Way Down Deep
An erotic romance…told entirely through text messages.The words he typed were never meant to be read, yet they found their way to her. Two wounded strangers, prisoners of their own lives, brought together by a wayward text.Without ever hearing each other’s voices, a friendship blooms between them. Without ever seeing each other’s faces, an attraction grows. Without ever touching, the two become lovers.But when words suddenly aren’t enough, will this bond be able to tear down the walls that keep them apart…or was it only ever fantasy?

Way Down Deep Details

TitleWay Down Deep
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
Number of pages202 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Romance, Contemporary Romance, Adult Fiction, Erotica

Way Down Deep Review

  • Judith
    June 3, 2017
    3.5 Stars. We have a history, one that’s been entirely documented. The moment we met, the moment we first went to bed together, in our weird way. The moments we turned ourselves inside out and bared everything,(...) When I saw the blurb for this I was immediately intrigued and especially as it's written by two of my favourite MF romance Authors.The story opens with Malcolm sending a desperate text message to someone who he never expected to respond.The number he sent the message to now belongs 3.5 Stars. We have a history, one that’s been entirely documented. The moment we met, the moment we first went to bed together, in our weird way. The moments we turned ourselves inside out and bared everything,(...) When I saw the blurb for this I was immediately intrigued and especially as it's written by two of my favourite MF romance Authors.The story opens with Malcolm sending a desperate text message to someone who he never expected to respond.The number he sent the message to now belongs to a different person....Maya.As the blurb suggests the only communication between them is via text-I did wonder at this as some of the messages are extremely long.They gradually get to know each other through these messages and the more familiar they get,the more comfortable they feel with each other.....which leads to stexting.....and there's a lot of it!Both characters have traumatic back stories and the overriding feeling I got while reading this was one of sadness...that's not to say that I didn't enjoy it.This(for me) was one of those books I couldn't put down.I was racing to get to finish line-I had no idea how things would turn out but I couldn't wait to find out.Was I happy with the ending? Well I definitely wanted more but given the subject of the book,I think it's the only way the Authors could have gone to keep the story credible.If you fancy reading a completely different kind of romance I would recommend this....the writing is very good which is no surprise with these Authors. Arc from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Claire Robinson
    May 23, 2017
    4 - I never expected to hear back... Stars!The blurb for Way Down Deep is what firstly sold me on reading this book, I was interested to see if the authors would be able to transfer enough emotion and depth to a story that is basically told through the medium of text messaging.Its Live!Amazon US – http://a.co/6XXSjrwAmazon UK - http://amzn.eu/0Rvn2fAB&N - https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/way-...The second selling point; Cara McKenna, I have only read one other book by her, but it left such a 4 - I never expected to hear back... Stars!The blurb for Way Down Deep is what firstly sold me on reading this book, I was interested to see if the authors would be able to transfer enough emotion and depth to a story that is basically told through the medium of text messaging.Its Live!Amazon US – http://a.co/6XXSjrwAmazon UK - http://amzn.eu/0Rvn2fAB&N - https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/way-...The second selling point; Cara McKenna, I have only read one other book by her, but it left such a lasting effect on me, that even three years on from reading it I still think about it on occasion, when you read as voraciously as I do, that is not something that happens often. I have a crush on someone, based on nothing but her words… Back to the book, this essentially starts with the H, sending a text of desperation to a number he never ever expected to get a reply from, here enters the h, as she now has the number that he has texted. I did wonder if developing a relationship over text would be a struggle on a longer time-frame, because there are literally no verbal words spoken in this book between the H/h, and for me in the main the authors hit the right pitch. The first 40% was great in building the anticipation, and you got to know Maya and Malcolm as they essentially got to know each other. The next 30% did drag a bit, because it morphed into one long stexting session, and I found myself getting a bit distracted from it all, the phrase 'actions speak louder than words' was pretty apt for the amount of typing about what they wanted to do to each other went on, but the authors did manage to pull it back with the end, and I found myself sniffling at my desk by the end of it. Something about you, about this, give me hope. Both characters have pretty grim back stories, and I actually think the texting helped keep from making it too angsty in its own way, because although a lot of the texts were written more of a letter length than a couple of sentences, nothing was dwelled on for too long, before they moved onto the next thing. You’re the twig in my pine needle tea. If you are looking for a love story, that’s a little different from the normal ‘boy meets girl’ theme, this is definitely one I would recommend you give a try. I have to say the end though… Gah! I so wanted an epilogue, in fact the authors could probably write another book from the ending they gave this one. Not a cliffy per-se, but I definitely wanted more.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, in exchange for the above honest review.
    more
  • ♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥
    June 7, 2017
    The premise of this novel sounded fascinating, teamed with the fact that I have read and loved previous novels by one of the authors in this collaborative story left me in no doubt that I had to read WAY DEEP DOWN. I got to around the 30% mark but found it simply did not work for me. I found the narrative to be too monotone and the continuing texts did not hold my interest like I thought they would. I thought the inclusion of popular culture in the prose was interesting and engaging but that fac The premise of this novel sounded fascinating, teamed with the fact that I have read and loved previous novels by one of the authors in this collaborative story left me in no doubt that I had to read WAY DEEP DOWN. I got to around the 30% mark but found it simply did not work for me. I found the narrative to be too monotone and the continuing texts did not hold my interest like I thought they would. I thought the inclusion of popular culture in the prose was interesting and engaging but that fact relied on me knowing about those snippets of history, like Elliot Smith for example. The characters caught my interest initially but I did not warm to them at all or care of their situation as a result of feeling a slight disengage with the narrative. Definitely an interesting concept and maybe if I had pushed through I would have enjoyed it more but, for the moment, I have taken the decision to stop. Advance copy provided for my honest review thoughts *
    more
  • Mirjana ***Let's Sound It Out - - - Mary-On-A***
    May 12, 2017
    Need to put this on PAUSE (@15%) for a minute because I'm not feeling it. Explanation below.The premise of this book is amazing. I didn't even need to know what the book was about to want to pick up an erotic romance told entirely via text messages! How many in today's day and age haven't secretly wished to stumble upon an instant connection with a stranger via technology? How many has that already happened to?While I was overjoyed at the premise, unfortunately, I was left a bit disappointment w Need to put this on PAUSE (@15%) for a minute because I'm not feeling it. Explanation below.The premise of this book is amazing. I didn't even need to know what the book was about to want to pick up an erotic romance told entirely via text messages! How many in today's day and age haven't secretly wished to stumble upon an instant connection with a stranger via technology? How many has that already happened to?While I was overjoyed at the premise, unfortunately, I was left a bit disappointment with the execution. I think the writing is too lyrical and formal for the method of communication. These are supposed to be text messages...not emails (some texts go on for pages and felt more like emails), and certainly not what felt like finding letters between two people from decades ago. This didn't feel fresh and now like how I hoped it would. I wasn't expecting text slang or funky abbreviations people use when they text...or even frequent trips to urban dictionary to find out what the hell some things mean...but I was expecting a book that felt current and relatable in its delivery. Instead I got a well written story that felt forced into a box it didn't belong in. If you took away the novelty of the story being told via text, I feel this would be a much more engaging story. Instead, everything felt off and....slooooooow. Especially considering the story is emotional and heavy and deals with some serious themes (mental health issues and a child dealing with what appears to be the trauma of losing a parent). I was expecting something much lighter than what's going on here. ***ARC courtesy of Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*** ---------------------------------------An erotic romance told entirely through text messages?!?!?!?! And co-written by Cara McKenna?!?!?!
    more
  • Karla
    June 13, 2017
    4 stars! "Way Down Deep" definitely had a unique plot, two strangers that by accident or destiny end up texting each other by mistake. One message turns into two and three and many more. Their messages start light and fun, but soon they start sharing their personal lives. This was a short read but emotionally packed and sexy. I felt the MC connection I think the fact that they couldn't see each other made it easier for them both to talk about their troubles and heartbreaking pasts. The way they 4 stars! "Way Down Deep" definitely had a unique plot, two strangers that by accident or destiny end up texting each other by mistake. One message turns into two and three and many more. Their messages start light and fun, but soon they start sharing their personal lives. This was a short read but emotionally packed and sexy. I felt the MC connection I think the fact that they couldn't see each other made it easier for them both to talk about their troubles and heartbreaking pasts. The way they supported each other even via text was amazing it just shows you how even through written words can make a person not feel alone. It took me days to come up with my rating I was between 3.75 to 4 stars. I kept thinking of the ending, did I want more? Hell yea!! But the more I thought about it the more I know this is the kinda of ending I expect form CM books. I'm not sure about Charlotte stein I'm not familiar with her books yet. So I'll just say the ending left me content.❤️
    more
  • ~IreneOust~
    May 21, 2017
    I don't typically read ARCs but who in their right mind turns down a chance to read early a novel where the first line of a blurb is 'An erotic romance … told entirely through text messages.' ?? I am not sure how this book came to be ... I am just glad that it did! What an original concept (to me, anyhow)! As a HUGE fan of Cara McKenna's work, I am thrilled to be introduced to Charlotte Stein via this collaborative effort. I knew going into this book that it will end up being something special. I don't typically read ARCs but who in their right mind turns down a chance to read early a novel where the first line of a blurb is 'An erotic romance … told entirely through text messages.' ?? I am not sure how this book came to be ... I am just glad that it did! What an original concept (to me, anyhow)! As a HUGE fan of Cara McKenna's work, I am thrilled to be introduced to Charlotte Stein via this collaborative effort. I knew going into this book that it will end up being something special. Raw, real, unique, character driver and exquisitely written. This story had it all. In fact, I loved it so much that it is going onto my 'best of 2017' self and we aren't even half way through the year.I will try and add to this review closer to the release date but there's literally NOTHING I can ever say that will do this book justice it deserves. If you appreciate original, well written stories, I urge you to give this one a go once it becomes available.Cheers!Release date: June 6th, 2017.
    more
  • SamJ ★Needs a HEA★
    May 24, 2017
    Check out this and my other reviews at My Blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter and Pinterest Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review★Book Basics★ Genre : - Cont. Romance Series : - Stand Alone Love triangle? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] Cheating? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] HEA? - (view spoiler)[More of a possible HFN (hide spoiler)] Would I read more by this author/or in this series? - Yes Rating - 3 stars★Review★I was so intrigued by this book. And I rea Check out this and my other reviews at My Blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter and Pinterest Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review★Book Basics★ Genre : - Cont. Romance Series : - Stand Alone Love triangle? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] Cheating? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] HEA? - (view spoiler)[More of a possible HFN (hide spoiler)] Would I read more by this author/or in this series? - Yes Rating - 3 stars★Review★I was so intrigued by this book. And I really wanted to love it.But, in all honesty, it felt a bit try hard. That sounds awful, but I cannot think of how else to describe it.We have 2 characters who accidentally end up in contact via txt, and start talking to each other.We find out over the course of this texting "relationship" (which goes from 0-60 in like 2 weeks) they both have traumatic pasts, and some quite heavy real life issues.The problem is, it feels like this is not really addressed. They both develop a pretty co dependent relationship with each other, using it to not have to face up to the reality of their lives. It is not healthy.There is some fairly lengthy and wordy prose here (weird given it is meant to be TXT exchanges) and I found myself skimming over it.I don't know, maybe I am just too shallow a person for this. It needs a reader to be deeper then me, with more emotional depth.And all the way through, I felt like I was waiting for that something to happen, (and yes the blurb says "An erotic romance…told entirely through text messages") but I really felt like I was slogging my way through it, to get to the prize at the end, only to be told...Like if you have waited hours for the newest, best, longest roller coaster in the world, and as you get to the front of the queue, you get told the ride is now closed.I was left vaguely disappointed and with more question left unanswered.But maybe that was what the author was going for. It just was not for me.I can appreciate it was well written, and certainly intriguing and interesting. But I cannot see me wanting to read anything like this again in the future.I will sit firmly at 3 stars.
    more
  • Hollis
    May 23, 2017
    Go ahead, stranger. Break my heart. Show me I'm still capable of feeling something so tender.WAY DOWN DEEP feels like a modern day romance. Not in the sense of the era but in the sense of.. this kind of connection, this kind of relationship, is so unique to our current time. How do the majority of people communicate these days? Via text. Is there anyone who hasn't sent a text to a wrong number before? Have you ever had someone reply? What if you were the one who received a message; what if it wa Go ahead, stranger. Break my heart. Show me I'm still capable of feeling something so tender.WAY DOWN DEEP feels like a modern day romance. Not in the sense of the era but in the sense of.. this kind of connection, this kind of relationship, is so unique to our current time. How do the majority of people communicate these days? Via text. Is there anyone who hasn't sent a text to a wrong number before? Have you ever had someone reply? What if you were the one who received a message; what if it was a sad, depressed, lonely, voice reaching out. Would you reach back? Would you say, hi, I'm here, hold on?That's what happened to Malcolm and Maya.People don't really do that these days -- take turns, wait for the other person to finish saying what's on their mind.The evolution of this relationship was so interesting. The senders give us the only information we have. The who and the why. We don't even know who is male and female in the initial exchanges. Everything is strictly text and I have never read a romance, read a story, like this before. But I've lived it. I know that feeling of thinking you've spent years with someone instead of days. The intensity of the connection, the simultaneous freedom and restraint in telling a stranger your deepest thoughts, your desires, even the silliest observations. Nothing feels like too much yet everything feels momentous.There ought to be an adjective for when someone's at once melancholy and seductive. Perhaps the French have one. It feels like longing, distilled.In true McKenna form, we also have.. sex. Of course it's virtual but that doesn't downplay the steam factor. I loved seeing some familiar elements from her other stories at play, not the same but similar, and wish I knew where Stein's influence came in. I guess I'll just have to try her out next to find out. Your ridiculous, lust-addled thoughts are all the poetry I'll ever want for the rest of my life.WAY DOWN DEEP was intense, hot, and, I'll admit, nerve wracking. The final chapters.. I was not prepared for them. I was so twisted up about how this would end. And then it did. And I'm just.. well, I'm not telling. My romantic history is basically that Gotye song on repeat for four hours. Super fraught and beautifully tortured at first, then by the fifteenth time you're like ENOUGH WITH THE FUCKING XYLOPHONE.I totally flew through this read. I found myself totally swept up in this story of these lonely people. I was fascinated, found myself smiling, and had to pause for a little face-fanning, too. I do wonder if this kind of story that people will either love or hate. And I think a lot of that opposite end of the spectrum enjoyment will be a result of the medium and whether it's enough for some readers. But maybe it'll be enough for you. I definitely connected with it and I know a lot of others, in this great virtual world of ours, will too.4 "I should be quarantined for crimes against romance" stars** I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳
    May 18, 2017
    REVIEW TO COME* I received an advance copy in exchange for my honest review. * More reviews and book talk at : You can find me here too ☞
  • Olga therebelreader
    May 20, 2017
  • Sandra ~ ♥ Cross My Heart ♥
    May 29, 2017
    Never would have believed text messages could be so intimate, so raw, so honest. I'll return with a full review.6/3/17 - Posting full review:Lonely, hurting, and more than a little drunk, a person reaches out with a distress signal via text - not really expecting an answer. Shockingly, someone responds - tossing out a lifeline via a return text – offering a willing ear, a few encouraging words. And thus slowly, a friendship begins that grows over time to an intimate affair . . . all via texts. I Never would have believed text messages could be so intimate, so raw, so honest. I'll return with a full review.6/3/17 - Posting full review:Lonely, hurting, and more than a little drunk, a person reaches out with a distress signal via text - not really expecting an answer. Shockingly, someone responds - tossing out a lifeline via a return text – offering a willing ear, a few encouraging words. And thus slowly, a friendship begins that grows over time to an intimate affair . . . all via texts. I admit I was skeptical going in – not sure an erotic romance could be adequately relayed without any personal contact between the characters. I’ll have to say these authors proved me wrong.Through text messages, two people are stripped naked as they each bare their souls to a stranger – each safe in their own little world. At first, they have no idea whether they are “talking” to a male or female – not knowing the other’s name, age, physical attributes, or personal situation. As the story plays out, they begin to engage in a type of game ultimately sharing more personal details including their most intimate desires and fantasies. Safe in their cloak of secrecy, – after all, they both know they’ll never meet - their games grow to an erotic fever that erupts into a shared intimacy that many couples never accomplish in the flesh. To say it’s erotic and hot is a gross understatement – it is indeed as flammable as gasoline! Lost in an avalanche of desire, they cross a line that neither may survive.Way Down Deep is a raw, riveting, seductive character driven story that I read in mostly one sitting. Surprisingly, it has a very intimate and honest feel to it as it becomes clear these two lost characters were brought together by fate. The plot line is intriguing as there are other things at play here that I won’t reveal due to spoilers, but through a series of twists and turns, readers learn what brought each person to this place and time. I had my doubts that a virtual erotic romance was possible – but in this case, it works! A Must Read!Reviewed at Cross My Heart Writings and Reviews
    more
  • Elsa Bravante
    June 15, 2017
    Mmmmmm, le doy DNF en el 30%, quizás en algún momento lo retome, ya veremos.La premisa era muy prometedora, una historia solo via mensajes de texto, pero no me la he creído, sobre todo en el comienzo no me parecía el tono de mensajes de texto, y además me estaba aburriendo :/. Mala suerte.
    more
  • nick
    May 27, 2017
    Oh my heart is aching. That was a really lovely story but I only wish we could have had an epilogue to give me a solid ending.RTC
  • Sarah
    May 29, 2017
    As soon as I saw the first line of the blurb "an erotic romance . . . told entirely through text messages" I knew I had to read Way Down Deep. I'm already a fan of Cara McKenna's and I've seen just how well she writes romantic, but also sexy, letters in her book Hard Time so my expectations were high, especially since so many people have recommended Charlotte Stein to me too (and I'm definitely going to have to start investing in her backlist after reading this!).The story starts when Malcom dru As soon as I saw the first line of the blurb "an erotic romance . . . told entirely through text messages" I knew I had to read Way Down Deep. I'm already a fan of Cara McKenna's and I've seen just how well she writes romantic, but also sexy, letters in her book Hard Time so my expectations were high, especially since so many people have recommended Charlotte Stein to me too (and I'm definitely going to have to start investing in her backlist after reading this!).The story starts when Malcom drunk texts someone from his past, someone he never expects to receive a response from. He couldn't be more shocked when he realises that the number has been reallocated and he gets a reply from a total stranger. What follows is an intense, highly emotional story as Malcom and Maya continue sending messages to each other and are both able to open up to someone they've never met much easier than they can with people they know in real life. Both characters have issues they are struggling with and we slowly get to learn about both of their lives through their continued messages. I will say it felt more like an email exchange than a text message conversation because their messages are long and detailed but the writing was beautiful and I totally fell in love with both of the characters.It's not often that I rate an erotic romance 5 stars, especially a story that has only two characters and they never even have a single face to face conversation but I was so captivated by Way Down Deep that I can't give it anything less. Maya and Malcom's romance was in no way a traditional one but it was just so easy to root for them and I desperately wanted them to both find happiness. Oh and I just have to add that sexting has never been so hot! If there was one thing I was slightly disappointed with it was that the story is a little too open ended for my taste, I would have loved an epilogue set a few months or even years down the line but unfortunately that really wouldn't have worked with the story format and it probably would have ended up ruining things. This is a story about two messed up people finding solace in the strangest of places, it's an emotional journey that is both heart-wrenching and joyful and it left me with a huge smile on my face.
    more
  • Sherly
    June 28, 2017
    I known these two idk got a problem with epilogues or whatever. But seriously WTF?! WTF?!!! I'M MAD AT THAT ENDING!!!I'm just gonna use my imagination what happens to their first meet up is. I don't want to think/imagine it. I want to fucking read it.
    more
  • Kindling Micky
    May 27, 2017
    Conceptually, this was clever and the blurb just dragged me into requesting to read and review. As a fan of Cara McKenna, I wanted to love this book but the result was like. The concept and context are two damaged strangers who begin a tentative texting friendship following a circumstantial finding of one another's numbers. There is much masked for quite some time in this read: who are the characters, what gender are they, will they ever meet?There was power in the writing of this book, the writ Conceptually, this was clever and the blurb just dragged me into requesting to read and review. As a fan of Cara McKenna, I wanted to love this book but the result was like. The concept and context are two damaged strangers who begin a tentative texting friendship following a circumstantial finding of one another's numbers. There is much masked for quite some time in this read: who are the characters, what gender are they, will they ever meet?There was power in the writing of this book, the writing was mainly strong, after all, there was only dialogue in this book, no thoughts, introspection or narrative that wasn't dialogue. I was utterly captured by the man and his boy story, for me, that was what I loved most about this story. In fact, I wanted more of the man and boy. There was some significant chemistry between the two texting and this grew in a tangible way that I believed the connection and growth of affection.The first quarter of the book I found to be slow going but I did become invested and I enjoyed the final quarter the most. A copy of this book was provided by the publisher through netgalley in return for an honest review.Reviewed for Jo&IsaLoveBooks Blog.
    more
  • Jean
    June 21, 2017
    The first thing you should know about this book is that the entire story is told through text messages and I wasn't sure at first, but I ended up loving it!That ending......at first I thought "I need more!", but then I was like "Awwww, that was an awesome ending!" and I was grinning like a total idiot!!!!!Some texts from an unknown number to Maya's phone....her hesitation to respond.....then she does because she feels like this person needs her help. I loved how this all played out. It even took The first thing you should know about this book is that the entire story is told through text messages and I wasn't sure at first, but I ended up loving it!That ending......at first I thought "I need more!", but then I was like "Awwww, that was an awesome ending!" and I was grinning like a total idiot!!!!!Some texts from an unknown number to Maya's phone....her hesitation to respond.....then she does because she feels like this person needs her help. I loved how this all played out. It even took a while before they even exchanged names. They continue to text each other and get to know each others likes and dislikes. They are both tortured souls who need to release their guilt with events eating away at their souls. They confide in each other through these messages......all the while never talking to each other or seeing what the other looks like. And then, the hot steamy sex texts begin.....I seriously should have expected this from Charlotte Stein.....and it totally worked! (And of course, I have to give credit to Cara McKenna also......I wonder, did they each write a character's side.....if so, that's pretty cool!)Short, sweet, and just really good! I highly recommend it!I was provided an ARC of this book through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • ❃**✿【Yasmine】✿**❃
    June 11, 2017
    Sweet, angsty and hot. A gorgeous little ditty from my favourite erotic-romance writers.I had a hard time putting this one down, it was easy and a little addictive to read. Both the leads were utterly adorable and quirky. The prose and theme was a little bit divine too.I really hope these two work together again.
    more
  • Maria Rose
    May 22, 2017
    Charlotte Stein and Cara McKenna are go-to authors for me when I’m looking for an edgy, sexy romance and this first collaboration shows their trademark styles combined in one intriguing package. Way Down Deep is an epistolary romance, told entirely in the form of text messages between the hero and the heroine. It’s common to have text messages or email make up part of a novel, but to have the whole story told this way is pretty unique. The result is a super sexy and enthralling romance.The story Charlotte Stein and Cara McKenna are go-to authors for me when I’m looking for an edgy, sexy romance and this first collaboration shows their trademark styles combined in one intriguing package. Way Down Deep is an epistolary romance, told entirely in the form of text messages between the hero and the heroine. It’s common to have text messages or email make up part of a novel, but to have the whole story told this way is pretty unique. The result is a super sexy and enthralling romance.The story begins with a text message to an unknown number, from a depressed writer who never expects the message to be returned. But to the writer’s surprise, someone does reply, a stranger, who tries to send some encouraging words to the initiator of the conversation. It’s gradually revealed which writer is male and which is female, and the slow unveiling of their lives takes place. Malcolm is a single dad, adjusting to being the sole parent of his toddler-aged son, and Maya is a homebound young woman. Can two strangers find companionship and even love from an online relationship?I loved how this story unfolds, with intimate details given out over time. And then, because they are strangers and sharing things with each other, things take a more dramatic and sexy turn. Soon they’ve got their day and night messages arranged so that at night they can share some of their deep sexual fantasies with each other, while during the day they relay more of the day to day details of their lives.They both have some trauma in their pasts that has affected them deeply and makes an online friendship one that is safe as it comes without the risk of rejection. But they also develop feelings for each other and come to a point where writing to each other isn’t enough anymore. I don’t want to give away any spoilers as it’s the kind of story you’ll want to experience for yourself. The two writers are distinguished by the use of different font styles which made for a much easier read than I’d anticipated so the story flows smoothly and once started, is hard to put down. The ending suits the story and will leave you satisfied with the romance and the connection between the characters. I would definitely be interested in reading a collaboration by this author duo again!This review appears at Straight Shootin' Book Reviews: https://straightshootinbookreviews.co...A copy of this story was provided via NetGalley for review.
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    June 5, 2017
    WAY DOWN DEEP is a collaboration novel between Cara McKenna and Charlotte Stein. These two authors are among my favorite Erotic Romance authors so I was really looking forward to this book. The premise of this book is very interesting. It’s written in an epistolary fashion, but instead of letters, it’s through texts/emails. The heroine accidentally sends a message to a stranger but instead of turning her away, the hero actually continues to chat with her. There’s a nice emotional aspect to thi WAY DOWN DEEP is a collaboration novel between Cara McKenna and Charlotte Stein. These two authors are among my favorite Erotic Romance authors so I was really looking forward to this book. The premise of this book is very interesting. It’s written in an epistolary fashion, but instead of letters, it’s through texts/emails. The heroine accidentally sends a message to a stranger but instead of turning her away, the hero actually continues to chat with her. There’s a nice emotional aspect to this novel since the heroine is suffering from depression. I feel like this was a good way of creating that connection immediately between the two main characters. After all, how could someone turn another away after receiving a warning like that?I think the blurb of this book will intrigue a lot of readers but I feel like I should warn readers that this book is quite slow. Because we don’t have any set up in the beginning that tells us who these characters are, you really have to rely on your patience to read through it all to get to know them. There are some scenes that I felt would normally get cut out if it was written in a more traditional way with third person POV and descriptions. For example, they share their favorite songs and movies, etc. While I can see how this helps with characterization, these aren’t details that I think should be presented so early on.There were a lot of slow parts in this book as the two characters got to know each other. The book is basically a series of monologues about their inner thoughts and feelings. This is great for emotions. I thought some messages almost sounded like poems; the writing is so beautiful. But at the same time, it does take some of the realistic aspect out of it because I don’t know how believable all this really is.For me, it was really easy to distinguish who wrote what but that’s because I’ve been reading both authors for a very long time and I feel like I know their voices very well now. But I think that both authors work seamlessly enough that it flows very well.So, really, I think this will honestly be a hit or miss for readers. The writing is beautiful and it has a lot of emotion, but do make sure you have a lot of patience before picking this book up.
    more
  • Jamie C
    May 20, 2017
    *ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*I really really wanted to like this book. I read the description and was immediately drawn in. I love romances that have to do with email/texting. Unfortunately, I kind of had to force myself to finish. I couldn't really connect with the mc's at all and I especially didn't like the H. I was really irritated with the disconnect he seemed to have with his son. The writing was very well done, don't get me wrong. This just wasn't my cup of tea.
    more
  • Giedre
    June 17, 2017
    3.5/5Are you there, stranger?A contemporary romance constructed entirely out of text messages. And yes, at first glance I went all whyyy. But it's a joint project between Cara McKenna and Charlotte Stein, so I decided to give it a try. And, to my surprise, I actually liked it. In fact, there were instances where I flat-out loved it. Yes, I did need to suspend some disbelief in places, and yes, I still think the format is limiting in a lot of cases, but I do think Way Down Deep turned out to be a 3.5/5Are you there, stranger?A contemporary romance constructed entirely out of text messages. And yes, at first glance I went all whyyy. But it's a joint project between Cara McKenna and Charlotte Stein, so I decided to give it a try. And, to my surprise, I actually liked it. In fact, there were instances where I flat-out loved it. Yes, I did need to suspend some disbelief in places, and yes, I still think the format is limiting in a lot of cases, but I do think Way Down Deep turned out to be an enjoyable concoction in the end. That said, perhaps the appeal won't be universal.
    more
  • Bea
    June 10, 2017
    WTF! Ok just finished 😳I haven't been able to put this book down. Sigh... I don't even know how many freakin stars to rate this. Because... this was so different from anything I've read. It was so beautiful and touching. The cover is beautiful! The concept was unlike any other. But the end... the end. Somebody get me a drink! I can't even explain. For sure it's a must read. I decided on 4 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐ WTF! Ok just finished 😳I haven't been able to put this book down. Sigh... I don't even know how many freakin stars to rate this. Because... this was so different from anything I've read. It was so beautiful and touching. The cover is beautiful! The concept was unlike any other. But the end... the end. Somebody get me a drink! I can't even explain. For sure it's a must read. I decided on 4 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    more
  • Sheena
    May 30, 2017
    At first- I really, really really liked it.Mid way- I really liked it3/4 done- I was over the texting already and wanted them to actually, finally meet. The shtick grew weary.100% done- I was glad it was over. Didn't like the ending. I hate books that are so open ended. If it is a standalone novel- wrap it up 100%. The last line of the novel made 100 feelings course through me. One of them righteous anger- serious! That is the last thing!?
    more
  • Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️
    May 31, 2017
    Eh, great premise. I just couldn't get into it. Probably just me. Moving on...
  • Beth
    May 19, 2017
    ALL THE STARS. Letters - letters - letters are not kryptonite and this book of letters is PERFECT.
  • Romance Readers Retreat
    June 6, 2017
    4.5 StarsWhen I first heard about this book, I fangirled an embarrassing amount. I have yet to find a Cara McKenna book I did not adore and then to find out she was co-writing a book with Charlote Stein?! I knew I needed t get my hands on a copy as soon as possible. The power house authors are not the only thing exciting about Way Down Deep. It's also told in a unique format. The entire story is told through text messages.Malcolm sends a text message to a number, not expecting to receive a reply 4.5 StarsWhen I first heard about this book, I fangirled an embarrassing amount. I have yet to find a Cara McKenna book I did not adore and then to find out she was co-writing a book with Charlote Stein?! I knew I needed t get my hands on a copy as soon as possible. The power house authors are not the only thing exciting about Way Down Deep. It's also told in a unique format. The entire story is told through text messages.Malcolm sends a text message to a number, not expecting to receive a reply. Maya, is the new owner of that number and surprisingly she does reply. This begins a string of texts in which Malcolm and Maya slowly begin to get to know each other and eventually this friendship blossoms into something deeper. Can a relationship that is exclusively online turn into something deep and meaningful and make it's way offline?This is a perfect type of tale for the modern digital age. More and more people are meeting and connecting online and that question of how lasting a relationship can be when taken into the offline world is one that is becoming more and more common. The first part of this book had a slow build that definitely kept my interest as we learn about these characters through their text messages. Later in the book, they take on a more naughty edge as the texts slowly turn into sexting. The end left me wanting more and I am desperately hoping we will see a sequel at some future date. Such a fun and unique read from two of my favourite erotic authors.
    more
  • juviasft
    June 19, 2017
    This is one of the few books that made me cry. I don't cry easily (I never cried with Mufasa's death, which apparently is some sort of meassurement on the crying topic) but the emotions that this book made me feel are hard to describe. I was more than curious about how it was writtren since it's find to hard a book that it's told only via text messages. Let me tell you, it was absolutely exquisite the way both authors managed to tell this wonderful story. Not only you feel what each character is This is one of the few books that made me cry. I don't cry easily (I never cried with Mufasa's death, which apparently is some sort of meassurement on the crying topic) but the emotions that this book made me feel are hard to describe. I was more than curious about how it was writtren since it's find to hard a book that it's told only via text messages. Let me tell you, it was absolutely exquisite the way both authors managed to tell this wonderful story. Not only you feel what each character is feeling but also you find yourself rooting for them, both as a couple and as individuals, which in my experience it's hard to accomplish.I don't want to say much, because I believe you should go blind reading it, but once you start it's impossible to stop. I was on the edge of my seat during the final chapters and that ending... That ending. I have no words. Nothing I can say can truly express what I felt during those agonizing yet blissful moments while the book was ending. I'll go explore more books written by these talented authors. I highly recommend this book.
    more
  • MsChris1161
    June 14, 2017
    I think WAY DOWN DEEP by Charlotte Stein and Cara McKenna is one of the most intimate books I've ever read. The style in which it's written -- the texting, doesn't make it awkward at all. It makes it personal. I almost felt like a voyeur at times. And these two strangers, each so mired down in their own pain and unimaginable struggles connect with each other so completely. It's just beautiful. So pure. They laugh, and cry, and just put it all out there. They share their fears, their failures, th I think WAY DOWN DEEP by Charlotte Stein and Cara McKenna is one of the most intimate books I've ever read. The style in which it's written -- the texting, doesn't make it awkward at all. It makes it personal. I almost felt like a voyeur at times. And these two strangers, each so mired down in their own pain and unimaginable struggles connect with each other so completely. It's just beautiful. So pure. They laugh, and cry, and just put it all out there. They share their fears, their failures, their dreams, their passions, their victories with bone deep honesty. I laughed. I cried. And I was jealous that I am not connected with someone as purely as they were to one another merely through texting. And the ending? Perfect. This is my first time reading a book from either of these authors. I'm impressed. 4.5 stars~Complimentary copy downloaded from NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
    more
  • Sparklybearsy
    June 6, 2017
    A book told entirely through text messages between two characters, no narration or actions... what a premise. When I heard about this book I was excited, not only because it was by the glorious Charlotte Stein, and my first time reading Cara Kckenna. Not sure if this duo have teamed up before but it really worked, the writing didn't feel clunky or misplaced, it flowed lovely. So why only three rating if I really liked the premise and the characters? ( a three star is great btw!! ) which I did, o A book told entirely through text messages between two characters, no narration or actions... what a premise. When I heard about this book I was excited, not only because it was by the glorious Charlotte Stein, and my first time reading Cara Kckenna. Not sure if this duo have teamed up before but it really worked, the writing didn't feel clunky or misplaced, it flowed lovely. So why only three rating if I really liked the premise and the characters? ( a three star is great btw!! ) which I did, oh I really did, their struggles tugged at my heart strings, especially Maya, if you're familiar with any kind of anxiety disorder it was emotionally powerful to read. Those pages where the H/h thought the other had disappeared I had serious angst over it, I couldn't turn the pages fast enough in hopes they reconnected. But if you're also familiar with Charlotte's books you know those babies just end suddenly without forewarning or romantical satisfaction for my romance loving heart, and I was all ughhhh.. nooo.. I just wanted more from this book, I suppose. A conclusion, explanation, an epilogue or even a PS to tell me how Maya did what she did. Did Malcolm's son recover? Did they live HEA? I need me some answers! The crack was delivered and it was enjoyable.
    more
Write a review