The Bet (Players, #1)
Jace "the Jet" Benning is a legend on the football field. And off. He has the arm, the charm, and the reputation of being the hottest player in the league.Too bad Dr. Alessandra Mastrazacoma is not impressed.With a busy schedule and a bruised heart, Alessandra doesn't have time to date, but when she is lured into making a friendly bet with her best friend, she finds herself agreeing to go out with the next guy that asks...and to give him three shots, three dates, before pulling the plug.Jace also has a friendly wager with his friends going, and it involves making sure the slightly klutzy, but very pretty, doctor will be his date to the biggest night in sports. With two wagers and two hearts on the line, will Aly and Jace win or are they betting to lose?

The Bet (Players, #1) Details

TitleThe Bet (Players, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherSwerve
Rating
GenreSports and Games, Sports, Romance, Contemporary Romance

The Bet (Players, #1) Review

  • Claire Robinson
    June 18, 2017
    3.5 - "...It bought me you." Stars!Its LIVE!Amazon US – http://a.co/6UUJPE7Amazon UK – http://amzn.eu/6ybSIp9B&N - https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-...The writing duo of Elizabeth Hayley, starts their new The Players series, with The Bet all-in-all a pretty enjoyable read.I finished this book a couple of days ago, and after having a think about it I decided to lower my rating a tad. Although Aly and Jace’s story was pretty easy-going, it struck me that there were an awful lot of pointles 3.5 - "...It bought me you." Stars!Its LIVE!Amazon US – http://a.co/6UUJPE7Amazon UK – http://amzn.eu/6ybSIp9B&N - https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-...The writing duo of Elizabeth Hayley, starts their new The Players series, with The Bet all-in-all a pretty enjoyable read.I finished this book a couple of days ago, and after having a think about it I decided to lower my rating a tad. Although Aly and Jace’s story was pretty easy-going, it struck me that there were an awful lot of pointless plot bunnies used in the story - (view spoiler)[ex-boyfriend, familial estrangement, childhood heart conditions, douche co-workers to name but a few (hide spoiler)]. But the one thing that made me roll my eyes whilst reading, and keeps them rolling whenever I think about it was the -(view spoiler)[ perfectly executed and pain-free anal sex that took place on their second date. Yes second date. (hide spoiler)]"Even though you drive me completely insane, you’re beautiful and smart and intriguing in a way that somehow makes me want to kiss you and kill you at the same time…"Don’t get me wrong I have no problem with people taking their business to the back-door but is just seemed to be bizarre behavior if you take into account how socially awkward Alessandra is when she first starts dating Jace. "There’s nothing about you I don’t like."That aside there was plenty to like about the book, both the H/h are dating the other due to a bet, and both of them get more than they were initially bargaining for when it comes to how well they connect and the levels of chemistry that they have going on between them. This really is a story of opposites attract."Will you show me your hamster?"I liked the banter between them both, as well as the camaraderie between Jace and his friends; Ben and Gabe, both high profile sportsmen like himself. The sexy-times were plentiful and the secondary characters many and varied in their levels of involvement. However, if the erroneous bits had been fine-tuned/removed this would have been a much sharper read."It hurts to lose what we love the most."Knowing this couple initially come together due to a bet, it’s pretty clear as to why there is conflict towards the end of the book between them, but I have to say this is where the authors kept the rating up there for me though as it the way they bought Aly and Jace back together was one of the cutest apologies I have read lately.A promising start to the series. This was my first book by this duo, and although a few niggles, I did genuinely enjoy the story. I hope to see Ben and Gabe have their stories told at some point in the future too.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, in exchange for the above honest review.
    more
  • SamJ ★Needs a HEA★
    June 7, 2017
    Check out this and my other reviews at My Blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter and Pinterest Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review★Book Basics★ Genre : - Cont. Romance Series : - Stand Alone Love triangle? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] Cheating? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] HEA? - (view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)] Would I read more by this author/or in this series? - No Rating - 2 stars★Review★Ok, so I have to say, I was sort of enjoying this, even though Check out this and my other reviews at My Blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter and Pinterest Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review★Book Basics★ Genre : - Cont. Romance Series : - Stand Alone Love triangle? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] Cheating? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] HEA? - (view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)] Would I read more by this author/or in this series? - No Rating - 2 stars★Review★Ok, so I have to say, I was sort of enjoying this, even though, in all honesty, I found it hard to warm to the hero or heroine.It was an ok story, bit boring really, but ok, and I was happily reading it.Lots of little threads created then nothing happens, example her bumping into the ex, kissing the hero with the oh so original concept of kissing a random stranger so the ex thinks you are all loved up, yet we never see the ex again. The whole Players Club thing was odd with the hero wondering if there was more to the clubs whole weird secrecy thing (hint, there wasn't)Then lots of drama, with the hero oddly estranged from his family, the heroine having issues with her boss being a dick head for no reason etc..Anyway, then we have the heroine who is supposed to be socially awkward and makes a fool of herself when a handsome colleague smiles at her. Trips over her own feet etc....(but has anal sex for the first time on her second date!! Yay) Anyway, I think she was supposed to be adorably awkward, but in reality it came across as abrupt and rude at times. And the hero thinking it is ok to make bets about women for them to be judged on their appearance!But you know, I was warming to it, the relationship starts off very quickly so you are just waiting for the axe to fall over the whole bet thing.Then, about 75 % though the book, it really annoyed me. It is revealed, out of the blue the hero was born with "a Hypoplastic left heart"REALLY!!??Warning, rant head(view spoiler)[Now, normally I probably would have just glided over that bit, not knowing much about it, however, recently, this condition has become quite close to us, due to a diagnosis of a baby in the family. So, we have read quite a LOT about it. And the way it was mentioned in here, just in passing, as if it was nothing, and used an an excuse for his dad to try and heal the unexplainable estrangement, quite frankly pissed me off. The hero just thinks, oh yeah, I had this, I had 3 operations and then I was fine. Just no. This is a condition in which the left side of the heart does not develop properly. The 3 operations, were only developed in the early 80's, so before that the condition was fatal. These operations are not a cure, they do not fix that heart and make it normal. The children still have long term complications. The longest survivors in the UK are in their teens or early twenties. Children with hypoplastic left heart are always limited to some extent in their physical activities. Physical activity is encouraged, but generally contact sports are limited.So you know what, they do not grow up to be super fit athletes in a rough contact sport, at the very pinnacle of that sport (especially not how old the hero is, so one of the earlier survivors). They certainly do not never even give a thought to their condition, and only mention it once in passing as if it was nothing. (because they need life long care and monitoring) And you know what else, they do not have a supposedly super smart Doctor of a girlfriend never ever wonder what the scars are on his chest from ruddy open heart surgery.I don't know, maybe this is just too close to me at the moment, I do not know what, if any the authors experience is with this condition, but the way it was just mentioned in passing, as if it is nothing serious, pissed me off.(hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Carvanz
    June 23, 2017
    I love a nerdy, smart heroine who is also a little or a lot clumsy. Add in a hot football player who visits pediatric cancer patients and you’ve got yourself one awesome read. Right? Well, I wanted it to be. After meeting Alessandra for the first time and getting a look into her thought processes, I was almost giddy with excitement. She was going to be my perfect h. Those are hard to find you know. Jace’s thoughts were pretty much wrapped up in Aly after meeting her so I added the potential for I love a nerdy, smart heroine who is also a little or a lot clumsy. Add in a hot football player who visits pediatric cancer patients and you’ve got yourself one awesome read. Right? Well, I wanted it to be. After meeting Alessandra for the first time and getting a look into her thought processes, I was almost giddy with excitement. She was going to be my perfect h. Those are hard to find you know. Jace’s thoughts were pretty much wrapped up in Aly after meeting her so I added the potential for a perfect H as well. I settled in because dang, my boxes were being checking off as fast as I could read.The klutzy heroine began to disappear, the strong alpha hero I was expecting only asked her out because of a bet. But I continued to hold on because there were all kinds of plot lines being dangled in front of me. 33% in and I didn’t know where the heck this book was going. All of those potential storylines just disappeared. Well, there was one or two but they weren’t even reintroduced until the very end of the book. Everything in between was slow and drama free and I just didn’t get it. Fortunately the very end helped to bring this up from a 2 star review to a 3 because that was a pretty unique way to capture her attention and make his point. ARC provided for this honest reviewDual POVSafeNo apparent triggers
    more
  • ♥ WishfulMiss ♥
    June 28, 2017
    When opposites attract things always get interesting Professional football player, Jace has the looks and talent to be on top of his game, whether its on or off the field.Aly is an up and coming doctor and as socially awkward as Jace is charming. These two instantly rub each other the wrong way. But their instant attraction is deniable."Even though you drive me completely insane, you’re beautiful and smart and intriguing in a way that somehow makes me want to kiss you and kill you at the same When opposites attract things always get interesting Professional football player, Jace has the looks and talent to be on top of his game, whether its on or off the field.Aly is an up and coming doctor and as socially awkward as Jace is charming. These two instantly rub each other the wrong way. But their instant attraction is deniable."Even though you drive me completely insane, you’re beautiful and smart and intriguing in a way that somehow makes me want to kiss you and kill you at the same time.” The Bet has two MCs that despite their differences, find each other falling into a forever kind of love with the kind of person they least expected. The story is low on angst and I liked the light heartedness of their love story. It unfolds over time and we get a lot of page time with them together, getting to know each other and appreciating their differences. What I liked: The whole "bet" thing can become a frustrating plot device. Especially because it can get really drawn out and the climax can become too cliche. I actually think the title is a bit misleading in the sense that the bet that takes place was called off early on in their relationship. Jace realizes that what he and Aly have is the real deal and calls off the bet almost right from the start. That was a nice surprise and made me like Jace all the more. Aly took a while to warm up too. She was just so . . . prickly, is the best word that comes to mind. Sometimes I felt like her sharp tongue cut a bit too deep sometimes. But Jace was persistent and he definitely brought out the best in her. It helped that he wasn't afraid to tell her exactly how he feels and totally owns it 100%."I’m not sorry I did it. I’d do it again in a heartbeat. Because you’re . . . everything. And no one gets to fuck with my everything, Aly. No one.” Most Memorable Moment: As weird as this might sound, I felt the most emotionally charged moment in the story that really showed Aly at her most vulnerable and human, was her interaction and later, reaction to Patricia, her pet hamster. That really opened her up as a more relatable person and a more dimensional character.Overall this was an enjoyable and quick read, it had some cute banter, humor and the heat these two generate between them was HAWT! * * * ARC provided for an honest review * * * SAFETY (view spoiler)[Ages: Aly is 'nearing thirty' and Jace's age isn't confirmed but I'd place him in his early to mid thirties. Cheating: None.OM/OW drama: None.Separation: A small two week separations.Push/Pull: Aly pushes and pulls. She jumps to conclusions and suffers a few hits to her pride that take a while to heal. Main Pursuer of relationship: Without a doubt, Jace is the main pursuer.Triggers: This does have anal sex.HEA/HFN: Ends with a HFN. No Epilogue. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Manon
    June 15, 2017
    I was provided an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This was a cute story.There were some very funny lines and conversations.The sex scenes were pretty hawt. The characters were interesting and well written, I could also feel the connection between them.The only problem was that it was pretty predictable, it had the romance classic schéma that I’m starting to know by heart.I would write more but my brain has melted from the heat.
    more
  • Ivy Deluca
    June 27, 2017
    -Lots of tropes I enjoy. You have a dash of sports romance mixed with the nerdy heroine, a dating bet destined to go sideways and a dash of mystery with a secret club. It’s a brew that has alot of elements that I typically enjoy. There’s some funny banter and yes, everything seemed to be in place for this to be a very enjoyable read.-Perhaps too many tropes. My main issue with this book is it is trying to cover too many tropes, which makes them all kind of fall apart. The setup is clear with the -Lots of tropes I enjoy. You have a dash of sports romance mixed with the nerdy heroine, a dating bet destined to go sideways and a dash of mystery with a secret club. It’s a brew that has alot of elements that I typically enjoy. There’s some funny banter and yes, everything seemed to be in place for this to be a very enjoyable read.-Perhaps too many tropes. My main issue with this book is it is trying to cover too many tropes, which makes them all kind of fall apart. The setup is clear with the hero’s friends who each play their own sport and are clearly destined for their own books, and the secret club angle, then there’s a “twist” towards the end that just made me side-eye it more than anything. I could deal with all of that, if I had connected with the central romance. But it’s the Firsts where the story stumbled and never quite recovered. -Didn’t quite buy the love. I’ve talked about it before, but the Firsts (meet, kiss, love scene) are critical for me. If it clicks, I can forgive a multitude of sins and if it doesn’t, no “twist” is going to make up for it. The jump from meeting to sex was a bit jarring for my taste and I felt the author was trying a bit hard to make me believe it through their inner monologues when the character interactions didn’t quite match. While it started with alot of potential, this read tried to be too many things to too many readers in my opinion, and it just fell short. While I wouldn’t rule out a second chance for this series, I’m just not sure I’d be in a rush to read it.**ARC provided by publisher via netgalley for review**For more reviews, visit
    more
  • Dísir
    May 28, 2017
    'The Bet' is mostly an angst-free, light-hearted read of an accidental meeting between a doctor and a famous player (whom the former doesn't know at all) which progresses mostly because of a bet between friends. Alessandra Mastrazacoma (now that's a mouthful) and Jace Benning are an unlikely pair and the whole story feels like a journey of the both of them finding common ground, apart from nailing sexual compatibility in the bedroom. Neither of them really pretend to be who they aren't; Alessand 'The Bet' is mostly an angst-free, light-hearted read of an accidental meeting between a doctor and a famous player (whom the former doesn't know at all) which progresses mostly because of a bet between friends. Alessandra Mastrazacoma (now that's a mouthful) and Jace Benning are an unlikely pair and the whole story feels like a journey of the both of them finding common ground, apart from nailing sexual compatibility in the bedroom. Neither of them really pretend to be who they aren't; Alessandra is outrightly blunt and in unapologetic for being so while Jace still struggles with his poor, smalltown roots but isn't quite afraid to put everything on the line for her. The ride isn't fully of peaks and valleys - and this will probably appeal to readers who are tired of adult histrionics better confined to the high-school classroom - but is instead, one that catalogues each and every step of Aly and Jace getting into their relationship proper. As light-hearted and easy a read 'The Bet' is however, I found myself mostly uninspired by this pairing, which is probably a just a case of my bucking the trend again. I thought their chemistry rather non-existent as the move straight into the bedroom very early on eschewed any tension that could have made the anticipation more worth it. Consequently, it was difficult to follow the progression of Aly/Jace's relationship as there just didn't seem to be anything else to look forward to, except for the bet that'The Bet' is mostly an angst-free, light-hearted read of an accidental meeting between a doctor and a famous player (whom the former doesn't know at all) which progresses mostly because of a bet between friends. Alessandra Mastrazacoma (now that's a mouthful) and Jace Benning are an unlikely pair and the whole story feels like a journey of the both of them finding common ground, apart from nailing sexual compatibility in the bedroom. Neither of them really pretend to be who they aren't; Alessandra is outrightly blunt and in unapologetic for being so while Jace still struggles with his poor, smalltown roots but isn't quite afraid to put everything on the line for her. The ride isn't fully of peaks and valleys - and this will probably appeal to readers who are tired of adult histrionics better confined to the high-school classroom - but is instead, one that catalogues each and every step of Aly and Jace getting into their relationship proper. The ending is a predictably neat wrap-up after some grovelling on Jace's part, a HEA that pushes Aly and Jace into a happily committed relationship after that small hiccup. As light-hearted and easy a read 'The Bet' is however, I found myself mostly uninspired by this pairing, which is probably a just a case of my bucking the trend again. I thought their chemistry rather non-existent as the move straight into the bedroom very early on eschewed any tension that could have made the anticipation more worth it. And as well and good the sex scenes may be written, I was bored (and skimmed those scenes) because I couldn't find anything compelling about this couple. Consequently, it was difficult to follow the progression of Aly/Jace's relationship as there just didn't seem to be anything else to look forward to, except for the bet that Jace made with his buddies and the fallout that you know would come from it at the very end. *ARC by netgalley(very grateful still, mind)
    more
  • (Tori-Smexybooks) smexys_sidekick
    June 24, 2017
    review to come
  • Alison
    May 31, 2017
    Jace "the Jet" Benning is a legendary football player. He and his friends, both also great sportsmen and leaders in their own fields, make a rather unsavoury bet as to which one can bring the hottest girl to the annual sports award ball. After a lot of banter, Jace says he is so hot/ famous that any woman with him automatically becomes the best looking woman in the room, so his friends decide to choose his date for him.Alessandra Mastrazacoma is a brilliant but socially awkward paediatric oncolo Jace "the Jet" Benning is a legendary football player. He and his friends, both also great sportsmen and leaders in their own fields, make a rather unsavoury bet as to which one can bring the hottest girl to the annual sports award ball. After a lot of banter, Jace says he is so hot/ famous that any woman with him automatically becomes the best looking woman in the room, so his friends decide to choose his date for him.Alessandra Mastrazacoma is a brilliant but socially awkward paediatric oncology doctor, she had a rather disastrous relationship with a fellow doctor and has avoided dating since. Until her best friend challenges her to go on three dates with the next guy who asks her.Jace visits the sick kids in Alessandra's hospital, she is completely unaware of who he is and dismisses him, which intrigues Jace. When his friends witness her shut him down again they decide that the feisty, beautiful but socially inept doctor must be his date for the ball. Jace is secretly thrilled at his friends' choice but doesn't think the doctor will just agree to go the dinner, he'll have to lead up to it with a few warm up dates ...Although Jace is a millionaire sportsman he thinks the brilliant doctor is too good for a jock like him. Alessandra knows that a beautiful successful man like Jace won't stick around with her for long, she's just a novelty. But they have fun looking into each others worlds and stepping outside their comfort zones. And the sexy times aren't bad either, because the scientist in Alessandra isn't afraid to experiment!This was a fun read, a slight twist on the jock meets brains, opposites attract, dating for a bet scenario. It is the first book I have read by Elizabeth Hayley but I shall look out for more.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.Edited for typos and bumped for release.
    more
  • Bec
    June 10, 2017
    Dr. Alessandra 'Aly' Mastrazacoma is possibly the only woman not impressed by Jace 'the Jet' Jenning, one of the best players of NFL. So, when he and his friends propose a friendly wager, Jace finds himself needing to win the good doctor over for him to win. However, when Alessandra discovers the truth, will Jace be able to convince her that their relationship means so much more to him than the bet, or will she run and put a stop to their chance at happy ever after?I love a good sports romance w Dr. Alessandra 'Aly' Mastrazacoma is possibly the only woman not impressed by Jace 'the Jet' Jenning, one of the best players of NFL. So, when he and his friends propose a friendly wager, Jace finds himself needing to win the good doctor over for him to win. However, when Alessandra discovers the truth, will Jace be able to convince her that their relationship means so much more to him than the bet, or will she run and put a stop to their chance at happy ever after?I love a good sports romance where the hero is so loved by his fans and then meets a woman that couldn't care less about who he is, and this story provided a really good read, as the hero does his best to win over the heroine. The way this story started had me loving the hero, because he uses his status as a superstar on the field to do so much good for those that need cheering up. However, it was from the moment that the hero and heroine came face-to-face for the first time that things really start to progress in this story, because Jace doesn't endear himself to the heroine with his jokes. Both the main characters were really good, and I liked how the secondary characters help these two in realizing what they want. Alessandra needs a man in her life, instead of believing work is everything. Really, she's far too serious and needs to have some fun and certainly Jace provides that in spades, even if he does get the ideas for their dates wrong on occasion. I also liked how smart, kind and caring the heroine was and how she finally stood up for herself when it comes to her irritating boss and her parents. Her relationship was important, and she wasn't about to let anyone tell her differently and say it's a mistake. While the hero, he's kind, caring and I loved how he wins the heroine over, even if their relationship started out as a bet. I also liked how protective he was of Aly and how he did his best to make things right for her when it came to her job. No way was he going to allow her boss to get away with how he treats her. Overall, Ms. Hayley has penned a really good read in this book where this couple's chemistry was there from the moment they met and the romance was sizzling and does the heroine good, because she needs to realize that all work and no play is boring. The way this story ended had me smiling due to what the hero does to win Aly back. The kids and their bets are certainly good and I loved the words Jace says about making one more bet. However, it was the last chapter that wrapped this story up nicely and had me laughing, as Aly is finally getting an experience she's never had before. She's so clueless when it comes to sport. I would recommend The Bet by Elizabeth Hayley, if you enjoy sports romances or books by authors Kate Meader, Sawyer Bennett or Toni Aleo.
    more
  • Gkaur
    May 25, 2017
    I couldn't put this one down. I connected with the main character Aly so much. She was an awkward, blunt, somewhat socially challenged protagonist. She is not much of a talker or even a people person but an amazing physician who genuinely cares for her patients. During rounds one day she bumps into Jace, an all-star quarterback who is volunteering at the hospital. Their paths continue to cross at the hospital and due to a bet with his friends, Jace asks out Aly. Ironically due to another bet Aly I couldn't put this one down. I connected with the main character Aly so much. She was an awkward, blunt, somewhat socially challenged protagonist. She is not much of a talker or even a people person but an amazing physician who genuinely cares for her patients. During rounds one day she bumps into Jace, an all-star quarterback who is volunteering at the hospital. Their paths continue to cross at the hospital and due to a bet with his friends, Jace asks out Aly. Ironically due to another bet Aly is forced to say yes, even though neither is very interested/compatible with the other. As you can imagine the first date doesn't go as planned in more ways that one. ;)I loved the progression of the relationship and how Aly didn't all of a sudden become a social butterfly after meeting Jace. Her character stayed true throughout the book. There are a few bumpy moments to add onto the climax and surrounding characters but besides that this was a somewhat predictable story. This however did not distract from the book and the the likable protagonists.Recommendation: Read it! Its a sweet sports romance with plenty of steam. *ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley, Thank you!
    more
  • Treena
    June 26, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley for granting my request for an ARC. The following review is purely my opinion.I really like the trope where the nerdy girl ends up with hunky athlete and I love sports-romances which is why I requested for an ARC. But as I was reading this, I found myself rolling my eyes at the predictability of the plot. Furthermore, and more importantly, I couldn't connect with either MC. I didn't believe the insta-lust between Aly and Jace. Nor did I believe that theirs would be a relat Thank you to NetGalley for granting my request for an ARC. The following review is purely my opinion.I really like the trope where the nerdy girl ends up with hunky athlete and I love sports-romances which is why I requested for an ARC. But as I was reading this, I found myself rolling my eyes at the predictability of the plot. Furthermore, and more importantly, I couldn't connect with either MC. I didn't believe the insta-lust between Aly and Jace. Nor did I believe that theirs would be a relationship that would be forever even if they had a HEA. This made me quite sad... sigh.... because I believe that a book should end with the reader feeling positive and all warm-and-swoony over the MC's and I didn't feel any of those emotions after I finished the book :-( This is my first book by this author. But I'm not so sure I want to read other books written by her... Sorry.
    more
  • Jess
    May 28, 2017
    This ended up being a really fun, sweet read. I had my doubts early on when "the bet" was made. I thought, oh here we go, predictable drama coming up. And while maybe a little bit of the bet was predictable, it was still done in such a way that I really enjoyed the romance and the ending. The hero is a great guy but the heroine, Aly, steals the show. She's a doctor, a bit socially awkward, very literal and did I mention a little awkward? :) But it's all done in a such a sweet way that I just rea This ended up being a really fun, sweet read. I had my doubts early on when "the bet" was made. I thought, oh here we go, predictable drama coming up. And while maybe a little bit of the bet was predictable, it was still done in such a way that I really enjoyed the romance and the ending. The hero is a great guy but the heroine, Aly, steals the show. She's a doctor, a bit socially awkward, very literal and did I mention a little awkward? :) But it's all done in a such a sweet way that I just really enjoyed her and wanted her to find some happiness. This is a fun start to a new series and I'm already looking forward to the next book.
    more
  • Tami
    May 26, 2017
    This was kind of a charming read. Laughed, cried, yelled at the characters.This review is based on the ARC provided by the author and/or the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
  • Megan ~The Never Ending Book Basket
    June 27, 2017
    Elizabeth Hayley never fails to give me a story that will make me laugh, that will make me blush, and that will give me unforgettable characters that I can’t get enough of. I have loved each and every one of their books to pieces, and The Bet was no different. With their phenomenal writing, vibrant characters, and with their stories that I can’t ever put down, Elizabeth Hayley once again gave me it all with this book. The made me laugh until the points that my cheeks hurt with the banter of thes Elizabeth Hayley never fails to give me a story that will make me laugh, that will make me blush, and that will give me unforgettable characters that I can’t get enough of. I have loved each and every one of their books to pieces, and The Bet was no different. With their phenomenal writing, vibrant characters, and with their stories that I can’t ever put down, Elizabeth Hayley once again gave me it all with this book. The made me laugh until the points that my cheeks hurt with the banter of these characters. They made me feel like I needed a fan after feeling the fire and connection these characters shared. They made me fall and believe in everything that was happening in this book, and more than that they made me love and enjoy every single second I spent within its pages. The Bet is the first book in their new series of standalone sports romances, and let me tell you, after reading what I did in this book, I can’t wait to get my greedy little hands on the rest of this series. This book, and what I got with Jace and Aly as they experienced just how life changing a simple little bet could be was enjoyable in every way. Those two were real, they were funny as all get out, and there was just something about them that I couldn’t get enough of. The way Elizabeth Hayley gives you them as this story unfolds will have you in every word of it all as these two see where their bets take them, as they try to wade through what they feel and share, and as they see what could be. Told through Elizabeth Hayley’s effervescent writing, this story gives you them, every bit of what they share, and will have you rooting for the two of them through every word.Trust me on that. From the very first moment I was in Aly’s head I loved her. That girl was smart, she had some quick wit, and she made me smile because she was so real and just her. There was nothing fake or misleading about her, and Aly owned every bit of who she was. I can’t say enough how much I loved and respected that about her. I loved that she wasn’t afraid to be herself, to be a little nerdy, to be awkward, fumble her words, and just be her. That made her so easy to love and connect to, and it had me loving every bit I got with her as this story progressed. Getting to be with her as Jace flustered her, as he affected her, and as he made her feel all that she was starting to feel was fantastic in every way and made me love that girl more for how she kept him on his toes. Aly is such an authentic and strong female character that I felt for, that I rooted for, and that I felt for through every word of this book, and that is all a testament to how Elizabeth Hayley so phenomenally crafted her character. Jace is a male character that you can’t help but love and fall for. He is charming, he is sweet, and he’s got that something about him that makes you blush, while simultaneously making you want to bat your eyelashes a few times. I loved getting into his head, getting to understand him, and getting to know that man behind all that charm and flirt. There is so much more to his character than what meets the eye, and each turn of the page in this book allows you to get another phenomenal piece to that man. What I loved about Jace was that through every page of this book I knew and felt how good of a guy he was. He was thoughtful, he cared about those close to him, and he was honest. While this whole situation with Aly might’ve started with a bet, it led him to some very real feelings and a connection that wouldn’t quit, and I loved how honest he was about that. Elizabeth Hayley made him a male character that was so beyond easy to fall for and love, and getting to know him as I did in this story pulled me to him even more. Aly and Jace share one helluva connection that starts from the first moment they meet, and continues to build and intensify with everything that they begin to share. While their first interactions are certainly memorable in a lot of ways, these two soon find themselves feeling a whole heck of a lot more than they expected. They have this certain push and pull going between them, and the closer they get and the more they share, the more they can’t help but be drawn to one another. That spark is full of fire and heat and some serious passion that I am telling you will have you looking for the nearest fan with what those two share. The way Aly and Jace’s connection strengthens in this book will have you feeling it all with them as things start to become very real, and as they start to realize that this is way more than they thought it’d be. The start of this book finds both Aly and Jace placing bets with their friends that ultimately push the two of them together. Aly makes a bet to give a guy a chance and go on 3 dates with him, while Jace makes a bet that he can find the most beautiful girl to bring to an awards ceremony. A bet is what brought these two together, but after their first date and as they start to share more, they both start to realize that what they’re sharing is more than they bargained for. That adds an entirely new layer to this story, and forces these characters to really think about what they want, who they are, and what they’re willing to fight for. Everything between them started with a bet, but as their feelings deepened and their connection continued, Aly and Jace must figure out what in the world they’re going to do with what they share. This book and its events certainly puts them to the test, but I am telling you, you will love getting to be there every step of the way as these characters see what happens when all bets are off. Now this wouldn’t be a book by Elizabeth Hayley if I didn’t find myself laughing like crazy with what comes out of these characters mouths and the good kinds of crazy they find themselves in. Through every page and chapter in this book I found myself laughing at the banter between all of these characters, their wonderful antics, and the situations they seemed to find themselves in no matter how hard they tried to keep it together. Elizabeth Hayley not only wove together a story with the most enjoyable and authentic humor, they also made these characters and their personalities so vibrant. They made them full of life, they made them fun and real, and they made them all so beyond easy to connect to and love. Aly, Jace, and every other character in this book had me laughing and loving every bit I got with them, and that was just another thing that made this book so enjoyable to read. This book is the start to a new series, and I for one can’t wait to get more with all of these characters. This was Elizabeth Hayley’s first foray into sports romance, and I loved what they gave me in this book and what they’ve set up for in this series. They perfectly blended the love story, the characters, and the nuances of the sports themselves into this story and with these characters in a way that had me loving every bit of what I was reading even more. The personalities of all these characters already has me missing them something fierce, and eager for their stories and to get more of the banter and friendships they all shared together. The way Elizabeth Hayley created this world and put me right in the thick of it with all of these characters was enjoyable to the highest level, and already has me knowing that I will love whatever they have in store for them in the rest of this series. The Bet was a story that had it all. It had the characters I could not get enough of, it had a story that was so consuming through every word, and it had one helluva love story that had me so enamored in everything that I got with Jace and Aly as they tried to figure out what in the world they were doing. This book made me laugh, it made me swoon just a bit, and it gave me two characters who were real, who were easy to love and root for, and who had one heck of a connection. The way that Elizabeth Hayley brought every word of this story to life had me loving everything I was reading and experiencing with these characters, and so in this story in the most phenomenal way.The writing talent of this duo knows no bounds, and I have no doubt that I will love anything these talented authors write because their books are that good, their characters are that dynamic, and their stories are that unforgettable. The Bet is a story about two seemingly opposites who find themselves drawn to one another in a way they haven’t been to any other. This story explores what happens when that bet brings them together, yet ultimately pushes them closer to what might tear them apart. Every word in between that these characters share is real, honest, and heart meltingly good, and that is just a part of what makes this story so good to read.
    more
  • A Klue
    June 25, 2017
    Well, you know how it goes, folks. Just look at the title. When a main couple gets talked into making two separate dating bets among their closest friends you pretty much know things are never going to go as planned. The cat always gets let out of the bag.There really aren’t any major surprises in this one, my fellow romance book-loving friends. But what you will find here are some great chemistry, witty/back and forth banter, a likeable main couple, and off the charts steamy scenes that may lea Well, you know how it goes, folks. Just look at the title. When a main couple gets talked into making two separate dating bets among their closest friends you pretty much know things are never going to go as planned. The cat always gets let out of the bag.There really aren’t any major surprises in this one, my fellow romance book-loving friends. But what you will find here are some great chemistry, witty/back and forth banter, a likeable main couple, and off the charts steamy scenes that may leave you blushing. Yeah, this famous football hero knows how to make a play on and off the field. The logical, caring, sassy, adorable but easily tongue-tied heroine eventually becomes game to whatever he dishes out. Goodness, at times she is even taking the lead. Let’s just say, this nice doctor learns to be be naughty, as well. If steam is your thing, well, you’ll find it here.You can’t but help cheer for Alessandra (aka Aly) the smart, beautiful, quirky cancer doctor that doesn’t seem to at first comprehend the prize she has won by gaining the attention and interest of Jace. His celebrity status doesn’t impress this girl, folks. In fact, at first she doesn’t want anything to do with him. When a bet forces her to go on three dates with him, she learns there’s a whole lot more to this guy than just football and popularity. After she gets acquainted with his amazing abs, she learns there’s a heart worth winning there, as well. Though a somewhat similar bet prompted him to ask her out, they do get to know/genuinely like one another that leads to love. That’s a good thing because they physically got to know each other on a very intimate level their very first date. They both seem to think their fling will have an expiration date though. Yeah, it takes them both quite awhile to label it with the “l” word. No, not just lust, but love, as well. Surprisingly, Jace seems to realize it before his Aly accepts they could actually be a forever couple.Typical competitive, cocky, jock talk got him into agreeing to the bet, but ultimately they both come out winners at the heart felt, romantic conclusion. I must admit I could have lived without the boss drama and the rather lackluster family drama on both sides. Though one of those situations gave Jace the chance to show no one messes with his woman. I was also scratching my head at the poor taste/crude joke made about one of Jace’s friend’s mother. Undoubtedly, Gabe or Ben will be featured as the next professional athlete in this series to get a HEA. Here’s to hoping it will be equally entertaining.Romance Safety Gang: (view spoiler)[ Though attracted to her upon meeting, Jace reluctantly later is forced to admit to her he likely never would have asked her out if not for the bet, because she wasn’t his type. Likewise, however, she thought his fame would make him unobtainable and a player. (hide spoiler)]Title: The Bet, Series: The Players (Book 1), Author: Elizabeth Hayley, Pages: 274, stand-alone but part of a series, likeable/sassy/pretty/quirky doctor heroine, good guy/football player hero, VERY steamy scenes with lusty language, no cheating, no OW/OM drama (except she goes on one bad date after briefing meeting the hero), no love triangle. (This review is based on an advanced reader copy distributed via NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. No compensation was provided to this reviewer, nor is there any affiliation between the reviewer and author/publisher/NetGalley.)
    more
  • Sarah
    June 28, 2017
    This is a fun romance between a football star and a socially awkward doctor. And while Jace is a relatively predictable hero, Aly is an unlikely heroine who makes this story memorable.At the start of this book, Aly has some definite Aspergers tendencies. She is incredibly intelligent but she takes things a little too literally and she doesn’t manage social situations terribly well. I loved the way she was shy and uncertain one moment and uncomfortably blunt the next. I was sad that Aly’s quirks This is a fun romance between a football star and a socially awkward doctor. And while Jace is a relatively predictable hero, Aly is an unlikely heroine who makes this story memorable.At the start of this book, Aly has some definite Aspergers tendencies. She is incredibly intelligent but she takes things a little too literally and she doesn’t manage social situations terribly well. I loved the way she was shy and uncertain one moment and uncomfortably blunt the next. I was sad that Aly’s quirks aren’t sustained through the second half of the novel as she seems to lose some of her individuality by the end of the book. I wanted to see Jace appreciate Aly for who she was and it was slightly disappointing to instead see her becoming more ordinary as the story progressed.Jace is too good to be true. He is a household name who takes time to build personal relationships with sick kids. He visits Aly’s patients without cameras or publicity machines. He is honourable and clean living. His relationship with his family is strained but otherwise he’s a perfect male romantic lead. Together, Jace and Aly make a sexy couple. The chemistry between them is instant and I thoroughly enjoyed the banter and teasing. But while the sex was hot, I’m not sure the sex scenes always fit the characters or fit the sequencing of the story. I struggled with the miscommunication between Jace and Aly near the end. It is a tired, formulaic trope and readers will see it coming from the outset. I expected better from logical, analytical Aly. Beyond Jace and Aly’s relationship, there are several other plot threads woven into this book. We get little vignettes about Aly’s work, her patients and her relationships and Jace’s family and teammates. None of these seem to conclude and I couldn’t help but feel they cluttered the book some. I enjoyed this. I liked reading about a female lead who felt real and didn’t conform to most chick lit standards. Aly’s story is a breath of fresh air in a genre becoming increasingly formulaic.
    more
  • Avid Reader
    June 26, 2017
    The Bet (The Players #1) by Elizabeth Hayley4 starsM/F RomanceI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.This was a super sweet story about opposites attracting and findings that what's on the outside, sometimes doesn't match.Jace is a football player who is in his prime, but he holds a special place of guilt for his family. When he started to do really well, his family kind of pushed him away - they didn't want to hold him back, but then resented the fact that he was doing well. The Bet (The Players #1) by Elizabeth Hayley4 starsM/F RomanceI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.This was a super sweet story about opposites attracting and findings that what's on the outside, sometimes doesn't match.Jace is a football player who is in his prime, but he holds a special place of guilt for his family. When he started to do really well, his family kind of pushed him away - they didn't want to hold him back, but then resented the fact that he was doing well.Alessandra is an oncologist who is trying to finish her fellowship in one piece. She has an attending that not only belittles her but is, at times, jealous of her. She has a good friend, Aly who wants nothing but good things for her friend and bets Alessandra to go out with the next person who asks her for at least three dates.Jace's friends are also meddlesome and they come up with a bet about their next large awards program: who can attend with the most beautiful woman? So, the terms are set and the games begin. Jace and Alessandra find kindred spirits in each other and then have to decide if their happiness is truly tied to each other or just the thought of a happy relationship. I think this was a fairly successful story without an insta-love connection, even though there was an insta-physical connection. I hope Jace's friends and Alessandra's friend get their own stories.
    more
  • Mary
    June 4, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. Jace loves working the kids in the cancer ward, which is where he meets Alessandra aka "Dr. Coma". She's a bit different, a little blunt in a cute, nerdy sort of way. Alessandra doesn't have a clue who Jace is, other than a professional athlete that visits the sick kids on the cancer ward where she works.Alessandra and Jace both have interfering friends so when Alessandra's bestie, Lane, makes a bet with her that she has to I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. Jace loves working the kids in the cancer ward, which is where he meets Alessandra aka "Dr. Coma". She's a bit different, a little blunt in a cute, nerdy sort of way. Alessandra doesn't have a clue who Jace is, other than a professional athlete that visits the sick kids on the cancer ward where she works.Alessandra and Jace both have interfering friends so when Alessandra's bestie, Lane, makes a bet with her that she has to go on three dates with the next guy who asks her she agrees. Jace and his friends have a bet that their date to an awards ceremony will be the most beautiful, but Jace agrees to let his friends pick his date. When they pick Alessandra, Jace is both intrigued and dismayed. Both Aly and Jace have issues with self confidence and feelings of not being good enough. Jace's family pushed him away as he began to shine on the football field and Aly feels bad her for younger sister who is always compared to her as the "perfect" sister.Unable to resist each other, Aly and Jace slowly begin to navigate the waters of a new romance where Jace feels out his league by dating someone so smart and successful, while Aly is amazed that someone as athletic and popular as Jace would date a nerd like her.I really enjoyed this book and can't wait for the next book in the series.~~Wicked Reads Review Team~~
    more
  • Twinsie Talk Angie J
    June 25, 2017
    Check out this review and others atwww.Twinsietalk.comwww.Facebook.com/Twinsietalkwww.Twitter.com/Twinsietalkwww.Tsu.co/TwinsietalkNewsletter : http://eepurl.com/brwkPv Amazon link http://amzn.to/2tf4Jkt I received this book from the author for an honest review.I love these ladies’ writings and have been a fan since their first book came out. This book is a sweet and kinda predictable story about a guy and a girl who run into each other. The girl, Alessandra, has no clue who the hottie, Jace, ev Check out this review and others atwww.Twinsietalk.comwww.Facebook.com/Twinsietalkwww.Twitter.com/Twinsietalkwww.Tsu.co/TwinsietalkNewsletter : http://eepurl.com/brwkPv Amazon link http://amzn.to/2tf4Jkt I received this book from the author for an honest review.I love these ladies’ writings and have been a fan since their first book came out. This book is a sweet and kinda predictable story about a guy and a girl who run into each other. The girl, Alessandra, has no clue who the hottie, Jace, even is. Then Jace is bet by a friend and he needs to get Alessandra to go out with him. She is like not even close to thinking he is worth her time. But her friends convince her to go out with the hottie and give him a chance.The banter is funny between the characters but I didn’t feel the heat like I usually do and especially from their fist books. One thing I did love about the story was Alessandra was kinda a hot mess. LOL She was super smart but kinda clueless in social situations…….like if you talked to her you would think AWKWARD which I thought was hilarious because the authors themselves say and do things that cause them to laugh at themselves. So I kept thinking “Was the Elizabeth or Hayley who wrote that scene?”I liked the story and if you are wanting to read something sweet and easy then this is a great book. Its pretty angst free but has a fun feel to it.
    more
  • The Suburban Eclectic
    June 25, 2017
    Jace has the looks, and the bedroom action is sexy and plentiful, but the bumbling Neanderthal act does not scream romantic hero. His past serves as his Achilles heel, and the huge chip on his shoulder makes him seem like a whiny brat. Unfortunately, Alessandra does not fare much better. For a smart, modern woman, she makes questionable choices that are never fully explained. Her character is drawn so thinly that she doesn’t make much of an impression. Outside the bedroom, the chemistry between Jace has the looks, and the bedroom action is sexy and plentiful, but the bumbling Neanderthal act does not scream romantic hero. His past serves as his Achilles heel, and the huge chip on his shoulder makes him seem like a whiny brat. Unfortunately, Alessandra does not fare much better. For a smart, modern woman, she makes questionable choices that are never fully explained. Her character is drawn so thinly that she doesn’t make much of an impression. Outside the bedroom, the chemistry between Aly and Jace is non-existent as there is too much telling and not enough showing of emotion. The Bet veers to the generic with its opposites-attract romance that fails to jolt fire into the too bland characters. However, the real downer is the misogynistic tone of all the male characters. The premise of a friendly wager among bros has been done before, but this telling is still obnoxious. Making up monikers (i.e., Brazilipino) and scrutinizing women’s looks under the guise of male bonding is offensive and tired. I love a character redemption, but the slap-dash ending does not make up for an entire story about a charmless cad and a confused colleen. Disappointing.
    more
  • Aresha
    May 26, 2017
    *** Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review ***LOVED IT!!!!! It's been awhile since I've read a book that really really captured my attention like this book. There was just something about this book I just couldn't put it down.Alessandra is a doctor who is very blunt and with her you always know where you stand. Through one of her patients Aly met Jace and her you could tell she wasn't impressed. Jace is a famous quarterback and is accustomed to everyone knowi *** Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review ***LOVED IT!!!!! It's been awhile since I've read a book that really really captured my attention like this book. There was just something about this book I just couldn't put it down.Alessandra is a doctor who is very blunt and with her you always know where you stand. Through one of her patients Aly met Jace and her you could tell she wasn't impressed. Jace is a famous quarterback and is accustomed to everyone knowing him and liking what they see. Due to a bet Jace asks Aly out and as you have it due to another bet Aly was forced to accept.Their story just takes off from there and it was an amazing journey. There were parts of this book that had me on edge, which I totally hated but still really loved. I AM totally recommending this book. I guarantee you a funny, sexy, passionate story.For more reviews check out my blog Aresha's Book Corner @ aresha001.simplesite.com 🤗🤗
    more
  • Carolyn's
    May 27, 2017
    Can't wait for the rest of this series! These men are sexy trouble! Sexy QB Jace stumbles across Dr. Alessandra while he is visiting the pediatric cancer ward at the local hospital. Dr. Aly doesn't want anything to do with him after a prior heartbreak. When they each become the object of bets with their friends they soon find out maybe they have hit jackpot. Jace as Aly were sweet, funny and super hot and sexy. Aly discovers the jock heartthrob is actually a caring person with a safe family hist Can't wait for the rest of this series! These men are sexy trouble! Sexy QB Jace stumbles across Dr. Alessandra while he is visiting the pediatric cancer ward at the local hospital. Dr. Aly doesn't want anything to do with him after a prior heartbreak. When they each become the object of bets with their friends they soon find out maybe they have hit jackpot. Jace as Aly were sweet, funny and super hot and sexy. Aly discovers the jock heartthrob is actually a caring person with a safe family history. He is her true protector. Jace finds that Aly doesn't just give her all to her patients but is there for him in the same way. But what about the bet? What happens when it's revealed and feelings are hurt. Loved Elizabeth Hayley's writing style. Great story which leaves you wanting the rest of this series pronto.
    more
  • Becky Burciaga
    May 30, 2017
    A well written story that is NFL a cross about between a NFL player meets Temperance Brennan from Bones. The characters were thoroughly enjoyable, with depth and personality. The getting to know stage between Jace and Aly brought several chuckles because of her extremely literal mind. You couldn't help but love her and understand many of her idiosyncrasies and insecurities. Jace was quite unique in that as a professional ball player he was sensitive to traits...feeling protective and wanting to A well written story that is NFL a cross about between a NFL player meets Temperance Brennan from Bones. The characters were thoroughly enjoyable, with depth and personality. The getting to know stage between Jace and Aly brought several chuckles because of her extremely literal mind. You couldn't help but love her and understand many of her idiosyncrasies and insecurities. Jace was quite unique in that as a professional ball player he was sensitive to traits...feeling protective and wanting to help her to see herself as the intelligent and beautiful woman she is. Many of their interactions were sweet and endearing. I hope that there will be additional stories involving Ben and Gabe. This ARC book was a complimentary copy provided by the Publisher and Netgally, I voluntarily providing my honest review.
    more
  • Alex
    May 9, 2017
    Series: Players #1Jace Benning: Football Player. Famous. Charming. Alessandra "Aly" Mastrazacoma: Doctor. Genius. Awkward. Honest.Their Romance: Opposites Attract " 'I can be Jace Benning around you. You don't care how many points I score or how much money I have. I've never had anyone like that until I found you.' " --What’s Going On--Alessandra has been so focused on her work as a doctor she's forgotten about the rest of her life. So her friend makes a bet that Alessandra has to go out on 3 da Series: Players #1Jace Benning: Football Player. Famous. Charming. Alessandra "Aly" Mastrazacoma: Doctor. Genius. Awkward. Honest.Their Romance: Opposites Attract " 'I can be Jace Benning around you. You don't care how many points I score or how much money I have. I've never had anyone like that until I found you.' " --What’s Going On--Alessandra has been so focused on her work as a doctor she's forgotten about the rest of her life. So her friend makes a bet that Alessandra has to go out on 3 dates with any guy who asks her out. Jace volunteers at the hospital, meeting sick kids, and his first encounter with Alessandra highlights how little they have in common -- she doesn't even recognize him! When Jace and his other athlete friends make a bet on who can bring the hottest (non-celebrity) date to a sports award ceremony, he's sure he can win this. Then his friends bet Jace to let them choose his date and he agrees until he realizes that they've picked Alessandra and Jace isn't so sure he can win this.--What I Liked and Didn’t Liked--The Writing and Plot -- I really liked this one a lot mostly because of the characters who were so enjoyable to read. The pace of the story was perfect and I never felt bored with what was going on. With both characters only dating each other because of a bet they made with friends, you know this is going to be interesting. Both Jace and Alessandra were complete opposites and initially they felt that there was no way they'd work together because of this. Elizabeth Hayley did a great job of making these two work and making the reader believe they worked as well. This story also introduces us to Ben and Gabe, Jace's friends, who I assume will have their own books in this series, along with the super secret Player's Club which I hope to see a lot more of!The Characters and Romance -- The characters really make this story since at it's core it's a character driven romance. I've liked Elizabeth Hayley since I read The Best Medicine when it came out and this book was just as enjoyable. Jace was a wonderful hero who has all the confidence and swagger of a famous football player without having the annoying arrogance that I sometimes see in sports romances. I LOVED that Jace doesn't feel like he's the hottest thing out there and instead he believes that Alessandra is out of his league. He truly enjoys that Alessandra really sees him for him and not the athlete and that he can be himself with her. I also had some great laughs over Jace's need to rile Alessandra up and get her flustered in the best ways possible. Alessandra for her part was this slightly awkward, bluntly honest woman who had no problem holding her own against Jace. At first I found her awkward demeanor a little much since it made her seem a little ditsy, but Hayley quickly developed the personality to make it an endearing part of Alessandra's character. She reminded me a lot of Abigail in The Witness by Nora Roberts (one of my favorites) with her intellectual assessments of everything even down to them having sex. Of course since these two meet through a bet there was bound to be some complications when the "dirty laundry" gets aired out. I do wish that Alessandra would have accepted a little more blame for keeping secrets as well since she never would have gone out with Jace if it weren't for her bet with her friend. However, it was clear that her bet's intentions were very different than Jace's bet's intentions.--Final Thoughts--A great start to a new series by a favorite author of mine. I loved Jace and Alessandra and how they learned to embrace their opposite personalities. I can't wait to read more in this series, hopefully with Ben next!I received an ARC copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Becky Fenner anderson
    June 28, 2017
    E&H never fail to give us a book that will make you laugh! This one is no exception.Aly is one of my favorite heroines EVER! One you get inside her head it's impossible not to love her. She's so smart and so real you feel as though you can relate to her. What I loved best about her is she isn't afraid to be who she is. You either accept it or you don't. Jace is your typical hero. Hot, funny & charming with a heart of gold. He volunteers at the hospital Aly works, visiting with sick kids. E&H never fail to give us a book that will make you laugh! This one is no exception.Aly is one of my favorite heroines EVER! One you get inside her head it's impossible not to love her. She's so smart and so real you feel as though you can relate to her. What I loved best about her is she isn't afraid to be who she is. You either accept it or you don't. Jace is your typical hero. Hot, funny & charming with a heart of gold. He volunteers at the hospital Aly works, visiting with sick kids. It's through that that these two meet and OMG the sparks fly from that moment on.Grab this book and enjoy following these two crazy kids towards a journey called love. It's a fun read with a lot of fun twists and turns and a great supporting cast of characters. Take a chance on The Bet. You won't regret it! Happy reading!
    more
  • Heather andrews
    May 30, 2017
    I loved Aly girl had some lady balls on her, she wasn't bashful, and it was like no topic was off limits, “it’s Twenty Questions. The rules are whatever we say they are.” Jace opened his mouth to reply, but she cut him off. “Never mind. I’ll ask a different question.” She sat and thought for a minute. “How many girls have you had intercourse with?” Jace is a man just full of logic, “why would I want to see a bunch of strange girls take their clothes off when I can get a private show from you?” J I loved Aly girl had some lady balls on her, she wasn't bashful, and it was like no topic was off limits, “it’s Twenty Questions. The rules are whatever we say they are.” Jace opened his mouth to reply, but she cut him off. “Never mind. I’ll ask a different question.” She sat and thought for a minute. “How many girls have you had intercourse with?” Jace is a man just full of logic, “why would I want to see a bunch of strange girls take their clothes off when I can get a private show from you?” Jace is an honest man, "Jace rubbed his hands together. “There’s no easy way to say this, so I’ll just come out with it.” He put his hands on his thighs and held her gaze. “I just threatened to beat up your boss.” I really liked this book, I loved the relationship Jace and Aly had.
    more
  • Cctheday
    June 17, 2017
    While I enjoyed Jace and Aly's story I just felt like it dragged at times and I had a hard time getting into it. I can normally read a book in a couple of hours. This book took me a week to get through. I kept setting it down because it just doesn't suck you into the story. It was a good premise but it was slow. I think another issue I had was with Aly she is just so cold most of the book. I think if she was a little warmer I would have been able to connect more with her. Jace was typical jock. While I enjoyed Jace and Aly's story I just felt like it dragged at times and I had a hard time getting into it. I can normally read a book in a couple of hours. This book took me a week to get through. I kept setting it down because it just doesn't suck you into the story. It was a good premise but it was slow. I think another issue I had was with Aly she is just so cold most of the book. I think if she was a little warmer I would have been able to connect more with her. Jace was typical jock. I didn't feel like there was anything that set him apart from other books I have read with athletes.
    more
  • Rithy
    June 10, 2017
    The bet was a cute, light and sweet read. I've always loved my heroines a tad quirky and anti-social it makes things just that much more hilarious. I didn't like the hero as much he was a little too cocky for my taste but once you get more into the book he kind of grew on me so Definately a book I'd recommend to lovers of sports romance books with less emphases on sports and more on the Hijinks and shenanigans the players can get into ***Arc kindly provided by the Publisher Via Netgalley in exch The bet was a cute, light and sweet read. I've always loved my heroines a tad quirky and anti-social it makes things just that much more hilarious. I didn't like the hero as much he was a little too cocky for my taste but once you get more into the book he kind of grew on me so Definately a book I'd recommend to lovers of sports romance books with less emphases on sports and more on the Hijinks and shenanigans the players can get into ***Arc kindly provided by the Publisher Via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Brandi
    June 21, 2017
    Jace Benning excels on the field. A quarterback that always makes time to visit sick children on the oncology ward he meets Alessandra. The alluring doctor is definitely not impressed with the quarterback nor knows who he is. Completely disinterested in sports she accepts a bet from her friend. After going on three dates things begin to take a turn neither one expected. Loved the interactions between the characters and Aly always relying on facts. Absolutely hilarious!
    more
Write a review