Shattered King (Lawless Kings, #1)
He’s after the woman who helped put him behind bars. She’s been in hiding for three years raising the son he doesn’t know about.Holding a grudge has never felt so good.Shattered King is an intense, ultra-sexy standalone novel set in the world of the Lawless Kings. Sherilee Gray’s raw, hard, beautiful, deeply-emotional voice will leave you breathless long after the last page.

Shattered King (Lawless Kings, #1) Details

TitleShattered King (Lawless Kings, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherSwerve
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Sociology, Abuse, Suspense, Adult Fiction, Erotica

Shattered King (Lawless Kings, #1) Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    June 18, 2017
    Shattered King is the first book in a brand new series by Sherilee Gray, Lawless Kings. I have long been a devoted fan of Sherilee’s books. I have read every single book she has written. I’ve been so anxious to get started on this new series, to see what she has in store for us this time. And I was blown away. In my opinion, this is a little darker than some of her other books. Her writing is intense, suspenseful, and amazing. I couldn’t put it down.Hunter King spent three years in prison for a Shattered King is the first book in a brand new series by Sherilee Gray, Lawless Kings. I have long been a devoted fan of Sherilee’s books. I have read every single book she has written. I’ve been so anxious to get started on this new series, to see what she has in store for us this time. And I was blown away. In my opinion, this is a little darker than some of her other books. Her writing is intense, suspenseful, and amazing. I couldn’t put it down.Hunter King spent three years in prison for a crime he didn’t commit. He’s out now and working with his brother at their Private Investigative business. Hunter is consumed with anger, hatred, and the need for revenge for the person that put him in prison, the person he had loved and trusted more than any other, Lulu. Now, he needs information from Lulu but more than that, he wants answers. He wants her to look him in the eye and tell him why she did it. To tell him that the two years they spent together, loved each other, was all a lie. So, Hunter kidnaps Lulu. Only putting himself within close proximity to the woman he loved more than life itself, the woman he now hated more than life itself, has an effect on his body he didn’t expect, an effect he doesn’t want. There is a fine line between love and hate, and he is walking that line like a tightrope. “She was my drug, my poison. The best, and worst thing that had ever happened to me.” Lulu has been gone for three years, running from her step father, a man who is made of evil itself. But she had to surface, to come back, for her mother. To see her one last time. But Lulu can’t let anyone know her secret, her reason for living, her little two year old son, Josh. A little boy with eyes the exact same color as Hunter’s. She knew Hunter was out of prison but all she wants is to see her mother, then she can disappear again. But Hunter has different plans for her. Seeing him again brought back everything, all the good and the bad. She never stopped loving him, would never stop. But Hunter hates her for what she did. He would never believe her even if she told him the truth about what happened. This is a story about a second chance at love. These two people loved each other deeply. But an evil, possessive step father manipulated them both and took three years away from them. There is so much to work through for these two to find their way back to each other. Hunter stole my heart. Once he knew what was going on, once he understood what happened, he was fully committed to being the man that Lulu deserves, to being the father little Josh deserves. He was a tough as nails man, but he loved with his whole heart. “I hadn’t given her many reasons to trust me since I’d been back in her life, but I’d make sure I proved I was worthy of it. I’d prove it to her every day, for the rest of our lives.” This book has a little bit of everything. Sherilee writes smokin hot sexy scenes and this book has plenty of them. This book is also really suspenseful as Lulu, Hunter, and the other members of the agency, try to stop the man who has brought so much pain and darkness to their lives. Who continues to threaten Lulu and Hunter and won’t stop until he is caught. And Hunter has some pretty explicit plans for how he wants to make him pay for what he has done. There are also plenty of sweet moments, especially with adorable little Josh. I am over the moon for this book and can’t wait for the next in the series, Broken Rebel, which will be Neco and Ruby’s story.
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    June 9, 2017
    This cover is OK. a good representation of the hero. The composition is ok. I probably would have centered the photo of the model. The typography is eye-catching.I really rather enjoyed this one. It reminded me a lot of my all time favorite series ROCK CHICK. It had the same type of vibe to it. I found it to be well-written and nicely paced. It had angst. It had no OW drama. It had some OM drama. It had adorable hero-kid action. It had an excellent cast of secondary characters. Who doesn't love This cover is OK. a good representation of the hero. The composition is ok. I probably would have centered the photo of the model. The typography is eye-catching.I really rather enjoyed this one. It reminded me a lot of my all time favorite series ROCK CHICK. It had the same type of vibe to it. I found it to be well-written and nicely paced. It had angst. It had no OW drama. It had some OM drama. It had adorable hero-kid action. It had an excellent cast of secondary characters. Who doesn't love hot alpha men with guns? That said I am a little on the fence about the next book (Neco & Ruby's). I am not really a fan when one-half of the potential couple wants the other and has to sit around watching him sleep with OW. Fingers crossed at least Ruby got herself some as well and wasn't sitting around pining. It also had two very likable main characters. The first 30% of this one will make it hard for you to like Hunter. He took his anger too far (IMO) with Lulu. I also found it hard to buy into that in all those three years he sat in prison it never ONCE crossed his mind that MAYBE just MAYBE all wasn't as it appeared. If I had been Lulu, I would have never given him a second chance. NOW, when he does finally pull his head out of his ass he is very much an impressive, smokin' hot, alpha male. The likes of which I eat up by the spoonful. Lulu was also extremely likable. I felt for her. She had a lot of shit happen to her and kept moving forward.So this would have been a total 5-Stars read had it not been for two things. One, he was way TOO over the top mean and cruel to her for the first 30% of this book. I get he was angry and hurt and thought she screwed him over but causing physical injuries and treating her like a whore especially in light of what we learn happened to her three years prior, turned me off of him. The author took it a bit too far for my liking. Second, was the unnecessary mentions of her hooking up in a bathroom once with OM during the three years he was in prison and the whole OW scene with a stripper where we find out he was screwing her off and on since he got out of jail. We find this out at 65% and by that point, I was harboring the belief that they both hadn't been with others since before he got sent to prison. I failed to see why that needed to be added to the story as it causes ZERO issues with the couple. And it being introduced that late into the book had the unfortunate effect of cheapening the romance these two shared. I was quite happy thinking they had both remained celibate and I would have rated the book a half star more had that been left out.So ya, like I said I enjoyed it a lot. It wasn't perfect and I wish the author had used a lighter hand in the beginning and left out the seemingly unnecessary details about them hooking up with others, but it still gets a two thumbs up from yours truly.
    more
  • Leonor
    June 28, 2017
    👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼OH hell f*cking NO!!!!!!!! It's never f*cking ok to manhandled a woman like this... NO MATTER WHAT SHE DOES OR DID!! This is just plain abuse. And that's why I'm f*cking rating it.“I had my hand on the door handle when someone grabbed me from behind, slamming me into the car.I grunted, the wind knocked from me, my head colliding with edge of the roof from the impact. A rough hand grabbed my hair, fingers tugging and fisting the strands. I reached back and scratched the arm attached, suckin 👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼OH hell f*cking NO!!!!!!!! It's never f*cking ok to manhandled a woman like this... NO MATTER WHAT SHE DOES OR DID!! This is just plain abuse. And that's why I'm f*cking rating it.“I had my hand on the door handle when someone grabbed me from behind, slamming me into the car.I grunted, the wind knocked from me, my head colliding with edge of the roof from the impact. A rough hand grabbed my hair, fingers tugging and fisting the strands. I reached back and scratched the arm attached, sucking in pained, gasping breaths.Eyes watering, I let out a shriek and kicked back as hard as I could, connecting with something.Whoever held me growled and spun me around. I sucked in a sharp breath when familiar blue eyes burned down at me.I started to shake.And before my brain had time to fully process the consequences of Hunter’s presence here, pure joy rushed though me.It only lasted a second, because I quickly became aware of how hard and cold those eyes were. The dark edge, the disdain. The joy was instantly replaced with dread, and another round of adrenaline fired through my veins. I jerked out of his hold, taking him off guard. Ignoring the pain in my head, and the ache in my gut, I ran. Ran as fast as I could. I had no idea where I was going, just that I had to get away"“Strong arms came around me from behind, yanking me off my feet. I struggled, but it was useless. Still, I fought for all I was worth. He spun me around again, pressing me into the cold steel of the car behind me.He was breathing heavily, those piercing blue eyes boring into me, that hard body a relentless wall, blocking me from escape. “When you run away, you make me think you aren’t you happy to see me, Lulu.”I was shaking violently now. “I . . . I . . . Hunter . . .”He shook his head. “Shut up.”“Let me go . . . I . . .”He covered my mouth with one hand, pinned me to the side of the car with his body, then pulling his phone from his back pocket, keyed in a text. When he was done, he grabbed my upper arm and pulled me away roughly, leading me across the road. Opening the driver’s side door of a black SUV, he shoved me in, then kept coming, forcing me to scramble over to the passenger side. He slammed the door shut, fingers still gripping my arm, and flipped open the glove compartment to pull something out. Taking my wrist, he latched on . . . cuffs “I started to struggle again.“Come quietly or I’ll stun gun your ass.”I stopped struggling. I didn’t doubt he’d do it.He attached the other cuff to something below the seat, so I was forced forward, my face resting on the dash. This position made my head throb harder and put pressure on my aching belly. I was this close to puking”She was treated like this by the f*cking ZERO I don't f*cking cared if ZERO thinks it's her fault he went to jail but A MAN SHOULD NEVER MISTREAT A WOMAN!!!And of course CANT forget this.. ===>>“I’m not gonna lie to you. When I got out of prison, I fucked around. I went without pussy for a long time. You were lost to me, so I worked at making up for it.” He brushed my hair back at the side of my face. Or forget that the heroine was dropping her panties after she was manhandled by the zero. 😤🙄So swooning right?? (NOT)
    more
  • Claire Robinson
    June 25, 2017
    3.5 - "You're mine... I take care of what's mine." Stars!Its LIVE!Amazon US – http://a.co/1XYYovsAmazon UK – http://amzn.eu/7Q7Sa2BB&N - https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shat...Sherilee Gray, begins the new Lawless Kings series; Shattered King, with Hunter King’s story, second chance love if you will, but with the added bonus of a little action and adventure.On the whole this was a pretty good read, Sherilee gives good Alpha, and Hunter offered up all the attributes that I have come to now e 3.5 - "You're mine... I take care of what's mine." Stars!Its LIVE!Amazon US – http://a.co/1XYYovsAmazon UK – http://amzn.eu/7Q7Sa2BB&N - https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shat...Sherilee Gray, begins the new Lawless Kings series; Shattered King, with Hunter King’s story, second chance love if you will, but with the added bonus of a little action and adventure.On the whole this was a pretty good read, Sherilee gives good Alpha, and Hunter offered up all the attributes that I have come to now expect from one of her heroes. Dark, broody, demanding, inked-up and always ready to throw down for his woman. The first half of this book really kept me on my toes, the author is essentially setting up the series with the introduction of King Agency and its main players, around Hunter and Lulu’s reconnection. You understand very quickly that Hunter is a man who is out for revenge and answers from those who played a part in sending him to prison for the last three or so years. First and foremost the woman he loved – Lulu, and followed closely by her step-father Pierce."You’re already gone. You’re dead to me. You don’t fucking exist."Lulu we discover has pretty much kept herself and her secrets hidden since Hunter’s incarceration, moving from one town to the next, taking jobs on a cash basis, and changing her name to avoid detection. But has now been forced to return back to town due to her mother’s ailing health, the risk is high, especially as her responsibilities go further than just herself now, but she cannot let her mother pass without seeing her one last time. Not mincing words, but Hunter basically kidnaps her and holds her in a remote cabin for the next couple of days, and treats her like a caged animal. Their interactions are harsh, language hurtful, and sex is definitely what I would class as angry. But I understood the reasonings for it, betrayal by those we love is a painful motivator. I’d always known he’d come for me… It was only a matter of time, and I’d known there sure as hell wouldn’t be a happy reunion. The second half of the book is pretty much where both Hunter and Lulu start to understand more about each other and the threat they are dealing with in her step-father, but the author also goes more into the reasons why Lulu did what she did in order to send him to prison, and it’s not a pretty story. She was my drug, my poison. The best, and worst thing that had ever happened to me. For me, and the reason why I have rated the book as I have, I just felt those issues weren’t given the depth of development or gravity they deserved within the story, if you are going to go to the darker side of human behavior with the tropes you use for a particular character, you need to make sure they are used in a constructive way, for me they just felt like excuses at times, and everything pretty much revolved around sex. Don’t get me wrong the author writes scorching hot sexy-times, but (and I cannot believe I am going to say this) there was just far too much of it. Lulu’s issues and everything playing our between the two of them were basically resolved or bought back to sex almost every time, and it didn’t work for me after a while."We do what we have to do to get the job done."That said, it wasn’t a struggle to read, the rest of the guys involved with King Agency including Hunters brother; Van all look promising in regards to having their own stories told in the future, and with Ruby and Neco’s book due for release in October; Broken Rebel we don’t have too long to wait for the next installment.My last whinge, and this is personal taste rather than anything else (view spoiler)[neck tattoos on a woman, in any way and for any reason, no just no. (hide spoiler)]ARC generously provided via Netgalley, in exchange for the above honest review.
    more
  • Mindy Lou's Book Reviews
    June 22, 2017
    This is the second book I have read from this author and one of the things that sticks out most for me is her ability to write and convey the intensity of the relationship between the main characters. It's not something you see too often and an aspect I love to read in my books. Another aspect I have was impressed with is her ability to not have me wanting to rush past the first part of the book when Hunter thought Lulu betrayed him. I'm all about getting to the part where the couple work togeth This is the second book I have read from this author and one of the things that sticks out most for me is her ability to write and convey the intensity of the relationship between the main characters. It's not something you see too often and an aspect I love to read in my books. Another aspect I have was impressed with is her ability to not have me wanting to rush past the first part of the book when Hunter thought Lulu betrayed him. I'm all about getting to the part where the couple work together not against each other. When the author had me just as enthralled with this part, I consider that a win. It actually showed me just how much these two cared for each other and made the truth come out even sweeter.The story was fast paced, had great side characters that will eventually get their own standalone books and great chemistry. The story is on the darker side with reference to rape and violence. ARC provided by NetGalley
    more
  • Carvanz
    June 24, 2017
    Wow, I absolutely loved this book! It had a little darker taste to it, which I really liked, as well as one of the best alpha heroes I’ve read in a while. The beginning is pretty iffy because Hunter is angry over the fact that Lulu framed him for arson and he had to spend three years in prison. However, I never once felt like he crossed a line. This author did an amazing job of coloring this story with a tint of blackness without going overboard. That made the second part that much sweeter. Once Wow, I absolutely loved this book! It had a little darker taste to it, which I really liked, as well as one of the best alpha heroes I’ve read in a while. The beginning is pretty iffy because Hunter is angry over the fact that Lulu framed him for arson and he had to spend three years in prison. However, I never once felt like he crossed a line. This author did an amazing job of coloring this story with a tint of blackness without going overboard. That made the second part that much sweeter. Once Hunter’s eyes are open he is all over claiming what is his. It was quite delicious! This was fast paced with some incredible secondary characters that I absolutely cannot wait to read more of. Josh, her two year old, was written perfectly. (I know some readers have trouble with how children are portrayed.) Lulu did make a couple of questionable, okay TSTL, moments but I understood her thought process and accepted her decisions. There is definitely some triggers in this so be forewarned going in if you are sensitive to such things. Altogether, this is definitely a book I would recommend to anyone who likes things a little darker as well as a hero that is protective and possessive. You will not go wrong choosing this one.ARC provided for an honest reviewDual POVSome OW drama but the H takes care of it – he doesn’t even see another woman after reuniting with his h.Safety – both H/h have been with someone else at least once during their separationTriggers - (view spoiler)[Rape and abuse (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Betul
    June 14, 2017
    **ARC provided in exchange for an honest review**3.75 starsI either end up loving or hating sexy contemporary second-chance romance stories starring alpha males, where one of the main characters starts off hating the other. This types of plots with some suspense thrown into it has been done pretty often. So finding a book with these characteristics and it holding my attention isn't that easy. I was glad that Shattered King was able to do that. The characters weren't cliche and I found Lulu to be **ARC provided in exchange for an honest review**3.75 starsI either end up loving or hating sexy contemporary second-chance romance stories starring alpha males, where one of the main characters starts off hating the other. This types of plots with some suspense thrown into it has been done pretty often. So finding a book with these characteristics and it holding my attention isn't that easy. I was glad that Shattered King was able to do that. The characters weren't cliche and I found Lulu to be refreshing. The choices she made were very difficult, but I understood why she made them. Hunter's anger and need for vengeance was understandable, because of his love for Lulu. Thinking the love of your life has betrayed you must break your heart and turn you into someone who doesn't trust easily. The author took her time for them to work through everything. In a lot of books things are rushed and it makes it harder for readers to connect with the characters. However Sherilee did a great job in showcasing the love they still had for each other. Even when Hunter wanted to hate Lulu, there were moments that his love was evident. I loved Hunter's interaction with Lulu's son Josh. Hunter is very responsible, protective and possessive. The sex scenes between Lulu and Hunter were HOT! I could've done with one or two less of them, because I skipped a few of them to get back to the story. I also really loved that the author showed them in a setting when the danger was over. Lulu has to make a difficult decision and I enjoyed how the author handled that. Those little things set this book apart from the others in this genre. I am looking forward to the next book in the series, and I really hope that all the side characters will get their own book.
    more
  • Kate's Corner
    June 19, 2017
    3 whiplash stars - I'm not getting my ratings at the moment. Changed rating from 4 to 3 stars. I just finished this book and I’m all over the place. In some parts but in a good way and in others not so much.I requested the book because of the cover and then I read the blurb. I was all for it. I mean peeps look at that cover it is worth a mention. I also never ever thought that I would say this but there was far too much sex in the book. I felt exhausted and drained because they never got to the 3 whiplash stars - I'm not getting my ratings at the moment. Changed rating from 4 to 3 stars. I just finished this book and I’m all over the place. In some parts but in a good way and in others not so much.I requested the book because of the cover and then I read the blurb. I was all for it. I mean peeps look at that cover it is worth a mention. I also never ever thought that I would say this but there was far too much sex in the book. I felt exhausted and drained because they never got to the point where they needed to talk about shite, they’d just screw each other’s brains out. The sex outweighed the emotional bond that I wanted to see with them. We’d go one step forward and then three steps back. There is a high amount of angst in the book which I enjoyed but there was also a lot of unnecessary drama in my opinion. But in saying that I also enjoyed the pace of the book. I’m contradicting myself here in so many ways. Let’s talk about the main characters in the book. Hunter King grew up in a home filled with abuse. He came out of it stronger. He met Lulu and wanted to change his life around until a choice was made that he didn’t understand at the time. Three years later his demons are still keeping him chained. While on a job his past catches up with him and blinded by anger he takes things to our heroine too far. IMO. Lulu lied to save Hunter and ran to save her unborn child. It was the right thing to do although it cut them both deep. She is back in New York as her mother is dying. Her past with her stepfather is truly appalling and I have no words to convey the sickness I felt when it came to that particular part of the book. They say there is a fine line between love and hate and I agree but the way Hunter treated Lulu was despicable. Their bodies wanted one another but their minds didn’t. It didn’t always feel consensual. This is just MY OPINION. When the truth comes out Hunter does a 180 so yeah bipolar. I’m not trying to ridicule bipolar people here. K? Although he made up for a lot of things I just couldn’t have gotten over it. Lulu should have told him everything sooner, the trickle of information that came was always a little too late. She isn’t to blame for what Hunter did to her but it all could have stopped if she’d said something sooner. No matter if they all hadn’t believed her. Maybe she felt as if she deserved it. All in all, I enjoyed the book, the author does an excellent job of captivating you. It is gritty, raw and hard to take in places. Her writing style is good. A solid start to the series and I will read the next one. There are strong themes in this book that contains violence, abuse and attempted rape. It won’t be for everyone. Review can also be found @ http://jerisbookattic-reviewblog.blog...
    more
  • Laurie
    June 28, 2017
    DNF at 38%. Warning: Spoilery RantFrom the beginning I had a hard time understanding why the heroine kept everything to herself, not sharing what her stepfather was doing to her the second she got a chance. Sure when she was younger I understood her fear, but as soon as she got serious with Hunter she should have let it be known. To let him go down for arson was crazy, threats or not, especially considering his occupation.Then she comes back, gets captured by Hunter, knows her son is in danger a DNF at 38%. Warning: Spoilery RantFrom the beginning I had a hard time understanding why the heroine kept everything to herself, not sharing what her stepfather was doing to her the second she got a chance. Sure when she was younger I understood her fear, but as soon as she got serious with Hunter she should have let it be known. To let him go down for arson was crazy, threats or not, especially considering his occupation.Then she comes back, gets captured by Hunter, knows her son is in danger and doesn't say a word about anything. TSTL. Don't even get me started on the sex scenes. Geez.As for Hunter, I get he was angry but he crossed more than a few lines when he caught up with her. He passed asshole territory and went straight to abusive douchenozzle.I tried to finish it, but at the hospital scene when he flops back and forth on her so many times, I was over it. Especially when the parentage of Josh came into question. Ugh. I was just done at that point.
    more
  • Lacey (Booklovers For Life)
    June 21, 2017
    3.5 stars!! Started off amazing and strong, but tapered off a bit towards the middle, focusing too much on sex and nothing else. Still, I enjoyed it overall (the sex was still hot ;)). Review to come!Thanks to the publisher for generously providing me an ARC to review.
    more
  • Rejane
    July 1, 2017
    https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...I thought about just getting enough reasons. These 3 reviews are enough reasons. Ewwwwww for this book
  • Shari Kay
    June 19, 2017
    not for mehttps://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
  • A Klue
    July 1, 2017
    Well, folks, I’m finding myself agreeing with the reviewers who felt Hunter, the hero, crossed a line in the very beginning with his physically abusive actions and hateful verbal assault against Lulu, (aka Lucinda), the heroine. Sure, I know rough, manhandling people came second nature to him because of his job. Yes, he was beyond ticked at her perceived betrayal, but I’m not fond of a hero acting the way he did. Honestly, I tried to shrug it off, chalk it up to temporarily being completely out Well, folks, I’m finding myself agreeing with the reviewers who felt Hunter, the hero, crossed a line in the very beginning with his physically abusive actions and hateful verbal assault against Lulu, (aka Lucinda), the heroine. Sure, I know rough, manhandling people came second nature to him because of his job. Yes, he was beyond ticked at her perceived betrayal, but I’m not fond of a hero acting the way he did. Honestly, I tried to shrug it off, chalk it up to temporarily being completely out of control, and obviously not in his right mind. It was his abusive bedroom behavior that happened shortly afterward that really made that next to impossible to do. Especially after learning about the repeated abuse Lulu had endured at the hands of another sub-character.Lulu looked a little loco to me at times. Giving in because her body just couldn’t help itself during the bedroom scenes I just mentioned didn’t work for me. No, I wanted this girl to woman up/get beyond ticked off herself, fly him the mental middle finger, and make him feel like the (blankety, blank, blank) he was acting. We were certainly given instances where she was a fighter, so I wasn’t fond of the scenes where she wasn’t. She could be tough, but I shook my head at the times she was a doormat. Considering her past and current situation, she deserved to be the former only and none of the latter. Yeah, this girl earned that right, and I wanted it for her. She may have been stupid at times (i.e. not telling Hunter the truth right up front), but she certainly would do anything to protect those she loved. At 65%, I realized this now apologetic, possessive, protective, alpha hero should have made me feel 100% better about him. Afterall, he and his posse of friends/co-workers were now dedicated to being there for her and Josh. Well, I’ll applaud them for that. Hunter certainly did a complete turnaround once he discovered the truth and couldn’t do enough for her. You finally saw the man he was supposed to be from the very start. However, when he opened his mouth and asked her if she was on the pill before a smexy scene, I had flashbacks to the beginning where he didn’t ask or even seem to care about that aspect before taking advantage of her very abusively. How was the actual writing? Well, it seemed to flow and on numerous occasions became a very erotic read. Lusty language, graphic depictions, well, you get the idea. Just know there was quite a bit of it. In fact, more than I felt was necessary, so I found myself skimming over it. There was also some predictability. I had Pierce, the evil stepfather, pegged right from the start. There were some key things I figured out before being told (i.e. Josh’s parentage/Pierce’s supposed demise).The rape references/attempted rape scenes I could have definitely lived without. It had me thinking the author was once again going OTT when it wasn’t necessary. But that is likely me personally, folks. That’s just a road I prefer not to travel in my romantic reads.My favorite part was naturally seeing the main couple heal old wounds together and start bonding as a family. It was nice to see a humble Hunter who now felt he had a heck of a lot to make up for. I also enjoyed the roles Hunter’s alpha male compadres were contributing and found myself wanting to know more about them. I think it is a safe bet they each will eventually get their own HEA in this series.In summary, this one ventured into a darkness I prefer to avoid. But again I’m not fond of seeing a heroine go through this type of abuse. Maybe a FACT vs OPINION review would have been more appropriate here. Ultimately, it is up to you to decide what you will or will not tolerate in a romantic read. Here’s to hoping my review has been helpful in some way in helping you determine if this book is a good fit for you.Romance Safety Gang: (view spoiler)[ Hunter was not celibate during their three year separation. He was in prison for most of that time but slept with a lot of random OW after getting out. One OW was a stripper who he was with on and off a lot right before seeing the heroine again. She comes onto him at a club and approaches Lulu in a bathroom. We find out Lulu had one random guy hook up in a bar bathroom, but that was it. For a long time, she doesn’t know if Hunter or the guy who raped her was her son’s father. Good news is Hunter is the daddy. Hunter is physically abusive towards Lulu in the very beginning scenes. You likely will not like how he physically hurts her/manhandles her/treats her/IMHO basically forces himself upon her “twice” in the opening chapter. Heroine was previously repeatedly raped by the same person. There are two attempted rape scenes, one in which the the heroine is also brutally beaten. (hide spoiler)]Title: Shattered King, Series: Lawless (Book 1), Author: Sherilee Gray, Pages: 320, stand-alone but part of a series, very hurtful hero at first, hid the truth, rape references/two attempted rape scenes, violence, loyal but stupid at times heroine, evil stepfather, heroine is brutally beaten, who’s the daddy drama, VERY erotic with lusty language, no love triangle.(This review is based on an advanced reader copy distributed via NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. No compensation was provided to this reviewer, nor is there any affiliation between the reviewer and author/publisher/NetGalley.)
    more
  • Dísir
    June 19, 2017
    A new series always excites me, though there’s always some trepidation because many of them don’t quite hit their stride until a few books in, especially when the starting one is full of establishing plotlines, histories and characters. ‘Shattered King’s’ blurb drew me in immediately: betrayal, secrets and lies all tangled up in a hard, brutal second chance romance after Hunter King’s life takes a turn for the worse when Lulu—the only woman he’s ever loved—sent him to prison. My first impression A new series always excites me, though there’s always some trepidation because many of them don’t quite hit their stride until a few books in, especially when the starting one is full of establishing plotlines, histories and characters. ‘Shattered King’s’ blurb drew me in immediately: betrayal, secrets and lies all tangled up in a hard, brutal second chance romance after Hunter King’s life takes a turn for the worse when Lulu—the only woman he’s ever loved—sent him to prison. My first impression of ‘Shattered King’ is the overall grittiness and the barely-leashed edge of violence that Sherilee Gray excels at here, in which hard sex plays a major role. Her characters stay just at the boundary of the wrong side of the law, crossing these lines sometimes with no qualms and are the anti-heroes who would keep you safe at any cost just as they keep your panties constantly wet. But there’s also a load of high drama and a considerable number of triggers here that might go down on the wrong side of some readers’ sensibilities. It was hard however, to see anything beyond the overflowing lust that supposed proves compatibility, because it seemed to trump even their volatile personalities and apparently, solve most problems. The copious amount of sex replaced actual communication, because by god, it was what both Hunter and Lulu needed to do but didn’t, as body parts suddenly spoke louder than words and that proved frustrating. But this is suspense as much as it’s erotica, so I was in a way, expecting more than just sex to eclipse everything else. I think ‘Shattered King’ would have worked better for me if the story’s protagonists weren’t always on the verge of going off the deep end at the slightest push of a button. Hunter’s sudden switch from pissed-off alpha male to possessive alpha male was too abrupt, just as I couldn’t entirely trust Lulu not to stop running, which seemed to be her only modus operandi throughout the entire story, either from her hellish stepfather or for the sake of her son. Held at ransom for so long, I’d expected a gutsier female lead despite the amount of abuse she’d faced but her tendency to not want to face things couldn’t make me warm up to her enough, especially when she couldn't seem to take active steps to sort out the mess she’d made of her own life as well as Hunter’s. The long and short of it is that Lulu does run in the end and predictably ends up in the hands of her worst enemy like the damsel constantly in distress, even as Hunter bails her out at the last minute. ‘Shattered King’ is not a bad start to the series, but it’s probably better suited for those who like the MC-type of stories and a HEA that comes amidst bloodshed and shady activities. But just because I couldn’t really feel Hunter/Lulu’s connection doesn’t mean that anyone else can’t, and I’m simply going to continue reading because there are stories that I know Gray can write that I’ll love. It’s just not this one. *ARC by netgalley(Always grateful, mind)
    more
  • Kimberley C.
    June 18, 2017
    I received the ARC for this book in exchange for an honest review. This is the second book I've read by Sherilee Gray and I've enjoyed both of them. Shattered King is the first in the Lawless Kings series. It was a good, suspenseful story that does contain some triggers, which could make it a tough read. However, I was able to get past that and sink into this story easily. I don't want to go into too many details here, but there were a few plot devices I thought a bit unbelievable. Luckily I was I received the ARC for this book in exchange for an honest review. This is the second book I've read by Sherilee Gray and I've enjoyed both of them. Shattered King is the first in the Lawless Kings series. It was a good, suspenseful story that does contain some triggers, which could make it a tough read. However, I was able to get past that and sink into this story easily. I don't want to go into too many details here, but there were a few plot devices I thought a bit unbelievable. Luckily I was able to suspend reality (I'm great at that) and just enjoy the book as a hot, suspenseful summer read. All in all, I will be looking forward to the next Lawless Kings book, which I'm assuming is based on Neco and Ruby - their story sounds great too!
    more
  • Beth
    June 27, 2017
    This was a great start to a new series! This is the first time I have read anything by this author and I will definitely be continuing with this series! Some of the content was hard to take and may be a trigger for some, so be sure you are aware that there is violence, abuse, and rape in this book.The book is raw, gritty and has a lot of sex in it. Hunter and Lulu were deeply in love, but through a decision to protect Hunter from her awful stepfather, she lied and Hunter went to prison for somet This was a great start to a new series! This is the first time I have read anything by this author and I will definitely be continuing with this series! Some of the content was hard to take and may be a trigger for some, so be sure you are aware that there is violence, abuse, and rape in this book.The book is raw, gritty and has a lot of sex in it. Hunter and Lulu were deeply in love, but through a decision to protect Hunter from her awful stepfather, she lied and Hunter went to prison for something he didn’t do. He felt betrayed and couldn’t believe the love of his life would do such a thing. Lulu couldn’t tell him that she did it to protect him and she also couldn’t tell him that she was pregnant. Once Hunter went to prison, she left New York and went into hiding. Working jobs that she wouldn’t leave a paper trail, as she knew her stepfather would be looking for her as well as Hunter’s brother, Van. She was able to stay hidden with her son for three years. Lulu had a wonderful mother who was ill for a very long time and was dying. She had to make the fateful trip back home so she could say goodbye to her mother, but feared for her life and the life of her son. She knew that her stepfather would do everything in his power to hold her prisoner again in his twisted world. She also knew that Hunter was out of prison and feared for the repercussions of her being back in New York and what he would do when he found out he had a son.There are a lot of twists and turns in this book that are gradually brought to light. There is mystery and suspense, violence and the second chance at love. I liked the pacing of the book and was engaged the entire time. There were times I didn’t want to put it down. There were times my heart hurt for the characters and times I wanted to cry. The secondary characters added a great depth to the story and have a lot of potential and I can’t wait for the next book in the series.I don’t want to give any more away as there are a lot of things that come out and things are brought to light that no one should have to endure, on both Hunter and Lulu’s lives. I truly enjoyed this this dark and gritty second chance romance.ARC kindly provided by St. Martin’s Press via NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    June 21, 2017
    When I first started reading this one I wasn't sure I was going to like it. Hunter was so angry and his treatment of Lulu made me cringe. Amazingly though these two had an actual conversation and listened to each other. What came out of that was a clearer understanding of exactly what happened in the past and explained why Lulu did what she did which in turn calmed Hunter's anger opening up possibilities for the future. I loved the way the author handled this! I really enjoyed these characters a When I first started reading this one I wasn't sure I was going to like it. Hunter was so angry and his treatment of Lulu made me cringe. Amazingly though these two had an actual conversation and listened to each other. What came out of that was a clearer understanding of exactly what happened in the past and explained why Lulu did what she did which in turn calmed Hunter's anger opening up possibilities for the future. I loved the way the author handled this! I really enjoyed these characters as well as the secondary characters in the story. I'm am looking forward to Neco and Ruby's story!! Don't miss this one! I highly recommend it.
    more
  • Amy
    June 12, 2017
    “She was my drug, my poison. The best, and worst thing that had ever happened to me.” Sherilee Gray is a new author to me, and I can not wait to discover more books from her.Told from dual points of view, Shattered King takes you on one intense and thrilling ride. From the moment I picked up this book, my eyes were glued to the pages. I was totally sucked into Lulu and Hunter’s story. Their story wasn’t an easy one. It hurt and pulled at my heart. I found myself so frustrated with Hunter. I coul “She was my drug, my poison. The best, and worst thing that had ever happened to me.” Sherilee Gray is a new author to me, and I can not wait to discover more books from her.Told from dual points of view, Shattered King takes you on one intense and thrilling ride. From the moment I picked up this book, my eyes were glued to the pages. I was totally sucked into Lulu and Hunter’s story. Their story wasn’t an easy one. It hurt and pulled at my heart. I found myself so frustrated with Hunter. I couldn’t wait for him to wake up and see Lulu’s truth and to see that everything is not as it seems.Shattered King is a fast paced and entertaining read. This book pretty much hits the ground running and never stops. It is filled with lots of action, danger, intense moments and sexy good times. Shattered King is a fantastic second chance romance that will not only leave your heart pounding, but will have you turning the pages quickly to see just how the story will play out. I loved everything about this book, from the characters to the story-line to the intense moments and all of the twists and turns along the way.Overall, I thought this book was a great read and look forward to continuing on with this series.*I was provided an ARC copy of this book, via the publisher and NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Dawn
    June 18, 2017
    I really loved this as an opening into a new series. The characters are great, the drama is through the roof, and the suspense kept me turning page after page. This is Hunter and Lulu's story and it is a doosey! Because I don't want to ruin any of it for anyone I'm not going to detail this story for you, but you won't be disappointed be these characters and this story. It is not the easiest to read, and had abusive and rape triggers so be aware of that. It also has all consuming love and amazing I really loved this as an opening into a new series. The characters are great, the drama is through the roof, and the suspense kept me turning page after page. This is Hunter and Lulu's story and it is a doosey! Because I don't want to ruin any of it for anyone I'm not going to detail this story for you, but you won't be disappointed be these characters and this story. It is not the easiest to read, and had abusive and rape triggers so be aware of that. It also has all consuming love and amazing strength in the men and women in this story. I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Ayekah
    June 23, 2017
    Sherilee does it again!! Shattered King had me white knuckling my way through the whole book and I didn't put it down. I'll spare you the blurb. When Hunter is released from prison he's got a major axe to grind and her name is Lulu, the woman he sees as responsible for him spending 4 years in prison. He's had 4 years to plan his revenge and he's hellbent on getting it. He wants to know why. Why she didn't back him up. He returns to the business he started with his brother in private security and Sherilee does it again!! Shattered King had me white knuckling my way through the whole book and I didn't put it down. I'll spare you the blurb. When Hunter is released from prison he's got a major axe to grind and her name is Lulu, the woman he sees as responsible for him spending 4 years in prison. He's had 4 years to plan his revenge and he's hellbent on getting it. He wants to know why. Why she didn't back him up. He returns to the business he started with his brother in private security and the games begin.Lulu (Lucinda) has had her own miserable 4 years on the run from her stepfather in fear, trying to protect her son she gave birth to after Hunter went to prison and staying off the grid. The backstory we get in brief on that was just sad, constant moving, crappy jobs and horrible living conditions. One thing is clear with Lulu, she'll do anything to protect her son. Anything. When her mother's illness worsens and she knows she has to try and get home to see her before she dies she's so fearful and goes through a lot of trouble to sneak in to see her. Staying with her Aunt, she leaves her little guy with her with some instructions as well. Leaving the hospital she's kidnapped by Hunter who then holds her essentially hostage until he gets the answers he wants from her. Again bent on tormenting the beans out her as well. His behavior was outrageous at times, he's one angry, hurt and resentful man. And he doesn't know about Lulu's child. Lulu freaks out because she wants to call her Aunt about the baby, yet she won't tell Hunter about him. There's a reason for that. Hunter now working with his brother again and a couple other guys in private security have been working to track them. Hunter takes her to his isolated cabin initially where he leaves her tied to the bathroom pipes for 2 days with nothing. Yep, he's pissed. He barely feeds her, he treats her worse than something you'd scrape off the bottom of your shoe, yet..... Hunter can't help but try and fight those feelings he had for her all the time they were together. It doesn't help that Lucinda isn't giving out the information, she's so afraid of the stepfather that she says nothing. When the brothers start unraveling the story and her stepfather and several other problems, the story takes off like a rocket. Hang on to those kindles because I got whiplash a couple times with all the action. And when Hunter meets his son, your heart will melt. This book is packed with action, strong emotions, a steam factor and righteous anger. I absolutely loved this book. Can't wait for the next one and it gets a strong 4.5 from me.**arc from NetGalley and publisher in exchange for a fair review **
    more
  • Laura
    June 30, 2017
    ***ARC Provided via Publisher-Swerve- and NetGalley***3.5 StarsI like books where there is some tension between the main characters. Not all the time, as they can get heavy, but they can be fun.I loved the beginning of this book, and there are some great angry hurt (and angry sex) scenes and you definitely start to feel how Lulu and Hunter felt about one another, and how much splitting up left an emotional scar for both of them.The end of the book is also interesting, and strong. I wanted a litt ***ARC Provided via Publisher-Swerve- and NetGalley***3.5 StarsI like books where there is some tension between the main characters. Not all the time, as they can get heavy, but they can be fun.I loved the beginning of this book, and there are some great angry hurt (and angry sex) scenes and you definitely start to feel how Lulu and Hunter felt about one another, and how much splitting up left an emotional scar for both of them.The end of the book is also interesting, and strong. I wanted a little more from the reveal of the child being his, and I thought the whole step-father thing was a little unnecessary. I also thought, for someone who held enough of a grudge to kidnap Lulu and chain her in the bathroom of a cabin, that he reacted a little unemotionally to the revelation that she had a child. I thought the middle of the book was a little unbalanced with the rest of the story, and there was a lot of time spent on the build up of their physical attraction. Don't get me wrong, they are on point in that area, and the sex was scorching...but as this is a second chance romance in which Lulu was not only responsible for Hunter going to jail, but also has his child and didn't tell him, I wanted more intensity.The parts of this book that worked, worked very well. For me, there were just some parts of this that didn't work as well and messed up a little bit of the balance of the book. Not enough for me to be unable to recommend the book, but enough for me to say that there were places that I wanted a little more than I got from this.I recommend this book overall.
    more
  • Christine
    June 14, 2017
    A taut, heartbreaking opening scene had me rooting for Lulu and Hunter from the first page. The first third of the book was equally exciting: their explosive reunion compounded by Lulu's agonizing revelation made the pages fly by. Unfortunately, even with hot sex scenes liberally peppered throughout, the pace of Lulu and Hunter's story began to drag mid-way and then kind of sputtered to its drawn-out end. Also Trigger Warning: I was unprepared for the graphic attempted rape scenes. The author is A taut, heartbreaking opening scene had me rooting for Lulu and Hunter from the first page. The first third of the book was equally exciting: their explosive reunion compounded by Lulu's agonizing revelation made the pages fly by. Unfortunately, even with hot sex scenes liberally peppered throughout, the pace of Lulu and Hunter's story began to drag mid-way and then kind of sputtered to its drawn-out end. Also Trigger Warning: I was unprepared for the graphic attempted rape scenes. The author is new to me, and it was clear, after just a few pages, that palpable sexual chemistry and steamy sex scenes are certainly her forte. The problem was that Lulu and Hunter weren't fleshed out enough as characters to sustain their many, many sex scenes. I actually found myself wishing they would stop having sex for just a minute and talk out their issues instead. While Hunter is the classic uber-alpha possessive male, his patience and forgiveness are practically saint-level. Lulu is exasperatingly immature, indecisive, and stubborn. They literally have the same conversation over and over: "You belong to me." "I don't know." "Yes, you do." "I need to think."Two things really bothered me: that Josh is a plot-moppet and no more (I think every other character spent more time with him than his own mother) and the visceral descriptions of attempted rape. I think I would consider reading more of the author's works but only with the right plot trope where I could be certain not to encounter either. Note: I received an ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Julie
    June 24, 2017
    An exciting story which first starts as revenge and a search for answers for when Hunter was incarcerated which was caused by his ex lover. The story then progresses to reveal intrigue, danger, unexpected secrets and a yearning for Lulu he finds hard to resist. The plot has tension, suspense and passion that can't be denied as the excellent story unfolds.I loved this story, it's intense, full of thrills and the love scenes were smoking hot, the pages were ready to combust. An excellent read, a r An exciting story which first starts as revenge and a search for answers for when Hunter was incarcerated which was caused by his ex lover. The story then progresses to reveal intrigue, danger, unexpected secrets and a yearning for Lulu he finds hard to resist. The plot has tension, suspense and passion that can't be denied as the excellent story unfolds.I loved this story, it's intense, full of thrills and the love scenes were smoking hot, the pages were ready to combust. An excellent read, a real page turner. I highly recommend it!
    more
  • ♛ Mademoiselle Smut ♛
    July 1, 2017
    (Review to come)
  • Elle the ClosetRomanceReader aka Leftie aka Shoebelle
    June 26, 2017
    Ok then... Gotta mull this over... brb...
  • Sandy S
    June 25, 2017
    4 starsAbout the book: Release Date June 27, 2017What if the man you love hated you more with every breath he took?SHATTERED KING is an intense, ultra-sexy standalone novel set in the world of the Lawless Kings. Sherilee Gray’s raw, hard, beautiful, deeply-emotional voice will leave readers breathless.He’s out to get revenge for a crime he didn’t commit…Hunter King just got out of prison. Incarcerated for three years though an innocent man, his rage against the people who put him there knows no 4 starsAbout the book: Release Date June 27, 2017What if the man you love hated you more with every breath he took?SHATTERED KING is an intense, ultra-sexy standalone novel set in the world of the Lawless Kings. Sherilee Gray’s raw, hard, beautiful, deeply-emotional voice will leave readers breathless.He’s out to get revenge for a crime he didn’t commit…Hunter King just got out of prison. Incarcerated for three years though an innocent man, his rage against the people who put him there knows no bounds. First up on his list for vengeance: the woman who betrayed him years ago. The woman he loved fiercely, the one bright light in his otherwise hard, ruthless life. She has information he needs. And he’s going to kidnap her, hold her hostage, in order to get it. But one look into Lulu’s eyes unleashes the true beast within. Hunter’s never hated anyone this deeply, or wanted any woman this badly.Lulu had no choice: Either help send Hunter to prison, or see him destroyed. She couldn’t do that to the man she loved. Couldn’t do it to the father of her child. But Hunter was locked away before he had a chance to learn about his son—and a hard layer of despair has formed around his heart that she’s desperate to crack. And if Hunter is to give himself and Lulu a second chance at love, he needs to find a way past his darkest demons.••••••••••••••REVIEW: SHATTERED KING is the first installment in Sherilee Gray’s contemporary, adult LAWLESS KINGS erotic, romantic suspense series focusing on the men and women who work for the King Agency doing personal protection and security, private investigation (corporate and domestic) and high-risk fugitive recovery and missing persons and kidnapping investigations. This is Hunter King, and Lucinda (Lulu) Frost’s story line.NOTE: SHATTERED KING contains graphic scenarios that may be triggers for some readers including attempted rape, abuse and questionable consent.Told from dual first person perspectives (Lulu and Hunter) SHATTERED KING is a story of second chances. Three years and four months earlier Hunter King found himself charged for a crime he did not commit. The one person who would have been able to clear his name refused to testify for the man that she loved. Enter Lulu Frost, the woman who destroyed Hunter King’s heart. What ensues is the rekindling relationship between Hunter and Lucinda, and the struggle to stay one step ahead of the man hoping to destroy them all.Lulu Frost has been on the run since the day she walked out of Hunter King’s life. With her past hunting her whereabouts, Lulu must return to the town where everything went wrong but finds herself imprisoned by the very man she betrayed-at a cost. But Lulu keeps secret the truth from all those years ago and once revealed will place her on a path towards a future-with or without the man that she has always loved.Hunter King is a changed man since the day he was imprisoned for a crime he did not commit. Angry, determined and in desperate need of revenge, Hunter will make Lulu’ s life a living h*ll but for all intents and purposes, Hunter is a man still in love with the woman who betrayed his heart and soul. It is only when Lulu reveals the truth will Hunter’s change his path towards a happily ever after with the woman he lovesThe relationship between Lulu and Hunter is one of second chances. There is a palpable sexual energy that is both heightened and damaged by Hunter’s behavior and actions towards our story line heroine. In the early stages of the book Hunter’s actions are reprehensible; his behavior and treatment of Lulu Frost is abusive, damaging and not without some questionable consent. The $ex scenes are angry, intense, seductive and promising.We are introduced to Hunter’s older brother Van King, their guardian Raul Esposito, King Agency employees: former police officer Jude Wayland, PA Ruby Styles, ex-navy SEAL sniper Zeke Stanton, and tracker Neco Malik; Lulu’s ailing mother Elizabeth, and step-father Pierce, as well as Lulu’s Aunt Sara. Neco and Ruby’s story line is next in BROKEN REBEL.The world building focuses on the rekindling romance between Lulu and Hunter, and the lengths Hunter will go to to protect the woman he has always loved. At times, Lulu Frost, is determined to push all of Hunter’s buttons, including placing herself in direct conflict to everything meant to protect her life.SHATTERED KING is a dark, sexy, heartbreaking and emotional story of revenge, betrayal, and second chances. The premise is dramatic and intense; the characters are passionate, colorful and energetic; the romance is edgy and powerful. SHATTERED KING is an excellent start to a new series.Copy supplied by Netgalleywww.thereadingcafe.com
    more
  • Megan
    June 20, 2017
    So, if you've read my reviews before, you know I have a love/hate relationship with second chance romances, and how they make me feel. This one was a doozy! What if the man you still loved hated your guts for what was done to him? It was a little darker and more angsty than I usually prefer, but I really liked it. Hunter King just got out of prison after more than 3 years for a crime he didn't commit. He knows who set him up. He's always known that. Now, he needs to know why. Why the woman he lo So, if you've read my reviews before, you know I have a love/hate relationship with second chance romances, and how they make me feel. This one was a doozy! What if the man you still loved hated your guts for what was done to him? It was a little darker and more angsty than I usually prefer, but I really liked it. Hunter King just got out of prison after more than 3 years for a crime he didn't commit. He knows who set him up. He's always known that. Now, he needs to know why. Why the woman he loved beyond life, who he was sure loved him, could have turned on him so completely. He runs a security/PI business with his brother and some close friends, that they opened before he went to jail. He is back at work, but he's plotting his revenge. He had a very rough life growing up, and he tried to make the best life he could for himself, and for Lulu, who he thought would be with him forever. Now it's time to get the truth. Lulu is a hot mess. She's been on the run for 3 years. Ever since she lied to the police about Hunter's alibi, and basically helped to pin arson on him. He doesn't know that she only did it to save his life. Her stepfather is a monster, and she knew he was telling the truth when he threatened to kill Hunter if she didn't go along with the plan. She loves Hunter still, more than ever, but she knows there is no way to be with him now. Not with what he thinks she did. She lied, and betrayed him, and there's no taking that back. Even if he knew the truth. And, to keep her precious son safe, she can never tell him the truth. She doesn't plan to ever see him again. But, her mom is dying, and she must see her before she's gone. She has no idea what's waiting for her when she pulls back into town. Hunter and Lulu's chemistry was scorching. The sex was steamy, and happened quite often. Even when Hunter thought the worst of her and hated her, he still wanted her, which was making him crazy. They really were it for each other, and I loved that. However, the first couple times they're together again, once he kidnaps her, it was a little rough to read. He was basically hateful to her, and they have, what was from his POV, hate sex. But, she still loves him, which is why she can't turn him away. It was painful to watch. Additionally, there are a couple of brutal attempted rape scenes on the heroine (by the bad guy), and that was very hard to get through. I'm not a person who has any reading triggers, but I'm sure that, for some people, this will be impossible to read. I, myself, was glad I had read a previous review that warned of this happening ahead of time. The second chance aspect here was a very unique one, and I loved that. It was unlike any other story I've read, in that way. I really enjoyed them getting to know each other again, once the truth comes out about the past. Also, seeing Hunter with little Josh was heartwarming, for sure. I loved their dynamic, and how they were it for each other from the start in the past, and how quickly that becomes true again. I really liked their communication, once they really started trusting each other again.There were a few things I wasn't a huge fan of in this story. Many of them centered around Lulu, and some of her poor decisions. She often seemed to act without thinking, and it really got on my nerves. I know she was quite traumatized from her past, and some of the things she does make more sense looking at them through that lens, but still. I had a hard time understanding her sometimes. Hunter as well, let his past color some of his decisions, when he should have known something else was going on. It was frustrating for me. There was so much darkness in this book, but love and family (blood, and who you choose) brought light to the shadows. I really loved the main character's arcs here, and how they both grew as characters, separately, and as a couple. The side characters were very interesting too, and I'm excited to see more stories in this world, with the guys (and girl) Hunter works with. I definitely recommend this story for anyone who likes their romantic suspense a little on the darker side. ARC provided by Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Megan from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • Lillian Cummings
    June 29, 2017
    Will you ever be able to stop running? Lulu knows that it is dangerous to come out of hiding but her mother is dying and she has missed her so much. She is hoping to be able to see her mom and then disappear with her son Josh again but her past refuses to leave her alone. Hunter wants his say and he wants to know why Lulu let him go to prison what did he do to her either than love her?He has found her but she won't talk and she is very afraid but of what and why does she need to run all the time Will you ever be able to stop running? Lulu knows that it is dangerous to come out of hiding but her mother is dying and she has missed her so much. She is hoping to be able to see her mom and then disappear with her son Josh again but her past refuses to leave her alone. Hunter wants his say and he wants to know why Lulu let him go to prison what did he do to her either than love her?He has found her but she won't talk and she is very afraid but of what and why does she need to run all the time. He needs to find her stepfather as he has something that others want and he will use her if need be. But Lulu can't allow him to ever find her again and she will be die if that happens.Lulu can't tell Hunter what happened as he will never treat her the same way again but he needs to know that she always loved him and she had no choice but to run. Hunter is angry as she kept his son away from him and she has so many secrets that could get them all killed. Will she ever be able to get away for good she doesn't deserve a happy life with Hunter even though that she is all she wants, if she doesn't leave the evil will overtake her whole life again.Hunter knows that he has to find the step scum and put him down for good before he loses Lulu all over again. Can they make a new life together without all the secrets? A real rough book that made me angry, cry and want to break every bone in that man's body. I was lucky enough to receive a copy via Netgalley & the publishing house in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    June 24, 2017
    4.5 Stars!I have been a fan of Sherilee Gray for a longggg time! Her novels are so damn sexy and the perfect combination of an amazing storyline, a HOT alpha male and a sassy heroine that brings him to his knees. I FLOVED Shattered King so hard!! I seriously CAN'T WAIT for the next book. When Hunter King was sent away to prison for three years for a crime he did not commit he wanted revenge. When the confession and reason for his imprisonment was at the hands of his girlfriend, Lucinda "Lulu" Pi 4.5 Stars!I have been a fan of Sherilee Gray for a longggg time! Her novels are so damn sexy and the perfect combination of an amazing storyline, a HOT alpha male and a sassy heroine that brings him to his knees. I FLOVED Shattered King so hard!! I seriously CAN'T WAIT for the next book. When Hunter King was sent away to prison for three years for a crime he did not commit he wanted revenge. When the confession and reason for his imprisonment was at the hands of his girlfriend, Lucinda "Lulu" Pierce and her evil and corrupt stepfather, it was the final nail in the coffin. He was out for revenge and needed answers! But what happens when he figures out the truth and realizes the story is more dangerous and complicated than he ever thought. Will Lulu and Hunter be able to come together and find the real villain?I absolutely loved this story! It was dark at times and so so sexy. I loved it!! Hunter was so intense, protective, possessive but so heartfelt about his feelings for Lulu. I could not get enough of this amazing couple. I can't wait for Ruby and Neco. Good Lord I NEED it now! Bravo! 4.5 stars!! ~RatulaI would like to thank NetGalley and SMP Swerve for an advanced copy of this book for an honest review.
    more
  • Kira
    June 29, 2017
    3.5 starsI thought this was going to be darker than it was. This is what I'd consider to be darkish. There were definitely dark elements, but the romance itself wasn't. Despite reading other variations of this plot before, the first half of the book was really good. Hunter was a sexy bad boy who was hellbent on getting revenge on the people who put him in jail. He wasn't nice but wasn't a complete ass either.Halfway through things changed based on the direction of the plot. The problem was Lulu 3.5 starsI thought this was going to be darker than it was. This is what I'd consider to be darkish. There were definitely dark elements, but the romance itself wasn't. Despite reading other variations of this plot before, the first half of the book was really good. Hunter was a sexy bad boy who was hellbent on getting revenge on the people who put him in jail. He wasn't nice but wasn't a complete ass either.Halfway through things changed based on the direction of the plot. The problem was Lulu became very conflicted about what she should do. Her internal monologue was aggravating. I understood her frustration, but she wasn't taking the time to really think things through either. She was always on the verge of making bad choices. Parts of this were fairly predictable, but I couldn't stop turning the pages anyway. Hunter was awesome! A true bad boy with a heart of gold. It's been a while since I've read a book with one of those. The chemistry was off the charts with Hunter and Lulu. There were many sexy times. This is definitely worth reading.Thanks to Netgalley for giving me this in exchange for an honest review!
    more
Write a review