My Roommate's Girl
The day a judge gave me the choice between going to prison or going to college was the day I vowed to stop stealing. Never again would I see something beautiful and beyond my means and take it, just because I wanted it. Just because I could.When I moved in with Jerry, it was with good intentions. I needed a place to live while I got my degree, and he needed a roommate. Then I saw Aster.Blond and beautiful, good, pure, sweet, smart…and Jerry’s girlfriend. She was everything I never thought I could have. Except…maybe I can.So I put a plan into action. Yeah, I’d probably go to hell, but it would be worth it. I wanted Aster. I wanted her yesterday and tomorrow and every possible way.But you know what they say.Be careful what you wish for…because you just might get it.

My Roommate's Girl Details

TitleMy Roommate's Girl
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 12th, 2017
PublisherJulianna Keyes
Number of pages287 pages
Rating
GenreNew Adult, Contemporary, Romance

My Roommate's Girl Review

  • Maria✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦
    May 28, 2017
    ➦I'm a fan of Julianna Keyes ever since I've plowed through and loved it to bits. And she's such a sweet lady too! Anywhooooo. This book was very enjoyable but I didn't get the feels for some reason (it happens!) and there wasn't as much humor in this one as in some other books of hers that I've read.➦The hero of this novel is a guy who has been given a second chance to get his life on track. He got caught stealing cars but was offered by a judge to be a part of the program that allows trouble ➦I'm a fan of Julianna Keyes ever since I've plowed through and loved it to bits. And she's such a sweet lady too! Anywhooooo. This book was very enjoyable but I didn't get the feels for some reason (it happens!) and there wasn't as much humor in this one as in some other books of hers that I've read.➦The hero of this novel is a guy who has been given a second chance to get his life on track. He got caught stealing cars but was offered by a judge to be a part of the program that allows troubled youth to go to college and earn a degree. Needless to say, he agrees. ➦He finds a place to live and starts lusting over his roommate's girlfriend. He really REALLY wants her. Perhaps a little sabotage will help him have her? ➦So, anywho. This friends to lovers is pretty well paced and has enjoyable characters and situations. I didn't feel the heat as much as I was hoping. And take this review with a grain of salt, because it might have been a full moon or a vertigo equinox and my brain might have short circuited. >.<
    more
  • Jennifer Kyle
    June 19, 2017
    4.5 StarsJulianna Keyes delivers yet another hit college romance. The story starts out told in the hero’s pov as he is attending college through a program that offers felons a second chance. He had all the best intentions moving in with Jerry, well that was until he met Jerry’s girlfriend, Aster . “This is my girlfriend, Aster.” I look at Aster and I’m done. So if you think about it, Jerry kind of started it.” I truly loved how the author presented this story. It was intriguing as our hero, Aida 4.5 StarsJulianna Keyes delivers yet another hit college romance. The story starts out told in the hero’s pov as he is attending college through a program that offers felons a second chance. He had all the best intentions moving in with Jerry, well that was until he met Jerry’s girlfriend, Aster . “This is my girlfriend, Aster.” I look at Aster and I’m done. So if you think about it, Jerry kind of started it.” I truly loved how the author presented this story. It was intriguing as our hero, Aidan does something pretty despicable and the twist of events that follows is so very clever. “Everybody lies, Aidan. Or are you the only one who’s allowed to?” The connection between Aidan and Aster is well done and the writing is very witty. “She’s a student and she’s my friend.” “You don’t have female friends.”“I could totally - ” I can’t finish the lie. “Well I do now.” Overall, this is an enjoyable college romance that is all about second chances. I do wish the characters' parents played a bit more of a role and I would have like a few more steamy scenes still, this was a very good read.
    more
  • Dilek VT
    June 15, 2017
    Disappointing :(Having read the blurb, I thought I was going to read a book about a sweet bad boy who steals the girl he is obsessed with, using his charm or something like that, no matter that she belongs to someone else. Nope, that is not what I got :(The forbidden As every “forbidden” story has its own weird attraction, I was intrigued by it & plus the gorgeous cover and I was sold!The social message The story also has a good message to the society about second chances in life if you have Disappointing :(Having read the blurb, I thought I was going to read a book about a sweet bad boy who steals the girl he is obsessed with, using his charm or something like that, no matter that she belongs to someone else. Nope, that is not what I got :(The forbidden As every “forbidden” story has its own weird attraction, I was intrigued by it & plus the gorgeous cover and I was sold!The social message The story also has a good message to the society about second chances in life if you have committed one or more crimes in your past and how you can regain your life and build a better future but the way the message is engrained in the story wasn’t good enough for me to feel it and to be affected by it.My feelings after having read the book: Well, I didn’t like the characters much.I didn’t like the writing, either.The book couldn’t make me feel... at all!This story could have been told in such a different way and I would have fallen in love with it but the way it is written is too flat and “emotion-less” for me. I liked neither the tone of it nor the style.I wanted to feel the strong attraction between the characters, but I didn’t.I wanted to be persuaded into the belief that even though it was forbidden, the feelings of both the guy and the girl were so strong and their coming together was so inevitable that it didn’t know any boundaries. Nope, no such thing, at all!Until Chapter 21, we know nothing about how the heroine, Aster feels, what she thinks etc because until Chapter 21, the story is told only by the hero, Aidan. THAT WAS A HUGE MISTAKE if you ask me because I couldn’t get into the story as I didn’t know what was going on in her heart and mind! Nope, no clues at all!After Ch. 21, the story starts to be told in dual point of view and we learn slowly what she was thinking and feeling so far.Maybe, the writer planned this to hide Aster’s secret but I know many books told by dual point of view and still you have no idea what actually is going on so as a writer, you can hide what you want to hide even if you use dual point of view. Or if you prefer 1st person point of view for so long in a forbidden story like that, then, you should make the writing captivating enough for the reader to feel the attraction, the chemistry or the tension. This was too flat.The story of AidanOur hero Aidan meets his roommate Jerry’s girlfriend on the day he moves in. And here is actually what happens and how it all happens:• Aidan thinks Aster is naturally beautiful and hot.• He lusts for her.• He wants to f*ck her.• He thinks she is a nice girl who wouldn’t cheat on her boyfriend so he makes an “evil” and “low” plan to steal the girl (just to be able to f*ck her.... there is no love or an obsession yet. He just wants to f*ck her. OK? )Meanwhile, Jerry and Aster really look happy together. They kiss and cuddle and they get intimate in Jerry’s room. And during this time, Aidan plans how to separate them!Did I make it clear enough that this story doesn’t begin with strong feelings, inevitable attraction and irresistible chemistry but just the need of our hero to have sex with his roommate’s girl? I hope I did...Aidan is an ex car thief who was once in juvie. Now, he is at this college on a special program that aims at helping people with criminal records to build themselves a better future. Apparently, the program isn’t helping him much as he plans to steal a living person now from a loved one instead of a car!The naive boyfriendJerry, the boyfriend, is too good to be true, even naive. I mean the kind of naive who apologizes even when someone else is guilty and needs to apologize to him. The girlfriendAster, the girlfriend, seems to be “a perfect girl” who is too good for Aidan at the beginning but she also has her own secret past, which we learn only after chapter 21 as it is when we start to hear her side of the story.How Aidan steals Aster form Jerry:• He makes Jerry drunk, pays a prostitute to seduce him and even though Jerry feels he is doing something wrong, he can realize it only after the BJ the prostitute gives him. A little bit too late as you can imagine!• Aidan has a plan to reveal what happened so that Aster dumps Jerry’s sorry ass but it was never necessary because Jerry is a decent guy who himself confesses what he has done and apologizes to Aster. Aster gets too angry to listen to him or forgive him at all and she really dumps him.Does Aster run to Aidan immediately?• Well, our hero, the selfish prick Aidan, hopes for a revenge f*ck from her or he hopes to be her rebound but he sees that Aster is actually sad. She says she really loved Jerry (which insuniates that she had no feelings for Aidan at all). She is really disappointed, heart-broken and sorry, crying all the time and drinking & eating excessively. Typical depression syndrome after a break-up.• Jerry is also devastated as he has lost Aster for a stupid mistake when drunk.• And our hero Aidan feels a little (but VERY LITTLE BIT) of guilty.Aidan’s new plan:• As Aidan sees it will take some time for Aster to jump on his bones, he tries to be friends with her (the cheeky bastard!) to earn time until then. In time, he really starts to enjoy her company and there is finally something more than his need to f*ck her!• However, Aster learns what Aidan did to separate her from Jerry and things don’t go as smoothly as he expects. There is a small but surprising plot twist there.The result?After a short while, our heroine Aster forgives Aidan and they start to be together. (Me? Me still feeling nothing at all!!! On the contrary, me still wondering how or when she started to feel something for him to be able to forgive and jump into a relationship with him so quickly)Whatever! For some reason, they hide the fact that they are together from Jerry and when Jerry learns it, he gets shocked and very upset. He actually cries in front of his new girlfriend (who happens to be the girl who has been trying to seduce Aidan for 3 years). Having felt stabbed in the back, Jerry evicts Aidan and then, he feels guilty for it. !!! Big softie! Thinking that Aidan never really apologized to Jerry, I feel sorry for his soft and naive nature! Aidan & Aster together:• Although Aster thinks that sex is better with Aidan than it was with Jerry and Aidan gets what he wants finally, as a reader, I didn’t get what I needed or wanted. Their intimate scenes didn’t make me feel it at all. What they felt never came alive for me. The end:• Aidan and Aster click with each other about many things but they also have some issues in their relationship which tear them apart at some point but when Aidan comes to his senses and prepares a good apology, he is forgiven again. Then, the “happy” end... not that I care!Here are a few quotes that will make my point clearer, (hopefully :) She presses her hand to her chest, drawing my attention there yet again. My stomach tightens, then my thighs, my arms. Everything pulls in tight, anticipating my next move, the way it did whenever I found the car I’d been sent to steal, sitting there, innocent, waiting. No clue what was coming. And no way to stop it.***Aster’s a nice person, a good person. She’s not going to fuck me if she has a boyfriend. So the boyfriend will have to go.***She reaches into her pocket and pulls out her key ring, untangling our apartment key from the bunch and hurling it into the kitchen before she storms out. The door gives a heavy, final slam behind her, and for a long second, the apartment is dead quiet. Then I hear it. A tiny sniffle, a tinier sob, then the soft click of Jerry’s bedroom door closing. I did it. They’re done.***“I keep trying to be angry,” she says, eyes trailing over my shoulder to the window. “I keep trying to think of ways to get revenge, but...”No but, I think. Get revenge. Fuck somebody. Fuck me. “But I’m just so sad,” she says, her voice breaking. “Isn’t that stupid? I’m so...fucking...sad.”***Maybe I’ve made a huge mistake. It’s not that I don’t want Aster, but maybe sex can’t replace what I’ve stolen. I’m not going to love her like Jerry did; I’m not a job on Wall Street, I’m not a winning lottery ticket. I’m just a guy who wants to fuck her, not much different from every other guy who looks at her.***“I didn’t know it would ever come to this. I thought you’d fuck me for revenge, I’d get you out of my system, and we’d both move on.” So, the book is max 2,5 stars for me but not a 3, so 2 it is!
    more
  • Alyssa
    June 2, 2017
    ***Review to come***Not at all what I was expecting! Which is a good thing. =)
  • Annika
    June 9, 2017
    Wrong choice of title and cover, if you ask me.It made me go into this book with pretty low expectations. Made me expect a light-hearted, rather shallow story about a bad boy going after the good girl, maybe even a little love triangle thrown into the mix. Some steam, a lot of fun and forgettable characters.What I certainly did not expect was all the emotions, ranging all the way from hate to love, from compassion to anger, from aggravation to amusement.Aidan in particular was such a sneaky litt Wrong choice of title and cover, if you ask me.It made me go into this book with pretty low expectations. Made me expect a light-hearted, rather shallow story about a bad boy going after the good girl, maybe even a little love triangle thrown into the mix. Some steam, a lot of fun and forgettable characters.What I certainly did not expect was all the emotions, ranging all the way from hate to love, from compassion to anger, from aggravation to amusement.Aidan in particular was such a sneaky little bastard. God, I hated his guts in the beginning. What a despicable asshole, and a constantly horny one at that. Really not my kind of book boyfriend. For the next six days, I manage to think about Aster a little less. I only jack off to the thought of her ass in the air and my hands in her hair three times. It's an improvement over last week. Still, I kept reading because I thought, even though he doesn't seem to have any redeeming qualities, I kind of like the other characters well enough to keep going, and it was pretty entertaining. But then, about halfway through the book, it suddenly struck me: I'm crushing on Aidan. Well hell, when exactly did that happen?!Well, I'm still not sure. I guess at the beginning, what made me gradually warm up to him a little was his dry sense of humor. Later, I caught myself swooning over his determination to have Aster and his lack of composure and self-control at times. What eventually really won me over, though, was the immense character growth he went through within just a couple of months without losing any of the few appealing character traits he had in the beginning (don't you hate it when a bad-ass hero gets all mushy and limp once he falls in love?). And then she nods. It'd be great if she cried, "Yes, Aidan, give me everything!" but I'll take the nod. I kiss her. As for Aster, she started out as such a bland and dull goody two-shoes character and, while I didn't exactly dislike her, I just didn't care about her, either. Surprisingly, she quickly grew on me too, and I couldn't have been more surprised at the turn of events when I finally learned that she had secrets of her own. I loved how ambitious and proud she was, and that she didn't take crap from anyone, including Aidan. Aidan's the only guy in my life to see all of me. The person I was and the person I want to be and the person I am now. And for whatever reason, he's still looking. It's terrifying. The romance is beautiful and real, a classic slow-burner with heaps of tension, but it's a lot less focused on sexy times than one might expect, given the cover and the blurb.Rather, it's a story of personal growth and wanting the best for yourself, and how friendship and love can help reach your goals. And while this book deals with some heavier subjects, the tone is still light and hopeful, backed with endearing secondary characters, subtle humor and a lot of fun and witty banter. When I met Aster, I thought she was the light I'd been waiting for. But I was wrong. She was the spark. This book was such a pleasant surprise to me. It's so much more than meets the eye.ARC provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • mells_view
    May 24, 2017
    So I will admit. When I read the title I asked myself, is this an erotic novella? Because for me those are the only instances where a trope like this works.Well somehow, Julianna Keyes, MADE wanting your roommate's girl work. She made me fall for the guy who was pretty crappy at first. It wasn't forced either. It just worked. Really really well. The story that's weaved really helps you fall for this characters without making you sympathize really. You get mad at them as you should, but then you So I will admit. When I read the title I asked myself, is this an erotic novella? Because for me those are the only instances where a trope like this works.Well somehow, Julianna Keyes, MADE wanting your roommate's girl work. She made me fall for the guy who was pretty crappy at first. It wasn't forced either. It just worked. Really really well. The story that's weaved really helps you fall for this characters without making you sympathize really. You get mad at them as you should, but then you are shown that even the bad guys can be redeemed.Aidan makes poor choices. By the end. I love him.Aster does some crappy things. By the end. I love her.When I started reading it felt like a 3-star read. As it progressed it definitely earned all its stars back. This story is unexpectedly deep. The characters were multi-faceted and flawed. Although their flaws made them easy to be annoyed with, they made them even easier to love.Sidenote: can we get a story about Missy and how her current situation ends up? I mean how fun would that story be?
    more
  • Mandy
    May 29, 2017
    Loved this book! I wasn't expecting the emotions in this one but I enjoyed it along with the humor, banter and steamy scenes. This is the perfect NA book for anyone who loves a good college romance! I really enjoy this authors writing and can't wait to read whatever she writes next!
    more
  • Jaime Arkin
    May 23, 2017
    I loved Julianna Keye’s previous New Adult books, my favorites being Undecided/Undeclared (those books are amazing so if you haven’t read them get to it!). When I saw the summary for My Roommate’s Girl I was instantly intrigued. The whole premise makes me cringe a bit if I’m being honest because OMG how am I going to like a guy who is trying to sabotage a relationship simply because he wants her… but I can’t lie. I actually really found myself liking Aidan and sympathizing for him at certain poi I loved Julianna Keye’s previous New Adult books, my favorites being Undecided/Undeclared (those books are amazing so if you haven’t read them get to it!). When I saw the summary for My Roommate’s Girl I was instantly intrigued. The whole premise makes me cringe a bit if I’m being honest because OMG how am I going to like a guy who is trying to sabotage a relationship simply because he wants her… but I can’t lie. I actually really found myself liking Aidan and sympathizing for him at certain points. Aidan is trouble, and you can tell right from page 1. He’s in college because it was either that or prison, but he’s determined to make good use of this second chance, but after two years on campus he’s realized that he needs to be in an apartment… which leads to renting a space from Jerry! Jerry’s pre-med and kind, and honest and friendly… and he has a super-hot girlfriend named Aster. From the first meeting, Aidan can’t help his attraction to her, and despite knowing he’s not a commitment kind of guy, he’s determined to break Jerry & Aster up just so he can sleep with her. So he creates a plan… and makes it happen.What he doesn’t expect is how he feels once he realizes that his actions really hurt both Jerry and Aster and what that means for him going forward with his plan to get her in his bed. This book is written in dual pov’s, however, we don’t get to Aster’s pov until a bit later …and I’m just going to be honest… Aster is not the girl you’re led to believe she is from Aidan’s point of view. He’s made a lot of assumptions about her and I was just as surprised as Aidan was when the truth comes out. What I liked the most about this book was the character growth that you can see for both Aidan and Aster. They are completely different people from the first to the last page and I love when that happens.The hardest part of this story… the sacrificial lamb Jerry. I actually really loved him, and I kind of hope that if this becomes part of a companion series that we’ll get his story. I think he has a lot of potential as a character and I would love to read more about him. Honestly, while I enjoyed this one, Undeclared still remains my favorite of all the Julianna Keyes that I’ve read so far, but if it’s any indication, I started this and finished it in one evening. The story is compelling, the characters are complex and the chemistry between Aster and Aidan is wonderfully developed. If you’re a fan of New Adult, I highly recommend grabbing this one as soon as you can! Thank you to the publisher for an early copy in exchange for my honest thoughts!
    more
  • Jean
    June 13, 2017
    I wanted to love this book, I really did, especially after drooling over that hot man on the cover. However, I was barely able to tolerate Aiden at the beginning of this book. He was conniving and didn't not care about the consequences of his actions. That pissed me off! And he was keeping secrets from a lot of people, including Aster (his roommate's girlfriend). Nothing unusual there, right?But then, I was thrown when I found out someone else was keeping a secret and I got excited about the fut I wanted to love this book, I really did, especially after drooling over that hot man on the cover. However, I was barely able to tolerate Aiden at the beginning of this book. He was conniving and didn't not care about the consequences of his actions. That pissed me off! And he was keeping secrets from a lot of people, including Aster (his roommate's girlfriend). Nothing unusual there, right?But then, I was thrown when I found out someone else was keeping a secret and I got excited about the future interaction with Aiden and Aster. Unfortunately, the book just fell a little flat for me.....I needed more, more, something.....just not sure what that something was.I do love the author and will continue to buy and read her books.I was provided an ARC of this book through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    June 11, 2017
    I have absolutely loved every Julianna Keyes novel as she has an incredible ability to combine humor, heat, and heart in her novels. They are so darn funny that sometimes I have to catch my breath laughing so hard as her heroes and heroines are so real and honest but sarcastic AF when they need to be. Aidan and Aster were really perfect together. They weren't perfect people but together made each other better. I really loved this book!At first glance you read the title of this novel and immediat I have absolutely loved every Julianna Keyes novel as she has an incredible ability to combine humor, heat, and heart in her novels. They are so darn funny that sometimes I have to catch my breath laughing so hard as her heroes and heroines are so real and honest but sarcastic AF when they need to be. Aidan and Aster were really perfect together. They weren't perfect people but together made each other better. I really loved this book!At first glance you read the title of this novel and immediately think "Uh oh.....pass. I don't do love triangles and/or cheating." But let me SCREAM something: (without giving away spoilers) this story has none of that! None! This is probably one of the most unique stories I have ever read. It was funny, smart, sexy as heck and fantastic. At first glance when reformed Bad Boy in progress Aidan Shaw saw Aster Lindsey he wanted her. He knew it was wrong and unthinkable. She was his new roommate's girlfriend. But once he got to know her more and more..it was on. She became his endgame and he needed to figure out how he could win the girl. But what happens when things get complicated and lines get blurred? Can Aidan escape his past and the man he was and become the man he was always destined to be?My Roommate's Girlfriend is a unique and compelling story that grips you from the first page. And I'm warning you now: GET READY for some twists, people. I was FLOORED and I thought I've seen and read everything. Aidan and Aster have crazy chemistry and are the perfect complement to each other. All in all, this novel was amazing and I could not get enough. I can't wait for Ms. Keyes next one! Bravo! 4 stars! ~Ratula
    more
  • Shari Kay
    June 15, 2017
    What a little shithttps://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
  • Paula Phillips
    June 12, 2017
    Aiden Shaw was stuck between a rock and a hard place, with only two options - go to Prison or accept a scholarship and head to college under a second chances program. Aiden chose the College Route of course. This landed him with Jerry as a roommate and meeting Aster. Aster is the perfect girl-next-door, or so Aiden believes. He wants her and hasn't felt this way about anyone before; the thing is she is taken and is Jerry's girlfriend. Aiden invites Jerry to a bachelor party and sets Jerry up wit Aiden Shaw was stuck between a rock and a hard place, with only two options - go to Prison or accept a scholarship and head to college under a second chances program. Aiden chose the College Route of course. This landed him with Jerry as a roommate and meeting Aster. Aster is the perfect girl-next-door, or so Aiden believes. He wants her and hasn't felt this way about anyone before; the thing is she is taken and is Jerry's girlfriend. Aiden invites Jerry to a bachelor party and sets Jerry up with a stripper. This causes a domino effect where Jerry and Aster break up, and Aiden steps in to be the "good friend" and person whose shoulder she cries on. One thing leads to another, and the pair starts to get closer and closer. That is until Jerry kicks Aiden out of the apartment and Aster realizes the truth about what Aiden has done. Now neither of them will talk to Aiden. Turns out though that Aster isn't the perfect angel that Aiden believes she is and they find themselves in similar shoes. Will Aster give Aiden a second chance at romance, just like they were both given second chances at a new life? My Roommate's Girl by Julianna Keyes was a good read, and it shows readers that more often than not we can't judge a person by what they look like as outward appearances can be deceiving
    more
  • Maria Rose
    May 21, 2017
    The title of Julianna Keyes’s new adult romance My Roommate’s Girl gives a pretty good hint as to the subject matter, and the synopsis fills in some of the details. But what’s delivered is so much more than what’s expected and this is one of those stories you’ll be hard pressed to put down once you start.Aidan has gotten into his share of trouble and his last chance to make something good out of his life is to take a judge up on his offer to go to college with a scholarship program for troubled The title of Julianna Keyes’s new adult romance My Roommate’s Girl gives a pretty good hint as to the subject matter, and the synopsis fills in some of the details. But what’s delivered is so much more than what’s expected and this is one of those stories you’ll be hard pressed to put down once you start.Aidan has gotten into his share of trouble and his last chance to make something good out of his life is to take a judge up on his offer to go to college with a scholarship program for troubled kids, instead of a stint in a local jail for car theft. His roommate Jerry is a nice guy, a doctor’s son who’s been handed a much nicer life than Aidan, including a stunning girlfriend. Aster certainly fits the part of a perfect girl to hang on the arm of a successful man. But Aidan is struck with some very lustful intentions. He hatches a plan to break up the happy couple in hopes that he’ll be the one Aster turns to, to pick up the pieces. But actions have consequences. Has he ruined a happy ever after for three people in his quest to steal his roommate’s girl?So clearly, Aidan is a selfish prick. His intentions are never in doubt, and obviously, he’s not hero material. Right? RIGHT? I mean, what kind of guy does that? The manner in which Aidan goes about his plan to break up Jerry and Aster is very sly, very well planned, and has consequences that don’t quite fit what he’d envisioned. I don’t want to give away too many spoilers because there are some really great plot twists in this story that have to be read to be appreciated. But there are a few things I can say, in hopes that you will be willing to give this book a try, despite how bad things look for Aidan.As it turns out, Aidan ends up being one of my favorite heroes! (I didn’t expect that either!) He has to deal with the consequences of his actions and the real results of what happens when you interfere in someone else’s relationship for your own personal gain. He’s forced to take a good hard look at himself and make some serious changes. Yes, there are some extenuating circumstances that led to his decisions, but he owns up to them and his mistakes. His character growth from start to end is impressive and definitely one of my favorite things in this story.Aster seems to have a perfect life but we learn a lot more about her as the story progresses. She has a strong friendship with Aidan at the beginning of the story, one that is shattered by Aidan’s actions and one he will have to work hard to regain. The feelings the two of them have for each other are complicated because of their history, and it’s a slow burn romance as they find ways to fix things between them. There are some sexy scenes in this story as Aidan and Astor connect but it’s not how Aidan had first envisioned. The ending of this story made me cry, that’s how invested I felt in their relationship. Redeeming a villain is not easy, but Julianna Keyes does it remarkably well in this angsty story of love and consequences. It’s definitely one of my favorite reads of the year.This review appears at: https://straightshootinbookreviews.co...A copy of this story was provided by the publisher via NetGalley for review.
    more
  • nick
    May 19, 2017
    I really really liked this. I'll be honest, I was a bit hesitant at first, because the dude has no shame and wants to steal his roommate's girlfriend, but I think Keyes did a really good job with Aidan's character development. The chemistry was there, the romance was sweet, and I practically inhaled the book in 2 hours! RTC
    more
  • Rê
    May 31, 2017
    4 “Guilty Pleasure” StarsARC via NetGalleyThank you!I almost feel guilty for liking this book this much. Don’t get me wrong. This is my third Julianna Keyes’ book, so I should’ve expected it, but I still feel guilty that Aidan hooked me the way he did.Aidan is a bad boy—and it has little to do with the fact that he used to steal cars, and a lot to do with the fact the he does horrible things in order to steal his roommate’s girlfriend. Worse yet, Jerry, the roommate, is such a nice guy that you 4 “Guilty Pleasure” StarsARC via NetGalleyThank you!I almost feel guilty for liking this book this much. Don’t get me wrong. This is my third Julianna Keyes’ book, so I should’ve expected it, but I still feel guilty that Aidan hooked me the way he did.Aidan is a bad boy—and it has little to do with the fact that he used to steal cars, and a lot to do with the fact the he does horrible things in order to steal his roommate’s girlfriend. Worse yet, Jerry, the roommate, is such a nice guy that you can’t help but feel sorry for him. Sure he cheated and that’s unforgivable, drunk or not, but Jerry was so heartbroken by his own stupidity that he told the Aster, the girlfriend about it right away. You can imagine how well that went.Well, the thing is Aidan is partly responsible for Jerry’s cheating. He paid a prostitute to hit on a drunk and pretty clueless Jerry. All so Aster would find out and break up with his roommate, leaving the path open for Aidan to make the move.Dude, that’s just horrible. It’s… horrible. And still, I liked Aidan.See. I have a reason to feel guilty.I shouldn’t like a guy like him, but he kind of grew on me with time. Besides, I blame Julianna Keyes’ ability to write a convincing male POV. All your fault, author!Now that I’ve transferred a little bit of my guilt, let me tell you what else I liked about this book: the complex characters.As you can see, Aidan makes it hard for readers to like him by being a jerk. But he also makes it easy to like him because he’s trying to change, even if his initial actions don’t show that. But as we spend time inside his head, we get to see how he’s truly holding on to his scholarship – a special scholarship given to people who were once in trouble with the law as a way to rehabilitate them (I absolutely LOVE that, BTW). Aidan is starting to see a future that doesn’t involve crimes and prison, and I couldn’t help but root for him.Aster, on the other hand, makes it easy for you to like her until BAM! A Gone-Girl like twist hits you in the face. I LOVED the way that twist was introduced and when it happened in terms of pacing. It shook things up and added a new layer to the story and the characters. It took Aster from the role of good girl and gave her the opportunity to be a stronger female character. She had a troubled past, but she wasn’t willing to let it interfere in her present and keep her from having a better future. It complemented Aidan’s arc and gave her one, too. I thought it was a really smart choice.The romance had a little less heat than I expected, but maybe that’s because it focused on developing the characters as individuals. I still rooted for them to get together, especially once the truth about Aster came to light.I also loved Jerry and Missy. I thought they were fun and added something different to the story.This was another great New Adult book by Julianna Keyes. She’d already been a one-click author for me, and after enjoying my third book by her, I don’t see it changing.
    more
  • Ela
    June 13, 2017
    2.5 Stars
  • Katerina
    June 16, 2017
    Initially I thought Aidan was off, and a little sociopathic in his thought process. He meets his roommates girlfriend, and immediately has his sights set on her. I liked that, the immediacy of the chase, the first twenty chapters or so, solely in his point of view. The problem was we had NO CLUE what was going on in the heroine's head: does she like him, does she not??He has no loyalty to Jerry, so honestly, I didn't care that he made a play for Aster and manipulated his surroundings because he Initially I thought Aidan was off, and a little sociopathic in his thought process. He meets his roommates girlfriend, and immediately has his sights set on her. I liked that, the immediacy of the chase, the first twenty chapters or so, solely in his point of view. The problem was we had NO CLUE what was going on in the heroine's head: does she like him, does she not??He has no loyalty to Jerry, so honestly, I didn't care that he made a play for Aster and manipulated his surroundings because he wanted her that much. "But Aster’s a nice person, a good person. She’s not going to fuck me if she has a boyfriend.So the boyfriend will have to go.”However following Aster and Jerry's breakup, Aiden's plans fall flat to be a "revenge fuck" as Aster doesn't even give him a double take. And after two months of friendship, and the slow shedding of their outter personas, he isn't pushing, though guilt haunts him. He wants her entirely. “I like Aster.I care about her.And I want her.I need a new plan.”I really liked Aster. She played the game. She knew herself. She was independent. She knew Aiden's hand in her breakup, and wasn't anything Aiden originally thought her to be. She rivalled his secrets. And the way she bitch slapped him for what he did! 😏*claps slowly*. Even after she forgives him after some intense grovel, I found it so amusing that he still felt the sting. I swear sometimes I feel like a man hater after reading about all the other crappy hero's in books. It felt like some weird kind of retribution. 😂“Last time you’d paid a prostitute to blow my boyfriend. Have you done that this time?”“Of course not.”“Anything comparable?”“No. Fuck.” I rub a hand over my face. “I’m embarrassed.”“Yeah, well, that was really embarrassing for you.”“You hit me really hard.”A few problems regarding trust, and not feeling good enough for one another. Aster is completely unforgiving but Aiden changes that. He's human, makes mistakes, nothing irredeemable I would say. The book really is about second chances, and giving those who have less privilege and a difficult life the opportunity to change. “Wanted,” she continues, reading the smaller text at the bottom. “One roommate for summer [..] Ideal candidate is female, blond-haired, blue-eyed, five-feet, six-inches tall, weight completely irrelevant [..] Roommate should be smart, ambitious, forgiving, kind, tidy, forgiving, sexual, and forgiving.”[..]“About me,” she reads. “Very handsome male [...] I believe whole-heartedly in giving flawed individuals second—and possibly third and fourth—chances. I am lonely, apologetic and heartbroken, [...] Will be respectful of new roommate’s space and privacy, though openly hoping for less privacy and more sex. Just hoping, though. Totally up to new roommate.”Safety: Pretty decent. I assume she and Jerry were intimate after she met Aiden, however there are no scenes/indicators otherwise ( I will admit Aiden was too laid back about that) Aiden was celibate after he met the heroine. She was celibate after post breakup and during their temporary separation. Heroine had 1 boyfriend (when she mentions they actually had "good sex" - cue me shocked), but she's had casual sex before. Hero has never had a girlfriend, has been with women casually & has enjoyed their company, but purely physical is what he sought after. Light OM drama.
    more
  • Alexandra
    June 6, 2017
    I received this as an ARC on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, NetGalley and Julianna Keyes.So I thought I would preface this first by saying I am not commonly found reading New Adult books like this but have read my fair share in the past. I think that they are just not for me, hence one reason for the low rating, although I found other things that just didn’t vibe with me.NOTE: all quotes are taken from the eARC and subject to change.This book starts out with our main char I received this as an ARC on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, NetGalley and Julianna Keyes.So I thought I would preface this first by saying I am not commonly found reading New Adult books like this but have read my fair share in the past. I think that they are just not for me, hence one reason for the low rating, although I found other things that just didn’t vibe with me.NOTE: all quotes are taken from the eARC and subject to change.This book starts out with our main character Aiden who is trying to start a new life at college living with another guy. As the title would suggest, he catches feelings for the roommate’s girlfriend. Now, I knew going into this that it would have that trope throughout, but yet I still hoped it would turn around to be something a little different. For me, it was one thing to lust after a girl you can’t have, but to SABOTAGE her relationship with this man by setting up her boyfriend with a prostitute is just too much for me. Also, there were so many moments at the beginning that just RADIATE asshole, which definitely drove me from wanting to root for the main character for “getting the girl”. Examples would be his constant mention of her cleavage, ass, and how much he is found “jerking off to the image of {his} roommate’s girlfriend three times in the four days since {he} last saw her.” First off, HE JUST MET THIS GIRL literally 5 pages ago and he’s this desperate for her already? There is also another line that just was too much for being only 4% into this book and the meeting of these two. It says, “All of my instincts are urging me to put down my glass and take Aster’s hands and put them on my crotch and show her just how hard I like to ride. It might offend her. It might turn her on.” UH, OF COURSE, it would offend her as it would anyone in their right mind. YOU. JUST. MET. THIS. GIRL. and she is your roommate’s girlfriend so please back off ok? Now the rest of this story kind of just loses me, because at first Aster is absolutely livid that Aiden would do something like this to her relationship, yet, pages later, they’re having sex? I just don’t GET NEW ADULT, OKAY? One thing that I found interesting was the dangerous past element. We know from the start that Aiden used to steal cars, but later on in the story, it is revealed that Aster went to prison for retail fraud. This definitely gave her a bit of an edge that wasn’t there initially, but unfortunately, didn’t drive the story enough for me.I must say though, the writing was not bad. I found it was easy to understand and had a couple of witty banter moments. I just cannot get past the classic new adult “asshole dude who is somehow sexy to absolutely everyone and can do something awful yet still be wanted”. Again, this may just be me not loving New Adult, but I just didn’t think this had the freshness I was wanting.P.S. can't deal with this cover, but hey, that's just me.
    more
  • Lindsay C
    June 13, 2017
    Not what you would expect by reading the title. Loved the storyline and the unexpected plot. Serious gushing over this gem.
  • Three Chicks
    June 16, 2017
    Review by Trinette DungeeIn hindsight, the story ends the moment it begins. I park in front of the apartment building, my new roommate, Jerry, comes out to help me bring in my meager belongings, and everything is fine . Then he says, “This is my girlfriend, Aster.” I look at Aster and I’m done. So if you think about it, Jerry kind of started it.That statement right there made me like Aiden Shaw immediately. This guy had a wit about him that I couldn’t ignore. However, the more I read the more I Review by Trinette DungeeIn hindsight, the story ends the moment it begins. I park in front of the apartment building, my new roommate, Jerry, comes out to help me bring in my meager belongings, and everything is fine . Then he says, “This is my girlfriend, Aster.” I look at Aster and I’m done. So if you think about it, Jerry kind of started it.That statement right there made me like Aiden Shaw immediately. This guy had a wit about him that I couldn’t ignore. However, the more I read the more I started to question just how witty and charming I initially thought Aiden was. While second chances aren’t all that unheard of, Aiden just landed the ultimate second chance. Fresh off of being arrested he’s given the option to go to prison on a take a one way ticket to Holsom College and turn his life around. Although he never pictured himself going to college, he’s no fool and he jumps at the offer. Fast forward and Aiden is starting his third year and doing quite well. He manages to snag an apartment off campus with a roommate and for all the trouble he’s managed to avoid the past two years…this roommate situation makes up for it. One look at Aster, his roommate’s girlfriend, and Aiden is determined to have her. So Aiden sets a plan in motion to break them up (insert where I start to question my initial judgment of him) and he succeeds. Unfortunately for Aiden, the breakup backfires because Aster does a little digging and discovers the truth about the breakup and wants nothing to do with Aiden. Not only does he now have to deal with the unexpected guilt he’s dealing with as far as Jerry is concerned but he has to figure out a way to make it back into Aster’s good graces. I can’t quite put my finger on what made me like this book so much but it just really clicked for me. I liked the characters and the storyline. I initially thought this was going to be from Aiden’s POV but I was pleasantly surprised to get a little deeper and realize it was told from Aiden’s and Aster’s POVs. Neither of these characters were what I expected them to be, and that’s not a bad thing. Like I said, I did question Aiden but in the end I realized he was a pretty good guy. Even when he thought he was doing something underhanded or shady, he kind of learned a lesson from it. I took the scholarship they probably could have given to some kid who wasn’t faking his gratitude. But hey, I figured I’d made a living taking things that weren’t mine—why stop now?This was another statement that didn’t quite set well with me but then I realized that Aiden realized what a golden opportunity he had and he didn’t squander it. What also made me like these two was the wit and the drive to succeed. How each took their pasts and eventually embraced it, learned from it and make better decisions because of it. At one point they might have just been going through the motions but it clicked for them that they had a bigger purpose. This is one of those stories where you can actually see the growth in a character and the character also recognizes their growth. I think what really made this book work for me wasn’t so much that Aiden’s plans blew up in his face but the way they did and how he had to face it all. This book is definitely worth adding to your summer/beach reading list. This is only my second Julianna Keyes’ book but I’m seeing she’s definitely one to stalk!
    more
  • Ari (The Daydreaming Bookworm)
    June 14, 2017
    *3.5 Stars!* RTC.
  • Danielle from Short and Sassy
    June 5, 2017
    The cover is good, the story for me didn't work. I struggled to finish it and found myself skimming it. It just seemed like there was pieces of the puzzle missing for me....
  • Rebecca
    June 17, 2017
    ARC generously provided via Netgalley for an honest review3 starsMy Roommate's Girl wasn't what I anticipated at all. There were definitely some surprises and twists and turns that I wasn't expecting. However... it lacked an element of sweetness and really... angst that I was hoping for. Aidan is a bad boy. So bad in fact that he finds himself enrolled in college due to a judges ruling. It was college or jail. However, try as hard as he might, he finds he hasn't quite left the bad boy in the pa ARC generously provided via Netgalley for an honest review3 starsMy Roommate's Girl wasn't what I anticipated at all. There were definitely some surprises and twists and turns that I wasn't expecting. However... it lacked an element of sweetness and really... angst that I was hoping for. Aidan is a bad boy. So bad in fact that he finds himself enrolled in college due to a judges ruling. It was college or jail. However, try as hard as he might, he finds he hasn't quite left the bad boy in the past. Something that has never been more clear than when he sets his sights on Aster, his roommate's girl. Now let me just mention, Aidan's roommate is good incarnate. Jerry is the kind of guy who always tells the truth, who doesn't party, and thinks of others first. That kind of guy. Did this stop Aidan... nope. When he sees Aster she is everything he is not and everything he wants. However, he definitely gets more than he bargained for. It is hard to write a review on this story and not give away some of the element of surprise that comes with this story. I liked the characters... and also didn't liked them. There were things that were so sweet and some that were annoying. I loved the friendship Aidan and Aster share over time. I enjoy all the redeeming qualities they show. However, for me this story was missing something. I just can't put my finger on what. I felt the story was a little slow moving. Also, I had trouble really falling for the characters... especially Aster. There just needed to be something more. I did enjoy this book. Just not as much as I had hoped I would.
    more
  • Kim
    May 30, 2017
    Find this review and more at kimberlyfaye reads. I was so excited to see a new, standalone new adult romance from Julianna Keyes on NetGalley. It's no big secret that I've loved her Burnham College series — and her adult offerings, for that matter — but I was still looking forward to seeing what she would do with new characters. I'll admit, I was a little leery going in because of the subject matter. A guy trying to steal his roommate's girlfriend? Would there be cheating? Could I find a guy li Find this review and more at kimberlyfaye reads. I was so excited to see a new, standalone new adult romance from Julianna Keyes on NetGalley. It's no big secret that I've loved her Burnham College series — and her adult offerings, for that matter — but I was still looking forward to seeing what she would do with new characters. I'll admit, I was a little leery going in because of the subject matter. A guy trying to steal his roommate's girlfriend? Would there be cheating? Could I find a guy like that swoony? There was NO REASON for me to be concerned. Julianna did an amazing job with this book and even if I was a little iffy towards Aiden in the beginning, it didn't take long before I was singing his praises and putting him on my swoony book boys list.I don't want to get too far into the storyline on this one because, honestly, I think it's a book it's just best to experience. What I will say is that it took me by surprise in a lot of ways. Both Aiden and Aster were multi-dimensional and they each had some great development over the course of this book. For some reason, I expected this book to be a light and maybe even dirty book. It wasn't heavy, but it did punch me in the feels quite a bit. Unexpectedly, even. I was in deep with these characters and rooting for them both together and separately.I read this one from cover to cover in a matter of mere hours. Aiden and Aster were totally addictive and I couldn't stop once I started. The romance was sweet and, yes, sexy. I enjoyed the character development nearly as much as the romance. It was wonderful to watch these two learn who they really are and come into their own. I absolutely loved this book. It's definitely going on my "reread in the future" pile.I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.FAVORITE QUOTES"If someone cheats, it's not out of character. It's out of line. Out of bounds. Out of the realm of possibility. He's just another guy who looks like one thing but acts like another. I've had enough of that."When I met Aster, I thought she was the light I'd been waiting for. But I was wrong. She was the spark.Aiden's the only guy in my life to see all of me. The person I was and the person I want to be and the person I am now. And for whatever reason, he's still looking.I didn't think happiness was real, and I definitely didn't think it was tangible, something you could hold, touch, feel. But now, as I slide my fingers through Aster's hair and press my lips to hers, I see that I was the best kind of wrong.
    more
  • Jo
    June 13, 2017
    Ms Keyes is an expert at writing the asshole protagonist. Most of her books have featured this type of lead. This one is no different. However, while I've loved her other unlikable characters, I struggled with both Aidan and Aster here. And there's only one reason for it - their treatment of Jerry.Jerry was my favorite character in the book. He's sweet, kind, honest, caring. Yeah he cheats the one time, and it's totally up to Aster to forgive him or not, but I never understood why she breaks up Ms Keyes is an expert at writing the asshole protagonist. Most of her books have featured this type of lead. This one is no different. However, while I've loved her other unlikable characters, I struggled with both Aidan and Aster here. And there's only one reason for it - their treatment of Jerry.Jerry was my favorite character in the book. He's sweet, kind, honest, caring. Yeah he cheats the one time, and it's totally up to Aster to forgive him or not, but I never understood why she breaks up with him but chooses Aidan instead. Aidan'a the worst. He continuously rationalises his evil act (view spoiler)[paying the prostitute (hide spoiler)] and DOES NOT APOLOGISE TO JERRY! If he had ever repented, he would have come clean to his roommate. He just mopes throughout the book but never owns up to what he did wrong. I had thought that the lesson that Aidan was supposed to learn was that your actions do hurt other people, but considering how easily he gives in to stealing more cars without giving a thought to the owners, just gives rhe impression that he never learned anything. Even at the end, it is Jerry who stole my heart when he apologises to Aster for not asking about her past earlier. I kept wanting Aster to choose Jerry over Aidan. I wish the book had been about Jerry and Missy instead. What an interesting couple that is!
    more
  • BookQueen
    May 26, 2017
    So first I'm super happy that I was approved for an ARC on NetGalley. I'm not gonna lie but the title and the cover totally got me. Like did you see the abs on the guy!!!! Okay time for some reviewing and less drooling...We love POVs that are from the guy. That's exactly what we get from Aidan, our handsome, bad boy hero. He's heavily tattooed and attends a school called Holsom. I might add that it was either he goes to school or jail because he stole cars for money. So Aidan moves in with this So first I'm super happy that I was approved for an ARC on NetGalley. I'm not gonna lie but the title and the cover totally got me. Like did you see the abs on the guy!!!! Okay time for some reviewing and less drooling...We love POVs that are from the guy. That's exactly what we get from Aidan, our handsome, bad boy hero. He's heavily tattooed and attends a school called Holsom. I might add that it was either he goes to school or jail because he stole cars for money. So Aidan moves in with this new guy Jerry. He's the polar opposite of Aidan. Pre-med, clean cut, no tattoos. Pretty much nothing like our protagonist. Then we meet Aster. We all know that every romance has a character who wants another character and things start to heat up BUT dear Aster is Jerry's girlfriend!!!! Yes you read that right. Our Aidan wants Aster! It's no secret that Aidan wants her. He won't tell anyone but he won't have her cheat on her boyfriend so he has to come up with a plan. "The boyfriend will have to go." When Aidan's plan starts to work he doesn't actually think anything could go wrong until his plan completely BLOWS UP in his face! Now we start to get Aster's POV and we learn that the good girl image she puts on is just that. An image. We also get to know a bit more about her past and that her and Aidan might not be so different after all. I don't want to spoil anything because I want you all the read it! A lot of work needs to be done before Aidan gets his girl and before Aster can trust him again. They need to get over the past in order to look forward to a better future!
    more
  • Stephanie D
    June 7, 2017
    Mucho más de lo que aparentaReseña pronto
  • Ashton Rayne
    June 6, 2017
    Honestly, I liked the characters and I enjoyed the romance. I just didn't like how everything was brought about. Still, though, a great read and I do recommend reading this if your in for a quick read!
  • Dee☾
    June 13, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley and the author for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an unbiased review. All opinions are my own.MY ROOMMATE’S GIRL is a steamy, not-what-I-expected novel that I wanted to love, but just fell a little under impressive. The main character is Aidan, who received a second chance at like when a judge issued him to go to college instead of jail, swears he is done stealing what doesn’t belong to him. When Aidan moves in with his new roommate Jerry and meets his Thank you Netgalley and the author for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an unbiased review. All opinions are my own.MY ROOMMATE’S GIRL is a steamy, not-what-I-expected novel that I wanted to love, but just fell a little under impressive. The main character is Aidan, who received a second chance at like when a judge issued him to go to college instead of jail, swears he is done stealing what doesn’t belong to him. When Aidan moves in with his new roommate Jerry and meets his girlfriend Aster, all bets are off.Aidan, at times likable, is a total douche. He does something so unthinkable and unacceptable to get Aster because “he wanted her” just did it for me. I don’t really care for his backstory or any redeeming qualities he might have had because of what he did to Jerry and Aster. Yes, he befriends Aster and is actually a really nice friend to her and I loved their banter at times, but the connection just wasn’t there for me. Speaking of Aster, she was such a jerk in the first couple of chapters too. When her POV is surprisingly introduced, I was taken aback. I didn’t expect the story to be headed that way and while it should have made me feel sorry for her troubled childhood/life, all it did was make me hate her too. She was so fake that I just didn’t trust her anymore either. When Aidan was trying to be nice to her and she was being nothing but closed off and then magically flipped a switch to be pleasant and polite? Nope. I don’t trust her and Aidan at all and if I dislike both main POV characters… what’s the point?I had to stop reading at 66% because it feels like we already hit our conflict and I just don’t have the energy to read another 36% about nothing. I wanted to like this book because it seemed angsty and steamy, but it fell too hard.I do like that Aidan didn’t seduce Aster while she was with Jerry and made her cheat though. That’s why I thought would happen and I was already hesitant about this book so that was a little better, but then again…what Aidan did? Nope.The writing was fine and it was easy to fall into the story and it pains me that I didn’t like it better.
    more
  • Alison
    June 16, 2017
    I was obviously not in the right mood when I first started reading this book because I set it aside, but when I picked it up again I was hooked immediately. Having reread the beginning of the book I have come to the conclusion that it was me!Aidan Shaw is in his third year at Holsom college . He is in a PPP programme for young people who have offended in some way but are deemed to have potential and are offered a chance to go to college. Aidan had been in Juvie for fighting and was arrested for I was obviously not in the right mood when I first started reading this book because I set it aside, but when I picked it up again I was hooked immediately. Having reread the beginning of the book I have come to the conclusion that it was me!Aidan Shaw is in his third year at Holsom college . He is in a PPP programme for young people who have offended in some way but are deemed to have potential and are offered a chance to go to college. Aidan had been in Juvie for fighting and was arrested for stealing cars. Prison or college is a straightforward choice. Although being part of the programme is anonymous, Aidan has certain obligations to maintain such as gainful employment, volunteering for the centre and participating in sport.As the book starts Aidan is moving into an apartment off campus. His new roommate Jerry seems like a nice guy, but it is Jerry's girlfriend Aster that catches Aidan's eye. As soon as Aidan sees Aster he knows he wants her and will do anything he has to in order to get her. He does a bad, bad thing.This was a great book about love but also redemption and second chances. It doesn't go where you think it is going and it's all the better for that. I am massively outside the target audience for YA/NA and so I have limited tolerance for the tired old cliches that get trotted out every time. Somehow Julianna Keyes effortlessly selects some of them and uses them wisely, discarding the others to make a clever, engrossing story. A storyline which other writers would make the entire plot of a novel is finished very quickly and we are on to a whole new plot.Aidan is a wonderful flawed guy, he f#%ks up A LOT. But that is part of his growing process because he has to consciously choose to change his default responses. Aster looks like the sort of girl who goes skiing with her parents and reads to blind kids in her spare time (Aidan's view not mine), but appearances can be deceiving.Overall, loved it. It was funny, sweet and a great read.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.
    more
Write a review