Amnesia (Amnesia, #1)
I washed ashore in a little lake town. A place where everyone knows everyone, yet…No one knows me.I don’t know me.If a woman doesn’t know her own name, does she really exist?I don’t know my natural hair color, my birthdate, or where I live.I am invisible.To everyone, to everything, even to myself.Except to him. I see the recognition deep in his stare, the way it lingers on my face as if I’m a puzzle he’s desperate to put together.I just want answers, the truth… knowledge. His lips are sealed. Still, his eyes beguile me.I can’t trust anyone, not even myself. Someone wants me dead, the same someone who tried to bury me in a watery grave. They’ll come for me again… I won’t know their face.I don’t even know mine.I am amnesia.

Amnesia (Amnesia, #1) Details

TitleAmnesia (Amnesia, #1)
Author
ReleaseJun 10th, 2017
Number of pages323 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, New Adult, Suspense, Contemporary Romance

Amnesia (Amnesia, #1) Review

  • Jennifer Kyle
    June 13, 2017
    5 STARS ”It wasn’t her. But oh my God, what if it was?” Wow this is a great story! The excitement level truly kicks in as a reader is back and forth trying to figure out whether the woman rescued from the lake is in fact a girl named Sadie who went missing eleven years ago. Added to the mix is the fact that our heroine, Amnesia has no memory of who she is and what has happened to her. Oh and let’s not forget that there seems to be a few someones trying to kill her. There’s also a hero named Edwa 5 STARS ”It wasn’t her. But oh my God, what if it was?” Wow this is a great story! The excitement level truly kicks in as a reader is back and forth trying to figure out whether the woman rescued from the lake is in fact a girl named Sadie who went missing eleven years ago. Added to the mix is the fact that our heroine, Amnesia has no memory of who she is and what has happened to her. Oh and let’s not forget that there seems to be a few someones trying to kill her. There’s also a hero named Edward who’s falls crazy in love with the heroine and who knows if she truly is his lost love? Still, I didn’t know when I one clicked that this book ends in one big CLIFFHANGER and that there will be a book releasing this summer. It’s been many months and books that I have started and stopped and rated with just okay ratings and regardless of the sneaky cliffhanger, this was a fantastic and exciting story. The hero is fantastic, the small lake town alluring, and the mystery is simply off the hook!The author’s storytelling will slowly consume you and yet you may think well this is going to end on a predictable note but lucky for me it surely doesn’t. Even though the love aspect maybe rather instant the storyline itself is truly unpredictable! I would recommend friends one clicking this book it’s a bit of something different… ”Cross my heart and hope to die.”
    more
  • Alex
    June 12, 2017
    WARNING!!! This book ends with cliffhanger!!!RTC when I finish this one (78%) and the next - when is it out???BRILLIANTLY written mystery and suspense.Awesome characters. Best hero ever! Strong heroine.Fabulous writing. Excellent!Twists I didn't see coming.But I HATE cliffhangers!!! :-(
    more
  • Snow
    June 12, 2017
    Fuuuuuuck....Imagine my fuckin surprised face when I realised that this is not a standalone novel?!Now I'm kind of pissed off too cause i didn't expect it, I got ambushed, and I don't like the submissive disoriented feeling much either...😤😒Well, aside the crappy feeling lingering, this was a bit different kind of read from what I am used to reading from Cambria Hebert and I most definitely liked the storyline!A young man Eddie finds a girl afloat on a lake shore, unconscious, beaten and brused Fuuuuuuck....Imagine my fuckin surprised face when I realised that this is not a standalone novel?!Now I'm kind of pissed off too cause i didn't expect it, I got ambushed, and I don't like the submissive disoriented feeling much either...😤😒Well, aside the crappy feeling lingering, this was a bit different kind of read from what I am used to reading from Cambria Hebert and I most definitely liked the storyline!A young man Eddie finds a girl afloat on a lake shore, unconscious, beaten and brused. The first sight of her reminds him of a girl he used to know-Sadie Gordon, a 14 year old who went missing in the very same lake 11 years ago, and Edward/Eddie has been living shattered by the guilt all this time! He never stopped looking. He never stopped believing even when it was eating him alive inside...he never stopped hoping.Could it be true?!Could she be her?!And if yes, where the hell has she been all these years?!And what the hell happened to her?!So many questions...so little answers...This battered girl can't give them...cause she does't know her name, she doesn't know who she is, she doesn't know anyone or anything...she's AMNESIA Patients with fugue amnesia forget their entire past but also their identity. They have no idea who they are. Even reminding them who they are, showing pictures, etc. doesn’t jog their memory... and her story is yet to be unraveled...and with his help it slowly will come to some sort of closure and to the point where to Eddie it doesnt matter anymore-if she's his long lost friend or a girl he undeniably fell for. Amnesia didn’t represent something I’d lost anymore, but something I’d gained. Something I desperately wanted to keep but the danger is still out there, waiting, watching, pacing, until it strikes again...Romantic suspense, and a thriller with a mysterious creepish mist somewhat similar to the one in the popular David Lynch's series "Twin Peaks". Even though, Cambria here intertwins the romantic notion developing between the main characters, the lingering mystery ans pent up anticipation of peeled layers is somewhat sullen and mild in nature but it still keeps you guessing and wondering...what the hell happened?!And just like Amnesia/Sadie, we are left in doubt, stunned... Who was I really? Fuckin A...now we have to endure until summer to find out the answer to that everlasting question.The Sirens are BR-ing.😏🍷📖👍
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    June 9, 2017
    5 Brilliant Stars ❤❤"We are going to figure this out.Someday you'll remember."What a brilliant story,I was hooked from the beginning!With a strong blurb and a cover that's both pretty and mysterious, I went into this one with high expectations.I'm glad it was amazing.I loved every part of this story, the plot was fantastic and I found the memory loss aspect very well executed."I glanced down.She glanced up.Our stares collided.It was unsettling to realize how infinitely drawn to her I was."The ch 5 Brilliant Stars ❤❤"We are going to figure this out.Someday you'll remember."What a brilliant story,I was hooked from the beginning!With a strong blurb and a cover that's both pretty and mysterious, I went into this one with high expectations.I'm glad it was amazing.I loved every part of this story, the plot was fantastic and I found the memory loss aspect very well executed."I glanced down.She glanced up.Our stares collided.It was unsettling to realize how infinitely drawn to her I was."The characters were both lovable.Eddie is protective,sweet and he feels so connected to Amnesia.Amnesia is an interesting character.I loved that she has humor even though her situation was serious.I really enjoyed the final outcome and now I want more.If you are looking for a mysterious and twisted story , with a sweet romance this is what you need!!    
    more
  • Olga therebelreader
    June 16, 2017
    The heroine awakes in a hospital without a memory of who she is, or what brought her there. Amnesia, the name she gives herself, is a stranger in her own life. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. Eddie, the man who found her unconscious, floating in the water of a lake, and saved her life becomes her best friend and eventually her lover. But, the truth about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of th The heroine awakes in a hospital without a memory of who she is, or what brought her there. Amnesia, the name she gives herself, is a stranger in her own life. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. Eddie, the man who found her unconscious, floating in the water of a lake, and saved her life becomes her best friend and eventually her lover. But, the truth about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of the girl’s memory - someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure the girl stays quiet. This was an amazing book. It was exciting and was full of so many twists and turns that I just couldn't put it down. I was 100% into the story since I started reading it. The mystery was so intriguing and it kept me on the edge of my seat. Amnesia’s loss of memory was exceptionally well-handled. I loved unraveling the mystery surrounding her and getting to know the real Amnesia better. It was an intense read, chills, thrills and a few sweet love scenes. The reader sees the unforlding of the story through both Eddie and Amnesia’s eyes, and the characterization is simply amazing. I belonged to her. I almost felt as if I couldn't exist without her. That if she somehow vanished tomorrow, most of who I was would also disappear. ~ Eddie Amnesia didn't represent something I'd lost anymore, but something I'd gained. Something I desperately wanted to keep. ~ EddieThe ending left my mouth hanging open. And just like that, I have to endure the pain of waiting for the next book to be released… I suggest adding this to your summer read list asap! You definitely won't regret it!In short:Hero 5/5 | Heroine 5/5 | Plot (Point, Originality) 5/5 | Writing Style 4/5 | Steam 3/5 | Romance 4/5 | Angst-Suspense 5/5 | Darkness 4/5 | Humor 2/5 | Secondary Characters 4/5 | Drama-Conflict 5/5 | Mystery 5/5 | Twists 5/5 | Pacing Steady | Action 5/5
    more
  • Katerina
    June 13, 2017
    I'm going to reiterate what Alex, my fellow Goodreader said: *warning* This book ends on a cliffhanger. BUT, most of the important questions/secrets were answered so I wasn't anal over it; it wasn't nearly as catastrophic as it could have been. However if you want to wait for the conclusion, I would advise not reading this until the second book comes out. The heroine is found floating ashore by a handsome man named Eddie who saves her. Upon her awakening two months later following a coma, she ha I'm going to reiterate what Alex, my fellow Goodreader said: *warning* This book ends on a cliffhanger. BUT, most of the important questions/secrets were answered so I wasn't anal over it; it wasn't nearly as catastrophic as it could have been. However if you want to wait for the conclusion, I would advise not reading this until the second book comes out. The heroine is found floating ashore by a handsome man named Eddie who saves her. Upon her awakening two months later following a coma, she has no recollection of her past or identity. The doctor labels it "fugue amnesia" — a term coined to describe the victim's brain blocking out a traumatic memory as a preventative measure. "So severe, it may be better if she never gets her memory back.”- DoctorMeanwhile, Eddie, believes he recognises the heroine, the whole town speculating whether she is a girl from the past. The similarities uncanny, but the chances slim to none. “It wasn’t her.But oh my God, what if it was?”- EdwardEddie knows his heart, and he knows this girl. No one has come to claim her in the months of her disappearance...I’ll claim her. I’ll claim her right now.- EdwardThe attraction grows...“His dimples always made my stomach flutter, and the way his eyes always looked at me as if he’d known me forever gave me some sort of peace.”- Amnesia With a dangerous predator after Amnesia to permanently make her disappear, she realises that though alive, she isn't safe at all. Most of all, she isn't safe from the flashes of memories that remind her of who she was..."Show me what it’s like to be in love—to be loved—before memories shatter the idealistic mind I own right now”My rating dipped as the novel went further along. Nothing major. Tentative sex scenes. I felt dissatisfied at points with her "you are my first" garbage, to the hero not being as possessive or protective as I would have preferred especially considering nature of her arrival, and the threats she faced. I don't know, but he seemed more shredded up over the past than their present climate. They were clumsy with her safety and mental health when it should have been at the forefront of both their minds. But suspenseful nonetheless. Will be continuing.
    more
  • Bev
    June 13, 2017
    So this is a cliffhanger with NO warning in the blurb. Wonderful! 🤔
  • Hanne
    June 13, 2017
    I’m speechless. This book is so, so good! It’s brilliant! I do need the next part right now! I have wanted to read this book since I saw the gorgeous cover. I started it as soon as it was released and I was immediately hooked. I kept turning the pages, wanting to know more. I finished this book yesterday and I still think about a lot. Eddie is walking along the shoreline of a lake and finds a woman drowning in the lake. He saves her and rushes her to the hospital. The woman eventually wakes up, I’m speechless. This book is so, so good! It’s brilliant! I do need the next part right now! I have wanted to read this book since I saw the gorgeous cover. I started it as soon as it was released and I was immediately hooked. I kept turning the pages, wanting to know more. I finished this book yesterday and I still think about a lot. Eddie is walking along the shoreline of a lake and finds a woman drowning in the lake. He saves her and rushes her to the hospital. The woman eventually wakes up, but she can’t remember anything about her past or who she is. She wants to be named Amnesia from now on. Eddie visits Amnesia every single day in the hospital. They become friends and eventually more.I loved everything about this book: the characters, the relationship between Amnesia and Eddie, the setting (the small town with his legends), the progress and the mystery. This book is so mysterious, intriguing, romantic and suspenseful. There are so many twists and turns and I never expected them. I stopped guessing after a while and just enjoyed the ride.I absolutely adored Eddie and Amnesia. Amnesia handles her situation like a champion. I think I wouldn’t be as strong as she is. She’s so, so strong. Amnesia wants to start a new life as soon as she leaves the hospital. She doesn’t want to be treated differently. Amnesia is happy that she has Eddie. The few memories Amnesia has aren’t pretty, but she still wants to know what happened to her and who she is. I also want to know her past and who she is!Eddie is a fantastic man! He’s sweet, caring, kind, protective and loving. He works hard at the store that he will take over from his dad one day. Eddie is always there for Amnesia. He helps her with whatever he can. He drops everything when she needs him. He always believes her. Amnesia feels safe and protected by Eddie. He promises her that he would never hurt her or let anyone hurt her. Eddie loves spending time with her and he wants to be with her.
    more
  • Pick a Book
    June 14, 2017
    3 estrelas Apesar de ter achado a história interessante, não foi nada do que eu esperava. Achei o livro excessivamente detalhado em coisas fúteis e se isso não tivesse acontecido talvez desse pra contar a história toda em um livro. Sim, você leu certo. É mais de um livro. É uma duologia. A história acorreu de uma maneira tão lenta e no final foi jogada tanta coisa.. Sei lá. Queria ter gostado mais. Fui com muita expectativa. A história é boa, tem cara de roteiro de suspense, mas a lentidão me in 3 estrelas Apesar de ter achado a história interessante, não foi nada do que eu esperava. Achei o livro excessivamente detalhado em coisas fúteis e se isso não tivesse acontecido talvez desse pra contar a história toda em um livro. Sim, você leu certo. É mais de um livro. É uma duologia. A história acorreu de uma maneira tão lenta e no final foi jogada tanta coisa.. Sei lá. Queria ter gostado mais. Fui com muita expectativa. A história é boa, tem cara de roteiro de suspense, mas a lentidão me incomodou muito.Normalmente 3 estrelas é o que eu diria que foi bom, mas não leria de novo. Só que eu fiquei muito presa as cenas finais e a curiosidade venceu. Então, pretendo, sim, ler a continuação. Vamos ver como vai ser...
    more
  • Sophie
    June 18, 2017
    "Cross my heartHope to dieYou will be forever mine." 💚 The story is about a girl who is washed ashore in a lake town. She doesn't remember who she is and suffers from memory loss. Meanwhile something from her past is lurking behind and haunts her. Someone wants her dead, but she doesn't remember who or why. I just finished this book and oh my God! It was so good!! 😍😍This was my first book by Cambria Hebert, but it definitely won't be the last! The story captured my attention and I was hooked f "Cross my heartHope to dieYou will be forever mine." 💚 The story is about a girl who is washed ashore in a lake town. She doesn't remember who she is and suffers from memory loss. Meanwhile something from her past is lurking behind and haunts her. Someone wants her dead, but she doesn't remember who or why. I just finished this book and oh my God! It was so good!! 😍😍This was my first book by Cambria Hebert, but it definitely won't be the last! The story captured my attention and I was hooked from the start! Not the best thing to happen when you still have exams, but oh well. I really can't wait for Amnesty now!! Totally recommended!! Especially if you love Romance Suspense ! 💚Thank you Vanilla and Spice Books for my copy!! :D
    more
  • ♥ Dri ♥
    June 17, 2017
    DNF at 17%
  • Naughty Smut Readers
    June 11, 2017
    Wow I can't decide if I'm disturbed by what I just read or in awe of the story that just flows from this author. This is the first book I've read by her and I'm impressed. And that is saying alot! I've been in a bit of a book slump lately but I was immediately drawn to this novel. This small quiet town seems so tranquil until a girl washes ashore. Bizarre doesn't begin to describe the random events that unfold and that give a minor glimpse of who Amnesia might be. It's a group of dark, twisted p Wow I can't decide if I'm disturbed by what I just read or in awe of the story that just flows from this author. This is the first book I've read by her and I'm impressed. And that is saying alot! I've been in a bit of a book slump lately but I was immediately drawn to this novel. This small quiet town seems so tranquil until a girl washes ashore. Bizarre​ doesn't begin to describe the random events that unfold and that give a minor glimpse of who Amnesia might be. It's a group of dark, twisted plots around every corner but light and breathtaking romance that works it's way in your heart. I'm not sure if I was able to put this book down or not, I just remembered being finished and not ready for the story to be over. Captivating, strong and so worth the one click!
    more
  • Pea
    June 15, 2017
    This is so far one of my favorite reads in 2017 even though this book contains elements I usually don't like :) It is a little bit suspense but not too much and it ends in a cliffhanger but I think I can live with it for now. I'm looking forward to read book 2! Great job Cambria Hebert I didn't expect something like Amnesia!
    more
  •  Big Joe's Book Reviews
    June 17, 2017
    AMAZING READ!!! Edward is walking along the lake shore lost in thought. He looks out at the water at the same time something bobs up and down. He rushes in. It is a barely dress, unconscious, girl/young woman. He is stunned when he sees her face and it looks like a ghost from his past. He rescues her, saves her life and rushes her to the ER when she will be in a coma for 2 months. He will visit everyday. Haunted by the past and the present. When the girl wakes up she has no memory. Doctors check AMAZING READ!!! Edward is walking along the lake shore lost in thought. He looks out at the water at the same time something bobs up and down. He rushes in. It is a barely dress, unconscious, girl/young woman. He is stunned when he sees her face and it looks like a ghost from his past. He rescues her, saves her life and rushes her to the ER when she will be in a coma for 2 months. He will visit everyday. Haunted by the past and the present. When the girl wakes up she has no memory. Doctors check ups reveal severe trauma upon her but she remembers nothing, not even her name. She goes about calling herself Amnesia. When she asks if anyone has come looking for her she learns only one person the boy who rescued her. Soon she meets him and they build a friendship which will lead to more. He is the one person who makes her feels safe. The one person who accepts her for who she is, as she is. Once released the bound grows. But darkness lurks as there are many freaky appearances of a shadowy figure that is trying to kill or kidnap her. Now I wont say much more other than.... Wow, what a thrill ride, suspense, romance and the "who-dunnit" aspect make you read each page faster and faster. I loved this book. I will advise there is a cliffy and a book #2 said to be released this year. I highly recommend this book to all my friends and followers.
    more
  • Melissa Estrada
    June 12, 2017
    Cliffhanger!!Ugh so no where did I read that this would be a cliffhanger!! I love this author and will continue to read her work but star off for not warning that there's a major cliffhanger! The only saving grace is that the conclusion is supposed to be out later this summer. As far as the story itself, I loved it! Amnesia and Eddie were great characters. There was a great sense of mystery and I loved how everything unwound. You were left on the edge of your seat throughout.
    more
  • Andrea
    June 16, 2017
    WOW what a book!!!!! This is the first book I've read of Cambria, it certainly won't be the last!!This story had everything, mystery (it's been a while since I read a book with so much mystery!) friendship (this little town certainly has interesting characters) love (my new favourite couple, Am and Eddie are so freaking adorable!) Seriously Eddie is such a fantastic guy, I wish he was real! lol! This man would do everything for the woman he loves, dreamy sigh....Am suffered so much and continues WOW what a book!!!!! This is the first book I've read of Cambria, it certainly won't be the last!!This story had everything, mystery (it's been a while since I read a book with so much mystery!) friendship (this little town certainly has interesting characters) love (my new favourite couple, Am and Eddie are so freaking adorable!) Seriously Eddie is such a fantastic guy, I wish he was real! lol! This man would do everything for the woman he loves, dreamy sigh....Am suffered so much and continues not to know all the answers, she is such an amazing character to read, her strength speaks volumes! I can't wait for the sequel!!! This story is far from over! As the saying goes...patience is a virtue!
    more
  • Elaine Vargas
    June 14, 2017
    Fucking why
  • Carol***BeautyandtheBeastlyBooks
    June 15, 2017
    First of all let me just say that a book ending on a cliffhanger has nothing to do with my rating. I really couldn't care (unless the sequel takes forever - like years).I've only ever read "lighter" books from Cambria Hebert before, which I loved by the way. So Amnesia was a big surprise for me. When I saw the cover I was instantly attracted to it and as usual I didn't read the synopsis before starting it.I really liked this book and, for the most part, it has kept my attention and it has left m First of all let me just say that a book ending on a cliffhanger has nothing to do with my rating. I really couldn't care (unless the sequel takes forever - like years).I've only ever read "lighter" books from Cambria Hebert before, which I loved by the way. So Amnesia was a big surprise for me. When I saw the cover I was instantly attracted to it and as usual I didn't read the synopsis before starting it.I really liked this book and, for the most part, it has kept my attention and it has left me curious and looking forward to more! I really hope the sequel lives up to it (or is even better)!This book is one I'd fit in the "different" category I love so much! And there's also a "darkish" side to it and I can't wait to know more!! I definitely recommend it!!
    more
  • Jeannine
    June 15, 2017
    What a great mystery story! This one kept me on my toes. I really liked that I thought I knew how it was going to go and then just kidding, I was totally wrong. Really looking forward to the next one to see how everything turns out!
  • Nikki Barrett
    June 15, 2017
    Whoa. Just...Whoa. Bring on that conclusion!!
  • Sarah V
    June 13, 2017
    I'm a huge fan of Cambria Hebert and Amnesia did not disappoint. Firstly, where can I get me an Eddie??!! I've honestly not read many books at all where a character as amnesia and this book has quite the story to go with it. It's got the right amount of mystery, friendship, love and angst. I'm looking forward to more of Amnesia and Eddie! Oh and the cover is just gorgeous!
    more
  • Lady Heather
    June 12, 2017
    Book & Author DetailsAmnesia by Cambria Hebert Publication date: June 12th 2017Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense SynopsisI washed ashore in a little lake town.A place where everyone knows everyone, yet…No one knows me.I don’t know me.If a woman doesn’t know her own name, does she really exist?I don’t know my natural hair color, my birthdate, or where I live.I am invisible.To everyone, to everything, even to myself.Except to him.I see the recognition deep in his stare, the way it lingers on m Book & Author DetailsAmnesia by Cambria Hebert Publication date: June 12th 2017Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense SynopsisI washed ashore in a little lake town.A place where everyone knows everyone, yet…No one knows me.I don’t know me.If a woman doesn’t know her own name, does she really exist?I don’t know my natural hair color, my birthdate, or where I live.I am invisible.To everyone, to everything, even to myself.Except to him.I see the recognition deep in his stare, the way it lingers on my face as if I’m a puzzle he’s desperate to put together.I just want answers, the truth… knowledge.His lips are sealed. Still, his eyes beguile me.I can’t trust anyone, not even myself. Someone wants me dead, the same someone who tried to bury me in a watery grave.They’ll come for me again… I won’t know their face.I don’t even know mine.I am amnesia. Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3...Sneak Peek at AMNESIA -Copyright owned by Cambria HebertA M N E S I A Slivers of light pricked my eyelids, which up until this moment seemed far too heavy to lift. As I lay against something soft at my back, thought and awareness barely registered. The gritty feeling as I struggled to raise my eyelids scraped and burned over my eyeballs as if warning me it wasn’t a good idea. Swallowing past the sandpaper in my throat, I stopped working and lay still. Cognizance slowly came forward in the form of something weighing me down and the echo of footsteps nearby.Adrenaline jackknifed through me, and my body arched upward with the force of my gasp. The weight of whatever held me caused severe panic to fill me, and I began to fight against it.“No!” I screamed, flailing about, trying to escape the binds. “Let me go!” High-pitched beeping filled my ears, and the footsteps I’d heard grew more insistent and much closer. He was coming! “No!” I screamed. Strong hands grabbed my arms and pinned me down. I tried to fight back, but they were much stronger than me. Kicking my legs, I tried to free them, but even more weight came down, holding them still until I was gasping for breath and ready to beg.“Please!” I pleaded as wetness coated my cheeks. It made me realize the grittiness under my lids was rinsed away, and my eyes sprang open.A man was leaning over me. He had graying hair and wore some kind of white shirt. The scream that ripped right out of me scared us both. More hands and voices came out of nowhere, and I thrashed around again. “Miss!” the man yelled. “Miss, calm down.” “Get away from me!” I screamed again. “Miss!” another voice yelled, a woman this time. Turning in her direction, I saw a pair of kind brown eyes staring at me. “We aren’t trying to hurt you.” I calmed some, but the thundering of my heart made me feel as if I might spiral out of control. “You aren’t?”“No.” The woman, who was also dressed in white, spoke. “You’re at a hospital. You were in an accident.” “W-what?” I stammered, collapsing back against the bed, no longer straining against the binds. “You’re at a hospital.” “You’re trying to hold me down!” I accused. “We don’t want you to hurt yourself.” the woman explained. The hands, even the man’s, remained. “I don’t like it,” I admitted, recoiling. The man straightened, stepping back. The nurse was slower to withdraw, but she did so after a few seconds. “My legs,” I rasped. Suddenly, my throat hurt. “It’s just the blankets.”A quick glance down proved I was covered with blankets. Between suspicious glances at the people crowding my room (there were four), I gazed around, concluding I was in fact in a hospital.“I don’t understand,” I admitted, all my weight pressing into the bed. “It’s okay,” the man replied. He was a doctor, with a name badge and a stethoscope. “It’s completely normal and expected to be confused after the ordeal you’ve been through.” “What ordeal?” I asked instantly, anxiety pressing in on my ribcage.“We were hoping you could tell us,” the doctor said.“What?” My brows furrowed.The nurse leaned close, over the side of the bed. I noticed the railings were pulled up on each side. It made me feel as if I were in jail. Instantly, I hated it and began shoving at the bars, trying to push them down. “Okay, hang on,” the nurse said and put the rails down. Once it was done, she pinned me with an insistent stare. “You have to stay still. You can’t thrash around. You’ll rip out your IV and reinjure yourself.”“What happened to me?” I asked for what felt like the fifteenth time. I looked around at the four people in the room, hoping one of them would just spit it out.The doctor motioned to two of the nurses and then quietly left the room. I glanced back at the nurse. “Can you tell us your name?” she asked.“My name?” I nodded once, then opened my mouth… only nothing came out. Anxiety spiked in me again; I started to become agitated. “I… don’t know.” “Calm down.” The nurse reminded me. How dare she tell me to calm down? I couldn’t even remember my name.Oh my God, I didn’t know my own name!“I don’t remember!” I gasped, jerking up into a sitting position. “Why can’t I remember?” Before I could fling the covers off and jump out of bed, the doctor was there, pinning me back down. “If you don’t calm down, we’ll have to sedate you. I don’t want to do that. You’ve been out long enough.” I stilled. “How long?”“A while.” The nurse hedged. I ignored her. She was terrible with questions. “How long?” I demanded.“A little over two months,” the doctor replied.I gasped. “What’s my name?” I yelled. I’d been here for two months and they were asking for my name? Shouldn’t they know it? The doctor wasn’t looking at me; he was looking at the nurse, giving her a curt nod. She rushed out of the room. “No!” I shouted. “No drugs! Please! Tell me my name. I just want to know my name.” “You need to calm down. You’ve had a great deal of trauma, miss.”I dropped back against the pillow, boneless. He called me miss. “You don’t know my name, do you?” I asked, meek.Sensing all my energy was drained away, he moved back. A frown pulled at his lips. “You were brought in with no identification.” He began.Fear unlike anything I’d ever felt wrapped around my heart and squeezed. I searched every corner of my mind for something. Anything. There was nothing. “I don’t remember…” I whispered. The doctor seemed to soften. “I know this must be very scary, to wake up and be so disoriented.” I laughed, but it wasn’t a humorous sound. I wished I were disoriented right then. “You’ve been through a lot. Give it a few days. Now that you’re awake, your mind will catch up and you will remember.” “I will?” I asked. “There’s a good chance.” Disappointment speared me. “If I don’t?” “Let’s take it one day at a time.” He placated me. “Easy for you to say. You know your name.” A ghost of a smile appeared on his face. “Time.” He reminded me. The nurse came through the door, holding a syringe, and I cringed away. “I don’t think we’re going to need that,” the doctor told her.I let out an audible sigh.He glanced around again. “Now that you’re awake, I’ll get you down for testing.” “What kind of testing?” I asked. “Routine stuff for someone who’s been in a coma.” Nothing about this was routine. I was in coma… for two months. And I didn’t even know my name.When both the nurse and doctor were gone and I was alone, my eyes overflowed with tears and a formidable feeling of dread crowded inside me. The doctor said there was “a good chance” I would remember my name very soon. The problem was it wasn’t just my name I needed to remember… It was everything. GIVEAWAYBlitz-wide giveaway (INTL)Signed copy of Amnesia + $20 Amazon gift card- ends June 15th:Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/disp... Purchase Linkhttps://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...AUTHOR BIO Cambria Hebert is an award winning, bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house). Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: The Hashtag Series, Text, Torch, and Tattoo.Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC.You can find out more about Cambria and her titles by visiting her website: http://www.cambriahebert.com.Email: cambriahebert@rocketmail.comFacebook: https://www.facebook.com/cambriaheber...Twitter: https://twitter.com/cambriahebert Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/cambriahebert/p...Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/...Teasers, excerpt and book information provided by
    more
  • Bella
    June 17, 2017
    ★4.5 Stars★This was - BY FAR - the best book I have read by this author. I loved everything about this story, from the small town setting to the mysterious Amnesia, and all the drama, love and danger in between. This story was a huge WIN. My Favourite Things Who was Amnesia? Why were all the townsfolk whispering about her? Why did Edward look at her like he knew her? Who was trying to KILL her?! These are just some of the questions and themes that kept this story so interesting. I was intrigued ★4.5 Stars★This was - BY FAR - the best book I have read by this author. I loved everything about this story, from the small town setting to the mysterious Amnesia, and all the drama, love and danger in between. This story was a huge WIN. My Favourite Things Who was Amnesia? Why were all the townsfolk whispering about her? Why did Edward look at her like he knew her? Who was trying to KILL her?! These are just some of the questions and themes that kept this story so interesting. I was intrigued from start to finish and I couldn’t wait to get some answers. I absolutely loved Edward. His devotion to Amnesia was undeniable and I loved them together, but I was also so eager to know more about the past that haunted him. As for Amnesia, she was by far the most enthralling aspect of this book. Every new memory she had, I held my breath! I wanted to know so badly who she was, but I was just as invested in the romance between her and Eddie, than I was about uncovering her past. Thumbs DOWN Luckily I knew prior to reading this book that there was a book two. However had I not known, I would have been beyond pissed when I got to the end. If a book is NOT a standalone, it should be advertised as such. Final Thoughts This story did end on a cliffhanger, but it wasn’t a rough one. This was a gripping story that I loved from the first page. I cannot wait to get some final answers in the next book.
    more
  • Carol Oliveira
    June 13, 2017
    I saw this book around Instagram and I was immaterially drawn to it. I found the cover beautiful and gloomy, thought the description sounded really good and I've been wanting to read more thrillers.I didn't really have any expectation starting it, but I can say that I was hooked from the very first chapter. I could not put this book down!There's such an easy flow to this story, which I really appreciated. I think any sort of thriller/mystery needs to have that in order to keep you hooked.I don't I saw this book around Instagram and I was immaterially drawn to it. I found the cover beautiful and gloomy, thought the description sounded really good and I've been wanting to read more thrillers.I didn't really have any expectation starting it, but I can say that I was hooked from the very first chapter. I could not put this book down!There's such an easy flow to this story, which I really appreciated. I think any sort of thriller/mystery needs to have that in order to keep you hooked.I don't want to give much away, because I feel like the littlest thing could be a spoiler, but I can see this: I loved this book! I was swooning over Eddie the whole time I was reading it and rooting for Am to recover her memories just as much as I was dreading it. I loved the small town vibe to it, how the lake is almost a character and how the story really comes together.I can't wait to read the next book and I'll be starting it the second it comes out!
    more
  • Becca
    June 12, 2017
    Gaaah, this book was amazing. I literally just finished it, but my jaw is still on the floor.No matter what she’s writing, Cambria Hebert never ceases to disappoint me. And this story was so damn awesome, I’m totally speechless. Absolutely mind-blowing! I think I just need more right now!
    more
  • Kimberly
    June 14, 2017
    This was a creepy read. Finished in one sitting and I really did enjoy it. However i think I have an idea how the second book is going to play out. I have a a theory....
  • Mayuri
    June 12, 2017
    wow wow wow!!!!!I just finished this book and my heart is pounding and all these emotions are running through my head... this book was so deceptively good. I was reading on my laptop and didn't even realised it had ended till it told me to look for the next book. When you start this book at first you just want to know what happened to her just so the suspense can end. But as the book goes along you become so scared along with Amnesia that you don't want to know. You just want her to be safe and wow wow wow!!!!!I just finished this book and my heart is pounding and all these emotions are running through my head... this book was so deceptively good. I was reading on my laptop and didn't even realised it had ended till it told me to look for the next book. When you start this book at first you just want to know what happened to her just so the suspense can end. But as the book goes along you become so scared along with Amnesia that you don't want to know. You just want her to be safe and happy with Eddie and then you're just along for the ride.I became so entrapped within the pages of the book that I read it all in one sitting that's how astoundingly great it was. I mean you know a book is amazing when you literally do not want to move from. it.I don't really want to say too much to give away much to sum it all up briefly....ish.Eddie finds Amnesia washed up on the lake in a small town in Maine, Loch. She has no memory of who she is or where she came from. All she knows is that Eddie is the man that saved her and he hasn't left her side since. He visits her all the time and talks to her and doesn't care that she can't remember anything he just wants to be with her. He makes her feel safe and protected he is the one constant in all the chaos. Even if she is told not to become too dependent on him and vise versa neither one cares.Amnesia is so cute and feisty yet vulnerable and lost. But Eddie stole the show for me.He was AMAZING!!!!! right from the start and even after "stuff" happened he was still amazing with his devotion towards Am. He loved her no matter what. I loved how he never left her side at times and told everyone to get stuffed if they tried to separate her from him. He was so charmingly cocky yet so devoted to her. It was pleasant to read. I like it when the hero knows from the start that her loves the heroine. And even though the romance between them was so sweet it didn't come off as cheesy or too ott. It was just natural from the start like they had been together their whole lives even though they had just met.It was nice to read the romance between them as it grew bigger and bigger throughout the book. It was so innocent and sweet and warm. Just perfect! The scenes between them together...i was like sigh.... the whole damn time. I was laughing and sighing. I loved how his devotion for her never wavered and how he took care of her especially on their first date, then in the ambulance i was cracking up. He is like her warrior defending and protecting her throughout the whole book. No matter what anyone says there's no changing his mind he wants to be with and no one can do anything to harm her or get in the way of him getting to her if he has anything to say about it. He will do anything for her.Of course one can't forget the thriller aspect of the book and how the more she start remembering the more scared you become not just for her but for eddie too. How badly will her memories affect her present. As the story unfolds it becomes downright terrifying. I swear the scenes at the end gave me heart palpitations it was so creepy. Even with the blossoming romance between the two and all the happy scenes the book is still a thriller with all the scary and mysterious things happening in the small town that are full of secrets and if Amnesia is hiding from someone when will they come back for her?Overall don't hesitate to read this book you will not regret it for a second. Though just remember there is a follow up book coming this summer so this book is left unfinished and you are left with so many questions. Also there is twist in the end that some may say is a cliffhanger but to me I've had worse. It more or less just left me wanting more.Cambria all I can say is YOU ARE AN AMAZING AUTHOR . I didn't think I could love you even more after reading your hashtag series then your gear shark series but I guess I was wrong. I can't wait for AMNESTY. I will be avidly waiting for its release. TO EVERYONE ELSE READ THIS!!!!!! You will not be disappointed....unless you are and then I can't help you...sorry not sorry.I'll leave you with these little treasures.“Cross your heart?”“Hope to die,”“You will be forever mine.”Like two magnets, we sort of shifted, drawn closer to each other. The look in his eyes nearly melted me.I saw my future spelled out for me now, plain as day. I would live between our kisses and die every time her lips met mine. Death and resuscitation all at once, that was Amnesia, the girl who forgot everything, a girl I would always know by heart.xoxo PEACE!!
    more
  • Kendall {Book Crazy}
    June 17, 2017
    I've read almost all of this author's books and I've loved all of them, so I'm always looking forward to a new release from her! I was really excited about this book because the cover is stunning and the synopsis intrigued me! I started reading this book as soon as it released! Luckily I had just finished my current read, so I didn't have to wait! I loved this book! I was intrigued right from the first chapter and it had me hooked all the way through! The mystery aspect and the romance also kept I've read almost all of this author's books and I've loved all of them, so I'm always looking forward to a new release from her! I was really excited about this book because the cover is stunning and the synopsis intrigued me! I started reading this book as soon as it released! Luckily I had just finished my current read, so I didn't have to wait! I loved this book! I was intrigued right from the first chapter and it had me hooked all the way through! The mystery aspect and the romance also kept me hooked! The romance was very beautiful and I loved how it progressed! It didn't feel rushed and the characters built up to doing things like kissing and such! There were a few really hot scenes between them too! The mystery aspect also added some action and suspense to the plot and it kept me wanting to find out who the bad person was and how everything was going to come to a big climax at the end! The characters were also amazing and made this book even better! Edward 'Eddie' was the main male character, and in this book, Eddie was a guy that did spent a lot of time by himself and he lived in a small town where everyone knew each other! I admired Eddie a lot in this book! He was very protective of his love interest and it was easy to see how much he loved her and wanted to keep her safe! I also loved that Eddie was always there for his love interest and that he tried to support her as much as he could! He was her lifeline for all of this book, and he embraced that role and took it very seriously! Amnesia was the main female character and love interest of Eddie! My heart went out to Amnesia in this book! I mean, how could it not? She couldn't remember a single thing about her life and she was then in danger and wasn't able to work out who the bad person was! Amnesia then started to get flashbacks and this made me feel even more sorry for her! She went through unimaginable things! Amnesia may have been through a lot, but she also came a long way! She made friends and she kept going and dealt with everything as best she could! I loved that this book was written from both Eddie and Amnesia's point of views! I was hoping that it was going to, so I'm really happy it was! It helped me understand and connect with the characters more, especially Amnesia, and it allowed for more things to happen in the plot! I have to be honest and say that I thought that this book was a standalone when I first heard about it! I hadn't heard anything about a duology or a series, so imagine my surprise when I got to the end of this book and the plot is unresolved lol! I'm really excited about the next book and I'm definitely going to be on pins and needles waiting for it to release! I can't wait to read more on Eddie and Amnesia, and the ending of this book was left at the perfect place to lead into the next book! It wasn't left at a huge, massive cliff-hanger, which made me happy lol! I'm definitely going to check out this author's books that I haven't read yet too! I think it's only one series lol! The cover for this book is also stunning! I loved it as soon as I saw it and it really made me want to read the story behind it! It suits the book perfectly and I love how well the image suits the characters of Eddie and Amnesia!
    more
  • Amy Weichseldorfer
    June 15, 2017
    I didn't know this ended in a cliff hanger or I would have waited to read it until the second part came out. That's just how I roll. I purposefully didn't read the reviews because I didn't want any spoilers, so the not knowing about the ending kind of falls on me. It is what it is. Luckily the next book will be out this summer so there won't be a long wait. As far as cliff hangers go, it wasn't the most stressful one I've ever read, but I find myself anxiously awaiting the next part. Note: my ra I didn't know this ended in a cliff hanger or I would have waited to read it until the second part came out. That's just how I roll. I purposefully didn't read the reviews because I didn't want any spoilers, so the not knowing about the ending kind of falls on me. It is what it is. Luckily the next book will be out this summer so there won't be a long wait. As far as cliff hangers go, it wasn't the most stressful one I've ever read, but I find myself anxiously awaiting the next part. Note: my rating is for the book itself, and has nothing to do with how it ended. I don't consider the cliff hanger a failing of the story or the author, and therefore no stars were deducted from the rating for it. I honestly felt that this was a 4 star book based on the likability of the characters, pacing of the story and the suspense. I really enjoyed the book. The story is about an unconscious girl who washes up on a lake shore in a small town in Maine. She is found by our hero, Eddie, and brought to the hospital. Is she the same girl he has been missing for 11 years? There is no way to know since she's completely repressed who she is, where she's been, and what happened to her. As for the characters, I liked Eddie - I thought his obsessiveness about Amnesia was endearing. And for Amnesia, I can't wait to see where the next part of the story takes her character. Is she or isn't she who she thinks she might be?? I honestly have no idea. I'm looking forward to finding out when Amnesty is released.Overall I definitely recommend this book, with the proviso that if you don't like cliff hangers, wait for the next book to release. If you don't mind cliff hangers, read on!!
    more
  • Jordan
    June 13, 2017
    (Possible Spoilers)This suspenseful romance, will keep you on the edge of your seat through out the whole book. Captivating, sweet, sexy and dark, Amnesia will take you on a scary ride, have you swooning over Eddie, the charming, sexy hero, and wanting to hold onto Amnesia, while she navigates the ups and downs of her mind. Cambria Hebert brings a fresh breath of air to any genre she writes, and with this darker tale, she delivers. I was holding my breath most of this book, clutching my kindle, (Possible Spoilers)This suspenseful romance, will keep you on the edge of your seat through out the whole book. Captivating, sweet, sexy and dark, Amnesia will take you on a scary ride, have you swooning over Eddie, the charming, sexy hero, and wanting to hold onto Amnesia, while she navigates the ups and downs of her mind. Cambria Hebert brings a fresh breath of air to any genre she writes, and with this darker tale, she delivers. I was holding my breath most of this book, clutching my kindle, wanting to devour the chapters as fast as possible, trying to solve the mystery right along side Amnesia. Everything, from the pacing of the book, to the foggy small town setting, the hauntingly beautiful, scary and sad story, to Eddie and Amnesia, who I loved, and could not get enough of, make for one fantastic story. Amnesia is a complex character, one that steals your heart, she's lost. There is so much she does not know, so much to fear, and so many reasons to want to hide, but she doesn't. She is strong, resilient and is determined, to face whats ahead of her and hope for more. Eddie, oh man did I love Eddie. He is an amazing male lead. Strong, sweet, sweep you off your feet and protect from the world kind of guy. He knows pain and lost, but still mange's to make others smile. And together, the connection Eddie & Amnesia share, is beautiful, swoon-worthy, and filled with hope.Fear, love, second chances, and the unknown, all woven together, brings us a thrilling read. This little town of Lake Loch and all the secrets, lies, and mystery, circling in it, make for a book that should not be missed. *JordansBookReviews*
    more
Write a review