Secrets of the Dead
Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger.The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Secrets of the Dead Details

TitleSecrets of the Dead
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherBookouture
Rating
GenreMystery, Crime, Thriller, Fiction

Readers also enjoyed


Secrets of the Dead Review

  • Sarah Joint
    May 25, 2017
    Well-written and twisted. So what keeps it from becoming a five star book for me? Though I enjoyed the storyline, I had a hard time keeping track of the large cast of characters and had to look back, especially after picking the book up again after taking a break. I do really like Robyn Carter, and would love more details about her life and to get to know her a little better. The glimpses of her personal life and relationship with her late husband's daughter Amélie were some of my favorite parts Well-written and twisted. So what keeps it from becoming a five star book for me? Though I enjoyed the storyline, I had a hard time keeping track of the large cast of characters and had to look back, especially after picking the book up again after taking a break. I do really like Robyn Carter, and would love more details about her life and to get to know her a little better. The glimpses of her personal life and relationship with her late husband's daughter Amélie were some of my favorite parts of the book, along with the glimpses into the mind of the murderer. I'm a study in opposites! Very much looking forward to the continuation of this series. Victims are starting to pile up. Though it seems they didn't know each other, they have at least one thing in common: some kind of debt to be paid. They're each found clutching a receipt that teases it was time to pay up... and they did, with their lives. They've left behind broken family members and a tense public, thanks to a determined reporter who's somehow come across details about the case. Pressured at work, by the media, and by herself, Robyn and her co-workers race to put together a puzzle that seems to refuse to be solved. Will she figure out how the pieces fit together before more die? This killer strikes quickly, leaving them little time between murders to try to figure out his next step. The man the fearful media and public is calling the Lichfield Leopard seems to travel through shadows to come out of nowhere. I received an ARC of this book from Net Galley and Bookouture, thank you! My review is honest and unbiased.
    more
  • Sean Peters
    June 16, 2017
    Thank you to net galley, the publishers and of course the author Carol.Another great book, nearly to the same high standards at the first.Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?A manager of a hotel/spa is found burnt and dead in the hotels sauna having been there overnight. The sauna is set to a very high temperature, much higher than for normal usage and Robyn suspects immediately that there may be foul play involved. Is this suicide or not?A bottle Thank you to net galley, the publishers and of course the author Carol.Another great book, nearly to the same high standards at the first.Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?A manager of a hotel/spa is found burnt and dead in the hotels sauna having been there overnight. The sauna is set to a very high temperature, much higher than for normal usage and Robyn suspects immediately that there may be foul play involved. Is this suicide or not?A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger.The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Our villain starts to like his new name "The Leopard" Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, Sharon Bolton and Karin Slaughter Carol Wyer keeps the story, the action and the pace at a fast moving thriller ride.I think as we read further books we will get to know her team even better, as they work so hard alongside their leader Robyn.DI Robyn Carter is a character you just like so much a dedicated policewoman, a great character.A four star book from me.
    more
  • Adrian Dooley
    May 15, 2017
    The second book in the Detective Robyn Carter series, I really enjoyed the debut - Little Girl Lost and I hoped that Secrets Of The Dead would keep up the high standards. I'm glad to report that it did. The manager of a hotel is found burnt and dead in the hotels sauna having been there overnight. The sauna is set to a very high temperature, much much higher than for normal usage and Robyn suspects immediately that there may be foul play involved. When it's discovered that the manager suffered w The second book in the Detective Robyn Carter series, I really enjoyed the debut - Little Girl Lost and I hoped that Secrets Of The Dead would keep up the high standards. I'm glad to report that it did. The manager of a hotel is found burnt and dead in the hotels sauna having been there overnight. The sauna is set to a very high temperature, much much higher than for normal usage and Robyn suspects immediately that there may be foul play involved. When it's discovered that the manager suffered with a heart condition that could easily be fatal in the likes of a high temperature sauna the death is ruled as accidental but Robyn isn't convinced. A young mother is found drowned in her bath. There are signs of struggle downstairs, in the bedroom and in the bathroom. There is a note left beside the body. An invoice for £250,000 stating that her debt has been repaid. As more bodies turn up with similar invoices attached it becomes clear they have a serial killer on their hands, but what are his motives and what do the invoices mean? What have the victims got in common as it is obvious they are being targeted and not selected at random?As said in my opening, I really enjoyed Little Girl Lost and was surprised to hear that it was Carol Wyers first crime novel. It had the confidence in writing and story that you would associate with a veteran of the genre. Secrets Of The Dead continues with this and makes this now one of the more exciting series of female detectives series currently out there(and lets face it there are plenty to choose from)Robyn is a really strong central character who I immediately liked in the first book and she continues to develope here just as strongly. Love her cousin the private detective too, who is another strong character but also a great tool and plot device to get things moving along. The story here is really well told. I was sucked in from the first chapter and it held me until the last page. The pacing was excellent. Our killer is a fantastically bonkers character just on the right side of bonkers to remain believable and disturbing rather than being a cartoon character. Some genuinely chilling moments from said killer. If you enjoy this genre then you are missing a trick if you aren't reading this series. These books are so much fun to read despite the dark subject matter. We have a great lead in Robyn and a string team around her and both stories so far have been fantastically structured, paced and well told and well, are just bloody incredibly enjoyable to read. Thanks to NetGalley, Bookouture and Carol Wyer for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amy
    May 30, 2017
    All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comThis is the second book in a series featuring Robyn Carter, I read Little Girl Lost at the beginning of the year and was blown away by Wyer’s debut as a thriller author. Not only is she an extremely talented romantic comedy writer, this second foray into a different genre has firmly cemented her place as a dominant force as a thriller author, what a multitalented woman. Robyn is still working as a DI and now that she’s found her groove again, All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comThis is the second book in a series featuring Robyn Carter, I read Little Girl Lost at the beginning of the year and was blown away by Wyer’s debut as a thriller author. Not only is she an extremely talented romantic comedy writer, this second foray into a different genre has firmly cemented her place as a dominant force as a thriller author, what a multitalented woman. Robyn is still working as a DI and now that she’s found her groove again, she’s ready to keep climbing the ranks as she craves more responsibility and action. When she begins working a case where the victims are all found with a receipt that says, debts paid, she knows she is looking for a killer hell bent on revenge. I instantly connected with Robyn the first time around and this time as I learned more about her past, especially her time with Davies, I saw a softer, gentler side to her that appealed to me. The rest of her team is also interesting, I have a soft spot for Anna and Matt and the group dynamics were detailed more this time around. One of the things that impressed me so much in the first book was the way Wyer took so many unrelated plot threads and managed to merge them all together in a stunning way. Secrets of the Dead was plotted in the same meticulous manner and featured a large, diverse cast of characters making it very difficult for me to pinpoint who the killer really was. It also had the same fast and furious pacing with short chapters of the kind that keep you turning pages long into the night. It stays mostly in the present day with only a smattering of chapters told from the killers perspective via flashbacks. This was clever as it drew me in even deeper, steadily stringing me along as I was so interested in finding out what this persons true motivations were. It kept me on my toes and gave the book an edgy, suspenseful vibe that I liked. Wyer raised the stakes with this book, Robyn is the type of strong lead character that can easily carry a series and the more I read about her, the more I like her. She believes in following her gut instincts and doesn’t back down even when no one else agrees with her and I admire a person who has strong convictions. This is another winner for me and Wyer just needs to write faster so I can keep reading more about Robyn and team.
    more
  • Joanne Robertson
    June 5, 2017
    Wow! So it wasn’t a fluke!! Carol Wyer really CAN serve up a first rate crime thriller and continue to do so! Secrets of the Dead follows on from the success of Little Girl Lost which I reviewed a few weeks ago. You can read my review of that book HERE. I loved it and was so desperate to read the next in the series that I had to read it as soon as I received my copy!Although this case is a standalone storyline for DI Robyn Carter, I would probably advise that you will get the most out of her cha Wow! So it wasn’t a fluke!! Carol Wyer really CAN serve up a first rate crime thriller and continue to do so! Secrets of the Dead follows on from the success of Little Girl Lost which I reviewed a few weeks ago. You can read my review of that book HERE. I loved it and was so desperate to read the next in the series that I had to read it as soon as I received my copy!Although this case is a standalone storyline for DI Robyn Carter, I would probably advise that you will get the most out of her character and past if you read these books in the order they were released. I do think Carol Wyer has a very warped mind to have come up with the plot for this one. A series of murders seem to be linked in someway although the methods of dispatch for the victims varies depending on who they are. The notes found on them points to one murderer but what is their motive? And how are they linked?One of the things I love about Carols books is that she’s not afraid to kill off nice people! Some writers would have shied away from murdering a loving parent and leaving her 6 year old child without his mother, and for it to come after showing what a wonderful relationship they had made it even more heart wrenching. Because that’s what happens in the real world-ordinary families have their world’s torn apart every single day by the act of murder and most of them never see it coming. And that’s why The murder of Linda Upton really hit me hard!The twists and turns came thick and fast here and Robyn certainly had her work cut out for her and the team as she raced against time to save potential victims and catch “The Leopard”. I found the most chilling chapters here were those where I had to go inside the mind of a killer. I think I was shocked how ridiculously easy his thoughts gathered momentum from one seemingly unrelated encounter. Again, this made the crimes involved seem convincingly realistic and therefore scared the hell out of me!So Carol has proved she can make me howl with laughter and now she’s managed to make me shiver in fear. This series just keeps getting better though so I’m happy to put the giggling aside for now and immerse myself in the dark, disturbing and sorrowful world of Robyn Carter.
    more
  • Elvan
    June 2, 2017
    Little Girl Lost was Carol Wyer’s first police procedural/psychological thriller. In that novel we were introduced to DI Robyn Carter, shattered by the death of her beloved husband Davies yet determined to prove herself able to lead her team of detectives and solve a complex case. Secrets of the Dead can be read as a standalone novel but I highly recommend reading the first book in the series to appreciate how much Robyn has grown as an investigator. This second novel opens in dramatic fashion. Little Girl Lost was Carol Wyer’s first police procedural/psychological thriller. In that novel we were introduced to DI Robyn Carter, shattered by the death of her beloved husband Davies yet determined to prove herself able to lead her team of detectives and solve a complex case. Secrets of the Dead can be read as a standalone novel but I highly recommend reading the first book in the series to appreciate how much Robyn has grown as an investigator. This second novel opens in dramatic fashion. The manager of an upscale spa is found roasted to death in the hotel’s sauna. Carter’s arch nemesis DI Tom Shearer has ruled the death an unfortunate accident. Robyn’s gut instincts tell her that homicide might be the better call in spite of her boss, DCI Mulholland’s insistence that she focus on her own caseload and not rely so much on her instincts. When a woman turns up dead in a bathtub with obvious signs of trauma and a note indicating her debt had been paid in full, Carter gets to work solving what turns out to be the first of several related murders. As the body count climbs and pressure mounts to find this “Lichfield Leopard” it is up to Robyn and her team to hunt down this revenge seeking killer. Once again we have a fast paced thriller and an excellent cast of detectives working to solve another challenging case. Wyer gives us enough backstory on each victim to care about their lives and mourn their deaths, hoping that Carter can stop this killer before more senseless killing can occur. I loved seeing how much more focused Robyn is in this second novel of the series. I liked that she is no longer reacting but acting on leads provided to her by her team. Her relationship and reliance on her cousin Ross to ferret out information she might not otherwise obtain by legal means adds another avenue to helping her hunt down killers. Looking forward to more Robyn Carter mysteries in the future. ARC received from Bookouture via NetGalley for review.
    more
  • The Book Review Café
    May 11, 2017
    You can read all my reviews at http://thebookreviewcafe.comCarol Wyer is fast becoming one one of my “go to” crime authors when I need my crime fiction fix. Ever since I read her debut crime thriller Little Girl Lost I’ve been eager to see what she would produce next, and I’m thrilled to report Secrets Of The Dead is even better than the first book in the Detective Robyn Carter series. This book can be read as a standalone but I would highly recommend you read both books in the series just becau You can read all my reviews at http://thebookreviewcafe.comCarol Wyer is fast becoming one one of my “go to” crime authors when I need my crime fiction fix. Ever since I read her debut crime thriller Little Girl Lost I’ve been eager to see what she would produce next, and I’m thrilled to report Secrets Of The Dead is even better than the first book in the Detective Robyn Carter series. This book can be read as a standalone but I would highly recommend you read both books in the series just because they are both so damn good.Secrets Of The Dead reminded me very much of a classic whodunnit where the body count rises at an alarming rate and you are never quite sure who the next victims going to be. I’m not going to go into plot details as everything you need to know is in the book description, but I will say this book makes for a heart pounding read.Detective Robyn Carter Is back she’s dogmatic, doesn’t listen to reason, she’s ballsy, daring and resourceful all the things you would expect from a fictional detective. As the case becomes more complex, and Robyn doesn’t appear to be getting any closer to catching the killer she begins to doubt her own ability to solve the case, which highlights the more sensitive side to her character.As to the Killer I did feel some sympathy towards them, talk about damaged! They really did have major issues, especially as you learnt more about their reasons for killing, and how it all began. The author depicts how stalking and obsession can begin, an innocent comment, a chance meeting can soon become something very dark and sinister. By dedicating chapters to the killer the author shows how an innocent first meeting can become an all consuming obsession, which made for a spine chilling read.I do love Carol Wyer’s style of writing it’s sharp and to the point so from the opening chapter she grabs you by the throat and doesn’t let you out her clutches until the “heart in the mouth” last thrilling chapter. Although I wouldn’t consider Secrets Of The Dead to be a complex plot, there are enough thrills and chills to keep the most hardened crime thriller reading late in to the night.
    more
  • Dee
    May 8, 2017
    After having thoroughly enjoyed Little Girl Lost back in January, I couldn't wait for the second book in the DI Robyn Carter series so when it became available on Netgalley, I hit that "request" button like my life depended on it. Okay, yes, slight exaggeration but still ... excited and also very impatient.As is always the case with a second instalment, you wonder if it will be as good as the first one was but I'm happy to say that Carol Wyer has hit another home-run with this one.I won't divulg After having thoroughly enjoyed Little Girl Lost back in January, I couldn't wait for the second book in the DI Robyn Carter series so when it became available on Netgalley, I hit that "request" button like my life depended on it. Okay, yes, slight exaggeration but still ... excited and also very impatient.As is always the case with a second instalment, you wonder if it will be as good as the first one was but I'm happy to say that Carol Wyer has hit another home-run with this one.I won't divulge too much about the plot. As it is, I feel the blurb already gives away too much information. When the body of a murder victim is found with a receipt saying "all debts paid", I was immediately intrigued. But when a second victim is found with the same receipt, both Robyn and the reader are sucked into a fabulously disturbing case. This case clearly involves a killer on a mission and he won't stop until he's finished.Secrets of the Dead is another great addition to the DI Robyn Carter series. Not only do I really enjoy the interactions in the team and their diversity, but this is the second case that completely drew me in from the start. This killer displays a whole other level of creepy crazy, which becomes increasingly obvious from his own chapters. What I also like, and slightly hate, is that the author lets you get familiar with a character before having them murdered. Their death just hits you that little bit harder and makes you want to yell out nooooo, why would you do that?!Gripping and engrossing, this series is quickly becoming another firm favourite for me and I'm already eagerly awaiting the next one to find out about, what I'm sure will be, yet another fascinating case Robyn and her team will be working on.
    more
  • Zannie (darktwistybooks)
    June 20, 2017
    My review of Carol Wyer's Secrets of the DeadCarol Wyer's second DI Robyn Carter novel is zoom, zoom, zoom... Carol Wyer gives us a roller coaster in the dark, where you don't see what's coming next. Twisty, turny, stomach dropping. Yep, that's Secrets of the Dead.To be honest, at 10%, I restarted the book. Why? Because I began reading this book within seconds of finishing Wyer's Little Girl Lost.  Handling one roller coaster so soon after another without feeling woozy is quite a difficult task My review of Carol Wyer's Secrets of the DeadCarol Wyer's second DI Robyn Carter novel is zoom, zoom, zoom... Carol Wyer gives us a roller coaster in the dark, where you don't see what's coming next. Twisty, turny, stomach dropping. Yep, that's Secrets of the Dead.To be honest, at 10%, I restarted the book. Why? Because I began reading this book within seconds of finishing Wyer's Little Girl Lost.  Handling one roller coaster so soon after another without feeling woozy is quite a difficult task for me.  I took a day off of reading and started over. Whew. But after the wonderfulness that is Little Girl Lost, I couldn't wait. First of all, if you have not read Little Girl Lost, run out and get it NOW. Oh, I mean... where I was going with that was - if you haven't read Little Girl Lost, that's OK because Secrets of the Dead can consumed as a stand alone as well. Like many crime novels, Secrets of the Dead begins with a few murders. The first murder appears disconnected from the others, but the next two murders are definitely connected. On each person, there is an invoice for 250,000 pounds. Paid for with their lives. DI Robyn Carter is on the case, enlisting the help of her sweet dear cousin Ross, detective turned PI. I love Ross. But everywhere Robyn turns she hits walls. And then the press scared the public, her boss was frustrated, and Robyn and her team were bone-weary. My eyeballs soaked up this book in a ferocious manner after restarting it. I did notice a few reviews mention that there were too many characters to keep track of. A tip for kindle readers.  Highlight the name of each character at first mention so you can easily refer back if you need a refresher.DI Robyn Carter is not my favorite character in the book. Of course, I like her, especially her unconventional devious ways of solving crime. But Ross, Mitz, and Anna are who I most enjoy and connect with. They are such a big part of the story, that I'm not feeling any lacking by connecting to the adjunct characters. This was yet another definite 5-star book for me. Go read it. :-)Just a noteAs an aside, there was a scene where Robyn was racing toward another murder passing Aldi and Tesco, turning right onto X street. (The street name escapes me). I shop at Aldi here in the states and chuckled at the mention of Aldi. So, I googled Aldi and the street name mentioned. Low and behold I found a street view of that Aldi on Google Maps. It was very cool to meander around the streets of Litchfield from my iPad in the very same locations mentioned in Secrets of the Dead. Does that make me a dirty stalker of fictional characters?Thank you to netgalley, bookouture, and Carol Wyer for an advanced copy of this book. My review is honest and unbiased.
    more
  • Betty
    May 8, 2017
    Secrets of the Dead is the second installment of the DI Robyn Carter series. I haven’t read the first book, Little Girl Lost, but I didn’t feel it diminished my ability to enjoy this story. And oh my… did I ever enjoy this story!Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?DI Robyn Carter is on the hunt for a killer. Three people are dead, their murders obviously connected—but how? What did they have in common, apart from a cryptic note found on their bodi Secrets of the Dead is the second installment of the DI Robyn Carter series. I haven’t read the first book, Little Girl Lost, but I didn’t feel it diminished my ability to enjoy this story. And oh my… did I ever enjoy this story!Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?DI Robyn Carter is on the hunt for a killer. Three people are dead, their murders obviously connected—but how? What did they have in common, apart from a cryptic note found on their bodies? DI Carter is determined to find out, hopefully before anyone else turns up dead.This story has a fairly large cast of characters, but they are all, in their way, crucial to the story. I’m in awe of how Wyer presents the reader with multiple threads and delicately weaves them all together for a mind-blowing tale overflowing with thrills and chills. I can’t say much about the particulars of the story, other than to note it is a fast-paced story with plenty of action that kept me reading into the wee hours of the night.I’m looking forward to reading more about DI Robyn Carter in the future, and will be keeping my eye out for news about the next book in the series. In the meantime, I’ll look for a way to work the first book into my reading schedule!If you love reading a good crime thriller, I highly recommend giving Secrets of the Dead a read. You won’t be sorry!
    more
  • Heidi
    May 17, 2017
    The community of Lichfield is rocked to the core when the body of a young mother is discovered murdered in her bathtub, clutching a receipt for £250,000, stating “all debts paid”. Who could do such a terrible thing? The case lands on the desk of DI Robyn Carter, who feels like she has bitten off more than she can chew. A few days ago, the mutilated body of a young bar manager had been found with a similar receipt on his body. At first, there is nothing else to connect the two victims, and Robyn The community of Lichfield is rocked to the core when the body of a young mother is discovered murdered in her bathtub, clutching a receipt for £250,000, stating “all debts paid”. Who could do such a terrible thing? The case lands on the desk of DI Robyn Carter, who feels like she has bitten off more than she can chew. A few days ago, the mutilated body of a young bar manager had been found with a similar receipt on his body. At first, there is nothing else to connect the two victims, and Robyn is at a loss where to start her enquiries. On top of all this, she is already running a clandestine investigation into the death of a local spa owner, which has been ruled accidental by her colleague (and arch-enemy) DI Tom Shearer but appears suspicious to Robyn. With three dead bodies on her hands and no concrete leads, Robyn feels the pressure as the press are having a field day, dubbing the perpetrator the “Lichfield Leopard” and fuelling public fear. She knows she will have to deliver something to her superior soon in order to save her career – and to prevent the killer from striking again. There are a lot of detective series out there, and to stand out, a novel needs that certain something to make it memorable for me. I really loved the original idea of invoices found on the victims’ bodies, which added an intriguing element to an otherwise straight-forward police procedural. But whilst I enjoyed the story and the line of the police enquiry kept me interested, I was missing the one gasp-out-loud element that would make the book stick in my mind and put all past and future books in the series on my wishlist. DI Robyn Carter had all the elements of your archetypal flawed detective, and yet it appeared to me as if her demons were forced upon rather than owned by her. Grieving for her dead husband – tick. An over-the-top work ethic which takes over her life – tick. Conflict with a colleague – tick. Employing questionable tactics to get the job done – tick. I cannot put my finger on why these didn’t work for me, when the same elements seem so compelling in other fictional detective characters, such as Rob Bryndza’s Erika Foster, or Jane Casey’s Maeve Kerrigan. Robyn felt constructed to me somehow, lacking the emotional depth her flaws were aiming to give her. Some aspects of her life, such as the relationship to her step-daughter, seemed like unnecessary fillers which added nothing to the story for me. Perhaps I should have read the first book in the series to get the necessary background to her character?Over years of devouring all kinds of murder-mysteries with an insatiable appetite for new and original characters and plot lines, I have discovered that I am generally not a fan of books where there is too much narrative from the perspective of the killer. I gather from reading reviews of the author’s first book that she likes to give glimpses into the perpetrators’ past to explain their descent into madness and crime. And there are indeed A LOT of chapters from the perpetrator’s POV, starting from his traumatic childhood to his present life. Personally, with a few exceptions, I prefer the killer to remain an enigma that is slowly being unmasked by the police enquiry. Delving into the killer’s childhood in detail may explain the state of his mental health, but do I really need to know his whole sorry life-story? Does it add value to the plot or contribute to the feeling of mystery and suspense? In this case, for me, it didn’t. Giving the killer a mental health issue with overused phrases like “he could feel the red mist descending” just reads like it could have been copied and pasted from countless other similar stories. Not my cup of tea at all, but thankfully all readers are different and no doubt the very things that vexed me will work well for others.Secrets of the Dead is a solid police procedural with some original ideas which will undoubtedly appeal to a lot of readers. Whilst it made for a pleasant, fast read, it was lacking the elements that make it stand out from the fray, though, and I am not sure if I will come back to read any more books in the series.Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a free electronic copy of this novel and giving me the opportunity to provide an honest review. *blog* *facebook*
    more
  • Brad
    June 19, 2017
    Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer is another good DI Carter story. "A barman is killed and an invoice is left in his mouth. A mother is killed and also has a note. What do the victims have in common? Can DI Carter and her team figure out who is the next target? And find the killer?"Wyer keeps us guessing. You think you have a clue to the killer, but it's misdirection from Wyer. You may guess before the end, but it's still a question. Book was a bit slow in the beginning, but picked up. Good endi Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer is another good DI Carter story. "A barman is killed and an invoice is left in his mouth. A mother is killed and also has a note. What do the victims have in common? Can DI Carter and her team figure out who is the next target? And find the killer?"Wyer keeps us guessing. You think you have a clue to the killer, but it's misdirection from Wyer. You may guess before the end, but it's still a question. Book was a bit slow in the beginning, but picked up. Good ending. Another good one from Wyer.
    more
  • Julie (Novel Thrills & Chills)
    May 29, 2017
    To see my full review go to novelthrillsanchillsreview.wordpress.comSecrets of the Dead is the second novel in the series presenting Detective Inspector Robyn Carter. I read Wyer’s first novel Little Girl Lost back in March and was mesmerized with DI Carter. I thought this novel was absolutely brilliant and could completely relate with DI Carter by knowing what it feels like to lose someone who was so connected to you.I read Secrets of the Dead as a buddy read with Annie from The Misstery and we To see my full review go to novelthrillsanchillsreview.wordpress.comSecrets of the Dead is the second novel in the series presenting Detective Inspector Robyn Carter. I read Wyer’s first novel Little Girl Lost back in March and was mesmerized with DI Carter. I thought this novel was absolutely brilliant and could completely relate with DI Carter by knowing what it feels like to lose someone who was so connected to you.I read Secrets of the Dead as a buddy read with Annie from The Misstery and we had a lot of the same feelings when it came to this novel. I will not be talking about anything that gives away the ending nor will it ruin the novel for those who have yet to read it.Robyn Carter is still working as a Detective Inspector in this novel, trying to work her way up in the ranks. The minute she realizes that she has more than she bargains for in this case is when everything she is known for (her instincts, the will to succeed, never giving up) is questioned.The plot of the story compared to Little Girl Lost was a little bit slower for me. I was getting antsy reading chapter to chapter because I felt as if DI Carter and her team were never going to catch the killer. They had their victims, they had their invoices that claimed 250,000 pounds, they had the connections but up until the end they didn’t have the who or the why.  It was just one thing I was bummed about. I wanted a more fast paced thriller.One thing I loved about this novel though was how we got to see a more in depth side of Robyn and her relationship to her deceased husband Davies. We get to discover her emotional and softer side. It made me love her character even more. With that we got to read more about Amelie as well. Amelie is Davies daughter. We see more of Robyn and Amelie’s relationship bloom into what could be devastating for Robyn as Amelie is a spitting image inside of Davies but she makes the most of it and makes their time beautiful.Another thing I enjoyed was how Wyer wrote her victims. There were different types of deaths throughout the book and there were even a couple that slipped through the grasps of the Leopard himself. The tragic deaths were perfect for this story.The fact that this book was mainly written in the present time, and very few snippets were shown from the past is something I enjoyed. I really enjoy books that go back and forth from past to present but this was a nice refreshing thrill ride.Thank you tremendously to Bookouture, NetGalley and Carol Wyer for allowing me to read this novel for my honest review. And a Happy Publishing Day to Wyer on her second installment of the DI Carter Series!
    more
  • Sandy
    June 1, 2017
    DI Robyn Carter has lot on her plate. There’s been a recent spate of murders & the victims couldn’t be more different. But Robyn & her crew have no doubt they’re all connected. Each is found with an invoice for £250,000 marked “Paid in full”. The only other thing they have in common is some tie to Bromley Hall, a ritzy Victorian hotel & spa in the Staffordshire countryside. As they pick away at the investigation, we meet the anonymous killer in alternate chapters & slowly learn h DI Robyn Carter has lot on her plate. There’s been a recent spate of murders & the victims couldn’t be more different. But Robyn & her crew have no doubt they’re all connected. Each is found with an invoice for £250,000 marked “Paid in full”. The only other thing they have in common is some tie to Bromley Hall, a ritzy Victorian hotel & spa in the Staffordshire countryside. As they pick away at the investigation, we meet the anonymous killer in alternate chapters & slowly learn his motive & history. This is one of those books where personal preference will loom large in terms of how much you enjoy it. I’d place it firmly on my “ok” shelf & I’ll try to explain why. The author clearly has some serious skills & the story flows well. But in this crowded & competitive genre, there has to be something that makes a book stand out, something that reaches out & grabs you so you become invested in the story & its characters & I just couldn’t find it here. First up is Robyn, a hard working cop who has little else in her life. It’s difficult to describe why but she just didn’t come across as a fully fleshed out character. The way she is depicted lacked the depth that would have helped me connect with her. Perhaps I found her a little too earnest or maybe it’s that we’re repeatedly told about her background instead of letting the reader get to know her through her thoughts & actions. She & her colleagues have all the requisite personal problems but their responses seem so mild mannered they would not be out of place in a cozy.When I read a thriller or police procedural, I want to be kept guessing. When the killer is unmasked, I don’t mind at all if I feel like a complete knob for missing the cleverly concealed clues. Unfortunately, the bad guy in this story is a “person of interest” from the moment they step on the page & I missed that element of suspense. Despite the nature of the crimes, it’s a very clean read (no sex, swearing, etc.) So it’s merely a case of personal taste. As the old saying goes, not every hat you try on fits but those who prefer a softer murder mystery with a neatly tied ending should find much to enjoy here.
    more
  • Alison
    June 5, 2017
    Well I was shouting from the roof tops about how fantastic Little Girl Lost was (Review Here) so Secrets of the Dead had one hell of a lot to live up too! DI Robyn Carter was my girl crush heroine so could she grab this case by the balls and catch a killer again .. hell yeah, she rocks!Fast paced, this book grips you by the throat, shakes you around, makes your head spin yet still the impetuous is there to keep reading.The gruesome discovery of a hotel manager shrivelled to a crisp in the sauna Well I was shouting from the roof tops about how fantastic Little Girl Lost was (Review Here) so Secrets of the Dead had one hell of a lot to live up too! DI Robyn Carter was my girl crush heroine so could she grab this case by the balls and catch a killer again .. hell yeah, she rocks!Fast paced, this book grips you by the throat, shakes you around, makes your head spin yet still the impetuous is there to keep reading.The gruesome discovery of a hotel manager shrivelled to a crisp in the sauna at first glance looks like a tragic accident, overcome by heat results in heart attack .. but information comes to light that it could be more sinister. Robyn and her team are on the case to prove a point. When another body is revealed in a Pub with a ‘note’ about debt paid to the tune of £250,000 the mystery level cranks up. It’s a race against the clock to provide evidence and the team work full on to suss out the clues.But yet again another death occurs .. a young mother drowned in her bath .. she also has the ‘debt paid’ note so now it becomes clear there must be a connection but who, why, what is behind it all?I was urging Robyn on to solve this case, she is so kick-ass but shows a vulnerable side which makes her such a fab character. Her relationship with her dead partners’ daughter is so refreshing, she isn’t all mumsy, instead she gives good solid advice so Amelie forms her own opinions.This story touches on the unsavoury results of stalking but it’s woven into the plot and just adds an extra layer to the tension. I had a few theories on who was responsible for the killings and I figured I knew what the motive was but like all good thrillers nothing is as simple as the first impressions.This can be read as a standalone but I recommend reading the books in order purely to discover the sombre background to Robyn and what she has experienced previously. I can not wait for the next instalment. I am SO pleased Carole has stuck to her darkside because these stories are going to take some beating.Thanks to Carole, Bookouture and Netgalley for my ARC .. I read and reviewed voluntarily.
    more
  • Susan Hampson
    June 3, 2017
    I absolutely loved the first book in the DI Robyn Carter series but OMG Secrets of the Dead has to be the icing on the cake with a cherry on the top! When Carol Wyer went from romantic comedy to crime thriller I really had to think can she pull this off. Well let me say she arrived with her first book and this one definitely means that she is here to stay! She has become the polar opposite in her writing from causing me to laugh till I cried to a dark side that can be matched to the best of any I absolutely loved the first book in the DI Robyn Carter series but OMG Secrets of the Dead has to be the icing on the cake with a cherry on the top! When Carol Wyer went from romantic comedy to crime thriller I really had to think can she pull this off. Well let me say she arrived with her first book and this one definitely means that she is here to stay! She has become the polar opposite in her writing from causing me to laugh till I cried to a dark side that can be matched to the best of any crime writer.One of the things that makes these books very special to me is that I live locally to the area they are set in. I tell you there are some areas that I will give more than a second glance to now!  It was so exciting and made the characters feel so real knowing they were on street and roads I have travelled on. Once I started this book I knew I wouldn't want to stop. The chapters are short and snappy making it one of those books that you think just one more chapter, which in turn becomes a couple of hundred pages as each one just picks up the pace and intensity that you can't put the brakes on. This is a brilliant story line and takes pay back to the ultimate end. As The Leopard strikes, the name the newspapers give the killer, with a tailored execution for each victim, a receipt is left with them, one that made me shiver. 'All Debts Paid'.  I mean as if killing someone isn't enough you got to admit that is some sort of creepy. What it does mean for the police is of course, that these crimes are easy to link, they are all connected to an event and revenge drives this nutter. Still a very hard puzzle to solve. I love a story with lots of threads that eventually come together.The police force definitely have their work cut out with this one but DI Robyn Carter has that strong and forcefully determination to never give up. Love this DI that I found more about again in this book. What a team, they may not always agree and they may not always get it right but they have each others backs. I am so looking forward to more in this superb series.
    more
  • Clare
    June 19, 2017
    With thanks to Netgalley and Bookoutre for this ARC in exchange for an open and honest review.Secrets of the Dead is the second book in the DI Robyn Carter series. I enjoyed Carol's first book in the series Little Girl Lost and had high hopes for this second book.I was not disappointed, Robyn is a strong character with an interesting back story. I like her cousin Ross who is an ex detective, an unofficial side kick who investigates behind the scenes. I also like Sgt Mitz Patel who is close to hi With thanks to Netgalley and Bookoutre for this ARC in exchange for an open and honest review.Secrets of the Dead is the second book in the DI Robyn Carter series. I enjoyed Carol's first book in the series Little Girl Lost and had high hopes for this second book.I was not disappointed, Robyn is a strong character with an interesting back story. I like her cousin Ross who is an ex detective, an unofficial side kick who investigates behind the scenes. I also like Sgt Mitz Patel who is close to his family especially his grandmother.The story begins with the death of Miles Ashbrook in a sauna. Miles was the manager of a luxury spa. After work he had a sauna which was too hot and caused a heart attack. The death is investigated by rival DI Shearer who decides it was an accidental death.When Robyn is told that Miles had a long standing heart condition and would never have a sauna she books Ross into the spa to investigate. Ross finds out he was not a popular boss after sacking a vast member of staff.Meanwhile Robyn is investigating a number of murders. Publican Rory Wallis, who was murdered after being force fed champagne. Then mum of one Louisa Upton found drowned in her bath and cleaner Jakub who worked in the same spa as Miles and is killed in a hit and run. The victims were all found with an invoice £250,000 all debts paid. Robyn and the team find out they were all linked in directly to the spa and the accidental death of a guest.I enjoyed the POV of the killer which gave the reader an idea why he did what he did. I think when you discover the reasons for the murders you will be surprised.I look forward to book 3.
    more
  • Sue McQuaide Kitt
    May 24, 2017
    3.5* Secrets of the Dead is book two in the DI Robyn Carter series.As bodies begin to pile up, discovered with an invoice for £250,000 stating that their debt has been repaid, DI Carter and her team must race to figure out just who the murderer is before his next victim is discovered. Robyn Carter is a dedicated detective and great character, who is suffering from a tragic loss in her life that makes it difficult to move on in her personal life.Although I did enjoy this book, I found it lacking 3.5* Secrets of the Dead is book two in the DI Robyn Carter series.As bodies begin to pile up, discovered with an invoice for £250,000 stating that their debt has been repaid, DI Carter and her team must race to figure out just who the murderer is before his next victim is discovered. Robyn Carter is a dedicated detective and great character, who is suffering from a tragic loss in her life that makes it difficult to move on in her personal life.Although I did enjoy this book, I found it lacking the exciting pow wow that I found in Little Girl Lost and feel almost guilty removing half a star because of that.Even though I rated this less than the first book in this series, I am still looking forward to book three.
    more
  • Angie Dokos
    June 9, 2017
    I loved this book. I liked Little Girl Lost a little better, but still totally loved this one. This book isn't about who is doing the killing, it's the how and who's next that keeps you intrigued.
  • Kath Middleton
    June 9, 2017
    DI Robyn Carter and her team are investigating murders which may or may not be related. Their local newshound has decided that they are and reports on a serial killer, which makes the police’s work more difficult. The murders are occurring over a very short time and Robyn has to work out exactly who is in danger, before more lives are lost.The case is difficult because Robyn is dealing with a damaged individual seeking revenge and his mind doesn’t work like a normal person’s. She has to second g DI Robyn Carter and her team are investigating murders which may or may not be related. Their local newshound has decided that they are and reports on a serial killer, which makes the police’s work more difficult. The murders are occurring over a very short time and Robyn has to work out exactly who is in danger, before more lives are lost.The case is difficult because Robyn is dealing with a damaged individual seeking revenge and his mind doesn’t work like a normal person’s. She has to second guess him and the resulting search and chase becomes very exciting. The story alternates between the police work and shorter sections from the point of view of the killer. I really enjoyed this story with its side plots which added greater depth to the main tale.
    more
  • Books n All Jill Burkinshaw
    May 20, 2017
    4.7 out of 5 stars.This is book 2 in the Robyn Carter series, the first being Little Girl Lost.Robyn is still struggling to find a way forward after losing Davies, a situation not helped by the difficult relationship she has with her colleague.In this book Robyn develops a deep sympathy for a friend of Miles, who is found dead in a sauna, putting her at loggerheads with Shearer right at the very beginning. When seemingly unrelated deaths start occurring at the Hotel where Miles died Robyn strugg 4.7 out of 5 stars.This is book 2 in the Robyn Carter series, the first being Little Girl Lost.Robyn is still struggling to find a way forward after losing Davies, a situation not helped by the difficult relationship she has with her colleague.In this book Robyn develops a deep sympathy for a friend of Miles, who is found dead in a sauna, putting her at loggerheads with Shearer right at the very beginning. When seemingly unrelated deaths start occurring at the Hotel where Miles died Robyn struggles to find the link. Every step forward results in a dead end and she is given a limited amount of time to solve the cases before she is pulled off.The story is is a real maze of wrong turns and false leads as the reader is left wondering if Robyn has bitten off more than she can chew this time. It also has some personal issues interwoven throughout to bring a realistic touch.Other characters played a bigger part in this book in particular Anna and Mitz who are part of Robyns team both develop through the book into complex compassionate characters who are very loyal to Robyn. As in the first book Robyn is inclined to go off on a tangent following her gut instinct, which usually proves to be right and having a team who will have her back is a very important part of who she is. I love the characters in the books and look forward to following them on more journeys.An excellent book which leaves the reader gagging for more.Thank you to Netgalley and Bookoutre who provided me with a free copy of this book@bookouture @books_n_all @carolewyer #robyncarter #thankspublishers #netgalley #psychologicalthriller
    more
  • Sharon
    May 11, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley and the Publishers for this review copy.This is the second book of the Robyn Carter Series. It can be read as a standalone book, but obviously it does make sense to read the books in order to understand parts of the story. I had read the first book, Little Girl Lost, a while ago and forgot how much I enjoyed it. This book was fantastic! So good to the point that I finished it in just over a day! DI Robyn Carter is back and is now settled back into her job. The owner of a l Thank you to Netgalley and the Publishers for this review copy.This is the second book of the Robyn Carter Series. It can be read as a standalone book, but obviously it does make sense to read the books in order to understand parts of the story. I had read the first book, Little Girl Lost, a while ago and forgot how much I enjoyed it. This book was fantastic! So good to the point that I finished it in just over a day! DI Robyn Carter is back and is now settled back into her job. The owner of a local Spa is found cooking nicely overnight on a high heat in the sauna. It looks like a simple case of accidental death, the guy had a heart condition and the heat caused a fatal heart attack. Robyn thinks otherwise and tries to persuade her counterpart to investigate more but is told to leave it by her superior. Meanwhile she also has to investigate a series of deaths which seem to be linked. All of the bodies are found with a note saying that the debt has been paid to the sum of £250,000. Can Robyn and her team find the killer before anyone else is murdered?Wow, wow, wow. This was a great book!! I love Robyn! She’s been through such a tough time, but she is trying to get on with her life and her job which she is so good at. She throws herself into this case, trying to make up for a slight hiccup on her previous case where she almost arrests the wrong guy! The leads dry up and while the bodies are piling up, Robyn and her team are struggling to find a link. Robyn’s Private Investigator cousin, Ross appears again in this story having being sent undercover to the Health Spa to dig into the death of the owner. The relationship between these two is great, and like the first book, there is a humorous undertone. Ross should definitely have his own spin off book!The story flowed so well and kept me hooked from page one. It is told mainly from Robyn’s perspective, but there are chapters written from the killer’s also (although you don’t get to find out who they are right until the end!) I tried to work it out, but genuinely didn’t guess who it was until it was revealed! There are lots of twists and turns, and a great ending! I can’t wait for the next book!!Five Stars!
    more
  • Yvonne (It's All About Books)
    May 21, 2017
    Finished reading: May 21st 2017 "If she was asking for his help it could only mean she was doing something she shouldn't. He liked that about her; she was ballsy, daring and usually right." *** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! *** (view spoiler)[I really enjoyed reading the first book of this series, Little Girl Lost, earlier this year and I have been keeping an eye out for the sequel ever since. I admit it Finished reading: May 21st 2017 "If she was asking for his help it could only mean she was doing something she shouldn't. He liked that about her; she was ballsy, daring and usually right." *** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! *** (view spoiler)[I really enjoyed reading the first book of this series, Little Girl Lost, earlier this year and I have been keeping an eye out for the sequel ever since. I admit it wasn't love at first sight, but I've grown to like Robyn Parker and the way she isn't afraid to step on a few toes to get things done. In Secrets Of The Dead her detective skills are tested again with another difficult case. It's another serial killer thriller and I think I enjoyed it even better than the first; this book definitely doesn't suffer from the so-called 'weak-sequel-syndrome'. Secrets Of The Dead starts out strong and stays that way until the very end. The writing style is enjoyable, the pace is fast and the many many plot twists will have you on the edge of your seat the whole time. I actually thought I had it all figured out a few times during the story, but it ended up being a false alarm every single time. The sign of a well executed plot twist if you ask me! The serial killer is an interesting one and I particularly liked the fact that you are able to take a peak inside his head in the chapters that are told from his POV. They added to the whole suspense of the story without slowing down the pace and only increased my curiosity about the identity of the killer. I don't want to give away too much of the plot to avoid spoilers, but if you are looking for a well written psychological thriller packed with misleading plot twists and an intriguing case, Secrets Of The Dead is calling your name. Another note: it can also be read as a stand-alone.Detective Robyn Carter and her team are to investigate the death of a young mother who is found drowned in her own bathtub. When they find a receipt saying 'all debts paid', Robyn knows she has another complicated case on her hand... Because it has all the signs of being another serial killer. When a second victim with a similar receipt is found, her suspicions are confirmed, and now she will have to race against the clock to find the killer before he strikes again. Robyn doesn't seem to have much time, as the bodies are starting to pile up quickly... Will she be able to solve the puzzle on time? Because no obvious links are being found between the two victims, and the pressure is building up fast.Those who follow my blog probably know I'm a big fan of the mystery/thriller genre, and this sequel is without doubt another winner. From the enjoyable writing style, fast pace and misleading plot twists to the fact that Secrets Of The Dead has a serial killer; this book just ticked all the right boxes for me. I love it when a psychological thriller is actually able to surprise me! Because I was definitely in the dark about the 'who' until the moment it was all revealed. (hide spoiler)] P.S. Find more of my reviews here.
    more
  • Kaisha (The Writing Garnet)
    June 1, 2017
    All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comUp until now, Carol Wyer has always been my go to author whenever I have needed a marshmallow fix, or a dose of utterly bonkers (yet ah-mazing) humour. When I found out that Ms.Wyer was dabbling in a different genre, my heart sank a little as I felt as though I was going to lose out on such bonkers novels; selfish I know. It didn’t occur to me at the time that I could, funnily enough, read the books in her new genre. Do All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comUp until now, Carol Wyer has always been my go to author whenever I have needed a marshmallow fix, or a dose of utterly bonkers (yet ah-mazing) humour. When I found out that Ms.Wyer was dabbling in a different genre, my heart sank a little as I felt as though I was going to lose out on such bonkers novels; selfish I know. It didn’t occur to me at the time that I could, funnily enough, read the books in her new genre. Doh. I bought Carol Wyer’s first crime thriller, Little Girl Lost, which unfortunately is still on my TBR and yet to be read, so I was UBER excited when I got asked to be involved in the blog tour for Carol Wyer’s new novel, Secrets of the Dead.I had no idea what to expect, nor did I have any clue as to how intense the storyline was going to be.Eeeeesh!!! Robyn Carter is investigating a murder of young mother, Linda Upton, who was found dead in the bath, alongside an receipt for an eye-watering amount of money. Unfortunately, Linda Upton’s murder isn’t the first, and nor is it the last. It’s down to Robyn Carter, and her team to work out whether the murderer is a serial killer and whether they will keep on striking whilst the iron is hot.Robyn Carter is a fireball of sass!!! You go girlfriend!! At risk of sounding like a twat, Robyn Carter comes across so normal! Yes okay, she thinks she is super woman when it comes to working all the hours with barely any sleep. Some call that stupidity, I call that dedication. Yes, she makes mistakes, but who doesn’t? She really was such an incredible character to read a bout; I loved her ballsy attitude alongside her heart of gold. Perfect match.As for the murders, wow, the idea surrounding the receipt/invoice which the murderer leaves behind with its victims was executed (pardon the pun) brilliantly. I felt as though I was on a constant rollercoaster throughout the entire novel, I had no idea as to how many murders there would be (don’t read blurbs) – I was on tenterhooks wondering whether the murderer would strike again, and if they did, how. Part of me wanted to know the murderers reason behind each of their killings, yet part of me didn’t because I was nervous about what may be uncovered.Reading ‘Secrets of the Dead’, I tried to be clever and see if I could work out the link between the murders (f there was one), and who the hell was going out their way to kill people; but I failed miserably. Carol Wyer kept me guessing until the very last-minute. My heart was pounding. My spine was tingling. Even my breathing was erratic. It didn’t matter how intense my reactions were to Wyer’s novel, my eyes just had to keep on reading.Carol Wyer has completely blown me away with her writing, and not for the first time either. Secrets of the Dead is such a gripping, intense tale that will leave you with stumps for nails, an abnormal pulse rate, and in need of a shower due to the nervous sweating.Secrets of the Dead is a fast paced, power house of a storyline that has been fantastically written by an incredibly talented author. An absolutely brilliant read with a side helping of shocking moments. Just the way that I like it.Thanks Bookouture.
    more
  • Brooke
    May 31, 2017
    DI Robyn Carter has come back after a sabbatical to deal with the loss of the love of her life and also their child she miscarried after he died. She comes back to someone being murdered in a local bar with a note left behind. The note states that a debt has been paid. As she investigates further there are more people being murdered with the same note being left behind. Who would be so vicious as to kill innocent people who have done nothing?DI Robyn Carter was such an amazing character and so m DI Robyn Carter has come back after a sabbatical to deal with the loss of the love of her life and also their child she miscarried after he died. She comes back to someone being murdered in a local bar with a note left behind. The note states that a debt has been paid. As she investigates further there are more people being murdered with the same note being left behind. Who would be so vicious as to kill innocent people who have done nothing?DI Robyn Carter was such an amazing character and so much more than what I was expecting. The trials that she has went through not only shows how strong she is but that she is more relatable! NO tonly has she had trials but she has achieved so much in her life that most would have trouble doign wihtout being afflicted by events in their past.I dont want to say too much about the plot and what happens in the book because the element of suprise is the best part about this book. When I started this I wasnt expecting it to be as near as good as it was. I was epecting a so so book. But i was intrigued thorughout the whole book to find out who it was. And I was kept in the dark the majority of the book. I LOVED THAT! And who it was, was no one that I ever thought it could be.​This book was everything for me! This was my first Carol Wyer book and I am not even close to being disappointed, other than it ending. I was so sad when it ended but now I am in high anticipation of reading her first Little Girl Lost and waiting for her next book to come out! Disclaimer: I received this e-book from NetGalley in exchange for a review. All opinions stated are my own and not influenced by the exchange.
    more
  • Kim
    May 29, 2017
    The second thriller from Carol Wyer is just as chilling as the previous book in the Robyn Carter series. A series of unexpected deaths and murders seem unrelated apart from a note left with each victim. She needs to solve the case or discover who else might be in danger and why.I love lead detectives who veer a little from the expected path to get the results they want- and also have a great interest in their team. She employs her cousin, a private detective to get the information she's not allo The second thriller from Carol Wyer is just as chilling as the previous book in the Robyn Carter series. A series of unexpected deaths and murders seem unrelated apart from a note left with each victim. She needs to solve the case or discover who else might be in danger and why.I love lead detectives who veer a little from the expected path to get the results they want- and also have a great interest in their team. She employs her cousin, a private detective to get the information she's not allowed to investigate! He was a great character along with his wife and loved their stay at the spa.I enjoy books set in local settings where I recognise places and can picture exactly where they are. My dad was born in Lichfield- so I was thinking of him whilst I was reading this book. Sometimes you just wish you could pass a book on as he would have loved this one. It is fast paced and you feel as though you are part of the investigation, maybe not helping much as you seem to be second guessing and veering down the wrong path. I love books where you keep guessing. I am so pleased to have found another thriller series that I can eagerly await the next case.
    more
  • Shell Baker
    June 4, 2017
    Secrets of the Dead is the second book in the Detective Robyn Carter crime thriller series. Which I couldn't wait to read after loving Carol’s debut crime novel Little Girl Lost. OMG this series just got a whole lot better with this second installment. I loved it just has much has the first one if not more.Set in Lichfield we follow Detective Robin on the hunt for a brutal killer who the press call The Leopard. I loved the fact that this is set in a place that is near to me and Carol’s descripti Secrets of the Dead is the second book in the Detective Robyn Carter crime thriller series. Which I couldn't wait to read after loving Carol’s debut crime novel Little Girl Lost. OMG this series just got a whole lot better with this second installment. I loved it just has much has the first one if not more.Set in Lichfield we follow Detective Robin on the hunt for a brutal killer who the press call The Leopard. I loved the fact that this is set in a place that is near to me and Carol’s descriptions are spot on and I certainly felt like I was in the story.A word of warning... be prepared not to get anything done once you start this book. I devoured it in one day, talk about being unputdownable. It is full of tension and plenty of twists and turns and will have you guessing until the end.We get to know more about Robyn in this story and she is fast becoming one of my favourite detectives. Carol’s definitely made the right decision coming over to the dark side. I cannot wait to read the next installment.This is a must read for fans of Angela Marsons which I highly recommend giving it 5 massive stars.
    more
  • Ashley Gillan
    June 8, 2017
    Get ready for a fast-paced, suspense-packed adventure with DI Robyn Carter, in the new thriller from Carol Wyer. The book is second in a series but works as a standalone.I loved it. Full stop.Carter is pulled into a seemingly straightforward investigation when a colleague asks her to look into the death of a hotel manager. Soon more bodies begin to show up each under strange circumstances and with ties to the same hotel. Carter and her team struggle to understand what is going on before more peo Get ready for a fast-paced, suspense-packed adventure with DI Robyn Carter, in the new thriller from Carol Wyer. The book is second in a series but works as a standalone.I loved it. Full stop.Carter is pulled into a seemingly straightforward investigation when a colleague asks her to look into the death of a hotel manager. Soon more bodies begin to show up each under strange circumstances and with ties to the same hotel. Carter and her team struggle to understand what is going on before more people die.This book creates a villain who is stunningly creepy and could give Hannibal Lecter a run for his money. Seriously, he's scary. Wyer is excellent at creating characters and worlds that will transport you and make you double check your locks at the same time. His backstory was well developed and created a vivid picture while satisfying the "thriller" aspect of the novel.The mystery is also very good and very multi-layered. I had some hints about what was going to happen but did not solve the mystery before the reveal. That was fun, getting some small clues before the author revealed the big picture. In the end everything came together neatly and to my satisfaction.Robyn Carter was also a well-done character, she was relatable and interesting. Her struggles to perform her job while obeying the rules was a great added supply that really added to the story. It's something we've all been through.I'm thinking I need to go pick up the first book in the series because if it's as good as this one I will love it. I'm looking forward to more in the series and from this author. Highly recommended
    more
  • michelle
    May 21, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley and Bookouture for a copy of this bookThis is the 2nd in the DI Robyn Carter series. You can read it as a standalone as I have not read the first. It starts with a body being found in a sauna burnt to a crisp at the local Spa retreat. Someone had tampered with the temperature. He holds an invoice in his hand for £250,000. Then a young mother is is found drowned fully clothed in a bath also with and invoice saying debts are paid. Di Robyn Carter investigates and recognises tha Thank you Netgalley and Bookouture for a copy of this bookThis is the 2nd in the DI Robyn Carter series. You can read it as a standalone as I have not read the first. It starts with a body being found in a sauna burnt to a crisp at the local Spa retreat. Someone had tampered with the temperature. He holds an invoice in his hand for £250,000. Then a young mother is is found drowned fully clothed in a bath also with and invoice saying debts are paid. Di Robyn Carter investigates and recognises that this is just start of a serial killer on the loose.The local press finds out about the case and DI Roby Carter and her team are stretched to the limits to find out what the connection between the two bodies are and to find the killer.This is a original, gripping, suspenseful thriller with lots of twists and turns that, will keep you hooked right up to the end. I highly recommend.
    more
  • Donna Maguire
    May 12, 2017
    https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...The book is billed as “a heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last” and I have to wholeheartedly agree!! This book was fantastic and it kept me gripped from the first page and I read it in a day, I really , really didn’t want to put it down, its one of the best I’ve read so far in 2017 and is superbly written.  The characters were brilliant and the plot was fast paced, just what I l https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...The book is billed as “a heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last” and I have to wholeheartedly agree!! This book was fantastic and it kept me gripped from the first page and I read it in a day, I really , really didn’t want to put it down, its one of the best I’ve read so far in 2017 and is superbly written.  The characters were brilliant and the plot was fast paced, just what I look for in this kind of book.  This is the second book in the DI Robyn Carter series and I highly recommend both of the books, Secrets of the Dead was released today so you can grab your copy now!!  Would not hesitate to give the book 5 stars!!
    more
Write a review