Diving into Trouble
A submarine, a one-night-stand, and a forbidden workplace romance…Kurt Garland is at a crossroads: sign for another two years as a submariner or leave and rejoin civilian life. With only weeks to make up his mind, he’s torn between the financial stability and mateship of life in the Navy, and the freedom and balance outside of the military. With big life decisions on the line, Kurt needs space to think, so a one-night-stand with a sexy stranger is all he can commit to. Until his sexy stranger shows up on his submarine…Getting accepted into the Submarine Corps was an enormous career goal for Rainy Miller, and she has no intention of screwing it up. A Marine Technician for the last eight years in the surface fleet, Rainy craves the new challenges of a submariner. With her training complete, she’s about to join a boat for the first time, and her career relies on a good impression. When her one night stand shows up in the galley, she has to shut it down, walk away, pretend it never happened. But all submariners know that secrets don’t stay secret for long on a sub.

Diving into Trouble Details

TitleDiving into Trouble
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 12th, 2017
PublisherEscape Publishing
Number of pages160 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, War, Military, Contemporary

Diving into Trouble Review

  • Jennifer
    May 27, 2017
    I will admit to being shallow when it comes to the reason why I chose this book to read on Netgalley. Come on, isn't that a smoking hot cover?? And then when I read the description and found out it was about two people in the (Australian) Navy who work on a submarine? Bonus! I'm a total sucker for military romances, and throw in they are both bubbleheads, even better!I think the one thing that really surprised me was that neither Kurt or Rainy had a stereotypical posting on the boat. Kurt was th I will admit to being shallow when it comes to the reason why I chose this book to read on Netgalley. Come on, isn't that a smoking hot cover?? And then when I read the description and found out it was about two people in the (Australian) Navy who work on a submarine? Bonus! I'm a total sucker for military romances, and throw in they are both bubbleheads, even better!I think the one thing that really surprised me was that neither Kurt or Rainy had a stereotypical posting on the boat. Kurt was the chef in charge of the galley and Rainy a marine technician, which I'm guessing is the equivalent to an engineer in the USN. I thought this was a great twist that was not an issue for either of them, which I almost expected it to be. (In most military romances, the man is always in more of an 'alpha male' role.) For the most part, their relationship is kept off the boat which I thought was a good choice by the author. I think if anything HAD happened, that would have turned the book into a DNF for me because while I can suspend reality while reading, that would have just been too much. That's not to say they didn't get busy while off duty and the boat, and that worked great for me!Shona is a new author for me, so I am definitely looking forward to reading more from her. I'm hoping she'll continue this as a series, especially as I would really like to know more about Blue, hint hint!
    more
  • Aresha
    July 4, 2017
    ***Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review***While this book was off to slow start for me, it quickly picked up and turned out to be a great book. What first attracted me to this book was the cover then I read the blurb and I HAD to have it. When your one-night stand turns out to be your co-worker, it leads to alot of sexual tension and steamy scenes. Normally with Navy/Military romance, the male is always the alpha type but this book was different, with the m ***Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review***While this book was off to slow start for me, it quickly picked up and turned out to be a great book. What first attracted me to this book was the cover then I read the blurb and I HAD to have it. When your one-night stand turns out to be your co-worker, it leads to alot of sexual tension and steamy scenes. Normally with Navy/Military romance, the male is always the alpha type but this book was different, with the male being a chef and the female being a marine technician.Kurt, unsure what to do with his life and only a few weeks to figure it out decides to let off some steam with an attractive stranger he meets at a bar. He enjoyed the time with her and wants to meet her again but imagine his surprise when she turns up as his co-worker on the submarine.Rainy was a bit skeptical about Kurt keeping their past a secret but soon they're unable to stay away from each other. I really liked that they mainly kept their blooming relationship off the sub but the writing style was amazing and this book came together perfectly. Full 5 🌟 earned!For more reviews check out my blog Aresha's Book Corner @ https://Areshasbookcorner.simplesite.com
    more
  • Nellie Rivera
    July 10, 2017
    Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. The book started out a little slow for me, it did pick up a little but it is not like I normally like, but it is a pretty good read. What I did like, is that it is a little different, Kurt is a Chef in the Navy, and he is in a cross road in his life where he does not know what he wants to do, and he ends up having an explosive one-night stand, come to find that it is his co-worker!!! Rainy is just pretty much starting out, and she is a marine tec Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. The book started out a little slow for me, it did pick up a little but it is not like I normally like, but it is a pretty good read. What I did like, is that it is a little different, Kurt is a Chef in the Navy, and he is in a cross road in his life where he does not know what he wants to do, and he ends up having an explosive one-night stand, come to find that it is his co-worker!!! Rainy is just pretty much starting out, and she is a marine technician, and while they do not want the others to know about that night, it is pretty uncomfortable, but the chemistry and tension can not be denied. They did respect the work place but they could not stay away from each other, you will have to read it, to know what happens... Did also enjoy the secondary characters and hope to read there stories next. Enjoy!
    more
  • Pam H
    July 18, 2017
    This was a very pleasant surprise. The books opens with Rainy Miller walking into a bar with her sister and friends and is immediately spotted by Kurt Garland. Rainy is out celebrating her sisters' birthday so when Kurt approaches and asks to buy her a drink, she turns him down but lets him know she was interested. He jokingly suggests they meet the following week and she agrees. Kurt is more than surprised when this beautiful woman warms to his suggestion and is even more surprised at their "da This was a very pleasant surprise. The books opens with Rainy Miller walking into a bar with her sister and friends and is immediately spotted by Kurt Garland. Rainy is out celebrating her sisters' birthday so when Kurt approaches and asks to buy her a drink, she turns him down but lets him know she was interested. He jokingly suggests they meet the following week and she agrees. Kurt is more than surprised when this beautiful woman warms to his suggestion and is even more surprised at their "date" the following weekend when Rainy suggests he come home with her. Rainy is beginning her new post on the submarine Ellis the following morning and wants one night of love before she dives head first into the next phase of her career. Lust and passion rule the night as Rainy and Kurt, having a week to anticipate the meeting, share tidbits about their life and work not bothering to add the details. After hot sex and yummy dessert, thinking it would be just the one night - Rainy is surprised when Kurt suggests that next time he would make her breakfast at his place.Even more surprising is when they meet each other on the submarine the next day where Rainy has just been assigned and Kurt is the head cook. Can they keep their forbidden romance a secret - the dilemma they both face. I liked the dialogue, pace and characters of this book. The writer stayed away from cliches so common with military romance books. It was a pleasure to read.
    more
  • Bec
    July 17, 2017
    ReviewLast updated on 17 Jul 2017I was worried this would be another cheesy romance novel and very typical.I was happily disappointed and enjoyed this read very much.The 2 main characters Kurt & Rainy came across as real people, their thoughts and actions I found to be not just another couple in a romance novel.Yes they had obstacles to overcome and the usual angst that comes with a good romance novel but it came across in a more realistic way than other books I have read in this type.I like ReviewLast updated on 17 Jul 2017I was worried this would be another cheesy romance novel and very typical.I was happily disappointed and enjoyed this read very much.The 2 main characters Kurt & Rainy came across as real people, their thoughts and actions I found to be not just another couple in a romance novel.Yes they had obstacles to overcome and the usual angst that comes with a good romance novel but it came across in a more realistic way than other books I have read in this type.I liked the detail of their navy way of life, the camaraderie between the sailors and the way their life affects them all and their families.I feel lucky to have received this book for free in return for an honest review and it was a pleasure.
    more
  • Tamara
    July 15, 2017
    3.5 stars
  • C bond
    May 23, 2017
    netgalleyan ok read.
  • Melanie
    June 6, 2017
    Kurt is a chef on a submarine, trying to decide what he wants from life. Rainy is just starting out as marine technician. Kurt has a one night stand with her... before he realizes they will be working together. There is a little tension over whether or not they want a relationship. I really liked the characters chemistry. I thought the supporting characters were great, I'd be interested in reading more about them for sure. I definitely appreciated the authors writing style.
    more
  • Shona
    May 10, 2017
Write a review