Flutter
Dylan Walker has spent six years trying to move on from the loss of his girlfriend, Presley Cooper. Motivated by grief and the desire to do for others what he couldn’t do for her, he burns the candle at both ends to make it through medical school. After graduation he moves west, putting as much distance as possible between his past and his present.Or so he thought.Unknowingly, Dylan has been set on a path that will destroy everything he thought he knew. All the pain, all the grief, was all for nothing. With the help of an unexpected ally, Dylan must find the answers and save the girl he loves before it’s too late.Deceit.Betrayal.Revenge.A second chance at love.But first, he must find a way to make her remember her past. Remember him. Remember everything.

Flutter Details

TitleFlutter
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 24th, 2017
Number of pages448 pages
Rating
GenreDid Not Finish

Flutter Review

  • Jennifer Kyle
    July 29, 2017
    3.75 Stars
  • Christine (Shh Moms Reading)
    May 18, 2017
    I have been reading Olivia's books since the beginning and Flutter is her BEST.BOOK.YET bar none.With edge of your seat suspense, a thought-provoking storyline, characters who are real to their very core, and let's not forget—a well thought out narrative—Evans has shown readers her growth as an author and this wordsmith is not to be missed.Heartfelt love, cunningness and heartbreak come full circle to create a story that is addicting and unpredictable yet exciting in every way. My heart raced, t I have been reading Olivia's books since the beginning and Flutter is her BEST.BOOK.YET bar none.With edge of your seat suspense, a thought-provoking storyline, characters who are real to their very core, and let's not forget—a well thought out narrative—Evans has shown readers her growth as an author and this wordsmith is not to be missed.Heartfelt love, cunningness and heartbreak come full circle to create a story that is addicting and unpredictable yet exciting in every way. My heart raced, the adrenaline coursed through my body, I felt flutters in my belly and when I closed this book I had a smile on my face in complete satisfaction. The secondary characters are magnificent! I see great things for this author and if you are looking for an unforgettable summer read that is not your typical read, this is one you should add to your TBR ASAP!
    more
  • Rebecca Woodward
    July 30, 2017
    This was a recommendation and wow! I am so glad I started reading because once I started I didn't put it down. This is a true love story mixed with loss and angst. A plot with a couple twists and turns. And thankfully the author gives a wonderful HEA. I was never bored or tired reading this epic story. A must read.
    more
  • Reanell Tisdale
    July 24, 2017
    Let me start by saying how much I love this cover. The story inside? Absolute perfection. It is definitely making my favorites of 2017...and all time favorites! Olivia Evans really blew me away with Flutter.This story is unlike any I've ever read. The plot is so unique and the characters are so well developed. This is a book I won't soon forget. *full review to come*
    more
  • Jenny - TotallybookedBlog
    July 30, 2017
    4.5 Stars‘When we meet real tragedy in life, we can react in two ways – either by losing hope and falling into self-destructive habits, or by using the challenge to find our inner strength.’ – Dalai LamaAnd wasn’t this the story that encompassed the human strength! We were glued….completely consumed by Flutter from the moment we started reading, and it was a feeling that didn’t subside one little bit until we finished. What a unique, well delivered, gripping, suspenseful and emotional read, told 4.5 Stars‘When we meet real tragedy in life, we can react in two ways – either by losing hope and falling into self-destructive habits, or by using the challenge to find our inner strength.’ – Dalai LamaAnd wasn’t this the story that encompassed the human strength! We were glued….completely consumed by Flutter from the moment we started reading, and it was a feeling that didn’t subside one little bit until we finished. What a unique, well delivered, gripping, suspenseful and emotional read, told in a very clever, astute, yet almost simplistic manner. We were utterly hooked! “Remember me. Remember us.” This is our second read by Olivia Evans, after reading her debut some years back and wow! Has this author grown! This story could have taken so many convoluted twists, it could have easily lost the reader, but that wasn’t the case at all. No, just the opposite. We were completely engrossed in this authors words, the growth of her characters from teens to adulthood, with past/present switches carried out in a seamless flow. In short, we absolutely devoured every word of Flutter! “I don’t want to feel helpless,” Dylan answered. “I know what helpless feels like I don’t ever want to feel like that again.” This is one of those books that’s quite difficult to review. The synopsis carries enough information about the story and adding to it could provide potential spoilers. It’s a case of needing to go in blind; discover the twists, the deception, the suspense and the final outcome all by yourselves. Just allow the story guide you in real time, with the characters and you will be rewarded. Trust us on this.There are so many layers to Dylan and Presley’s story which is told in present day, and past flashbacks to their eighteen year old selves, where we learn these two had been childhood friends. Their past was all hope, love and happiness….until….. it wasn’t. As we switch to present day, six years later we found ourselves desperately wanting to know how their lives had turned so horribly to end up at this juncture. Our need to champion Dylan as he uncovers the past, and frantically hoping he can rectify the present held us captive! It was heartbreaking, sad, beautiful and hopeful.‘I don’t want to be sad anymore,’ she whispered.’As much as Dylan and Presley were the catalyst for the story, and it was their beautiful broken story that held our hearts, it was the introduction of a fascinating, broken and heartbreaking character which added another depth to Flutter. This character felt as sinister as he did hopeless, sweet and vulnerable. What exactly was his story and who….was telling the truth? Are we being intentionally vague here? You bet we are because you need to dive in read this book and you’ll soon find yourself snared into the web of its thrilling and emotional prose.‘This was the peace she desired. The love she desperately craved.’This book encompasses quite a few themes, in fact it delivered so much of what we love in one story, yet it never lost its way. Yes, it’s a love story – at its core is a story of absolute love and commitment – a heart that never gave up hope, a heart that never wavered in its love, but it’s also a suspenseful, thrilling and addictive story showing two sides of human nature. For every heart that is strong and pure, there is a heart that’s selfish, cold and calculating and we meet both in this story. “I need you to need me. I need to feel like I can give you something other than sadness.” We were so invested in these characters, and we couldn’t rest until we saw their story reach its conclusion. We had shared so much with them, we’d lived their journey and for us, we felt we really needed an epilogue. You know, just a little more....FLUTTER is available to purchase belowmy link textmy link textCome visit and follow us at:✲ TotallybookedBlog✲ TB on Facebook✲ TB on Twitter✲ TB on Pinterest
    more
  • Gitte TotallyBookedBlog
    August 1, 2017
    4.5 Stars‘When we meet real tragedy in life, we can react in two ways – either by losing hope and falling into self-destructive habits, or by using the challenge to find our inner strength.’ – Dalai LamaAnd wasn’t this the story that encompassed the human strength! We were glued….completely consumed by Flutter from the moment we started reading, and it was a feeling that didn’t subside one little bit until we finished. What a unique, well delivered, gripping, suspenseful and emotional read, told 4.5 Stars‘When we meet real tragedy in life, we can react in two ways – either by losing hope and falling into self-destructive habits, or by using the challenge to find our inner strength.’ – Dalai LamaAnd wasn’t this the story that encompassed the human strength! We were glued….completely consumed by Flutter from the moment we started reading, and it was a feeling that didn’t subside one little bit until we finished. What a unique, well delivered, gripping, suspenseful and emotional read, told in a very clever, astute, yet almost simplistic manner. We were utterly hooked! “Remember me. Remember us.” This is our second read by Olivia Evans, after reading her debut some years back and wow! Has this author grown! This story could have taken so many convoluted twists, it could have easily lost the reader, but that wasn’t the case at all. No, just the opposite. We were completely engrossed in this authors words, the growth of her characters from teens to adulthood, with past/present switches carried out in a seamless flow. In short, we absolutely devoured every word of Flutter! “I don’t want to feel helpless,” Dylan answered. “I know what helpless feels like I don’t ever want to feel like that again.” This is one of those books that’s quite difficult to review. The synopsis carries enough information about the story and adding to it could provide potential spoilers. It’s a case of needing to go in blind; discover the twists, the deception, the suspense and the final outcome all by yourselves. Just allow the story guide you in real time, with the characters and you will be rewarded. Trust us on this.There are so many layers to Dylan and Presley’s story which is told in present day, and past flashbacks to their eighteen year old selves, where we learn these two had been childhood friends. Their past was all hope, love and happiness….until….. it wasn’t. As we switch to present day, six years later we found ourselves desperately wanting to know how their lives had turned so horribly to end up at this juncture. Our need to champion Dylan as he uncovers the past, and frantically hoping he can rectify the present held us captive! It was heartbreaking, sad, beautiful and hopeful.‘I don’t want to be sad anymore,’ she whispered.’As much as Dylan and Presley were the catalyst for the story, and it was their beautiful broken story that held our hearts, it was the introduction of a fascinating, broken and heartbreaking character which added another depth to Flutter. This character felt as sinister as he did hopeless, sweet and vulnerable. What exactly was his story and who….was telling the truth? Are we being intentionally vague here? You bet we are because you need to dive in read this book and you’ll soon find yourself snared into the web of its thrilling and emotional prose. “I need you to need me. I need to feel like I can give you something other than sadness.” We were so invested in these characters, and we couldn’t rest until we saw their story reach its conclusion. We had shared so much with them, we’d lived their journey and for us, we felt we really needed an epilogue. You know, just a little more....FLUTTER is available to purchase belowmy link textmy link textCome visit and follow us at:✲ TotallybookedBlog✲ TB on Facebook✲ TB on Twitter✲ TB on Pinterest
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    July 26, 2017
    Flutter was the first Olivia Evans book I have read and honestly it blew me away. I felt the gripping emotion throughout the story and was glued to my kindle from the beginning. It was equally heartbreaking and heartwarming and made such a profound impression that I could not get enough!Dylan Walker has spent six years trying to move  in from the loss of his girlfriend, Presley Cooper. But when he decides to move away and get a fresh start, he realizes that not all is what it seems. He sees Pres Flutter was the first Olivia Evans book I have read and honestly it blew me away. I felt the gripping emotion throughout the story and was glued to my kindle from the beginning. It was equally heartbreaking and heartwarming and made such a profound impression that I could not get enough!Dylan Walker has spent six years trying to move  in from the loss of his girlfriend, Presley Cooper. But when he decides to move away and get a fresh start, he realizes that not all is what it seems. He sees Presley again and everything he thought he knew was destroyed. But can he find the answers and save the girl he loves?This novel was fantastic. Dylan was absolutely amazing and so honest and loving. I wanted to hold his hand and give him a hug throughout so many parts of the novel. The emotions poured off the page. Furthermore, I loved that despite going through what she did, Presley was SO strong. I absolutely loved them together and the cast of characters that became integral to the story. I also loved that the author was able to aptly describe such gut wrenching emotions that we felt them viscerally and was able to describe the debilitating effects of mental illness.All in all this was a fantastic novel and I look forward to more from this author in the future. Bravo! 4 stars ~Ratula
    more
  • Philomena Callan Cheekypee
    July 25, 2017
    So this is the first time I've heard of this author and all I can say is wow. This is a truly brilliant read. I started it last night and finished it tonight. I did not wanna put it down. In fact I was sitting on a bus today with the kid singing beside me and I was sneaking in a few pages. No matter what I say I'm not going to be able to give this book the review it deserves. At the minute all I can think is wow,yay, a must read. I read quite a bit so a different kinda storyline always gets me c So this is the first time I've heard of this author and all I can say is wow. This is a truly brilliant read. I started it last night and finished it tonight. I did not wanna put it down. In fact I was sitting on a bus today with the kid singing beside me and I was sneaking in a few pages. No matter what I say I'm not going to be able to give this book the review it deserves. At the minute all I can think is wow,yay, a must read. I read quite a bit so a different kinda storyline always gets me chomping at the bit. This storyline is super good. It's interesting, original and had me gasping. I was in that mindset where I was wary of reading on. There was so much will they won't they going on in my head. Does any of that make sense? Either way you really do need to read this. I've already messaged friends to 1-click on release day as I got a feeling this books gonna stay with me for quite a while. 🦋 🦋
    more
  • Kaitlyn
    June 30, 2017
    I take different things away from different books all the time while reading. I learn something new, look at something differently, and so on..... what I can never ever predict is how much of an impact a book is going to have on me, how special it's going to be, how mind blowing, and just simply how important. Flutter was all I wanted it to be and more. It was everything I look for in a book and more! It was a masterpiece! It was epic. It was simply put.... EVERYTHING!!! I've read two now three I take different things away from different books all the time while reading. I learn something new, look at something differently, and so on..... what I can never ever predict is how much of an impact a book is going to have on me, how special it's going to be, how mind blowing, and just simply how important. Flutter was all I wanted it to be and more. It was everything I look for in a book and more! It was a masterpiece! It was epic. It was simply put.... EVERYTHING!!! I've read two now three book by Olivia Evans. Each one has gotten a little more serious. It just goes to show the maturity and the ability of her writing skills. I've loved every single read but I have to say this one is by far my favorite! I don't want to go into too much storyline because I don't want to give one single thing away! But from the minute you open this book you will fall in love with Presley, Dylan, Cody, Zach, and Dylan's grandmother. You will adore each minute spent with them, the story, the adventure, the friendships, the trust, but most importantly the love. You will cherish these characters and like me hold them in a very special place in your heart. They're sitting in mine now and forever more! I'd like to go one step further. You get to experience mental illness in this book. That is one thing in life I'm not very familiar with. Olivia did an outstanding job with her research and with making me understand it a little bit better. Instead of just the view of a mental illness in a crime show on tv I now understand a little bit more why it is portrayed that way. The human mind will go to the ends of the earth to protect itself. That being said I think I'm done rambling. I honestly don't know if this even gets anything across to you. But I'll try one more time. This book is currently my top read of 2017. It's raw and real and full of love. The love Dylan and Presley have for each other doesn't happen everyday. Love is possible, life is possible.... you just have to find the right people in life to do it with! The most amazing thing this book will do to you? It'll make your heart flutter.... over and over and over again!! ❤️
    more
  • Clare
    June 30, 2017
    OMG where to start with this amazing book!I first wanted to read this story as I really liked the blurb and I love discovering new authors. On first seeing the cover of the book it attracted me to it even more, and as the story plays out you get to realise why such an incredible design was chosen as it's a really fitting design and it's very significant to the story, I totally love it.The story is based around Presley Cooper and Dylan Walker, two young lovers that become separated through deceit OMG where to start with this amazing book!I first wanted to read this story as I really liked the blurb and I love discovering new authors. On first seeing the cover of the book it attracted me to it even more, and as the story plays out you get to realise why such an incredible design was chosen as it's a really fitting design and it's very significant to the story, I totally love it.The story is based around Presley Cooper and Dylan Walker, two young lovers that become separated through deceit and betrayal by those that should be the ones to take care of them. So much needless suffering and pain is caused by the greed and selfishness of others, their story is one that is truly heartbreaking. I have never read a book like this before that could make me laugh one minute, make me cry the next and then go on to nearly rip my heart out by the time i'd finished reading it. At times the story is a little sinister and eerie and one of the characters creeped me out at first until it's revealed why he can't help being the way he is and then from that moment on my heart just broke for him. I just couldn't help myself from falling a little in love with him after that. Im pretty sure you will work out who I mean when you read it.This book is not one for the faint of heart as it's packed full of little shockers and surprises and it will make you feel so angry and sad one minute and happy and elated the next. It's brilliantly written to take you through so many emotions that it will make you stop and think about how easily this could happen to anyone and no one would ever know. Ive not stopped thinking about it and mulling it over in my head since I finished reading it. Olivia Evans has written one hell of a thought provoking story that will stay with you for a long time to come. An amazing 5 Stars!
    more
  • Olivia Evans
    July 24, 2017
    FLUTTER IS NOW LIVE!!!!
  • Jennifer
    June 28, 2017
    * A review copy was provided by the author for the Blog Tour * ~ 5 Fluttering Stars ~ FULL REVIEW to come for Blog Tour....... So Good!!! Definitely 1-click this book when it is released!! FULL REVIEW Now Posted::What an AMAZING book!!! This book is both heart aching and heartwarming. I will say this, this book does cover the tough subject of mental health and how we cope with it and those who suffer from it.I thought this book was very well written and very well researched. You can tell the au * A review copy was provided by the author for the Blog Tour * ~ 5 Fluttering Stars ~ FULL REVIEW to come for Blog Tour....... So Good!!! Definitely 1-click this book when it is released!! FULL REVIEW Now Posted::What an AMAZING book!!! This book is both heart aching and heartwarming. I will say this, this book does cover the tough subject of mental health and how we cope with it and those who suffer from it.I thought this book was very well written and very well researched. You can tell the author put a lot of effort in telling this story correctly. Flutter is a standalone novel and is told in Dual POV in the third person. Normally I am not a huge fan of the third person because I feel like it is more the author telling me the story than me as the reader feeling the story, but I have to say, I didn’t get that feeling with this book. I felt everything the characters felt throughout the whole story.I don’t want to give too much of the storyline away because this is a story that needs to unfold for the reader as they read it. I will tell you this, it is a friends to lovers story but also a second chance love story. I would say it leans more towards a Mature YA but could also be labeled as a New Adult. While reading this book we see the characters as both high school aged and then also in their early 20’s. But because of the nature of the story I don’t feel it is appropriate for anyone under the age of 16 or 17 years of age to read this book.I thought the storyline was very unique and intriguing. I was hooked with this story right from the beginning. As the story unfolded, I just became more invested in Presley and Dylan’s story. Their’s is a love that can stand over time and never died. This story truly made me believe in soul mates and a love that can stand the test of time!!I truly don’t think I can do this book justice with my review, so I am just going to say… READ THIS BOOK!!! It is so worth it.Follow Us at :: Book Bitches Blog | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Angela
    August 1, 2017
    While FLUTTER could have been a moving and poignant examination of the effects of trauma (view spoiler)[unplanned pregnancy, abortion, and attempted suicide (hide spoiler)] on a high-school relationship and beyond, the key points of the plot were too inconceivable for me to take the novel seriously. Set in the present day, the story flashes back six years to the high school romance of Dylan and Presley and the events and people that drove them apart. Though a relatively typical romantic plot arc While FLUTTER could have been a moving and poignant examination of the effects of trauma (view spoiler)[unplanned pregnancy, abortion, and attempted suicide (hide spoiler)] on a high-school relationship and beyond, the key points of the plot were too inconceivable for me to take the novel seriously. Set in the present day, the story flashes back six years to the high school romance of Dylan and Presley and the events and people that drove them apart. Though a relatively typical romantic plot arc ensued, it was marred by absurd plot points and side characters who appeared as simple caricatures of villains or saviors. The murder-mystery element could have been interesting, but it was uncomfortably linked with the story of a young boy's trauma and resulting dissociative identity disorder (DID) with convenient and likely inaccurate portrayals of a misunderstood condition. The writing itself also came across as weak, with continuity errors about Presley's timeline and entirely too many convenient inaccuracies about medical school training and psych ward procedures. While I wanted to feel the love and commitment between the two main characters, it was primarily told, not shown, through declarations of love and lots of face-holding and murmuring, but little else. I'm sure there are many readers who will eat up this story of doomed love recovered, but I needed more character development and plot authenticity.
    more
  • Blagica
    July 9, 2017
    Flutter by Olivia Evans published by Expresso Book Tours is amazing! I was given an advanced copy for my honest review and I can’t wait to tell you how AMAZING it is. There are few books lately that I can say that I loved. THIS ONE tops the charts for me it was so good I finished it in one long sitting and it will be one that I recommend to everyone that loves a good thriller. This is my first book by Olivia Evans but I hope it won’t be my last. I originally choose this book because I feel in lo Flutter by Olivia Evans published by Expresso Book Tours is amazing! I was given an advanced copy for my honest review and I can’t wait to tell you how AMAZING it is. There are few books lately that I can say that I loved. THIS ONE tops the charts for me it was so good I finished it in one long sitting and it will be one that I recommend to everyone that loves a good thriller. This is my first book by Olivia Evans but I hope it won’t be my last. I originally choose this book because I feel in love with the Cover , what I loved even more is what a significant role this cover actually plays in the way things unfold in the story! The story is designed around the fragile young love of Dylan Walker and Presley Cooper a love that should have been perfect and beautiful but was shattered by people that were supposed to have the best interest of the couple. I had moments in this book where I laughed, cried and wanted to strangle someone all a few pages apart. I also think that it is important to mention a few things, one being that you should never give up on love and the people who give you those fluttery moments and two this book is not for the faint of heart. The idea of mental illness is a very serious problem you can tell that the author has done a tremendous amount of research not only making the story readable but also making the characters very easy to connect with. The only thing I didn’t like about this book was the fact that it ended one of my favorite reads for 2017!
    more
  • Melanie Moreland
    July 3, 2017
    Flutter. Want a book with love, pain, angst, and a great plot twist – or two? Then this is the one for you. Ms Evans kept me guessing, biting my lip, and turning the page as fast as possible. Great suspense with a “set” of secondary characters with a story of their own that was gripping.Romantic, nail biting suspense at it’s best! My heart fluttered with every new angle!
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    July 16, 2017
    An amazing book you don't want to miss. It's a gripping story from the very first page and you won't be able to put it down. Lots of books touch me for various reasons but this one touched me deep and left me with chills. It's a story of lies, secrets, deception, and a powerful love that in the end is what it takes to unravel the truth. Presley Cooper and Dylan Walker are two characters that will stay with you long after you've finished reading this book. I'm not going to give many details on th An amazing book you don't want to miss. It's a gripping story from the very first page and you won't be able to put it down. Lots of books touch me for various reasons but this one touched me deep and left me with chills. It's a story of lies, secrets, deception, and a powerful love that in the end is what it takes to unravel the truth. Presley Cooper and Dylan Walker are two characters that will stay with you long after you've finished reading this book. I'm not going to give many details on the story itself. This one needs to be experienced page by page. I highly recommend this book to everyone!
    more
  • Christina Szczepan-santos
    July 1, 2017
    WOW just WOW!!! I don't even know where to begin with this story. Olivia killed it, in the best way.This story was so refreshing. Different than the same things out there now.Dylan and Presley, oh how you feel for them and their circumstances so much.This book has many turns and you're on the edge throughout the whole book. You can see how Olivia did her research for this book.One click this book, it's so amazing.*arc for an honest review*
    more
  • Martyk
    July 2, 2017
    I don't even know where to start with this review. This book? It was freaking amazing! Just so so so good. Truly wonderful. The delicate topics were handled beautifully. Some books just read and some read like a movie. This read like a movie. Just so amazing. So very well written.
    more
  • Kindle Crack Book Reviews Cheri
    July 16, 2017
    4.5 - 5 - In Flutter, Olivia Evans spins a wicked web of intrigue, layered with intense plot twists and turns. You need to go into this book blind and expect a wild ride on a crazy train of emotions. I didn’t expect this! This romantic suspense story made my heart flutter. This unputdownable story is one-click worthy.
    more
  • Nat Codrington
    July 2, 2017
    I have been a fan of Olivia's writing for many years now, so when she announced this as her next stand-alone novel, I was beyond excited. The blurb was enticing and pulled me in on the get-go. After reading it, I don't even know where to begin with this incredible, thought-provoking novel. The story is centred around Dylan Walker coming face to face with Presley Cooper, the love of his life who he thought was lost to him forever. The timeline fluctuates between the past and present day, showcasi I have been a fan of Olivia's writing for many years now, so when she announced this as her next stand-alone novel, I was beyond excited. The blurb was enticing and pulled me in on the get-go. After reading it, I don't even know where to begin with this incredible, thought-provoking novel. The story is centred around Dylan Walker coming face to face with Presley Cooper, the love of his life who he thought was lost to him forever. The timeline fluctuates between the past and present day, showcasing how these two lovers came to be separated through greed and deceit by those that should never be the ones to betray your trust. Presley is put through unnecessary torment and pain due to the selfish acts of the people who are meant to be the one to protect her. As a result, she is lost within herself and it's up to Dylan with the help of his grandmother and an unlikely friend, to break down the walls she has surrounded her heart and mind with, to bring her back to girl he once knew. The vast contrast of their light, carefree love story from the past and the predicament they find themselves in in the present, will truly break your heart.This story was a wild ride of emotion and even a little sinister at times. It's filled with a multitude of twists and turns and one specific secondary character will make you feel so sad for them you'll just want to wrap them up in your arms and protect them at all costs. It's been a while since I've read a book that was so enticing and thrilling that it kept me up until the early hours of the morning because I was unable to put it down. One moment I would be laughing, the next gasping in utter shock or being brought to tears, as well as moving on to shouting expletives in bursts of rage at the actions of specific characters. Olivia has written this so brilliantly it will make you stop and think about how this type of situation has potentially happened to people in the real world and you would never know about it. It's safe to say my heart was ripped out and stomped on before being mended and put back together by the end. I strongly recommend this book! It's 5 stars from me!
    more
  • Shelby
    July 3, 2017
    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Let me tell you. Drop what you're doing and read this book. Honestly, that's what I have to say. I've been a fan of Olivia's work since a friend of mine introduced me to Brooklyn & Beale. With each novel, her writing gets deeper, her characters get more complex and her stories get even more sophisticated. A talented author tells a great story. A phenomenal author weaves details and history with deep character roots to produce something prof I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Let me tell you. Drop what you're doing and read this book. Honestly, that's what I have to say. I've been a fan of Olivia's work since a friend of mine introduced me to Brooklyn & Beale. With each novel, her writing gets deeper, her characters get more complex and her stories get even more sophisticated. A talented author tells a great story. A phenomenal author weaves details and history with deep character roots to produce something profound. Olivia Evans is shaping up to be a phenomenal author, and my proof lies within Flutter. This is a story of pure tragedy. Of loss and hopelessness. Of deception and greed. But most of all, of a true and unbreakable love, no matter the obstacles or consequences. And it's told in a beautiful way, splitting the past and present, but presenting them parallel to one another, so information, feelings and comprehension unfold with a unique precision. This is a beautiful novel. The characters are so powerfully developed, all the way through from the leads to the supporting characters. The story is raw, and so, so original. You will feel for these characters. Not only the two main's, which you will feel so deeply for both individually and together, but also for the supporting characters, who are extensively woven in with their own stories. I couldn't put it down, and neither will you.
    more
  • Nikki
    July 7, 2017
    You know when you read a book and it's all you can think about? You dream about it? This was that book for me. Last night Flutter was in my dreams and I was trying to figure everything out, I could hear Dylan, I could see Presley.The story - strong story, excellent plot, interesting characters. Dylan is a young graduate starting his residency to become Dr. Walker. He's driven, he's motivated.Presley - she and Dylan have known each other since they were kids and start dating in high school.Flutte You know when you read a book and it's all you can think about? You dream about it? This was that book for me. Last night Flutter was in my dreams and I was trying to figure everything out, I could hear Dylan, I could see Presley.The story - strong story, excellent plot, interesting characters. Dylan is a young graduate starting his residency to become Dr. Walker. He's driven, he's motivated.Presley - she and Dylan have known each other since they were kids and start dating in high school.Flutter is written flawlessly in third person and unfolds between present and the past. Through the past, we learn more about Dylan and Presley as young adults. In the present, we see Dylan working through his residency at Grace Hospital and Hilltop, a private hospital. There are feelings in this book - heartbreaking scenes, heartwarming scenes, silly scenes. You definitely get it all while reading.Flutter is different than Olivia Evans' other books, but don't let that keep you away. It is an amazing book. AND this cover! I mean, this cover is BEAUTIFUL!Well done & congrats to Olivia Evans - Flutter is a hit!
    more
  • Crissy
    July 3, 2017
    This is one of the most amazing book I've read in quite some time. I truly have never read a book anything like this and it had me completely hooked from beginning to end. I absolutely loved Presley, Dylan and his grandmother Ann. I can't believe the lengths Presley's parents went to, to keep her away from Dylan and their image clean. I also enjoyed Cody, Zach and Maverick although, we didn't get to see much of Maverick. Zack was definitely the brains and protector while Cody was the sweet, shy This is one of the most amazing book I've read in quite some time. I truly have never read a book anything like this and it had me completely hooked from beginning to end. I absolutely loved Presley, Dylan and his grandmother Ann. I can't believe the lengths Presley's parents went to, to keep her away from Dylan and their image clean. I also enjoyed Cody, Zach and Maverick although, we didn't get to see much of Maverick. Zack was definitely the brains and protector while Cody was the sweet, shy boy. Although, with what Cody went through he deserved to have someone protect him even if it came from within. This was a great suspense filled read with romance, betrayal, determination, strength and when it came down to it, it was really mind over matter. I'm glad everything worked out for Presley, Dylan and Cody because they deserved their justice and to live a normal life. My only complaint would be the ending. It ended to quickly, I would have loved a prologue giving us a few months or years later on the progress everyone made. I would love to read a novella or another book with these characters and I definitely look forward to reading more books from this author.
    more
  • Richelle Robinson
    July 27, 2017
    I honestly had no idea what to expect when I started this book. Someone in a book group recommended this author but I had never heard or read any of her books prior. So I took a leap of faith and I ended up loving this book so much! I'm not going to lie there had been certain parts of the story that hit close to home and I found myself getting emotional. I didn't want to take those trips down memory lane again or feel the way I did but I'm happy I stuck with the story! This story was more than j I honestly had no idea what to expect when I started this book. Someone in a book group recommended this author but I had never heard or read any of her books prior. So I took a leap of faith and I ended up loving this book so much! I'm not going to lie there had been certain parts of the story that hit close to home and I found myself getting emotional. I didn't want to take those trips down memory lane again or feel the way I did but I'm happy I stuck with the story! This story was more than just a love story. This was a story about not giving hope, having faith, and being the voice for the voiceless. As I said before I've never read anything by this author before but her words touched me deeply. This story sucked me in and I had to finish no matter how painful, how emotional I got and how tired my eyes got. This story will definitely stay with me for a long time. I would also like to thank the author for writing about the topics that she did in this book. It was different. It was refreshing. Most importantly it was real and gave me hope. 4.5 Book Corner Stars ARC Review For more reviews check me out here! http://www.shellysbookcorner.com/
    more
  • Sally
    July 4, 2017
    What can I say about this book? You really hit this one out of the park, Olivia! So much I could say, but I don’t want to give away too much. This book needs to be “felt” and savored. My emotions ran the gamut from happy to enraged to sad to snot sobbing. I’m usually a fairly quick reader, even more so when a story grabs me by the throat and won’t let go. That was the case with this story. I couldn’t put this one down. The main characters, Presley and Dylan, were endearing from the start, and I What can I say about this book? You really hit this one out of the park, Olivia! So much I could say, but I don’t want to give away too much. This book needs to be “felt” and savored. My emotions ran the gamut from happy to enraged to sad to snot sobbing. I’m usually a fairly quick reader, even more so when a story grabs me by the throat and won’t let go. That was the case with this story. I couldn’t put this one down. The main characters, Presley and Dylan, were endearing from the start, and I had no problem cheering them on through everything. As Presley said herself, they were “always meant to be.” This is a story that takes place in two time slots: Presley and Dylan as 18-year-old high school seniors on the brink of the rest of their lives, and present-day where Dylan and Presley cross paths and what was broken needs to be mended. I won’t tell you who is broken or how it came about—that is for the reader to find out. And, it’s not an easy scenario to read about. There are characters you may want to throw against a wall and throttle—believe me; that is where my rage with these people went. There may be situations you can relate to in your own lives—I certainly found a few. There was one line that made me think of my own grandfather and something that took place before I was born (and I only found about it recently)—“Some families don’t want anyone to know the whereabouts of their loved ones.” Then there are the secondary characters who wiggle their way into your heart. In this case, Dylan’s grandmother—a woman not to be messed with. She was an advocate for both of these young people from the beginning. I think one of my favorite passages in the whole book was this:“I’ve missed this so much,” she [Presley] whispered, her throat tight.“What have you missed? Dylan asked, breathlessPresley swallowed and cupped his cheek. “The butterflies,” she whispered. “I’ve missed the butterflies. Even after all this time, you make everything flutter. You always will.”
    more
  • Virginia
    July 27, 2017
    Flutter is by far one of my top reads of the year. I knew from the past how amazing of a writer and storyteller Olivia is. She has done it again with Flutter. This story is captivating, emotional, and just beautiful.It’s everything. And I sincerely mean that.Flutter starts in the present and alternates between the present and the past. The present story is one that will make you gasp and sigh and pull at your heart. The past story is very different. I really refuse to say anything about the stor Flutter is by far one of my top reads of the year. I knew from the past how amazing of a writer and storyteller Olivia is. She has done it again with Flutter. This story is captivating, emotional, and just beautiful.It’s everything. And I sincerely mean that.Flutter starts in the present and alternates between the present and the past. The present story is one that will make you gasp and sigh and pull at your heart. The past story is very different. I really refuse to say anything about the story itself. I can’t ruin it for anyone- it needs to be experienced. I will say that both are perfection.Flutter is so well written and beautiful. The characters are well developed and the plot is fantastic. The twists and turns, the lies, the emotions, the romance- they will all have you on the edge of your seat and ADDICTED. This book seriously was my life for two days. I cannot say enough about Flutter. If I could give it 10 stars I would.An ABSOLUTE must read!!!!An arc was provided to Stephanie’s Book Reports for an honest review.
    more
  • Sally
    July 27, 2017
    4.5 StarsI loved this book! I loved it from beginning to end! I loved the characters both main AND secondary. My favorites being the Grandma, she was SO BADASS!!! As well as Zach, I just adored him! This book had a great flow which went from past to present seamlessly and before you people bitch about not liking the whole past to present thing (ahemmm LORI) it was totally essential to tell how the characters got to where they are and it just worked perfectly! The editing was ON POINT which is AL 4.5 StarsI loved this book! I loved it from beginning to end! I loved the characters both main AND secondary. My favorites being the Grandma, she was SO BADASS!!! As well as Zach, I just adored him! This book had a great flow which went from past to present seamlessly and before you people bitch about not liking the whole past to present thing (ahemmm LORI) it was totally essential to tell how the characters got to where they are and it just worked perfectly! The editing was ON POINT which is ALWAYS a plus and the storyline was GREAT! The ummmmm MAIN setting (I won’t say more than that as I don’t want to spoil it) is one of my favorites which also drew me in. The author also did the perfect kind of ending which is to NOT have it be an INSTANT fix up, meaning it was not a BOOM and suddenly everything was easy-going. She gave the character’s times to heal and gradually get to that better place which I always appreciate. Two thumbs up!
    more
  • Anne Foster
    July 22, 2017
    This was a sweet read! Dylan lost his girlfriend, Presley to a car accident six years ago and still mourns her death. But when he is assigned to rotations at Hilltop Hospital and must deal with the mental issues of patients, he is in for several surprises--not the least of which is seeing a delusional Presley there. Now he must unravel the secrets and lies that have kept them apart all this time. Finding an unlikely helper in Cody, a 13-year-old teen with multiple personalities, Dylan works to u This was a sweet read! Dylan lost his girlfriend, Presley to a car accident six years ago and still mourns her death. But when he is assigned to rotations at Hilltop Hospital and must deal with the mental issues of patients, he is in for several surprises--not the least of which is seeing a delusional Presley there. Now he must unravel the secrets and lies that have kept them apart all this time. Finding an unlikely helper in Cody, a 13-year-old teen with multiple personalities, Dylan works to uncover the mystery. Blending present and past, the novel has a sweet romance at its heart. While I'm not usually a fan of this genre, it felt real and not sappy. A quick read also!
    more
  • Diane plourde
    July 19, 2017
    This is my first experience reading this author and I was by far impressed with this intense story. This is a 4 star story. I won't say very much about what the story is about because it as so many twists and turns. I was left speechless by some of them. It plays with ones mind in a major way. One of the definitions for Flutter is "to throw into nervous or tremulous excitement; cause mental agitation and confusion". If your looking for a classic love story, well look elsewhere. It is a story a This is my first experience reading this author and I was by far impressed with this intense story. This is a 4 star story. I won't say very much about what the story is about because it as so many twists and turns. I was left speechless by some of them. It plays with ones mind in a major way. One of the definitions for Flutter is "to throw into nervous or tremulous excitement; cause mental agitation and confusion". If your looking for a classic love story, well look elsewhere. It is a story about love but an original one. I never knew what was real or not, who to trust. I'm a nurse and I was impressed on information the author had about certain medical conditions and medications. This story does go back in forth in time so it's like reading 2 different stories that cross over and get together at the end. Standalone told in a dual POV with an HEA.
    more
  • FS Meurinne
    July 22, 2017
    I have not enough words to describe what this book is. Perfect, masterpiece, wonderful, the best they don’t do it justice. Olivia Evans had set the bar so high after this one. It got me straight to my heart and mind, I might need to read it again just to get them back. It grabbed me and it hasn’t let me go. Standing ovation for this story and is now on my top books of 2017, a definitely must read. Just BRAVO!!!
    more
Write a review