Ice Lake (Harry Cull Thriller, #1)
…WHERE EVERYBODY LIES. AND SOME PEOPLE KILL…An electrifying debut crime novel and the first in a new series featuring psychologist Harry Cull. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Peter May.AN ABANDONDED BODYDeep in the woods of Northeastern Pennsylvania, the body of a man is found – shot three times, dumped under the trees where the local kids will find him.A HAUNTED PSYCHOLOGISTPsychologist Harry Cull, tormented by his past, arrives in the picturesque town of Ice Lake to help with the murder investigation. There he unravels a web of lies and deceit that leads to the dark heart of a community torn apart by fracking, drugs and murder.A DESPERATE KILLERIt’s not long before the second corpse turns up, this time a lawyer left for dead in the forest, and Harry finds himself on the trail of a twisted killer – who will do anything to keep the town’s darkest secrets buried.

Ice Lake (Harry Cull Thriller, #1) Details

TitleIce Lake (Harry Cull Thriller, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 7th, 2017
PublisherKiller Reads
Number of pages284 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Crime

Ice Lake (Harry Cull Thriller, #1) Review

  • Paromjit
    June 26, 2017
    This is a entertaining beginning for this crime series debut with a strong sense of location in Pocono township's Ice Lake in Pennsylvania where the locals most frequent saying is 'that ain't no lie'. Psychologist Harry Cull runs a consultancy based on his gift for seeing the truth and his trusty lie detector equipment. He was once a cop but tragedy in the form of the abduction of his young son, still missing, which destroyed his marriage and his police career, leaving him a haunted man. He once This is a entertaining beginning for this crime series debut with a strong sense of location in Pocono township's Ice Lake in Pennsylvania where the locals most frequent saying is 'that ain't no lie'. Psychologist Harry Cull runs a consultancy based on his gift for seeing the truth and his trusty lie detector equipment. He was once a cop but tragedy in the form of the abduction of his young son, still missing, which destroyed his marriage and his police career, leaving him a haunted man. He once met Trooper Edward Cirba at a conference, and receives an unexpected call asking for his help at Pocono. Big Bill, a young man with a wayward history, has been killed with a shotgun at the horseshoe, a place used by the young to party. Harry is staying at a rent lake property with spectacular views as he and Ed investigate.There seem to be no obvious motive for Bill's murder as most everyone liked him. The most likely culprits seem to be the manager of the local strip club who was once with the mafia. Bill's girlfriend, Harmony, worked at the strip joint. Ice Lake has recently succumbed to the fracking industry, Bill was unhappy with the fracking damage to the local area and with the potential water supply concerns. The investigation seems to be going nowhere when a local lawyer is murdered with the same MO. Harry finds himself drawn to one of the famous Keller sisters, although their relationship is not plain sailing. With suspects that include the mayor, Bill's brother, Frank, and the local mayor, Harry finds himself being excluded from the case when it surfaces that he gained access to a site under pretences. On the verge of leaving the area, Harry decides to follow up on a vague hunch that is to put him in grave danger.This is a well plotted story with plenty of suspense, goofy banter and humour. It is also jam packed with factual information on the area such as the gas and oil industry, the environment, fracking, and its history, for example, how General John Sullivan eliminated the 'savages', the Native American Indians from Pennsylvania. Harry makes a great central character with his haunting inner trauma that belies his cheerful and comic persona. It looks like he is set to stay in the area, thanks to his developing relationship. I adored many of the characters in the novel such as store owner, Todd, and Ed, the trooper. A wonderful and fun read that easily engages the reader with the book's fluent writing. Thanks to HarperCollins for an ARC.
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    June 25, 2017
    The cover fooled me into believing it was a story set in the winter. But, I soon learned that I was wrong. I didn't mind it, but it's interesting how a cover can make you expect something like that. Ice Lake starts off with a man getting shot to death by someone unknown. Pennsylvania State Trooper Edward Cirba calls his friend psychologist Harry Cull to come and help him with the case since ex-cop Cull has a knack for knowing if someone is lying. Cirba and Cull met at a conference in Las Vegas The cover fooled me into believing it was a story set in the winter. But, I soon learned that I was wrong. I didn't mind it, but it's interesting how a cover can make you expect something like that. Ice Lake starts off with a man getting shot to death by someone unknown. Pennsylvania State Trooper Edward Cirba calls his friend psychologist Harry Cull to come and help him with the case since ex-cop Cull has a knack for knowing if someone is lying. Cirba and Cull met at a conference in Las Vegas and that was a memorable experience that included a visit to a strip bar that Cirba has forbidden Cull to ever bring up again. Of course, Cull doesn't mind mentioning the strip bar now and then.I found the book to be entertaining to read, but at the same time did I feel that I had some difficulties to really get into the story. I mean, I loved the banter between Cirba and Cull, their friendly relationship made the book quite fun to read. Also, a small town, with eccentric people with a lot of secrets are usually my kind of thing. However, the story never really clicked for me, but I can't say that I was bored either. I liked the book, but it lacked thrilling moments and a stronger story. Ice Lake is an OK book, no more no less. I liked Cirba and Cull so much that I would love to read more about them in more books. I did, however, feel that Cull, who has been quite an ordeal in his life was surprisingly cool about it. I can't reveal what happened, but I would have expected a man to be a bit more broken than Cull seemed to be. And, it bothered me a bit. I guess I prefer my main characters to suffer more anxiety and be more complex. I want to thank the publisher for providing me with a free copy through NetGalley for an honest review!
    more
  • Thebooktrail
    July 7, 2017
    Ooh remote Pennsylvania has a few secrets! Visit remote PennsylvaniaFirst in a series and this sets a very interesting scene!Ice Lake: A small town with a very icy atmosphere, icy personalities and some shocking secrets. The action moves along via dialogue, bits here and there like you’re at the heart of the conversations whether that be about a suspect or a strip club. Bawdy humour and a don’t care attitude are what most people seem to have here.Cirba and Cull have a good thing going and the r Ooh remote Pennsylvania has a few secrets! Visit remote PennsylvaniaFirst in a series and this sets a very interesting scene!Ice Lake: A small town with a very icy atmosphere, icy personalities and some shocking secrets. The action moves along via dialogue, bits here and there like you’re at the heart of the conversations whether that be about a suspect or a strip club. Bawdy humour and a don’t care attitude are what most people seem to have here.Cirba and Cull have a good thing going and the relationship between them was a highlight for me. Cull has a great big backstory which just lingers in the background so much that this just has to come out in future books as it needs to be explored.There are two sides to this book I think – a small town mystery with a novel with a social conscience and one filled with real information on the oil and gas industry and the reality of fracking. Both stories do come together but didn’t always fit comfortably for me and sometimes felt disjointed. Having said that, there’s some great characters in this book and I can’t wait to meet them again.
    more
  • Bibliophile Book Club
    June 15, 2017
    Ice Lake is the first book in the Harry Cull series by John A Lenehan, and its a very solid start to a promising series. I flew through this one as I was gripped early on!When the body of a man is found at a well known hang-out spot, Harry Cull gets a call to come and investigate. Cull carries out polygraph tests, and is pretty adept at picking out those who lie, but in Ice Lake is seems everyone has something to hide and Harry has his work cut out for him from the get go!The deceased was shot, Ice Lake is the first book in the Harry Cull series by John A Lenehan, and its a very solid start to a promising series. I flew through this one as I was gripped early on!When the body of a man is found at a well known hang-out spot, Harry Cull gets a call to come and investigate. Cull carries out polygraph tests, and is pretty adept at picking out those who lie, but in Ice Lake is seems everyone has something to hide and Harry has his work cut out for him from the get go!The deceased was shot, and it looks like it was by someone he knew. When Harry arrives at the tranquil Ice Lake, he quickly realises that all is not as peaceful as one would be led to believe. In this town, there is so much bubbling under the surface with its residents that it becomes and increasingly dangerous place to be.There is more than just murder here too, although the rising body count tries to keep Harry from finding out any more, there are quite a few themes running alongside the crime aspect. The author has done a great job in layering the mystery in Ice Lake. I found myself wondering what was really going on more than once during the course of the book.Excellent characterisation coupled with a quick and pacy narrative make Ice Lake an engrossing and thrilling read. This is a very accomplished novel packed with plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader thoroughly engaged. I look forward to reading more from John A Lenehan.Highly recommended!
    more
  • Nerdish Mum
    July 9, 2017
    Harry Cull is an absolutely brilliant character, he is so interesting and I love the way he works and acts. I also love his interactions with other characters, in particular Trooper Cirba, their relationship and banter is so enjoyable and made me laugh with their back and forth over a previous encounter. The Lake in Ice Lake is definitely a character in itself and I could easily picture the town, with the local "grocery" store and houses with gardens that run down to their own dock at the lake. Harry Cull is an absolutely brilliant character, he is so interesting and I love the way he works and acts. I also love his interactions with other characters, in particular Trooper Cirba, their relationship and banter is so enjoyable and made me laugh with their back and forth over a previous encounter. The Lake in Ice Lake is definitely a character in itself and I could easily picture the town, with the local "grocery" store and houses with gardens that run down to their own dock at the lake. It feels like the hub of the town. I found the "lie detecting" really interesting as my husband is a magician and he has done courses in NLP (neuro linguistic programming) and knows how to see peoples tells etc. He's practised more than a few times on me. Knowing the inside information on this, it was good to see some explanation as to how people can seem like they are a human lie detector as it's not normally covered in fiction books. I can't really say anything about the story itself as I would hate to spoil anything, but I can say that I absolutely loved the story and really enjoyed how things were worked out. I think the writing flowed well and it was a really easy read. I read Ice Lake really quickly and I'm already looking forward to more Harry Cull books. I think I've found another new favourite lead man in crime fiction. This is a definite recommendation from me.
    more
  • Joanne Robertson
    July 15, 2017
    OMG!! This book!!!!! You know that book that you start thinking it will be okay but then you start reading and realise it’s NOTHING like you expected? And that if anyone tried to take that book out of your hands you’d probably hit them with it?! Yes it’s THAT book! The one you start off liking and end up loving so much you want to stalk the author and chain him to the desk in your office until he writes another one (no? Just me then?!).Anyway back to psychologist Harry Cull and you won’t have me OMG!! This book!!!!! You know that book that you start thinking it will be okay but then you start reading and realise it’s NOTHING like you expected? And that if anyone tried to take that book out of your hands you’d probably hit them with it?! Yes it’s THAT book! The one you start off liking and end up loving so much you want to stalk the author and chain him to the desk in your office until he writes another one (no? Just me then?!).Anyway back to psychologist Harry Cull and you won’t have met a protagonist like this for quite some time. Part Sherlock Holmes, part Philip Marlowe, he arrives in Ice Lake after an old friend requests his help with a murder. There was a rather “Twin Peaks feel” to Ice Lake with the locals that he meets there, including his own femme fatale MK and cafe/shop owner Todd, being a very weird and wonderful bunch of people! His investigation takes him to some very dodgy places but the fabulous historical descriptions that start some of the chapters sounded so enticing I just wanted to jump on a plane and head over the Atlantic to Pennsylvania and that’s no lie! If you read this book then you will need to get used to the “that’s no lie” thing but you have my permission to NEVER get used to the fried spam sandwiches!!Although described as a crime thriller, this book goes way beyond that! Yes it’s a hard boiled crime drama but what makes it stand head and shoulders above the rest is the wonderfully dark and astute humour! I rarely laugh out loud at books anyway but here I was positively guffawing at the situations and conversations Harry was having here! Subsequently, I spend a whole afternoon ensconced on a sun lounger in the garden getting thoroughly sunburnt as I didn’t want to put this book down for one second!The ending had a bittersweet twist which came as a surprise  to me but was pitched perfectly setting the reader up for more from Harry. And although the humour was one of the reasons this book worked so well for me, it also was able to play with my emotions by making me laugh one minute before then throwing a curve ball especially when Harry told the backstory to his life before he came to Pennsylvania. There had been  subtle clues but I was shocked to the core when I found out why he was doing what he was doing whenever he had a spare moment.This book is a real contender for my favourite book of the month, and possibly of the entire year! It kept my attention throughout and I was gripped until that very last page…And that’s no lie! Huge thanks to Samantha Gale and Killer Reads for my proof copy, you obviously know my taste in books even better than I do!
    more
  • Michelle Ryles
    July 13, 2017
    Oh my word, I did not expect to enjoy this book as much as I did...and that's no lie. I'm going to make a prediction right here and now - this is going to be a bestselling, long-running series. Harry Cull is one of those characters that you can't get enough of, like Michael Connelly's Bosch or Peter James' Roy Grace. You've got the story he's investigating now plus the intrigue of his past that had my brain fighting over which story I wanted to read more about. Both are winners as you couldn't p Oh my word, I did not expect to enjoy this book as much as I did...and that's no lie. I'm going to make a prediction right here and now - this is going to be a bestselling, long-running series. Harry Cull is one of those characters that you can't get enough of, like Michael Connelly's Bosch or Peter James' Roy Grace. You've got the story he's investigating now plus the intrigue of his past that had my brain fighting over which story I wanted to read more about. Both are winners as you couldn't possibly choose one over the other.Harry Cull turns up in the sleepy Pennsylvania town of Ice Lake to help his friend, Trooper Ed Cirba, investigate the murder of a local man. The pair met at a conference in Las Vegas and I got my first inkling of the sparkling humour involved when Cull won't let Cirba forget about their visit to a strip bar, or titty bar as they are hilariously known in Ice Lake. The locals all know each others' business and can't finish a sentence without saying 'and that's no lie', but when another body turns up, clearly somebody is lying.When two of his pals turn up dead, local drug dealer, Feather, thinks he could be next on the hit list. The interactions between Cull and Feather were one of the many highlights of the book. Cull has a knack of being able to tell when someone is lying, with or without his Frankenstein-esque lie detector machine. With an excellent well-placed quote from Spiderman and paying serious homage to Star Wars, Feather shows his awe of Cull by referencing the jedi knights, causing me to laugh out loud on many an occasion.Cull has a devastating history that lays down the thread that will link all the Harry Cull books together (and please let there be MANY more). There's always going to be a hint of danger following him around after he got mixed up with the Jersey mob. As we all know from watching The Sopranos, you can run but you can't hide.Ice Lake is a sizzling start to what I'm sure will become a favourite series for many readers...and that's no lie. The sizzling dynamic between Cull and Cirba reminded me of Starsky and Hutch; always a little bit tongue in cheek and I'm sure I'll spot things I've missed on the second reading. Hopefully we won't have long to wait for book 2, and I'll definitely be first in line for that! I could write so much more about this book (I haven't even mentioned the fracking or the love interest), but seriously - just go buy it!I chose to read an ARC and this is my honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Dee-Cee It's all about the books
    June 28, 2017
    When I read the description of Ice Lake I was intrigued, especially as it’s the start of a new series and I love a good series.Ice Lake opens with a murder, a local man called Bill,  liked by everyone is found dead in the woods and Trooper Edward Cirba decides to call on his old friend Harry Cull, ex police and now a psychologist, for help. Armed with his lie detector Harry sets off to Ice Lake to help Cirba try and untangle the mystery.Harry Cull was an interesting character, having once worked When I read the description of Ice Lake I was intrigued, especially as it’s the start of a new series and I love a good series.Ice Lake opens with a murder, a local man called Bill,  liked by everyone is found dead in the woods and Trooper Edward Cirba decides to call on his old friend Harry Cull, ex police and now a psychologist, for help. Armed with his lie detector Harry sets off to Ice Lake to help Cirba try and untangle the mystery.Harry Cull was an interesting character, having once worked in the police he now has his own consultancy after a trauma saw him leaving the force and splitting up from his wife. He has a knack for knowing when someone is lying, reading their body language and picking up the little ticks that people have when they lie. This is something that’s always interested me so it was quite different having Harry as the main character. Working alongside Cirba, I liked the banter and friendship they had. They worked good together.The story was well plotted, and at the beginning of a lot of the chapters it gave you factual information on the area which was something different. I’d definitely say this was a promising start to a new series, it was suspenseful and with lies and secrecy I couldn’t quite figure out who the suspect was. I wouldn’t say it was a fast paced story but it certainly had enough to keep you turning the pages and it also left enough open to get excited to see what will happen next in the series. I’m quite looking forward to seeing what’s in store for Harry Cull next.
    more
  • Emma
    July 9, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • Serendipity Loves
    July 12, 2017
    Reviewed as part of July Blog Tour. Full review at WWw.serendipityloves.websiteThe thriller starts with State Trooper Eric Cirba tracking down his old pal, Harry Cull. Harry is an ex-cop turned psychologist and Eric invites Harry to join him in the Pocono Mountains in North East Pennsylvania to assist him in finding Bill's killer. Bill's body was found shot three times in a local wood. Later, a second body is found which adds to the urgency to resolve the case.In the books early chapters, you qu Reviewed as part of July Blog Tour. Full review at WWw.serendipityloves.websiteThe thriller starts with State Trooper Eric Cirba tracking down his old pal, Harry Cull. Harry is an ex-cop turned psychologist and Eric invites Harry to join him in the Pocono Mountains in North East Pennsylvania to assist him in finding Bill's killer. Bill's body was found shot three times in a local wood. Later, a second body is found which adds to the urgency to resolve the case.In the books early chapters, you quickly gain an understanding of the location and characters. The descriptions written for both, make it easy to relate to, and visualise whilst reading. Several of the chapters have factual content at the start which really helps to build a picture and understanding of the area.The key character - Harry Cull - is a likable character and is known for his expertise in solving crimes. You gain an understanding of Harry, his past, family and his detective role. There is banter between both Harry and Eric, which adds to the books entertainment. The book also contains several key characters who are all easy to get to know. Including;- Todd who owns the local cafe and warms to Harry. - Major, who has and continues to work in real estate. - Frank, who is Bill's brother and also Harry's landlord whilst he stays at the lake. - MK, local nurse and Harry's neighbor (and a romantic interest of Harry's). - Local Solicitor who deals with land conveyancing and other legal issues with the village characters. With the murder based in the Pocono Mountain, there are some key issues which the book covers. The area contains valuable land, which has the potential to be sold raising substantial money, for fracking. Having friends who live, and have land, in this area of Pennsylvania, I become very interested in reading and learning of these issues.Other issues covered include drugs and the mafia. The author has covered these issues in a light and understandable way. Issues which could have made for very heavy and difficult reading were made very easy to read. What does become difficult to unravel (almost impossible) as in most crime thrillers are the lies and deceit behind the characters alibi.. Who is telling the truth? What is everyone hiding? But will you guess the killer and motive? This book is suited to those who enjoy reading "who done it" thrillers. The tempo of the book is easy paced, the story unravels at a slow pace and is balanced between the issues, getting to know the characters and solving the murders. It's a enjoyable debut thriller, that has set the scene and provides great opportunity for the next in the series. There is so much more to Harry and I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series. Thank you to Killer Reads for the advanced copy in return for open and honest review.
    more
  • Noelle
    July 16, 2017
    Set in Ice Lake, Pennsylvania the reader is faced with loss, greed, love, corruption, cover-ups, power & control and a web of deceit.I was immediately hooked when the story began but did not find the pace to be particularily fast at first. Instead there was a subtle and gradual build up which actually suited this story and the narrative perfectly in my opinion. It was a cleverly devised story-line which had a whodunnit feel with a lot of great mysteries and revelations thrown in the mix, and Set in Ice Lake, Pennsylvania the reader is faced with loss, greed, love, corruption, cover-ups, power & control and a web of deceit.I was immediately hooked when the story began but did not find the pace to be particularily fast at first. Instead there was a subtle and gradual build up which actually suited this story and the narrative perfectly in my opinion. It was a cleverly devised story-line which had a whodunnit feel with a lot of great mysteries and revelations thrown in the mix, and “that’s no lie!” For some reason this book had a Northern Exposure (tv show I used to watch) meets Fargo type of feel to it for me….I can’t explain why…it just did…and I loved that!I particularly enjoyed the humour and characters in this novel, especially Harry Cull, who I was not immediately drawn to. However, as the story and his character developed, he really got under my skin- in a good way! His unique ability to be able to recognise a lie within seconds was fascinating and obviously is a great asset to him. He was down to earth, clever but he also is haunted by a situation from his past – which led to him leaving law enforcement, but also seems to have him pulled back in as an interrogator. He can be a risk taker and this added that element of suspense when Harry placed himself in situations in his search for the truth.Two more characters who really grabbed my attention are MK – a nurse and Harry’s “neighbour”. She is upfront, fiesty and a you-get-what-you-see kind of woman! Not one to mess with, I was instantly drawn to her character and adored her no nonsense attitude! Trooper Ed Cirba was also a great character. There was fantastic banter between Harry and Ed which made this duo a very likeable and believeable mix.I enjoyed the varied characters within this story, but it is the type of book that you have to read to really appreciate the qualities of each. There were many more I want to mention, but I don’t want to take the enjoyment of discovery away from anyone who reads this book. I adored the American setting and atmosphere which was riddled with suspense and intrigue throughout. As the story unfolds and the pieces of the puzzle are finally put it place, my heart was racing in the run up to catching the killer. I am not going to give away any spoilers, but I have to say, the red herrings really did throw me as I was sure I had the case solved before all was revealed….I didn’t!Would I recommend this book? Well that, my book-loving friends is a definitive HELL YEAH. If you enjoy a great setting, intriguing story-line, quirky characters that will leave you guessing through out…you will love this book! This is now an author and a new series, I will be keeping my eye on for sure!
    more
  • Cheryl M-M
    July 15, 2017
    Harry Cull is not only a trained polygraph examiner and psychologist, he is also a wee bit of a human lie detector. He can read his fellow humans like books. He also isn’t very subtle about telling them what he can read in their faces, voices and body language. His very direct approach often leads him into some uncomfortable and often contentious situations.The interactions between Harry and Todd are especially funny, although Harry and Edward Cirba come a close second as a comedy duo. It is thi Harry Cull is not only a trained polygraph examiner and psychologist, he is also a wee bit of a human lie detector. He can read his fellow humans like books. He also isn’t very subtle about telling them what he can read in their faces, voices and body language. His very direct approach often leads him into some uncomfortable and often contentious situations.The interactions between Harry and Todd are especially funny, although Harry and Edward Cirba come a close second as a comedy duo. It is this light-hearted touch that makes the story flow in a way that distracts the reader from the dangerous elements of the story. It almost lulls them into believing it is safe.Hidden behind the dry humour and sharp observational skills is a world of pain. Harry has been dealing with a personal tragedy. The kind of tragedy you don’t recover from. His personal problems make him a little bit paranoid when it comes to connecting the dots in perhaps completely unrelated crimes.The author also tackles the issue of fracking, which is an important hot topic at the moment. He does this in a way even laymen can understand both sides of the argument. This definitely applies to the ‘loophole’ that was created, so fracking companies can get away with not only contaminating the water supply, but also being able to dispose of waste illegally in a completely legal way.Lenahan infuses his crime with his very own brand of banter and wit. Sarcastic tongue lashings and cheeky comments are plentiful in this crime story driven by environmental topics. The author plays with the idiosyncrasies and eccentricities of small town people in a way that is beneficial to both the characters and the story. I always enjoy walking away from a read with the feeling that I have added to my pot of knowledge.*I received an ARC courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley.*
    more
  • Jo
    June 17, 2017
    I absolutely loved this book! I had no idea of what to expect when I opened the first page of Ice Lake. Would it be a grizzly crime thriller? Would it feature a handsome and witty male protagonist? Would it be an exciting and enjoyable read that offered a completely different take on the crime genre of today? The answer to all these questions is yes, and so much more. Harry Cull is invited to Ice Lake, situated in Northeastern Pennsylvania, by his friend , State Trooper Eric Cirba. A body was fo I absolutely loved this book! I had no idea of what to expect when I opened the first page of Ice Lake. Would it be a grizzly crime thriller? Would it feature a handsome and witty male protagonist? Would it be an exciting and enjoyable read that offered a completely different take on the crime genre of today? The answer to all these questions is yes, and so much more. Harry Cull is invited to Ice Lake, situated in Northeastern Pennsylvania, by his friend , State Trooper Eric Cirba. A body was found in the woods, and it is up to the local police and Harry to find out who the murderer is. And all I will say is that this realty is one twisted killer. As soon as I started to read Ice Lake, I knew that I would love it, and this was partly responsible to the strong and likeable character of Harry Cull. It only took me a few pages to fully realise his character and that the two of us would soon become friends. He's that type of guy, you can't help but like him. Throughout the course of the book we learn more about him, his past and why he does what he does. It's not just Harry who fascinated me, but all of the characters were interesting in their own way, even Todd who runs the local 'store'. I gradually warmed to him over the book. Another character who I loved was that of MK, Harry's neighbour, a nurse and a woman who is not afraid to speak her mind and do her own thing. This book is packed full of dark humour, and this works refreshingly well, given the dark subject matter. This kind of humour is right up my street. It doesn't make light of what is happening, but rather helps to give balance and a time to reflect upon what has happened. I found Harry to be a very funny guy, as were most of the inhabitants, albeit it in a subtle sarcastic way. Ice Lake deals with some serious issues, those of drugs, fracking and dangerous lies, but all issues are there at the heart of the story, they are part of it, part of who the characters are and the story helps to explain what it is like to live in modern Northeastern Pennsylvania, in a remote area. I have no idea what this life must be like, but the descriptions of the environment and the people living there, helped me to feel as if I was living there, breathing the smell of the woods and drinking coffee in Todd's. Ice Lake was such an enjoyable read. I am so very happy that this book is the start of a new series, as I want to learn more about Harry... and 'that's no lie'...With thanks to Killer Reads for the advanced manuscript copy
    more
  • Sophie
    July 14, 2017
    Ice Lake begins with a murder and from that moment on I was hooked on what was an atmospheric, suspenseful and incredibly engaging start to the Harry Cull series. I love starting a new crime thriller series. There’s so much excitement and anticipation behind it, wondering if the author has created a character who’s going to turn this new series into a must-read. It is following the main guy and watching them develop that really appeals to me and often even if I enjoy the crime, if I don’t take t Ice Lake begins with a murder and from that moment on I was hooked on what was an atmospheric, suspenseful and incredibly engaging start to the Harry Cull series. I love starting a new crime thriller series. There’s so much excitement and anticipation behind it, wondering if the author has created a character who’s going to turn this new series into a must-read. It is following the main guy and watching them develop that really appeals to me and often even if I enjoy the crime, if I don’t take to or find myself fascinated by the lead character, I very rarely read the second book. Ice Lake, however, had it all. This was a gripping and intriguing crime thriller and Harry was a character I absolutely loved. Ice Lake is a slowburner of a book. The tension builds up gradually and despite the prologue that introduces us to the story with a bang, the development of the book is done at a subtle pace but one that helped the plot really get under my skin. North-eastern Pennsylvania is a place full to the brim of secrets and lies. I did not trust a soul in this book and that kept me on my toes always trying to work out the truth and what really possessed someone to kill likeable Big Bill at the beginning of the book, and find out what led someone to then committing a second murder later on. The atmosphere in Pennsylvania was built up beautifully and had me really fascinated. There was lots of character to the place, something which the author wrote so well. In a place where telling a lie comes much more easily than telling the truth, human lie-detector Harry Cull is the man to have on side. I loved Harry. I thought he was a brilliant character and I really can’t wait to read more from him in this series. There’s something about him that is so endearing. He is funny and clever and his backstory had me utterly fascinated. Harry used to be a cop but now he is a psychologist. His past is deeply upsetting and it still has full impact on his life now. There is so much depth to Harry’s character which makes me believe this series can offer so much. There’s plenty about Harry that suggests his character can be developed much further and I am really excited to see what’s to come. Harry’s friendship with Cirba is another part to this novel I really enjoyed reading. Their interactions were the highlight of the book for me. What with Harry’s great ability for knowing if someone is lying, he is fascinating enough on his own, but his friendship with Cirba made me like his character even more. The humour and the banter between the two of them provides plenty of light-relief in what is a hard-hitting novel. Ice Lake is a very impressive crime thriller. The author has evidently done his research before writing parts of this book as it delivers great insight into dark themes such as fracking and drug abuse as well as the ever-interesting lie-detection aspect. The style the author writes in is also something I particularly enjoyed. I loved the little facts about Ice Lake and its environmental issues that we’d get at the beginning of some of the chapters. It was a great way of building up the location and atmosphere without info-dumping throughout. It was a little thing, but it felt fresh and different. I also loved the way the dark themes of the book were contrasted with black humour which prevented this book from being downbeat. It was dark and twisted, but also highly entertaining. Ice Lake is a great start to the series and I for one can’t wait for more.
    more
  • Sonya Alford
    July 11, 2017
    I was voluntarily sent an ARC of this book in return for an honest review.This story is set in Pennsylvania. A man is found murdered in the woods by a local kid. But what was the motive for killing him? Harry Cull a psychologist with a tragic past is called in to help with the murder investigation. Arriving at the picturesque town of Ice Lake he unravels a web of lies and deceit that leads to the dark heart of a community torn apart by fracking, drugs and murder.A few days later another body is I was voluntarily sent an ARC of this book in return for an honest review.This story is set in Pennsylvania. A man is found murdered in the woods by a local kid. But what was the motive for killing him? Harry Cull a psychologist with a tragic past is called in to help with the murder investigation. Arriving at the picturesque town of Ice Lake he unravels a web of lies and deceit that leads to the dark heart of a community torn apart by fracking, drugs and murder.A few days later another body is found and Harry finds himself on the trail of a twisted killer who will do absolutely anything to keep the town’s darkest secrets buried.I really enjoyed reading 'Ice Lake' and I think this book is a promising start to a new series. I liked the writing style although it took a little bit of getting used to. The snippets of information at the beginning of some of the chapters were quite interesting and I actually felt that I learnt something. I wouldn’t have minded living near Ice Lake. The view from the house Harry was staying in sounded spectacular. I’d probably get fat from eating too many donuts though. I warmed to Harry Cull almost instantly and I liked the banter between him and Trooper Cirba. Cirba was another favourite of mine. There were a few people who could have been responsible for the murders and it did seem as if the investigation wasn’t really going anywhere for a while. But Harry was smart and Cirba knew this. I thought the author did a pretty good job of keeping me guessing who the killer was. He kept me intrigued.I am delighted to have been given the chance to discover yet another new author and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I hope Harry Cull gets involved in many more investigations.
    more
  • Alison
    July 10, 2017
    3.5 StarsThis is the first in a new series by an author I haven’t read before. Ice Lake conjures up all manner of images in mind but I don’t think many of them came to fruition. I do love the cover!Having said that it’s a book that starts with a bang. Local man Big Bill is murdered so State Trooper Ed Cirba calls on his old buddy Harry Cull to come and work his magic in a lie detector capacity. Ex-cop turned psychologist Harry is a great character and his banter with Ed is entertaining .. strip 3.5 StarsThis is the first in a new series by an author I haven’t read before. Ice Lake conjures up all manner of images in mind but I don’t think many of them came to fruition. I do love the cover!Having said that it’s a book that starts with a bang. Local man Big Bill is murdered so State Trooper Ed Cirba calls on his old buddy Harry Cull to come and work his magic in a lie detector capacity. Ex-cop turned psychologist Harry is a great character and his banter with Ed is entertaining .. strip clubs in Vegas included!There are several layers to this book, while they are trying to solve the mystery other issues crop up like fracking, drugs and the ‘mob’. There are levels of social/environmental awareness filtered throughout. Quirky enough so the locals have a saying ‘And that’s no lie’ which immediately makes me think nobody is capable of telling the truth!Set in Pennsylvania, not an area I am familiar with so the descriptive writing was crucial to engage me in the location. Lots of characters and potential suspects for the murder. Harry has his work cut out to try and solve this case. It’s definitely not a fast paced full of action book, more a steady reveal but sufficiently interesting to keep the reader intrigued.It felt like we are just scratching the surface of Harry’s personality so hopefully he will unfold as the series continues. A promising start and one to keep an eye on for the next instalment. 3.5*
    more
  • Jane Hunt
    July 8, 2017
    This story is a mix of cozy mystery and thriller. Set in a small town in Pennsylvania it has delightfully quirky characters that inform the story as well as mislead the reader. Harry is a man with a tragic past and an unusual gift and makes the perfect main character. Ed his state trooper friend makes a great wing man.The setting is well described and intrinsic to the story, there are also lots of details on environmental issues, so popular in stories today.The plot and suspense elements are wel This story is a mix of cozy mystery and thriller. Set in a small town in Pennsylvania it has delightfully quirky characters that inform the story as well as mislead the reader. Harry is a man with a tragic past and an unusual gift and makes the perfect main character. Ed his state trooper friend makes a great wing man.The setting is well described and intrinsic to the story, there are also lots of details on environmental issues, so popular in stories today.The plot and suspense elements are well crafted but the pacing is a little slow for my liking.This said, Ice Lake is an enjoyable read with memorable characters.I received a copy of this book from Harper Collins in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Olga
    July 31, 2017
    4.5 stars.This is an encouraging debut that has all the ingredients of a great thriller. It's well written, full of secrets, suspense and intrigue, some action, murders, drug dealers, gangsters, strippers, romance... But at the same time it's so much more - a sharp and witty portrayal of a small town life, with each character so well drawn out that I feel like I personally know them. The short detours into American history at the beginning of some chapters also added some charm to this gem of a 4.5 stars.This is an encouraging debut that has all the ingredients of a great thriller. It's well written, full of secrets, suspense and intrigue, some action, murders, drug dealers, gangsters, strippers, romance... But at the same time it's so much more - a sharp and witty portrayal of a small town life, with each character so well drawn out that I feel like I personally know them. The short detours into American history at the beginning of some chapters also added some charm to this gem of a story. I absolutely loved this book, which was a breath of fresh air amongst the numerous current thrillers with 'a girl' in the title. 'And that's no lie' (I just couldn't resist, sorry).Many thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for the ARC.
    more
  • Daryl
    July 13, 2017
    great read. i loved tbe shadowmagic series, and this is going to be a great series too, i really look forward to more.
Write a review