A Ghost in the Glamour
Linx Maxwell’s life is on the verge of greatness. She’s finally graduated from street fairs and hopping chain link to making art that pays the bills. Her family life is… not dull. And it looks like her van might just be able to exist on hope and duct tape.If only she could get rid of the ghost who’s plagued her since the eighth grade.Frank Bogle is a detective who lost his life in the line of duty. Everyone on the other side knows that the Maxwell women are the best mediums in the business, but did he have to get attached to the one whose hair had been attacked by a weed wacker? Frank doesn’t like his afterlife any more than Linx does. He just doesn’t know how to leave.Linx & Bogie is a stand-alone, short fiction, paranormal series by Elizabeth Hunter, author of the Elemental World, the Irin Chronicles, and the Cambio Springs Mysteries.

A Ghost in the Glamour Details

TitleA Ghost in the Glamour
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 21st, 2017
PublisherE. Hunter
Number of pages100 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Thriller, Mystery Thriller

A Ghost in the Glamour Review

  • Elizabeth Hunter
    May 24, 2017
    IT'S HERE! I am so excited to introduce you guys to Linx & Bogie. They're so much fun, and I'm pretty sure you're going to love them.BUY LINKS➜ Amazon: http://amzn.to/2rAnKNU➜ iBooks: http://apple.co/2trMxF1➜ Kobo: http://bit.ly/2sSa1q0➜ Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view...➜ Nook: Coming SoonSoooooo, those of you who get my newsletter have already met Linx & Bogie. She's a wise-cracking artist who can't shake the ghost who's been following her around since puberty, and he IT'S HERE! I am so excited to introduce you guys to Linx & Bogie. They're so much fun, and I'm pretty sure you're going to love them.BUY LINKS➜ Amazon: http://amzn.to/2rAnKNU➜ iBooks: http://apple.co/2trMxF1➜ Kobo: http://bit.ly/2sSa1q0➜ Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view...➜ Nook: Coming SoonSoooooo, those of you who get my newsletter have already met Linx & Bogie. She's a wise-cracking artist who can't shake the ghost who's been following her around since puberty, and he's the ghost who can't figure out what he did in life to deserve being stuck to Linx. (Pink hair. Don't care.)Frank Bogle is also a police detective, killed in the line of duty, and in A Ghost in the Glamour, Linx finally gets a peek into Bogie's past. YES! There are fedoras and cigarettes and jazz and maybe even a femme fatale. It's pretty fun.(Frank is unamused.)We also get a bigger peek into how close Linx and Frank are, even if they pretend they can't stand each other. I'm so excited for you guys to read this! It'll be out in about a month. I'm not doing preorders, but please add it here on Goodreads! And please subscribe to my mailing list to get the release alert.
    more
  • Colleen Vanderlinden
    June 5, 2017
    Well, she did it. She wrote a book with no kissing in it and I still adored it. I want more Linx & Bogie now! I just loved the relationship and interplay between this mismatched duo of detectives.
  • Kara-karina
    June 15, 2017
    Linx and Bogie's story ended up a surprising mix of light and grave, humorous full-bodied characters and engaging world-building. I gobbled it up in one bite and found it absolutely adorable.Linx is a young artist with a ghost of an old detective who's been attached to her pretty much since she hit puberty. They have this good-natured, all out ribbing, well functioning partnership which you can only see after working together for years.Obviously, Miss Hunter took us into the middle of their esta Linx and Bogie's story ended up a surprising mix of light and grave, humorous full-bodied characters and engaging world-building. I gobbled it up in one bite and found it absolutely adorable.Linx is a young artist with a ghost of an old detective who's been attached to her pretty much since she hit puberty. They have this good-natured, all out ribbing, well functioning partnership which you can only see after working together for years.Obviously, Miss Hunter took us into the middle of their established routine, and it worked amazingly well. In fact, I found glimpses of their past tantalising, which means I am now hungry for more.The mystery itself solves a closed case which Frank Bogle worked on just before he died. It's straightforward and only adds to the whole charm of this series.Overall, it's a fabulous short read, a satisfying new direction for us to branch off along with the author and I can only highly recommend it. I demand more!* * * Рассказ о Линкс и Боги оказался неожиданной смесью темного и светлого контента, смешных персонажей и занимательного построения мира. Я проглотила его одним куском и нашла стиль повествования совершенно очаровательным.Линкс - молодая художница, к которой с подросткового возраста прицепился призрак детектива Фрэнка Богла или Боги. У них замечательно функционирующее партнерство, с добродушным подшучиванием друг над другом, которого можно достичь только когда знаешь друг друга много лет.Очевидно, что мисс Хантер забросила нас посередине налаженной рутины, и этот прием сработал очень удачно. По существу, меня настолько раздразнили проблески их прошлого, что я теперь хочу узнать о них еще больше.Детективная линия прямолинейна и сосредоточена на деле, которым занимался Фрэнк перед своей смертью, что только добавляет шарма этой серии.В общем, быстрое вкусное чтение. Прекрасное новое направление для автора. Очень рекомендую и с нетерпением буду ждать продолжения.
    more
  • Sandra ~ ♥ Cross My Heart ♥
    June 8, 2017
    Quirky, colorful LA artist & medium Linx Maxwell is finally making a living off her art and so close to achieving her dreams she can almost taste it.  She really doesn't have the time or inclination to placate the ghost of LAPD Detective Frank "Bogie" Boyle who was murdered in his prime while investigating a murder case back in the 50's.  There's just one teeny, weeny, little problem. . . Bogie is bound to Linx and is not going anywhere.  They haven't a clue as to why he can't move on and so Quirky, colorful LA artist & medium Linx Maxwell is finally making a living off her art and so close to achieving her dreams she can almost taste it.  She really doesn't have the time or inclination to placate the ghost of LAPD Detective Frank "Bogie" Boyle who was murdered in his prime while investigating a murder case back in the 50's.  There's just one teeny, weeny, little problem. . . Bogie is bound to Linx and is not going anywhere.  They haven't a clue as to why he can't move on and so they're stuck making the best of a bad situation which leads to some hilarious scenes.Linx and Bogie's story has a bit of an old school vibe to it - reminiscent of the era of Bogart or Sinatra - a mystery with a classic cigarette smoking, fedora wearing, jazz listening detective on the case . . . only this time, he's a ghost attached to a medium.  The two couldn't be any more different if they tried which sets the stage for some witty, snarky humor as Bogie gives Linx dating advice, and Linx helps Bogie solve cases.  When Bogie asks Linx for help solving the old case that got him murdered, she sees it as an opportunity to learn more about his past and maybe, just maybe help him move on.  But is this really what either of them wants?As the story unfolded, I found myself intrigued by the mystery of what had happened to Frank/Bogie all those years ago.  Linx has to allow Bogie into her mind so that she (and thus the reader) sees the past scenes play out first-hand through his eyes, thus skillfully weaving his past story into the present.  While short on pages, I found this story to be a unique read with a great blend of strong characters, intriguing plot, and snarky humor.  A great introduction to this world and characters!  I hope we see more of Linx and Bogie!  Another Must Read by Elizabeth Hunter!  *Reviewed at Cross My Heart Writings and Reviews.
    more
  • Charla Bittner
    June 8, 2017
    Elizabeth Hunter's books are on my buy-whatever-she-writes list. I was thrilled to get an advanced copy in return for an honest review. The book is A Ghost in the Glamour by Elizabeth Hunter. Prior to the actual novella, the reader is given 3 shorts that set the stage for the characters, Linx and Bogie. We learn how they meet, her struggles in school and how Bogie helps her learn to drive. Each of these shorts is a pivotal point in their relationship and sets the stage for the novella. The novel Elizabeth Hunter's books are on my buy-whatever-she-writes list. I was thrilled to get an advanced copy in return for an honest review. The book is A Ghost in the Glamour by Elizabeth Hunter. Prior to the actual novella, the reader is given 3 shorts that set the stage for the characters, Linx and Bogie. We learn how they meet, her struggles in school and how Bogie helps her learn to drive. Each of these shorts is a pivotal point in their relationship and sets the stage for the novella. The novella can be read as a stand alone, but I really appreciated the added depth of character development the 3 shorts provided.I loved the book, as I expected. What I love about Hunter's writing is how fleshed out the characters are; I hear the panic and humor in their voices. Bogie is a taciturn homicide detective. Linx matures from 13 to twenty something. The voices of Linx and Bogie are startlingly honest.A Ghost in the Glamour is a fun, well-written book, perfect for summer reading.
    more
  • Deniese
    May 30, 2017
    There are few books that I feel are worthy of rereading: Pride and Prejudice and all of Elizabeth Hunter's books. Yes, I just lumped E. Hunter in with Austen. Hunter's books are well written, creative and the character development sucks you into their world. Her characters feel like old friends and I love to revisit them often. I was both excited and hesitant to read an early copy of A Ghost in the Glamour because it is such a departure from her usual paranormal romance (though I hate this term! There are few books that I feel are worthy of rereading: Pride and Prejudice and all of Elizabeth Hunter's books. Yes, I just lumped E. Hunter in with Austen. Hunter's books are well written, creative and the character development sucks you into their world. Her characters feel like old friends and I love to revisit them often. I was both excited and hesitant to read an early copy of A Ghost in the Glamour because it is such a departure from her usual paranormal romance (though I hate this term! Her books have so much more substance that that) genre. I didn't want one of my favorite authors to fall from that pedestal I had placed her on. Was I disappointed? Yes, only because I finished it in under an hour. I thoroughly loved reading about Linx and Bogie! As with her previous books, the characters feel real, flawed and likable at the same time. Her descriptions are complete without inundating you with minutiae and boring the reader. I cannot wait to see what adventures these two will have. Read her books, you can't go wrong.
    more
  • Fiona Weaver
    June 2, 2017
    This is an absolute corker of a story. It's a new direction for Elizabeth Hunter - crime story with a supernatural twist. The 2 main characters are fantastic fun - full of Elizabeth Hunter's quick wit and ease of conversation. I loved it and I highly recommend this is the next book you buy/download.
    more
  • Gigi
    June 4, 2017
    If I had not already loved Linx and Bogie, from reading 📖 Elizabeth Hunter's newsletters, this short story, 'A Ghost in the Glamour: A Linx & Bogie Story,' would have sealed the deal!Frank 'Bogie' Boyle, a LAPD detective, was cut-down in the prime of his life, while on the job. Now, As a ghost, Frank has heard of the Maxwell women, and their gifts as powerful mediums. What Frank never imagined would happen, was being bound to Linx.Lindsay 'Linx' Evelyn Maxwell, an artistic thirteen year old, If I had not already loved Linx and Bogie, from reading 📖 Elizabeth Hunter's newsletters, this short story, 'A Ghost in the Glamour: A Linx & Bogie Story,' would have sealed the deal!Frank 'Bogie' Boyle, a LAPD detective, was cut-down in the prime of his life, while on the job. Now, As a ghost, Frank has heard of the Maxwell women, and their gifts as powerful mediums. What Frank never imagined would happen, was being bound to Linx.Lindsay 'Linx' Evelyn Maxwell, an artistic thirteen year old, knew she should have expected to see a ghost/spirit soon. Though she can say with a certainty, that she'd never expected to be awoken and bound to her first ghostly visitor... her own personal 'Bogie!' 'A Ghost in the Glamour: A Linx & Bogie story,' gives us an intimate look into whom these characters are... apart and together. They are wonderfully written characters. It's an excellent read you will not want to miss! I simply loved it!!!
    more
  • Tink
    May 30, 2017
    I , fortunately, had the opportunity to read an early copy of this book. I won't give you any spoilers, but if you enjoy strong women, humor, and detectives reminiscent of Humphrey Bogart 's Sam Spade, you really need to pick this one up. It's a quick read, but the perfect, bite sized, treat. A note: I read many genres, but I know many don't. If you don't generally read romance, and are ready to skip this one because the author's other work has a heavy romantic influence...Don't! Readers of cozi I , fortunately, had the opportunity to read an early copy of this book. I won't give you any spoilers, but if you enjoy strong women, humor, and detectives reminiscent of Humphrey Bogart 's Sam Spade, you really need to pick this one up. It's a quick read, but the perfect, bite sized, treat. A note: I read many genres, but I know many don't. If you don't generally read romance, and are ready to skip this one because the author's other work has a heavy romantic influence...Don't! Readers of cozies and mysteries will enjoy this as much as readers of her other series will. Pick it up ASAP and hope a regular series is forthcoming.
    more
  • Melissa Moody
    May 31, 2017
    I absolutely loved the lighthearted adventure of Linx & Bogie. I hope that there might possibly be a full length adventure in the future. **hint, hint** This is totally different from the amazing stories that Elizabeth Hunter usually does, but it works. It kind of makes me wish I had my own friendly ghost. **I received an advanced copy for an honest review.**
    more
  • Tamika♥RBF MOOD♥
    June 16, 2017
    I never wanted Linx & Bogie to end. It was really really good. From the moment I picked it up, I was enraptured with it. I couldn't put it down, and as the page number was increasing my anxiety was increasing as well. Nooooo, I didn't want it to end. I had no clue Hunter was writing this. I love her work and have really stuck with her series, but I'm one of those fans that will wait until the author's newsletter makes announcements instead of stalking their social media. Maybe I should have, I never wanted Linx & Bogie to end. It was really really good. From the moment I picked it up, I was enraptured with it. I couldn't put it down, and as the page number was increasing my anxiety was increasing as well. Nooooo, I didn't want it to end. I had no clue Hunter was writing this. I love her work and have really stuck with her series, but I'm one of those fans that will wait until the author's newsletter makes announcements instead of stalking their social media. Maybe I should have, and then I would have been prepared for this awesomeness. Linx comes from a family of powerful women who deal in the supernatural world. Each generation does something different, and it goes on from there. Unbeknownst to Linx's family she's a gateway to the other side, and she can see her charges. I don't think they were expecting Bogie. At 14 she met Bogie and he's been with her every since. I really enjoyed the interaction and the story between these two characters. Bogie is such a gentleman, but cares deeply for Linx and vice versa. It must have been hard being the ghost girl in elementary school, and high school not fairing that much better. With the love from her family, Bogie, and Raul life is good for Linx. She's a private investigator part time, amazing artist full time, and all around devouty to Bogie. This is strictly NO ROMANCE. Don't come looking for it. I can read about these two for days. Hunter is such an amazing writers and I continuously hold her to high regards because she always puts out the best and thorough effort in her characters and stories. I'm not surprised by how good it is. I'm merely surprised that we couldn't get more out on the page. I would really like to see more from these characters! This is a definite recommend from me!  
    more
  • Sapphyria
    June 19, 2017
    A Ghost in the Glamour features three short stories at the beginning of the novella and they are great! The titles of each story are: 1) Morning, Cupcake; 2) Ghost Girl; and 3) Backseat Driver. Witty and full of banter, these three stories give us a little back story into when Frank (Bogie) the ghost attaches to Linx, a teenaged medium and how their relationship develops in various situations.A Ghost in the Glamour takes place in present day and Linx and Bogie find themselves working behind the A Ghost in the Glamour features three short stories at the beginning of the novella and they are great! The titles of each story are: 1) Morning, Cupcake; 2) Ghost Girl; and 3) Backseat Driver. Witty and full of banter, these three stories give us a little back story into when Frank (Bogie) the ghost attaches to Linx, a teenaged medium and how their relationship develops in various situations.A Ghost in the Glamour takes place in present day and Linx and Bogie find themselves working behind the scenes on a cold case that has recently had a new development. As the story progresses, the reader is given back story on how this unlikely duo manages to co-exist – Linx being an up and coming artist with an interesting choice in hair color and Bogie, reminiscent from the years of Sinatra, fedoras, and jazz. I really enjoyed their non-romantic pairing. Linx and Bogie might bicker and complain but when either one is away from the other, there is a true sense of loss and I felt it as I read the passages.Elizabeth Hunter is one of my favorite authors and I’m glad I had the chance to read A Ghost in the Glamour. I was pulled in from the very first short story included in the ebook. Ms. Hunter’s writing is smooth and conversational. It’s easy to get lost in her stories. Her characters are well developed and the world she created for A Ghost in the Glamour has me wanting more from Linx and Bogie. When Bogie inhabits Linx’s mind and we see glimpses of his time period it’s easy to feel like we are there, too. Another great addition to Elizabeth Hunter’s written works.I voluntarily reviewed a copy of A Ghost in Glamour provided to me by the author.
    more
  • Erin Fraser
    June 10, 2017
    I was so excited to get to read A Ghost in the Glamour ahead of its release. As a fan of the ongoing newsletter series about Linx and Bogie, I was looking forward to seeing that story extended. This book was not an extension of that particular storyline, but instead delved more deeply into how Linx and Bogie got to the point in their relationship that we've seen so far. For such a short book, it got into so many details that were key to putting more emotion into the artist and the spirit.Lindsay I was so excited to get to read A Ghost in the Glamour ahead of its release. As a fan of the ongoing newsletter series about Linx and Bogie, I was looking forward to seeing that story extended. This book was not an extension of that particular storyline, but instead delved more deeply into how Linx and Bogie got to the point in their relationship that we've seen so far. For such a short book, it got into so many details that were key to putting more emotion into the artist and the spirit.Lindsay "Linx" Maxwell comes from a line of women 400 years in the making who can speak to ghosts. Detective Frank Bogle is dead, and is Linx's personal "bogie." This book takes you into a mystery 60 plus years in the making, one which Frank can't get out of his head for many reasons. It's both personal and professional for him and Linx is instrumental in helping Frank put together the missing pieces of his puzzle. Elizabeth Hunter amazes me once again with her powerful descriptive abilities. When Frank enters a club, I can hear the jazz playing, smell the stale cigarette smoke, and see the condensation on the sides of the glasses. If you weren't being reminded that this was the 1950s, you'd swear you were about to encounter flappers during the Jazz Age. I look forward to more Linx and Bogie, both in the newsletter and in short story form. These two characters have a chemistry unlike all others in her books, and I can't wait to see where she goes with it. You won't be disappointed with A Ghost in the Glamour.
    more
  • Katrina
    June 30, 2017
    4.5*" Good morning Cupcake "And for me it was a very good morning indeed. Charming, witty, an absolute delight. I so hope that this short story is just an introduction, a beginning, and there will be more adventures to come. Linx and Bogie are a pure reading pleasure and I am already in love with them. The loss of half of the star is me being a meanie because it left me wanting more.
    more
  • Nicola
    June 10, 2017
    I was lucky enough to get an ARC of "A ghost in the glamour: A Linx & Bogie story" from Elizabeth Hunter, and have nothing but good things to say about it. As usual, Elizabeth Hunter's writing is flawless as she creates a new story based around Linx - a funky young artist from a family that have had connections to ghosts for over 400 years, and Bogie - Linx's own personal ghost who has been stuck to her since she was 14. The book is a short story of how they 'met' and then a novella going in I was lucky enough to get an ARC of "A ghost in the glamour: A Linx & Bogie story" from Elizabeth Hunter, and have nothing but good things to say about it. As usual, Elizabeth Hunter's writing is flawless as she creates a new story based around Linx - a funky young artist from a family that have had connections to ghosts for over 400 years, and Bogie - Linx's own personal ghost who has been stuck to her since she was 14. The book is a short story of how they 'met' and then a novella going into Bogie's history a bit. It doesn't have any of the heat that her other novels have (although if you are on her mailing list you will have already met these characters before and know that there may be a future with a special someone), but it still has as much depth and intrigue as her other series' not to mention the humour. I would recommend this book to those looking for a new paranormal crime type of book, that is well written and will make you want a full length novel ASAP. I would also strongly recommend the elemental series, irin series and cambio springs series, as everything that she writes is a one-click buy in my opinion.
    more
  • This Literary Life
    May 31, 2017
    I am always amazed when Elizabeth Hunter manages to create yet another entire world and characters that I could lose myself in. There are some characters that I read about that I simply love, but when it's in one of her books, I am full on, diehard invested. This book gave me a Risole and Styles meets Ghost Whisperer vibe, only instead of the sweet Jennifer Love Hewitt, we got the snarky, humorous, quick wit of Linx and Bogle. I did not expect my heart to be as invested in this particular story, I am always amazed when Elizabeth Hunter manages to create yet another entire world and characters that I could lose myself in. There are some characters that I read about that I simply love, but when it's in one of her books, I am full on, diehard invested. This book gave me a Risole and Styles meets Ghost Whisperer vibe, only instead of the sweet Jennifer Love Hewitt, we got the snarky, humorous, quick wit of Linx and Bogle. I did not expect my heart to be as invested in this particular story, even with as much supernatural type stories that I read, I don't do ghosts as a rule. (Not sure why that is, maybe I need to look into that!) The idea in this story is very unique, being from a ghost friendly family, Linsey, AKA Linx, was familiar with and even expected to see ghosts on a regular basis throughout her life. But Linx's particular case in special, wherein her particular ghost sticks around and doesn't move on. She has to find a way of navigating ALL of life's moments from preteen puberty, to young woman romance, with Bogle buy her side. She is surrounded by a wonderfully crazy Nan (that reminded me a little of B's grandmother in her Elemental Mysteries Series) and her fully supportive mother, both in the ghost business. Each character that is introduced easily bonded with my heart, especially Raul!! I'd love to read more about him, he is so sweet. I truly loved the chemistry between Linx and Detective Frank Bogle, and I admired that it was platonic. Not every male/female relationship has to be sexual to make it a good read, as proven buy how captivating this story is without any of that. I really hope that we continue to get more of these two. Either more short stories or if it turned into a whole series, I would love that too….While I'm at it, could we get this in a TV show?? Yeah, I'd really like that. I'd totally binge the heck out of that!
    more
  • Kay Fulbright Warren
    June 12, 2017
    A Linx and Bogie short story collection. Linx is a young artist and a medium who's only ghost contact is a LA detective from the 1950s. The stories start with their first meeting, and end with a mystery from Bogies past. I enjoyed these glimpses of the early Linx and Bogie. Ms. Hunter has written funny yet tender stories. As usual for her books, you quickly love the characters and their interactions with each other. Another winner from the mind of Elizabeth Hunter.
    more
  • Sarah Leenart
    May 30, 2017
    As a HUGE Elizabeth Hunter fan I was overjoyed to find out that Linx and Bogie were to get their own 'proper' books, having made their first appearance in the author's newsletters in a serial format. To be honest there is not a word that Elizabeth Hunter has ever written that I have not loved. Her characters are incredibly real and relatable, and within pages you feel like you have known them forever. I've not read anything quite like Linx and Bogie before, yet again a unique take on a world, th As a HUGE Elizabeth Hunter fan I was overjoyed to find out that Linx and Bogie were to get their own 'proper' books, having made their first appearance in the author's newsletters in a serial format. To be honest there is not a word that Elizabeth Hunter has ever written that I have not loved. Her characters are incredibly real and relatable, and within pages you feel like you have known them forever. I've not read anything quite like Linx and Bogie before, yet again a unique take on a world, this time ghosts. Linx is part of a wonderful, warm and crazy family who 'see' ghosts, but all in different manners. Linx, a quirky, funny and caring woman has the ghost of Bogie as her permanent companion, a detective from the 50's, full of dry wit and acerbic comments. Together they are an awesome pair and make the pages fly past all too quickly. This story deals with Bogie's past and had me hooked from the very start. I most sincerely hope that there are many many more Linx and Bogie stories to come. LOVED it!
    more
  • Angela Whitmore
    May 31, 2017
    Elizabeth Hunter is already established as a great writer of paranormal stories, with her existing three series about vampires, fallen angels and shifters. This short story is a teaser/introduction to her new characters, Linx who is a 27 year old artist living in LA, and Bogie - the ghost of a long-dead detective who is "attached" to her. This was a great way to meet new characters and learn about their back stories. They make a clever detecting team together and the descriptions of their early Elizabeth Hunter is already established as a great writer of paranormal stories, with her existing three series about vampires, fallen angels and shifters. This short story is a teaser/introduction to her new characters, Linx who is a 27 year old artist living in LA, and Bogie - the ghost of a long-dead detective who is "attached" to her. This was a great way to meet new characters and learn about their back stories. They make a clever detecting team together and the descriptions of their early times through Linx's teenage years made me laugh out loud.You have to read this story and if like me you want more but can't wait for another book, then Ms Hunter has a newsletter service in which you can find more Linx and Bogie.I received this book in exchange for an honest review. The above review is therefore honest, but so are all my others. 😊
    more
  • Norma
    June 1, 2017
    Linx and Bogey are such a wonderful team that I was immediately sucked into the story. It was funny, intriguing, modern, timeless, and a little sad, all the makings of a great tale and that's what it is. It felt a little lighter emotionally than her other stories, but that made it refreshing for me. I would highly recommend anything that Elizabeth Hunter writes, and this is no exception. Read this if you're in need of something you read immediately through to the end. Luckily, it's short, I was Linx and Bogey are such a wonderful team that I was immediately sucked into the story. It was funny, intriguing, modern, timeless, and a little sad, all the makings of a great tale and that's what it is. It felt a little lighter emotionally than her other stories, but that made it refreshing for me. I would highly recommend anything that Elizabeth Hunter writes, and this is no exception. Read this if you're in need of something you read immediately through to the end. Luckily, it's short, I was in the middle of laundry!
    more
  • Jaime
    May 30, 2017
    A breath of fresh air that leaves you asking for more! Linx and Bogie are a duo unlike any other, simply put they are complete opposites from totally different eras. I loved the short stories and how you are given little peeks into their world together. I thoroughly enjoyed their banter and how they work so well together as a team to solve a mystery. I did not anticipate the ending at all and enjoyed the plot twist. Elizabeth is a wonderful writer and I hope that she decides to write a full leng A breath of fresh air that leaves you asking for more! Linx and Bogie are a duo unlike any other, simply put they are complete opposites from totally different eras. I loved the short stories and how you are given little peeks into their world together. I thoroughly enjoyed their banter and how they work so well together as a team to solve a mystery. I did not anticipate the ending at all and enjoyed the plot twist. Elizabeth is a wonderful writer and I hope that she decides to write a full length novel about these two(and Nan also!). If you are looking for a short and fun read, this is the story for you!
    more
  • Lauren Lauren
    June 3, 2017
    I loved this book. The short stories before the main story are a fantastic intro to Linx and Bogie and backseat driver is really funny. It amazes me how real Elizabeth Hunter makes her characters and I hope to read more of Linx & Bogie in the future.
    more
  • Dee Smith
    May 30, 2017
    I loved getting to know more of Linx and Bogie, they are quite a pair. Love their chemistry together, so funny one moment and so caring the next. Loved the novel but also loved the short stories giving us glimpses into early Linx and Bogie. All in all a very enjoyable read!! Can't wait for more!!
    more
  • Cora
    June 20, 2017
    Elizabeth Hunter has been giving us a little of Linx and Frank in her news letter for a while now. This is the first novella put out with these memorable characters in it. And it is amazing. The author is super skilled with novellas, giving the reader a powerful story in such few words. She has several of them out there to go along with her different paranormal series.A Ghost in the Glamour is a stand alone about a young woman named Linx Maxwell and her detective turned ghost, Frank Bogle. In Li Elizabeth Hunter has been giving us a little of Linx and Frank in her news letter for a while now. This is the first novella put out with these memorable characters in it. And it is amazing. The author is super skilled with novellas, giving the reader a powerful story in such few words. She has several of them out there to go along with her different paranormal series.A Ghost in the Glamour is a stand alone about a young woman named Linx Maxwell and her detective turned ghost, Frank Bogle. In Linx's family the women have the ability to be more in touch with the dead then most. These two have been together for years, and while Linx is an amazing artist, Frank is still all business.So when information comes to light that is tied to Frank's life the two can not help but want answers. This was a special treat for those of us who have been reading the news letter and crave more of these two opposites...and a perfect introduction if you are just joining the fun.A must read!
    more
  • Imdanield
    July 1, 2017
    Another very well written story from EH. She has a way of bringing her characters to life that few other authors can match and fewer still exceed. I enjoyed this introduction to Linx & Bogie and am looking forward to more.
  • Tessa
    June 16, 2017
    Most enjoyable! With layered characters and a sprinkle of mystery, this intro to Lynx and Bogie was so much fun to read!I really enjoyed getting a sample of these characters and as always I'm very excited for more.
  • Jenn of Back Off My Books
    June 20, 2017
    There is always something amazing about the way Elizabeth Hunter writes and I think what it is is her ability to create such amazing and fantastic worlds that reside within our own. I love suspending believe in reality and falling into her words because it is always an adventure and full emersion experience. Linx & Bogie's stories are no exception to this and I loved getting lost for a short time with them. I laughed, smirked and at times felt somber. This is such a fun and unique story that There is always something amazing about the way Elizabeth Hunter writes and I think what it is is her ability to create such amazing and fantastic worlds that reside within our own. I love suspending believe in reality and falling into her words because it is always an adventure and full emersion experience. Linx & Bogie's stories are no exception to this and I loved getting lost for a short time with them. I laughed, smirked and at times felt somber. This is such a fun and unique story that I think anyone can enjoy.This is really the perfect read for when you want to escape for a little bit without getting lost for days.
    more
  • Victoria
    June 16, 2017
    An excellent treat of a novella from one of my favorite authors. Unlike many of Ms. Hunter's other stories Linx & Bogie is first a mystery. A bit of coming of age, a developing friendship, with a touch of paranormal and humour - it was a good mix. Short and sweet, but emotional and satisfying. I have to admit, I haven't read many stories of this genre in the past few years, but I used to love a good mystery and this one definitely whet my appetite for more. Recommended
    more
  • Christina Murray
    June 1, 2017
    Can I have a Bogie? Pretty please! I was given an early copy of this book and let me tell you guys how blessed I feel to have received this amazing book. Elizabeth Hunter strikes once again and what a story she tells. The book follows Linx through different periods of her life and her ghost companion Bogie. The relationship between Linx and Bogie is something special. If you’ve ever had a close friend that no mattered how hard you tried to get rid of them they still seemed to reappear then you w Can I have a Bogie? Pretty please! I was given an early copy of this book and let me tell you guys how blessed I feel to have received this amazing book. Elizabeth Hunter strikes once again and what a story she tells. The book follows Linx through different periods of her life and her ghost companion Bogie. The relationship between Linx and Bogie is something special. If you’ve ever had a close friend that no mattered how hard you tried to get rid of them they still seemed to reappear then you will understand the relationship between these two-awesome main characters. Linx is a strong female lead who is paired with an equally as strong willed male lead. Ms. Hunter intricately weaves the past into the present giving us an understanding of who Linx is and an even greater understanding who Bogie is. The plot is cohesive and holds the reader in an iron fist, not releasing until the mystery is solved. The mystery itself was captivating but the underlying plot was even deeper in character and plot development. I finished this book in less than a day and will be rereading it repeatedly for years to come. It is literally just that good. I would recommend this book to everyone. Brava Ms. Hunter!
    more
  • Chantell Reid
    May 30, 2017
    A fun and entertaining read. Has some mystery and humor with a great balance of supernatural. Lindsay, aka Linx is part of a long history of mediums her family. She wakes one morning to her first ghost and seems that she is stuck with him. Frank Bogle, aka Bogie, was a detective when he died. How did he end up stuck with a teenage medium?Linx knows that ghosts have unfinished business that needs to be finished so there isn't a hesitation to look into the case he was working when Bogie died. A le A fun and entertaining read. Has some mystery and humor with a great balance of supernatural. Lindsay, aka Linx is part of a long history of mediums her family. She wakes one morning to her first ghost and seems that she is stuck with him. Frank Bogle, aka Bogie, was a detective when he died. How did he end up stuck with a teenage medium?Linx knows that ghosts have unfinished business that needs to be finished so there isn't a hesitation to look into the case he was working when Bogie died. A lead in the dead end case shows up and they run with it.
    more
Write a review