Scorched Ember
The Guardians of the Zodiac are back, along with the Dragon Guard of the Sea. These mighty dragons, presumed dead for centuries, arise from watery exile to save mankind and reunite their clans. The world is in danger… The fabric of the Universe is unraveling… Magic has been corrupted, tainted, polluted by a malicious force with designs on world domination… White witches are turning to the dark arts, while the already malevolent practitioners are trying to conjure Hell on Earth. Armed with the pure Earthen magic of her mother and the throwing stars given to her by Astraea, the Star Maiden—Goddess of Innocence and Purity—Roxane, Guardian of Taurus, has answered Poseidon’s call. Crossing the Crystal Gateway and infiltrating a coven of Elemental Witches devoted to destroying the forces of evil was easy…then she met Ladon and the piece of her soul she’d thought lost to the Fates was suddenly within her grasp. But he’s a distraction she doesn’t need. Worse than that, he’s hiding something…and secrets are just as good as a knife to the back in a war where nothing is as it seems. Hiding in plain sight, Ladon has gotten very good at playing human. He’s spent nearly two centuries protecting not only the pure white magic entrusted to him by the Elders of his clan, but also his dragon, the last of the Fire Water Clan…then came Roxane. She calls to not only the man, but also his beast. Their attraction is immediate, soul-deep, and life-changing. She’s unlike anyone he’s ever known – beautiful, powerful…dangerous in ways he has yet to discover. There is no denying the pull she has on him, no getting away from the call of Fate that Ladon had lost all those decades ago. But Roxane has secrets, and in a world gone mad…secrets can be deadly. With the fate of the world resting squarely on their shoulders, can this Guardian and her dragon save mankind and find their happily ever after? Not even the gods know what will happen next… The answer is written in the stars…

Scorched Ember Details

TitleScorched Ember
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
Number of pages91 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Fantasy, Paranormal

Scorched Ember Review

  • Cassie
    June 10, 2017
    Roxane is determined to find out what is going on with the dark powers on Earth. Ladon has been praying to the Gods for help with defeating the dark powers taking over. Neither expected to find their mates, but fate had other plans. Will they be able to find out who is behind it? Will they be able to defeat the darkness, even after they find out the connections?Another Julia Mills hit! Love how the attraction between Ladon and Roxane is and how they aren't fighting it. They were perfectly matche Roxane is determined to find out what is going on with the dark powers on Earth. Ladon has been praying to the Gods for help with defeating the dark powers taking over. Neither expected to find their mates, but fate had other plans. Will they be able to find out who is behind it? Will they be able to defeat the darkness, even after they find out the connections?Another Julia Mills hit! Love how the attraction between Ladon and Roxane is and how they aren't fighting it. They were perfectly matched when it came to personalities and determination to keep each other safe! Great book and cannot wait for more!
    more
  • Cherri-Anne
    June 24, 2017
    Your mate. 5 RUBY SCALESby the Gods, Fate, and Destiny... The one Fate designed just for you. What the hell are you waiting for? HOLY POSEIDON!! This is one fantabulously scorching ember of a Dragon Tail and that's no bullshark!! What an exquisite blend of spice and sea, good and evil, black and white. Since Julia wrote that, I can’t take credit for that, but it does still apply! There are oh so very many reasons why I love this story! The writing, storytelling & flow of it all had my attent Your mate. 5 RUBY SCALESby the Gods, Fate, and Destiny... The one Fate designed just for you. What the hell are you waiting for? HOLY POSEIDON!! This is one fantabulously scorching ember of a Dragon Tail and that's no bullshark!! What an exquisite blend of spice and sea, good and evil, black and white. Since Julia wrote that, I can’t take credit for that, but it does still apply! There are oh so very many reasons why I love this story! The writing, storytelling & flow of it all had my attention from the start and it kept my captivated throughout the entire book! I know it is shorter than I wanted, but I actually read it all in one sitting! (But doesn’t everyone think that a terrifically fantastic, awesomely great book is always too short?!? Besides, Poseidon does have a lot of daughters, and if they each get their own book, I will be able to spend a lot of time in this DRAGONLICIOUS World of Julia's!!) I was a little surprised at how quickly the One True Mate was acknowledged & accepted, but since that wasn't the main, or rather not the ONLY main storyline, it fit with the rest of the story! And, to be honest, I actually loved that it did happen quickly because it put less stress on my heartstrings! LOL Right from the start, Julia had me in stitches! Some parts - mostly by the Peanut Gallery, aka Doriean & Drákon - had me laughing so hard I was crying! Thankfully these parts are throughout the whole story because there is definitely some heartbreaking moments, some shocking, scary, nerve wracking and downright evil ones too, and that humor helps lights it up, just when it needs it! Of course I have to mention something about the scorching parts! And WOOWEE are they ever scorching!! And oh so .... well I think if I say anything more, I might say too much! Thanks to Julia's phenomenal talent, I was swept away by the romance where her enriched style of storytelling transported me straight into the story, bringing it to life & enhancing the reading experience so much I truly felt like I was a part of it!!
    more
  • Ana P
    June 27, 2017
    This Zodiac Shifter series is so good, to read a different story from all my favorite authors in this series is so rewarding and I always look forward to the next. Julia Mills has cornered the market with her Guardians of the Zodiac, all 12 daughters of the Sea God Poseidon have shifter souls in them and special gifts, they are charged with protecting earth from dark magic and who's to say they can't have a little fun on the way. Zoe Guardian of Picses has found her mate in Hellhound Brody Mason This Zodiac Shifter series is so good, to read a different story from all my favorite authors in this series is so rewarding and I always look forward to the next. Julia Mills has cornered the market with her Guardians of the Zodiac, all 12 daughters of the Sea God Poseidon have shifter souls in them and special gifts, they are charged with protecting earth from dark magic and who's to say they can't have a little fun on the way. Zoe Guardian of Picses has found her mate in Hellhound Brody Mason while on her mission to earthRoxane is the Guardian of Taurus and dad has ordered her to go to earth with her childhood Companion snarky, funny and easy going bull shark shifter Doriean, they are sent on a very secret mission she can't talk about to anyone. What Roxane wasn't counting on was meeting her soul mate before even stepping foot on earth and what a soul mate. All male gorgeousness, Prince of the Water Dragons, yum!Ladon Douglas, Prince of the almost extinct Water Dragon takes his protection of the beings with White Magic very seriously and he will die protecting them from the Dark Magic that threatens their very existence. He finds something in his search for the intruder on his camp that steals his breathe away, he never thought the Gods would grant him a soul mate and a Goddess much less. But just as he is about to shout it to the world, his long lost mother decides to make an appearance and she is non other than part of the evil trying to lay siege to the earth, will she be able to turn him against all he has ever known, or will the desire to finally have someone to love and call his own be stronger.I loved the wit and easy going attitude of these characters. Doriean is a hoot, I love him and I hope to see him with a mate.
    more
  • Ann
    June 26, 2017
    I'm a huge fan of Julia Mills and I love the premise behind her take on the zodiac shifters with her heroines being daughters of Poseidon who come to Earth to help stop evilness and inadvertently find their soul mates. I enjoy all the characters, the storylines, and the steaming-hot sexy-times. My only disappointment with this book is I wish there had been a bit more action and that the conflict took just a little longer to resolve. Still, it was a good book and well worth the read as Roxane and I'm a huge fan of Julia Mills and I love the premise behind her take on the zodiac shifters with her heroines being daughters of Poseidon who come to Earth to help stop evilness and inadvertently find their soul mates. I enjoy all the characters, the storylines, and the steaming-hot sexy-times. My only disappointment with this book is I wish there had been a bit more action and that the conflict took just a little longer to resolve. Still, it was a good book and well worth the read as Roxane and Ladon are so good together. I look forward to reading the next book in this series.I received a copy of this book from the author but my opinions and reviews are honest and my own.
    more
  • Cheri
    June 19, 2017
    A wonderful short that holds all the drama, steam, romance, gotta love characters of any full-length book. I love the world created and shared by a team of authors. This second feature was such fun. The BFFs of the daughters of Poseidon are snarky goofs great to have around during an earth-shattering fight. Roxanne was sent to earth to .... she didn't know what. It was a mission. A secret mission. One that any good BFF would go on with her and did. She had no plans to meet her one true mate. She A wonderful short that holds all the drama, steam, romance, gotta love characters of any full-length book. I love the world created and shared by a team of authors. This second feature was such fun. The BFFs of the daughters of Poseidon are snarky goofs great to have around during an earth-shattering fight. Roxanne was sent to earth to .... she didn't know what. It was a mission. A secret mission. One that any good BFF would go on with her and did. She had no plans to meet her one true mate. She did. That was the best and worst moment of her life.Enjoy this lightning fast paced, steamy short from Julia Mills. A hearty recommend from me.
    more
  • Cali Jewel
    June 22, 2017
    Exciting, action packed, heart pounding, enchanting and emotionally gripping romantic adventure. Just like it says in the Blurb: "With the fate of the world resting squarely on their shoulders, can this Guardian and her dragon save mankind and find their happily ever after?" Completely pulls you in on a wild magical journey with dramatic highs and lows. Roxane and Ladon have such an explosive and scorching hot chemistry form the first look. Highly entertaining to following their every twist and Exciting, action packed, heart pounding, enchanting and emotionally gripping romantic adventure. Just like it says in the Blurb: "With the fate of the world resting squarely on their shoulders, can this Guardian and her dragon save mankind and find their happily ever after?" Completely pulls you in on a wild magical journey with dramatic highs and lows. Roxane and Ladon have such an explosive and scorching hot chemistry form the first look. Highly entertaining to following their every twist and turn in their exciting and magical adventure to save the world from all out destruction and possibly find forever. Loved it!
    more
  • Hsu Lee
    June 13, 2017
    ARC - I voluntarily offered to review this book with no obligations and my opinions are honest!Roxanne, Guardian of Taurus, is sent to Earth by her father Poseidon.She is to investigate the increase in the dark forces.White witches are turning to the dark arts.Once on Earth, she meets Landon + the attraction is explosive.Both are feeling the mating call.When the forces of darkness threaten Landon, Roxanne will not her mate be hurt.Both are ready to protect each other.The only thing is that the b ARC - I voluntarily offered to review this book with no obligations and my opinions are honest!Roxanne, Guardian of Taurus, is sent to Earth by her father Poseidon.She is to investigate the increase in the dark forces.White witches are turning to the dark arts.Once on Earth, she meets Landon + the attraction is explosive.Both are feeling the mating call.When the forces of darkness threaten Landon, Roxanne will not her mate be hurt.Both are ready to protect each other.The only thing is that the battle scene was short.Overall, it was a great read.
    more
  • Dmcl
    June 12, 2017
    Sent to Earth on a secret mission, Roxanne meets Ladon, a white witch dragon who is fighting in the same struggle. Their growing bond calls the Queen of the Wild Hunt to come and stake her claim on the happy couple. Will the love of these Fated Mates be enough to vanquish the evil Queen?No one tells a story with as much heart and passion as Miss Julia. This installment of the Zodiac Shifters series adds to a brilliant world and helps move the story along.
    more
  • Patti
    June 13, 2017
    This addition to the zodiac shifter series pairs our Taurean Goddess Roxane with her fated mate Laden. Their union is met with discourse from an estranged parent and the storyline flames with fast paced action. Absolutely love this amazing authors ability to bring her characters to life quickly! And the steamy scenes between our fated pair? Equal to a volcano erupting!!! So very happy to add this book to my collection!
    more
  • Donna Hokanson
    June 14, 2017
    Very entertainingWell written self-contained story. One more of Poseidons daughters heads to earth to help get rid of some evil. Only this time she recognizes her mate and he her without any denial. But the evil come and it's unexpected from who.I would of liked a bit more of the battle scene and not just a retelling. Otherwise it's a very well written and entertaining short story to read.
    more
  • Keoki Ki`Ili
    June 13, 2017
    Evil reunionDark and evil things are preying on the white magic welders left in the world. Our heroine and her companion are sent to earth to help find and remove the source of that evil. Our hero is hiding as a white magic welder and is surprised to find our heroine is his one true mate. It takes both of them working together to thwart the evil confronting them.
    more
  • Sheryl
    June 18, 2017
    This book will have you wanting more with each page you read.I am voluntarily leaving my honest review of this book. This is book 12 of the Guardian of the Zodiac book series.
  • Book Nook Nuts
    May 17, 2017
    Book Reviewed: Scorched Ember: A Zodiac Shifters Paranormal Romance: Taurus (Zodiac Shifters #12)Author: Julia MillsPublication Date: 6/13/2017Reviewed by: Tammy Payne- Book Nook NutsMy Rating: 5 Stars REVIEWThis book gives you a bit of everything. From the get go, it keeps you reading. Roxane Guardian of Taurus is being sent by her father Poseidon to see what or who is causing turmoil on land. She takes her trusted guardian with her and oh my goodness I just love this shark shifter Doriean. I s Book Reviewed: Scorched Ember: A Zodiac Shifters Paranormal Romance: Taurus (Zodiac Shifters #12)Author: Julia MillsPublication Date: 6/13/2017Reviewed by: Tammy Payne- Book Nook NutsMy Rating: 5 Stars REVIEWThis book gives you a bit of everything. From the get go, it keeps you reading. Roxane Guardian of Taurus is being sent by her father Poseidon to see what or who is causing turmoil on land. She takes her trusted guardian with her and oh my goodness I just love this shark shifter Doriean. I sure hope he gets a book. They meet a Dragon who turns out to be more than Roxane bargains for. Ladon and his crazy momma. Hang on to your seat for this ride. We also get sister Una and her mate Drakon', and the fun begins. I absolutely loved this book.Julia Mills
    more
  • Maria Varley
    July 4, 2017
    Awesome The second in Julia's Zodiac books and just as good. This time it's Roxannes turn to help earth and find her Mate. What neither Roxanne or her mate counted on was dear old mum being the one to defeat. Can the Guardian of Taurus win or will evil prevale this time?
    more
Write a review