books
    January 1, 1970
    4 Hot & Heavy Stars!Review by NancyLate Night ReviewerUp All Night w/ Books BlogHot & Heavy by Tracy Wolff, the second book in the Lightning series, is definitely a hot read! This book was very enjoyable, it was entertaining and fast pace. Sage and Shawn will draw you in from page one, Wolff did an excellent job giving us two very compatible characters. Shawn and Sage meet in an unconventional way, a single hook up, in a bar. It absolutely baffles Shawn that she didn't want anything furt 4 Hot & Heavy Stars!Review by NancyLate Night ReviewerUp All Night w/ Books BlogHot & Heavy by Tracy Wolff, the second book in the Lightning series, is definitely a hot read! This book was very enjoyable, it was entertaining and fast pace. Sage and Shawn will draw you in from page one, Wolff did an excellent job giving us two very compatible characters. Shawn and Sage meet in an unconventional way, a single hook up, in a bar. It absolutely baffles Shawn that she didn't want anything further, he is used to women falling all over him. Sage on the other hand was completely out of her element hooking up with Shawn, she likes simplicity and stability. Having to run her mothers yoga studio is all the unsteadiness and mess she needs in her life, she is not looking to complicate things with random hookups.Things get complicated when Shawn comes knocking at her yoga studio door. There is no denying the chemistry, these two are fire! Both have to work through some personal issues, but Shawn is determined to make Sage his again. Things heat up rather quickly and despite all of Sages reservations she can’t seem to keep him at arm's length. But sometimes sparks and chemistry just isn’t enough, when one of Shawn’s stunts chase Sage away, he needs to let go of some of his personal issues or loose the girl. A well written story about two people with reservations, searching and learning on their journey to find love. Wolff gave us a witty, steamy, and emotional read. Definitely worth a chance! I cannot wait for the next book in the series! **ARC provided by author for honest review**
    more
  • Sandy Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    This is book 2 in the Lightning series. This one is about Hunter's (Book 1) teammate Shawn and a friend of Emerson's (Book 1) Sage. Shawn and Sage meet at a bar and after making eyes at each other all night, they end up having a quick hookup in the back of the bar. Neither expects to see the other again, especially since Shawn couldn't get Sage to give him her number afterwards. But that changes when Shawn needs to have therapeutic yoga to help him heal his back after doing something his contrac This is book 2 in the Lightning series. This one is about Hunter's (Book 1) teammate Shawn and a friend of Emerson's (Book 1) Sage. Shawn and Sage meet at a bar and after making eyes at each other all night, they end up having a quick hookup in the back of the bar. Neither expects to see the other again, especially since Shawn couldn't get Sage to give him her number afterwards. But that changes when Shawn needs to have therapeutic yoga to help him heal his back after doing something his contract specifically says he shouldn't. And Sage has to accept because of the actions of her mother. They try to keep things professional, but things change. And they after they really start to know each other, they both start to fall. Until something happens that Sage doesn't think she can deal with. And Shawn has to decide what he wants more. Sage or his adrenaline rushes.I really liked this one. Sage is just trying to keep things together after growing up with a mother who is beyond flaky and never wants to grown up. After her mother leaves her in a bind yet again, she is just trying to find a way to fix things. Shawn deals with his problems by doing things that are dangerous. But underneath all that he is such a great guy. And reading about them actually becoming not only friends but falling in love was great. Especially when they both realized that they never really faced their own demons, they just found ways to hide from them. And then realized that their love for each other is more important than hiding. Such a great read.
    more
  • AJ Swen
    January 1, 1970
    *this book was given to me in exchange for an honest review*uu3.5-4 stars!The second book in the “Lightening” series, brings together two people who scream “opposites attract”!Shawn is the football stud, hasn’t really settled down, and partly because he’s chasing personal demons. After losing his mom and sister in a tragic accident, he can’t get past his guilt that it was caused because of him. This guilt and desire to feel connected to his mom, leads him to his daredevil ways. He’s impulsive, p *this book was given to me in exchange for an honest review*uu3.5-4 stars!The second book in the “Lightening” series, brings together two people who scream “opposites attract”!Shawn is the football stud, hasn’t really settled down, and partly because he’s chasing personal demons. After losing his mom and sister in a tragic accident, he can’t get past his guilt that it was caused because of him. This guilt and desire to feel connected to his mom, leads him to his daredevil ways. He’s impulsive, pushes his boundaries, and keeps people at a comfortable distance. He meets Sage, who of course, happens to bethe best friend to his best friend/teammate. Sage isn’t what he usually goes for, but their inner bond pulls them together.Sage helps marinating her mother’s yoga studio. She grew up with a flighty mother that never provided roots for them, and Sage grew up feeling like she never knew when/where their next destination would be, let alone if her mom would come back for her. This has created this ‘self protection’ personality in Sage, and has built a wall around her heart. One night she meets that gorgeous guy in a bar, fully expecting to go outside her bubble and never see him again. Shawn, has other plans and isn’t letting her get away.Their relationship is quick-very quick, in all matters. I liked the ‘opposite attract,’ but it also didn’t seem to do much for me. Some parts-specifically sex scenes-were way too wordy for me. I liked, not love the story/couple. I wish there would have been more around the sport as well.
    more
Write a review