Frayed Silk
Our marriage wasn't just in trouble—mere threads were all that held it together.What was once my perfect happily ever after had dissolved right before my eyes.I can tell you when it started to happen.What I can't tell you is why. And after seven months of watching my husband turn into someone I didn't recognize, I'd given up hope in finding answers. So I decided to break his heart... and he did nothing to stop me.Trigger warning: This book contains cheating and other sensitive subject matter.

Frayed Silk Details

TitleFrayed Silk
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 30th, 2017
Number of pages380 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Marriage, Suspense, Contemporary

Frayed Silk Review

  • Jennifer Kyle
    July 10, 2017
    4.5-5 STARS "Love me. Come back to me. Look at me like you used to. Touch me. Stop breaking me.” Ella Fields delivers one hell of a debut novel that was impossible to put down. Her writing is solid, sexy, and suspenseful. The story is about a wife and mother of two, Lia who has been married for ten years to her husband Leo. From the first page her cries for any sort of reaction from Leo that he cares that their marriage is sinking is heartbreaking. "I can’t keep waiting on him. I can’t keep hang 4.5-5 STARS "Love me. Come back to me. Look at me like you used to. Touch me. Stop breaking me.” Ella Fields delivers one hell of a debut novel that was impossible to put down. Her writing is solid, sexy, and suspenseful. The story is about a wife and mother of two, Lia who has been married for ten years to her husband Leo. From the first page her cries for any sort of reaction from Leo that he cares that their marriage is sinking is heartbreaking. "I can’t keep waiting on him. I can’t keep hanging on by a frayed thread. I think it needs to snap once and for all. Let the pieces fall where they may. Because if he won’t do it, then they only person who can fix this pain and make me happy again is me.” The author writes the heroine’s day to day very well as we get to know her married girlfriends, and a younger man named Jared who’s very interested in Lila. Our heroine tries to scare her husband into caring/noticing her and his reaction shocks her and this reader.The story does include cheating yet that isn’t the basis of this story and the author throws in a very, very, good reveal and will spin everything you know up to that point on its axis. Overall, I loved this story truly an impossible read amongst a lot of the same old stories out there these days. I LOVED Leo and thought he was extremely well written. I am left wondering what the private eye number asked for would be used for if the author will continue the storyline in another book just for Jared? "…some things can’t be repaired, they can always be remade into something better.”
    more
  • Jenny
    July 16, 2017
    It has been a really long time where I've read a book in a span of hours. This book. Omg this book. It captivated me, it stole my life and held it hostage until the end. And man did I love it. First things first, there is cheating, yes oh yes there is cheating. And if you know me, I hate, HATE, HaTe cheating, especially in real life. Books are a bit more tolerable but still... So this book was so very hard for me. And secondly, this author, how the hell is this her first book. It was damn near p It has been a really long time where I've read a book in a span of hours. This book. Omg this book. It captivated me, it stole my life and held it hostage until the end. And man did I love it. First things first, there is cheating, yes oh yes there is cheating. And if you know me, I hate, HATE, HaTe cheating, especially in real life. Books are a bit more tolerable but still... So this book was so very hard for me. And secondly, this author, how the hell is this her first book. It was damn near perfection. I'm in love with her writing!!!💗Leo and Dahlia are the perfect family, have the beautiful house, all the money in the world, perfect children, the love everyone dreams of, until they don't........Their relationship changes, Leo works longer hours, avoids Lia, doesn't touch, won't kiss, won't do anything romantic at all with his wife, barely has time for his kids, and is honestly quite the dick. But why? Dahlia can't figure it out. After months of asking and being shut out, she's done. She wants to feel wanted, loved, wants to laugh again. In steps Jared. I never connected with Jared. I guess he was the 'other' man to me. But I just couldn't connect. He seems like a nice man, sexy, charming, but i was always reserved when it came to him. He always treated Lia with care and I know he honestly liked her. Things start to heat up in their relationship and then BAM 💥 Dahlia is a housewife, stay at home momma, and a lady everyone seems to know and like. She handles everything herself, doesn't call on anyone for help in all aspects of her life. I loved her, I hated her, and I absolutely adored her. This story rocked me. It consumed my world. This story shattered me, it wrecked me, and it put me back together. I can't say what happens or how without giving anything away, but if you love a good love story, please read this one. It's simply an amazing love story with a hard journey but one I am so very happy I took the chance on!!!💕 "While I understand that some things can't be repaired, they can always be remade into something better."
    more
  • Alex
    July 21, 2017
    "…maybe we’re all a little broken.Some of us are just better at hiding the missing pieces." Cheating is my biggest pet peeve. I try to avoid such books and I probably would have never read this book if I didn’t spot Julia’s review.She honesty included the major spoilers and it made me curious.I’m glad I read this book. It’s very interesting, almost cliché-free and has an unique plot.Surprisingly (or not, coz I’m often that girl with different opinion) my sympathy for the main & side charact "…maybe we’re all a little broken.Some of us are just better at hiding the missing pieces." Cheating is my biggest pet peeve. I try to avoid such books and I probably would have never read this book if I didn’t spot Julia’s review.She honesty included the major spoilers and it made me curious.I’m glad I read this book. It’s very interesting, almost cliché-free and has an unique plot.Surprisingly (or not, coz I’m often that girl with different opinion) my sympathy for the main & side characters was different (again! *sigh*) from the majority of readers.I liked the heroine a lot, I liked the OM and I wasn’t a big fan of the hero/the husband.I didn’t support everything the heroine did, but I could understand why she did it! At the beginning I even judged her a bit; but then I saw how her husband treated her and I..., well..., got where she came from.As always no retelling, I’m so bad in it. *facepalm*I only point out, that there is indeed cheating in the book. Despite the h didn’t have actual sex (penetration) with OM, they did oral and kissing. Cheating is cheating. It wouldn’t even bother me, if she did sleep with OM.Shame on me!!! Yeah, it was really me, who wrote the line above!I must honestly admit, and you know I always blab the truth, the main reason I wasn’t annoyed with the cheating – because it was a woman who had an affair and not a man (which is the case in 97% of all romance books).Yes, I’m a hypocrite! Yes, I support women and always try to be on the heroine's side!So, judge me!I wouldn’t go the path the heroine went, but I would definitely had a huge problem if my man treated me that way.Yes, he was a victim at the end. But… and here I 100% agree with the heroine: "You can’t fix a damn thing when the other person doesn’t want to." I loved that the author didn’t choose cliché ending!!!Respect!!!The OM didn’t turn out to be a villain! The heroin did NOT grovel! *I keep the author in my prayers* The hero confirmed that he was a jerk to her and he did NOT sanctify his a§§holish behavior; he acknowledged his mistakes and accepted the whole situation.It wasn’t all flowers-and-butterflies. Not everything worked out, no miracles or jezz, but a plausible HEA.Overall: well written unique story. I liked it a lot. "Life. It doesn’t always follow the rules and plans you lay out for your future. Something always happens to make you realize that while yes, you are in control, some things just can’t be predicted. And simply won’t fit into the mold of your plans or dreams but rather, will smash them to pieces and force you to rebuild. So finding a way to be happy and live despite that is what matters. It’s where you’ll find your true strength and find out just how much you have."
    more
  • Deanna❤Pink Lady❤️
    June 27, 2017
    I must admit, this beautiful cover caught my eye and led me to read the blurb. Once I read the blurb I was intrigued and decided to take a chance on a new author for me and boy was I happily rewarded. This story does involve cheating so if that is one of your triggers then I suggest you pass. But I will say this story is written with heart and soul and the author was able to make me understand the gravity and consequences of the cheating.So let me begin.......There is an authenticity to this em I must admit, this beautiful cover caught my eye and led me to read the blurb. Once I read the blurb I was intrigued and decided to take a chance on a new author for me and boy was I happily rewarded. This story does involve cheating so if that is one of your triggers then I suggest you pass. But I will say this story is written with heart and soul and the author was able to make me understand the gravity and consequences of the cheating.So let me begin.......There is an authenticity to this emotional story. A marriage unraveling and not knowing what to do to keep the silks from fraying. Doing an act that you think might illicit a reaction that will save your marriage. There isn't much logic when the heart is falling apart except to do things that will make it feel better.......even if those things might make the heart break even worse.The reader is taken on the journey of this marriage in crisis. There are children to consider which makes it even harder as children are very cognizant of what is happening around them. Dahlia "Lia" is married to the love of her life, Leo. They have two children. All has been perfect with their life until it wasn't. This is where the story starts. This is where the emotion, heartbreak, frustration, desire, lust get thrown into a pot and starts to boil. You are present in their marriage and in their decisions. It's a beautiful train wreak you are experiencing. Lia has her girlfriend that she confides in and their relationship feels true. The children also add an extra truth to the marriage as it's unraveling. Of course, the tension and the distance between Leo and Lia has a reason and that reason is in itself a different and unique twist. I throughly enjoyed this emotional and loving journey. It was different and heartfelt. There was angst and drama and very deep poignant moments to the story. The writer's words held me and made me feel for all the characters. A new author for me and one that I look forward to reading more from.Marriage is not for the faint of heart. It take hard work and commitment. It can be tough and loving and heartbreaking at times. But vow are taken, for better or worse, and when those vows are broken, it's that love and commitment towards one another that makes forgiveness possible. This story had it all and left me with a happy heart and I thank the author for that!!*advanced copy provided by Enticing Journey Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Paige
    June 23, 2017
    5+ "Secrets We Keep" StarsWell, hello Ms. Ella Fields. I'm not sure how you know how to write exactly what I love, but you do. Each time. First as a debut duo as Lou-Ella Fields with The Expiration Duet and now with the debut standalone Frayed Silk. I was mezmorzed. Captivated. Heartbroken. Slightly obsessed. And finally made whole again. The angst and the emotions bleed from the pages. The twist and unexpected surprises kept my blood pressure sky high and my emotions all over the place. I went 5+ "Secrets We Keep" StarsWell, hello Ms. Ella Fields. I'm not sure how you know how to write exactly what I love, but you do. Each time. First as a debut duo as Lou-Ella Fields with The Expiration Duet and now with the debut standalone Frayed Silk. I was mezmorzed. Captivated. Heartbroken. Slightly obsessed. And finally made whole again. The angst and the emotions bleed from the pages. The twist and unexpected surprises kept my blood pressure sky high and my emotions all over the place. I went in blind (which I almost never do) and I'm so glad I did. The is a true love story even when it doesn't seem like it. Just keep the faith and as all is revealed about what happened between Dahlia and Leo, you'll wonder how you survived without Ms. Fields' writing before. Provided for honest review.
    more
  • Bev
    July 14, 2017
    What on earth am I going to read next, because this was absolutely brilliant!Now then – there’s cheating, it’s not hidden so if that’s a trigger maybe you want to avoid this book, keep your blood pressure down and then you don’t need to shit all over the book when said cheating commences. There you go, I said it, there is cheating in this book, but ……. all is not as it seems. There are good reasons for what happens and the cheating is not done gratuitously. Should she have done it? Probably not, What on earth am I going to read next, because this was absolutely brilliant!Now then – there’s cheating, it’s not hidden so if that’s a trigger maybe you want to avoid this book, keep your blood pressure down and then you don’t need to shit all over the book when said cheating commences. There you go, I said it, there is cheating in this book, but ……. all is not as it seems. There are good reasons for what happens and the cheating is not done gratuitously. Should she have done it? Probably not, but then again I don’t know how I would act in that situation, so glass houses and all that - no judgement here. I also totally got why Leo changed the way he did, the huge impact this had on his marriage and his family.This is told entirely from Dahlia’s POV with a couple of snippets in flashbacks to show just how they loved each other, how IN love they were with each other and how happy they were. These little snippets show just how bad things had gotten for Dahlia and Leo, the changes in them both were so glaringly obvious. At times I wanted to get in Leo’s head but that would’ve given the twist away too soon, and what a bloody twist it was! It shocked the crap out of me, I definitely didn’t see that one coming and felt absolutely wretched for both Leo and Lia. I was heartbroken for them, I read with my stomach in knots for a good part of the book. Ah the FEELS!I really loved this one, and can’t wait to see what Ella Fields comes up with next. Possibly one for Jared??
    more
  • S.M. West
    June 25, 2017
    Wow! This is my first Ella Fields book, but it won't be my last. I loved her writing, it freely flowed, yet held weighty emotion that sucked you into the story.I don't know where to begin without giving anything away and I don't want to do that. This story MUST be experienced first hand. It's original and captivating with real, flawed and relatable characters. And I love how Ella took something so real, yet rarely acknowledged and did a phenomenal job of bringing it into the light. Are you intri Wow! This is my first Ella Fields book, but it won't be my last. I loved her writing, it freely flowed, yet held weighty emotion that sucked you into the story.I don't know where to begin without giving anything away and I don't want to do that. This story MUST be experienced first hand. It's original and captivating with real, flawed and relatable characters. And I love how Ella took something so real, yet rarely acknowledged and did a phenomenal job of bringing it into the light. Are you intrigued now? I hope so!!All I'll say is, don't make snap judgments on this one. If you've read reviews saying there is cheating and that's a hard limit for you, push through it because to not read this book would be a shame. Truly, it'll surprise you and it'll be so worth the feels, the uncertainty, and the anguish!!Highly recommend this book!**ARC generously provided by author in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Chelsea Holder
    July 2, 2017
    4 starsAnything with angst spice up a story and knowing this book involves cheating, it's a sure bet to be an angsty ride. To all who proceed, don't say I didn't warn you. I've read a couple of books that involves infidelity, not that I agree with it but because it was more of a reality in life. Some gave justification as to why they cheat, and this book wasn't any different. Being completely ignored or left in the dark wasn't new to me either. What I loved though is that the book doesn't solely 4 starsAnything with angst spice up a story and knowing this book involves cheating, it's a sure bet to be an angsty ride. To all who proceed, don't say I didn't warn you. I've read a couple of books that involves infidelity, not that I agree with it but because it was more of a reality in life. Some gave justification as to why they cheat, and this book wasn't any different. Being completely ignored or left in the dark wasn't new to me either. What I loved though is that the book doesn't solely focus on infidelity but rather on the picture of a family. How every actions may affects the children involved. But most especially, I loved that this was probably the only book where (view spoiler)[ husband found out about it and reality sets in - with so many pages left. (hide spoiler)]This book stirs a lot of emotions from me, but mostly, it's anger. Mind you, not on Leo but on Lia. Especially around 48% because after everything that is happening around the house, she decided​ to do something that made me boil with anger. Another first for me, as I've never encountered such scenes. Good thing it didn't happen a few minutes earlier, otherwise...Why I snip a star was because for the lack of character building on Jared. It was like I was told that he flirts with Lia way before. And Lia considering him as a "friend" Seriously, what friend? The first time I read about them is when they have coffee...“I can make you come so hard you’ll forget you even have a husband.” The next and next meeting, well you know what happened. So again, what friend? And because of the lack of character building, I cannot "feel" how he came to be a "friend" rather than just a means to relieve her itch.I get that Lola and Fiona's involvement in the story is needed. Including their husbands and kids. What I cannot understand is the need to include Taylor and Renee to the story. In my opinion, had these characters been eliminated and focused on building the "friendship" that's blossoming between Jared and Lia, everything would've been perfect. That thing with Leo was something I didn't wouldn't see it coming. His actions then are quite understandable. Overall, I enjoyed it. It was a real page turner since it had me reading this till 4am. Did I liked the hero? Yes. (view spoiler)[ despite everything, Leo remained faithful. (hide spoiler)]The heroine? Not really. Even if I tried to understand her, I still cannot. (view spoiler)[ Up to the end, she didn't change her number. She really cares for Jared even after what happened. Considering the sudden change in Charlie behavior, it seems like she doesn't care much. Even after she thinks something is bothering Leo, she still continues to cheat the very next day. I honestly cannot believe how "deep" she really felt for Leo. I think Leo forgives her quite easily. I understand that he loved her, but with everything that's happened, I think a little pleading from the heroine is necessary. Especially after knowing his secret. (hide spoiler)] "Life. It doesn’t always follow the rules and plans you lay out for your future. Something always happens to make you realize that while yes, you are in control, some things just can’t be predicted. And simply won’t fit into the mold of your plans or dreams but rather, will smash them to pieces and force you to rebuild. So finding a way to be happy and live despite that is what matters. It’s where you’ll find your true strength and find out just how much you have."
    more
  • ♥ Dri ♥
    July 10, 2017
    3,8 "Only ever, always you" stars! Apesar de não gostar do tema "traição" e estar bem ciente do aviso no final da sinopse foi impossível me segurar e não ler esse, o que eu praticamente devorei. Preciso deixar claro, bemmm claro, que eu detestei a Dahlia e por mais que tentei, não senti empatia nenhuma por ela! Revirei os olhos e bufei várias e várias vezes! "Love me. Come back to me. Look at me like you used to. Touch me. Stop breaking me." E o mais importante, mesmo distante, frio e aparent 3,8 "Only ever, always you" stars! Apesar de não gostar do tema "traição" e estar bem ciente do aviso no final da sinopse foi impossível me segurar e não ler esse, o que eu praticamente devorei. Preciso deixar claro, bemmm claro, que eu detestei a Dahlia e por mais que tentei, não senti empatia nenhuma por ela! Revirei os olhos e bufei várias e várias vezes! "Love me. Come back to me. Look at me like you used to. Touch me. Stop breaking me." E o mais importante, mesmo distante, frio e aparentemente sem nenhum interesse em seu casamento... eu AMEI muito o Leo, muitoooo!!!!"Don’t fucking break my heart again, Lia. I won’t survive it." Gritei em certa parte e jamais esperava por essa revelação, juro! Gostei bastante da escrita e da narrativa da autora e certamente lerei outros livros dela.No geral, posso dizer que gostei dessa história, realmente me surpreendeu, mesmo não gostando ou concordando em determinadas partes. Leo ❤️❤️❤️
    more
  • Julia
    July 10, 2017
    Overall, I liked this book because it was different. It deals with really sensitive issues that should be discussed more. I've been looking for books to broaden my horizons, and unfortunately that involves books with cheating, which I tend to stay away from. This book wasn't fantastic, but I think the author handled these sensitive issues very well. Spoilers: The big reason why the hero pushes the heroine away to the extreme is (view spoiler)[ he was drugged and raped by one of the heroines frie Overall, I liked this book because it was different. It deals with really sensitive issues that should be discussed more. I've been looking for books to broaden my horizons, and unfortunately that involves books with cheating, which I tend to stay away from. This book wasn't fantastic, but I think the author handled these sensitive issues very well. Spoilers: The big reason why the hero pushes the heroine away to the extreme is (view spoiler)[ he was drugged and raped by one of the heroines friends and was too ashamed to talk about it (hide spoiler)]The heroine and the OM (view spoiler)[ They never had intercourse. They kissed and OM went down on her twice but no actual sex. The hero bursts through the door and stops it before it happens. (hide spoiler)]My thoughts about everything: (view spoiler)[ I think the author handled male rape very well. The hero prosecutes in the epilogue and you find out she's in jail. I also loved that the hero and heroine get professional help to heal their marriage. In terms of the OM; I didn't mind the cheating actually. The heroine was not emotionally invested at all, she cheated as a cry for help from the hero. The OM, in my opinion, took advantage of the heroine and pressured her to cheat. What kind of sick person encourages someone to cheat on their spouse? OM was a flirt and pretty much a manwhore and a hero i will never read if the author decides to give him his own book. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Saffron
    June 23, 2017
    5 STARSSSSS OMG, this book! Gosh, I wish I had words. I really, really don't have any words for how much I adored this book. This actually took me out of my funk, and I can't even tell you how much of a relief that was. I'm not going to talk about the plot because all you need to know is in the blurb. Its a story of a broken marriage and the characters try to pick up the pieces and try to survive the only way they know how. Yes, it has cheating, ITS THERE IN THE BLURB. So, please don't bash a b 5 STARSSSSS OMG, this book! Gosh, I wish I had words. I really, really don't have any words for how much I adored this book. This actually took me out of my funk, and I can't even tell you how much of a relief that was. I'm not going to talk about the plot because all you need to know is in the blurb. Its a story of a broken marriage and the characters try to pick up the pieces and try to survive the only way they know how. Yes, it has cheating, ITS THERE IN THE BLURB. So, please don't bash a book just because of the aspects that are already spelled out for your eyes. Trigger warnings are there for a reason. ANYWAY, pick up this book if you're in the mood for something thought provoking, different and simply stunning.
    more
  • Michelle Claypot
    June 9, 2017
    Absolutely a 5 star read for me ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Ok let me start off by saying I am not usually a big fan of cheating in books. This is because it's usually handled poorly and quickly forgiven with little thought on why it happened and what it means for the characters afterwards. Not here. Nope. This author achieved the impossible - she got me to not only overlook the cheating but to actively support the character in her choices. This is a raw, heartbreaking story with plot twists you won't see coming. I ca Absolutely a 5 star read for me ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Ok let me start off by saying I am not usually a big fan of cheating in books. This is because it's usually handled poorly and quickly forgiven with little thought on why it happened and what it means for the characters afterwards. Not here. Nope. This author achieved the impossible - she got me to not only overlook the cheating but to actively support the character in her choices. This is a raw, heartbreaking story with plot twists you won't see coming. I can't tell you much without ruining the story and I don't want to do that because it's rare these days an author can make me genuinely gasp while reading a book and Ella Fields managed that - more than once. The book has beautiful dialogue, moments where the character's pain is so real you can feel it. The characters are allowed to be flawed and tell the story as it comes - with absolutely no sugar coating.She also wrote some of the hottest sex scenes I have read this year, and really if we're honest, who doesn't want hot sex in their books. This is definitely not your average predictable HEA Love Story but it's ABSOLUTELY a Love Story. A real, raw, beautiful love story. So I hope that readers don't let the cheating warning put them off. It's a story of what love really looks like when awful things happen, daily life gets in your way and how your actions have consequences. I definitely recommend you read this book.I received an ARC of this book
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    June 26, 2017
    Wow Review to come!    
  • Shari Kay
    June 30, 2017
    Nope...can't do it, but I sincerely appreciate the author giving us a warning. Kudos.
  • Nikki ღ Navareus
    July 18, 2017
    This little story wasn't too bad, it kept me interested enough to finish it. I love cheating stories done right, but this one just didn't wow me like others have done. I did enjoy Dahlia finally getting attention from that she'd craved from her husband for months, now from someone new, because her husband just kept shutting her down when she'd make advances towards him. And Jared was sweet, but he just didn't knock me off my feet in a way that made me believe he'd be worth throwing a marriage aw This little story wasn't too bad, it kept me interested enough to finish it. I love cheating stories done right, but this one just didn't wow me like others have done. I did enjoy Dahlia finally getting attention from that she'd craved from her husband for months, now from someone new, because her husband just kept shutting her down when she'd make advances towards him. And Jared was sweet, but he just didn't knock me off my feet in a way that made me believe he'd be worth throwing a marriage away for. That tipping point where the character is finally drawn into the extramarital affair is tricky. For me, this one just barely missed the mark. Instead of the whole, 'She couldn't stop herself from falling for him...', where the reader is just dying to see them get together-just didn't happen for me. It felt more like she was just just too horny to stop herself, not that she had actually developed feelings for him as well. The whole situation was pointless and would have been totally avoided if Leo would have just talked to Dahlia when she begged him to. The big secret reveal about Leo was kind of a let down too. Been seeing that same scenario in a lot of books lately, so I guess it didn't have that shock value it should have had.
    more
  • Lily Garcia
    June 27, 2017
    4.75 stars! Amazing debut!Ummmm.. how do I even begin to process what I just read? First of, the blurb is everything! Even if you don't like cheating, it instantly grips you and doesn't let go. I debated if I should read it or not since I'm not a big fan of cheating.. but I gave in and I LOVED IT! When an author can make you forget about your principles and beliefs, make you question your thoughts, has you going back and forth, makes you put yourself in the character's shoes.. it's amazing talen 4.75 stars! Amazing debut!Ummmm.. how do I even begin to process what I just read? First of, the blurb is everything! Even if you don't like cheating, it instantly grips you and doesn't let go. I debated if I should read it or not since I'm not a big fan of cheating.. but I gave in and I LOVED IT! When an author can make you forget about your principles and beliefs, make you question your thoughts, has you going back and forth, makes you put yourself in the character's shoes.. it's amazing talent and not something every author can deliver. And to think this is her debut? Wow! I mean, I'm at a lost for words here. In regards to the book: I didn't agree with Dahlia at all times, but I understood why she did what she did. Everyone makes mistakes and decisions that alter our lives and affect those around us. We get to see that in this story. How it happens, why it happens, the twist was truly unexpected and it blindsided me (bravo to the author!). I cried and swooned so hard. I wasn't mad at all while reading this book or dare I say I loved mostly all characters? I am hoping Jared gets his own book.Am I making up excuses for the characters? Absolutely not. I don't condone in cheating at all. But before you judge and skip this book, take a chance and experience Leo and Lia's journey. Their love story is raw, emotional, poignant, but it will have you rooting for them! I seriously loved Leo<3. This author is one to look out for!
    more
  • Kat
    July 16, 2017
    I will admit that I read this book because it included an atypical situation as I normally would rather clean out a sewer then read a romance book with cheating. Before reading it I initially through that the author was brave for having the heroine have sex with OM (without the heroes consent) while married to the hero. While I have read millions of romance books I have only read a handful of the books where a married heroine had sex with OM while the hero remained faithful and they stayed marri I will admit that I read this book because it included an atypical situation as I normally would rather clean out a sewer then read a romance book with cheating. Before reading it I initially through that the author was brave for having the heroine have sex with OM (without the heroes consent) while married to the hero. While I have read millions of romance books I have only read a handful of the books where a married heroine had sex with OM while the hero remained faithful and they stayed married. It is funny though because I cannot add this to my list of five because while the hero remained faithful to the heroine she did not have sex with the OM. I don't get it. If the heroine is going to be a cheater then at least have her go all of the way. There are millions of books where a hero, who is married to a heroine, has sex with OW while the heroine remains faithful. So if your going to write a book that includes a heroine cheating then don't have her stop at receiving oral pleasure because if the sexes of the characters were reversed then the hero would receive the full monty as opposed to a few bjs.
    more
  • Raj
    July 9, 2017
    The impact of this book lies in it's quieter moment,making the drop of a pin appear to echo like an atom bomb.Dahlia the heroine resembles a trapped butterfly tied to a train track in a silent thirties movie twisting and screaming her head off as she watches the train that is carrying her husband Leo,fade into the far distance.This is ironic as she is the only character with a voice that fills this entire novel as her husband Leo's thoughts are heavily shrouded in mystery and she feels as if she The impact of this book lies in it's quieter moment,making the drop of a pin appear to echo like an atom bomb.Dahlia the heroine resembles a trapped butterfly tied to a train track in a silent thirties movie twisting and screaming her head off as she watches the train that is carrying her husband Leo,fade into the far distance.This is ironic as she is the only character with a voice that fills this entire novel as her husband Leo's thoughts are heavily shrouded in mystery and she feels as if she is slowly dissolving into a ghost state around her soul mate who does not respond to her pleas thus driving her to drastic measures to regain his focus.There is cheating and a twist that blindsided me somewhat as I raced towards the conclusion of this really well written novel.
    more
  • BexLOVESBooks
    June 5, 2017
    I can't keep hanging on by a frayed thread. I think it needs to snap once and for all. Let the pieces fall where they may. This was such a real, raw story, beautifully told. I loved the author's writing style. There were some parts where I didn't know who to cheer for, who to trust, who to love or who to hate. Sometimes, if that isn't done right in a story that can drive me nuts, but in this story, that element of suspense and wonder, the mystery and angst intertwined with the passion and LOVE, I can't keep hanging on by a frayed thread. I think it needs to snap once and for all. Let the pieces fall where they may. This was such a real, raw story, beautifully told. I loved the author's writing style. There were some parts where I didn't know who to cheer for, who to trust, who to love or who to hate. Sometimes, if that isn't done right in a story that can drive me nuts, but in this story, that element of suspense and wonder, the mystery and angst intertwined with the passion and LOVE, ugh it was just so beautiful. This story not only twists and turns but it grows and blooms. I loved every second of it.
    more
  • EscapeNBooks
    June 22, 2017
    4.5 starsFrayed Silk by Ella Fields is a forbidden romance, affair novel."Memories are funny things. Some are so palpable that you feel as if you’re right there, experiencing everything all over again. The scents, tastes, the weather, the sliding of skin on skin, and the feelings that made your heart swell double in size."Leo and Dahlia have always been each other's past, present, and future. But, as of late, they can't seem to connect. They've lost touch with each other, and Lia is spiraling do 4.5 stars​Frayed Silk by Ella Fields is a forbidden romance, affair novel."Memories are funny things. Some are so palpable that you feel as if you’re right there, experiencing everything all over again. The scents, tastes, the weather, the sliding of skin on skin, and the feelings that made your heart swell double in size."Leo and Dahlia have always been each other's past, present, and future. But, as of late, they can't seem to connect. They've lost touch with each other, and Lia is spiraling down a dark path. But a moment in time could be a game-changer."I can’t keep waiting on him. I can’t keep hanging on by a frayed thread. I think it needs to snap, once and for all. Let the pieces fall where they may." Most times, in books of this particular trope, I pick sides. I have a clear picture of who should be with whom and have reasoned out why. So for me, the most fascinating aspect of this novel was the air of mystery that constantly kept me second-guessing myself. The web of lies and deceit was so thick, it was hard to see the truth...until it smacked me in the face. And then I was dumb-founded and broken. I wanted cry and hit something, scream loudly into the wind and hope it traveled to the one for whom it was intended, the one who made my mind race with ways in which to off someone and bury their body in the woods. My gosh! It was totally twisted. But, one of the best twists I have read in this trope.All of the characters played an integral part in making this novel one that burned in my mind. In addition to the main characters though, there was a secondary character that really caught my attention. I loved Dahlia's sidekick, Lola. She was a best friend straight out of my dreams; speak the truth, take no crap, got your girl's back no matter what. She was her Melissa McCarthy. With all of the serious and angst-driven tones to the story, Lola was the unwavering calm and comic relief." I need to decide if I’ll give up and continue to let the pieces keep falling, or if I’ll fight for what’s left of my heart, for the other half of my soul, and try to knit them all back together somehow." Many of my reader friends shy away from books with affairs in them. I know it's a trigger for some readers. But I recommend that, no matter your thought on this matter, you give this novel I try. You will never know what hit you. It is worth the risk. It is a fragile love story that will keep you coming back for more.Frayed Silk, the debut novel by Author Ella Fields, was a daring voyage into the unknown with shocking surprises and sweet forevers.
    more
  • Shelby (Book Lovers Have More Fun)
    July 3, 2017
    I'll admit that the only reason I HAD to read this book was based on the cover, being the cover whore I am. Frayed Silk really surprised me!!! I thought it'd be the typical marital problems book, but it wasn't. It was kind of refreshing how different this was. I couldn't even guess where Ella was going with it. It felt like Frayed Silk was separated into two parts. The first part interested me, but I wasn't HOOKED, then it came to a lull, THEN the second half became UNPUTDOWNABLE. I have to say I'll admit that the only reason I HAD to read this book was based on the cover, being the cover whore I am. Frayed Silk really surprised me!!! I thought it'd be the typical marital problems book, but it wasn't. It was kind of refreshing how different this was. I couldn't even guess where Ella was going with it. It felt like Frayed Silk was separated into two parts. The first part interested me, but I wasn't HOOKED, then it came to a lull, THEN the second half became UNPUTDOWNABLE. I have to say that the kids, of course, where my favorite from this story. Shocker right?! ;)This was my first read by Ella Fields, and it definitely won't be my last!!!
    more
  • Jen ~ Schmexy Girl Book Blog
    July 1, 2017
    Life seems perfect. You have a loving husband, a fantastic marriage, and two beautiful children. You're blessed. Until one day everything you thought was perfect unravels and you have no idea why. Ella Fields is a new-to-me author who wove a tale that had me glued to our kindles. Frayed Silk is a novel that speaks the unspoken—what happens when a marriage falls apart with no warning. How one woman has no idea how to put the pieces of her heart back together. Dahlia and Leo seem to have it all. A Life seems perfect. You have a loving husband, a fantastic marriage, and two beautiful children. You're blessed. Until one day everything you thought was perfect unravels and you have no idea why. Ella Fields is a new-to-me author who wove a tale that had me glued to our kindles. Frayed Silk is a novel that speaks the unspoken—what happens when a marriage falls apart with no warning. How one woman has no idea how to put the pieces of her heart back together. Dahlia and Leo seem to have it all. A beautiful family and a financially secure life. Told from Dahlia's point of view, we learn how much she loves her husband—even after years of marriage. He still makes her heart flutter and gives her butterflies with just one look. But somewhere along the way, he stops acknowledging her, stops communicating with herBut somewhere along the way, he stops acknowledging her, stops communicating with her—stops loving her. With a broken heart, Dahlia attempts to shock her husband into waking up, anything to get him to "see" her again. "This pain in my heart feels physical. Like I could march into my doctor's office and demand that they fix it. But I know there's no cure for this. There's nothing anyone else can do besides him."What follows is an angsty, (MY FAVORITE), story that I couldn't put down. "...I realize that maybe we're all a little broken. Some of us are just better at hiding the missing pieces."Be sure to heed the warning—if cheating isn't your cup of tea this book isn't for you. For me, I LOVE these types of books. I love the heartache and Ella's writing was incredible. I can't wait for more of her work!!
    more
  • Kate Stewart
    July 11, 2017
    Sexy, emotional and totally original! I can't wait for more for Ella!
  • Lorna Bishop
    June 22, 2017
    Ella Fields has rushed into my top 10 of favourite authors. What an fantastic solo debut. This book is so full of emotion that takes you on a wild ride. You go from one moment of no don't do it to wanting to hug them in the next. The book deals with some real gritty issues that some readers may find hard but stick with it its worth the journey. Yes there is cheating but the emotions behind it are so real that you come to a real understanding of why Lia is doing it . This book is so real and full Ella Fields has rushed into my top 10 of favourite authors. What an fantastic solo debut. This book is so full of emotion that takes you on a wild ride. You go from one moment of no don't do it to wanting to hug them in the next. The book deals with some real gritty issues that some readers may find hard but stick with it its worth the journey. Yes there is cheating but the emotions behind it are so real that you come to a real understanding of why Lia is doing it . This book is so real and full of suspense that you won't want to put it down and the journey to the end is well worth it. It so refreshing to read a book that is not the typical formulaic romance. Amazing job Ella
    more
  • Krissy loves to read
    June 30, 2017
    This book is truely something, something I so needed in my book life! Im squeaking with delight!! I found a gem!! A beautiful  gem filled with heartache, angst, raw emotion, suspense and a shock factor that made me scream HOLY SH**! Author Ella Fields brings out the beautiful and the ugly in a marriage. The journey these characters go on is so relatable, being so easy to get wrapped up in thier story and care about what lies ahead for them. I loved every part and every word! Stories like these a This book is truely something, something I so needed in my book life! Im squeaking with delight!! I found a gem!! A beautiful  gem filled with heartache, angst, raw emotion, suspense and a shock factor that made me scream HOLY SH**! Author Ella Fields brings out the beautiful and the ugly in a marriage. The journey these characters go on is so relatable, being so easy to get wrapped up in thier story and care about what lies ahead for them. I loved every part and every word! Stories like these are why I am a Book Hoarder! I cant stress enough, MUST READ! I'm looking foward to reading more and more from Ella Fields!
    more
  • Tangerine
    July 12, 2017
    4.5 STARSWhat a wonderful debut! I gobbled this one up, started it this morning and was finished by this afternoon. I don't want to give anything away but expect the unexpected! I didn't expect what happened to happen at all! I don't think I've ever read a book with this subject matter and it's definitely not one that's talked openly about in real life. It was written well and I enjoyed it very much. Looks like there's room for more and I hope there is! It's next to never that I find a good new 4.5 STARSWhat a wonderful debut! I gobbled this one up, started it this morning and was finished by this afternoon. I don't want to give anything away but expect the unexpected! I didn't expect what happened to happen at all! I don't think I've ever read a book with this subject matter and it's definitely not one that's talked openly about in real life. It was written well and I enjoyed it very much. Looks like there's room for more and I hope there is! It's next to never that I find a good new to me author. I'm excited to read more from this one!
    more
  • Phyl
    June 29, 2017
    I was looking forward to this book, I loved the cover and was intrigued by the blurb. Unfortunately I wasdisappointed it fell very flat for me. With the emotional pull I should have been in tears the wife being ignored by her husband it's as if he doesn't care. She tells him she wants a divorce to get a reaction from him, she tells him she's having an affair and nothing. I totally thought he was a dumb ass, what are you to do when your husband treats you like nothing and ignores your existence. I was looking forward to this book, I loved the cover and was intrigued by the blurb. Unfortunately I wasdisappointed it fell very flat for me. With the emotional pull I should have been in tears the wife being ignored by her husband it's as if he doesn't care. She tells him she wants a divorce to get a reaction from him, she tells him she's having an affair and nothing. I totally thought he was a dumb ass, what are you to do when your husband treats you like nothing and ignores your existence. She pushes him to talk but he shuts down. Feeling unloved and unwanted she seeks comfort elsewhere. I should have been in tears reading this but it didn't get there for me.
    more
  • Laura
    July 18, 2017
    I saw some good reviews for this book on my Goodreads feed. I'm not always keen on reading about infidelity in romance novels but reviews led me to believe it wasn't too bad.It didn't really work for me. I can see why Dahlia felt unwanted and unloved but her daliance with Jared seemed a bit impulsive. Although they didn't go all the way, they certainly did other sexual things that I found just as bad and once I read of something like that, then I can't really feel any sympathy for the heroine an I saw some good reviews for this book on my Goodreads feed. I'm not always keen on reading about infidelity in romance novels but reviews led me to believe it wasn't too bad.It didn't really work for me. I can see why Dahlia felt unwanted and unloved but her daliance with Jared seemed a bit impulsive. Although they didn't go all the way, they certainly did other sexual things that I found just as bad and once I read of something like that, then I can't really feel any sympathy for the heroine and it makes me think she's not as in love with her husband as much as she professes to be. For me the story lacked emotion. I wasn't keen on the writing style. I found the male voice of Leo and Jared sounded the same.I was intrigued about what Leo's problem was but when we find out, I didn't really feel anything. There was just something missing to make me connect with the characters and the story. I read that this is a debut author, not sure if that's correct but if it is a debut then it has potential. It's still worth a read but it wasn't really my cup of tea.
    more
  • Donna Palmer
    June 20, 2017
    5 Stars⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ When I started reading, I thought I knew exactly where the story was going, I found myself wanting to rush through to find out if I was right. Boy was I wrong and so glad I didn't rush the story. Wow, Ella Fields what an Amzaing read, I couldn't put it down. And so well written, I found myself going through all the emotions the lead Heroine was going through. I highly recommend reading this book. I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book. 5 Stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ When I started reading, I thought I knew exactly where the story was going, I found myself wanting to rush through to find out if I was right. Boy was I wrong and so glad I didn't rush the story. Wow, Ella Fields what an Amzaing read, I couldn't put it down. And so well written, I found myself going through all the emotions the lead Heroine was going through. I highly recommend reading this book. I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book.
    more
  • Vee Paige
    July 14, 2017
    Loved it! Yes, it's a cheating book, but the feels. Why not five stars? I don't know. It's not the storyline, but I think the writing was a bit wordy it kinda slowed down the story. But it could be a me problem.
Write a review