The Undercurrent
Eighteen-year-old Julianne De Marchi is different. As in: she has an electrical undercurrent beneath her skin that stings and surges like a live wire. She can use it—to spark a fire, maybe even end a life—but she doesn’t understand what it is. And she can barely control it, especially when she’s anxious.Ryan Walsh was on track for a stellar football career when his knee blew out. Now he’s a soldier—part of an experimental privatised military unit that has identified Jules De Marchi as a threat. Is it because of the weird undercurrent she’s tried so hard to hide? Or because of her mother Angie’s history as an activist against bio-engineering and big business?It’s no coincidence that Ryan and Jules are in the same place at the same time—he’s under orders to follow her, after all. But then an explosive attack on a city building by an unknown enemy throws them together in the most violent and unexpected way.Paula Weston, author of the much-admired Rephaim series, returns with a standalone work: a futuristic thriller that is only slightly futuristic—but utterly and undeniably thrilling. Great writing, heart-burning characters, probing questions about where technology is taking us—and a plot that zips and zings like an electrical current itself. This is a great young-adult writerat the peak of her powers.

The Undercurrent Details

TitleThe Undercurrent
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 31st, 2017
PublisherText Publishing
Number of pages383 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal

The Undercurrent Review

  • Pat
    May 30, 2017
    Wow - I couldn't put this down. It's stunning!
  • Nadia King
    July 5, 2017
    Utterly electrifying - review to come.
  • Kelly (Diva Booknerd)
    June 17, 2017
    Absolutely loved it. Review to come.
  • Tara
    July 28, 2017
    Wow, what a ride!! Paula Weston is one of my favourite authors and The Undercurrent did not disappoint. I instantly connected with Jules and felt her pain and anger as well as her love for her mother. It also felt like I was reading at full throttle from the beginning, getting through the book in three sittings but I think I was holding my breath the whole time, just waiting to see what on earth was going to happen next. Ryan was another character I connected with (and yes i developed a crush) a Wow, what a ride!! Paula Weston is one of my favourite authors and The Undercurrent did not disappoint. I instantly connected with Jules and felt her pain and anger as well as her love for her mother. It also felt like I was reading at full throttle from the beginning, getting through the book in three sittings but I think I was holding my breath the whole time, just waiting to see what on earth was going to happen next. Ryan was another character I connected with (and yes i developed a crush) and him and Jules on the same page together always caused the sparks to fly. I enjoyed the story and the characters as it was all very authentic and it was a place I can see for the not very distant future. Such a great read which now that I have finished, has left me feeling like I need a recharge....maybe with some other Paula Weston books!This arrived in my mailbox today - everything else I was reading is now on hold for I can't not read a Paula Weston book straight away!
    more
  • Ariana
    April 7, 2017
    All that I found a while back about this book...SYNOPSIS: Eighteen-year-old Julianne De Marchi is different. As in: she has an electrical undercurrent beneath her skin that stings and surges like a live wire. She can use it—to spark a fire, maybe even end a life—but she doesn’t understand what it is. And she can barely control it, especially when she’s anxious.Ryan Walsh was on track for a stellar football career when his knee blew out. Now he’s asoldier—part of an experimental privatised milita All that I found a while back about this book...SYNOPSIS: Eighteen-year-old Julianne De Marchi is different. As in: she has an electrical undercurrent beneath her skin that stings and surges like a live wire. She can use it—to spark a fire, maybe even end a life—but she doesn’t understand what it is. And she can barely control it, especially when she’s anxious.Ryan Walsh was on track for a stellar football career when his knee blew out. Now he’s asoldier—part of an experimental privatised military unit that has identified Jules De Marchias a threat. Is it because of the weird undercurrent she’s tried so hard to hide? Or because ofher mother Angie’s history as an activist against bio-engineering and big business?It’s no coincidence that Ryan and Jules are in the same place at the same time—he’s under orders to follow her, after all. But then an explosive attack on a city building by an unknown enemy throws them together in the most violent and unexpected way.Paula Weston, author of the much-admired Rephaim series, returns with a standalone work:a futuristic thriller that is only slightly futuristic—but utterly and undeniably thrilling. Greatwriting, heart-burning characters, probing questions about where technology is taking us—and a plot that zips and zings like an electrical current itself. This is a great young-adult writerat the peak of her powers. But, how cool does it sound, huh?!Who is just as excited as I am about this story?
    more
  • Christine Bongers
    June 26, 2017
    Paula Weston's new spec fiction thriller is a high-voltage ride through a futuristic Australia where government agencies, big business and a privatised military unit battle over a teenage girl whose existence threatens global business interests. Sizzling with narrative energy, sexual tension and engaging characters, The Undercurrent is a smart and sassy addition to Weston's already impressive body of work. Brisneylanders, please join me in conversation with Paula Weston at Riverbend Books on 3 A Paula Weston's new spec fiction thriller is a high-voltage ride through a futuristic Australia where government agencies, big business and a privatised military unit battle over a teenage girl whose existence threatens global business interests. Sizzling with narrative energy, sexual tension and engaging characters, The Undercurrent is a smart and sassy addition to Weston's already impressive body of work. Brisneylanders, please join me in conversation with Paula Weston at Riverbend Books on 3 August to launch The Undercurrent. An absolute cracker of a read!
    more
  • Trisha
    June 18, 2017
    What a ride!! Gripping and tense.Loved the MCs. Great matching pair.
  • Amanda
    July 17, 2017
    DNF @ approx. 35% :( I'll give more details on why once the embargo date has passed.
  • Elena
    July 14, 2017
    Electrifying story with unpredictable turns and superpower in action. I highly recommend it to teenagers/ young adults.
  • Jaime Arkin
    June 2, 2017
  • Pauline
    June 1, 2017
    Full review upon release.
  • Text Publishing
    May 10, 2017
    ‘Late for dinner, late for work, late late late. Thanks so much, Paula Weston. I picked upShimmer and forgot everything else.’Adelaide Advertiser‘Superbly written, action-packed fiction with interesting, brilliantly flawed characters.’Fictional Thoughts‘Some books you crave. You keep returning to the cover art and re-reading the blurb, you stalk the authors’ Twitter, Tumblr, Goodreads profiles in the hopes of gleaning morsels of information…you count-down to release day. Paula Weston is somethin ‘Late for dinner, late for work, late late late. Thanks so much, Paula Weston. I picked upShimmer and forgot everything else.’Adelaide Advertiser‘Superbly written, action-packed fiction with interesting, brilliantly flawed characters.’Fictional Thoughts‘Some books you crave. You keep returning to the cover art and re-reading the blurb, you stalk the authors’ Twitter, Tumblr, Goodreads profiles in the hopes of gleaning morsels of information…you count-down to release day. Paula Weston is something special indeed.’ALPHA reader‘A fast-paced, sensational ride, which screams “read me”.’Scott Moore, South Australian Weekend Review‘The Undercurrent has everything you could possibly ask for in a YA novel—illegal human experimentation, military groups for hire, companies with hidden agendas, government mismanagement of environmental threats, romance, X-Men-style abilities, a nuanced mother-daughter relationship and non-stop action and intrigue. The characters are endearing and believable, the romance meaningful without being saccharine and the plot races along with impeccable timing…The Undercurrent is a worthy companion to beloved Australian speculative novels such as The Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn and John Marsden’s Tomorrow series.’Books + Publishing‘The Undercurrent is a real rollercoaster of a read, packed full of thrills and tension and non-stop action. The characters are captivating and nuanced. The plot is fast-paced and high-powered. Most importantly, it is a tightly written and eminently satisfying standalone book.’Booktopia‘The Undercurrent is gripping and action-packed…Paula Weston has created an ambitious thrilled that presents us with an alarming look at Australia’s near future and where our technological advances could be taking us.’Readings
    more
  • Dianne
    July 28, 2017
    I haven't started yet. I am going to Paula's signing on thursday and greatly looking forward to it.
Write a review