Warfare (Life After, #2)
The battle is far from over.When the lives of her loved ones are put in peril, who will Audrey turn to for help? On the surface, Audrey's existence in the afterlife is coming together. Her quirky new mentor guides her on the path to becoming the demon hunter she always hoped. She has great friends and even a kinda-sorta-maybe new boyfriend. But if things are so wonderful, why is Logan never far from her thoughts? After learning that her family is the target of an unprecedented demonic siege Audrey puts all she’s gained in jeopardy by defying heavenly authorities and returning to Earth. Stranded at the place she once called home with the one person she's been desperate to forget, she'll face vicious monsters, betrayers, and a legion of demons with an insidious weapon that even her celestial sword can't defeat. Will Audrey’s mistakes in the afterlife be what destroys the lives of the ones she loves the most?

Warfare (Life After, #2) Details

TitleWarfare (Life After, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherJulie Hall
Number of pages273 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy

Readers also enjoyed


Warfare (Life After, #2) Review

  • Laurie Lucking
    May 31, 2017
    Wow. I'm not even sure where to start on this book, especially without giving away spoilers! I continued to love Audrey as a protagonist. One of my favorite things about her is that she's humble enough to learn from her mistakes. Even though I get frustrated with her on occasion, it's never for long :) And Logan! *sigh* I appreciated that he opened up so much more in this book, and he definitely had a few swoon-worthy moments (maybe more than a few...). To summarize, Warfare had more of the amaz Wow. I'm not even sure where to start on this book, especially without giving away spoilers! I continued to love Audrey as a protagonist. One of my favorite things about her is that she's humble enough to learn from her mistakes. Even though I get frustrated with her on occasion, it's never for long :) And Logan! *sigh* I appreciated that he opened up so much more in this book, and he definitely had a few swoon-worthy moments (maybe more than a few...). To summarize, Warfare had more of the amazing world-building, action, romantic tension, and spiritual insights that made me fall in love with Huntress. I just know the series conclusion is going to be epic!!*I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book*
    more
  • Laura Grace
    May 24, 2017
    This book was incredible! Like I could say countless things about how powerful the conversations were between Audrey and Hugo as well as how…spicy (is that the right word for it?) things were between Audrey and Logan. Everything was so much more powerful than I expected, whether it was in a good or bad situation. However, one thing I definitely want to say is that Audrey was VERY relatable. I was going through some struggles of my own and knowing what I was feeling lead to do, but wanting to aga This book was incredible! Like I could say countless things about how powerful the conversations were between Audrey and Hugo as well as how…spicy (is that the right word for it?) things were between Audrey and Logan. Everything was so much more powerful than I expected, whether it was in a good or bad situation. However, one thing I definitely want to say is that Audrey was VERY relatable. I was going through some struggles of my own and knowing what I was feeling lead to do, but wanting to against that feeling and do it anyway was something I could relate to. Never a good idea to go against! So thankful that the author really showed the powerful love God has for us even when we make mistakes and feel ashamed. Can I take a moment to say the "bad guy" surprised me? Way to go in mixing things up when I had reasons why I thought the bad guy would be someone else!Ooo also, can I take another moment to appreciate the excellent humor in this book, especially pertaining to the revealing of who Hugo and Joe are? Talk about priceless! Definitely a fantastic read and one I would strongly recommend to YA readers, especially if you're looking for a "different" Christian read with romance. *(I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts expressed were my own and was not required to write a positive review.)*
    more
  • Amanda Massengale
    May 21, 2017
    A must read Simply amazing. Warfare was incredible. I fell in love with all the characters even more. Warfare is a must read.
  • Alyssa
    May 24, 2017
    Absolutely fabulous book! Oh my goodness... where do I even start? This is the second book in the Life After series, so if you've not yet read Huntress, stop here and go pick it up. This book is a young adult, fantasy-ish book. I say "ish" because most of the fantasy is faith (Christianity) based. Angels, demons, kick butt angelfire weapons, and power of prayer type stuff. Not in your face, but present. If that's not your thing, this might not be the book for you. However, the book is fabulous. Absolutely fabulous book! Oh my goodness... where do I even start? This is the second book in the Life After series, so if you've not yet read Huntress, stop here and go pick it up. This book is a young adult, fantasy-ish book. I say "ish" because most of the fantasy is faith (Christianity) based. Angels, demons, kick butt angelfire weapons, and power of prayer type stuff. Not in your face, but present. If that's not your thing, this might not be the book for you. However, the book is fabulous. This is not really a genre I'd read before this series, but I cannot wait for the next book. It literally gave me goosebumps and spine tingles more than once. The characters grow and develop so much in this book. Some of my major questions from the first book were answered in this book. The characters are relatable and realistic (even if I want to yell at them sometimes). The world building and description in this book are absolutely bomb dot com (do people still say that? No? Didn't think so. Oh well.) Julie paints such an amazing picture that it is so easy to become engrossed in the world she describes (or should I say realm?). Overall, 5 stars - amazing book - definitely recommend it!
    more
  • Britta
    June 10, 2017
    **Added to Favorites Shelf***OKAY OKAAAAAY. So Julie Hall is just an amazing author. Let's get that out of the way first. Not only in Warfare an Amazing sequel to Huntress, Warfare was just flat out AMAZING.Once I reached the end I didn't want to read the last few pages. THAT AMAZING. (And cue entering a book hangover until the next book is out)So as I stated above this is the Second book in Audrey's adventure, and you get sucked right back into her life in the After Life. More Training, More de **Added to Favorites Shelf***OKAY OKAAAAAY. So Julie Hall is just an amazing author. Let's get that out of the way first. Not only in Warfare an Amazing sequel to Huntress, Warfare was just flat out AMAZING.Once I reached the end I didn't want to read the last few pages. THAT AMAZING. (And cue entering a book hangover until the next book is out)So as I stated above this is the Second book in Audrey's adventure, and you get sucked right back into her life in the After Life. More Training, More demons. More Logan tooooo. All of the Characters are well developed and you can't help but love them all. (*Cough Logan Cough*) Dare I say that this book might be better than the first? Can you guys imagine how amazing the next one is going to be?Just trust me guys. If you haven't started this series you need to get on it. You'll be up all night, biting your nails, needing to know what happens next (Again, cue Book Hangover)**I received this book from the author, and decided myself to review it. This does not change my opinion of the book. The opinions are all my own.**
    more
  • Natelle Woodworth
    June 22, 2017
    All the stars!!!! Ahhhhh and I didn't think the second book could top the first... I love when I'm proved wrong!!! This was soooo good! I loved every second! So much more action and more Logan!!!If you haven't picked up the first book "Huntress" you are missing out!!! Go get yourself a copy!!! This story is great and full of twists and turns and action-packed fun! Plus did I mention Logan??? Eeep! When will book 3 be here???? I need it now!****I was sent a copy of Warfare in exchange for an hone All the stars!!!! Ahhhhh and I didn't think the second book could top the first... I love when I'm proved wrong!!! This was soooo good! I loved every second! So much more action and more Logan!!!If you haven't picked up the first book "Huntress" you are missing out!!! Go get yourself a copy!!! This story is great and full of twists and turns and action-packed fun! Plus did I mention Logan??? Eeep! When will book 3 be here???? I need it now!****I was sent a copy of Warfare in exchange for an honest review. This review is my personal opinion and the fact that I was sent a copy did not change my views at all nor were they influenced in anyway other than my own feelings****
    more
  • Tisha
    May 22, 2017
    Incredibally well written. Amazing story that pulls you in and leaves you with a book hangover :). Amazing depth in the characters. The ending wasn't a huge cliffhanger, it leaves you wanting more but doesn't do it so abruptly it is irritating. Julie's books are sooooo refreshing. I take from the advice given to Audrey, which is why I love these books. I love the romance in books, but I usually skip the sex scenes. Thank heavens I dont have to skip huge portions in this series. All in all- it's Incredibally well written. Amazing story that pulls you in and leaves you with a book hangover :). Amazing depth in the characters. The ending wasn't a huge cliffhanger, it leaves you wanting more but doesn't do it so abruptly it is irritating. Julie's books are sooooo refreshing. I take from the advice given to Audrey, which is why I love these books. I love the romance in books, but I usually skip the sex scenes. Thank heavens I dont have to skip huge portions in this series. All in all- it's an amazing series.
    more
  • Pris
    June 13, 2017
    Initial thoughts:Wow! Just wow! what a fun, thrilling read! And I can’t wait for the next one! That ending!Actual review:BEWARE! SPOILERS AHEAD! (Proceed at your own risk. If you’re only here because you wanted to know what all the fuss was about, let me tell you, this book is awesome! But it’s precisely for that reason that you won’t want to spoil it for yourself. So, go and grab a copy of Huntress instead!)Warfare, by Julie Hall, is the second installment in her Life After series and is a defi Initial thoughts:Wow! Just wow! what a fun, thrilling read! And I can’t wait for the next one! That ending!Actual review:BEWARE! SPOILERS AHEAD! (Proceed at your own risk. If you’re only here because you wanted to know what all the fuss was about, let me tell you, this book is awesome! But it’s precisely for that reason that you won’t want to spoil it for yourself. So, go and grab a copy of Huntress instead!)Warfare, by Julie Hall, is the second installment in her Life After series and is a definite read that will not disappoint.“The battle is far from over.” Now that’s an understatement if I’ve ever seen one, lol. This book has action, phenomenal writing, and the development of her characters… wow! Just, wow! (believe me, you’ll be debating between *speechless* and *this is pure awesomesauce!!*).One of the characters that you’ll grow to love and appreciate very much will be, most definitely, Hugo. Man, what a character! (can I just say Wow! one more time? Seriously, wow!) His wisdom and guidance are just unique, and it all will make sense towards the end of the book, promise! And as always with Julie’s writing, you’re in for a surprise (or two! or three!) with this one here… and did I mentioned Joe? (I so knew there was more to him than the first chapter of Huntress *starry-eyed look*) … aaand of course, Audrey will be the last to realize this, but I think we’re getting used to it by now ;).What I especially love about this series is how easy the author makes it for a reader to relate to Audrey (granted, not All the time), but I’m mostly talking mostly about her spiritual life right now. Being this last issue one of the most central parts in these books (and one of my favorites <3) I really really loved how, despite her(/our) having already “settled” things with God in our relationship with Him (as was the case towards the end of Huntress) her(/our) life isn’t all rainbows and roses. It’s definitely not perfect, but that’s exactly the beauty of it. And oh wow, God’s grace, patience, and love despite our attitude in those moments is so undeserved but also so awesome! And it’s so perfectly portrayed here! This book was a powerful reminder of that fact, and one that, I hope, won’t leave me for a while.All in all, a great read and the perfect continuation to an awesome series!
    more
  • Becky Smith
    May 23, 2017
    This is a thoroughly captivating book, and I was not expecting some of the turns it took! Well-written and developed, this Christian fantasy world, whose characters almost seem too real, also contains humor that often made me laugh out loud. My favorite lines are: “The more you know of Him, the more you will be able to see the way He does, and the more you will be able to hear His voice above the throngs.” And: “The gentle whispering of His truth in your ears and heart, comes with knowing Him.” This is a thoroughly captivating book, and I was not expecting some of the turns it took! Well-written and developed, this Christian fantasy world, whose characters almost seem too real, also contains humor that often made me laugh out loud. My favorite lines are: “The more you know of Him, the more you will be able to see the way He does, and the more you will be able to hear His voice above the throngs.” And: “The gentle whispering of His truth in your ears and heart, comes with knowing Him.” And: “God was big enough to take care of a situation I obviously was not capable of doing anything about.” But there are so many, many more!! This author writes books that not only encourage and entertain with the afterlife her imagination has created, but they also cause me to pause and think. I always want “to read ahead in the story.” But “I’m sorry to say you’re going to have to take this one a page at a time” or one book at a time! I already can NOT WAIT for the next of these stories!!!! I read this early as an ARC copy and have freely chosen to leave my own honest review.
    more
  • Alyssa Dietrich
    May 23, 2017
    Warfare is honestly amazing. This is the type of series that really gets you thinking about your own spiritual journey. I found myself really thinking about all of the advice Hugo was giving to Audrey. Of course later in the book we find out some surprises about Hugo himself. There was a lot more action and battle scenes in Warfare compared to Huntress. We also see a good deal of interaction with Logan! Some bigger twists towards the end hat you won't want to miss! This had easily become one of Warfare is honestly amazing. This is the type of series that really gets you thinking about your own spiritual journey. I found myself really thinking about all of the advice Hugo was giving to Audrey. Of course later in the book we find out some surprises about Hugo himself. There was a lot more action and battle scenes in Warfare compared to Huntress. We also see a good deal of interaction with Logan! Some bigger twists towards the end hat you won't want to miss! This had easily become one of my favorite series and I cannot wait for the third book. I also have to add that this is very well written and I found very few errors throughout the whole book which is so refreshing. Great job Julie! You deserve a pat on the back..or a new puppy 😊
    more
  • Robyn Krozser
    June 13, 2017
    So I have to start by saying I’m not religious at all. But I still LOVED this book. It’s great to see someone else’s view on religion put into a story. You can feel the authors love and heart put into this series. The struggles the protagonist faces are realistic and relatable. It makes it into a fast read where you feel completely submerge into the story. I didn’t even see the twists coming I was so into it. In my books, that makes for an excellent story. Also quite humorous with great chemistr So I have to start by saying I’m not religious at all. But I still LOVED this book. It’s great to see someone else’s view on religion put into a story. You can feel the authors love and heart put into this series. The struggles the protagonist faces are realistic and relatable. It makes it into a fast read where you feel completely submerge into the story. I didn’t even see the twists coming I was so into it. In my books, that makes for an excellent story. Also quite humorous with great chemistry between Audrey and Logan. *Sigh* Can I have book 3 yet? I read this early as an ARC Copy and have freely chosen to leave my own honest review.
    more
  • Jennifer Mertz
    May 23, 2017
    Julie Hall is an amazing author! Her characters come to life in her writing. The Life After Series is amazing. Warfare kept me on the edge of my seat. The depth of feeling and action in the book astounds me. I wanted to be there with the characters to help in some of the situations. It was like really getting into a movie and telling the character what they should do. LOL For anyone who thinks this is not a book they would read, I was there with you, but now I am ready for the next book to come Julie Hall is an amazing author! Her characters come to life in her writing. The Life After Series is amazing. Warfare kept me on the edge of my seat. The depth of feeling and action in the book astounds me. I wanted to be there with the characters to help in some of the situations. It was like really getting into a movie and telling the character what they should do. LOL For anyone who thinks this is not a book they would read, I was there with you, but now I am ready for the next book to come out so I can get my hands on it. I am leaving this review because it is an amazing book and have in no way been coerced.
    more
  • Michelle Young
    June 4, 2017
    Warefare was an excellent follow up to the first Life After: Huntress book. The characters were further developed and the story line was very though provoking; although fictional very applicable to my life today in facing trials and spiritual warfare. I can not wait for the 3rd book to come up, the second left much more to be desired and a good cliffhanger for the 3rd. This would be an excellent series for tweens, teens, and even young adults! A fun, clean, and exciting story line!
    more
  • Angie Dominguez
    June 13, 2017
    I read this magnificent book in twenty-four hours. I couldn't put it down. Julie Hall has a truly God-given talent for writing. Her characters are relatable, scenes visionary and her words are woven into a captivating story. The battles and slow-budding romance had my heart beating with anticipation. Audrey goes through growth that encourages you to be strong and aware. And the ending had me wanting to know more immediately! I can't wait for the next in the series to come out!
    more
  • Hannah May
    June 10, 2017
    This book is an engrossing follow up to Huntress, in which many questions are answered and new hurdles arise. As the title implies, there is more action in this book as Audrey, Logan and the gang all try to keep Audrey's family from the harm that is dogging their every step. It is a true test of faith for many of the hunter crew as well as Audrey's mortal family. An extremely poignant read!
    more
  • Marsha Wilson black
    June 13, 2017
    Another great read by Julie Hall! Warfare continues where Huntress leaves off. It answers some questions that you had and gives you more left to be answered. You cry, cheer, angst, laugh with all of the characters. Once again with a cliff hanger leaving you wanting the next book now, an amazing read with characters you love and love to hate.
    more
  • Kim Slye
    June 9, 2017
    Awesomeness! Audrey turns into a warrior and kicks butt! She has life questions and struggles with following the rules when they don't make sense especially when her family is on the line. Don't want to be a spoiler so you gotta read it. Her salty attitude is right there. Logan.... SMH... What's a girl to do?!
    more
  • Jennifer Hernandez
    June 13, 2017
    Julie did it again!!Life After Huntress has become one of my favorite books and I absolutely loved how Logan and Audrey's story continued in Warfare. You will absolutely love this book and author as I do. My only problem with it is now I have to wait for the next one.
    more
  • Dawn
    June 16, 2017
    Great, awesomeness, amazing book!Audrey is still so human to me. Even after being where she is for so long. It seems like she is having a harder time letting go than others. Or maybe that's just me. But it makes me understand her so much more.
  • Grace Rocca
    June 9, 2017
    Reading Warfare was like eating a perfectly seasoned, delicious gourmet meal: satisfying, surprising, juicy and oh so yummy! Julie out did herself with book 2! She creates this world that makes me wish it was real while weaving truth and beauty that envokes a response. Can't wait for book 3!
    more
  • Olivia Marie
    June 13, 2017
    OH MY GOD!!!! I am so shocked wow this was another amazing book by Julie. I loved the action & i cried a bit which is good in my case! Lets just say i cannot wait to read more of how Audrey kicks demon butt in the future.
  • Kimdeal
    June 13, 2017
    Julie Hall has done it again! Warfare was fun, heartbreaking, intriguing, introspective, heartwarming, and just plain wonderful! Julie Hall can bring a character and scene to life like no one else. I felt like I was there with Audrey through it all. And Logan!!!! All I can say is I want one!!!
    more
  • Alissa
    June 13, 2017
    So freaking good!The sequel definitely lives up to its predecessor! The twists and turns this book takes along with having more Logan time are just amazing! I am in love with this series and cannot wait for the next book!
  • Kayla Crain
    June 7, 2017
    Wow!! How do write this review without giving away spoilers but here goes. I love how Audrey keeps learning from her mistakes and her humbleness is my favourite part about her. Oh Logan, I'm definitely glad he opened up more in this book. Warfare was amazing and I so recommend this series and I know the next book will be epic!!
    more
  • Everly Frost
    May 26, 2017
    One of the best books I've read this year. Absolutely breathtaking.
  • Laura
    June 3, 2017
    Seriously could not put this book down! Like I read it in about 8 hours. I can't get enough of Audrey and Logan's chemistry. I'll be biting my nails waiting for book 3 lol!
  • Cierra
    June 8, 2017
    Warfare was amazing! I love the world that Julie has created and this book ending definitely makes you wish the next one was out already;)
  • Britni Harper
    May 25, 2017
    Awesome book I didn't want to put it down! I highly recommend reading this series. I can't wait till the third book comes out I'm hooked on these books!
  • Kara Peck
    June 6, 2017
    Phenomenal sequel. I didn't think I could love this more than Huntress, but I might.. just a little extra. I enjoyed watching all of the growth in the characters. Logan and Audrey really take center stage this time. They seriously had some issues to iron out. The ending was dramatic! Absolutely loved it. The perfect cliffhanger. The epilogue give you a little bit of closure but there's still a big "Oh no!!" Moment that you get hung up on. I am so excited for the final book. I can't wait to see s Phenomenal sequel. I didn't think I could love this more than Huntress, but I might.. just a little extra. I enjoyed watching all of the growth in the characters. Logan and Audrey really take center stage this time. They seriously had some issues to iron out. The ending was dramatic! Absolutely loved it. The perfect cliffhanger. The epilogue give you a little bit of closure but there's still a big "Oh no!!" Moment that you get hung up on. I am so excited for the final book. I can't wait to see some serious butt kicking.
    more
  • Jess
    May 22, 2017
    I was provided an ARC for an honest review of Warfare by Julie Hall.This is the second book in the Life After series by Julie Hall, and it follows the "afterlife" of Audrey. it is an exceptionally written book, and much like the first book in the series Huntress (highly recommend that you read huntress before beginning warfare) it is a page Turner, with twists and enough action to keep the reader entertained and interested.I love Julie's view on the afterlife, I don't know if we get a choice in I was provided an ARC for an honest review of Warfare by Julie Hall.This is the second book in the Life After series by Julie Hall, and it follows the "afterlife" of Audrey. it is an exceptionally written book, and much like the first book in the series Huntress (highly recommend that you read huntress before beginning warfare) it is a page Turner, with twists and enough action to keep the reader entertained and interested.I love Julie's view on the afterlife, I don't know if we get a choice in what happens when we pass over, but for what it's worth this is mine.Audrey is just like anyontjer girl, she makes mistakes, has to learn, and has to follow her own journey of discovery. the characters are likeable, well thought out and believable.I can't wait to read the next installment of the life after series, and rate it 5 stars!
    more
Write a review