Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned. She has a not-so-secret but definitely unrequited crush on her best friend, Cooper. She hasn’t been able to manage her mother’s growing issues with anxiety. And now she’s been rejected from an art show because her work “has no heart.” So when she gets another opportunity to show her paintings Abby isn’t going to take any chances.Which is where the list comes in.Abby gives herself one month to do ten things, ranging from face a fear (#3) to learn a stranger’s story (#5) to fall in love (#8). She knows that if she can complete the list she’ll become the kind of artist she’s always dreamed of being. But as the deadline approaches, Abby realizes that getting through the list isn’t as straightforward as it seems… and that maybe—just maybe—she can’t change her art if she isn’t first willing to change herself.This is the first in a set of three standalone books with crossover characters.

Love, Life, and the List Details

TitleLove, Life, and the List
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseDec 26th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN-139780062675781
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Romance, Realistic Fiction, Fiction, Young Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Teen, Art

Love, Life, and the List Review

  • Lala BooksandLala
    January 1, 1970
    The cutest.
  • emi
    January 1, 1970
    I can barely manage to write a book review, how does Kasie West publish like 508 books a year????
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    January 1, 1970
    Well that was just soooo dang cute. Just what I needed to get me out of this reading slump.
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    About: Love, Life, and the List is a young adult fiction written by Kasie West. It will be published on 12/26/17 by Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollins, 384 pages. The genres are contemporary, fiction, romance, and young adult. My Experience: I started reading Love, Life, and the List on 10/20/17 and finished it on 10/25/17. This book is another fun read from Kasie West. It’s full of sarcastic humor, challenges, friendship, and family. I love the easy to read pace and the go-getter characte About: Love, Life, and the List is a young adult fiction written by Kasie West. It will be published on 12/26/17 by Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollins, 384 pages. The genres are contemporary, fiction, romance, and young adult. My Experience: I started reading Love, Life, and the List on 10/20/17 and finished it on 10/25/17. This book is another fun read from Kasie West. It’s full of sarcastic humor, challenges, friendship, and family. I love the easy to read pace and the go-getter character. The main character has many wants and she’s doing everything she can think of, even stepping out of her comfort zone, to win the things she wants. There are setbacks, but she picks herself up and try again and it’s very inspiring to read where everything is not perfect from the start.This book is told in the first person point of view, following Abigail (Abby) Turner, a seventeen year old who loves art. She wants to display and sell her paintings at the museum, a fundraising the museum does once a year, but was told that her paintings doesn’t have heart and depth. She sets out to make a list of things for her to do to achieve heart and depth. Abby recruited her best friend, Cooper Wells to join in her challenges. One of the challenges is to face her fears and Cooper takes her out to the sand dunes for a quad ride. Another challenge is to try something new and they both auditioned for a play. Some challenges are harder to achieve than others, especially when her heart already set out for someone but that person doesn’t reciprocate. This book also introduce agoraphobic, a condition where a person doesn’t leave the house. (Check out my review on The Woman in the Window, a thriller with a character that have that same phobia). Abby’s mom stays in the house all the time while her dad is deployed to the Middle East. This story takes place in the summer so time is abundance for Abby to explore new things and take care of her family.This book is very well written. I love books with characters that strive for what they want and don’t give up when things don’t go according to plans. I love how Abby sat down with her family and brainstormed together a list of challenges. I love it when family members are supportive of their children’s goals. It’s a good example to follow. It’s a reminder that it takes efforts to obtain what we want and there will be failures before success arrives. The challenges that Abby face can be relatable to many readers. Did I mention I love Abby’s Grandpa? Read this book if you are looking for motivation! Just read it for sarcastic humor because they are great!Pro: easy to read, page turner, fast paced, humor, challenges, friendship, family, relatable, artCon: noneI rate it 5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the author Kasie West, publisher HarperTeen, and Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more reviews
    more
  • emma
    January 1, 1970
    wait.........this comes out this month? is this kasie west's 8th book of the year??????i can't write a blog post and this woman's out here with a contemporary every week and a half
  • Jaime Arkin
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely loved this one!! Full review to come!
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    This was exactly what I wanted to read. Love love love the BFF to more trope and Abby and Cooper are adorable together. I love their snark and banter and her art and his goofiness. I really enjoyed being on Abby’s head while she figured everything. There’s a great set of characters here and I can’t wait to see who gets a story. Plot wise, it was slow enough for me to savor and quick enough to satisfy. I loved the idea of the list and how everyone in her family wants to help. Her grandpa is espec This was exactly what I wanted to read. Love love love the BFF to more trope and Abby and Cooper are adorable together. I love their snark and banter and her art and his goofiness. I really enjoyed being on Abby’s head while she figured everything. There’s a great set of characters here and I can’t wait to see who gets a story. Plot wise, it was slow enough for me to savor and quick enough to satisfy. I loved the idea of the list and how everyone in her family wants to help. Her grandpa is especially sweet. Overall, it was classic Kasie: fun and fluffy and definitely a favorite. **Huge thanks to Harper Teen for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)This was a YA contemporary romance story about an artist and a quad bike rider.I liked Abby and Cooper in this, and I liked their friendship. I felt sorry for Abby that Cooper didn’t want more, and I also felt sorry for her when it came to trying to get her art in a show.The storyline in this was about Abby being told by her employer that her art didn’t have enough heart, and making a list of things to do w (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)This was a YA contemporary romance story about an artist and a quad bike rider.I liked Abby and Cooper in this, and I liked their friendship. I felt sorry for Abby that Cooper didn’t want more, and I also felt sorry for her when it came to trying to get her art in a show.The storyline in this was about Abby being told by her employer that her art didn’t have enough heart, and making a list of things to do which would help her to make her art better. We also had Abby trying to get over Cooper, after being turned down by him the previous summer. The way that Cooper and Abby were such close friends was nice though, and it was good the way he supported her with her list. The ending to this was pretty good.6.5 out of 10
    more
  • Tink Magoo is bad at reviews
    January 1, 1970
    Does anyone else think the cover woman's feet look really long?!
  • Vernie
    January 1, 1970
    I will literally read anything and everything Kasie West writes. Gimme now.
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely LOVED! Full review to come closer to release date.
  • Jen Ryland
    January 1, 1970
    Sad to say that overall I thought this was just okay and that some aspects really bothered me. Abby is secretly in love with her best friend Cooper. A year ago she told him, but when he didn't seem to return her feelings, she quickly claimed she'd been joking. Now she hangs around him all the time, silently pining. Abby's also an artist who's hoping to get her work included in an upcoming art show. When the director of the show tells her that her work is technically proficient but flat and lifel Sad to say that overall I thought this was just okay and that some aspects really bothered me. Abby is secretly in love with her best friend Cooper. A year ago she told him, but when he didn't seem to return her feelings, she quickly claimed she'd been joking. Now she hangs around him all the time, silently pining. Abby's also an artist who's hoping to get her work included in an upcoming art show. When the director of the show tells her that her work is technically proficient but flat and lifeless and that more life experience will make her a better artist, she takes his advice very literally. She and Cooper make a bucket list for the summer.On the positive side, the book had some subplots and secondary characters that I appreciated. Abby's mom is agoraphobic, and Abby worries a lot about this and how to help her. Abby also has a great relationship with her grandfather. On the negative side, Abby and Cooper's friendship had a dynamic I didn't enjoy at all. On the surface, their friendship was cute. But underneath that she seemed dependent on him while he was dating other girls. She seemed lowkey/passive-aggressively angry toward him much of the time for not returning her (unexpressed) feelings, which wasn't entirely fair to him. Either he was completely clueless (possible!) or just wanted to have his cake and eat it too - have Abby to hang out with while he was pursuing other girls. I just thought the #1 thing on their list should have been "spend the summer apart." Then there was Elliot, a seemingly great guy that Abby had a lot in common with. Cooper's new girlfriend Iris plus Elliot (who obviously liked Abby a lot) gave the book a dynamic that I wasn't a fan of. I'm not always anti-triangle but this was a case where I thought some of the people involved were badly treated. (view spoiler)[ I can see from others' reviews that I was not the only one thinking that Abby might and should end up with Elliot. I was disappointed that Abby and Cooper ended up together in the end. Their friendship was cute but they had zero romantic chemistry and we never saw their relationship grow from friendship to love. The low point of the book for me was the scene where Iris tells Abby to stop sabotaging Iris's relationship with Cooper and Abby tells Iris that "getting on my bad side is not a smart move" then forces Cooper to ditch Iris in the shake shop. YIKESYIKESYIKES. That's not just mean girl behavior, that's scary behavior. Abby's attempts to make Cooper jealous by a) hanging out with Elliot and b) hiding from Cooper for a week were not relationship #goals or empowered girl #goals either. Abby could learn something from Iris about being direct instead of manipulative and possessive. (hide spoiler)]I loved the idea of a story about personal growth. Both Abby and her mom needed to work on acknowledging their issues with anxiety and Abby really needed to learn how to communicate her feelings to others, rather than repressing them and then being angry when people didn't do what she wanted. (view spoiler)[ I was kind of intrigued by the idea of Abby's parents and the part they played in Abby's behavior. Abby clearly feels unexpressed anger about her mom's inability to be there for her. Abby's dad is described in the book as an "alpha male" and it was interesting that Abby was manipulative herself but then SO angry when her father tries to manipulate the art show -- I think all these three could use some family therapy. (hide spoiler)]Abby's bucket list did help her break out of her comfort zone and experience more of the world and I was happy that Abby's mom finally took some steps to address her illness. But I really wish Abby had taken her own growth a step further. As mentioned in the spoiler above, I thought she had some behaviors and tendencies I found pretty disturbing and that went unacknowledged in the story.Read more of my reviews on JenRyland.com or check out my Bookstagram!I received a free advance copy of this book from the publisher for possible review.
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    I LOVED THAT! Funny, flirty and full of feels...this is Kasie West at her best! I can't wait to see whose story is next.
  • Rachel Lightwood
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 starsLove, Life and the List was the kind of cutesy contemporary I knew I could expect of West. The premise was enticing; the promise of a best-friends-to-more romance too good to turn away. The execution, however, left a bit to be desired. The tone was quite young so its attempt to explore important topics like mental health and family fell a little flat. The characterisation was also quite shallow and there were some subplots that took too much attention away from the main storyline. It ne 2.5 starsLove, Life and the List was the kind of cutesy contemporary I knew I could expect of West. The premise was enticing; the promise of a best-friends-to-more romance too good to turn away. The execution, however, left a bit to be desired. The tone was quite young so its attempt to explore important topics like mental health and family fell a little flat. The characterisation was also quite shallow and there were some subplots that took too much attention away from the main storyline. It needed more heart. Our protagonist, Abby, was a big thorn in my side. I loved how she was so passionate, and her sarcasm did make me smile, but I struggled to connect to her on any deeper level. The way she treated the people in her life - particularly her mother - was not all that great, and it bothered me a lot. Her mother is suffering from an untreated anxiety disorder, most likely agoraphobia. I completely understand how hard it would be to see your parent succumb to such a debilitating mental illness. I have no doubt that the situation would be scary, uncomfortable and put a lot of pressure on her family unit. If Abby had been dismissive out of sheer ignorance, I could have understood. There is room for growth there. However, she rejected her grandfather’s plea to get her into some sort of therapy multiple times, and there was no good reason for it. She made her mum and her grandfather feel like shit over it but refused to help. That - among many other smaller things, including how juvenile her voice was - made it really hard for me to warm to Abby.The romance bothered me for a couple of reasons but Abby’s treatment of Cooper was icing on the cake. Abby has a crush on her best friend, Cooper. She had revealed her feelings to him a year earlier in the spur of the moment but quickly dismissed it as a joke. At this point then, Cooper does not know the true extent of her feelings. He has not said anything about his own feelings. They are no way obligated to one another or in a romantic relationship. When Cooper starts dating Iris at the beginning of the book, I can understand that Abby would be envious of their growing relationship. I can even understand genuinely disliking Iris or not getting along with her. People are people. A lot of the time personalities clash. All of this is fine. Cliched and not the best female characterisation but nonetheless, understandable.Here is where my problem lies: Abby eventually has a falling out with Cooper largely because she cannot ‘put up’ with him not reciprocating her feelings anymore. I just. If Abby had been a male protagonist and Cooper his female LI, this book would have been shut down in an instant. This is blatant ‘friendzoning’ bullshit! People are not obligated to return your feelings! You cannot say that someone is a poor friend for not falling in love with you. I just, this is ridiculous. Cooper did nothing wrong by dating someone else. I know there is more to the story in the end, which I will leave you to read on your own, but I have to say the whole situation made me uncomfortable. Abby was completely out of line. I felt sorry for Cooper, and also Ethan because Abby went on a few dates with him to ‘get over Cooper’. This is not emotional cheating since she is not in a relationship with this other character, but it definitely did not sit entirely right with me. As a whole, I felt that Abby’s treatment of Cooper spoiled the romance for me. I loved their friendship. It was realistic and sweet, and their banter genuinely puts a smile on my face. But in the end, I wanted more for Cooper. The fact that this romance took over so much of the plot was also quite disappointing. West introduced a lot of elements that could have made this story more of a standout if they had been developed. I loved the focus on family (more of that would have been so welcome). Yet it was the fact that she did so little with the original premise that let this down most of all. Like I said earlier, Abby’s passion for art was well-written. I enjoyed that added element. However, the entire Heart List arc - the idea that she needed to find her metaphorical heart to make her art truly shine - was rushed. It was anticlimactic. I wanted more time to be devoted to it. Abby improved her art incredibly quickly. It could have been a much grittier and character-driven process if the author had devoted more time to it. I think that was what I was hoping for. Extra thoughts:• West’s writing is simple and flows well. It is easy to fly through, driving the story forward easily. • The pacing was genuinely well executed. I was never bored. • I wanted more from their friends, particularly Justin and Ethan. • Lacey was horrendous. I actually despised her. • Abby says at one point that being an artist defined her. I have to agree. I wanted a little more from her.Overall? Not my favourite contemporary. I liked the sweet friendship between Abby and Cooper. The banter made me smile, and there were lots of little elements that worked well. Her relationship with her grandfather being one of them. I just needed more emotion, more grit from it. The entire art plotline was shallow and rushed. I was not a massive of our protagonist either. She treated her mother and Cooper so poorly. It rubbed me the wrong way. Will I read more West in the future? Yes. I hope it is a little better, though. Review copy provided by the publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • Brittany (The Book Addict's Guide/Novelly Yours)
    January 1, 1970
    A) KASIE WEST B) in love with the best friendC) "This is the first in a set of three standalone books with crossover characters." I LOVE CROSSOVER CHARACTERS
  • Alyssa
    January 1, 1970
    ***Review to come***
  • Andi (Andi's ABCs)
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 starsReally enjoyed that one. I wish somethings had gone down differently but I was happy in the end. Review to come.
  • Annie
    January 1, 1970
    04/24/17longer description ! this sounds pretty good. can't wait ^^what can i say? more Kasie West books are always welcomed
  • Fadila
    January 1, 1970
    MORE KASIE WEST! YAAY
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    This was DIVINE! Read it in a day!
  • Tran Thanh Tu
    January 1, 1970
    This is a Kasie West book and it's out on my birthday 🎂 That's IT!! THAT'S ALL I NEED TO KNOW, I'M COMING KASIE!!
  • Samantha Stewart
    January 1, 1970
    I don't know what it is about West's recent books, but I haven't been enjoying them as much. I just didn't feel like there was any chemistry between the main characters at all. I found myself rolling my eyes constantly and actually wondering why on earth Abby actually had feelings for Cooper. He was a total ass! I'm really disappointed I didn't enjoy this one.
    more
  • Charnell (Reviews from a Bookworm)
    January 1, 1970
    This was okay, although predictable and with a distinct lack of chemistry between the characters.
  • Madison
    January 1, 1970
    Can you make your best friend fall in love with you? Can you change your heart, become a better person with a few simple steps? Maybe, maybe not. But it's what Abby learns in the process that makes Love, Life and the List such a fun, contemporary YA novel. Abby's goal is to make it into a prestigious art program. The one obstacle in her way is showing her art in an exhibit. When her work is turned away as 'lacking in heart', she creates a list of things to help her develop a deeper understand an Can you make your best friend fall in love with you? Can you change your heart, become a better person with a few simple steps? Maybe, maybe not. But it's what Abby learns in the process that makes Love, Life and the List such a fun, contemporary YA novel. Abby's goal is to make it into a prestigious art program. The one obstacle in her way is showing her art in an exhibit. When her work is turned away as 'lacking in heart', she creates a list of things to help her develop a deeper understand and appreciation of the world that will hopefully translate to her paintings. As she and her best friend Cooper work their way through Abby's list, Abby is determined to make the experience a chance to finally get over her unrequited feelings for Cooper and hopeful fulfil her art goals at the same time. A list that can change a person's heart? Well, maybe it's not as crazy as it sounds. I actually really love how Abby creates her list. It isn't the typical flighty, ridiculous list of summer plans gone awry. Instead, Abby chooses things she likes best about each of her friends and family members and adds something that will help her become more like that. It's a beautiful idea.I found the romance a little unsatisfying in this book. Not completely, mind you, because that bit right at the end was pretty cute, but on the whole I much preferred this book for what it said about character development and learning to accept yourself, despite what others think about you.Abby worries a lot about what people think about her. Which is pretty surprising considering she is one of the most upfront, easy going, chill, unfazed, and sarcastic characters I have ever come across. Seriously. Abby redefines the meaning of sarcasm and all its various uses. Abby has a strange sort of sarcastic whit, to the point that I found her quite disrespectful, especially when talking to her grandfather and father. It's all part of their running jokes, but sometimes it came across as mean or demeaning. I didn't like that about Abby, but on the upside she embraces who she is as a person. Her journey centres around her discovery that her biggest problem is actually letting other people define her, her art, and her worth. Watching her discover this, accept her flaws, and face them head on was refreshing.Best friends to more. Or not. Maybe? Honestly, I had no idea which way it would go, even right up until the last few pages. I wasn't totally convinced by the romance, but it works to offset Abby's journey and I think that is what's most important about this book anyway. I did, however, really like Abby and Cooper's friendship. They are tight, seen through all those little moments, inside jokes, and stories that speak of years of shared history. Art is a really big part of this book. Abby is an artist and she designs her list to help her deepen her art. It was fun to step inside an artist's mind for a little while. Abby's concerns about her mother and her mental health were another important aspect of this book, giving it another layer of depth.Overall, while I didn't love this book like I have loved some of Kasie's previous novels, Love, Life and the List is a solid contemporary novel that combines art, the complications of unrequited best-friend romance, friendship, and self discovery. The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    Kasie West contemporaries always provide the light and fluffy goodness that I look for in these kinds of contemporaries. Love, Life, and the List is a fun friends-to-lovers story about pushing yourself and finding yourself. Plus, there’s great family dynamics and great art - always good things. We follow Abby Tucker as she spends her summer conquering her fears, facing challenges, and suppressing her feelings for her best friend Cooper. That leads to a adventurous summer of feelings and growth t Kasie West contemporaries always provide the light and fluffy goodness that I look for in these kinds of contemporaries. Love, Life, and the List is a fun friends-to-lovers story about pushing yourself and finding yourself. Plus, there’s great family dynamics and great art - always good things. We follow Abby Tucker as she spends her summer conquering her fears, facing challenges, and suppressing her feelings for her best friend Cooper. That leads to a adventurous summer of feelings and growth that creates a story that was a joy to read. Things I Liked This doesn’t really have anything to do with this book specifically, but the series overall, but I love that this series is going to feature crossover characters for the different books! I love series with crossover characters because it’s like a series of standalones, and you can really read them in any order.I absolutely loved the family dynamics in the story! I liked that we got to see Abby dealing with her mom’s anxiety. I liked that we got a bit of an extended family, with her grandfather living with them. Also, Abby had such a fantastic relationship with her grandfather - they both have such fantastic sarcastic humor that really resonated with me.I really liked the list that Abby made. I appreciate that she wanted to grow and better her artwork, but I LOVED that she picked traits she admired in her friends and family. I thought it was really nice. Things I Didn’t Like I would have liked more from Lacey and Elliot. I liked seeing Abby branch out beyond her friendship with Cooper, and gaining more friends and some independence. We started to get more of them at the end of the story, but I would have liked it a bit sooner.How many other ways can I say adorable and fluffy? This was honestly such a great contemporary that takes you on a journey and takes your mind off anything. It also put me in a fantastic reading mood. Love, Life, and the List just made me happy and I appreciate that. This book was a great contemporary and I had a great time. I received a copy of the book from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • nick
    January 1, 1970
    I really wanted to love this one more but I just didn't care for the love interest AT ALL. I thought Abby made the wrong decision when it comes to her choice. I did like the family and art elements though.
  • Deyse
    January 1, 1970
    I'M SO TORN ON HOW TO FEEL ABOUT THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW! I was mostly bored on the first half, then things got better and I started to feel LOTS OF THINGS, like INTENSE things that made me laugh and cry, and I loved everything about it except for the romance which was a huge miss for me. So, the start of the story is really slow and just a day by day of Abby and her summer, how she is in love with her best friend and they will spend their summer together, her mother who doesn't leave the house, her I'M SO TORN ON HOW TO FEEL ABOUT THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW! I was mostly bored on the first half, then things got better and I started to feel LOTS OF THINGS, like INTENSE things that made me laugh and cry, and I loved everything about it except for the romance which was a huge miss for me. So, the start of the story is really slow and just a day by day of Abby and her summer, how she is in love with her best friend and they will spend their summer together, her mother who doesn't leave the house, her amazing grandfather, her dad that is away in the army, her hopes of getting her art in a exposition at the museum she works... Nothing bad, but nothing gripping either. Them Abby started to grow on me, more things started to happen on the story and I started to fell really strong feelings, there was lots of laugh out loud moments and them the shit hit the fan, as it needs to in a book to have a conflict and I was a mess crying because OH MY GOD, WHY DID THAT HAPPENED TO ABBY ILY AND I DON'T WANT HER TO SUFFER. So I was clearly super invested but I hated the ending sort of? Like I don't HATE IT but I wished it went in a different direction. Basically I love Abby and her family so much, I didn't enjoyed the romance aspect that much. Now, I want to talk a bit of things that will be spoilery so on to the spoiler tag. (view spoiler)[ SO, I saw the sings for Cooper big reveal at the end, that his fear was falling for Abby and blablabla BUT I was hoping Kasie would go in a different direction, because after the art show I was 100% ready to never ever forgive Cooper and that was the end of it for me, we had Elliot as a nice hope for a future relationship and I enjoyed the idea of this one being her first book without a romantic story, it would be the story of Abby coming to herself during this summer, finding herself, her art and her family, growing out of a broken heart and that's it! I was really happy with that ending. BUT them Cooper comes with that super ultra cliche speech and that romantic comedy ending and I just DON'T. It was way to close to the whole drama on the art show and I wasn't even a little bit ready to forgive him, it was a super shitty thing he did of forgetting about her art show even thought he knew how important it was and that her mother probably wouldn't go without him since he is like one of the few people who can get her out of the house AND he dared to blow Abby off with one of his millions of girlfriends, I just can't, no, sorry, way to soon, that was a VERY SHITTY thing to do to your friend no matter how you feel about them, you just don't do that to someone you call your best friend. Also, for me their entire dynamic through all the book was constructed only as friends, I get that they both were kind of confused and trying to push down their feelings, but this kind of made me not see their feelings towards each other in their actual interactions until the very end, which just made the ending more cliche and bleh. (hide spoiler)] Glad I let this out of my chest, I still enjoyed this one and will continue to need to read everything and anything by Kasie West, just yeah, wish that romance had been more my thing.
    more
  • Reading Teen
    January 1, 1970
    Definitely not my favorite Kasie West book, but not my least favorite either. I liked the writing in this one much better than Lucky in Love, but I just was not there for this relationship. I did not like it in any way. And I did not think that Cooper treated Abby well, and I thought Abby treated Elliott just as poorly. I liked Abby’s sarcasm and wittiness. And I loved her relationship with her grandfather. That was my favorite part of the entire book. I just wish it had ended differently. But I Definitely not my favorite Kasie West book, but not my least favorite either. I liked the writing in this one much better than Lucky in Love, but I just was not there for this relationship. I did not like it in any way. And I did not think that Cooper treated Abby well, and I thought Abby treated Elliott just as poorly. I liked Abby’s sarcasm and wittiness. And I loved her relationship with her grandfather. That was my favorite part of the entire book. I just wish it had ended differently. But I guess we can’t win them all…I think I need to read On the Fence again just to feel better. 😂😂
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    I've said it before and I'll say it again, Kasie West can always bring me out of a reading slump. Although now that means I have read every single one of her books and if I go into another slump before I get my hands on her next book then I guess I'll have to reread haha. Anyways, this book was so amazing and I flew through it in less than a day, which says a lot because like I said above, I had been in a reading slump. My favorite thing about this book was the family dynamics! I loved Abby's mo I've said it before and I'll say it again, Kasie West can always bring me out of a reading slump. Although now that means I have read every single one of her books and if I go into another slump before I get my hands on her next book then I guess I'll have to reread haha. Anyways, this book was so amazing and I flew through it in less than a day, which says a lot because like I said above, I had been in a reading slump. My favorite thing about this book was the family dynamics! I loved Abby's mom, dad, and grandpa so, so much! I'm not going to lie, the sarcasm in this family was another of my favorite things. But, I also loved that they were always there for each other. Even Abby's dad who is overseas still manages to find the time to be there for his daughter, and you can still feel his presence in her life, even though he's not physically there. As far as the romance, I really didn't think there was going to be any and I was ok with that because I loved the growth of Abby as a character and the family & friend relationships in this book. However, right when you accept the fact that there's not going to be a OTP to root for, then BAM. This kind of made it a tad unbelievable for me, especially the way things went down with the love interest, I know that's a bit vague but I don't want to go into major spoilers. Overall though it was a great story, one that I loved more for the character growth and outstanding family dynamics rather than the love aspect.
    more
  • Jessie (Ageless Pages Reviews)
    January 1, 1970
    Cute enough, I guess, though undeniably formulaic and barely distinguishable from her other contemporary YAs. Forgettable.
Write a review