Star Witch (The Lazy Girl's Guide To Magic #2)
Lights. Camera. Inaction. Ivy Wilde, the laziest witch in the West, is still entangled with the Hallowed Order of Magical Enlightenment. That's not a bad thing, however, because it gives her plenty of excuses to spend more time with sapphire eyed Raphael Winter, her supposed nemesis. And when he comes knocking because he needs her to spy on the latest series of Enchantment, she jumps at the chance. Hanging around a film set can't be hard ... or dangerous ... right?

Star Witch (The Lazy Girl's Guide To Magic #2) Details

TitleStar Witch (The Lazy Girl's Guide To Magic #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 10th, 2017
Number of pages271 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Star Witch (The Lazy Girl's Guide To Magic #2) Review

  • Anna
    July 10, 2017
    “You’re the laziest person I’ve ever met, Ivy Wilde” The second book of The Lazy Girl's Guide to Magic series was just as good as I hoped it would be. It was full of humor, magic, unexpected developments, some romance and, of course, lots of laziness.So, Winter hadn't reached out to Ivy since their night together, and no matter what Ivy's telling herself, it hurts. And then, he has the gals to show up on her doorsteps with the Ipsissimus in tow, saying that the Order needs her help in solving t “You’re the laziest person I’ve ever met, Ivy Wilde” The second book of The Lazy Girl's Guide to Magic series was just as good as I hoped it would be. It was full of humor, magic, unexpected developments, some romance and, of course, lots of laziness.So, Winter hadn't reached out to Ivy since their night together, and no matter what Ivy's telling herself, it hurts. And then, he has the gals to show up on her doorsteps with the Ipsissimus in tow, saying that the Order needs her help in solving the murder of one of the contestants of the popular TV show. He's lucky that Enchantment is her favorite show, otherwise Ivy would have said no. Probably. Maybe. At first, I did not like the approach Winter was taking with Ivy, he seemed to be behaving as a jerk and I expected better of him. But, over time, gradually they both started behaving as adult (for the most part) and talked things out a bit. And I especially liked what Winter did right in the end. That was admirable.I did not expect the thing that Ipsissimus asked of Ivy, but what really surprised me was how quickly Ivy agreed to his proposal. At first I wasn't really worried, I mean, we have a third book coming out in august, so it can't be that bad, right? But the more time passed, the more alarmed I became. And now, having read the book I have absolutely no clue how things will play out in the future. Oh, and, I don't know about everyone else, but I think Brutus deserves his own book. That cat is so peculiar, you can't help but like him. “I love you to pieces, you miserable bugger, and I’m so happy to have known you.”
    more
  • Whitney (Shooting Stars Reviews)
    July 4, 2017
    Reviewed by Whitney@Shooting Stars ReviewsIvy wants Winter to contact her after their last meeting didn't seem to go so well. But when he does come to her it isn't for a personal reason it is for a job. She will do what she can to help especially after she starts getting strange vibes off of Winter about her laziness. Plus, she will have to work on the set of her favorite show, be around Winter, and try to solve a murder. She can do this, and it will be easy, so she thinks. This book was utterly Reviewed by Whitney@Shooting Stars ReviewsIvy wants Winter to contact her after their last meeting didn't seem to go so well. But when he does come to her it isn't for a personal reason it is for a job. She will do what she can to help especially after she starts getting strange vibes off of Winter about her laziness. Plus, she will have to work on the set of her favorite show, be around Winter, and try to solve a murder. She can do this, and it will be easy, so she thinks. This book was utterly amazing! I adored it! I also loved Winter and Ivy together. They make a great team, and I had more respect for Winter by the end of this one! He was freakin' awesome! I loved Ivy and how she was going to do her best to solve this murder, but also how she was really wanting to get Winter back and she was getting up the nerve to tell him how she really felt. But work kept getting in the way. Add in the fact that she was working on her favorite show, and she was in a happy mood. Until things didn't turn out like she was hoping. There is a major cliffhanger in the end of this book that totally throws you, and wants you wanting more right away. I know you do probably get good news, but it's still the fact that you don't know everything that really throws you off. Now, I can't wait for more this is turning into an amazing series.
    more
  • Gwen
    July 10, 2017
    Helen - You Naughty, Naughty Women!!! You know full well the use of a cliff hanger as a deadly weapon, whether for offense or defense, is strictly prohibited on Goodreads (or it should at least be) and is punishable by 20 lashes with a wet thong!!PS in case you didn't guess ... I loved the book and am looking forward to the next one.
    more
  • Jay Eats Books
    July 10, 2017
    SOOOO GOODThis is by far one of my favorite urban fantasy series. Helen Harper really outdid herself with this one! From the three dimensional characters to the engaging writing and plot, this is a story that is meant to be reread and serialized!
  • Sarah Leenart
    July 11, 2017
    I blasted through this in a day and loved it just as much as Slouch Witch. Ivy is just such a refreshing character, not your traditional loud mouth, leather wearing, sword swinging UF fantasy heroine (which I also love), more of a sofa loving, I'd rather watch it on TV type. However when it comes to saving the world and her fellow humans, Ivy is right at the front of the line when it comes down to it, showing that heroines can come in all shapes and sizes. In fact if you were to recognise yourse I blasted through this in a day and loved it just as much as Slouch Witch. Ivy is just such a refreshing character, not your traditional loud mouth, leather wearing, sword swinging UF fantasy heroine (which I also love), more of a sofa loving, I'd rather watch it on TV type. However when it comes to saving the world and her fellow humans, Ivy is right at the front of the line when it comes down to it, showing that heroines can come in all shapes and sizes. In fact if you were to recognise yourself in a heroine, I think we'd all have a lot in common with Ivy, making her easy to sympathise with. After her last escapade I was pleased to see that she very reasonably had come round to respecting the Order, but still not wanting to be a member. Our very own favourite blue eyed witch Rafe Winter was there, looking out for Ivy, although the both of them were a little unsure of themselves after the events of the last book. It is truly delightful to watch them come around and start to accept each other. However the story is about far more than the romance, and the characters of Enchantment leapt off the page, with the characters of a reality show well portrayed. In fact I suspected everyone at one point and it wasn't until Ivy realised who did it that I came to realise with her. Lots of great excitement and once again Ivy proving she is a truly worthy witch. I am very excited for the release of Spirit Witch, thankfully not far off.
    more
  • Mindy
    July 7, 2017
    Ivy is back with more crazy antics in the second story of the Lazy Girl's Guide to Magic series. This time her and Winter are off to the highlands of Scotland. Would you like to visit Scotland with its beautiful scenery and gorgeous mountains views? What if it included working on a magical game show and trying to stop a man eating creature or two, would you still want to go? Me either but, leave it to our beloved Ivy to toss it all out the window and sign up just so she can be near Winter and ha Ivy is back with more crazy antics in the second story of the Lazy Girl's Guide to Magic series. This time her and Winter are off to the highlands of Scotland. Would you like to visit Scotland with its beautiful scenery and gorgeous mountains views? What if it included working on a magical game show and trying to stop a man eating creature or two, would you still want to go? Me either but, leave it to our beloved Ivy to toss it all out the window and sign up just so she can be near Winter and have the chance to visit the set of her favorite reality show, Enchantment. While I love this addition to the series I seriously want to scream right now. That ending is killing me. How am I supposed to be patient enough to wait until the next book comes out to know what happens next. I hardly have enough patience to wait for food at a drive through window but here I have to wait a whole month before I get to find out what happens next. I need to know what happened to Ivy and Winter next. This is reminding me of the torment I felt waiting to find out if Integrity and Byron would ever get together in Helen Harper's Highland Magic series. However, even with the crazy and torturous cliff hangers that this series has I still love this it and I can not wait for the next book. 5* for Star Witch!
    more
  • Laura
    July 10, 2017
    Book 2 in this urban fantasy series follows Ivy to the set of her favorite 'magical' reality TV show, though the disappointing reality is she has more magic than anyone else there... or does she? A deadly magical murder has taken place.Watching Ivy's arc as she becomes more impassioned about solving the mystery (though she's still hilariously lazy) and about her ex-Order partner, Winter--though this romance got a little cliche at times--made for a dynamic build, which combined with her snappy, i Book 2 in this urban fantasy series follows Ivy to the set of her favorite 'magical' reality TV show, though the disappointing reality is she has more magic than anyone else there... or does she? A deadly magical murder has taken place.Watching Ivy's arc as she becomes more impassioned about solving the mystery (though she's still hilariously lazy) and about her ex-Order partner, Winter--though this romance got a little cliche at times--made for a dynamic build, which combined with her snappy, impatient British humor to facilitate easily sliding into her head. This meant that though the book, like Harper's other novels, is an easy, satisfying read, I got surprisingly emotional near the end when things get dark, intense and dangerous.... and then the cliffhanger! I'm eager for the next book.
    more
  • Sandra
    July 11, 2017
    This was really good. I had no idea who the bad guy was, which is pretty unusual.Ivy is basically stalking Rafe Winter, when the Order offers her a chance to get up close & personal to her favourite reality show "Enchantment". They are filming a survivor type show in the Scottish Highlands. But what the Order don't tell her is that Necromancy is in the air. Lots of suspects, clues all over the place, lots of Ivy trying to skive off work, and zombies, and Winter hanging around trying to work This was really good. I had no idea who the bad guy was, which is pretty unusual.Ivy is basically stalking Rafe Winter, when the Order offers her a chance to get up close & personal to her favourite reality show "Enchantment". They are filming a survivor type show in the Scottish Highlands. But what the Order don't tell her is that Necromancy is in the air. Lots of suspects, clues all over the place, lots of Ivy trying to skive off work, and zombies, and Winter hanging around trying to work out who the bad guy is whilst getting close to Ivy.Waiting for book #3 ... impatiently.
    more
  • Ann Morrill
    July 10, 2017
    Loved itHelen Harper writes a good story which , while it is the same of each time, is just different enough and has slightly different angles to prevent them becoming repetitious and boring. This series is in the same mode, with two hero's that spark off each other with enough electricity to light up the page and keep you amused. I'm looking forward to the next one to see what twist comes next.
    more
  • C.J.
    July 10, 2017
    Wow! A lot happens in this story. The twists and turns were surprising and excellent. So happy that the relationship between Ivy and Rafe moved forward. But I'm pretty sure that ending has killed me. Really glad that the next book is out soon. Recommend.
    more
  • Rebecca
    July 10, 2017
    Amazing sequel! I really, really loved the first book in this series, but the second is even better. Laugh out loud funny at times, this is a fast paced story with well developed characters. I'm counting down the days until book 3 is released!
  • Sarah Newman
    July 11, 2017
    So fun! Not quite as fun as the first book, tbh, but I enjoyed it a lot, and stayed up too late to finish.
  • Srishti
    July 10, 2017
    Enjoyed this book so much. But I still wish there was more interaction between Winter and Ivy.
  • Sami
    July 10, 2017
    3.5Like the first book this one has a few f-words in it. Again, there are no illicit sex scenes. I thought this book was pretty on par with the first book.
  • Salisa
    July 10, 2017
    The series keeps getting better with every book.
Write a review