Turn the Page
Sex. Drugs. Rock and roll.Life in the fast lane is nothing new to Corbin James.After completing his second stint in rehab, Corbin heads home to Riverview, determined to leave the music world behind and focus on his family, his songwriting, and his sobriety.Crippled with debt but determined to make it on her own, Jolie Daniels pours her heart and soul into the town's bookstore. When Corbin finds his debut album in Jolie’s discount bin, sparks fly between the pretty bookstore owner and the rock star musician.Corbin knows he’s nowhere near good enough for a sweet girl like Jolie . . .But he wants to be.When a record label approaches Corbin with the chance to make a musical comeback, he doesn’t think twice before saying no. He’s ready to settle down, and he wants to do it with Jolie. However, when her beloved bookstore is threatened with foreclosure, Corbin finds himself signing a contract that will take him away from home and back on tour for three months.Can Corbin resist the temptations of the tour? Or will the loneliness of the road resurrect all the demons he’s worked so hard to bury?

Turn the Page Details

TitleTurn the Page
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherEnchanted Publications
ISBN1548297151
ISBN-139781548297152
Number of pages317 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Music, Family, Contemporary

Turn the Page Review

  • Give Me Books
    July 2, 2017
    From Chapter 1 I realized this was going to be one of those stories that was going to gut me and boy did it ever. Corbin James, once had the life many would envy, groupies, money and fame. Little did he realize that loosing all that would open his eyes to what was really important and what would really bring him happiness. Enter Jolie Daniels, finally opening her bookstore and settling somewhere where she can finally call home, never in her wildest dream did she think of catching Corbin's attent From Chapter 1 I realized this was going to be one of those stories that was going to gut me and boy did it ever. Corbin James, once had the life many would envy, groupies, money and fame. Little did he realize that loosing all that would open his eyes to what was really important and what would really bring him happiness. Enter Jolie Daniels, finally opening her bookstore and settling somewhere where she can finally call home, never in her wildest dream did she think of catching Corbin's attention. Their first interaction had me cringing and laughing because Jolie was a no nonsense girl and that left Corbin shocked because she was the first person to stand up to him and not back down because he was "famous"...or was. Corbin realized then that he had to forget about Jolie Daniels yet his heart wouldn't let him and he knew that he was in big trouble.As I got lost in their story I loved seeing how vulnerable both Corbin & Jolie were with each other. There is just so much to their story that had me laughing, sighing, crying and hoping that in the end their love and trust in each other would survive.Ms Logan always gives us her heart in every story she gives us and this by far is her best in my opinion. Be ready to get lost and root for Corbin & Jolie's love story. -Kara, 5 Amazing Stars
    more
  • Sofia Lazaridou
    July 11, 2017
    4.5 starsEarly in the book, I became worried that religion would play a big [part in the story and the reader would be forced to read about the author's religious beliefs. I am happy to report that even though God is mentioned a couple of time, the book is almost religion free.I didn't mind the rest of it. Turn the page is a light book, without the over the top drama that usually accompanies a rock star book. Corbin and Josie have a beautiful relationship. They trust each other and they are perf 4.5 starsEarly in the book, I became worried that religion would play a big [part in the story and the reader would be forced to read about the author's religious beliefs. I am happy to report that even though God is mentioned a couple of time, the book is almost religion free.I didn't mind the rest of it. Turn the page is a light book, without the over the top drama that usually accompanies a rock star book. Corbin and Josie have a beautiful relationship. They trust each other and they are perfect for each other. The story is simple. We watch Josie and Corbin fall for each other and together they face whatever the universe brings upon them. The story isn't focused on Corbin's occupation or the lifestyle, which he has left behind or Josie's problems with her bookstore. It's focused on the two of them solving those problems and facing the obstacles. When I think of this book the first word that pops into my mind is calm. There was no exhausting drama. They don't fight for silly things and even when Corbin is forced to deal with the rock star lifestyle again he handles it perfectly. I would love to see some of the secondary characters getting their own books. I would recommend the book without a doubt.
    more
  • Melanie Moreland
    July 5, 2017
    Turn the Page is a lovely story of moving forward, finding yourself, and learning to love. Sydney Logan weaves a tender love story with a flawed lead who has to learn who he is in order to find his way in life. Returning to his hometown, broken and disillusioned, Corbin discovers that the life he left behind, is exactly what he needs to move forward. And the girl he needs to move forward with, is worth sacrifices he never thought he was strong enough to make. 5 turning pages stars.
    more
  • Chele
    June 13, 2017
    This book is Amazing . Strong characters, real struggles . Heart, home, Family, trust and second chances.I totally loved it ! I read this as an ARC and am giving an honest opinion. This is indeed a 5 STAR READ.
  • HappilyEverChapter
    July 6, 2017
    ✩ ✩ ✩ ✩ ✩ FIVE-STAR ✩ REVIEW ✩ ✩ ✩ ✩ ✩(Fourth of 2017!)> > Judging a Book by it's Cover < < At a glance, it looks like a cowboy striding across the parched desert earth. The synopsis sounds like a sweet, charming, endearing read. > > Looking Deeper < < POV ~> Third-personLet me start by saying that the opening lines of the synopsis are rather misleading. Corbin lived that life previous to the "current timeline", so any of the fast-lane lifestyle is behind him. He's not ✩ ✩ ✩ ✩ ✩ FIVE-STAR ✩ REVIEW ✩ ✩ ✩ ✩ ✩(Fourth of 2017!)> > Judging a Book by it's Cover < < At a glance, it looks like a cowboy striding across the parched desert earth. The synopsis sounds like a sweet, charming, endearing read. > > Looking Deeper < < POV ~> Third-personLet me start by saying that the opening lines of the synopsis are rather misleading. Corbin lived that life previous to the "current timeline", so any of the fast-lane lifestyle is behind him. He's not perfect, but boy is he ever trying to become a worthy man. All he wants is to make his family proud and be good enough to deserve a girl like Jolie. Jolie's a sweet girl. Innocent in some ways, but not willing to take any crap from anyone. They compliment and balance one another out quite nicely. I loved the lead characters and their family members. I enjoyed most of the secondary characters as well (with the exception of the one(s) we're not meant to like, of course). Dialogue was natural. Interactions were believable. Emotions were exploding throughout the book! The plot was sweet, entertaining, and dynamic. The writer's style is so smooth and fluid, it made the pages FLY by. There were a few hiccups along the way that were addressed and taken care of. Predictability was mild, but not detracting. The ending concludes in a flash-forward that is solid and satisfying. It's been a while since I've read a book that I just literally could not put down, that I NEEDED to keep reading, to know more about them, to see where their story went & how it all ended. This was one such book and I am so very thankful I took the chance to request this new-to-me author. I whole-heartedly recommend this to anyone looking for a sweeter contemporary romance with a hint of heat. .Rating: [PG-13] ~ Score: 4.525 ~ Stars: 5There was some sexual content implied, but not detailed. There were some instances of violence. Flashbacks of drug use but not in great detail. ==========================⭐ ⭐ **** Disclosure of Material: I received a copy of this book from Sarah Reads and the Author/Publisher with the hope that I would voluntarily leave unbiased and unsolicited feedback. I was not asked, encouraged, or required to leave a review - nor was I compensated in any way. I am posting this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising". ***** ⭐ ⭐
    more
  • Karen
    July 12, 2017
    New author to me and I loved the book!! It seemed so real to me...the issues and struggles. I loved that the intimate scenes were not graphic. I loved the family aspect of handling situations and the inclusion of good people in the music industry.I got the Bob Seger reference for book store and also for the book!! Overall just well written and good experience!!!
    more
  • Diane plourde
    June 20, 2017
    "It's good to remember where you're from. Your family. Your town. Your home. They remind you what's important" As a book lover and avid reader like I am, I have my "to go authors". Authors where I anticipate their next book. Why is Sydney Logan one of them you might ask? It's easy, her stories are like a breath of fresh air. Reading is a form of therapy and escape. Sydney's stories do that for me and so much more. Real love stories that are raw and pure without to much angst and drama. She has m "It's good to remember where you're from. Your family. Your town. Your home. They remind you what's important" As a book lover and avid reader like I am, I have my "to go authors". Authors where I anticipate their next book. Why is Sydney Logan one of them you might ask? It's easy, her stories are like a breath of fresh air. Reading is a form of therapy and escape. Sydney's stories do that for me and so much more. Real love stories that are raw and pure without to much angst and drama. She has managed yet again with this 5 star story. Corbin became an overnight successful singer that also failed as fast. Sex, drug and alcohol . Now he's back home, broke with no sense of direction. He never thought he'd fall head over heals with Jolie, the feisty book store owner, Turn The Page. Now her future is threatened and Corbin will do what he vowed to never do again in order to help her. I read this story in a matter of hours. My undivided attention was solely focused on this wonderful story of a second chance at doing what Corbin loves to do. Jolie always thought she knew what she wanted. When their passion became their job, something's was lost. I really loved this story because there were some surprising turn of events that left me speechless. There was even an hint of suspense and intrigue. Amazing storyline that flowed well. What makes up a great story? For me are the characters. These perfectly created ones were amazing. The respect and the love they had for each other was unique and raw. Corbin for his selfless gestures and Jolie for looking beyond the rock star persona . They made me feel so many different emotions. I even shed a few tears. The secondary characters played an important role in the development of the story. I wouldn't mind having to read a story about Keith. So bottom line is that, if readers want to read a great pure love story, read Turn The Page. Standalone told in the third person with a great HEA. I loved the epilogue, by the way. I strongly recommend this story.
    more
  • Aurora (Whoo Gives A Hoot)
    July 4, 2017
    * Read more of my reviews at Whoo Gives A Hoot * I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review... Why in the H-E-DOUBLE HOCKEY STICKS haven't I read any of Sydney Logan's books until now? I mean seriously she is such a phenomenal writer with an amazing talent for words. When I saw this book I immediately recognized the name of the author, but couldn't remember ever reading one of her books. After searching through my old Goodreads TBR list I discovered that I ac * Read more of my reviews at Whoo Gives A Hoot * I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review... Why in the H-E-DOUBLE HOCKEY STICKS haven't I read any of Sydney Logan's books until now? I mean seriously she is such a phenomenal writer with an amazing talent for words. When I saw this book I immediately recognized the name of the author, but couldn't remember ever reading one of her books. After searching through my old Goodreads TBR list I discovered that I actually had quite a few of her past releases on my TBR list...and yet I hadn't read any of them. I will certainly need to redeem that soon, but luckily I can now say that I have officially popped my Sydney Logan "cherry" with her upcoming release - Turn the Page!I am so freaking in love with this extraordinary story. Right from the first chapter I knew that I was going to fall in love with our leading man, the one and only - Corbin James! I think that he is such a relatable character who proves that even at your lowest point in life family will always be there to help you pick up the pieces and repair the damage that has been caused. Readers get to witness firsthand the struggles it takes to find your footing in the world after losing yourself in drugs and alcohol. Sobriety doesn't come easy, but what part of life really is.Corbin and Jolie's story is so freaking adorable that you can't help but fall in love with these two. I still laugh when I think about their first encounter. Jolie is so spunky and I love how she spoke her mind throughout every turn on this book. I quickly found myself so lost in this story that I ended up devouring it in just under three hours. Everything about this book was absolutely beautiful and oh so captivating!
    more
  • Kara Martin
    July 2, 2017
    From Chapter 1, I realized this was going to be one of those stories that was going to gut me and boy did it ever. Corbin James, once had the life many would envy, groupies, money and fame. Little did he realize that loosing all that would open his eyes to what was really important and what would really bring him happiness. Enter Jolie Daniels, finally opening her bookstore and settling somewhere where she can finally call home, never in her wildest dream did she think of catching Corbin's atten From Chapter 1, I realized this was going to be one of those stories that was going to gut me and boy did it ever. Corbin James, once had the life many would envy, groupies, money and fame. Little did he realize that loosing all that would open his eyes to what was really important and what would really bring him happiness. Enter Jolie Daniels, finally opening her bookstore and settling somewhere where she can finally call home, never in her wildest dream did she think of catching Corbin's attention. Their first interaction had me cringing and laughing because Jolie was a no nonsense girl and that left Corbin shocked because she was the first person to stand up to him and not back down because he was "famous"...or was. Corbin realized then that he had to forget about Jolie Daniels yet his heart wouldn't let him and he knew that he was in big trouble.As I got lost in their story I loved seeing how vulnerable both Corbin & Jolie were with each other. There is just so much to their story that had me laughing, sighing, crying and hoping that in the end their love and trust in each other would survive.Ms Logan always gives us her heart in every story she gives us and this by far is her best in my opinion. Be ready to get lost and root for Corbin & Jolie's love story.  5 Amazing Stars
    more
  • Olivia Ard
    June 20, 2017
    Sydney Logan's newest release Turn the Page follows Corbin James as he returns to his small hometown after a stint in rehab. It's not his first time to hit rock bottom, but he's determined it will be his last. He's tired of the sex, drugs, and rock-n-roll lifestyle that his time spent as a touring musician exposed him to. When he rolls into town, he doesn't expect he'll stay long--just enough time to rekindle his relationship with his family and find a job. But when he meets Jolie Daniels, the s Sydney Logan's newest release Turn the Page follows Corbin James as he returns to his small hometown after a stint in rehab. It's not his first time to hit rock bottom, but he's determined it will be his last. He's tired of the sex, drugs, and rock-n-roll lifestyle that his time spent as a touring musician exposed him to. When he rolls into town, he doesn't expect he'll stay long--just enough time to rekindle his relationship with his family and find a job. But when he meets Jolie Daniels, the sweet but tough proprietor of the town's newest business, a bookstore and music shop called "Turn the Page," Corbin's expectations and plans for the future turn on their head. As always with Sydney Logan's work, I enjoyed this book very much! Corbin and Jolie were complex characters and I cared about them both from the moment I met them. While I'll always enjoy a plain and simple romance, I appreciated that the relationship between the two characters was not the only important plot. Ms. Logan deals with heavy issues here--family matters, debt, extortion, addiction, sobriety, assault, temptation--but she does it in such a way that the reader isn't weighed down. Instead, we leave the story feeling uplifted and greatly assured of love's redemptive power. I received a complimentary copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cassandra Taylor
    June 30, 2017
    Reviewed on behalf of Amo and Sarah’s Book Corner4 StarsThis was a brilliant book. Jolie and Corbin’s story is heart-warming.Corbin is a musician; well he was until stumbled down a path most rock stars take into drugs and alcohol. He is freshly out of rehab and has moved back home to Riverview.Jolie owns her own bookstore; she is fiercely independent and doesn’t like to accept help from anyone especially her father or older brother.When Corbin and Jolie met it is like they have found their soulm Reviewed on behalf of Amo and Sarah’s Book Corner4 StarsThis was a brilliant book. Jolie and Corbin’s story is heart-warming.Corbin is a musician; well he was until stumbled down a path most rock stars take into drugs and alcohol. He is freshly out of rehab and has moved back home to Riverview.Jolie owns her own bookstore; she is fiercely independent and doesn’t like to accept help from anyone especially her father or older brother.When Corbin and Jolie met it is like they have found their soulmate, they have some battles to get through though and a true test of Corbin’s strength and will when he decides to do one last tour in order to save Jolie’s bookstore.
    more
  • Amber
    July 9, 2017
    I loved Jolie and Corbin's story! Yes Corbin was a rockstar but I wouldn't call this a rock star genre book. Corbin is just trying to get used to life outside of rehab. He wants to stay sober and see his family and truly heal from the rockstar lifestyle. Jolie has always wanted a book store. And Turn The Page is perfect for her, blending her love of books and music together. This was a classic story of 2 people trying to find their way to love and navigating their dreams and fears to be together I loved Jolie and Corbin's story! Yes Corbin was a rockstar but I wouldn't call this a rock star genre book. Corbin is just trying to get used to life outside of rehab. He wants to stay sober and see his family and truly heal from the rockstar lifestyle. Jolie has always wanted a book store. And Turn The Page is perfect for her, blending her love of books and music together. This was a classic story of 2 people trying to find their way to love and navigating their dreams and fears to be together. This is my 2nd or 3rd Sydney Logan book and it won't be my last!!
    more
  • Tracey Vuolo
    June 22, 2017
    This book is beautifully written from beginning to end. Sydney does not disappoint and each time I read a new story of hers, I love it more than the last.Corbin and Jolie are real, raw, and honestly regular people with flaws and heartache. They are strong, loyal, and determined as they grow as a couple and on their own. They are relatable and lovable and you want them to have their happily ever after. Sydney this story is sweet, soulful, endearing, passionate and perfect in every way.
    more
  • Pragati Chaudhari
    July 11, 2017
    For full review - Turn The Page on The Inked In Book Blog*ARC received in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*Turn The Page is a heartwarming love story between Corbin & Jolie, two people who are as different as they come. But, of course, a chance meeting leads to them falling for each other, hard. Corbin is a has been rockstar who lost himself in the fame and money and women and drugs. After a second stint in rehab, he's come home for the fi For full review - Turn The Page on The Inked In Book Blog*ARC received in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*Turn The Page is a heartwarming love story between Corbin & Jolie, two people who are as different as they come. But, of course, a chance meeting leads to them falling for each other, hard. Corbin is a has been rockstar who lost himself in the fame and money and women and drugs. After a second stint in rehab, he's come home for the first time in years, to find himself. Jolie owns a small bookstore that is her pride and joy in Corbin's hometown. Soon after getting home, Corbin runs into her at the bookstore and sparks fly. They spend time together and then start seeing each other and fall in love, but their blissful lives are thrown for a loop when Corbin is invited to go on tour again. I really like Jolie. She's such a fab MC. She's fiercely independent and headstrong, sweet and loving and caring. She is so dedicated. But, she can be a little too proud and refuse help even when people offer it willingly - like her Dad or Corbin. I love how she isn't fazed at all by the fact that Corbin is a huge celebrity, even during their first meeting and she rightfully puts him in his place - amazing meet cute if you ask me. And then, there's Corbin. My, my that man. He's made some piss poor choices in the past, but he's seeking redemption and trying to turn himself around and that's commendable. He is so dedicated in his want to become a better man - a worthy man, it's heartwarming to read. He wants to be worthy of his family, of Jolie and to make them proud of who he is. I think by the end of the story he had successfully accomplished that. He had a lot of trials to go through, so many temptations on the way but he never once deviated and concentrated on the prize ahead. It is a really admirable journey. But, other than that, he is such a loving and caring man and she has so much love to give - it even surprises him. But, he's absolutely, completely amazing and he deserves it all. I'm so glad he got it in the end.All in all, it was a beautiful read with so much love and integrity and I adore it. Sydney is a magician when it comes to love stories and this one is another beautiful feather in her cap!
    more
  • Dejean Smith
    July 10, 2017
    There's something comforting about a Sydney Logan book. Not predictable, mind you (other than the HEA). Just comfortable.First, there's the writing--clear, concise, a joy to spend a few hours with. She's not wordy for the sake of being flowery. I, personally, don't care if a character owns an X-colored, this jewel encrusted Omega watch versus a Timex--they have a watch. I'm not a K-dash-errant. I don't care about flaunting. Which is why when Corbin looks out over a gorgeous piece of property and There's something comforting about a Sydney Logan book. Not predictable, mind you (other than the HEA). Just comfortable.First, there's the writing--clear, concise, a joy to spend a few hours with. She's not wordy for the sake of being flowery. I, personally, don't care if a character owns an X-colored, this jewel encrusted Omega watch versus a Timex--they have a watch. I'm not a K-dash-errant. I don't care about flaunting. Which is why when Corbin looks out over a gorgeous piece of property and there's a description of the land just so, overlooking a river that moves and flows, and he imagines a porch with two rocking chairs, it means something to me. THAT is painting a picture with words, IMHO.Next, is the characters and story. The characters have histories--sometimes not so pretty ones (addictions, errant ways, family loss), but each one overcomes their pasts. I do love redemptions, in any shape or form. And they do it honestly--with help and love and a little prayer thrown in. Sydney tosses in a bit of faith in each of her books but it is so natural, you feel as if it is part of the character rather than someone thinking they need to add certain words to fit in proscribed genre boxes. The story is not heavy--yes, Corbin is a recovering addict. Yes, that addiction is part of the story, but it is addressed in a way I found successful, focusing more on Corbin and Jolie's relationship helping each other make it through their temporary separation.Third, and finally, I love an author I can share with my daughter. We both love romances (from many different authors). Sydney Logan writes a tale a 40-something and a late teen can both enjoy which is a magic all her own.**I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Alecia (The Staircase Reader)
    July 10, 2017
    3.5 starsTurn The Page is an insta love novel. Corbin James is burned out. After a few incidents that landed him in rehab, three record labels milking him for all he's worth, and a manager that is a vindictive b*tch, Corbin is done with the touring and the temptations of being on the road and dealing with his addictions.He escapes to his small town home. When he meets Jolie, a woman who owns Turn The Page, he is intrigued and soon finds himself constantly thinking of her and wanting to be around 3.5 starsTurn The Page is an insta love novel. Corbin James is burned out. After a few incidents that landed him in rehab, three record labels milking him for all he's worth, and a manager that is a vindictive b*tch, Corbin is done with the touring and the temptations of being on the road and dealing with his addictions.He escapes to his small town home. When he meets Jolie, a woman who owns Turn The Page, he is intrigued and soon finds himself constantly thinking of her and wanting to be around her. Never in his life feeling a connection the way he feels with Jolie he is set and determined to make this thing they have going permanent. So when Jolie's book shop is threatened he will do whatever is in his power to make sure Jolie doesn't lose the one thing she's worked so hard to gain, even if that means facing his temptations head on and going back on the road.I enjoyed this novel. Corbin was sweet and brought an endearing personality to an already cute as hell novel. I loved the fact that this wasn't a smutty read. Sometimes i just want to sit back and read a novel that is about the relationship aspect and less about the sexy time scenes.I loved the name of Jolie's book store, "Turn The Page" i thought that made a perfect transition into a book shop keeper and a Rockstar's relationship.However, I felt this novel was to "insta-lovey" and in the long run that made certain aspects of the novel feel rushed.Overall, I did enjoy Corbin and his sweet side mixed with Jolie and her independent nature. The two were cute together and made for a great story. There is also a little angst in this novel. I love angsty heart stopping moments!
    more
  • Mari
    July 11, 2017
    Turn the Page is about a rockstar who hit rock bottom after the lifestyle got to him. From drugs to alcohol to multiple stints at rehab. Returning home to find himself again and find his music again. Sydney Logan's style is still very much evident in this story. Easy to get into and it has a sweeter note. Corbin wants to make amends with his family and right the wrongs. Determined to stick with it.Jolie owns a book/music store in town but slowly becomes Corbin's reason to keep clean and maybe fi Turn the Page is about a rockstar who hit rock bottom after the lifestyle got to him. From drugs to alcohol to multiple stints at rehab. Returning home to find himself again and find his music again. Sydney Logan's style is still very much evident in this story. Easy to get into and it has a sweeter note. Corbin wants to make amends with his family and right the wrongs. Determined to stick with it.Jolie owns a book/music store in town but slowly becomes Corbin's reason to keep clean and maybe find a future to stay. I'm proud of Corbin though it takes a lot of courage to step out again and face his demons. They face a few hiccups and tests along the way. Trust played a big role in everything once he went back on tour and everything in between. Truly though it was sweet and easygoing and that is a a good thing once in a while. It's commendable how Corbin dealt with his issues, he knows now what is bad and good for him and Jolie plus his family helped him out when he was unsure.Turn the Page is not the typical rock star themed book as it deals with the someone who came from that lifestyle. Corbin and Jolie are down to earth and relatable. An enjoyable and sweet read that underscored the importance of family and having that support in the hard times. It's low angst and heartfelt which what I've come to know about the author. The writing flowed well and delivered a heart-warming story about second chances. *** ARC provided for an honest review ***
    more
  • Jolanda Gelissen
    July 11, 2017
    I love how Sydney Logan can give even more difficult subject matter a wholesome feeling.In this new book we meet Corbin James, a singer-songwriter who shot to stardom only to crash down. Fresh out of rehab after being dumped from his record label, he travels to his hometown in order to ground himself and spend time with his family. There, he meets local bookshop owner Jolie Daniels. Despite not considering himself worthy, they fall madly in love.I enjoyed reading about Corbin’s internal struggle I love how Sydney Logan can give even more difficult subject matter a wholesome feeling.In this new book we meet Corbin James, a singer-songwriter who shot to stardom only to crash down. Fresh out of rehab after being dumped from his record label, he travels to his hometown in order to ground himself and spend time with his family. There, he meets local bookshop owner Jolie Daniels. Despite not considering himself worthy, they fall madly in love.I enjoyed reading about Corbin’s internal struggle regarding his feelings for Jolie. He is clearly worried that his past might negatively affect their relationship. It’s therefore wonderful to see that Jolie reassures him that only the present and future matter here, not his past mistakes. She is confident in her emotions and offers Corbin strength where he is insecure.Things aren’t always easy, and Corbin faces a difficult decision in order to secure his and Jolie’s future. This awakens some lingering fears, which Jolie encourages him to face rather than avoid. The events that happen next serve to strengthen their relationship as well as each of them as individuals. The author does a wonderful job in showing character depth and development, both of which support the storyline. This is a heartwarming tale of love, trust, and determination.
    more
  • Angela Lowe
    July 11, 2017
    Beautiful ReadA few years ago I hadn't read a book in over 10 years, never had really liked to read. One of my best friends, an avid reader, told me about Sydney Logan's new book she was reading and suggested I read it. So I got my daughters old tablet and downloaded kindle and purchase the book. I was hooked!!! I read all her released books and couldn't wait for more. I then was so hooked I bought myself a new kindle fire. Eventually I started reading others and now read at least 4 books a week Beautiful ReadA few years ago I hadn't read a book in over 10 years, never had really liked to read. One of my best friends, an avid reader, told me about Sydney Logan's new book she was reading and suggested I read it. So I got my daughters old tablet and downloaded kindle and purchase the book. I was hooked!!! I read all her released books and couldn't wait for more. I then was so hooked I bought myself a new kindle fire. Eventually I started reading others and now read at least 4 books a week.My 15 year old daughter is a Straight A student and absolutely hates reading. She struggles through her assigned reading for school and I have tried everything to change this. A few weeks after school was out she came to me and said "Sydney Logan must have a perfect life, I want her to write my life story." Today she told me she is starting the last one of my collection. This is a major milestone for someone who hates reading!!!So yes I love Sydney Logan and have followed her for years now and love every single book. Turn the Page is an excellent read of second chances and what true love can bring. I love her down to earth writing style and can feel a real life connection to each of her characters. I can feel every emotion the characters are feeling. Turn the page is awesome and I think you will enjoy it just as much as my daughter and I.
    more
  • Angi DeMonti
    July 11, 2017
    I received a free ARC of this book and am voluntarily writing an honest review. Corbin, fresh out of rehab, decides to return to his hometown to continue his recovery. He never expected to meet Jolie, a fiercely independent bookstore owner. He has decided to leave the music world behind after crashing and burning and when a new record label approaches him, the answer is no. That is until he discovers that Jolie's business is in trouble and he can provide her a helping hand. Corbin is realistic i I received a free ARC of this book and am voluntarily writing an honest review. Corbin, fresh out of rehab, decides to return to his hometown to continue his recovery. He never expected to meet Jolie, a fiercely independent bookstore owner. He has decided to leave the music world behind after crashing and burning and when a new record label approaches him, the answer is no. That is until he discovers that Jolie's business is in trouble and he can provide her a helping hand. Corbin is realistic in his fears of returning to the life that has caused him such distress but the love he has for Jolie over rides that. Can Corbin survive the road with his sobriety intact? Sydney Logan did a fantastic job of creating characters that were realistic, flawed, and lovable. Ms. Logan took a subject matter that can be difficult and not only kept the integrity of the issue but wove it into a compelling story line. The author was also able to create backgrounds and histories for the characters without it feeling like it bogged down the story. I always enjoy when I read a Sydney Logan book, however this book just seemed to have a little extra something special about it. You will not be disappointed in this book!
    more
  • Jackie Lane
    July 11, 2017
    When I started reading this, I thought it might be just another Rock Star book. I'm happy to report it isn't. I absolutely fell in love with the strong characters in this book and I am always a sucker for any kind of love story that includes redemption and family.This is the story of Corbin James, who has squandered his earning and comes back to his hometown after his latest stint in rehab. He moves back in with his parents, who are weary that Corbin will work to stay on the straight and narrow, When I started reading this, I thought it might be just another Rock Star book. I'm happy to report it isn't. I absolutely fell in love with the strong characters in this book and I am always a sucker for any kind of love story that includes redemption and family.This is the story of Corbin James, who has squandered his earning and comes back to his hometown after his latest stint in rehab. He moves back in with his parents, who are weary that Corbin will work to stay on the straight and narrow, but they support him.Jolie Daniels is the owner of a local bookstore that also sell instruments. She is loved and adored by everyone in the town for her sweetness.Corbin breaks a guitar string and enters the bookstore. Jolie recognizes him, but since he is arrogant, she refuses to sell him a guitar string. Joile and Corbin continue to run into one another and they form a friendship, and that friendship turns to more. Jolie is struggling to keep the bookstore and is behind on her rent. Corbin has been asked to go back out and the road but he doesn't want to because he is afraid he will fall back into the same traps again. He realizes that he is able to help Jolie keep the bookstore, and agrees to go on the road.Things heat up between Jolie and Corbin, but someone is trying to make Jolie's life miserable and things begin to happen to her and her store. Corbin comes to the rescue.There bond grows stronger as they try to figure out how to make what they have work.5 stars.
    more
  • katherine
    June 18, 2017
    You can never go wrong when you read one of this authors stories. I fall in love every time I read oneand always want more of the story. Jolie was a proud girl who owned her own book store and loved what she did. Even though the store is struggling to make money at the moment. Corbin was home. He had finished is stint in rehab and was home back to his parents for the break he needed to try and get his life back. He was a huge success in his music until the day drugs and booze took over. He dove You can never go wrong when you read one of this authors stories. I fall in love every time I read oneand always want more of the story. Jolie was a proud girl who owned her own book store and loved what she did. Even though the store is struggling to make money at the moment. Corbin was home. He had finished is stint in rehab and was home back to his parents for the break he needed to try and get his life back. He was a huge success in his music until the day drugs and booze took over. He dove right to the bottom of the barrel and lost his career in the process. Rehab was his only option. So now back home he needs to try and put his life back together. Get a job and go from there. Then he went into a book store and saw Jolie. His world flipped on his axis and he started talking to her and the cocky star came out and she was having no part of it. She told him she didn't need his kind in her store. What to do with his life and this new development. Corbin has big order to fill in his life. It was fun to read how he managed it all.
    more
  • Sally
    July 4, 2017
    Another charmingly told story by Sydney Logan, presented in alternating points of view of the main characters, Corbin and Jolie. The story starts out with Corbin, a down and out rock star, returning to his hometown to try to get his life back together after a stint in rehab. Jolie now lives in his small town, living what she thought was her dream—owning a bookstore. Both are struggling with trying to find what they want to do with their lives. Their interactions are so much fun in the beginning— Another charmingly told story by Sydney Logan, presented in alternating points of view of the main characters, Corbin and Jolie. The story starts out with Corbin, a down and out rock star, returning to his hometown to try to get his life back together after a stint in rehab. Jolie now lives in his small town, living what she thought was her dream—owning a bookstore. Both are struggling with trying to find what they want to do with their lives. Their interactions are so much fun in the beginning—Corbin is stunned that Jolie doesn’t fawn all over him because of his previous star status, which just fuels Corbin’s need to get to know her better. There is something in here for everyone: lots of romance, with a dash of drama. There are laughs and tears, family, and even a villain to round out the cast of characters.
    more
  • Shannon
    June 20, 2017
    ***4.5 Stars***I went into this book somewhat blind and was completely impressed. The writing style flowed well and the characters were relatable and made me want to cheer them on from the start. Both Jolie and Corbin were battling their own demons so to speak, and both seemed smitten with each other upon first meeting. Reading about their relationship and how it grew from first meeting infatuation to something more was truly special. I enjoyed the family unity and loyalty throughout the book an ***4.5 Stars***I went into this book somewhat blind and was completely impressed. The writing style flowed well and the characters were relatable and made me want to cheer them on from the start. Both Jolie and Corbin were battling their own demons so to speak, and both seemed smitten with each other upon first meeting. Reading about their relationship and how it grew from first meeting infatuation to something more was truly special. I enjoyed the family unity and loyalty throughout the book and the general sense of having people on your side through life's struggles. I read this book in one sitting as I really wanted to know how it ended and it kept me interested the whole time. Great read by Sydney Logan!
    more
  • Candy
    June 27, 2017
    Great read! Music and second chances. Corbin has come home after a stint in rehab (again) and realizes that what didn't matter when growing up matters now. Giving up his singing career to just write songs and be sober is what Corbin is striving for now a days. Jolie is the bookstore owner in town that Corbin becomes interested in until she becomes his boss. They keep it professional and become friends until the attraction becomes more than they can deny. Then Jolie's debt comes calling and Corbi Great read! Music and second chances. Corbin has come home after a stint in rehab (again) and realizes that what didn't matter when growing up matters now. Giving up his singing career to just write songs and be sober is what Corbin is striving for now a days. Jolie is the bookstore owner in town that Corbin becomes interested in until she becomes his boss. They keep it professional and become friends until the attraction becomes more than they can deny. Then Jolie's debt comes calling and Corbin wants to save her, but will temptation of being on the road tempt him or is Jolie enough? Turn the Page is a love story that brings two people together to see if turning the page for a new life is possible for Corbin and that is what Sydney accomplished with this one. This story is filled with laughter and some tears but you will be hooked. The journey of these two is with it's up and downs but will have you smiling with tears none the less. I enjoyed the journey of Corbin and Jolie and I hope you will too.Sydney wrote with both characters point of view (my favorite) so you can understand where each character is coming from and why. The story flows with the emotions of each main character including the others characters as well. Corbin and Jolie are definitely soul mates, considering that when something bad is happening to Jolie while Corbin is on the road he knows and calls for someone to check on Jolie. That there is the definition I think of soul mates when one can feel the other in danger.**Reviewed for Sweet and Spicy Reads, ARC provided in return for an honest review**
    more
  • Konny
    June 19, 2017
    Turn The Page by Sydney Logan is a stand alone romance novel.Meet Corbin James and Jolie Daniels. Fresh out of rehab and back in his hometown, Riverview Corbin is about to start over. He needs a job, money and friends. Hes determined to be a better man.And there is a sexy book/ music-store owner, Jolie. One look and hes smitten. He starts working fornher and life is good, they date and have a beautiful relationship. But then comes life and says HA. and throws curveballs for them.Turn the Page is Turn The Page by Sydney Logan is a stand alone romance novel.Meet Corbin James and Jolie Daniels. Fresh out of rehab and back in his hometown, Riverview Corbin is about to start over. He needs a job, money and friends. He´s determined to be a better man.And there is a sexy book/ music-store owner, Jolie. One look and he´s smitten. He starts working fornher and life is good, they date and have a beautiful relationship. But then comes life and says HA. and throws curveballs for them.Turn the Page is a beautiful written, beautiful told and beautiful thought out lovestory. I liked the characters and I liked the words. I recommend Turn the Page and give 5 romantic Stars. Thank you Sydney Logan.
    more
  • Sara
    July 9, 2017
    4 Stars!An emotional, sweet romance that will tug at your heartstrings!Corbin is a music star who has lived life fast and hard. His second stint in rehab has caused him to re-evaluate his life. Instead of returning to the music scene, he returns to his home town. Jolie is floundering in a mountain of debt, but still works her tail off to make her bookstore successful. A chance meeting brings these two together and opposites attract. I loved Jolie. She was so sweet and determined. No matter what 4 Stars!An emotional, sweet romance that will tug at your heartstrings!Corbin is a music star who has lived life fast and hard. His second stint in rehab has caused him to re-evaluate his life. Instead of returning to the music scene, he returns to his home town. Jolie is floundering in a mountain of debt, but still works her tail off to make her bookstore successful. A chance meeting brings these two together and opposites attract. I loved Jolie. She was so sweet and determined. No matter what she faced with the bookstore, she just kept pushing on. Corbin was great, too. He cared deeply for Jolie and even turned down a return to music. Then when she needed him the most, he did the one thing he didn't want to just to help her. Opposites attract, lives are healed and hearts are full in this newest release from Sydney Logan.
    more
  • Cynthia Ogg
    July 11, 2017
    *Sigh* C+J 4ever!Turn the Page is another rocking romance that is exactly what I expect when I pick up a Sydney Logan novel!Corbin is a man haunted by mistakes. Jolie is the gust of fresh air that makes him breath again. Together, they'll face a future that is nothing if not exciting.I fell in love with Corbin on page one and together we fell for Jolie. These characters are heartfelt and beautiful and Turn the Page is a Sydney Logan master piece. Sydney writes heartfelt and sweet romance that re *Sigh* C+J 4ever!Turn the Page is another rocking romance that is exactly what I expect when I pick up a Sydney Logan novel!Corbin is a man haunted by mistakes. Jolie is the gust of fresh air that makes him breath again. Together, they'll face a future that is nothing if not exciting.I fell in love with Corbin on page one and together we fell for Jolie. These characters are heartfelt and beautiful and Turn the Page is a Sydney Logan master piece. Sydney writes heartfelt and sweet romance that really hits the reader in all the feels.Pretty sure I'll never pick up a Sydney Logan piece and be disappointed.
    more
  • Stephanie
    July 6, 2017
    This book has so many feels!! It's an inspiring story of addiction, finding love, and overcoming obstacles. I love the main characters Corbin and Jolie! You can't help but fall in love with him- rock star with bad reputation. Corbin had to overcome a lot of obstacles to find happiness, and regain his family's trust in him. One of my favorite scenes in the book is when Corbin meets Jolie for the first time! She gets mad at him for offering to sign his music CD so she can sell it for more money! “ This book has so many feels!! It's an inspiring story of addiction, finding love, and overcoming obstacles. I love the main characters Corbin and Jolie! You can't help but fall in love with him- rock star with bad reputation. Corbin had to overcome a lot of obstacles to find happiness, and regain his family's trust in him. One of my favorite scenes in the book is when Corbin meets Jolie for the first time! She gets mad at him for offering to sign his music CD so she can sell it for more money! “ I don't need your charity. Especially for a CD I cant even give away.” She is an independent girl with a bit of sas! I love the strong characters trough out the story. There a little drama but a beautiful ending!
    more
  • Veronique Chayer
    July 7, 2017
    Turn the Page is a great story on small-town life, finding yourself after periods of dark clouds, moving forward and opening up to people, life and love. Sydney Logan does a very good job in describing her characters' universes, and leads us on a journey with Corbin and Jolie. They are relatable characters, and through the pages, we feel like we really get to know them and understand what they each go through. Turn the Page is a perfect summer reading, and I highly recommend it.
    more
Write a review